Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow In Malaysia: Another blow for Abdullah

In Malaysia: Another blow for Abdullah PDF Print
Thursday, 19 June 2008 08:58

Mr Abdullah, in reaction to Mr Yong's move, told Bernama news agency: 'I have not been able to satisfy his personal greed.'

By Carolyn Hong, The Straits Times

MALAYSIAN Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi faces his biggest crisis yet, after a small member party of the Barisan Nasional (BN) yesterday said it had lost confidence in his leadership.

The Chinese-based Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) says it will table a no-confidence vote against him in Parliament, or support one tabled by the opposition.

'We have lost confidence in the Prime Minister of Malaysia, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi,' its president, Datuk Yong Teck Lee, told reporters.

The crack is the biggest to appear in the ruling coalition since its dominant parties suffered serious losses in the March8 polls.

The coalition has since been buffeted by demands from East Malaysia, which delivered one-third of the seats to keep it in power.

The bombshell adds to the perception that Datuk Seri Abdullah's leadership is weak and the central government unstable. Malaysia's stock market and the ringgit weakened on the Sabah news.

Mr Abdullah, in reaction to Mr Yong's move, told Bernama news agency: 'I have not been able to satisfy his personal greed.'

His aides said he would elaborate later.

Mr Yong said the SAPP, with two MPs and four state assemblymen, will decide by tomorrow whether to leave the BN.

By then, it might well be sacked from the coalition. If it leaves, the BN will be left with 138 MPs. The opposition would then need to woo only 28 of them to seize power.

The SAPP - which is demanding major concessions from the federal government, such as action against illegal immigrants and more economic assistance for Sabahans - has not ruled out joining the coalition led by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

There is strong speculation that a number of Sabah MPs and assemblymen will quit BN, and join the SAPP to form an independent group.

Parliament will convene on Monday.

It will be the first time a no-confidence motion is being attempted against a prime minister by his own party. But it is uncertain if the motion will reach a vote.

The parliamentary rules have no specific provisions for such a vote. A general motion requires 14 days' notice, and rarely gets heard because government business takes precedence. An urgent motion requires 48 hours' notice, but there is no vote on it.

Cabinet Minister-in-charge of Parliamentary Affairs Nazri Aziz said it was up to the Speaker to accept or reject the motion.

If tabled, it would be near impossible to carry, even if it won the votes of all 82 opposition and independent MPs.

Another 30 BN MPs would have to vote for it, or at least 60 of them would have to be absent or abstain during voting.

One of Mr Abdullah's strongest critics within Umno, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, said he would not support such a vote if it helped the opposition take power, but would consider it if the choice of a new premier were left to the BN.

Kelantan prince Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, who is challenging Mr Abdullah for the Umno presidency, said: 'Our component parties are rethinking their relationship with us. If our leaders refuse to face reality, I fear the worst for the party and this government.'

A successful no-confidence vote would result in snap polls which must be consented to by the King, or the appointment of a new Prime Minister.

Mr Anwar congratulated the SAPP on its resolve, and urged other BN component parties to follow suit.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by budakindia, June 19, 2008 09:06:16
So long abdullah! It's already a big hole in the morale for other component parties! The question of whether the motion will be accepted is not important. How is it feel dying a slow death?
written by ahmadneil, June 19, 2008 09:09:33
The battle line is drawn.Now we are seeing the dawn of a new era in the land below the wind.To all sabahan get on the boat before it's too late
written by Msiasky, June 19, 2008 09:12:43
Abdullah, don’t worry who know why you can not fulfill Mr Yong’s greed. you can NOT satisfy Mr Yong’s greed is because Abdullah your personal greed is much greater than Mr Yong greed. After fulfilling Abdullah your personal greed there is not much left for you to fulfill Mr Yong’s greed.
written by Engineer, June 19, 2008 09:12:57
AAB the PM who always sleep and TDM the PM who cannot sleep gave themselves away during their recent statement.

AAB states here, he is not able to satisfy Yong's personal greed. Basically, he offered but could not satisfy Yong because it is not what Yong wanted in the first place.

TDM states that there was a camp (although he denied it was a boot camp) and he made speech to judges (although he denied he threatened), he needs time to remember. Basically TDM could not remember Ian Chin presence and needs time to check if there is any audio or video recording of the camp). Why is it that TDM always threatened to sue ?

written by oknyua, June 19, 2008 09:14:20
This the only reaction AAB can give?

AAB’s self-denial must stop. Leading a country is NOT similar to leading a department or ministry. The buck stops with him and Yong Teck Lee’s action is NOT only due to greed, (if its greed). It’s AAB’s inability to show leadership.

AAB’s component UMNO is too polite and too feudalistic to initiate changes. Yet the fact he is challenged from two or three sides must have sent the message he is not capable.

The “greed” is the result of this incapability. Would he be challenged had he shown his capabilty?
written by semut, June 19, 2008 09:15:15
there's a lot more to come..
duit banyak hati susah pun tarak guna..
padan muka BN..

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by Tom n Jerry, June 19, 2008 09:15:27
Wake up!Sabah MP*s!BN is a sinking*vessel*Escape before you get drowned!Good luck!Happy exit! smilies/smiley.gif
written by binarytan, June 19, 2008 09:30:16
It is a obvious wake up call for AAB the sleephead useless nincompoop PM. Our lovely Malaysia still need to progress fast, but not under your poor leadership. It is obvious call for BN to withdraw from federal where they are just useless gang too. Even PR is still working hard in these 5 states but they are working a lot more harder towards rakyat and country rather than the robber and corrupted BN. Who have voted for BN should wake up now too and look at your leaders. The move by SAPP will definitely for the good of Malaysia, I support fully. Remove those lumbs and bumps out of our body as we have suffered long enough.
written by Rock, June 19, 2008 09:32:11
It's hard to believe, that was his answer to such challenged! Confirmed he's a sleepy head. Good ridden if it can happen, safe us from this incapable leader.
written by deathorses, June 19, 2008 09:35:56
PM pls continue sleepin'... smilies/grin.gif
written by the1, June 19, 2008 09:40:51
Which part is personal greed? There is MORE PERSONAL GREED in RapiKL to RM625 subsidy by POS Malaysia!
written by Ravee, June 19, 2008 09:43:47
What!!! Asking for economic assistance for Sabahans, and fixing illegal immigrant issues .... Greedy!!!

Greedy is getting a personal jet,a yacht etc.

Better get rid of greedy, sleepy PM
written by Iliyas, June 19, 2008 09:57:56
As Frank Sinatra clearly express in his most famous song"And now the end is near and so I face the final curtain"a perfect song that AAB should be mastering now.Kudos to YTL,a showcase of guts but mellowed finale,I await the headlines"SAPP leaves BN"
written by EVVP, June 19, 2008 10:03:11
His personal greed is Sahabahans' greed for better benefits from the goverment, what's wrong with that ?
written by indianputra, June 19, 2008 10:06:01
This one guy in Malaysia, Abdullah Badawi is creating so much problems for the nation. There is uncertainty everywhere. There is absolutely no Governance in the nation. ALL HE HAD TO DO WAS RESIGN and there could have been some sort of positive things happening.

The UMNO and BN representatives are in crutches because of this one guy. Their future is written off by this one guy.

I don't believe in euthanesia.... but UMNO and BN topshots must give the lethal injection of 'rejection' of this guy.
written by 3nity, June 19, 2008 10:09:02
This is most interesting. Pot calling the kettle black my momma once told me. And I think this is the most apt of sayings for the moment.

What we (the small folk of the country who toil and sweat to survive and just hold 1 nostril above the poverty line) want is to just stop the leakages of our national wealth from being squandered in the name of progress by people who have no morals. Pity, their parents' should have never spared the rods on their delicate backsides!

We, the rakyat, have to be very cautious now and be true to ourselves and to our childrens' future. This cannot be gambled away, be take lightly at all or even sold!

I foresee a period in the near future where trinkets will be dangled in front of us to "soothe" the pain of reality. Money will flow like an unchecked tap, easy and in gushes. The real question is are we going to stay true to ourselves of be intoxicated with the past all over again and sell our souls to the highest bidder.
written by sumandakk, June 19, 2008 10:23:21
I vote The Third Option for Sabah... smilies/grin.gif
written by New Frontier, June 19, 2008 10:33:15
SAPP listed out legitimate claims for Sabahan and yet Pak Tidollah dare to put that on personal greed. Come Sabahan, join us PR to end UMNO/BN miserable selfish rule. Yet, someone from UMNO PUTERA(close assoc. of Pengerusi Pasar) managed to secure AP for hybrid cars. If that is not personal greed than what else Pak Tidollah! Your time will come to an end soon enough. Insya Allah.
written by Ben Nordin, June 19, 2008 10:34:26
Bye bye Mr. 'Clean'. Next time do remember that when you 'clean' other people's coffers, please leave a substantial amount for them to feed themselves.
written by Agahdemo, June 19, 2008 10:46:44
Pak Lah, it has nothing to do with personal greed....afterall what's so new about personal greed in UMNO led by you... It's UMNO "budaya" already since TDM days............

After many reminders from Sabah, you dare to blame it on "personal greed".... Pak Lah!!! It's your total failure to response to their request with your usual " I need more time"....... Pak Lah wake up...you have not much left for sleeping
written by slayer, June 19, 2008 10:54:42
Good move SAPP. But it seems that even with such a dramatic move, its still not enough to knock some sense into that thick skull of Bodowi. The people of East Malaysia and most of Peninsular Malaysia wants you to leave ok? hello???
WAKE UP! oops...still asleep....sshhhhh........
written by onnetline, June 19, 2008 11:02:35

Very typical of a drowning man action. And in this instance, to do what he has become ........ a LIAR !
written by miwaki, June 19, 2008 11:26:52
Dollah,just give him APs-lah.
written by Jan, June 19, 2008 11:31:14
Can you blame Yong losing his confidence in the PM? BN is like a headless chicken with neither the vision or direction to pull us out of the economic mess. Raising the fuel price indiscriminately is a clear indication of misplaced policies.
The last thing this country needs now is a mediocre leader.
written by Kcc, June 19, 2008 11:37:51
This is the MOST interesting development to date. A positive move but we still have to wait and see if all SAPP members will pull out en-bloc... or shall we wait for 16 Sept.? hmm....
written by Richfyf, June 19, 2008 12:02:23

I belive 100% with or "beloved" Prime Minister THIS TIME.

ABB we all belive you this time because it just make perfect logic now. From the way you run this country we now know that you have a tough time keeping UMNO members as well as BN components together. We know now how you do it. Too bad you cannot satisfied all their Personal Greed. You are pretty good still being able to satisfied quiet a number of personal greed. Am sure appointing Mr 2M as a senator and minister you are bale to satisfy his personal greed. So now we know the true success formula or your landslide victory in 2004. You were able to satisfy lots of personal greed then. Too bad times are tough and on top of that your family member numbers have grown so... some of the other people personal greed have to be turn down.

So at last our Beloved Prime Minister admitted that all this while he have been able to keep the rest of the Umno and BN leaders by satisfying their personal greed. Cause all this while I have been bewildered how could someone who sleeps most of the time even during parliament can gather so much support!!!!!!!!!
written by safeerzone, June 19, 2008 12:02:58
WAKE UP DEAR SABAH!!!!do the right thing, its never too late, for the sake of delightful future and 20% royalty in oil...pls support PR...your names and actions will be written as a history and you will die as a saviour of Sabah from the hands of arrogant ingorant BN
written by redzuank, June 19, 2008 12:09:08
"written by Msiasky, June 19, 2008 | 09:12:43
Abdullah, don’t worry who know why you can not fulfill Mr Yong’s greed. you can NOT satisfy Mr Yong’s greed is because Abdullah your personal greed is much greater than Mr Yong greed. After fulfilling Abdullah your personal greed there is not much left for you to fulfill Mr Yong’s greed.
vote down
vote up
Votes: 33 "

The Real is Malaysian cannot fulfill AAB's personal greed.

http://redssays.********.com/
written by Fernz, June 19, 2008 14:48:30
According to Deputy President Raymond Tan, Yong's statement was arbitary and done without the approval of the party's Supreme Council.

Instead of BN meeting on Sapp, the party's Supreme Council should meet and ask Yong to explain his public statement.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com
written by deemah, June 19, 2008 15:32:21
Oi budak2 tkt 4 - JAWAB LAH. MENGAPA SENYAP. KALAU MENGATA ORANG BUKAN MAIN LAGI.
written by cruzeiro, June 19, 2008 15:48:44
Urgent message for UMNO Baru & elites (aka Kutty, Badwi, Kyrie, Kuli)

Your show is cracking,
Your crack is showing.

written by ekt tan, June 19, 2008 20:06:12
It looks like more cracks are being exposed. BN is more badly battered as the weeks drag on. BN doomsday seem a surety as more dramas are played out on the political stage.
written by PAKRAK, June 19, 2008 22:57:33
Abdullah is in a daze. Frankly, he does'nt know what hit him. But when more subsequent blows start to rain on him he will be stretchered to CCU (Coronary Care Unit). Anybody with a gentle heart can visit him.
Silly of AAB to say that he had not been able to satisfy YTL's personal greed.
Sleepy Head should look at his mug face in the mirror first before he could utter such statement. Countdown of UMNO/BN downfall begins....9....8...
written by Heaven8402, June 19, 2008 23:13:03
This is from a forwarded mail received, just for laughs:
There are possible plans underway to apply to the Oxford and Webster to include a new word for their 2009 dictionary:
badawi [baa-daa-wee] (noun): To start something full of promise but end in disappointment, failure and/or disaster.
Eg:
'I'm trusting you to perform this task well; don't do a badawi, ok?'
'Whatever I do, I will always find a way to badawise it.'
'France badawied their Euro 2008 campaign. England pre-badawied theirs, while Italy were guilty of over-badawification.'