DAP defends songkok move PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 13:41

(The Star) - JOHOR BARU: The state Opposition Leader has urged supporters to respect the decision of four DAP state assemblymen to wear the songkok for the coming state assembly sitting.

Dr Boo Cheng Hau said their commitment to serve the people was more important than the songkok.

Perfect fit: Ong (left) and Dr Boo trying on their state assembly uniform at a tailor shop in Johor Baru yesterday.

“Of course there are opposing views, but many feel that it just shows respect to the Sultan,” he said during the final fitting of his uniform.

Dr Boo, who is also Johor DAP chairman and the Skudai state assemblyman, said the decision was made although there was no ruling which said the songkok had to be worn.

He said the party's central executive committee had left it to the state committee to decide whether to wear the songkok and a decision was made on April 20.

“When we discussed the matter, we decided to wear the songkok in deference to the Sultan,” he said but cautioned that the people should not get the wrong message.

Dr Boo said it was important to note that they did not support the mandatory wearing of songkok in schools or universities as multicultural sensitivities had to be respected.

“We don’t want this to happen in unofficial circumstances where people are forced to wear something that is not reflective of their own religion and culture,” he said.

Meanwhile, Senai assemblyman Ong Kow Meng said he hoped all the DAP state assemblymen would abide by the state committee’s decision and wear the songkok on June 19.

“This is an isolated incident out of respect for the Sultan. There is no regulation which says that the songkok should be worn all the time,” he said, adding that he hoped the community and party members would understand.

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Robin Goodfellow, June 18, 2008 13:46:46
aiyah. who gives a shitlah. u takeover power why u worry so much what those umno cocksuckers want to say ah? relaks le beb. pakai je le. bukannye botakkan kepala korang..... err, sorry RPK. smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by shiokguy, June 18, 2008 13:57:07
I wear the songkok sometimes too.. What the Hack? No need to make a fuss over small thing.. so childish meh?

my Malay friend wear the chinese costume too.. some Malaysia lady look sexy in the Cheongsam.

My ladies friend also wear Baju Kurong..
written by Dominic, June 18, 2008 13:58:09
Why all the fuss ? These songkok is part and parcel of the ceromorial dress code that MPs used in parliment. Outside the august house, you can just take it off. More over, the type of songkok used is not the usual one where we find our Malay friends wear them in casual time. By right, YB should be proud as not everyone has the privilege to wear such songkok in their whole life time . Its a recognition just like the square hat my son had when he graduated.
written by shiokguy, June 18, 2008 13:58:22
oops sorry Pete..

I dont know how to reduce the size of the pic.. just link it from the net..
My apology!
written by Lis LQ, June 18, 2008 13:58:38
My Goodness Gracious me!!! Why want to query so much about this very irrelevant
matter.It will not make any difference to your religion or status at all.Infact you will gain more respect from our muslim brothers.You grown up men act like small kids!!! Get on with the more important and pressing matters,serve your community well in order to be elected in the next GE.Apa lah!!!!
written by Lis LQ, June 18, 2008 14:04:31
Brother Pete,how to educate these thick head gondoh!!!! In this country where i reside,my children used to wear baju kurong and tudung as uniform,because she studied in the government school for a while.Same with the boys,non muslim have to wear songkok everyday as part of their uniform.And we are still a christian tru and tru.So please drop this matter about wearing songkok ASAP.
written by weehan, June 18, 2008 14:04:59
While DAP is busying “To songkok or not to songkok” the nation is being drain dry by BN.

Just get on with it please. STOP this pettiness
written by LC Teh, June 18, 2008 14:17:02
You guys!!! If you keep sawing sawdust, what do you get??? Sai Hey!!!
written by Daryl, June 18, 2008 14:21:57
“We don’t want this to happen in unofficial circumstances where people are forced to wear something that is not reflective of their own religion and culture,” he said.

DAP don't be racist please. I don't believe songkok have anything to do with Islam. It has more to do with Malay culture and if you want them to respect your culture respect theirs first. Fight it when te line is cross where tey made you wear it. You need to learn to separate religious and culture issue before you are capable to lead the country.
written by unomalaysia, June 18, 2008 14:23:57
Look at the big picture. Soon Malaysians will be going into the grinders once the impact of Dollah's revenge (Barang Naik) sets in. Then still got energy to make big shit out of nothing? Pakai lah otak sikit.. morons smilies/angry.gif
written by Siputman, June 18, 2008 14:28:55
Who gives a shit on whether or not wearing songkok. Just treat it as fashion. Doesn't matter as long as u can serve the people. I don't mind wearing skirt if PR can take over as government. WTF !!!
written by Rhan, June 18, 2008 14:39:22
Don't know why some people have this habit to tell others what you can do and what you cannot do, what to be wear and what not to be wear, which artist is okay and which is not okay....

Is Malaysian inteligent level that low and need all this lecture and some even by force?

This dap use to talk big in the past and now still act like one who are with good understanding, malukan aje. Admit your mistake and apologise to mca lah. Next time think before open mouth.
written by Milo, June 18, 2008 14:57:17
Wise decision, DAP!...serving the people's interest is ALWAYS 1ST!
written by chin, June 18, 2008 15:02:10
What is wrong with these idiotic chinese, why are you griping about dress code ????

Use yr fxxking brains please, you were born in Malaysia, your fathers and their fathers were born in Malaysia, you will mostly likely be buried in Malaysia. If you want to be recognised as Malaysian, at least act a little bit like Malaysian.

Stop harping on dress codes and protocols! Bring yr voices together to support PR, because is the only chance for Malaysian Chinese to
- send their children to local public universities,
- own the land that you work on,
- call the house you own your home,
- look another in the face and consider yourself equals,
- serve the country in the government
- be successful because you worked harder
- have a say how yr money in taxes are spent
- enjoy a standard of living better than Singapore
- your children could be PM of Malaysia
- CALL THIS COUNTRY YOUR HOME

written by Areyaar, June 18, 2008 16:02:20
Good show DAP. That's the spirit!

You are showing Malaysians, be they Muslim, Christian, Buddhist, Hindu etc how to be mature, dignified and thoughtful by willingly wearing the songkok. It is just part of a costume that helps mould the Malaysian identity.

Atleast you are showing that you believe in such an identity unlike that trouble-making Mahathir who now claims that there can never be such a thing as Bangsa Malaysia. Show him up. And others like him who would like to see Malaysians segregated and un-united. Those hypocrites need to learn from people like yourselves.
written by Areyaar, June 18, 2008 16:03:05
Sorry, that should read "dis-united", not "un-united". My bad.
written by joeawk, June 18, 2008 16:22:41
DAP members must wake up. Those who refuse to evolve has no place under the malaysian sun. That goes to all PASA members as well.Stop your small brain islamic moral which you keep wanting to impose on others.

You can be different but having small brains imposing on others their view and moral is quite another.
written by tommycol, June 18, 2008 16:39:43
WISE decision Dr BOO!!Go ahead just WEAR it; it won't make you a less CHINESE and don't worry about getting a smaller BRAIN smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif .These ppl are just a bunch of HYPOCRITEs, nor will wearing a CAP makes you a ORANG PUTIH !!!
My daughter still wears the baju kurong to work occasionally as she had done while schooling ,i for one doesn't find her 'unCHINESE'.
written by Ah Jiau, June 18, 2008 16:57:53
Good to see DAP make some leeway and setting good examples, unlike taliban squad from PAS who are planning to demonstrate against Ella and the Dangdut queen's concerts, despite the wrath and threat from the Sultan of Selangor to cancel the football game should the retarded cunts demonstrate. ****ing "derhaka" ****s.

"Dr" Maisur you rabid dog, if you're reading this, what have you got to say to this? Still wanna bad mouth and accuse DAP for not making way? For arrogance? Who is more arrogant now? PAS for teh crime of derhaka? Or a reformed DAP? Kp up teh "good work" PAS, and see how you do next GE.

Taliban ****ers.

written by Godflesh, June 18, 2008 17:27:54
It's a Malaysian dress code. Wear it with pride and serve the rakyat with pride - all other matters are trivial.!
written by amoker, June 18, 2008 18:27:56
Good decision. This is maturity.
written by shissun, June 18, 2008 18:52:44
“This is an isolated incident out of respect for the Sultan. There is no regulation which says that the songkok should be worn all the time,” he said, adding that he hoped the community and party members would understand

Sir,
Nobody cares what you wear, as long as not bare naked like our friend Chua SL. Just concentrate on more pressing issue. The people give fully support to you!
written by capcomangel, June 18, 2008 19:05:22
jusy wear it.it just a head gear...even me when graduate at college also need to wear that wierdo hat.
written by LACOBRA, June 18, 2008 19:23:50
Now this is really confusing, Allah cannot be used by the Christians in their worship but a Songkok presumably a Muslim attire can be worn by a non Muslim? Can anyone clarify especially the BN hypocrites! Otherwise it is Weird and inconsistent!
written by Rhan, June 18, 2008 20:33:18
Lacobra, you find it confusing?

A philosopher can help to solve the songkok issue. We may read Gongsun Long “When a horse is not a white horse” and hopefully this could help DAP to convince us that Songkok has nothing to do with Muslim.

Base on the White Horse Dialogue, a white horse is not a horse and therefore DAP could argue that Malay Muslim is not a Muslim, and further conclude that a Malay attire should not be deemed as a Muslim attire and we all should agree that Songkok has nothing to do with Muslim.

I now suspect this Gongsun Long did play a part in drafting our Malaysia constitution.

Case closed.
written by SL Chan, June 18, 2008 20:42:00
Damn it!!! Just wear it and dont a a damn fuss about it..It is a dress code for the state assembly and please RESPECT THE SULTAN...And dont ever make a fuss over it anymore and no more idiotic statement anymore!!!Think time to growup...You have loads of things in your "damn bag" to work for the rakyat for your constituency..
written by seethinkact, June 18, 2008 20:53:59
Goshh...get a hold of yourselves guys. Its just an official attire, worn during official state functions.Doesn't make them any less Chinese or more Malay at that. So just wear it out of respect for the uniform that it represents. Look at the bigger picture brothers and that is to deliver people's interest first and form last. Golly its a complete non issue. Enough with PAS already dragging us into non issues when there is a war(changing Fed Gomen) to think about so that we could all finally live a decent and independent life for once.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 18, 2008 20:54:03
If you use with benefit attached why not!My brother*s second son use it when he attended an interview for scolarship to the USA (University of Tennessee)and he got the scholarship worth about RM400thousand!That was history,about 12 years ago!I still think he made the right decision to wear the songkok to get thre scholarship!He had been very creative and still is today! smilies/smiley.gif
written by mikewang, June 18, 2008 21:38:35
This is a non issue with the non-Malays.
So DAP, no need to make this an issue.

Please concentrate on the big issues like keeping the BN state government on its toes and bearing the Penang CAT upon them. smilies/smiley.gif
written by scwong, June 18, 2008 21:45:35
Alright DAP... Thats the way. Good example. Hidup BANGSA MALAYSIA.

In future dont make it a big fuss out of small sensitive racial issue. Who knows, you may open up an opportunity for some people to blow it out out proportion.

Keep it up. Thats the way it should go.
written by semut, June 18, 2008 23:18:00
cool DAP..

wish a prosperous future ahead with business minded leaders..
not like umno scumbag..meniaga pakai duit rakyat..pastu rigi cover balik pakai duit rakyat..

wei umno..bleh blah!

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by gorshan, June 19, 2008 01:13:00
i just saw this one hindi video song on Zee Tv as broadcasted on Astro channel 108. both the male(rhoma irama i think) and female singer in hindi costumes is malay and most dancers are malays but the hindi song is so melodious and sang so beautifully that it can put to shame some of the most well known playback singers in Bollywood.

so who are these few idiots making so much hoo haa over a small thing like a songkok? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Raja Gasper, June 19, 2008 10:51:35
Take it or leave it.Wearing songkok has nothing to do with religion.Songkok
tradition orginates from Indian culture and use troughout in South East Asia
nations with modifications to suit the local culture taste.

Wearing western attire doen't mean only for Christianity use as it is define
as mordern costumes of digital age and nothing more than that.God will not
select you as a choosen race if you use western attire because Christians use it