Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Selangor Sultan threatens to call off football match if PAS protests against singers

Selangor Sultan threatens to call off football match if PAS protests against singers PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 08:08

BY WONG CHUN WAI, The Star

SHAH ALAM: An upset Sultan of Selangor has threatened to call off future Sultan of Selangor Cup matches between his state and Singapore if the protest by the state PAS Youth against two artistes performing for the event went ahead.

Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah described the protest over rock queen Ella and dangdut singer Mas Idayu as “hypocritical” and “trivial”.

He said there were more important issues that the party could focus on.

If this is going to be so difficult, we might as well hold this annual event in Singapore. I am sure they will be more than happy to play host,” he told The Star yesterday.

On Monday, Selangor PAS Youth submitted a memoradum to the Selangor Mentri Besar’s office to protest against plans to have Ella and Mas Idayu perform at the match on July 6.

State PAS Youth chief Sallehen Mokhyi said the movement felt that performances by the singers were inappropriate as it would be attended by many youngsters.

The youth wing threatened to stage a demonstration at the Shah Alam Stadium if Ella and Mas Idayu were allowed to performed.

Sallehen’s call came on the heels of a statement by national PAS Youth vice-chief Azman Shapawi that the party wanted all the Pakatan Rakyat states to implement Syariah laws.

The Sultan said yesterday Ella and Mas Idayu were chosen because they were good entertainers and that the organisers felt that they would be able to entertain the people before the match began.

The other singer is David Arumugam of Alleycats.

The organising committee even planned for the performance by the singers to end before the maghrib prayers. They are performers suitable for the family and I don’t know what the fuss is all about,” he said.

The Tuanku said Selangor did not comprise of “just PAS and Muslims,” adding that the state had many political parties and people of other races and faith.

He said Pakatan Rakyat was a multi-racial coalition and the sensitivities of other races must be taken into account.

The idea of holding the performance is to create goodwill and bring the people together before the match. Sports and music bring people together,” he said.

He added this was the seventh edition of the Cup and was organised to enhance friendly ties with Singapore through football, adding that the history of Selangor and Singapore’s friendly rivalry went back to before the Second World War.

The Sultan also clarified that the state government and its subsidiary Kumpulan Darul Ehsan Bhd were not the sponsors of the match.

He said no government funds were used for the organisation of the match and so the issue of public funds for the performance and football match did not arise as it was all done through sponsorship.

He said organising chairman Datuk Karim Munisar, who is Kumpulan Darul Ehsan Bhd president, was appointed by him to run the event annually because of Karim’s love for football and volunteerism.

Comments (54)Add Comment
written by cklife, June 18, 2008 08:14:56
PAS can be numskulls sometimes.
What the heck is wrong with people these days?
What's wrong with Ella and Mas Idayu?

PAS, you guys wanna turn this country into Taliban state?
written by Zym Zym, June 18, 2008 08:18:52
Wake up you young turks! Face the real world coz it doesn't revolve around you. We would be very happy if could spend your time thinking of how to create a more conducive environment for all races than just one particular one. The petrol hike has caused many of us squeezing our pocket just to make the ends meet. These are some of the issues that we, RAKYAT who voted PAS candidates, want you to tackle and not wasting your time on some celebrities who are so insignificant! Wake up!
written by Jivathma, June 18, 2008 08:22:29
Dear Pas Youth, if people want to get morally corrupt, there are many many other ways this would happen..internet porn, bla bla. You guys better face up to reality. Inject some common sense into your brains. Well said dear Sultan.
written by wakeupcall, June 18, 2008 08:22:57
Yes... the Sultan has spoken his mind. Do not politicise a sports or cultural or an entertainment event. The event is for all races.
The Pas youths are looking for publicity stunts and the Sultan must stop them.
written by Tsunami08, June 18, 2008 08:26:42
Spot on, Your Majesty! There are so many more important issues facing the PAS, PR and the country in general. And here we have these PAS Nazis imposing their values on other people. Hey, if you don't like the artists, then please stay away from their concerts, but leave others to enjoy theirs.

The fascist in PAS are once again scaring their non-Muslim Malaysians back into BN's fold - before PR have a chance to even govern the country. It's up to PAS to rein these extremists in or be ready to be thrown out at PRU13!
written by Rhan, June 18, 2008 08:30:17
No need to call off match and the two artist performence. Let the hypocritical Pas Muslim open up their brain and eyes to see how many rakyat enjoy the Malay great entertainer.

written by Edward C, June 18, 2008 08:30:54
Following the heels of the youth Chief's call, these brainless young turks probably thinks they are getting into the good books of their boss. Unfortunately, I cant even remember their names to begin with.

My dear fellows, PAS wild horses, please wake up to the real world. PLEASE, do not exist only in your dream world. The world has evolved since you last woke up. The people who voted you in also have evolved, so you better too. You could be voted out just as easily as voted in an the same people will do it.

Being buddies buddies with your chief is not going to go far because actions speaks louder than words. You better have something constructive and politicize that constructive idea. Please dont waste people's time like you have wasted mine for writing this comment to you and try to tell you to concentrate on issues rather than political mileage.
written by seawolf, June 18, 2008 08:35:21
"Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah described the protest over rock queen Ella and dangdut singer Mas Idayu as “hypocritical” and “trivial”."

Budak PAS, betul kata sultan tu. Tak payah la nak hipokrit sgt. Mcm la Mas Idayu dan Ella selama ni tak pernah keluar dalam TV pun. Diorang gelek dalam TV sama la gelek secara live. Kat konsert live korang protest tapi dalam TV entah entah korang tengok jugak.

Banyak lagi benda benda lain yang korang boleh perjuangkan. Jgn ingat Selangor di bawah pimpinan PR korang boleh buat sesuka hati. DYMM dah bagi green light kat korang untuk focus kan dgn masalah lain. Byk lagi masalah kemiskinan, korupsi, masalah sosial yang boleh korang buat. Bukannya nak buat protes solat hajat kat luar stadium.

BN pasti tergelak besar tengok perangai korang yang tak abis abis nak fokus dgn benda benda bodoh mcm ni. Think big lah!
written by RumahPanjai, June 18, 2008 08:44:57
If you don't like to see the entertainers performing then stay at home. Turn your TV off. Hypocrites. What right have they to impose their "holier than thou" dogmatism on others. They are but empty cans make the nost noise and nothing constructive.
written by Daryl, June 18, 2008 08:47:14
Thank you Sultan for putting in some common sense to PAS Youth. This reminded me of their song "Sampaikan Salam". I will dedicate this song to the Sabah's parties that leave BN if that happen today. If not we will know where your political stand is which is money. And if that is the case it is better for us to know now than later.

God Bless our royalties.
written by MalaysianUnited, June 18, 2008 08:50:56
Ini akibatnya bila dah kemaruk nak berpolitik.

Isu yang lebih besar yang patut difikirkan oleh Dewan Pemuda PAS ialah melicinkan dan memperkemaskan lagi Badar yang berperanan menangani masalah gejala sosial dikalangan rakyat negeri Selangor.

written by Lostsoul12, June 18, 2008 09:04:02
To PAS youth, please understand the differences between culture and religion. Don't ask Malaysian to wear as Arab as what they wear is their culture and due to the wheather and enviromen. So is what we are wearing here!
written by FFT, June 18, 2008 09:26:46
PAS Youth's behavior is a good example of why inbreeding is usually frowned upon.

Good for the Sultan and the Royal House of Selangor. It's about time PAS got called out on their bullshit.

written by khongja, June 18, 2008 09:29:40
This young turkeys of Pas should realised you just cannot simply impose your views on others be it muslims and not muslims alike!
It was good for our Royal Highness to whack them properly to threaten a historical event.Time those big turkeys in Pas keep those chicks on line.
written by Birdbrain, June 18, 2008 09:32:05
Well well PAS! Look what you have gotten yourself into now!

The recent March 8 victory has make your head swollen and treating as your ticket to impose conditions on Selangorians. Do it a bit further, you'll get UMNO taking the opportunity to slaughter you and Pakatan.

I thought UMNO is arrogant and stupid but I don't expect you to follow suit.

Islam is a beautiful religion soon to be destroyed by PAS.............if you continue to have it your way. Islam Hadhari doesn't look too bad compared to your narrow mindedness way of preaching the religion.

Cuckoo! My vote goes to PAS opposition next election!
written by Zapper, June 18, 2008 09:41:00
These PAS youth deserves everything that is coming from the Sultan. I am happy to say that the Sultan through his wisdom has shown the way the state should be governed in a diverse culturally environment.

PAS should avoid issuing such statements that will create suspicion among non-muslim. They should look at the big picture and if they cannot do that, just resign and let someone do it.
written by rockli, June 18, 2008 09:53:54
Now what.
PAS Youth against singers - never ending against this against that, so trivial matters.
PAS Youth leaders should get a life and not protest in so trivial matters.
Isn't it enough that they control Kelantan now Selangor maybe they should get out PR too.
Dress code do not cause crimes like rape and molest but the inherent evil in a person does - Please get the point - PAS Youth leaders!
written by gx27, June 18, 2008 10:18:15
you deserved it, PAS.
do not try to be extremists or we will ship you out!!!
written by freedom to speak, June 18, 2008 10:19:37
I'm sure the Sultan of Selangor reads this blog.
I convey my respect to him for putting these fanatics in their places.
As the head and protector of the islam in the state,
you are rightfully the person who makes the decisions.
Please teach these ill-informed junior fanatics (wanted to say, breast sucking babies) a lesson.
They are hot heads with no clear distinction of what Islam is.
I think a tongue-lashing from you good self is greatly needed.
written by capcomangel, June 18, 2008 10:20:52
u see..pas is above everyone..think that they so smart,accountable,no corruption and so clean for everything.all they view is everyone view..how arragont was this..pas is eye on the highest seat and act like guru in pr.

i dont think thats good for everyone.that pas ur view.no us.if u wan create some law that not allow other person do so just because for make sure protect the holly.thats a big mistaken..example everyone holly.the place will automatic holly.if u create so law to forced everyone do holly.even 100 year also will have problem.why there were still have alot youngster upload they nude or mat rempit 3gp video over the web.are the problem because TECHNOLOGIES make them do so? NO! that is the problem u youngster and the parent them self.where is the moral? so dont fault about technologies like other muslim country do until illegal the camera phoneat they country.

while they pas haram extertaiment thing.why dont they also talk about india movie over tv? dress less isnt it? singing and kissing over tv? all i wan to so say is "How big snake u are".

anyway PKR doing good job then u.more medium at outside because they know multiracial and could not make law to fored citizen obey u.is i hear they was still have people talk about bumi them self say that non-bumi get more benifit.awww..thats is a big looser jerk.

yeah support Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah and Sultan Azlan Shah say mosque is a holly place and not allow politician within...i read some pas blog.mb kelantan say mosque is the best place for politic.. smilies/angry.gif
written by Ann Meng Sim, June 18, 2008 10:40:54
Why does PAS always have come up with something stupid every now and then?

If you think the singers are bad, then you stay away lah. Why do you want to protest and cause havoc? Is this what your religion teaches you to do? I don't think so.

You want to protest? Then protest against the price increase, the unsolved crime cases, the missing children that till today are not found and now nobody even cares anymore....

So many important issues to look into but noooooooooooo, you must protest against the 2 singers. For heaven's sake you people, wake up and see the real world!!

written by mountainking, June 18, 2008 10:45:21
PAS, please live up to your manifesto during election and if you continue to push islamic state and trying to exert influence in all the PR states, we will send you back to where you belong when it comes next election.
written by mountainking, June 18, 2008 10:47:24
between a corrupted and a fanatic govt, i rather choose a corrupted. simple, you can set-up agency to weed out corruption but fanatics will turn the whole country into a taliban state and it is even harder to turn it around. hope PAS is not swollen headed to think that ppl elected PAS is bcos we want to be like kelantan, we simply just one a clean, efficient and forward looking govt and not one that put us back 20 years behind.
written by EmEmkay, June 18, 2008 11:05:34
Congratulations, to his royal highness the Sultan of Selangor. Thank you Tuanku for speaking up.
written by SammyC, June 18, 2008 11:54:30
pas youth is implying that Ella and Mas Idayu are bad muslims and sinners. They are implying that the muslim crowd who watches the performance are sinning, that the crowd has no right to watch the sinful corrupt performance, that the selangor govt which sanctions the performance are all sinners, that the sultan(the head of Islam)are also sinning. Pas Youth has just disgraced the Party. Haji Hadi and the top party leadership must take steps to remove such disgraceful leaders from ever making fools of the party. If they want to be fundamental muslims, pls leave the party and be a missionary. If you want to be in politics, they must think for the rakyat.
Politics is not a platform to defend ideology. In doing so, it ridicules the religion in the eyes of muslims and non muslims
written by kl_wong, June 18, 2008 12:08:19
Daulat Tuanku!

Please check for us if the PAS Youth Chief is been bought over by BN to create problems to PR.

As also the Sultans is the state Islam leader, all political parties should not talk about religion except the ROYAL HIGHNESS.
written by Syarif Hidayatullah, June 18, 2008 12:08:28
I AGREE with PAS on asking for the BANNING of Ella and Mas Idayu...

Because rather I would have Mariah Carey and Gwen Stefani to perform at the Shah Alam Stadium! smilies/grin.gif
written by peace lover, June 18, 2008 12:23:13
Oops.. sorry, left out a word. Should be:-

"Good! Let the YAM Sultan take CARE of those dimwits. Rather use my time doing some worthwhile reading."
written by myvoice, June 18, 2008 12:25:02
PAS has probably forget that Malaysia is a multi racial country. Kalau PAS tak nak dangdut, biarlah PAS jangan campur, buat apa nak jaga kain orang lain? janganlah ter extreme sangat, tak kan PAS nak balik ke zaman yang tidak bertammadun.
written by RFernandez, June 18, 2008 12:29:29
This is exactly the reason why non-Muslims hesitate to support PAS and will never get any support in the next election if they pursue their hidden agenda. Do not mix religion with politics certainly not in a multi religion country.

PAS if you continue doing this then you are no better than UMNO which mixes race with politics too. If this was allowed to go on the next thing we will see are separate check out lines at the supermarket. PAS wake up la time to think progressively and stop being a Taliban.
written by LTn, June 18, 2008 13:05:03
TO THE PAS YOUTH OR WHATEVER SHIT, DONT BE LIKE THE BN UMNO MALAY MUSLIM ASS HOLE... FIND SOMETHING THAT BENEFIT THE PUBLIC TO DO LARRR ITS TIME TO OPEN UP UR HEART N MIND TO FACE THE RAKYAT AND PROCEED THE NEW GOVERMENT.

WHY YOU PAS YOUTH GO AND PROTEST 24/7 TO THE BN UMNO THAT BECOS THEY HIKE UP THE FUEL IT ACTUALY EFFECT AND FORCE THEM TO EARN UN HEALTHY INCOME TO SUSUTAIN THIER DAILY COST OF LIVING...

AGAIN I SAY TO YOU DONT LET PPL SAY KAMU MELAYU BODOH!!... GO AND DO BETTER THINGS LARR RATHER THEN HARAM2 & HALAL2 AT THE END OF THE DAY YOU GUYS ARE THE MOST COMMITED CRIMES AND SINS..

PLEASE...USE YOUR BRAIN NOT YOUR ASS.
written by sharkpitt, June 18, 2008 13:16:13
pergila protes benda lain!aiyaa..... smilies/tongue.gif
written by apa jadi, June 18, 2008 13:55:19
Aiyaaaa.....another zealot chasing after a red herring. What's wrong with the singers?

See, despite me voted for PAS all the time in my constituency, I will never want a PAS lead government.

Get your arse moving with productive moves, than to have your arse talking unproductive things, zealots!

Good one your Royal Highness.
written by Baronshah, June 18, 2008 14:13:18
HRH The Sultan said “The idea of holding the performance is to create goodwill and bring the people together before the match. Sports and music bring people together,”

Tuanku a ruler with vision.

Daulat Tuanku

regards
GOD bless all
written by hardworking_taxpayer, June 18, 2008 14:56:44
Now you see. Don't blame the non-muslims for being paranoid of ISLAM.
written by Areyaar, June 18, 2008 15:07:53
BRAVO! BRAVO! BRAVO!

His Majesty, the right royal Sultan of Selangor is a Sultan unafraid; a man with the absolute courage of his convictions to speak up; a Sultan who, as the religious head of his state, is a beacon of courage and hope in the enveloping darkness of a primitive, regressive, frightening mentality that threatens to disrupt peace and harmony.

Your Highness, it is a privilege for us to have you in our times.

Thank you your Highness for yet again showing your people that you are there for the good of the people. It is very heartening to note that your Highness will not stand by while certain parties try to exercise control.

“hypocritical” and “trivial” is the very nature of the primitives. They seek to take away everything they can and put it all under their control. Today they threaten to demonstrate at the stadium. It is almost scary to think of what they might threaten tomorrow. It seems like that is what they most live for: to threaten; almost like they enjoy hurling threats around.

written by peace, June 18, 2008 15:42:06
Orang PAS, kamu tahu ke RUKUN NEGARA kita? KESETIAAN KEPADA RAJA DAN NEGARA? Jangan buat kecoh lagi. GROW UP!
written by Leon, June 18, 2008 15:52:45
Daulat Tuanku, our beloved Sultan!
written by Leon, June 18, 2008 15:54:18
Down with munafiqins! These people are the very reason why Muslims are being made the enemy all around the world.
written by Areyaar, June 18, 2008 16:29:38
Come to think of it, it would be such a blow to the people of Selangor, and all football fans in the country, if the match was held in Singapore because many of them would not be able to watch it live in the stadium. So why allow these PAS creeps to deprive them of something that is so close to their hearts? Why?

So why not just go ahead and hold the match in the Shah Alam Stadium and treat those PAS creeps - if they do still try to demonstrate - the same way other demonstrators have been treated, with water cannons and the riot police. These creeps need to be put in their place and taught some manners. How dare they insult the Sultan of Selangor.
written by louisL, June 18, 2008 16:57:10
Sybas, Tuanku!
It is about time that someone of your stature as the Islamic chief of Selangor DE clip the wings of these turkeys trying to act like eagles.
It would be in order for the senior PAS leadership to remind their turkeys that they won some seats in Selangor because non-Muslims were prepared to give them a chance.
Sorry, PAS, there will never be a next time around in GE13 if your bunch of turkeys continue to sprout Taliban feathers and strut around imposing their twisted ideology on non-Muslims under the guise of your brand of intolerant Islam.
Daulat Tuanku!
written by shangrilapeace, June 18, 2008 18:03:19
Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah is the people's Sultan who belongs to this era. I for one, have stop going to public celebrations organised by the government 10 years ago. The same one-sided boring performanance are as expected & it is sad to see our standard of organising an event a poor "E".
Whenever I see another country celebrating, I can't help admiring.

By allowing Ella and Mas Idayu to perform, it's great.
If Selangor PAS youth wing thinks Ella and Mas were inappropriate, wait until they find out the websites our youngsters are exposed to on the internet.
This is comparing a Bell telephone to a PDA nowadays.

Thank you very much to Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah for your kind gesture.
written by ekt tan, June 18, 2008 18:19:02
PAS youth is slowy turning the clock back to bring the country back to the dark ages. Soon there will be no cars, television, radio,etc. They will tell the rakyat that it is okay to rape their women and even kill them because the men have every right to mistreat their women in any way they like. Barbaric fools. When the PAS youths are married they must abstain from having sex with their wife because women is considered as dirty and sex is haram. I ask those PAS youths not to travel in cars and to grow their own food. If they cannot do that then they are not true to the PAS philosophy. Perhaps they should join the Taliban, then the rakyat have a valid reason to put them away for good under the ISA.
written by panca, June 18, 2008 18:23:21
written by peace, June 18, 2008 | 15:42:06
Orang PAS, kamu tahu ke RUKUN NEGARA kita? KESETIAAN KEPADA RAJA DAN NEGARA? Jangan buat kecoh lagi. GROW UP!

Ella, Mas Idayu and their fans will have their right to protest too if Pas Youth Leaders come to the goodwill concert with their kecoh intention!? It read... Banned at Ella and Mas Idayu Goodwill Concert
written by Areyaar, June 18, 2008 19:19:41
written by InEffective, June 18, 2008 | 11:57:31
"Sorry - have to defend their rights-to-protest.
(even if i belief that they are destroying their own credibility and appeal) "

True, they have the right to protest. PROVIDED, PROVIDED, that it is done in a respectful, dignified manner. The way they are going about it, by threatening, THEY EXTENDED AN OPEN THREAT, to demonstrate, looks like they are openly insulting the Sultan. Would that not be considered seditious by some?

"But i must comment, the nation has some serious wrongs that need to be addressed - i think that is PAS wants to make or recommend changes, they will have to justify and sell their case to the rakyat. "

It does not seem as if PAS Youth, are interested in selling their point of view to the rakyat. They look and sound as if they want to just shove their narrow-minded, oppressive, repressive mentality down the throats of all Malaysians. Enough already. They keep on coming up with more and more outrageous demands, as if the country belongs to them.
written by Areyaar, June 18, 2008 19:23:28
Have you read some of more ludicrous comments by obvious PAS supporters on another page? Their oppressive, repressive and highly confused mentality comes across like a thunderbolt. Strangely they have chosen to keep quiet on this page. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
written by taxi90, June 18, 2008 20:55:46
WTF? Threatening to protest/boycott in a state run by an ally party! PAS doesn't understand any give/take concept or how to behave as a dignified guest. This is tantamount to spitting at the host. How is PKR going to respond to this? Really too much. And to threaten to go against a match hosted by their sultan -well, i may expect this from DAP, but from PAS diehards this is called 'derhaka' in the purest form. Unbelievable. Better commit hara kiri and die.
This is PAS doing what they do best - syok sendiri. Fortunately, the sultan is there to pour cold water on them and sober them up. What next - are they going to say they are just rescuing the sultan from himself?

Wakeup , wake up!!!! People voted you hoping for more integrity/ transparency/ justice, not more religious posing!
written by mikewang, June 18, 2008 21:56:23
Daulat Tuanku !
written by sufc, June 18, 2008 22:36:59
i beg to differ. i have no problems with you my dear non-muslim friends. but i m disgraced with the statement by the selangor sultan!! see not long ago, how sultan perak and sultan terengganu handled the matter? i m sure we still remember it.
written by scwong, June 18, 2008 23:07:16
Yah stupid. Why not propose to PR government to ban internet in all the 5 states. A lot of nude photo can be seen in the net. Ban Astro also as some channel show singing program with singer dress loosely also.

More this type of comment coming from your party. Believe me, dont be surprise the Rakyat will team up and BAN you all.