Newly-formed committee to push for judicial reforms PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 09:44

(The Star) - The Government is serious about improving the justice system. It has set up a committee to get reforms going within the system.

For a start, de facto law minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim said, the committee had proposed that the courts be stricter about granting of postponements and stop fixing excessive bail sums for criminal cases.

The Government, he said, had given its green light for the implementation of the two proposals and there were a string of reforms waiting to be executed once the relevant laws were amended.

Zaid said the Government was also looking seriously at encouraging the public to use the mediation process as a means of resolving disputes, and legitimatising plea-bargaining for criminal cases.

“The Government has plans to make mediation a successful system. Court cases cost time and money,” he said during a special briefing session for the press yesterday.

Zaid said the committee would be looking at options like allowing lawyers to become arbitrators at a nominal fee to speed up the disposal of cases or allowing plea-bargaining and pre-trial conference in criminal cases.

“We have agreed to employ mediation process. A Mediation Act will be drafted soon to encourage people to use alternative methods for dispute resolution rather than file cases in courts.

“As for plea-bargaining, we have already agreed. It is now a matter of amending the Criminal Procedure Code,” he said.

The new committee – called High Powered Committee on Backlog of Cases – which focuses on implementing ways to better the justice system, had its inaugural meeting earlier this month.

Committee members included the Solicitor-General, Chief Registrar of the Federal Court, the Malaysian Bar’s vice-president and former Bar president Datuk Kuthubul Zaman Bukhari.

Zaid said the bail sum issued by the courts must be a realistic amount so that those who could afford to raise bail need not languish in the prisons while waiting for trial.

“The more prisoners we have, the more taxpayers have to pay for prison costs. Why should they?” he said.

On judges’ accountability, Zaid stressed that while the Government supported that judges be allowed to manage themselves using their Code of Ethics, the “self management of performance (by judges) had to be done transparently”.

“Judges are not untouchables. The public expect them to do the job.

“We do not tell them how to write the judgments but the system that they adopt in self management must be subjected to public scrutiny,” he said.

He said an efficient and transparent system could only exist if the public, including the press, are more critical and participative in checking the system and providing a balance.

Asked whether the critics would suffer backlashes from such acts, like being accused of breaching the Official Secrets Act or sued for defamation, Zaid said that time had changed and people in higher positions should stop using the law to cover up their own inefficiencies.

“We are now in the first world era. Accountability matters and it means you have the prerogative to decide but you must explain or account for your decision.

“This is what the Government is doing now. We want to have a broader reform, not just on appointment of judges and restoring judicial powers to the courts,” he said.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by semut, June 18, 2008 09:58:38
cakap banyak tarak guna..
settle Altantuya's murder case first..

only then you will gain people respect..
right sir RPK?

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by apasalahku, June 18, 2008 10:09:34
Bring back Taxi Nazri as Law Minister! Although an equally inept, corrupted goon, he's more funny.

Sad to see the funny humpty dumpties loudmouths(Lim Keng Yaik, SAmy Vellu) replaced by the more silent, sinister snakes like Shahrir, Muhammad Taib, Zaid Ibrahim, Ong Ka Ting
written by indianputra, June 18, 2008 10:18:17
Zaid Ibrahim, get a life lah! Your BN gvernment had been promising this and that for the past few months and nothing has come ut of it. Talk is bloody cheap. Everybody can talk and politicians talk more than anybody else and they are all lies. We have heard you and your Government and guess what? We don't believe you!

Oh! By the way, what is happening to Linggam gate commission receommendations? Your reply will be lies too, so don't bother to reply.
written by joseph81, June 18, 2008 10:20:42
Bring back both Taxi Nazri and Ligam, then we'll have a rap team singing corect,corect.corect and stupid, stupid, stupid
written by sickofitall, June 18, 2008 10:27:33
Give Zaid a break guys, the bar council has been advocating the use of mediation for over 9 years and so far the govt cakap kosong only, until Zaid came along. He seems to know what he is talking about, unlike some of the other ministers in the past. Let us hope he gets the time he needs to implement these changes!
written by freedom to speak, June 18, 2008 10:31:19
Another load of Bull-Sh*t.

A commission to correct the Judiciary?
I thought the Judiciary was supposed to be independent.
Now another mini-STER will be given powers to decide its future.
For God-sake isn't there already too many HANDS running it now.

Suggestion:
Sack all the judiciary personnel and start afresh. They are the problem. They let their independent status be compromised. What's the point in reforms and letting these people still be around?
written by Counterpointer, June 18, 2008 10:33:44
“Judges are not untouchables"

But the former PM who 'abused' the judges is?

All the talk of reforming but having nothing to show for it, like making the ToonDog accountable for his abuses of the judiciary would only have to be taken with a big pinch of salt.
written by budakindia, June 18, 2008 10:43:06
The Government is serious about improving the justice system.
======================================================= ======

Is it the same seriousness of cutting cost measures by cutting the minister's entertainment bill? The "real" wastages are still on-going?

Yeah! Very Serious indeed! smilies/angry.gif
written by InEffective, June 18, 2008 10:46:37

First step we should settle is - 'make the Law Minister Accountable'.

Then we get to making the 'judges accountable'.

(btw - i am opening up a rotan factory)
written by Engineer, June 18, 2008 10:48:00
Lawyers should be made to write reports to client too.
Lawyers seldom tell their client the whole happenings especially as to why a case is lost.
They often use jargons we don't understand.
Lawyers need to be monitored as well.
So too should official asignees, they are suppose to help collect debt in bankruptcy cases but instead the files merely collects dust.

BTW can anyone advise on how to complain against official assignee who has been sitting on my case for more than 5 years.
written by tokbahaman, June 18, 2008 11:00:15
The tittle says-Newly-formed committee to push for judicial reforms- May I propose that Linggam fellow to be the Chairman of the committee. The other famous five could be committee members. just a thought. Kah,kah,kah.
written by Jan, June 18, 2008 11:01:31
People, just ask yourself would a govt filled by many corrupt ministers truly reform the judiciary so that they can be tried and sent to jail? It would be like shooting itself in the foot if you asked me.
written by Jan, June 18, 2008 11:03:23
Just don't put too much hope on any real judicial reforms. Any reform can only be carried out with a change of govt.
written by hiro, June 18, 2008 11:14:15
Zaid does not make sense. He expects whistle blowers to be forthcoming yet did not say anything about reforming the Official Secrets Act. To me, this is a half past six reform that will not amount to anything.
written by ghondoruwo, June 18, 2008 11:17:30
Committee...committee...committee...Are not enough ministries and government departments out there to tackle issues at hands??? Or these are just another circus to show that they are doing some work...sheesh!!!
written by KKchan, June 18, 2008 11:28:04
It is not just a committee, it is a High Powered one! Seems to be the favourite animal of the government these days. Is there a difference? There is one formed for Sabah too. We want judicial reforms not interference. Zaid said 2 proposals were implememnted - telling judges what to do? That's interference. Note that members of the committee do not comprise members of the judiciary.
written by gewdgreef, June 18, 2008 11:53:45
implementing plea-bargain?? HAH!

can't you see that they're setting up 'escape clauses' for their rich and wicked who are languishing in prison now (or will be indicted in the near future) - don't be fooled!

“The more prisoners we have, the more taxpayers have to pay for prison costs. Why should they?”

what a convenient excuse!

after puking up blood, all i've got left is just my guts! smilies/angry.gif
written by Baronshah, June 18, 2008 12:08:11
"He said an efficient and transparent system could only exist if the public, including the press, are more critical and participative in checking the system and providing a balance"

Look who is talking about efficiency and transparency???

Mr. Zaid don't you think that the Govt of the day should lead the way in being transparent and critical of itself before asking the people and the press to do so.As it is anyone who questions, comments on or criticizes the Govt's policy...??? do I have to say more...???

regards
GOD bless all
written by partiotic, June 18, 2008 12:08:26
This is BN government, after 50 years under BN now only talking about judicial reform.In that case do you means all those cases trail previously are not valid.
written by ENCIK NASIR, June 18, 2008 12:19:31
CONFIRM AT 12 PM TODAY, SAPP is out of BN, DOMINO STARTS TO FALL. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by mgeo, June 18, 2008 15:22:40
We are drowning in committees, boards, commissions, consultants, study tours, forums, seminars, reviews, Corridors and Plans. These are signs of unwillingness or inability to analyse all views and come to effective desisions. Instead there is knee-jerk seat-of-the pants administration, verbal diarrhoea and covering one's behind.