Mahathir Hits Back At Judge Chin PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 15:42

Dr Mahathir Mohamad has finally come out of his corner to hit back at Justice Ian Chin’s scathing remarks against the former prime minister.

He posted his comments under the heading “Ian Chin’s Great Revelation” and immediately chalked up 104 responses from his readers with one telling the good doctor that his blog has reached the two million mark.

“I have not commented earlier on Justice Dato Ian Chin's (Chin J) exposé about my misdeeds because I needed time to recall events which happened more than a decade ago and to find documents which may give credibility to my explanations,” Mahathir blogged.

Chin had accused Dr Mahathir during his term as prime minister of giving a “veiled threat” against judges who did not fall into line with dismissal and interfering with the judiciary.

“I am grateful that some judges and ex-judges have refuted what Chin J said about my threatening judges. The Singapore Straits Times (not my favourite paper) seems more willing than Malaysian papers to report how Chin J's colleagues were stunned by his statements.”

“One Court of Appeal judge told the Straits Times, ‘I asked my brother judge who was on the bench with me this morning whether he remembered the incident, and he asked me the same’. Neither of them did. Nor did retired senior judges Tun Mohamed Dzaiddin Abdullah, Tan Sri Lamin Yunus and Datuk Shaik Daud Ismail, who were quoted in the New Straits Times,” Mahathir said.

About Ian Chin’s claims of a “thinly veiled threat” to remove judges, Dr M again relied on the Straits Times report which said, “Several judges have since disputed his version of the event”.

He went on to say those contacted by the Straits Times “did not remember him (the ex-PM) issuing a threat to sack judges who did not take his view”.

“It seems that except for Chin J, no one else heard the threat. I attended only one judges conference and I remember I talked on two subjects- the mandatory death sentence on drug traffickers and (excessive) litigation. At no time did I issue any threat against the judges.”

As for Ian Chin’s claim that judges who disagreed with Mahathir were packed off to a boot camp, Mahathir explained that these were work camps and participants included civil servants, corporate leaders, politicians and university staff.

“I suppose judges also attended,” he said.

“I was told by a judge who was in the same batch as Chin J that he absconded before the course was over. Perhaps he did not like getting up early and washing his own dirty plates. The course clearly did not have a positive effect on him.”

Dr Mahathir also hit out at de facto law minister Zaid Ibrahim, Bar Council chairman Ambiga Sreenivasan and DAP MP for Jelutong Karpal Singh.

“(They) immediately assumed that Chin J was telling the truth. Zaid even went so far as to say this is normal, as if I threatened judges all the time,” Mahathir said.

Expect more to come from Dr M: “I will be writing a little more on Ian Chin J so that the public will become more acquainted with him. Suffice for me to say for the present that Chin J has a police report against him for hiding his past when hearing a certain case.”

True to form, Dr M signed off by saying: “The public can then pass judgment on me. But of course if I have to be charged by Karpal Singh, the ardent supporter of Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, that is fine. The world will then know what kind of Government we have.” (MySinchew)

Comments (50)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, June 18, 2008 15:51:14
This is the final nail to Tun coffin.His legacy is forever tainted by this revelation, his treatment of Anwar,the Liggam tape.His dictatorial rule will forever be crafted in our history books.Allah will pass a sentence fit for this crime against humanity.
agree 161
written by billykbk, June 18, 2008 15:52:31
Ya, all your detractors were wrong. They simply hurl wild accusations against you. These ppl must be insane or misguided. You're God-send leader of our country. Contributing a lot to our country. They wronged you, right?

You better repent bcoz somebody up there is watching and waiting for you. Sorry,..typo error...down there and not up there..Alamak, I really pity you, old man. You still don't get it, do you?....Aiya, better forget you la!!!
written by kc respect, June 18, 2008 15:57:48
WOOOHHHH !!! TDM actually can REMEMBER even if it is 10 years ago, or have the resources to find old documents to redeem himself.... How come at the tribunal, he HARDLY REMEMBERED ANYTHING !!!!!!!!!
agree 169
written by Sterilizer, June 18, 2008 15:58:18
Dr. M can't remember much but can remember to write this:

15. For three to five days the participants stayed at the camps and followed certain programs. This included getting up very early in the morning (for prayers for Muslims), physical exercises and many hours of lectures. One of the chores was to wash your own dirty plates after a simple meal. When I gave talks at these work camps I too wash my dirty dishes. It was part of leadership by example.

SELECTIVE AMNESIA !!!
agree 137
written by purpleshoppe, June 18, 2008 16:00:16
Dr. M has religion?
written by BORN FREE, June 18, 2008 16:03:41
U dont have to defend yourself cos we wont buy your "lies" anymore.
We are sick of your dictatorship and by looking at the state
Malaysia is too day,
Even your cronies does not back you !
written by kc respect, June 18, 2008 16:04:12
purpleshoppe ..... and it is called MONEY.
written by joeawk, June 18, 2008 16:05:44
I will give the benefit of the doubt to Ian chin. About the other judges, malaysians would understand why they say no such thing.
written by MasterYoda, June 18, 2008 16:14:40
Jugde Chin is aactually Jugde Dread!

MM... fear and tremble...your days are numbered... your bullets are of no effect... the gallows, the gallows (in hell)
written by malsia1206, June 18, 2008 16:24:58
Some of the senior Judges did not remember. You TDM also did not remember when you testify before the Royal Commission. Linggam also did not remember and went further to say he looked like me, spoke like me but he's not me. Very convenient. Honestly, it comes down to whether the rakyat choose to believe you or Justice Chin. In other words, whose has the credibility? The answer is obvious. Since when do politicians tell the whole truth? Between you and the Judge, you yourself already have the obvious answer. By the way, why did you not take the trouble to go through the hassle of getting yourself prepared when you attended the Royal Commission during that time?
written by netaddict1, June 18, 2008 16:33:27
Does not matter what he says already, everyone knows his bag of tricks and how he plays them.
written by Compadre45, June 18, 2008 16:39:18
TDM, dont think you always can get away scott free , every dog has its day. Your days are numbered .
written by TeohSC, June 18, 2008 16:41:16
I was thinking he was going to take something drastic against Ian Chin, like filing a civil suit against him. Instead he relies on his faithful dogs to protect him. Ian Chin must have something up his sleeve when he spoke out against the old man.
written by little dragon, June 18, 2008 16:47:12
d fact dat mahathir has now got to defend himself thru a ******** shows wat a bit player he has become in our political scene.

sorry la tun, u r just experiencing wat tunku went thru decades ago when u n ur gang ousted him. it's called karma. d more u struggle against it, d more disappointed n painful u WILL b.

accept it for a fact dat u hv lost n abdullah, anwar n even lky has won. i can't say they hv it all but they r sure hell better off than u.
written by jchew, June 18, 2008 16:49:09
He does not deserved to be addressed TDM, just addressed him pariah!
written by binarytan, June 18, 2008 16:57:23
Just wonder how much did Petronas donated or contributed to TDM over the years?

Show us the complete figure PETRONAS.

Even KJ is more than keen to know as he got no foot inside Petronas, you think he spoken for rakyat, my foot beruk of the century!!!

written by Mik, June 18, 2008 16:58:28
Tun,
There is a saying in the old scriptures,

We get what we deserve, not what we desire.

No one knows exactly what happened in the distant past except the person involved.

All we know is, today is the sum of everything we did yesterday.
You chose AAB, now u are facing the consequences.
We chose you, so now we are facing the consequences.
You chose your cronies instead of your rakyat, now we are facing the consequences.
PPl chose BN instead of the new dawn, so now they having difficulty in managing thier daily budget.
Dear Tun, are you happy now? I m still wondering why you chose AAB as PM. If you had the interest of rakyat in your heart, it would not be a wrong move. But if you had selfish motive in heart heart, it would backfire. Law of Nature.
Every decision you made in the past has guided you to where you are now.
YOu Get What You Deserve. Remember that. May be abit too late now.
written by me_in, June 18, 2008 17:05:50
Cut me to a thousand pieces.... I DONT believe Mahathir

He is a great LIAR on earth. It is time he return to the Creator.
In short they say pergi MAMPUS lah.
written by Thiru, June 18, 2008 17:09:25
The fact that TDM you are arquing is proof that you are quilty of the wrong. Even if Ian Chin is wrong what would you say.Would it be the same.

Ian Chin cant be wrong because he says it after many years.His conscience must be disturbing him so he must tell what he has to tell. Case closed.

As for you. You never give up would you even if you have done mistakes.
written by aryn, June 18, 2008 17:17:39
Tun M, after what you did to the judiciary, and ah, the infamous Lingamgate, I don't believe a word you said!
written by hiro, June 18, 2008 17:34:13
So no one heard except Ian Chin - is he right? Ian Chin did mention he knows some other judges who told him what TDM said had no effect on them so we have a massive contradiction here.

Spore more willing to support TDM - that's good. Probably thanks to KJ's connection. KJ has come out blazing against Badawi administration so that he may survive and even flourish in a post-Badawi administration. Maybe he's looking at divorcing Nori too and go for some rising politician's daughter again.

President of Bar Council did not assume. Not like Zaid. She asked for investigation - TDM should thank her for that because that's being fair.

I'm glad TDM spoke up. Now, will the government investigate? Someone's head has to roll in this one, either Ian Chin or TDM.
written by ultraman, June 18, 2008 17:38:19
MM,
Oh now you can remember. In lingam's tape scandal, youforgot everything.!
You seem to change tune as and when you like. you are like a squid.
Where is your credibility when you can choose when to rember and forget.
But one thing that you are good is being a poler player because you can call a bluff so convincingly wuth batting your eyelids.
No, there is no smoke without fire. You name was clearly mentioned in Lingam Now Ian Chin! What next? Please do not rebut. If you do, more lies will spill from your already stinky gap.
Oh yes, more sins recorded!
written by Joe, June 18, 2008 17:46:17
wow we got lots of mahathir supporters in here dont we...
written by hksp, June 18, 2008 18:02:08
nice try old fart, but i will never belif u
written by sonofman0, June 18, 2008 18:15:09
Is there a third side to this coin?

And where is the knight in shining armour? The one who screams in extra large capital font. The one who prepares the way for the master. Perhaps he has fallen off his trusty steed!
written by SamSan, June 18, 2008 18:37:30
There are only three people I will believe and they are Tun Dr. Mahathir, Chief Justice Eusoffe Chin and V.K. Lingam.

Now I am wondering whether what I am saying is true or a joke.

You go and figure it out.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 18, 2008 18:42:51
Toon M is finally "dead" with no bite any more.
written by miwaki, June 18, 2008 19:33:56
No one with sane mind will believe this Mahathir anymore.When he was the PM,he could spin and win but he is a no body know,even UMNO has discard him.I don't know whether Samy can believe him ?
written by educationist, June 18, 2008 20:05:15
"I am no fan of Dr M but he has a point -no other judge has come out to independently substantiate Judge Ian's allegations. So as it is now, it is Dr M's words against his. I discount those few judges who said they don't remember, for they were judges who benefitted under Dr M's administration.
Work camp to him, boot camp to others -semantics isn't it? But indoctrination is the ultimate aim."
written by Taikohtai, June 18, 2008 21:02:04
If TDM has half, no maybe 1/100 the guts of LKY, he would straight away have said SEE U IN COURT to Chin. But DID HE?
WHY?
written by krising1, June 18, 2008 21:17:46
Mamak had to look and then found documents which will make his explanation credible. Did anyone see the documents. I did not.

After the Lingam revelations, we know what are our judges. Would they want to taint their names further by admitting that they were threatened and they had no balls to expose the Mamak!

Lastly, if there is a police report against the judge, why was he not made to face a tribunal?
written by krepot, June 18, 2008 21:19:47
Tun (if I may insult the title),

The more you talk and the more you try to reason out,
the less people believe you.

Borrowing a phrase from your good friend Augustine Paul;
"not relevant!"
written by mikewang, June 18, 2008 21:33:30
That the judiciary appointed by Tun Mamak even considered prosecuting DSAI on trumped up charges spoke volumes of the grip the then chief executive had over the judiciary.

When a dog starts running away whining and with its tail between its legs, you don't have to see what is the threat in order to convince yourself that it is scared.
By its behaviour, you know it is scared.
written by 1351, June 18, 2008 21:35:04
Dear Tun

You already have three strikes against you. And no matter who you call to defend your person, the facts are too damning.

Many may have forgotten the unsung hero, High Court Judge Syed Ahmad Syed Aidid. Long before Justice Ian Chin had his say, the esteemed Syed Ahmad had sounded off his concerns regarding the stench emitting from the Bench. Internal querries was such that further prodding never got by the first post when the late AG Mokhtar Abdullah saw no cause for further investigations and the 'celaka' Chief Justice Eusof 'I want a new house' Chin had the last say - case 'tutup'.

Now, right this moment, you go through great pain with your recollection Tun, but facts would attest your hidden hand can't remain hidden much longer. Your vile actions ruined many a family. People who have made it their life work to serve the public were at the mercy of your dictates. The good were sidelined while ingrates were put in place instead, only to destruct all the good in this fabled land of ours.

There's no end to the tragedy - 22 years of your misrule, not when the destruction still persist with current UMNO led govt. You have made it even more difficult for the next generation Tun. Though you won't be able to bear witness, your grand children will and if they had any good sense, they too might piss on your grave.

written by 1351, June 18, 2008 21:38:19
And talking about the inevitable Tun, I hope you are making provisions and not leave it to UMNO's funeral committee. It would be most interesting Tun, how they choose to honour you on that grand day ? Public holiday anyone !
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, June 18, 2008 21:42:29
MAMAK KUTTY U R A RACIAL SADIST!!!

U SHOULD BE SEND TO AFGHANISTAN!!!

written by taxi90, June 18, 2008 21:43:54
There is a term to describe Mahathir and his plethora of morbid ravings and threats - it is called Megalomania. He views himself as Infallible, Great Beyond Imagining, Always Right and is God's Greatest Gift. Anyone who contradicts him or goes against him is Scum, Low Life, The Devil Incarnate and needs to either be incarcerated under ISA, charged with sodomy or C4-ed.
It does not matter whether the adversary is the opposition, the judiciary, a fellow colleague, his ex-boss, his deputy, the sultan/agong or his neighbour's dog. All must Die. His Will be Done.
written by Uncorruptible, June 18, 2008 21:48:41
This old senile jackass not only threatened the Judges, but actually threatened EVERYBODY and carried out his threats as in Operation Lallang where more than a hundred opposition politicians were imprisoned. Can he, even with his selective memory, deny that? Malaysians must never let people like him ever survive again. Support Pakatan Rakyat.
written by Limang, June 18, 2008 22:12:33
There is only one wish I have: that someone has the courage to put his old bat in jail for embaressing Malaysia all over the world and for his 22 years of crimes.

Let me get the ball rolling: Hey, you mamak, **** off!
written by Bigdawg, June 18, 2008 22:12:51
Please don't nail his coffin before the last person
standing in line has pee-d in his ugly face!
written by Msian 2, June 18, 2008 22:20:20
Even our joker Samy Velu is blaming him for the Indians state of welfare. He never did it when was minister. Just shows the 'thinly vield' threats must have worked on all ministers & all Sr. officials then. I rather believe the Judge than this MM fellow. No wonder his kids got so rich so quick via MM threats. Anyway, even Eric Chia when he can't get his ways in corporate meetings or board of directors meetings would scream I will talk to MM & all in corporate meeting will keep quiet & let him do what he wants. See what I mean. Just like MAS case.
written by Eskay Lim, June 18, 2008 22:58:30
Suddenly our ex-Perdana Menteri TDM, has recovered from a serious bout of Amnesia that afflicted him during the Royal Commission of Inquiry on the VK Lingam tapes, when his most popular responce was "I cannot remember".
Now he can even remember so many things in minute detail.
Go back to your Amnesia lah, you have lost all your credibility.
Nobody believes you anymore, Tun Nyanyuk.
written by ahmadneil, June 18, 2008 23:50:39
Shit, he even dare to poke his finger into Datuk Ian Chin *******.He knows no boundary.Tun Idi Amin is on the verge of going back to the national heart institute.
written by SamBall, June 19, 2008 00:25:25
I prefer a straight fight, lah man to man in such matters, as they have reached such a stalemate.

Oops, sorry lah you ol kaka, you probably will lose. The judge may just belasah you and send you back for Ayurvedic hot oil massage.

Better you fess up or return to your roots in Kerala.

But watch out for Samy; he may get you there!!
written by shiokguy, June 19, 2008 00:41:53
Dear MM

Keep talk la if you feel better, but I will not belief a bit of what you are saying. LIAR!

http://shiokguy.********.com/
PS: Visit my blog for some Shiok Political, Social and Economic view
written by SamSan, June 19, 2008 02:35:59
I think President Robert Mugable is more credible than Tun Dr.Mahathir given that he does his despotic work openly.
written by Engineer, June 19, 2008 08:54:07
Deemah,

When you write stop licking ur boss arse, you end up writing shits.
written by Just Gan, June 19, 2008 11:27:50
Dear Tun Dr. Mahathir,

Your denial about Justice Chin's revelations on your threats and orders to the judges will not convince the Rakyat except for your small group of loyal supporters. Badawi is unlikely to set up a commission on enquiry to investigate the allegations - he is just to scared of you. Hence, the onus is on you to once and for all clear your name. File a defamation suit against Justice Chin for Ringgit 100 million. Engage a good lawyer and proceed. Unfortunately your trusted lawyer LIngam may not be appropriate for the task given his central role in the recent Lingam Tape incident. Mathias Chang, your trusted ex-PA, would be perfect for the job. He is wasting his time challenging Justice Chin to an open debate. This will not happen. Give Mathias a chance to prove that Justice Chin was wrong in slendering you.

IF YOU (AND MATHIAS CHANG) CONTINUE TO BLOW HOT AIR ABOUT YOUR INNOCENCE, THAT WILL AMOUNT TO YOU CONFIRMING JUSTICE CHIN'S REVELATIONS. THE ONUS IS ON YOU TO PROVE YOUR INNOCENCE. OTHERWISE, THERE IS NO DOUBT THAT JUSTICE CHIN'S REVELATIONS ARE TRUE. ARE YOU (OR MATHIAS CHANG) BOLD ENOUGH TO TAKE JUSTICE CHIN TO COURT? I DOUBT IT.
written by Just Gan, June 19, 2008 11:33:41

Can you please do a "No Holds Barred" on Tun Dr. Mahathir. There is just too much on the Tun in the news, and a response from you is both timely and required. Could you also arrange a poll to ascertain the percentage of people who believe/do not believe in the Tun's innocence/guilt in the Lingam Tape matter and the Justice Chin's revelations.

Thanks