SAPP's vote of no confidence against PM PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 14:48

KOTA KINABALU: The Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) has lost confidence in Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, it said at a press conference here Wednesday.

In the coming sitting of the Parliament session on Monday, its two Members of Parliament will support a vote of no confidence against the Prime Minister, the party said.

Whether its MPs table the vote of no confidence, or whether other MPs will do it, would be determined in due course, it said in a statement.

SAPP’s two MPs are Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun (P171 Sepanggar) and Datuk Dr Chu Soon Bui (P190 Tawau).

The party also has four state representatives.

Talk had been rife Wednesday morning that SAPP was going to abandon the Barisan Nasional coalition and defect to the Pakatan Rakyat alliance.

The party is running a poll on its blog, asking members of the public whether it should stay on in Barisan, leave the coalition but remain independent, or join Pakatan.

At press time, there were 532 votes tallied, with 80% (428 votes) asking SAPP to join Pakatan. Only 1% (10 votes) urged it to stay on with Barisan. - The Star

Comments (78)Add Comment
written by NickChan, June 18, 2008 14:53:23
wow its really happening !
brave!
agree 175
written by indianputra, June 18, 2008 14:53:31
SAPP, why all this drama lah? Why a vote of no-confidence against the PM? Wasting time. Just quit BN lah!
agree 188
written by Rundukon, June 18, 2008 14:54:26
SAPP chose to be expelled from BN rather than pulling out.

written by Rashid, June 18, 2008 14:55:12
Indianputra,

Yes, that's the only way forward. Already they quit BN by being part of anti-Abdullah crusade. So why bother. Anwar said he will pass a vote of no confidence in Abdullah. That's the only way. Then after that they can go and seek the King's consent.
agree 108
written by omarkhayyam, June 18, 2008 14:55:33
well Dollah .... each time your statement becomes a BIG Fat lie ....

still wanna hang on to chair that you don't fit in?

written by NickChan, June 18, 2008 14:55:52
if parliament gets not enough votes of confidence, badawi has to resign , or call new general election. next monday is really nerve wrecking for all of us
written by kc respect, June 18, 2008 14:59:02
TDM must be over-joyed, FINALLY, someone heeded his call, though his call was for UMNO ppl. Lets hope this is for the rakyat, both S & S and PM, not doing a favour for TDM.
written by prsupporter, June 18, 2008 14:59:16
why vote of no confidence only? SAPP should not wait any longer faster get out of BN and join PR lah.... do it now !!!!
written by greenarrow, June 18, 2008 14:59:21
Better to realize..that s Okay

Dont be like MCA....MIC...PPP...GERAKAN ( they had been politically hynotized by UMNO..or been granted lavish commission-sharing in Mega Projects )
written by Ann Meng Sim, June 18, 2008 15:06:32
The 10 votes urging them to stay with BN must be fake smilies/grin.gif

Oh yeah... a lot of people peeing in their pants now....

written by Birdbrain, June 18, 2008 15:13:58
MCA eunuchs................go finds yours balls in Pakatan Rakyat!

Wait further, MCA will be side lined when Anwar become the new Prime Minister. Opportunity will never knock twice on your door.

Cuckoo!
written by Jefus, June 18, 2008 15:14:00
With Malaysian politics - who needs viagra!
written by Trueandfair, June 18, 2008 15:16:28
IMHO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PP leaders etc probably dare not do anything, lest the PM/UMNO opens their "FILES" (ACA reports, Special Branch, Bank Negara, SSM, school report cards, 101 cards, etc etc .... )
written by Rundukon, June 18, 2008 15:16:52
SAPP's move is calculated. PM will definitely call a meeting of all component parties to discuss SAPP explusion from BN. It must be noted that SAPP can only be expelled from BN if all the other component parties voted so. We will know in due course if PM have the backing of all component parties. We will also know which parties didnt vote on SAPP explusion. A further blow to Pak Lah!
written by Mik, June 18, 2008 15:17:28
hiya. if badawi steps down, najib will take over. then we hav rosmah occupying our pm seat and khairy of coz will be promised a minister post. bet they made the deal already. so nothing changes if he steps down rite?
written by aryn, June 18, 2008 15:17:42
Bad timing, Sapp.

If Badawi lost a no confidence vote and Anwar not yet a parliamentarian, guess who'll be the PM if not Najib mongolia.

Best thing is leave the BN and ally with PR. Come September or when Anwar becomes a n MP via a by-election, then move for the kill.
written by Lostsoul12, June 18, 2008 15:19:08
What is SAPP blog address??? can I vote?????
written by KKchan, June 18, 2008 15:19:17
The vote of no-confidence will not succeed as either the Speaker will not allow it to be table (would be interesting if it is Kiandee chap who chairs the meeting) or UMNO will block it or Najib will use the whip. In any event it is as good as SAPP leaving BN. The result of the motion is not important. That is is going to be table is. It signals the beginning of the end.
written by Super Admin, June 18, 2008 15:21:32
Go here: http://sapphq.********.com/
written by Milo, June 18, 2008 15:22:09
The time has come for the domino to fall! The beginning of the end of BN and the emergence of hope for all Malaysians!
written by ahmadneil, June 18, 2008 15:28:01
Yong Teck Lee should have done it on march 8.But anyway better late then never.
written by Anak_Asia, June 18, 2008 15:28:15
Which party do you think will form the next government of Malaysia ?

Express your feeling at votingmalaysia.********.com
written by Sunnysoul5, June 18, 2008 15:30:01
In a matured democratic system, the MP's from the ruling party or coalition have the rights to vote against the government of the day. This is a fair system to ensure no "Yes men" syndrome.

Malaysia has matured into a much needed two party democratic system with two not so clear cut system: conservative BN and social democratic PR.

We have not reached the point of Tony Blair versus Mr. Brown, not just yet.

This political uncertainty must be resolved on or before 16th September 2008, to make sure the government of the day can lead the country to a better future rather than being bogged down with politiking.

written by 1st2stay, June 18, 2008 15:32:32
KKchan, what a banana republic it were, could the speaker simply disallow a motion of no-confidence.

Who knows?
written by Lostsoul12, June 18, 2008 15:33:20
Super admin,
Thanks for the promt responed.
I already voted. Come on guys! you know what to do!
written by greenarrow, June 18, 2008 15:39:26
Kesatuan Melayu Muda (K M M)founded by Ibrahim Yaakob in 1938..was completely wipe out by the RAKYAT

KMM was one of many organizations that aided the Japanese in World War II... This pro-Japanese .. anti-British tendency made KMM very close to the Japanese force

The Japs funded Ibrahim Yaakob...convinced him that Japanese can help him to push out the British

B'coz of Kesatuan Melayu Muda ( KMM ) ..& Ibrahim Yaakob....the Japs invaded MALAYA..causing much damages & death to the RAKYAT ( the Chinese suffered the most Gruesome Torturing & death from the Japanese Imperialism)

Does UMNO realise the Mentality ideology of KMM..that brought to their disastrous Downfall ?

-GreenArrow
written by Panglima Gantang, June 18, 2008 15:42:58
SAPP is sincerely welcome to topple Badawi but why not pull out from BN straight away. The Rakyats, especially Sabahans, are in need for the long awaited change and it is hoped that it will be for the better. It is also hoped that State Assemblymen will pull out from the current state government so that a new era can be charted. Cukup sudah halatuju Musa Aman. We have gone nowhere with the so-called halatuju and in the case of a change in Sabah government all those who subscribed to those falacies should be eliminated.

SAPP, go the extra mile and jump ship. We need at least 20% royalty so that our state will become rich again and we also need corrupt free leaders. Down with corruption and all corrupted leaders.
written by BORN FREE, June 18, 2008 15:46:40
The 5 newly formed states of PR welcomes SAPP with open arms! Now let the "tsunami of March 8 " flows to Sabah & Sarawak! Wake up! Time for Change! That's the way to go!
written by xgovtservant, June 18, 2008 15:48:15
SAPP, Gerakan and other parties waiting to be thrown out of BN. (If you do not want us we can be "Independent" and later support any party of our choice) The same can happen to individual members of MCA, MIC and UMNO. They will abstain from voting the no confidence vote and will be thrown out of BN for not supporting. No need to openly defect to P R.- wait to be sacked.Once Anwar forms the Government, more will join. But beware of PAS and its Islamic State and DAP's Kit Sang & Karpal's opposition to it , could derail the PR Governemnt.
written by ChrisLim, June 18, 2008 15:58:56
Other BN component parties should realise change cannot be avoided. At least SAPP is courage enough to declare their stand. we hope to see more in shortest time possible. Rakyat wants changes and we had waited for very long time. Instead of CHANGING OUR LIFE STYLE (well, I am not rich and I don't have quality of life now) we rather see the change in the government
written by purpleshoppe, June 18, 2008 16:02:15
Cheers SAPP!

Thanks for the courage for all of us in the Land Below the Wind.
written by Birdbrain, June 18, 2008 16:04:52
Different Perspective

Non of the Pakatan Rakyat MP will cast a vote of no confidence against Pak Lah. The only noise we hear from the ground asking for the removal of Pak Lah comes from within.......UMNO.

Is Yong Teck Lee repaying his debts to Mamakthir Mamakmad? He was the Sabah Chief Minister during the dictator's reign. So whose side is he on??!!

No prize for the correct guess!

Cuckoo!
written by peace, June 18, 2008 16:13:25
Where are so-called kadazandusun leader? The fuel prices increase the native in Sabah suffered the most. Why no action?
written by Milo, June 18, 2008 16:13:26
Before March 8 election, if SAAP so much as hinted they would leave BN if Sabah continued to be treated unfairly, UMNO would have demand that they leave immediately (just as PPP had experienced). What sort of moral ground is there left for SAAP or for that matter any Sabah BN component party to stay on as family member with such an immoral, inconsiderate and corrupt party as UMNO - when you now have a chance to change things permanently once and for all? There is absolutely NO REASON to forego this chance is the Sabah leaders are serious about changing for the better. Don't be tempted to play the game of kingmaker - for you will be in the eyes of many, neither here or there. Make a clear stand on where you want to be - BN or PR!
written by matt3238, June 18, 2008 16:13:38
Horay..... 2nd Tsunami after the 1st one on 8 March is coming.... to KICK OUT the corrupted Bodowi gomen.

Three CHEERS to SAPP......
written by gundam, June 18, 2008 16:13:45
where are sarawak's parties?
written by Sean E, June 18, 2008 16:21:09
Smart and brave move by SAPP.

The ball is now kick to BN (UMNO)'s court.

Wonder how the Nazi (Nazri) will react.
written by alpha100, June 18, 2008 16:29:49
They better hide themself in a mountain retreat and appear for parliament for their vote of no confidence! Avoid the impending pressure! Probably some fed BN men on the way oredi in private jets!
written by Zapper, June 18, 2008 16:31:58
This is the WAY TO GO. I hope that Pakatan will not eventually turn into another BN.
written by farah, June 18, 2008 16:42:10
Super Admin, Thank you.
I voted SAPP to join Pakatan!
written by TeohSC, June 18, 2008 16:44:59
Aha, the end of BN-led government is now near. Let us sit back and enjoy the wayang kulit.
written by binarytan, June 18, 2008 16:55:25
SAPP will be branded as the front liner rather than those cowards in BN.

When are you joining PR?
written by temenggong, June 18, 2008 16:55:54
So I guess 30 BN MPs joining PR and MCA MPs leaving BN is just Anwar's bluff!

BN component parties better pay attention. They will not come back to power for another two decades!!
written by peace, June 18, 2008 16:59:11
Nazri: No-confidence vote cannot be tabled on Monday

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/6/18/nation/20080618162811&sec=nation
written by temenggong, June 18, 2008 17:03:35
With the passing of the no confidence motion, Badawi and Umno will be humiliated. No PM has been humiliated like this.

BN has no choice but to preempt it by sacking SAPP. Certainly everything has changed in Malaysia!
written by DatoSeri, June 18, 2008 17:06:03
E X C E L L E N T start of the domino !!!!!

The corrupt UMNO and BN days are numbered !!

Rescue Malaysia!
written by Compadre45, June 18, 2008 17:11:25
Wow !!! SAPP's vote of no confidence against PM is the best thing that ever happen so far after the recent fuel price hike. Hope other BN component parties will do the same. Thank you SAPP you made our day.
written by little dragon, June 18, 2008 17:24:34
awesome!!!
written by KKchan, June 18, 2008 17:42:53
Dear 1st2stay,
See Star updated news. Nazri is already putting road-blocks. He is trying to push the decision to the Speaker and which Speaker (being a BN MP) dares to alow the motion to be tabled? Even he is brave enough, it will fail unless we think BN MPs become rebels, particularly from UMNO. What is important is that a BN party is proposing it. It may lead to bigger cracks in the coalition.
written by LKO, June 18, 2008 17:56:01
Interesting news on Nazri coming in for damage control. The speaker will surely be arm twisted to turn down the request for and urgent motion.

Or will AAB be daring enough to take a challenge???? Naaah, flip flops don't have much guts to see things through.
written by hksp, June 18, 2008 18:05:44
talking crap, y not just quit the rotten bn ?
written by budakindia, June 18, 2008 18:06:59
let's see how much damage this on UMNO! certainly it'll be a blast! Nazri already trying to cover the damage!
written by Tambunan Boy, June 18, 2008 18:14:58
Anifah dan Ghafur tunggu apa lagi, aik Pairin kau pun tunggu apa???? Now or never!!
written by future, June 18, 2008 18:35:15
To AAB ,UMNO and not forgeting SIaL there are two nice words......PADAN MUKA
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 18, 2008 18:46:07
YTL will be be offered the post of CM plus a 50 million ang-pow to withdraw his action.
written by yapsir, June 18, 2008 19:22:07
"SAPP's vote of no confidence against PM "
could we have both?
meaning a vote to the PM and DPM?
written by oknyua, June 18, 2008 19:44:30
Votes of No Confidence is Stupid. Leaving BN is right.

You can't do anything with the PM, knowing you are just having 2 MPs. I am not surprised if UMNO will respond by asking you SAPP to fly kites. Being the dorminant party, UMNO decides who is PM, that is the rule of the game. Having no confidence in PM means no confidence in UMNO and BN. naswer: Leave BN.

Yong Teck Lee should be smarter than that.
written by peace, June 18, 2008 20:08:28
I can tell you this kadazandusun guy deputy speaker named RONALD KIANDEE will reject the motion. If this happened, all the native in sabah can go to fly kite. Datuk Pairin, Dr Maximus, Tan Sri Bernard, Tan Sri Joseph Kurup where you guys are? Still MABUK with your rice wine? All these are bodowi ass lickers!

Just wait and see!
written by mikewang, June 18, 2008 20:58:14
Listen to what Gerakan acting president had to say about this (from Malaysiakini)

--------------------------------

Gerakan acting president Dr Koh Tsu Koon said that it was important to sustain solidarity and stability in the face of severe challenges from the global fuel, food crisis and economic uncertainties.

"Gerakan feels that such a drastic political move will only add to the uncertainty, disrupting efforts in reforms," he said in a statement.

Give him more time

He also added that Sapp president Yong Teck Lee was not giving Abdullah enough time and chance to make changes, overcome problems and address the issues concerned.

-------------------------------

I thought Sapp and the people of Sabah had already given more than 4 years to our PM who had literally slept through it.
May I ask how many more years must the people give him just to wake him from his slumber ?
written by Forex, June 18, 2008 21:03:06
GOOD JOB SAPP!!!

Other SABAHAN LEADER u GUYS SUCK! Start doing what u should doing for Sabahan!
written by Limang, June 18, 2008 21:04:12
Wake up, leaders of Sabah and Sarawak! Vote of no-confidence is a waste of time. The next leader will also play you guys around. Mr. C4 is one of the greatest bums of teh century. Instead of looking into Sabah's problems as he is head of the Committee appointed by Bodohwi, he went to London to declare open a restuarant! A restuarant is MORE IMPORTANT THAT SABAH' FUTURE! Don't you guys get it. UMNO has no intention to solve your problems, because it means losing its millions of "illegals" support. It means giving back your power of immigration, according to the 20-points! It means UMNO will lose its power!
So don't waste time - leave NOW and be your own boss. Solve the immigration problem by yourself - IT IS YOUR TERRITORY, FOR GOODNESS SAKE, NOT BN/UMNO!
Are you telling Sabahans who elected you that as their leaders you are incapable of solving your state problems, and need West Malaysians bums to do it for you! Where is your pride, your capability, your responsibility or you are just hoping for more than 1 billion, as it is not enought o go around?

Shame on you guys.

Wake up, Sabahans, change your splineless and no-intelligence leaders - all of them - Dompok, Kurup, Pairin, Maximus, Yong, Raymond, Ghapur, Musa, etc. - they have sold Sabah to West Malaysia for 1 billion ringgit! You and your future children will pay the price for this betrayal!

written by Uncorruptible, June 18, 2008 21:56:01
Sapp seems to be playing POKER. They are waiting for umno to run to them with bags of ringgit to fill their pockets and entice them to change their little minds. This generation of Sabah and Sarawakian politicians were created in the umno mould that of KOREK KOREK KOREK. Sabah and Sarawak will have to vote in DAP and PKR candidates to change their destiny for the good forever. I wish I was wrong !
written by Ben, June 18, 2008 22:03:39
My, my, DSAI has certainly learnt his lesson while incarcerated in Sg. Buloh prison. He is no longer in a hurry like before. Surely, this is wisdom born out of adversity and submission to God.

The strategic release of the lingamgate, the introduction of young and new PKR leaders, the impeccable PR to hold the unlikely union of the opposition parties, the international appeal of freedom and justice roadshow, the solicitation of traditional supporters of incumbent gomen and more to come. DSAI have come of age and how sweet it is to be righteous not by one's might but by God's grace. The foundation has been laid and track is right, leading to the new dawn. The timing is perfect, just like a durian in season and ripen, ready to drop.

We await the promise of a new dawn.
written by Watcheyes1, June 18, 2008 22:09:12
The 10 votes are by UMNO goons!

428 votes by Sabahan!

Welcome to PR, SAPP! (in advance)
written by Watcheyes1, June 18, 2008 22:14:33
written by farah, June 18, 2008 | 16:42:10

Super Admin, Thank you.
I voted SAPP to join Pakatan!

Me too! I also vote the same!
written by charlie3127389, June 18, 2008 22:51:13
Surely, it time that AB realise..it time to call it a day and wish Anwar good luck in his new role as PM of Malaysia.
written by Rohani Hitam, June 18, 2008 23:16:04
I've never had a soft spot in my heart for AAB before. Now I can feel how sorry I am for criticising him all the while. My sympathy goes to you AAB. Be strong, hold your son, SIL, Hisbullah and the rest tightly and hope for the best.
written by Rohani Hitam, June 18, 2008 23:18:41
As things unfold, it is getting more interesting. The raayat and the oppositions have reached maturity that would reduce BN to a permanent goons in our society.
written by Bigdawg, June 18, 2008 23:19:22
If AAB is ousted through a vote of no confidence, the BN's apparent efforts to revamp the judiciary will be in peril, and come to a dangerous halt.

What is best for the Rakyat is for decent MPs to cross-over to PR directly so PR immediately has the power to revamp the judiciary.

A revamped Judiciary is the key for future fair-play and justice in the country.
written by CVL, June 18, 2008 23:25:41
Yong’s enigmatic call for a no confidence vote this coming Monday blends very much in the political camouflage of the moment, where the flavor is for AAB to step down. Yong knows well enough he and SAPP do not have the clout to move the no confidence vote, therefore concluding his salvo is aimed at other more mundane things.

So why did Yong make that announcement?

For one, SAPP statements today just may not be a morning cock crow; more like a hunter’s grouse call to draw out the wild grouses, both for the shootout, and for population estimation. Indeed far from heralding a new dawn as would be when others join in to crow the morning, Yong was simply delivering a product to both DSAI and KJ at the same time. Ever since the GE 12 both DSAI and KJ have been in open patrol for dissenting factions in UMNO albeit operating from different home base, with apparent different reasons. So for Yong, two birds with one stone?

Secondly, DAP and PKR are both eroding SAPP base in Sabah. Yong has to reinvent and learn fast from GERAKAN / MCA/MIC misfortunes. Or forever be cast in political wilderness. How best but to champion issues that are close to Sabahan hearts.

Thirdly, Yong and Musa Aman go back a long way, even up to family ties. If Musa has been salvaged by ABB, it fall within the scheme of things for Yong to make the grouse call.

Fourthly, Yong is fully aware how PBS tumbled from a position of power when they aligned themselves to Semangat. So to repeat similar step in earnest, Yong would have shored some more.

No, as someone else said, Yong does not have any stellar precedents. He is just being politically busy to grab attention for SAPP survival.
written by Kelana, June 19, 2008 00:36:24
Well done SAPP, vote of no-confidence against the BN. We have to show them what is our principle need and of coz Gomen should listen for rakyat need. not on the other way round.Great slap to the liar. Don't care what PRO BN has Said, they are to high to see what happening down below.
written by axeltung, June 19, 2008 00:38:57
SAPP is just a smoke screen, the beginning of the show!! 2MP mana boleh pull his pant drops??? Belakang mari...let's watch show..hope they don't disappointed Rakyat Malaysia!!
written by zul4kulim, June 19, 2008 01:02:16
SuAPP? Kata Pak Lah orang SAPP tak cukup SuAPP!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...sible.html