Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Mahathir denies threatening judges

Mahathir denies threatening judges PDF Print
Thursday, 19 June 2008 08:48

FORMER Malaysian premier Mahathir Mohamad yesterday denied allegations that he had threatened to sack judges and ordered them to attend boot camps for pro-government indoctrination.

Tun Dr Mahathir, 82, who is criticised for suppressing judicial and press freedoms during his two decades in power, is fending off claims from a top judge, who made the revelations in open court.

'At no time did I issue any threat against the judges,' Dr Mahathir said on his blog chedet.com.

He admitted that the authorities had conducted courses on the national ethos, where speakers explained Malaysia's political system with reference to ethics, moral values and democracy.

'Thousands of people from all walks of life attended these work camps. There were hardly any complaints,' he said.

Justice Ian Chin said he was targeted by Dr Mahathir after refusing to award 'astronomical' payouts in two libel cases in 1997, while a judge who agreed with the then- premier's views was later promoted to the Federal Court.

Afterwards, Justice Chin reportedly said he was packed off to a five-day boot camp with selected judges and judicial officers.

It was without doubt 'an attempt to indoctrinate those attending the boot camp to hold the view that the government interest (was) more important than all else when we are considering our judgment', Justice Chin said.

Dr Mahathir stood down in 2003 and his successor, Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, has been criticised for failing to carry out his promises to tackle corruption, which is deeply entrenched in politics and business.

Justice Chin's allegations add to the pall cast over the country's judiciary by a recent royal commission into a sensational Mahathir-era video clip that shows a top lawyer brokering judicial appointments with the help of politicians.

AGENCE FRANCE-PRESSE

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, June 19, 2008 08:52:26
This old man still keep on barking
written by Littlebird, June 19, 2008 08:52:58
But somehow Mahathir got something against everyone. First, when Royal Commission implicated him he said he also know some judges including those in RC had lobbied. On Ian Chin, he knew of a damaging police report. Wonder, if he actually got every little secrets of everyone serving him?
written by joseph81, June 19, 2008 08:53:42
Somehow I still believe Ian, my instint told me so
written by FOLI, June 19, 2008 08:57:00
Geeeez ....MM never issued any treat against the judges.... I havnt opened my window yet but I would be expecting blue elephants, yellow hippos, brown cows, red mongolian yaks to be flying outside right now.
written by khongja, June 19, 2008 09:05:26
No matter what this mm can remember now all this! When he was King he could do no wrong! Any explaination on Mr.Salleh Abas??
Its best he go to the streets undercover and see whether he still popular?He make hit a million in his blog but what about the millions cursing him each day.They will cheer when he goes under.This is the real situation on the ground.
Anyway the judge was fair and when you work for the government you dont go against the PM WOULD YOU?Well the ex PM creditability stinks!
written by banjarbp, June 19, 2008 09:06:51
Remember our military ammo dump at Mesjid Tanah, Melaka? Who was the Defence Minister when it was built?
written by kc respect, June 19, 2008 09:22:10
Heard this song over the radio this morning, and would like to dedicate it to TDM :-

"YOU AIN'T NOTHING BUT A HOUND DOG, CRYIN' ALL THE TIME" ........ You, no fren of mind....
written by Al Ambia, June 19, 2008 09:22:29
Only God know,you know and the judge know.No need to explained further.The the Almighthy be your judge.Baik punya semua you buat,busuk punya orang lain buat.Shit!
written by SocratesI, June 19, 2008 09:23:41

Maha-Shithead is feeling the heat finally ! The skeletons are bursting out of the cupboards !

Maha-Shithead is, and was, an INSUFFERABLE EGOMANIAC & SOCIOPATH, who always though that his way is THE ONLY WAY, and the political opponents that got too vocal, he put in Kamunting under ISA, and the lawyers & judges who opposed him, he removed, or cold-storaged like the DESPOTIC DICTATOR he was !!

What Ian Chin has stated comes as no surprise ... what is surprising is that Maha-Shithead still tries to deviously absolve himself from all blame, using his unique brand of warped logic that only he and his mongrel pariah, Mati Chang, share !!

written by Bigjoe99, June 19, 2008 09:32:32
Oh yeah he did. Why pay ex-gratia payment? Whether you did it other times, its his fault people are more likely to believe it rather than not. Chinese says karma man, karma.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 19, 2008 09:40:52
A final vote of *thanks
*to TDM.His past mistakes caused BN *vessel*to sink!Without him perhaps BN is still Bn,strong&almighty! smilies/grin.gif
written by Counterpointer, June 19, 2008 09:44:06
Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad will not respond to the allegations made by a High Court judge anytime soon.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_...index_html

Now if somebody did not do it, it would have registered in his mind immediately that he didn't do it, without the need for any second thoughts. And his immediate reply would be to vehemently object to the accusations.

From that extremely lame initial reply, what was going on in this old fart's mind was something like: "Hmmm, now I may have or have not done it.Let me try and recall whether or not I have done it in that instance." And some time later he remembers and declares that he didn't do it. Does it sound like this old fart is innocent in the allegations of his abuses of the judiciary?

Sorry, your denial came much too late to ever be believable.
written by ToeJam, June 19, 2008 09:48:47
Tun Dr Mahathir, 82, who is criticised for suppressing judicial and press freedoms during his two decades in power, is fending off claims from a top judge, who made the revelations in open court.

dear TDM,

Even if one chooses to tell a lie, at least try to cook up something creditable. One of yr method of managing yr people is your effective technique of threats. Those whom do not fall for your threats are then dealt with the full force of yr evil power (eg Anwar).

Actually I am very impressed that there are speakers in Malaysia who can "explained Malaysia's political system with reference to ethics, moral values and democracy" to judges. In other words the speakers are more learned than the judges! Hey, why then aren't these wonderful speakers sitting on the Bench to serve the nation?

I know many judges are inept when it comes to IT or forensic science, hence getting specialists to update them on technological advances is logical and required since the judges will encountered these specialised fields in their courts. But they needing "Malaysia's political system with reference to ethics, moral values and democracy" discourses stretches one's imagination. (perhaps these judges don't read the daily papers to keep up with the times!)

If what you claimed is true, then they must have been the most incompetent judges in the 1st plave, why didn't you just sack them and save the cost of organising this silly retreat! Or are you very tolerant of such stupid judges' abilities so that they can be beholden to you for a long time?

Or, may i speculate that these speakers are likely to be your internal security people who can "hint" (aka threaten on your behalf - of course then your hands would be clean so you can deny them later) to their audience the consequences if the judges won't listen to their then-PM?

But then, again, I may be badly mistaken so why not name these speakers in your blog so that the media can interview them and ask them the topics they covered?
Or have you forgotten their names?

So if you want to tell a lie, reflect deeper and cook up a better story for us the next time.I am sure there will be more opportunities for you soon to do many many explainations. But just try not to assume we are as stupid as your supporters!
written by cwy, June 19, 2008 09:54:12
This 'smart' Madhathir knows the hanky-panky ways of doing things.
He knows the laws and he knows ways not to be questioned legally in doing whatever things that are criminal in nature!
Do you have proof that he siphoned the national money for himself, his children and cronies?
Do you have proof that he discriminated and marginalised other races in Malaysia?
Do you have proof that he threatens the judges?
No, no, no... no proof at all. Perhaps you might have proof that his cronies are doing all those criminal things!
written by KM Wong, June 19, 2008 09:55:02
Beware Mahathir, the end is near. When the current BN govt is brought down, you will have to face the music.
written by jchew, June 19, 2008 10:04:43
Guarantee he will get slipper treatment like Samy if walks in town.
written by onnetline, June 19, 2008 10:12:04
Mahathir,

Sure, you did not threaten the judges or tampered with the judiciary. What else did you not do.......... please enlighten us all ! We the 'rakyat' are just dying to believe you.
written by aris, June 19, 2008 10:15:50
Dear TDM,
You were no different from Mugabe, Kibaki and Idi Amin in terms of your style of leadership. Yes, you brought development to the country - some were commendable (especially infrastructure),but others with disasterous consequences (cronyism and corruption, racial discrimination, ISA and Malay supremacy to cite a few). Actually, you 'ruled' the country as if you were the 'Emperor' of Malaysia. The Royalty, judiciary, government departments political parties, NGOs and all forms of social organisation were at your mercy. You were obssessed with power and control - dominion over people. Perhaps you thought you were compasionate but we thought you were domineering. While you were in power you had it your way. For the good you did you will earn merits and for the bad you caused you must pay. Plain and simple. Ian Chin has a moral obligation - a right to tell the Rakyat how the judicary was from his perspective. Life is a learning process - your perspective is true for you and other's pespectives are true for them.
written by FFT, June 19, 2008 10:25:32
Yeah, yeah, sure.

MM is telling the truth, alright.

Just like how he told the truth about how Anwar got a black eye in prison.

Just like how he told the truth about RPK and Tian Chua running around with rocket launchers.

Throw Mahathir in the ISA. Or sentence him to hang for treason.
written by ultraman, June 19, 2008 10:39:31
MM,
You can explain til kingdom come, no one, except Mathias . will believe in you!!
I wonder you are really God fearing. From the way you tried to bring Bodowi down, you are really very mean.Most of us do not like Bodowi. But we do not run him down the way you do.
As a result, between you and Bodowi, I will definitely support the latter.
it is time that you repent. The end is fast approaching for you in view of your age. Make sure that you ask for forgiveness from all the people that you sudah buat anaiya , before meeting the Creator.
Ian Chin is definitely more cerdible than you.
written by 1351, June 19, 2008 11:09:27
It all started of with a letter from an unsung hero, Justice Syed Ahmad Syed Aidid putting into words his complain of a stench emitting from the bench itself. Internal inquiries made sure nothing came out of it and the late AG then, Mokhtar Abdullah saw no cause for further action and Chief Justice, one Eusof 'I want a new house' Chin having the last say and file 'tutup'.

Today, we are wiser after revelation from Justice Ian Chin and if both allegations were matched, it all ties in very well and allegations made are certainly not baseless if proceeding from Lingamgate is made a point of reference.

What now Tun ?
written by Just Gan, June 19, 2008 11:11:02
Dear Tun Dr. Mahathir,

Your denial about Justice Chin's revelations on your threats and orders to the judges will not convince the Rakyat except for your small group of loyal supporters. Badawi is unlikely to set up a commission on enquiry to investigate the allegations - he is just to scared of you. Hence, the onus is on you to once and for all clear your name. File a defamation suit against Justice Chin for Ringgit 100 million. Engage a good lawyer and proceed. Unfortunately your trusted lawyer LIngam may not be appropriate for the task given his central role in the recent Lingam Tape incident. Mathias Chang, your trusted ex-PA, would be perfect for the job. He is wasting his time challenging Justice Chin to an open debate. This will not happen. Give Mathias a chance to prove that Justice Chin was wrong in slendering you.
written by FFT, June 19, 2008 11:22:05
written by Counterpointer, June 19, 2008 | 09:44:06
Now if somebody did not do it, it would have registered in his mind immediately that he didn't do it, without the need for any second thoughts. And his immediate reply would be to vehemently object to the accusations.

Ah, but he had to consult with his loyal Mutt first to get some advice on how to spin his way out of this.

Thankfully, he didn't take the Mutt's advice, or he would've written his latest blog piece in size 32 font with bold capital letters.
written by Just Gan, June 19, 2008 11:39:09

Can you please do a "No Holds Barred" on Tun Dr. Mahathir. There is just too much on the Tun in the news, and a response from you is both timely and required. Could you also arrange a poll to ascertain the percentage of people who believe/do not believe in the Tun's innocence/guilt in the Lingam Tape matter and the Justice Chin's revelations.
written by little dragon, June 19, 2008 12:17:37
sorry la tun. no time to comment on wat u said. gotta go. recent events in sabah r more interesting.

awwwwwww c'mon!!! don't cry just bcoz no one wants to listen to u anymore. u r 83 u know.
written by Mustapha Kamal, June 19, 2008 12:18:38
Hey mamak, you who cannot remember anything remotely likely to put you in the shithouse, please shut up. You threatened everyone in Malaysia, including us, the rakyat. So please threaten your son with the sack for not following you out of UMNO ! Then maybe we will listen to you.
written by bayan, June 19, 2008 14:57:36
Mahathir mudah lupa lupa lupa lupa ,tak ingat , lupalah tu
written by sukinong, June 19, 2008 14:59:42
101% CheDet remembered of not doing it.
written by SocratesI, June 19, 2008 15:20:27

Maha-Shithead speaks with FORKED TONGUE, as usual !! Like the poisonous snake that he is, he spits poison at all those who dared to opposen him.

May he be arrested, and held in detention, and get a taste of his own medicine !! Lock him into Kamunting for 2 years under ISA for stirring up racial sentiments and unrest, and throw away the key !!

Then, we tell all media to stop talking with and about him ! Then, we outlaw his blog, chedet ! And then, haul him over the hot coals just for the hell of it for all that he has done for us, and all that he should have done for us, but never did !!

written by mgeo, June 19, 2008 17:33:51
Why does Maha Thief have no confidence in being tried by our judges, who according to him are good enough for everyone else. Instead he told BBC he would prefer to be tried by "independent" parties.
written by Sabahfan, June 19, 2008 23:02:16
CALL A ROYAL COMMISSION and you will only hear mahafiraun says...."saya dah lupa"

Maybe the next royal commission should allow reference to his blogsite in the next inquiry, and the firaun will say.... APA NAMA....SAYA LUPA, MUNGKIN BUKAN AKU YANG TULIS BLOG ITU, MUNGKIN ADA ORANG LAIN PAKAI AKU PUNYA NAMA PANDAI PANDAI BUKA BLOG SITE....

so is his chedet blog real or fkkk nuts blogsite? every time i give him a challenging question, he or his stupid assistant delete it from the site.

rubbish lah all these UMNO politician, whether present or past leaders...

Oh btw, hasnt RTM made any recording of Mahfirauns speeches in all functions or have RTM conveniently deleted them from their taps so that mahafaraun can deny his threat with impunity???

PITY all the judges at that time only carry their note books and legalistic journals.... Not one of them ever thought of bringing a pocket tape recorder to help record down the proceedings of the conference.

In my younger days, i always carry a sony microtape pocket recorders to all seminar i attended.