MAS takes away AirAsia chief's airfare discount privilege PDF Print
Tuesday, 17 June 2008 07:42

(The Straits Times) - MALAYSIAN national carrier MAS has revoked a little-known privilege that budget carrier AirAsia boss Tony Fernandes had been enjoying: discounts of up to 75 per cent when flying on its bitter business rival.

ANGER: Mr Fernandes had allegedly angered MAS staff with his comments.

According to a May 28 letter written by MAS chief executive Idris Jala to Mr Fernandes, the AirAsia CEO had been enjoying such steep discounts over the past two years.

In the letter, Mr Idris informed Mr Fernandes that his travel privileges had been withdrawn beginning this month.

The reason for the termination, said Mr Idris, was the many salvos Mr Fernandes has been firing at the national carrier which had angered its staff members, according to Malaysiakini.

'The sense of unhappiness among our staff is growing and the pressure from the unions is mounting by the day,' wrote Mr Idris.

He told Bernama: 'We have provided the travel privilege out of goodwill since 2006 in response to Tony's request...although AirAsia does not have an interline agreement with Malaysia Airlines.'

According to industry practice, only airlines with interlining agreement will consider granting such travel privileges for airline employees.

But Mr Fernandes told Bernama that such discounts were actually 'standard practice', similar to those given to him by airlines such as Cathay Pacific, Virgin, Qantas and others.

Meanwhile, Mr Fernandes said surging fuel prices will force carriers worldwide to merge or face bankruptcy, reported AFP.

'We are seeing a consolidation in the aviation industry... A lot of people are not going to survive this (fuel hike) including Asian budget carriers,' he told reporters yesterday on the sidelines of the WEF forum.

He said AirAsia had been approached by other airlines about tie-ups and operating deals, but did not elaborate. He also insisted it would stick to its plan to expand routes, increase flight frequency and accelerate the delivery of the remainder of its 175 new Airbus A320 aircraft.

written by Ali Cordoba, June 17, 2008 08:12:10
oil war iran takes billions from Europe
http://www.worldfutures.info/News/Latest/Iran-withdraws-$75-billion-from-Europe.html
written by Sean E, June 17, 2008 08:48:32
Everybody fly cattle class on Air Asia.

Tony Fernandez fly First/Business class on MAS at up to 75% dsicount.

Malaysia Boleh.

Long live Bolehland.
written by hemlock, June 17, 2008 08:56:14
I am not an expert on such 'discounting' practices. However, if Tony Fernandes has indeed been enjoying such steep discounts on MAS fares, then he should know better than to be so ungracious in his comments about MAS. There is such a thing called propriety.
written by budakindia, June 17, 2008 09:39:39
Why fly MAS? Use other airlines lar! MAS isn't the one and only airline in the world! Punish them for their arrogance! Just like Proton! smilies/angry.gif
written by ENCIK NASIR, June 17, 2008 10:07:34
One going negative, the other going positive..

Now we could really tell the difference.....

Or is it that this article just plain pro-fernandez?
written by krepot, June 17, 2008 10:13:13
discounts were actually 'standard practice', similar to those given to him by airlines

I believe this is normally given to senior executives of airlines, who have to travel extensively and this benefit allows them to hitch on 'next flight available'. MAS has every right to take this benefit away, but it seems that MAS is being a sour grape and it is growing obvious, it is unable to compete in 'jungle out there'. The fittest survive. War of words is part of business and marketing - this is basic principals of marketing. Jala should pay attention to marketing; his goons are not very good at it.

btw. I am no fan of Tony, since he started kissing Khairy and Kali's asses!
written by confuseus, June 17, 2008 10:21:23
Alamak, IJ.
Ini bukan caranya untuk selesaikan masaalah !!!
Is this what you learnt in Shell on how to manage conlict ??

More juice here...
Jannar,
Let's all take a step back and breathe... There is a very strong reason why the sentiments are such on the forum, or as u mentioned, among the old timers at MAS. You are new with the company I assume and thus it is normal for you to get swept up by the emotional furore and ideals you might have formed in your head prior to joining this airline.

I have been observing MAS ever since I could remember. I have also recalled the low and high points in the airline's history and sad to say, the low points tend to tip the scales. I might have only recently joined MW but I have been working in the aviation industry for a while now, having the privilege to observe the developments over the years and to see how much MAS has changed (or not).

The government has for far too long buffered MH from any real damage and thus the workers tend to be a little malas over time. Threats after threats of shut down and such never really came to fruition. MAS has time and time again cried foul leading to protectionistic measures being taken at KUL to protect the "flag carrier". How is one supposed to thrive under such environment? Spare the rod, spoil the the child.

Yes the cabin crew is multi-awarded. But what next?

The BTP has so far included pockets of profits from different parts of the airline. I mean... hooray, I applaud for turning these departments around. But in the grand scheme of things, there is a serious need to indoctrinate the mindsets of the grassroot levels in MAS. The "malas " mentality has to be thrown out of the door and it is really a case of shape up or ship out. Maybe I might not fully understand the psyche that drives MAS but I have worked very closely with MAS Kargo and if they are anything to go by, CHRIST I am surprised the airline is still standing........

IJ's tenure will end this Nov. While his reign at the airline had "profits" as the main objective, which he had achieved, one starts to wonder what was the cost? As far as IJ is concerned, he had already achieved his goal. As for the next guard taking over, they have an uphill task of restoring a brand that has been eroded and tattered. A brand getting so diluted it also means starting from the scratch to garner your support from the business and corporate community that really pays top dollar to fly you whether PCL, JCL or YCL.

Now that MAS has admitted they cannot compete with the biggies (SQ, TG, EK) anymore, what does this mean for the corporate accounts? Would companies want to be associated with an airline that is leisure oriented? What would this mean for their reputation?

So how? I know you might feel we are raining on your parade. You might feel shitty about it for us shattering your notions. But this is the reality of business. To say that MAS should collapse and start from ground zero might be a little harsh, but it could be an idea worth entertaining because the airline has to be run by a private entity, not by a government body. It should be a business, not a white elephant that sucks the taxpayers dry. It should be a company that welcomes competition, not one that cries foul everytime when faced with a challenge like a spoilt brat.

They have tried flying the wings of gold, and also attempted to go beyond expectations. Now let's see what will malaysian hospitality do to save the airline from the doldrums.

Source:
http://forum.flydamnit.com/index.php?topic=1424.msg36812
written by Dominic, June 17, 2008 11:33:28
For commerical airline, it is a common practise to allow discount among airline staff to travel on each other flight. These discount is given to all level of staff,whether you are an excutive or office boy. The quantum of discount depend on your number of years working as a staff. Again, not every airline are a party to this understanding unless they are IATA ( International Airline Travel Association) members or have mutual agreement. In the case of AirAsia, I dont think MAS staff have any discount since it is a budget airline with cheap air fare !
written by Arubin, June 17, 2008 13:05:55
Wow, the number of Tony supporters who posted comments...

Use your heads lar, or go do some research first. AirAsia's low fares aren't the result of Tony's entrepreneurial skills. Its all because of political patronage.

Don't thank Tony for your cheap vacation. Thank the rakyat who have effectively subsidized your ticket.
written by sttb08, June 17, 2008 19:34:51
Dear Arubin,
In support of your statement, whatever happened to AirAsia's outstanding debt of over RM100m to MAHB? Has this been settled in full or as per the last reports, still in "talks". Probably the political machinery will just tell MAHB to write these off?

So is AirAsia still cheap then?
written by AJM, June 17, 2008 20:50:22
Aiyahhh, this Fernandez fella is just another BN-linked businessman living on political patronage. And you know what BN patronage businessman do right?

Yeh, they are the ones providing the money to oil BN's campaign machine, from protester beating mat rempits to giving RM100 ang pows to voters.

ps: and oh yeah, that psycho nauseating propaganda "unity" song, yuck.
written by Sabahfan, June 17, 2008 21:29:12
You know guys, i rarely travel by air since air asia was introduced....

but i watch all my poor relatives who has to suffer air asias flight delays almost every hour....

and by the way, why did the BODOWI govt build LCCT when KLIA is underused?

for the benefit of SIL, tony just a stooge..

and btw.... KLIA is mahatirs business, LCCT bodowi business, no wonder they are at war.... harrrr harrr harrr harrrararrrrrrr
written by laksa maner, June 17, 2008 22:13:09
why TF fly by MAS where you can get free flight with AirAsia? ?????