Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow BN big guns head for Sabah

BN big guns head for Sabah PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 08:13

Kong See Hoh, The Sun

Several Barisan Nasional (BN) top guns, including Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor and Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, are in Sabah to pre-empt a domino effect in case a component party quits the coalition as rumoured.

Word that three, and not just one, as hinted by Umno veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, BN component parties from the state may abandon ship have the BN leaders making a beeline for the Land Below the Wind to prevent a shift in political landscape.

According to a report in Oriental Daily News today, aside from the Datuk Yong Teck Lee-led Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP), speculation is rife that Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), which is headed by Kadazandusun paramount leader Datuk Seri Joseph Pairin Kitinggan, and Tan Sri Bernard Dompok's Upko (United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation) may also leave the coalition.

Upko has four MPs, whereas PBS and SAPP have three and two MPs respectively.

BN controls all 25 parliamentary seats in the state except Kota Kinabalu which went to DAP in the March 8 general election.

If the three parties indeed leave the coalition but opt not to join the opposition Pakatan Rakyat (PR), BN will still have 131 MPs (49 more than PR's) and not under any threat of being toppled, but such a development will serve to boost the Opposition's morale at the crucial time and allow PR to up the ante against BN.

A Sabah Umno man told the daily that Sabahans know the rules of the game well as far as party-hopping is concern.

"(In Sabah) You've to try your best to be both the 'peg' and the 'hole' and you don't rule out any possibility."

Apart from the rumoured rendezvous with Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in Hongkong and the Philippines, some leaders of Sabah BN component parties are said to have met Tengku Razaleigh, who is eying the Umno No. 1 post, for possible cooperation should the Umno veteran win in the party election.

Anwar, being the one-time Umno leader tasked with Sabah affairs, knows the in and out of Sabah politics, and with the help of PKR state chief, he can create a political storm in the state. The BN top leadership is trying its best to keep the situation under control.

Apart from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who flew into the state today, Khairy Jamaluddin (Umno youth vice-chief) has been in Kota Kinabalu for the past days, and Tengku Adnan (BN secretary-general) arrived in the state on Monday.

Also in the state are Rural and Regional Development Minister Tan Sri Muhammad Muhd Taib and Nor Mohamed (second finance minister).

The report said Nor Mohamed posed the sensitive question of party-hopping during his meeting with Pairin on Sunday but did not get a reply.

It is understood that Sabah parties are asking for the 5% oil royalty to be increased to 20% and want a solution to the problem of illegal immigrants in the state.

Sources told the daily that although several BN component parties in the state are considering quitting the coalition, they have no intention of joining PR yet.

This is seen as a tactical move to keep their bargaining power.

But this will no doubt lend credence to PR's plan to take control of the federal government by Sept 16, or Malaysia Day.

A poll being carried out by SAPP (http://sapphq.blogspot.com) showed 42% of the respondents believe the party should leave the BN, 47% say it should join PR and only 9% want it to remain with the coalition.

The report said the three parties have different reasons for wanting to leave the BN – from grudges with Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman to 'sibling' rivalry.

It is understood that SAPP was not happy that it was not given the Kota Kinabalu seat to contest, and Yong felt he was denied the chance to contest the election as a result.

Rubbing salt to his wound was the fact that after the election the Liberal Democratic Party's only MP, party president Datuk V.K. Liew, was named deputy minister of international trade and industry, when his SAPP, which has two MPs, did not get any post.

Upko's Dompok cannot see eye to eye with the federal government on certain religious issues.

There is also talk that Dompok is also not happy that he was given only the post of Minister in the Prime Minister's Department whereas PBS No. 2 Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili is holding the Science, Technology and Innovation Minister's post.

It is also an open secret that Dompok is not on good terms with Musa.

On the other hand, PBS has made no secrets of its anti-illegal immigrant sentiments and its resentment that the federal government is not doing very much to overcome the problem.

written by cubi76, June 18, 2008 08:22:47
They flew in to see how the Project IC is going on so that they dont have to rely on native Sabahan in future elections.
written by Tsunami08, June 18, 2008 08:30:56
"Several BN top guns, including Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor and Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, are in Sabah to pre-empt a domino effect.."

Yeah, send crooks to straighten things up! As if they have the moral standing to make things right. Hahaha!
written by Tom n Jerry, June 18, 2008 08:40:47
Congratulations to genuine Sabahans!At long last the *Land Below The Wind*is in for some political tsunami!Keep your fingers crossed!*Light at the end of the tunnel* smilies/cheesy.gif
written by wakeupcall, June 18, 2008 08:41:47
The BN top guns are coming to Sabah to negotiate with Musa to get a share if a 20% royalty can be effected. Those greedy guys are coming to rob again.
To SAPP, PBS and UPKO, leave BN now and wait until such time when the next PM is sworn in.... you all will be doing a good favor to the Sabahans.... whereby you can have better negotiating power with the new PM.
To LDP, Chong K Kiat & team... you should have left BN by now.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 18, 2008 08:48:00
A word of advice to our beloved Sabah politicians=Dompok,Pairin,Yong!You three are holding the king,queen & jack cards,play well with your IQ EQ,keep your poker face!Otherwise you will lose!Strike while the iron is hot!Leave a legacy behind!You only pass through this world once!Better to be remembered like Chung Thain Vun,Tunfuad & pPeter Mojuntin then Mahadir,Badawi & Daim!Hope you get what i mean! smilies/smiley.gif
written by TanWK, June 18, 2008 08:50:35
i thought the biggest gun already went there, but the situation didn't see to be improved.
written by benny loh, June 18, 2008 08:53:30
Defections starting with...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...winds.html
written by slash n burn, June 18, 2008 08:56:42
These UMNO Malaya crooks are loathed by the people of Sabah. As far as the local concern, in the old days their neck should have been cut off and fed it to stray dogs.
written by ENCIK NASIR, June 18, 2008 09:50:50
The Odds are stacked heavily against the 3 parties.

Remember the fall of Tun Fuad in 1967, Tun Mustapha in 1976, Dtk Haris in 1985/1986 and Dtk J Pairin in 1994.

All were booted out because they antagonized UMNO (mind you UMNO only not MCA,MIC etc.)

Now it is high time to turn the tide. Descendants of Tun Fuad, Descendants of Tun Mustapha, Dtk Haris and Clans, Dtk Pairin & Gang must unite and work together towards independence just like Tunku Abdul Rahman & gang asking for independance from British 51 years ago. In this boleh land we also can govern our beloved state of Sabah ourselves.

We Sabahan understood that the Malaysian Federation was built on promises by Tunku, Tun Fuad and Tun Mustapha 46 years ago and since then the promise was made empty. Tunku AR died a broken man, Tun Mustapha, also a heart-broken man, in his dying hours gave instruction that Mahathir should not be let in to watch him die and of course Tun Fuad died untimely.

Now, why should we, the next generation would still honour those independence promise if Malaya people have time and time again infringed our 20 point rights, suck our oil and resources (and only half-heartedly return 5 pence), failed our security (how many murder cases unsolved, is this a place for shooting mini series 'unsolved mystery'?), forsake education for our youngs (sekolah kandang kambing remember?), took away our lands in the name of so-called corporate investment Felcra lah, Felda lah. One of the Felda Sahabat is even known nowadays as 'little semenanjung' where malay from semenanjung came and enslave the local in their vast plantations and also where thousands of illegals are employed. Go n see for yourselves if you don't trust me.

It's time to go independence.

Hope I will not be charge with the Malayan sedition law for saying this. Freedom of expression right?
written by Birdbrain, June 18, 2008 09:53:34
Trust UMNO, you'll be dead!

All the bumiputeras in Sabah and Sarawak lend weight to the Malays to form 65% of the population. But did UMNO say thank you for supporting the bumiputera population to make it look as though they are the majority in Malaysia.

UMNO without the non-Malay bumiputeras support, will not be what it is today. And yet we have the old fool Mamakthir Mamakmad barking among protecting the Malay rights. UMNO is evil and continue to be if they can divide and rule.

We should all start to think as Malaysians first! No wonder Trengganu emphasized on Education with oil royalties. Sabah should do so in order to change their mindset that Sabahans don't need UMNO to stay alive.

UMNO destroys!
written by justice6, June 18, 2008 10:13:50
they are bringing in billions to buy them back...
written by Lostsoul12, June 18, 2008 10:36:56
Ha!ha!ha...... I thought they said Anwar/PR is only bullshit! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by 1st2stay, June 18, 2008 10:48:34
"Apart from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who flew into the state today, Khairy Jamaluddin (Umno youth vice-chief) has been in Kota Kinabalu for the past days, and Tengku Adnan (BN secretary-general) arrived in the state on Monday.

Also in the state are Rural and Regional Development Minister Tan Sri Muhammad Muhd Taib and Nor Mohamed (second finance minister)."

This delegation has a clear distribution of duties:
KJ for the mat rempit - threatening
Nor Mohamed for the money - suitcases full of brown envelopes
Badawi for the piety and feel-good - so he thinks
Muhammad Muhd Taib for the rural girls - any princess around?

written by budakindia, June 18, 2008 11:01:24
We want this to be big! Sabah people prove to us and not just some storm i a tea cup! smilies/angry.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 18, 2008 11:23:22
Reading that Yong cunning and manipulative mind, this is most probably what’s going though his grand schemes :
Step One: Assess Federal UMNO weakness. Ask for Ministerial posts. If unsuccessful go to step Two.
Step Two: Agree to meet with Opposition parties..none committal on joining..let everybody knows of meeting. Wait for Federal BN to make “counter offers” to assumed Opposition “offers”. If no suitable Federal UMNO counter offers forthcoming or counter offers not acceptable/sufficient, go to Step Three.
Step Three: Pass on rumors that Sabah BN component parties planning to leave BN due to serious issues not being tackle by Federal BN (i.e. like illegal migrants, etc.). Make it like Sabah BN have people’s best interest at heart of issues to garner support from ignorant Malaysians. Again wait for any or more counter offers from Opposition Parties and Federal UMNO. If still no acceptable/sufficient offers from both parties go to Step Four.
Step Four:Circulate rumor of a definite date that BN Sabah is going to leave BN, but not definitely joining Opposition parties, maybe as Independent Party. This leaves door wide open for both Federal UMNO and Opposition Parties to make acceptable/sufficient offers.
Step Five:Wait and see what Federal UMNO or Opposition has to or can offers.
written by jaysim888, June 18, 2008 11:44:30
Brothers & Sisters, we must take this opportunity to address the MOTEHR of all problems, CORRUPTION!.

Pressure the Gov't to setup a TRULY INDEPENDENT Anti Corruption Agency to check & eliminate corruption at all levels.

If we fail to check corruption, no matter how much money the country has, they will be siphoned off by the politician of the day. NO MATTER WHO THEY ARE!.
written by archie, June 18, 2008 12:18:00
One of the famous sayings of China's late paramount leader Deng is "It doesn't matter whether the cat is black or white as long as it catches the mice".

It's a good cat if it gives Sabah 20% share of oil revenue, resolves the illegals problem, and reduces the level of poverty in Sabah.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 18, 2008 12:32:21
archie wrote: "It doesn't matter whether the cat is black or white as long as it catches the mice".

Yes archie, it doesn't matter so long as the end objective is accomplished..i.e. catching the mice. But than what are we supposed to do if the cat, who is supposed to rid the house of vermin, is just too lazy to chase and catch mice? And all that cat does is to eat our food and sleep all day & night?
Obviously and as a matter of course, we should kick that stupid & lazy cat out! But then, there are many of us who would still love that stupid & lazy cat anywhere just because it's so cuddlely and cute.
written by archie, June 18, 2008 13:08:10
Rainbowseahorse, a cat which catches the mice can't be a stupid and lazy cat. I've said what the cat has to do in Sabah to be a good cat.
written by Rajen Bumiputra, June 18, 2008 14:17:14
BE ALERT SABAHANS. Otherwise UMNO dogs will cheat you again. 44 years tou have been cheated. Sabah, Sarawak, Malaya & Singapore form Malaysia. You didnt join but form Malaysia.

Anjing-Anjing UMNO & Taliban will beg you now because they are weak and you are strong. But once they are strong they will treat you like dogs even if you are strong. Maybe they will sent Jeffrey Kitingan to ISA, ISA, ISA, Kamunting again.
smilies/cool.gif smilies/cry.gif

Ask Taliban UMNO to settle Project IC or Project BABI MAHATHIR first. Otherwise you will loose your tanahair. smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif

Send the immigrants fram Sabah to Kubang Pasu, Kota Tinggi, Jerlun & also to JERAI. THEN ask JERAI to get out of Malaysia.
written by wshamsudin, June 18, 2008 21:21:07
Please show your true colour SABAHANS.If possible, take the millions first, then cabutlah..Thats free money, bro.Very HALAL,. ask KJ.THE CORRUPT AND THE CORRUPTORS..Beware of these people, SABAHANS.
written by Limang, June 18, 2008 21:35:48
My fellow Sabahans and leaders of Sabah! We have two choices - believe in these UMNO dogs who have conspired to suck our state dry and take away our land and women, or leave the irrelevent BN and BE OUR BOSS, AND CLAIM BACK OUR RIGHTS IN THE 20-POINTS AGREEMENT!

These Malayan dogs are here to sweet talk us again! They have not solved any of the problems! Why? They caused in the first place and want to take away our power and make us dependent on them forever! I say, let's send them to hell for cheating and raping us, our lands and our women. As McCarthy said: IT IS TIME TO RISE AGAINST OPPRESSION AND SUPPRESSION. IT IS TIME TO BE FREE AND RULE BY OURSELVES!

Our future generations will never forgive us if we fail them again this time, when it is ripe to do so.

Open your eyes - see what these corrupt leaders have done in West Malaysia and the wealth they have accumulated for themselves at the expense of the poor, YOU WILL NEVER EVER BELIEVE THEM AND THEIR SWEET PROMISES!

The West Malaysians have voted against them, and now they are trying to run to suck and rape your State as they cannot do it now in West.

So you have only 2 choices: leave BN and prosper or remain and be damned forever!
written by scwong, June 18, 2008 22:41:58
"And now the end is near"

Wonder they flew in by MAS or Air Asia. smilies/grin.gif
written by shissun, June 18, 2008 23:54:21
I salute Sabah people. That's right, bro! Kick their ass cukup cukup. Here in Semenanjung, we already done our best to kick them out, now, the ball is in sabah, so my Sabahan bro, what u waiting for? Give them your best kick and GOAL!!!!!!