Election petition: Sanglang seat declared vacant PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 14:38

The Kangar High Court has allowed the election petition filed by PAS over the Sanglang state seat in Perlis, in which Perlis PAS commissioner Hashim Jasin had lost to Barisan Nasional's Abdullah Hassan by 149 votes.

Under new election laws, it is now up to the Election Commission to declare the seat vacant and call for a by-election. Meanwhile, the defendants can appeal the Kangar High Court Decision to the Federal Court.

Abdullah, returning officer Muhamad Daud Abdull Hamid and the Election Commission were named as defendants in the petition.

In the March 8 polls, Abdullah had garnered 3,384 votes against Hashim's 3,235 votes.

Justice Zainal Adzam Abdul Ghani on Wednesday ruled that Barisan Nasional's victory was invalid, but did not allow Hashim to be declared the automatic winner. - The Star

written by Rashid, June 18, 2008 14:45:45
Well, let's go for a by-election, then you will know which party between PR and BN has the people's support. Be assured that PR will get the seat now with big majority.
written by prsupporter, June 18, 2008 15:12:17
wise decision by the court.With the by-election all will see PR wins with big majority in history. I support you PR. Hidup PR!!!
written by slash n burn, June 18, 2008 15:21:50
Should Mahathir is still in power, Justice Zainal Adzam Abdul Ghani could have been demoted to office boy.
written by Lostsoul12, June 18, 2008 15:26:19
I really hope the rakyat of Sanglang know what to do on this coming by-election.
100% vote go to PR.
bn - 0 vote!
written by Panglima Gantang, June 18, 2008 15:50:24
Hooray for democracy in Malaysia. If BN did not cheat in the general elections there would have been no court challenge. This is a waste of the Rakyat's Funds but what to do. We need to stop BN from their continouos cheating.

The message in Sanglang should send shivers down the spine of Tan Sri Kurup and Datuk V.K Liew in Sabah as both also won their Pensiangan and Sandakan seats thru dubious means. Pakatan candidates get ready for the next round.

Tuaran and Kota Belud MP seats should also be declared vacant for similar reasons in Sanglang, Perlis. WELL DONE MR. JUSTICE.

written by ahmadneil, June 18, 2008 15:53:30
Cheers with your Anchor beer.My bet is on PR.Best if PR put Anwar here.
written by tuanlokong, June 18, 2008 16:42:31
I bet 10 to 5 for PR to win the seat. smilies/grin.gif
written by netaddict1, June 18, 2008 16:52:57
DSAI: 1 down, 29 more to go

YAHOO!
written by Helli, June 18, 2008 16:54:28
Salaam,
Way to go Judge! Democracy is working! Viva la Democracy! Hidup PR! Hidup Rakyat! Makkal Sakti! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by temenggong, June 18, 2008 16:58:00
So PR has 2 more form SAPP and one in Perlis making it 85 seats.

Let BN sweat.
written by indianputra, June 18, 2008 17:12:24
Hello people: Sanglang is a STATE seat lah.. not Parliment!
written by Syarif Hidayatullah, June 18, 2008 17:44:56
Its a state seat (DUN) not parliament
written by shissun, June 18, 2008 19:18:19
Eh! I think BN will win back. They got money (duit angpow and kain batik), they got the officer (SPR dogs), they got the ghost (phantom voters), they got the machine (buat jalan, buat sekolah, buat masjid). What PR got? PR has integrity, PR has commitment, PR has honesty. So, Sanglang folks, what you would choose?
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, June 18, 2008 19:55:23
"SANGLANG SEAT DECLARED VACANT"

THIS ONE HUH!!! PR SURE WIN WANLAH!
written by krising1, June 18, 2008 21:30:01
Yo, this is only a state seat lah!
written by Kuku Burung, June 18, 2008 22:09:59
Hi friends, please do not assume PR will win this seat. PR needs to work doubly hard to win it. A by-election is a different kettle of fish. Remember that Perlis is still BN stronghold. Do not be too confident. PR needs to start right away to win the voters.
written by shissun, June 19, 2008 00:23:42
Cheers with your Anchor beer.My bet is on PR.Best if PR put Anwar here.

Good also put anwar there, can serve Sanglang people cukup-cukup. Satu Anwar serve 3000 people. Sanglang people so lucky.
What lah you all. Sanglang is a DUN lah. And hey, it seat is not really vacant though. BN still got chance to fight in higher court and guess who is waiting at the court of appeal? Zaki Azmi lah, bro, the UMNO mole in our judiciary.
written by ksmaniam, June 19, 2008 11:24:26
They should declare him the winner. EC has spent and wasted enough money. HE is the clear winner.