In My Shoes! PDF Print
Thursday, 19 June 2008 10:05
Chicken price has gone up (I'm not even going to talk about the rice price!), eggs, milk, vegetables, fish, all up! Even if I sell this old car I still will not be able to cover my expenses for food! How much and how long do you think that RM625 cash will help me?? I'm so sick and tired of hearing them say change your lifestyle! There is nothing more for me to change!

Dear Editor,

I have read so many times about the price increases but so far I feel that nobody actually knows or cares about how much we, the general just below-average and under-average income earners live!

In your papers you had an article on how people manage their income but most of them earned RM3000 on average!

What about me? And those in my shoes??

I am a single parent! I am not a charity case (though it looks like I'm being pushed into that), I have one kid 3 yrs going on 4. My ex-husband doesn't support me with anything! I work in a factory as an assistant officer. My net income is RM1300 per month!

To get to work 7 km away and to send my kid to the babysitter, i have to drive because the public transport only decides to turn up  when they feel like it!!!!!!!!! Moreover, to get from my house to my job of only 7 km away, i have to travel on 2 buses that will take me 20 km in all different directions before getting me to work. (What great public transportation we have here!) Just for your information, I live in Seremban; not too far off in the rural area but just about 1 hour's drive to KL. But, we have very crappy public transport services. And I imagine most towns have this same crappy service too!

The 13 year old Wira I drive actually belongs to my brother-in-law. God Bless him, he let me use this car when he bought a new one late last year (an Iswara) so that I can get to work on time.

I live in a rented house of which I pay RM280 a month and my babysitter costs me RM270 a month. My utility bills come up to RM100 and my phone bill around RM80. I had to cancel my credit card which I had from my single and carefree days and now I'm paying for it monthly until the year 2010! RM160 every month! Then, I put money aside for my kid's milk, diapers, food, gas, rice, (all these used to be around RM250 a month) and of course, petrol! I used to spend RM120 for petrol a month.  And that would leave me RM40 a month for doctor's fees, and maybe getting a new pair of slippers for my kid or whatever is needed for her. (How I've change my lifestyle! I have not had a hair cut in 2 years! Let me just say I've made changes to my lifestyle, drastic changes from 2 years ago when my ex-husband left!) However, still, I used to get by.

But then came the petrol price increase!

Chicken price has gone up (I'm not even going to talk about the rice price!), eggs, milk, vegetables, fish, all up! Even if I sell this old car I still will not be able to cover my expenses for food! How much and how long do you think that RM625 cash will help me?? I'm so sick and tired of hearing them say change your lifestyle! There is nothing more for me to change!

Unless I skip some meals, maybe my breakfast and my lunch?? But then, what if I get sick? Who will care for my daughter? How do I pay for the doctor? And if I don't go to work (because I'm sick), maybe I may not even have work anymore?? Then who will pay all the expenses? Where will I live? Can the Government give me a house?

Now, when I'm struggling with my income, what about my other friends in this factory whose salaries are RM550 a month. Then, there are 2 women here who are widows with school-going kids! Who have worked as operators for 5 - 8 years here and their salary NET only reaches RM650 a month! Lucky for them, they have their own houses and do not pay rent! Lucky for them too, they either walk or cycle to work. But don't think the price of petrol has not affected them! Because they still have to buy food and clothes and pay for their kids' school bus fares as all have increased! But their income remains the same! So tell me, how can they get the RM625 subsidy??? What is the government going to do for them??

All I hear on the government focused news are how they are trying to find ways to help the civil servants. I'm not saying they do not need help, but, WHAT ABOUT US??? Is anyone doing anything for us or would you all prefer we just die off quietly?? Our income will not be increased, and you can bet because of everything, the company will not increase the salaries for next year as well because they need to cut costs or close shop! Then what will we do??

Do you know that you can get welfare help if your family's income is RM350 and below only? This was what my friends were told and because they have work, they are not entitled to welfare help!

So, can someone explain to US, THE REAL PEOPLE, WHAT THE HELL IS THERE FOR US TO CHANGE??? AND DO NOT TELL US TO GET ANOTHER JOB BECAUSE WE DO NOT HAVE THE TIME!!!

I really do want a reply from someone who can really give me good, clear answers. Not some "merry-go-round the bush" answer!

Thank you,
A desperate mother!

Comments (65)Add Comment
written by indianputra, June 19, 2008 10:15:56
This one guy in Malaysia, Abdullah Badawi is creating so much problems for the nation. There is uncertainty everywhere. There is absolutely no Governance in the nation. ALL HE HAD TO DO WAS RESIGN and there could have been some sort of positive things happening.

The UMNO and BN representatives are in crutches because of this one guy. Their future is written off by this one guy.

I don't believe in euthanesia.... but UMNO and BN topshots must give the lethal injection of 'rejection' of this guy
written by catypus, June 19, 2008 10:18:03
Do you think the damned govt will understand your plight? As long as the BN still in power, those in your shoes will never have a good life.
written by seawolf, June 19, 2008 10:20:42
Dear Desperate Mother,

It is very sad to hear that and i totally agree with you. We used to hear about how difficult to live with 3,ooo monthly salary. Yeah, what more to say if you earn only half than that. These bastard government never think about that and even me didn't bother to ubah gaya hidup since my life also already half way dead. Simply to say, JANGAN UBAH GAYA HIDUP, UBAH KERAJAAN!!!!!! ...anyway, hang in there...be tough....
agree 110
written by zul4kulim, June 19, 2008 10:23:52
So the leaders ask us to change our lifestyles.....while some GLCs guys get 100% inceased in their salaries
http://1426.********.com/2008/...sible.html
written by indianputra, June 19, 2008 10:25:42
Dear desperate mother, Our hearts go out for you; but you are not the only one person who is sufering in Malaysia because of the poor governanace of this country by the ruthless, egoistic, greedy Barisan National. There are thousands out there, who are suffering like you or worse than you.

Look, we have all suffered for such a long time. The light at the end of the tunnel is coming soon in the form of Pakatan Rakyat taking over the Government. Things, then will definitely change for the better - let us pray. Observing what is happening at Penang, Selangor and Perak, gives us a slight hope that better things are coming.

Until then, Dear Desperate Mother, please be strong; suffer a little bit more and pray PR takes over the Malaysian Government soon.
written by alpha100, June 19, 2008 10:26:31
Yes, its so sad! And as the writer mention, what of other cases of lower income group. The papers i certainly note have been talking about those with 3k. And if those 3k find it hard to juggle their monthly needs what of those below 3k. I think many did thought of it but no one really highlight it but few of those including this writer. Hope the Goverment and those concern NGO will look into how this affected ppl can be helped.
written by Rundukon, June 19, 2008 10:30:38
Some 30% of Sabahans dont even have shoes. They walk 'kaki ayam', makan also like ayam...kais pagi makan pagi, kais petang makan petang.
written by BORN FREE, June 19, 2008 10:31:26
So sorry to hear your plight, please be strong.
BN and its members, they have got hearts that is make of stones.
They will never feel the pains the poor are going through cos they
have never tasted poverty before. They have only got 1 track mind ie
"how to make more $$$ for themselves" and its never enough for them.
We, the rakyat will be the ones suffering ! But lets all pray to see
the light at the end of the tunnel soon - A BRAND NEW GOVERNMENT - PAKATAN RAKYAT - For the people of Malaysia !
written by talkingback79, June 19, 2008 10:32:05
....and Mahathir should not be celebrating cos he was the one who squandered the most for 22 YRS
written by alpha100, June 19, 2008 10:33:20
Oh! The Govt of the day! Please do something about the public transport! Be serious on it! Have a new ministry just to look into this "Ministry of Public Transport!" Look not into just increasing no of buses but also into their bus schedule. Its ridiculous! Have fixed bus schedule. Not 20 minutes or 30 minutes or an hour a bus which is subject to abuse! Have fixed bus schedule like 9.00am 9.30am 10am to leave from 1st station. Easy to control and can monitor complaints easily. Passenger can go to bus stop with confidence to expect a bus on schedule time (whether waiting at 1st station or mid way). Do something those wakil rakyat, ministry or ngo! Don't sit on your butt and just blah, blah, blah! This is just one suggestion. Many others!
written by sickofitall, June 19, 2008 10:36:46
Dear desperate mother,
We genuinely feel your pain. Perhaps that politician, when he asked us to change our lifestyle, meant that women like you should go out and prostitute yourself (bet he'd like that!) and for men like me to go out and commit robberies. I can't, mr politician, because I do not have access to c4 , guns or the special branch. then again, all politicians like you need to steal from the rakyat is a pen and some government contracts! Those of you who prostituted your votes to the BN should be ashamed of yourself for your votes have resulted in your fellow malaysians' sufffering!
written by alpha100, June 19, 2008 10:39:04
This suggestion no need to wait budget. Just talk to all bus coy to get it going. Look into abolishing all those bus driver/conductor incentive base on number of passenger scheme. Have fixed reasonable pay for bus driver/conductor and have proper fixed bus schedule. If passengers(probably a worker) can save time on transport, it will reduce stress/sickness and time wastage and therefore increase national productivity. Hope some those minister or those involve in transport read this. Otherwise i am wasting my time! I wrote to rapidkl(email/phone cannot get through) and transport minister(email) recently. But i wonder if they care!
written by alpha100, June 19, 2008 10:40:06
I only can pray they care!
written by PHUA KL, June 19, 2008 10:44:06
Reading this single mother's letter really makes my blood boil!

Please allow me to repost these comments of mine:

In the face of an ill-conceived policy, i.e. raising petrol prices drastically without an anti-inflation programme in place and without programmes to cushion the impact on low income people, progressive citizens in Malaysia need to think about ways to help ordinary people to cope with this awful situation. I propose the following for starters (please add to the list):

1. Demand that the Govt abolish all fees in the public schools
2. Demand that the Govt give a monthly “child welfare” allowance to each family with a child under the age of 5
3. Push the public transport companies to put more buses, trains etc into service immediately e.g. see Mahathir’s blog posting on the RapidKL “bus graveyard” in Selangor
4. Re-introduce the minibus into the whole of KL
5. Get the Govt to increase the rebate for motorcyclists, reduce or even eliminate the rebate for car-owners (especially for cars over 2000 cc)
6. Get Bernas to increase the supply of rice on the market
7. Ask better off people to donate unwanted clothes, furnishings etc to organizations that can give them free of charge or at nominal fees to low income people (like what the Petaling Jaya Community Centre does)
8. Get trade unions etc to purchase food and other essential items in bulk for resale to their members at lower prices (NUPW, are you listening?)

My wife and I pay a lot in tax money every year. We would be very, very glad if this tax money is used to help people like this single mother. Are you doing this, BN government??

Phua Kai Lit
written by Ben, June 19, 2008 10:45:36
I feel for you and certainly the very people responsible for your predicament, the gomen, must answer you adequately. This is your right as a Malaysian citizen. Go and talk to your MP, that's what they are elected for; to help you.

You may try filing a claim under The Tribunal for Consumer Claims. It is an independent body established under the Section 85, Part XII Consumer Protection Act 1999, under the Ministry of Domestic Trade & Consumer Affairs. The primary objective of establishing this Tribunal is to provide an alternative forum for consumers to file claims in an easy, inexpensive and speedy manner. You could refer for eg. to the Fair Trade Practices Policy.

The scope of the FTPP will cover and apply to competition situations, process and issues that are prevalent throughout the economy. Business conduct and areas requiring prohibition will be investigated and monitored for the benefit of the consumer.

Examples that warrant such a monitoring responsibility include monopolization, hard core cartels, collusive tendering, anti-competitive pratices and other unfair trade practices such as misleading advertising, false promotions, claims and sales tactics. For more info http://www.kpdnhep.gov.my/inde...ganganAdil

We hope you will get an appropriate response from shahrir's dept. He seems to be very quiet after going to great lengths to assuage the Rakyat anger on the recent fuel hike. Hopefully he has seen the light and will try to do something to address the suffering and misery of their victims.
written by miwaki, June 19, 2008 10:45:45
We do not have to change our life-style to accommodate our government of the day,we have to change our government so that the new administration will accommodate our life-style.BN has no clue as to how to handle price hike in world market,this government is incompetent and we cannot depend on them with regards to our welfare.Thank god thre is a chance the government could be toppled anytime now.
written by avaaz, June 19, 2008 10:46:31
Though I earn more and I thank God for two incomes, but we have two school going kids, With tutions, bus fees and utilities, its a struggle.
I just can't believe it , but not knowing where to cut down.
With even the milk prices up, I feel like a wicked step mom, for cutting down my kids milk intake, told the kids that they are growing up and now, instead of their regular 2 glasses of milk, they get one as I have now have started them on coffee. We dont eat out, only home cooked meals, no Sunday outings to the shopping mall, we go to the park, no movies, we circulate kids DVD movies among friends, so cut down what???
written by krepot, June 19, 2008 10:47:48
I can only PRAY, that my MP reads this and do the same;
A VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE against the PM and his GOVERNMENT!
I pray, that God answers your prayers and well as ours!
BN Government has ruined Malaysians!
We have to vote them out - NO CONFIDENCE!
written by teo siew chin, June 19, 2008 10:48:14
Dear Desperate Mother

You got guts! I admire that. Voice up, round up support - many women are in the same plight as you, gather them and go your nearest ADUN/MP but please do not bang tables or throw chairs. Just speak your case calmly and rationally and demand for assistance.

And while you're at it - you and your support group should go beat-up that useless ex of yours!

Stay strong.

written by semut, June 19, 2008 10:53:22
yes i agree..
i have a lot of friends in toyota factory in shah alam..
the Quality control inspector basic salary is just rm650 per month..
living in shah alam.. no COLA no nothing..
toyota mah.. how bout proton?

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by ultraman, June 19, 2008 10:54:17
I really empathise the writer. There are many in her the same shoes. Lately i read that some mothers have substituted condensed milk for formula to feed the babies.
When I read this, I could not control my anger but to blame the imcompetent Government.
The despicable part of the Government is that they have the cheek to reduce their entertainment alllowance and confinie their holidays(tax payers expense) to Asean. At time when we have people who could hardly provide basic three meals to their childre, the ministers have the 'muka' to travel and enjoy at our expense.
written by Sunnysoul5, June 19, 2008 10:58:32
The writer is suffering like many Malaysians in the lower income group. The politician was asking the people and civil servant to have a second income by working at night.

The irony is that the relatives of the politician are having the lifestyle of superstars. Can the politician have the sincere heart to understand the plight of the poor and needy.

If RM3,000 per month is not enough to survive in the modern day Malaysia, then there must be better and affordable public transport with discounts for the poor and needy. The poor and needy must receive some subsistence allowances for them to survive.

The politican must understand that the ill-gotten money will not last and shall bring bad karma. The face shows the sins and greed that cannot be hidden unfortunately.

It is time to form NGO to look into the deserving poor and needy for sure.
written by wisdomguy, June 19, 2008 10:58:38
Sometime we need to change to progress and develops.But don't change your lifestyle but the government.God bless Malaysia
written by Flex65, June 19, 2008 10:59:52
I think there are too many people that requires help. So it may not be practical to offer help this way. What is frustrating is that we here that the cronies are getting more money. The people are have problem getting through each day and the government is talking about 10% cut in entertainment. For a person having 18k entertainment allowance a month, is he able to understand the difficult situation we are in? Now we are hearing that his bloody son-in-law will benefit from the RM625 rebate. When will all this stopped?
written by farah, June 19, 2008 11:04:59
Dear Single Mom,
All we need right now to overcome our financial crisis in the country but definately not via UMNO BN.

DSAI has promised US THE RAKYAT to stabilies the economic situation. So lets us help an support DSAI/PR to form a new government.
written by sararaj, June 19, 2008 11:05:04
i think i have to agree with RPK... BN indeed have AIDS as he aptly put it... i still don't understand how is it that they are oblivious to the fact that so many people in Malaysia are so god damned pissed off with them... Are they blind, deaf or stupid or maybe all three... screw the racial sentiment it's just getting stupid... People are coming about to realise that the whole race issue is a cover... it's a ploy that the british used and the same ploy that BN has used for 50 years to make sure we're all stupid... i pity those in rural areas who are almost completely oblivious to this... it's saddening... they get a bag of rice 4 - 5 years once and then pledge their complete trust in BN saying that they have help us... can't blame them... maybe their not exposed to things as those of us in urban areas...
BN wants to stay the ruling party?? my suggestion is clean up their act... dissolve UMNO, MIC and MCA and all the other parties and become one party, a party where race isn't a factor...
is u ask me pakatan should also adopt the same system...
moderation is important... don't understand the idea of seperate check out counters at malls... seperate this and that... once again this all boils down to education... a wise man once said "the end of education is character"... i guess since the education system is screwed up and we have TDM and Hishamudin to thank we're pretty much screwed out of everyhting... once again... like RPK said... educate not legislate...
DSAI is doing good... his track record as DPM has shown that he's capable... but he's yet to prove himself... but if u ask me... DSAI is the best option at the moment because basically i have no faith in BN as well as MIC (me being indian) to take the helm and champion my rights as a malaysian not an indian... me like many others were born here, lived here, grew up here, were educated here, have a lifetimes worth of experience on this soil and your saying that i'm an immigrant?? that's just utterly dispicable... what gave them the right to say that?? the constitution which has been amended some 600 times(... stupid... just stupid...) maybe we should be like america... the minute someone doesn't like a president he gets shot...
written by Dominic, June 19, 2008 11:06:02
Dear Desperate Mother

My heart goes to you and all those who are facing similiar problem. Under such circumstances, first thing to do is to be strong and think positive. Its easier said than done, we all know. In your case I believe your little girl is the only one who beckon you with hope to struggle on . Without hope,there is no future. I hope those rich uncle and aunties out there can do something for these unfortunate children of god . End of the day is, the govt must find ways and mean to help the poor and needy. Looks like the only hope now is for PR to take over the govt .
written by Zapper, June 19, 2008 11:06:33
This is what I have been talking about....there is no way to change when one is at subsistence level. But the govt do not see this because they have been living at the ivory tower for far too long and has lost touch with reality.
written by partiotic, June 19, 2008 11:13:52
Yes we are poor because our tax money has gone to the few who run the BN government.They are very rich. The only ways is to vote out BN and put Pakatan Rakyat to run the government. Then the second step is to Check their bank accounts in arount the world, for example Isreal Bank in Singapore and bring back out tax money. First check their local Bank account.

Dear fellow malaysian please wakes up, don't let UMNO, MIC, MAC, Garakan bulshit us again. 50 years of bulshiting is enough. We have UMNO walkil rakyat flying around Ipoh town in his light aircraf, in the expense of pomalo farmer.
written by the1, June 19, 2008 11:13:55

Changing lifestyle simply means they don't care a damn about lower income rakyat.
written by speakofthemind, June 19, 2008 11:16:03
We need to have a Realistic MINIMUM SALARY set for all and changes according to the CPI every year.

Below RM350 gets welfare ? Well probably they are dead by the time they get the help from the welfare department.

We need change in leadership !
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 19, 2008 11:18:20
My advice, and I am not being cynical, is: Move to Penang and highlight your plight to the CM who will be more sympathetic.
written by MarchOn, June 19, 2008 11:21:56
Well I think the only is for you is to move from seremban and live in nearby Kajang or semenyih and look out for jobs there. The cost of living in semenyih is still low and Kajang.. every you turn there's toll.

Since the government will not change anytime soon, the only way is to change ourselves, well the government may change a few months down the road but what are we going to do until then, eat air/ 02?

What I can do for you, is try to get you a better paying job, I a few successes in writing resume and being persistant in getting a job.

So if you need help please sent to me your recent resume, will work from there.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

I know this may not help the masses, but 1 little help makes a difference to that 1 person, imagine if we all do this?
written by budakindia, June 19, 2008 11:24:58
Change government lar! Don't listen to any BN propaganda anymore! Are you ready for the change?
written by Sean E, June 19, 2008 11:25:33
So our leaders ask us to change our lifestyles .....while some big shots of GLC fly in style:

http://www.airliners.net/photo/Untitled/Gulfstream-Aerospace-G-IV/1323849&tbl=photo_info&photo_nr=1&sok=WHERE__(reg_=_'9M-ABC')_&sort=_order_by_photo_id_DESC_&prev_id=&next_id=1321757
written by mamanur, June 19, 2008 11:26:39
Dear desperate mother,

i am another desperate mother - my son is 7 years old and he goes to school. the rise in cost of living really hit us, single mothers, badly. like u, my husband dissappeared long ago and i have been the sole breadwinner for my son. most of my earning goes to loan repayment, my son's education (tuitions), house rental, foods, transportations, and a bit of savings. but that bit of savings is getting lesser today...

change lifestyle? suicidal...
written by Bourgore, June 19, 2008 11:39:15
Our beloved country has deteriorated 2 this type of sad situation is all due to those in POWER If u look around in this world n analyse why some countries fsre better n some countries fare worse It all due to those in POWER
written by grant, June 19, 2008 11:39:51
Dear Desperate Mum,
I understand the situation you are going thru and some of the predicaments you might have or been thru. I guess I nearly went thru that path that you walked on a couple of years a go.. Nevertheless, I am not going to judge you on that, neither I am going to judge u on anything at all..

I have some thots, not thots like asking you to go find a husband or a part time job. Not anything like that..

1. Is there a possibility that your parents could take care of your kid and perhaps you pay them in gratitude on a lesser amount?

2. I am not sure if your phone bill is a combination of your telekom phone and mobile but irrespective of that, perhaps there is a way to reduce by RM10 or so? I believed the phone bill is relatively higher for a single person usage

3. Can u work with the bank to either reduce your credit card min payment hence extending the tenure or pay an upfront a certain lump sum so that the tenure shall maintain but with a reduced mthly payment?

For the usual groceries that you have to really depend on, what I normally do is buy them inbulk during sale. Obviously this will tear a bigger hole in my pocket during that instant but in the long run, it will be more economical.

For instance, I have kids too, so I normally buy 3-5 tins of milk and several packs of diapers in advance when there is a sale.

Hope this helps..
written by Al Ambia, June 19, 2008 11:42:48
Dear desparate mother,the God is watching from above and he knows what is happening."A bird does not worry what will happen tomorrow because the God will provide him with food".Dont worry,this is only temporary
written by Mr Smith, June 19, 2008 11:43:35
The BN government has completely lost touch with its people.
If only the kampong folks how they live a life of 'indecent luxury', they will be awed even by looking at their furniture and carpets. Perhaps they will be completely disgusted and loot their premises.
What more their fleet of imported SUVs and imported cars. Every UMNO minister is a millionaire and so are their wives and adult children. They seek treatment either in private hospitals or overseas. Similarly, their younger ones either go to international schools or foreign schools/universities. And did you notice their glittering clothes?
At home they speak Inglish!!! but defend Bahasa Malaysia unto death in their public speeches.
And they don't take public transport, don't queue at government departments. Get discounts with traffic summons and lots and lots of 'duit kopi', hampers and gifts.
These are the defenders of our bangsa, ugama and negara.
They live in another world.
So do you think they know how you and I suffer?
written by Long Man, June 19, 2008 11:56:59
pity you... tomorrow is friday... let us perform 'solat hajat' tonite... and ask whatever we want to ask from the God...

"and do not do mischief on the earth, after it has been set In order, and invoke Him with fear and hope; surely, Allâh's Mercy is (ever) near unto the good­doers." Al-Quran 7:56

p/s don't forget to ask that the vote of no confident is accepted in the parliament...
written by slash n burn, June 19, 2008 12:01:54
Badawi, what change lifestyle? Smack your mouth with my shoes. Open your eyes dummy, plenty of kemiskinan tegar in this country!
written by cwy, June 19, 2008 12:03:37
I'm sympathetic with you and many Malaysian who live a life worse than the exploited foreign workers in our country!
Our parents and grandparents have survived just eating tapioca or sweet potatoes during Japanese occupation.
Of course, our modern society is different from that of the past. Tapioca and sweet potatos are not cheap nowadays.
People who are brought up in poor family might survive the present inflation but it's real difficult for those who lived a comfortable life to cope with the sudden high rise in cost of living.
We have to adjust our expenses within our means. Hope that we can survive like our ancesters!
Don't ever hope about wawasan 2020! Don't believe that BN can take good care of you! Do you need 'crutch' from UMNO? I'm sure you know how to solve your problems without government's help. Just stand on your own feet! Nobody shall die in starvation in Malaysia.
If you need a government that creates an atmosphere and opportunity for a better future, vote for PR in the next GE!
written by Richfyf, June 19, 2008 12:36:50
Dear Desperate Mother.
We all can understand and appreciate the hardship you are going through. Now I wanna see how UMNO is going to protect the BUMIPUTERA rights and help the Bumiputera. By the WAY please remember MALAY is not the BUMIPUTERA. BUMIPUTERA also include other races. IBAN, Malanau, Khadazan, orang asli and for some strange reason .. a 2nd generation Indian muslim ( namley mamak)
written by Kcc, June 19, 2008 12:45:12
Dear Desperate Mother

Maybe get TV3's attention like what many unhappy villagers do, and then only the govt will take things more seriously.

Whether a person earning even RM2,000 NETT is able to survive or not is very subjective nowadays; it depends on the demographics. As for "Desperate Mother", sad to say that nothing much can be done for you as the govt couldn't care less about us (they CLAIM they care); the only thing people in your shoes now can do is to spend as necessary in order to keep your family afloat, hopefully not to the extent of starving yourself or your family (no offense intended here). It is sad that Malaysia is not a welfare state where the poor get free food via coupons. Our welfare department isn't really a welfare organisation at all.

It is OUR hope that if Pakatan ever takes control, people like you will live a more bearable / comfortable life.
Pray hard daily, and all the best to you and your family.
written by mikewang, June 19, 2008 12:58:18
It's wrong for AAB to increase fuel price without a safety net for inflation.

It was also wrong for him to increase the salary of government servants when the fuel price was last increased spiralling the first round of inflation and negating any increase given to the public sector employees.

Those in the private sector are suffering because their competitors are global and any salary increase is mitigated by foreign workers and the fact that there are many in China, India and Vietnam who would do the same job for a fraction of the pay.

AAB government thinks only of government sector employees.
What about those in the private sector ???
What about us ????
written by sampalee, June 19, 2008 13:08:21
Politicians cannot solve the problems like yours.Only religions can,Was not it Lord Jesus who said'blessed are the poor'.Politicians from both side often exploits the poor for political gains as the poors are just mere pawns to them to sacrifice in a political chess game.Our one hope is for non-political giant like RPK to rise and head this country.Have faith in Tuhan and anything can happen.
written by simon68, June 19, 2008 13:10:23
Dear Desperate mother, hang on for a while. Help is coming. SAPP from Sabah had started the ball rolling. Every body in Malaysia is for a change in BN gov't. I hope the three stooges from Sabah (Joseph Kitingan, Joseph Kurup and Bernard Dompok) find their balls and follow suite the SAPP. Without doing so, your political life will end as that of UMNO (soon!!!). As for Sarawak politicans, si ada balls ke??
written by teohpg, June 19, 2008 13:33:43
It should be a VOTE OF DEATH for the cronies government. ONCE AND FOR ALL>
written by activepro, June 19, 2008 13:36:47
Hasn't it puzzled you all that before these bunch of BN clowns hiked the price of fuel,didn't they anticipate that all other essential commodities and services would follow suit?All which led to where we are now at---screwed all over.None of these clowns see the consequences of their actions and worse,they don't even prepare an effective remedy to combat it.The opposition are doing their bit---giving rice,sugar,salt to those poor families,which is more appropriate and sensible.In England,those jobless can collect welfare or food stamps in the US.We in Msia,if you are down, out and if nobody helps,you may end up in the street to become a beggar.This is how shortsighted and lost touch our PM has became.He didn't realised that there are many m'sian earning below rm500-rm600 p.m.,also like the reasonably educated single mom above struggling to survive on a mere rm1,300 or US400 per mth salary with her kids.I can tell you there are many like her in Malaysia and I can tell you if they are not strong they would take their own lives just to solve their miseries in this stupidly "rich" country.Why can't the fed govt see this real problem? and if they are really caring,why can't they roll out basic food item and money to help those like her and not based on minimum income criteria of rm300-rm400 which is totally outdated.We don't want you BN!we CAN'T n WON'T support BN!
written by shangrilapeace, June 19, 2008 14:20:17
A frustrating & genuine call for help & a fast answer ....
How are those politicians responsible for these "cries"
sleep at night?
Sister, you & others will be allright very, very soon.
written by shiokguy, June 19, 2008 14:44:09
Extra Job!

May be we should also walk the street to earn extra.
Chow Kit road anyone?

I need a home based job..... help me
Link >> http://shiokguy.********.com/2...d-job.html

http://shiokguy.********.com/
PS: Visit my blog for some Shiok Political, Social and Economic view
written by macakmy, June 19, 2008 15:23:48
PAS wanted to give us a "Negara Berkebajikan". Not entirely a welfare state but a state with welfare for her people. We need to introduce schemes such as "child benefits" etc for the lower income group. Set a minimal wage that reflects the reality of our cost of living. Tax the rich and bring the ministers and politician wages down to senior government execs level. Get rid of all those extravagant "allowances". Heck, if they want to entertain, it should be for official guests only and they should go through the normal procedure of getting the budget for it case by case basis. And why must they live in mansions befitting the "rich and famous"? Their housing allowance should not be more than that of a senior civil servant. Don't waste our money providing them with bodyguards and outriders. They should live like the rest of us to get in touch with reality. Maybe then, they'll be closer to the ground.
written by sukinong, June 19, 2008 15:41:48
"Say what....desperate mother? ..." thinked Pak Lah. Maybe, he can take another 3 more wives since he still got capacity.

You say "pui" to the moonface huh?!
written by ENCIK NASIR, June 19, 2008 15:42:43
Tak pa la no.... Hang carry on je...
Continue seperti biasa, live life smart, keep quiet, think more, work more and it will be okay in the end...

My lecturer once told me, go live where people welcome you. Don't live in a shitty place where people ignores you. Life is not only about dollars and cents k.

good luck and peace to you.
written by Ursurper, June 19, 2008 15:47:20
Mr. PM,

I beg to you that Malaysia need your big favour. Be bold and resign and take with you all your assistance, people who that serve you and also your lap dog. By resigning also, you have not only save we ordinary Malaysian but people like Desperate mother. If you don't even understand, go to Johor causeway every morning, the best time will be (5.00a.m), and I beg you haven't wake up by then and ask for yourself the thousands and thousand suffering Malaysian on the motorcycles to the Republic island just to earn a bit extra just to make thing more comfortable for themselves. You want to see what is real ubah gaya hidup, ask your stupid minister to squat at the causeway and observe those suffering Malaysian!

Enough said, do us a big favour, just resign. If not you and your family will always be remember as the most hopeless, weakest and useless PM. Save yourself this disgrace. You may said, if I resign, will the situation change with the new person? I will say it will not 100% change even with the new person as a PM, but at least we have hope. Is only hope that give us Malaysian alive and kicking now.Don't even take this away from us. We already have no more soul and spirit, hope is only what we have left. Cheers

'( smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by manic_annie, June 19, 2008 16:24:54
People,
Let us all take turns in telling our stories - our suffering and hardship, and what we have to go through in our daily lives. Malaysia Today can help compile all of our stories, what say you, RPK?

written by apiapi, June 19, 2008 16:25:53
I am the same boat as you desperate mother and I live in Kuala Lumpur. What to do you just have to live one day at a time until hopefully this Iman Besar Hadhari pass away or will be kick in the butt. He is the problem for all Malaysian as the truth is he is not interested to be the Prime Minister of Malaysia but is push by his family namely KAMARUDDIN "****-ME" ABDULLAH and KHAIRY "BERUK JALANAN" JAMALUDDIN to be their "balachi". Daaaaammmm you to hell Pak Lah!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by joemss, June 19, 2008 16:33:37
Is they government going to rebate for those whom do not own any vehicles? Surely the federal government has to rebate something as all prices are now so high up due to the fuel price hike. The poor are now getting poorer and maybe less to eat.
written by mgeo, June 19, 2008 16:41:49
a. Perhaps "Desperate mother" could use a bicycle to cover the 7 km. This will only be possible if the roads and safety aspects permit. Thanks to our beloved BN development, roads are generally hostile environments for pedestrians and bicyclists.
b. BN has only been paying lip service to creches (for infants and toddlers) in offices and factories.
c. In a country of only 26 million with ICs, the govt. does not have the will or capability to track down and ensure the payment of alimony by fathers.
written by chaiksyn, June 19, 2008 16:47:41
Dear Desperate mother,

I don't know what to say to you....my brother who has 3 daughters, is finding it very hard to survive, my sisters and me have been subsidising him, for the past 3 months, and I am only a housewife depending on my husband! I don't know how long I can continue giving him my entire meagre allowance! My husband is not happy; in fact he is pissed off that he has to support 2 families! Shit that bastard relaxing in Putra Jaya! If I have a gun, I would shoot that balls between his legs! But why not shoot in between his eyes?
written by densemy, June 19, 2008 17:14:07
... and to all those delusional people who are telling this poor woman to pray to god and he will look after you. Perhaps you guys would like to change places with her and show us all how compassionate you are.

I'm going to suggest it will be another case of hypocrisy rules

I would personally like to thank all you selfish middle class people who for years have sat down to your fully laden tables and your car filled front yards bitching about the status quo as it affects you

Your selfishness and your greed and your failure to do anything about the government of this country has lead to this situation where nobody give a ****... you dont give a **** about the people who need welfare assistance, you dont give a **** for the people who need assistance to educate their children, you dont give a **** about the poor people who have to labour under draconian work agreements. You dont give a **** about anybody but yourself
written by Toyolbuster, June 19, 2008 18:51:26
Dear Desperate Mother, tell us the truth, did you vote in the 12GE. Did you moan about your grouses to all your friends before the 12GE. Did you persuade your friends and relatives that they should vote for a change. Did you bother to give some encouraging support to the brave people who inspite of the vicious and violent attack by the Police, still went ahead to voice out their (and also yours) grievances during the Bersih and Hindraf rallies. If you have, I support your cry for help, if not, then this is not a forum for your personal suffering.