SAPP not pulling out from BN but calls for PM to step down PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 14:35

SAPP president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said the party is not pulling out from the Barisan Nasional but has called for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to step dowe because they do not have confidence in his leadership. Yong said the party would make its stand known in Parliament on June 23. - NST

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by Kuku Burung, June 18, 2008 14:40:19
Still find the BM shit worth smelling, eh? I guess chicken will never be sick of smelling chicken shit.
written by sickofitall, June 18, 2008 14:40:59
Much ado about nothing...
written by krepot, June 18, 2008 14:43:23
Datuk Yong Teck Lee got his millions! The BN Power brokers did get to him!
written by Rashid, June 18, 2008 14:48:07
No. Anwar said BN MPs will only start pulling out once Parliament resumes. So I'm of the opinion that things are still in line with that position. If BN MPs quit now, the PM can refuse to call for a parliamentary sitting and prorogue parliament. It will be chaotic then. So, SAPP will quit once Parliment reconvenes.
written by PASOK, June 18, 2008 14:49:39

SAPP is going to move a no confidence motion in parliament on monday. It's a good move. Hopefully the government will fall.
Time for the PRakyat to get working to get the votes.

Well done Yong.
written by Aiseiman, June 18, 2008 14:50:53
I think the NST is doing a spin. What I gathered is their member's vote now is GET OUT of BN!

I have a few friends are in SAPP what!
written by BORN FREE, June 18, 2008 14:51:27
OMG, Datuk Yong !!
Cant u still see it !
U ppl in Sabah & Sarawak are exactly like "anak yatim" or "anak ankgat"
cos the BN are bothered with u until there are rumours of you all "jumping
over" to the other side ! Then the top guns of BN will fly over and sweet talk, make offerings to you all !! Wake up ppl of Sabah & Sarawak, before
its too late !! BN ppl do not keep their promises one laaaaaaaaaaaa!!
written by Dominic, June 18, 2008 14:55:37
Yong,
So how if AAB was to vacate ? You still believe UMNO is still relevant after 50years,after how they treat the East Malaysian state of Sabah n Sarawak ? Whats your fear actually ? So long as UMNO, in what ever shade and form, forget about it lah ! Think hard ! What is there to loose if we give PR just..just one term to prove themselves. Go to the ground and check if the people of Sabah is with you even if you want AAB out ? My bet is no,thats not what they want. They want BN OUT AND PR IN !
written by greenarrow, June 18, 2008 15:03:46
Why continue to rub shoulder with them who practice RACIALISM Ideology...Hardcore Greed...Stealing the rakyat s Money?
written by cwy, June 18, 2008 15:15:43
Stupid chief of SAPP!
You must be a crony to UMNO!
Or you are just a fan of that MADhathir!
written by Ann Meng Sim, June 18, 2008 15:17:52
What on earth are you waiting for??

People slap your left cheek, then bring you some lousy sour fruits as gifts so because of that you are getting your right cheek ready for them to slap again?

Hello?? Brain cells on strike is it??
written by hardworking_taxpayer, June 18, 2008 15:22:25
PULL OUT lah! Yooooo.... Geram with SAPP. You people must have a lot of shit waiting to be exposed, that's why you don't dare to jump ship, rite? "You jump, I jump"
If I am a Sabahan, I would have pulled out my hair already.
written by malsia1206, June 18, 2008 15:26:00
My take on this matter is SAPP is undecisive. They seem to disagree with the leadership of the PM and yet does onot want to make a firm commitment one way or the other. This position is like a double-headed snake. Are they IN or OUT? They are not making things any better for the Government, coalition and the rakyat. They want their cake and eat it too. What's their underlying principles in politics?
written by shangrilapeace, June 18, 2008 15:38:29
If you want a fast answer, please visit your SAPP Blog. The answer is right there.
written by Birdbrain, June 18, 2008 15:38:47
Breaking News

Earth tremor in Sabah of a perfect 10.0 recorded on the Richter scale. Soon Tsunami of the greatest height will crash the beaches of Peninsular Malaysia.

Fragments of UMNO skulls with little pea brains washed ashore scattered in the Borneo jungle!
written by chin, June 18, 2008 15:45:40
So, what does a no confidence vote do ???

The PM is elected by UMNO. Does it amount to a no-confidence in UMNO's leadership of BN ???

Or is it ok to be screwed by UMNO but SAPP prefers a different dick.

Mr Yong, you are a disappointment either way.
written by devious17, June 18, 2008 15:54:06
hmmmm........pemuda umno has been very quiet lately when component parties makes ' controvercial' statements such as this pemuda umno is always the first to scream bloody murder and demand apology aparts from retraction of statement.

Apasal pemuda umno? dari kaki pukul jaguh kampung bertukar jadi pondan jalan TAR ke? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by joeawk, June 18, 2008 15:56:52
If you jump ship and Anwar become PM is quite different from asking Pak Lah to step down and Najib becomes PM.

Can you tell us why do you want Najib to become PM when almost all Malaysians do not want him?
written by Pai, June 18, 2008 16:06:32
I was sort of expecting SAPP taking the crucial first step in triggering a political domino effect by walking out of BN!

Hoop la! Dr Chong Eng Leong fired that first shot! Hitting both PBS & SAPP!
written by Birdbrain, June 18, 2008 16:10:44
This show is better than Astro On Demand! BTW, how many episodes? Let's hope they don't kill the main actor (Yong Teck Lee) so soon and add in more main characters!

Usually the bigger stars comes out last!

Cuckoo!
written by TeohSC, June 18, 2008 16:50:42
Aiyah, what are you waiting for? Whoever take over from Abdullah will be no better then him. UMNO is a totally rotten party with no capable leadership. Just pull out from the coalition.
written by legaleagle, June 18, 2008 17:12:41
It's not what some of you think. Actaully it's a great move by SAPP.

By law - according to the Constitution - A vote of no confidence on the PM, if passed, would mean the resignation of PM and his entire Federal Cabinet. Then the King will appoint an MP whom he thinks will command the majority of the Lower House, to be the new PM, and the new PM will then appoint his new Cabinet.

So it is not as simple as Najib the DPM taking over as PM. The King may decide that Wan Azizah, or any other MP, could command the majority of the House. To decide that the King will look at the voting pattern during the Vote of No Confidence.

Of course, the PM could try and dissolve Parliament to hold another GE. By convention the King should accede to that request, but does not have to.

It will be very interesting come Monday 23rd June. If the Speaker, or Deputy Speaker acting, refuses to have the motion tabled, he would be the laughing stock of the world for reducing the Malaysian Parliament to shambles! MP's present should never allow the Speaker to get away with it!
written by cllim123, June 18, 2008 17:23:38
SAPP MPs on monday should just seat themselves at the opposition seats when Parliament convenes on Monday. Others like Dompok, Pairin, Ongkili etc should follow and just move to the opposition bench without announcement. That will give AAB a heart attack!
written by cllim123, June 18, 2008 17:25:02
Make sure the move to the opposition bench by the Sabahan MPs gets live television coverage. The Rakyat will have something to cheer about.
written by legaleagle, June 18, 2008 17:30:08
The seatings are arranged according to Party affiliations. BN on one side. Oppositions on the other side. There is no need to actually cross the floor during the vote of no confidence.

However, it would be much more dramatic if they lieterally physically cross the floor, especially with TV cameras carrying live telecast!
written by hiro, June 18, 2008 17:35:02
NST trying to downplay the impact. The very idea of having a non-confidence vote itself is a watershed moment in Malaysia.
written by patlu, June 18, 2008 17:58:13
YB Yong Teck Lee, please be more specific. Pass a non-confidence vote on UMNO as a partner in BN. It's not a BN-led government but an UMNO-led government that's pulling BN and the ENTIRE nation down!

In addition to that, to all component parties of BN, do the same! If all of you combined can't EXPEL UMNO from BN, then it's time you left to join PR and do the right thing to save our country from turmoil.

If you are thinking of forming another coalition or standing as an independent party, forget it, we don't have the time. Lend a hand to PR to put our country back on track NOW. We have to drop all our differences and work as a team to save the nation NOW..

All members of BN political parties reading this, please pass this message to your leadership. We have no time to lose.

On another matter, where what we can do as citizens (the Boss)...

SIGN THE DIRECTIVE to Malaysian MPs and ADUNs to push the government to build an efficient public transportation system ASAP.

This is a very trying time, ONLY IN WORKING TOGETHER (political affiliations aside), we shall ALL survive. It is the Malaysians who make Malaysia. MALAYSIANS BOLEH!

More ideas on how to push this campaign effectively, visit http://www.pahlawan.com.my
written by miwaki, June 18, 2008 19:43:33
Teck Lee,common sense will tell you there is no way you can stay on as component party of BN and at the same time asking Pak lah to step down.It is equivalent to asking your CEO to resign but stay on as salesman of the company.
written by marsyal, June 18, 2008 19:44:24
Wait for the announcement on June 20th

Excerpt from SAPP website http://www.sapp.org.my/default.asp?page=hq080618b

"Is SAPP pulling out of the BN?

We will have a press conference o Friday June 20 to announce this matter of SAPP membership in BN after our Supreme Council meeting. This is the most popular question of the week. Actually, the BN has already left Sabah. The spirit of BN is no longer there. It is not that Sabah does not want BN; it is BN that does not want Sabah. The BN does not recognize the contribution of Sabah to the national mainstream. Ask any Sabah UMNO leader privately, they will pour out their frustrations. Remember the speeches of MPs Datuk Anifah Aman on ¡§terrace houses¡¨, Datuk Ghapur Salleh, Datuk Wilfred bumburing and Datuk Eric and Datuk Dr. Chua Soon Bui? Many BN component leaders also share our feelings."
written by power2u, June 18, 2008 19:46:21
How come UMNO so quiet ???Why today never talk about Ketuanan Melayu???or Ketuanan melayu semenanjung????Please UMNO ,keep reminding rakyat how great Ketuanan melayu is to Sabahans n Sarawakians so that they can leave you!!!Anyway,you don't need them isn't is???What do they hav except petrol???
written by Rajen Bumiputra, June 18, 2008 20:07:12
Congratulations, HIDUP SABAHANS. DONT sell Sabah to UMNO. Chase them out of Sabah, if possible Malaysia. SACK ANJING UMNO out of BN.Remember Project M, Patung DEWA CINA,...., Now orang Asli Church in Gua Musang, now in Kelantan future in Sabah then sarawak

Rajen Bumiputra
Rakyat Sultan Azlan Shah
Hidup Raja, Hidup Rakyat
Hihup Melayu, Cina, Iban, Islam, Hindu
written by benny loh, June 18, 2008 20:47:11
Any more (morning) like this one?
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...rning.html
written by wshamsudin, June 18, 2008 21:37:08
Thank you...i salute u, bro Yong...believe me, others will follow u..they are rubbing their balls to stand.
written by PAKRAK, June 18, 2008 21:46:47
I am beginning to understand SAPP's strategy. Watch it all ye supporters, there'll be more excitement soon. Another tsunami is about to start.
UMNO/BN is FINISHED!
Barricade all the government buildings to prevent files and other properties from being carted away.
Vision 2008 - Downfall of BN. Malaysia to have NEW PM and government.
MAKKAL SAKTHI!!
written by Uncorruptible, June 18, 2008 22:03:28
Sapp seems to be playing POKER. They are waiting for umno to run to them with bags of ringgit to fill their pockets and entice them to change their little minds. This generation of Sabah and Sarawakian politicians were created in the umno mould that of KOREK KOREK KOREK. Sabah and Sarawak will have to vote in DAP and PKR candidates to change their destiny for the good forever. I wish I was wrong !
written by archie, June 18, 2008 22:58:51
A well-calculated move by SAPP. So far I've not heard any call for action against YTL or SAPP from BN leaders, even after it (SAPP) gave Pak Lah a slap on the face. And you think it was just a hasty or sponteneous decision of YTL/SAPP?
written by Limang, June 18, 2008 23:00:23
My fellow Sabahans! Your leaders, like Yong, are taking you guys for a ride again. Instead of quitting BN and rule Sabah by themselves for the good of the people, they are only asking Bodowi to resign. WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES THIS MAKE? Mr. C4 who takes over is equally, if not, worst!

Let me tell you why your leaders are all useless: 1 BILLION DOLLARS OFFERED BY BODOWI IS NOT ENOUGH TO GO AROUND! With so many politicians, Bodowi needs to give at least 50 billions, but the stupid guy gave only 1 billion, real bodoh!

So your leaders, with Yong taking the lead, are now blackmailing for more!

They are not sincere in protecting Sabah and its 20-points agreement. They are protecting their own pocket. For if they are sincere, they would have left the evil and rascist BN long ago!

Get rid of your leaders, especially the spineless Pairin, Yong, Raymond, Maximus, Dompok, Ghapur, etc. They are all cronies. To me, the worst is Pairin, who turned coward with Mamakthir and shamelessly kowtow to him! Imagine, a Paramount Leader of the Kadazan-Dunsun bowing like a slave in homage to an Indian Mamak, who a racist, bigot, oppressor, schemer, liar and hypocrite - all rolled into one. What a shit of a Paramount leader. But he is happy because he is giving money and a high post. But at what price - selling off Sabaha, its resources, lands and women to the West Malaysian dogs. Is that the kind of leaders you all worship and elect. Shuuuuuesh!

You guys deserve to be lied to, to be tricked, to be enslaved, to be downtrodden as long you elect such leaders! Your land deserved to be raped and no wonder your beautiful women love the rich West Malaysians (remember Gafar Bab's second wife?), it does not matter if they are arrogant and corrupt, as long as they are rich and more powerful than your cowardly leaders. Which woman loves a loser!

Bodoh Sabahans! Go one, elect and trust your leaders some more. We are enjoying the show in West Malaysia, as we are changing our leaders.

written by Rohani Hitam, June 18, 2008 23:07:18
Right move, but the follow-up is what we want to see. Otherwise we dismiss you as TDM running dog.
written by ahmadneil, June 19, 2008 00:20:51
One small step for Yong Teck Lee one big step for Anwar.
written by SamBall, June 19, 2008 00:38:25
Yang saya rasa amat pelik ni ialah sunyi betul UMNO / BN dan lain2 component parties.

Ooooi, tidur kah kamu semua macam Pak Lah itu. Stand up & defend your leader lah!

Eh, tunggu dulu. Memang dia orang nak cucuk Pak Lah ni; just did not have the balls to do it first!

What a bunch of clowns! Bangsa lain pulak pull the trigger; kesian Melayu!!
written by Malay Ultraman, June 19, 2008 08:32:00
Guys.. Dont worry.. It is a strategic move by SAPP. IF SAPP is out from BN, it can only attack from outside.. But if SAPP remains in BN, it will be like a virus affecting others BN MPS in parliment. Once, Sleepy Pak Lah wakes up and starts packing his luggages and candies, BN MP can defects and join PR at once.

Yabedabedu!!! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by archie, June 19, 2008 14:40:18
Limang, if you are a West M'sian, you don't address Sabahans as "My fellow Sabahans". And if you're a Sabahan, then you must think that you yourself are "bodoh" by calling Sabahans "Bodoh Sabahans".