Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow It’s better for movement to explain to the Sultan, says MB

It’s better for movement to explain to the Sultan, says MB PDF Print
Thursday, 19 June 2008 08:09

SHAH ALAM: The Selangor Government will arrange for the state PAS Youth movement to seek an audience with the Sultan of Selangor to discuss and explain the protest against two artistes performing for the Sultan of Selangor Cup match.

It is better for PAS Youth to meet with the Sultan to explain and discuss the issue.

The state government will try to arrange it by the end of this month,” Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim said after the weekly state executive council meeting.

He said the state would not want to jeopardise diplomatic ties with Singapore.

State PAS Youth chief Sallehen Mokhyi said the movement would welcome the chance to meet with the Sultan and explain the reason behind its protest against the performance by the two singers for the match on July 6.

We have said that we have nothing against healthy activities like sports being held in the state but the performance by the singers will not be suitable.

We also do not object to entertainment performances being held as long as they are healthy and youths will still flock to the stadium if singers like M. Nasir were to perform,” he said.

Gerakan vice-president Datuk Dr S. Vijayaratnam said PAS was now showing its true colours by trying to allow Islamic law to creep in.

This is evident in its effort to ban the singers from performing at the match as well as its earlier move in demanding that syariah and Islamic administration be introduced in all states governed by Pakatan Rakyat,” he said.

Meanwhile, the Sultan of Selangor Cup organising committee chairman Datuk Karim Munisar said the event had nothing to do with Khalid’s 100 days in office.

The match is an annual event,” he added. - The Star

written by Don Corleone, June 19, 2008 08:39:56
Yes, let the PAS clowns explain to HRH. No need for Khalid or anyone else in the Selangor administration to explain or solve. Let the idiots at PAS explain why we can't have a choice between Ella and M Nasir. I vote Ella every time !!!
written by miwaki, June 19, 2008 08:47:36
Please also visit SPAs in KL after meeting with HRH.Don't forget to visit one in Kg Attap which is popular among the not so rich !
written by khongja, June 19, 2008 08:55:21
I tell you when those young PAS turkeys ever meet His Royal Highness, they are going to be lashed.
written by budakindia, June 19, 2008 08:59:46
Yes, precisely. All can be resolved if you had an audience with His Majesty. Not like some arrogant UMNO leaders.
written by NickChan, June 19, 2008 09:10:55
The sultan is correct

Aurat
---------------------------------
Muslim men cannot show knee, as in women cannot show even a strand of hair to public.
Why not protest against men playing football? Why has it to be women singers? Why the 'double standards' ?
PAS Youth cannot simply pick a gender , they should also demand that those footballers not show their knee and thighs

Nick Chan Abdullah
written by Proarte, June 19, 2008 09:11:39
In the internet era and the generational changes in ideas of what is sexually provocative or 'unhealty', PAS Youth position over the concert is baffling.

PAS must learn to be honest and realistic. The print and electronic media is replete with images of scantily clad women. Programs by RTM and TV3 frequently show popular Malay pop stars who 'de rigeur' do not subscribe to PAS dress code.
Furthermore PAS should be aware that Ella and Mas Idayu are not porn artistes but talented and and dare I say sexy stars in Malay popular culture.

It would not be an exaggeration to say that all Malaysian teenagers have easy access to pornography. It forms a regular sexual outlet for those who are not sexually active. Given the nature of the pornographic material available and that used by young Muslims, Ella and Mas Idayu would be considered 'tame' and suitable for entertainment for the Dewan Ulamak!

PAS is being hypocritical, knowing full well that those attending the scheduled concert would in all probability see women regularly in entertainment scenarios which are significantly more sexually provocative.

Given this reality, PAS Youth call for the ban is 'Munafik' behaviour and a cheap publicity exercise. It is also 'biadap' towards the Sultan. The Sultan deserves our praise for holding firm and not giving in to these Munafiks.

Daulat Tuanku!
written by James Loh, June 19, 2008 09:42:35
"Gerakan vice-president Datuk Dr S. Vijayaratnam said PAS was now showing its true colours by trying to allow Islamic law to creep in."

Though I'm a Pakatan Rakyat supporter but I totally agree with Gerakan.

A person can be religious. But a person can also be religious without any wisdom. Nabi Muhammad have wisdom but sadly PAS Youth doesn't have any wisdom at all. PAS has leaders with wisdom such as Shah Alam MP and Perak's Menteri Besar. We need more people like them!!! PAS must purge these idiots out of the party!!!
written by Al Ambia, June 19, 2008 09:48:22
Could it be any different if Ella and Mas Idayu were to cover up to their face and sing their favorite song?I think this Pas idiot is attacking these singer personally.If you dont like them,doesnt mean we follow your view.This is SELANGOR NOT KELANTAN.If you dont like them,stay at home and produce baby.Dont tell us what we can and cannot do!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by POKKU, June 19, 2008 09:52:12
In The Qur'an there is a verse that read

" Ati-Ul-Lah wa ati-ul-rasul wa ulil-amri min kum"

which can be translate to mean OBEY ALLAH, AND OBEY THE PROFET, AND THE LEADER AMONGS YOU.(excuse my limited direct translation)

In The translation, the sequence of which the directive is given is taken to mean the priority is to the earlier against the latter.

It can be taken to mean if Allah say NO, and the prophet say NO, the leader cannot supersede Allah and supersede rasul and say YES.

Wallah hua aklam

written by cwy, June 19, 2008 10:02:37
Good suggestion!
Let the Sultan 'send' these extremists out of the state!
written by Raja Gasper, June 19, 2008 10:37:02
Explain what ? Ask the sultan to tell every malay woman must wear burkah style.
written by New Frontier, June 19, 2008 10:51:17
TS Khalid motion for PAS Youth to seek audience with HRH Sultan is a very good move. Pas Youth should interpret and solve problems with greater wisdom and due care. Don't act like bunch of hooligans, always ready to jump into action. We are not Iranians or Talibans and their way of solving problems surely not applicable here. We are Malaysians-Islam recognises universality, why not you?
written by ultraman, June 19, 2008 11:13:16
I hope HRH will not give in to those people. Is watching concert haram? As long as the singers do not bare himself or herself on stage, there is nothing wrong. The crowd also would know how to censure singers who go over the limits. PAS YOUTHS, please keep quiet! HRH knows more thah you know. HRH knows what is good for his subjects. HRH loves the subjec and would like them to enjoy.
If PAS feel it is obscene to their eyes, then keep awway from the show. Others want to enjoy it!
DON't be a spoilt sport, PAS!!!
written by Spear Bing, June 19, 2008 11:17:39
"....degrading Islam and its teachings"..... by Roslan.

Just confused who is degrading Islam and its teachings.For how many eons or light years do PAS Youth have to continue to climb the steep learning curve..... to really cognise the truth over the difference between 'FORM' and 'SUBSTANCE'

Truly this so-called followers of ISLAM are not doing a great service to their religion, to be so petty and shallow in their thinking in embracing ISLAM. For ISLAM is more than just emotion or faith. Will these two performers affect and shake the real essence of what ISLAM is all about?

Apparently a critical mass has yet to be reached for the evolution of a more enlightened Muslims to dot the nation. Until that happens Muslims in Malaysia will continue to be mired in ignorance over the purity of Islam.

Muslims have only grazed the surface of the teachings of Islam through the false belief in 'FORM ' . They have yet to dive into the depth of SUBSTANCE that Islam professes.
written by capcomangel, June 19, 2008 11:23:13
one day pas become pm of malaysia.there will be restriction among to malaysia due because wan create they program.if like that..how many people will lost they business and job..

history have writed and there will be no turning back.whats the different intro by pm islam hadhari? later all haram here haram there bacuse of they care.ones day global internation was going fast to futuristic.malaysia still like zaman purba ones go vacation to people country(ohhh...whats is this? havent seing it before in my country,ohhh..what is that i never touch so futuristic robot)all i wan to say..cukup memalukan bagi negara kita.
written by Kcc, June 19, 2008 11:44:07
Modern day, ancient mentality. That's what PAS is generally all about. There are very few PAS members who are truly capable and open-minded leaders, yet religious. One of them, I believe, is the Perak MB (i wonder what he thinks of this issue).

Being religious is one thing; being fanatic is another. Mix them, and there's gonna be lots of dissatisfactions and chaos. This applies to any religion.
written by bugisman, June 19, 2008 12:08:21
hahahahhahahahahaahaha....

a bunch of morons!

real jokers...
written by Mustapha Kamal, June 19, 2008 12:29:51
Whatever anyone may think, we should try to treat this country as being a democratic one. Therefore, everyone has a legitimate right to state their opinions. Judging from some of the comments, it appears that the mamak kutty has truly left his dictatorial legacy in the hearts and minds of some Malaysians. I notice NO ONE made any comments when, during the tenure of the previous BN gomen, the khutbah at Friday Prayers was blatantly pro-BN.
written by DanDan, June 19, 2008 13:43:55
PAS Youths think only pas audience will be watching. They have forgotten that Selangor belongs to the rakyat of other races and religions also. If you do not like the performance of the 2 singers, then do not go, stay in your cocoon or remain inside your coconut shell. Do not deprive the others of the pleasure of watching the 2 sweet, lovely ladies performing. At least do not give the impression to our guests, the Singaporeans, that they are coming to Selangor kicking football in the jungle, with the PAS members watching them from their tree top houses.

FGS, think of brotherhood and tolerance before speaking or protesting when anything involve the PR States. Do not allow anyroom for the BN goons to whack the PR partners.

To Rozlan, Selangor is now under the PR state of different races and religion. Selangor do not belong to you or PAS alone. What is degrading to you might be a pleasure to others. You can go to heaven, I don't mind going to hell where there are more fun and pleasure. So the pleasure is mine OK? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Fairminded, June 19, 2008 14:23:24
Please, PAS, do not let this trivial things caused a break in the alliance against UMNO/BN.
If PAS members feel that the singers are not "Islamic" enough, then just dont attend the show. Why deprive everyone? Isn't the Sultan a muslim and custodian of the Islamic faith in Selangor? Do not let this trivial matters be made use by UMNO/BN as counter attack ammunition.
written by sukinong, June 19, 2008 15:34:16
Gerakan vice-president Datuk Dr S. Vijayaratnam said PAS was now showing its true colours by trying to allow Islamic law to creep in.

You people in Gerakan has seen UMNO's true colour in BN, then why paint yourselves the same huh huh huh! Buta warna.
written by taxi90, June 19, 2008 17:42:25
I pray that this issue will not be politicised basing on race or religion. - Twilight

It is ironic that this quote was made by a muslim, considering that Islam claims itself to be a way of life "ad-deen" which encompasses all aspects and is therefore compulsory for muslims to influence politics with Islam. To ask others not to 'politicise Islam' while they are falling over themselves doing exactly that is ludicrous, not to mention, pure hypocrisy.

written by Spear Bing, June 19, 2008 22:27:49
written by kgsadu, June 19, 2008 | 19:52:10

WOOOOIIIII....BLOODY STUPID NON-MUSLIMS. DON'T BE SO KURANG AJAR HERE. MIND YOUR OWN BLOODY AGAMA SUDAH LA. LET US HANDLE OUR ISLAM BY OUR OWN WAY. ANY COMMENTS / PROTEST RELATED TO ISLAM MUST COME FROM OUR BROTHERS MUSLIM ONLY.

YOU GUYS ARE STUPID ENOUGH TO JUST SHUUUUUUUUUTTT UPPPPPP

When we have such so-called Muslim dotting the nation with such perverted mindset of monopolising Islam, and not being able to argue, debate or to engage in a civilized manner, then woe betides the nation.

What happen to Islam's call for humility, courtesy and sobriety?

By condeming another person, whether that person is a Muslim or not, with such profanity only reflects what religious understanding and background you are coming from.

But then, you are just only one Muslim who cannot have the maturity of thought to agree inorder to disagree.

Own up and buck up, Saudara.

Salam.
written by Areyaar, June 20, 2008 02:34:41
Twilight years, your provocative statement about the two singers is puzzling. By saying you don’t want your children to be associated directly with them, one gets the feeling that you are suggesting that they are indecent characters. Is it right of you to use this avenue to cast such unsubstantiated smears on their characters?

These girls are human beings who have worked very hard to get to where they are at. Not that I am any fan of their music. But they have been unfairly targeted for such massive dishonor by PAS Youth who have lashed out them in a very nasty way. And we all know it is because they are girls. It is no secret that PAS habitally targets women for their objectives.

And by saying you don’t want your children to be associated directly with them, it seems that you don’t mind an indirect association, perhaps through their music.

You have the right no doubt to decide who you want your kids to be associated with, directly or indirectly, but that is a personal choice and should remain a personal thought.

You said: “The two artistes were reported to presented themselves in ways that have been opened to criticism.”

And haven’t many artistes, including the ones that the self-righteous protesters suggested as “suitable” alternatives, also been subjected to crtiticisms at various times in their careers?

And if we are going to condemn public figures based on criticisms then we might just end up not having any entertainers left that would pass the righteous judgement of parties who believe they have the absolute right to judge others.

As if they themselves are above and beyond being judged by others.