Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian PM warns of 'disaster' unless inflation tackled

Malaysian PM warns of 'disaster' unless inflation tackled PDF Print
Monday, 16 June 2008 17:02

(AFP) - - Malaysia premier Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has warned of a "real disaster" unless bold steps are taken to tackle the global inflation crisis.

Abdullah told the World Economic Forum on East Asia in an opening address late Sunday that the prospect of a global recession loomed as the prices of food and fuel spiral upwards.

"About 100 million or more people have descended into poverty worldwide while low and middle-income groups everywhere are feeling the strain of increased food prices on their budget," he said.

"Mass protests over food have erupted in several countries and more instability awaits those societies which fail to alleviate their problems."

"It seems that we have yet to awaken to the enormity of the problem and its potential for creating a real disaster," he said, adding that measures taken by Asian countries have had only a limited effect.

Abdullah urged developed nations to think again on issues like much-criticised farm subsidies, as well as a shift towards biofuel, which is soaking up vast amounts of grain production.

He also criticised Western governments for allowing speculators to drive up the price of oil.

"If our own financial institutions were involved, I have no doubt that we would have been subject to vociferous criticism," he said.

The World Economic Forum has been dominated by the inflation crisis, with delegates including Indonesian Trade Minister Mari Pangestu saying Monday that governments faced tough decisions, particularly if elections approached.

"If you ask the question, what is the appropriate response from governments, the ideal answer is that it should be an integrated and comprehensive approach. Easier said than done because of political cycles," she said.

"It puts governments in very difficult situations," she said, adding that it was important to resist the temptation to control prices and increase protectionism.

"I think it's very important not to panic ... because part of the price increases are government policy-related," she said.

"So it's very important to get the policies right, nationally and internationally."

"Otherwise, while prices will adjust, it will take longer than what is needed, and the cost is very high, both politically and for the poor of the world," she said.

Comments (58)Add Comment
written by binarytan, June 16, 2008 17:06:30
Correct inflation will be a disaster to our country economy. But in contrary, are you able to handle under your poor management??? It is better for you to pass the complete baton to the right guy who is DSAI or LGE or Nik Aziz or Karpal, not the killer. PR knows the way to handle this issue, most importantly DON'T CORRUPT!
written by simply_say, June 16, 2008 17:11:13
"Inflation is one form of taxation that can be imposed without legislation." - Milton Friedman 1912-, American Economist

Easily insert quotes and jokes into your writing at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 16, 2008 17:11:27
lol, he is fast................ after 5 years this is the stupidest statement yet.

written by ultra, June 16, 2008 17:12:08
Don't just say disaster will come la.. There's always something looming below the horizon. Say something concrete, like stop swap deals on essential items. Trading is ok. Using essential items like oil, grain, wheat, rice and such for hedging purposes against movement of currencies must stop. Say something concrete, dum dum!
written by Flex65, June 16, 2008 17:12:38
Know how to talk only but don't know what to do. Any use? Better shut up or better sleep. Hand over to someone who can handle the situation.
written by slash n burn, June 16, 2008 17:12:43
Dummy...dont talk about the 100 million people if you can't settle your doorstep problems first. You running the country's economy like cheap brothel!
written by mikefonz, June 16, 2008 17:14:12
This old fool can't even take care of himself and our country and yet wanna act in the world forum.
written by ibabonma, June 16, 2008 17:22:06
Dollah, don’t try to impress the world of your concern over the impending economic disaster that may hit the world globally while the senior officers at your own PM Department are so concerned of the economic disaster coming our way and will hit Malaysia in no time, all because of you, BODOH-wi.
written by expat70, June 16, 2008 17:23:50
Learn something from Singapore. In good times the government leaves the private sector to power the economy, therefore saving billions also earning billions in the process. I bad times, the government comes out with capital expenditure spending. A clear move to cushion any potential hard landing of the economy.

Therefore it follows that if you notice that the government is coming up with huge capital spending, economic slowdown is looming over the horizon.
written by prsupporter, June 16, 2008 17:29:49
Malaysia is really a blessed country with natural resources. It surely has plenty of financial reserves to overcome any difficulty if not because of corruption in BN.

Wastages of rakyat money all these years on useless projects which only benefited the BN crony.

How can the country survive if BN government keep on ruling like this?????
written by budakindia, June 16, 2008 17:35:51
Your indecisiveness and flip-flop has caused us billions! You better step down!
written by ellyna, June 16, 2008 17:39:51
adoiiii....masalah negara sendiripun tak tahu nak handle, inikan world crisis. Trying to sound pretty intelligent but making a complete idiot of himself....what's new....I think he should go back to sleep....
written by Bourgore, June 16, 2008 17:52:04
In order 2 overcome d problem of rising food prices our goverment should look into how 2 make full use of our wasted fertile land In China every avaiable cultivated land r put into full use that why they can feed huge population n export their produce It is meaningless 2 make statement without any concrete effort 2 tackle d problem TALK IS CHEAP
written by clarity, June 16, 2008 18:07:19
No need to go all the way to declare that we are heading for economic disaster, we all know it here already as long as you or your deputy is in charge. Why don't you give others a chance to see if they can save the country? If you love your country that should be the right thing to do. Which is more important, your political party or your country?
written by Jan, June 16, 2008 18:07:40
How can the Malaysian PM have the moral authority to warn on the dangers of inflation when he himself raise the price of fuel in Malaysia by a huge amount. It just doesn't make sense.
written by DagoRed94, June 16, 2008 18:08:25
This just goes to show the level of leaders that we have in Malaysia. It is bad enough when we are fed this BS daily at home, now we have them 'Talking Kok' on the world stage. They can't even see that we are paddling up shit creek without an oar, yet they have audacity to tell the world what to do. smilies/sad.gif
written by DagoRed94, June 16, 2008 18:14:16
Perhaps, Malaysia can help ease the world fuel crisis by converting all the crap that BN politicians are spewing into Bio-fuel!
written by MasterYoda, June 16, 2008 18:38:22
Hoi Badutwi,

First, please make a shinning example of our country before you make such statements.

Next, it is too my wonder and amazement, how Singapore with a petrol price more costly than Malaysia, can keep the Cost of living low?

Heck, they can even have the Great Singapore Sale and advertise it here! In other words, their prices can be lower than ours.... even after conversion!

Badawi,
You inherited a mismanaged economy and toothles government:
1) you predesesor raped the coutry but you did not heal her... infact you sodomized Malaysia furhter with you jackass SIL

2) you furhter mismanaged the country and now make the Rakyat pay for the mess created. We are not in any ecnomic crisis but you just made one up!

3) as long as you and the umbrella your lead, play politics according to the racial divide... Malaysia will never enjoy the economic success and tru political stability....

Malaysia should be an ASIAN GIANT.... but we a re long over due because of politicion of your kind!!@#$%@$^#$&%*......
written by miwaki, June 16, 2008 19:10:58
Don't tell us the problems,just provide solutions.If you can't solve our problems due to your incompetency then step aside.We know who can help us to solve this problem which is created by your incompetent party.
written by 1st2stay, June 16, 2008 19:11:18
'disaster'. Hmm. I know who the disaster is. Actually, don't we all know?
Badawi in CNN, after March 8th: which message?
Badawi some weeks later: we got he message, thank you all!
Badawi: I will not resign
Badawi: I will stay for at least another period
Badawi: I will have Najib as successor, at undetermined time
Badawi: I will not be forced into any concrete succession date
Badawi: I have agreed with Najib on the succession date
Badawi: I will not resign before December
Badawi: No increase of fuel prices before August
Badawi, some hours later: Increase of fuel price tonight
Badawi: I will not remarry
Badawi: I will remarry
Badawi: No dissolution of parliament with 10 days
Badawi, 24 hours later: Dissolution of parliament
Badawi: No, I am not a flip-flop PM
written by activepro, June 16, 2008 19:35:42
Dear friends,dogs are loyal,intelligent,courageous and are men best friends. US president Bush,Cinton,Reagan allow their pet dogs to roam around the Oval Office while they attend to their work.To call this Mati Bak Chang a dog is too good a compliment,call him anything like cockcroach,shitface,tahi lembu...but not DOG,oki doki?
written by Msian 2, June 16, 2008 20:02:17
We have enough problems of our own. Good management within our borders would help. No need to tell world leaders what to do. Tell your own crooks what to do ---QUIT.
written by Watcheyes1, June 16, 2008 20:38:19
Ok PM, i have 2 questions for you: Who is responsible for the inflation rate of this country? What have you done to reduce it?

No use talking in world forums and asking the developed nations to think! You first of all think how to help you own country. If anyone of those world leaders ask you what have you done to help reduce the inflation rate in you country, what will you answer them?

You have done enough damages to the country and Her people. Time for you to get out of the way and let smart and genius leaders in PR to take over and restore this country's wealth and stabilities! Inflation will go down by itself with PR!
written by donplay, June 16, 2008 20:41:34
Is it his job, or ours?

If he can't hack it, he should resign today.
written by lynn, June 16, 2008 20:53:28
Can someone pls advise AAB the best & fastest way to arrest any crisis caused by inflation in this country is, first, to stop the rot caused by corruption, by wastage of throwing away good money on stupid useless projects?
AAB is almost similar to the man who started the fire & ran out of the building screaming, "fire, fire, fire". I wonder who his adviser(s) is/are, and his scriptwriter?
written by hiro, June 16, 2008 21:01:54
I'm amused that Pak Lah is deemed to have the credibility to talk about this subject when here at home he's facing imminent mass street protests.

As some intellect pointed out, government policy, fuel hike and speculators are the three chief causes of rise in food prices. But the biggest culprit is government policy - screwed up economic mismanagement, skewed / misrepresented numbers, artificial props and barriers, subsidy, affirmative actions etc...

We must simply ride with the market by toughening ourselves. In this respect, TDM has failed Malaysians miserably because he preferred to secure 2/3 majority (and appease the Malays with NEP crutches all these while) so that he could do his own dubious things, but at the same time stripping Malaysia of its competitiveness.

With the compounded global economic problems, I wonder how we will have the finances to emerge from this victorious, even assuming all the reforms take place now.

Pak Lah is no better. He has his chance - securing 9/10 Parliamentary majority, no one challenging him in UMNO - yet he went slow as the world sped by us. We are feeling the effect of lack of reform, nay, failure of reform. I am simply skeptical that our economic woes won't spare our next generation.
written by joejoe, June 16, 2008 21:34:21
Hallo .. last time I checked, you are the one responsible.

Who are you asking to solve the problem? Who is the pee-em ? Tiu !
written by apa jadi, June 16, 2008 21:35:30
Aiyaaa.....before the world inflation hits, you have already started the inflation within your own backyard. What are you talking about disaster?
written by RFernandez, June 16, 2008 21:42:36
Very easy to reduce inflation. Just abolish income taxes for all citizens, no more taxes on all goods and services. Remove duplication of services between Federal and State governments, reduce civil service staff because no taxes collected so then you don't need Customs, LHDN and other supporting administratives services, correct?.

Free the nation from taxes, just see how much some tax free countries have grown in recent years. No taxes will accelerate the level of economic growth and help directly put that wealth back into the pockets of citizens instead of being wasted on UMNO/BN goons.
written by SiHangChai, June 16, 2008 21:44:27
Mr Prime Minister, with you around, it wold be a greater disaster than the inflation. Please resign and balik Kepala Batas and take your retirement and shut up.
written by educationist, June 16, 2008 22:00:09
Whose government just raised the price of petrol a whopping 78 sen per litre?
And at the same stroke raised the electricity rates?
These 2 actions will set into motion a whole series of price hikes that will affct badly the average wage earner.
So what is he talking about?
written by tommycol, June 16, 2008 22:04:44
"it SEEMS that WE have yet to AWAKEN ...>>>"
PORAH!!you should hv said "it seems that I,I,I (not WE)have yet to AWAKEN...."or are you also refering to all the UMNO n TKT4 goons TOOOOOO......
HALF PAST 6!!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by oct, June 16, 2008 22:24:09
For the past 20 years, Malaysia has spent billions of ringgits like nobody business. We spent but never save or plan for contingency. Our mamak thinks we have an endless pot of gold. Other countries does have a master plan which they stick to. Look at our down under, they have forward plans and able to withstand any economy upheaval. They don't need to send their citizen to space, buy expensive army hardware or build the tallest building in the world. Whatever surplus they keep it and that's why their SGD is one of the strongest currency in the world. In fact, they have surplus budget whereas we keep on borrowing just to be sendiri syiok. They have a good properly planned transport system whereby all their citizen are using it every day.

If we have only our money wisely, we won't be in a position like today to suffer from fuel price hike. Did we hear our neighbor citizens complain about fuel price hike? No, it is because they can afford the price hike and their take home pay is almost 4 times ours. With such a salary, I don't have to bother about fuel price hike.

We have a bunch of monkeys looking after our loot. These monkeys doesn't know about fund management. They spent on to make a name for themselves without a thought for their rakyat.

If you read the Star today, it said that the LRT will be extended. That has been discussed two years ago and today they have no even started anything. They said it will take another 4 years to complete. You believe them? If you do, you can also believe pigs can fly. Another 4 years, you and I will have half the money of what you have today.

We are actually in situation critical. We have no money means we have no money. The majority of the rakyat will really suffer. In the market, no one is spending except the Govt. How many more battles can the Govt fight? Our Govt plan of actions is knee jerk type without much sustainment. Will the Govt give out cash again when the price of petrol goes to RM4 per liter next year? The Rakyat expects that since a precedent has been set. Will the ministers willing to give up all the entertainment allowance? To me the Govt has no game plan at all!!! Malaysia has dug itself a big hole for it to be buried
written by Rohani Hitam, June 16, 2008 22:34:34
Tak payah-lah baca teks ucapan tu. Takada apa yang kita bolih lakukan. India China jadi negara consumer yang terbesar dan harga barangan terutama makanan mencapai harga yang amat tinggi akibat kesejahteraan negara2 itu. Peralihan export kapada bio-fuel serta perindastrian mengurangkan agi bekalan makanan. Tak siapa bolih mengatasi masaalah ini. Apabila harga makanan menjejak paras maxima dan pengeluaran-nya sungguh menuntungkan, baru-lah ada peralihan semula negara2 pertanian menambahkan prodaksi makanan mereka. Sa-belum ini terjadi, kita gigit-lah wang shiling kita hingga kopak.

Tapi untuk Malaysia kerajaan bolih mengatasi-nya dengan mengurangkan pembziran serta memberi galakan mengeluarkan makanan menggunakan teknologi baru supaya dapat mengurangkan import2 makanan luar negeri. Tetapi olih kerana masyarakat Melayu dah bagitu lemak asyik bergantung kapada kerajaan dan mlas nak bekerja kuat saya tak rasa ini mudah di-capai. Walau bagaimana pun yang penting cara kita berjimat dan menyalurkan punca2 pengeluaran kapada yang menguntunkan dan bukan dengan telan duit raayat berbillion billion dengan projek2 bikinan orang2 tamak dan mencuri.
written by Rohani Hitam, June 16, 2008 22:40:59
Lihat-lah Singapura tu. Kenaikan harga barangan tidak menjejas kehidupan mereka olih kerana mereka punyai savings yang bolih mengatasi masaalah harga ini. Wang dollar Singapura makin kukuh dan kerajaan-nya sudah bersedia menhadapi hakikat ini dengan memberi bantuan subsidi pendapatan.

Kantung kita hampir kosong dan tak lama lagi jadi bankrupt dek di-makan ANAI2. Sabsisdi dah mula dn tak lama lagi tk cukup nak di-bahagi. Tunggulah masa-nya.
written by Compadre45, June 16, 2008 22:42:48
Bodowi, you are the disaster to Malaysia right from the day you became the PM. Its time you step-down !!!! I believe DSAI and PR can do a better job to curb inflation and poverty.
written by trublumalaysian, June 16, 2008 22:49:21
The timing of the oil rise, the timing of the well-prepared LRT in Star today ... something doesn't smell right babe.

and the mongrels are busy carving the territory. One million in gathering is not an impossibility ...

MAY GOD BE WITH ALL MALAYSIANS. Sabah & Sarawak included..
written by middlepath, June 16, 2008 23:06:26
this is the sign, ini lah tanda-tanda, this is the sign from Allah, from god, from the holy spirit, from March 9th 2008, untill Sept 16th 2008, something very important will happen, the sign is there....what is the change going to happen ?

There will be a new government, there will be new PM, there will be new power base shift to the Pakatan Rakyat, whatever that Umno, BN is doing, they are just too deep in the "CAG"="Corrupt, Arrogant, Greed", that is deep down in all level of the Umno and BN, hence their time is up, this petrol price, the increase in all the food item, etc, all are sign, they are not happen by chance, they are already the wind behind the change, the timing is perfect, calm before the storm, The change will happen, no body will be able to do anything,
look at the way Dr M attacking the PM, look at the Umno status, who is doing it ? this is act of god, this is god send, this is the menifestation of the god will, ini takdir, ini Allah, the sign is there,
Pakatan Rakyat is there to fit in the transition,
Anwar "the meaning"=to bring peace to the Malaysia, for the prosperity of the Malaysian, economy.
The sign is there, Anwar will be the one, with the experience in jail for so many years, that is the price he has paid, to realize the "integrity" the justice, the "fairness", he will be the malaysian hero, that will bring malaysia to new height,
those racial line politician days are numbered, the Dr M, the Paklah, the Najisb, all the Umno putra are just too corrupt, to do anything good for our nation,
the Bangsa Malaysia will emerge from this, and we all Malaysian will move forward, for a better malaysian, we will have to look forward with courage,
with dignity, with integrity, with fairness, justice for all, for the best of malaysia, we will move as a viable bangsa, that unite under the bangsa malaysia,
beyond the racial line, truly bring out the diversity as our strength, where we will compliment each other, with our strength and weakness and bring out the synergy effect to make the best of malaysia, that will be better than Singapore, HongKong, japan, USA, or European country.
we have to pay a price, that is not to fear anymore, but to face the future with a brave front, with courage, when we are under doubt or in the cross road,
dont panic, we must go back to our fundamental, go back to our soul and heart, ask ourself, where do we want to go from here ?
the new malaysia, the new horizon, the new vision, the new frontier, that will have to take on the "globalization" only the new Malaysian Economic Agenda, the new paradigm of the new politician, will take us to the new frontier,
we must face this future with courage and integity, with lots of confident,
when in doubt, never sway or waiver, just face with confident, use our
integrity, confidently face the new world,
with principle base leadership of Anwar and Lim Guan Eng, and all the Pakatan Rakyat, to take Malaysia to the new frontier, where no body has been there before,
only though this new paradigm, new vision, new mission, with principle base policy, that take us to the uncharter new territory,
so, all malaysian, look around, and ask yourself "
are you happy with the current situation ?
are you happen with the toll that you are paying ?
the car price that you are paying is so much higher than China, USA, Europe, etc,
are you happy, the petrol price is among the highest compare to other net petrol exporting country ?
are you happy with the public transportation system of our nation ?
are you happy, with the crime rate situation ?:
are you happy with the food price going up ?
are you happy with the government way of spending, money ?
are you happy with the way government handle, lingam video tape, all kind of scandals, BMF scandal, government building build and found with lots of corruption, family involve in so many projects, croniesm, etc. etc.

Are you still comfortable with our future,
do we deserve much, much better government ?
are you still fear of change ?
are you still fear of corrupt government, greedy government ?
are you ready for change,
do you have the courage to change the government ?
do you feel the pain ? is it time to change ?
Please, for the good our kid, our future, lets move forward with dignity,
with integrity, with guts, with courage, change, so that we all have a better future, new frontier,
or stay with status quo ?
it's about time, we mover forward, yes we can,
like obama, can, black in USA, can, we all malaysian, can.
bangsa malaysia can, yes we can,
we deserve much better malaysia,
lets move forward with Anwar and Pakatan Rakyat,
bring out our guts, dont hide out head under the sand anymore....
face the world, with rourage, with wisdom, with determination to be succeed for a better malaysia, better tomorrow
written by crazygweilo, June 16, 2008 23:12:56
Wawasan 2020

Its the year 2020, and we come back to Kuala Lumpur. The Ringgit, once respected, now trades at RM10 to the Singapore Dollar, and RM30 to Sterling, RM20 to the Euro, and its about on parity with the US Dollar, so Malaysians are very happy. It has all come at a high price. The architect of it, Mahathir all now graces the newly issued plastic RM5,000 Banknote. Petrol now costs an unbelievable RM100 a liter, and the country has adjusted from the end of its oil producing era.

We sit down and drink our Iced Lemon Teas in the Hard Rock Cafe, and I meet my old Malaysian friends from years ago. Once upon a time, at 7:00pm in the evening it was Happy Hour, but the era of Long Island Iced teas is long over. If you want booze you better be discreet, we ask for "Special tea", and two Jugs appear. In one...Tea. In the other....Beer, just in case, for its "Pandai Pandai" now. There is an illicit nightclub on the Chow Kit Road, which is now refurbished and renamed as Jalan Mahathir, where if we go through a chinese restaurant, up two flights of stairs, and get past the security guards, we can relive the era of the KL of old. Sadly its all over, replaced by a puritan morality, caused by economic chaos and deprivation. Lee just happens to own it.

"Satu Bottle Johnny Walker, Empat Jug Tiger"

RM2,235

I hand over 2 x RM1,000 notes graced with the face of Badawi, Bapa Tidur, illustrated with a bed, and an RM500 note, with P Ramlee on it. And wonder....where did it all go wrong.

The police are off duty in there, gambling, smoking weed, taking ecstasy, Ketamine and Syabu. It seems crazy, but there are some businessmen in there, and a seriously heavy Blackjack game taking place.

He is discussing with me about his childrens overseas education. The recession has hit me in Europe as well, and his son and daughter will be staying with me and helping me pay the bills.

Malaysians are now working in Thailand, Indonesia, Phillipines and China. Theres a sense of Malaise. Once upon a time there was so much hope, and so much optimism. The brightest and best have left the land. There has been another bus crash, 300 died at the weekend on the motorways, and another derailment on KTMB. Burglaries, snatch thefts, and robberies are rife. Once this was a jewel, a wonderful city. In its fading grandeur, it still is. But I turn away that night, and speak to Lees two children.

"Your only doing what he did, he worked with me in England, maybe when its better you will go back"

Its at that point in time, we make a final "Yam Seng". Its time to go to KLIA, its time to leave Malaysia. Its time for a better future.

We take the ERL from KL Sentral. It runs 30 minutes late. We get our flights. We leave. The Steward winks at me on MAS, and I flirt back, and whisper to the students "Fancy a drink"

"Beer"

"Three Special Teas"

And some things never change, even when they have changed. I'll come back next year in 2021. Maybe it will have gotten better, but somehow I doubt it.

Would the last one to leave, please turn off the lights.
written by Hakim Joe, June 16, 2008 23:22:37
Ha...ha... What global inflation? If you would just be so good enough to help the entire population of Malaysia instead of helping yourself, then we can take care of our own economy. Food and oil prices escalating? Hello dummy! If you keep the oil prices down, the food prices won't go up. There is such a thing as transportation costs and guess what these "transport" uses? Hot air? If it were such a simple thing, all we need to do is to prop you on the backseat and stick a hose into your mouth - that'll guarantee the vehicle will keep on going until you stop yapping. (Personally though, Sami V will beat you in an endurance race)
written by vistar, June 16, 2008 23:34:43
Malaysia premier Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has warned of a "real disaster" unless bold steps are taken to tackle the global inflation crisis???

THE BOLD DECISION ONLY WILL MAKE THE REST OF THE MPS STICK WITH YOUR AS THEY ARE OUT OF BALSS. 50-50% CHANCE.

SINCE IT HIT THEIR POCKET, THEY MAY STILL LINGER AROUND TO JILAT YOUR BALSSZ!!!

THIS IS YOUR CRISIS, STOP MAKING US SUFFER!!
written by tradinglobby, June 16, 2008 23:58:30
This idiot is making his own country inflation getting high.... now he ask others to "tackle" inflation! Tickle your own balls lah!
written by Motherchell, June 17, 2008 00:15:06
This imbecile needs C4 to wake him up. Why go so far , ask him to travel by buses from Penang to KL or JB to KL . Its 3---4 X the fare . WHY ???????

'cos the bus companies are what the Ketuanan created!!!! they have subsidised diesel--YET THEY cheat and fleese THEIR OWN PEOPLE ---- WHY??????? -----THE UMNOPUTRAS KILL THEIR VERY OWN PEOPLE --- IN THE NAME OF TAKING CARE OF THE WORKING CLASS AND THE POOR KAMPONG FOLKS . THE RIMV are not to be seen around ---maybe they already got their cut too .

Got to get all the PUTRAJAYA powers that be , plus the residents there enjoying billion RINGGIT housing to travel by these buses to know how the Rakyat are shortchanaged . I could burst out with a profanity!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by cllim123, June 17, 2008 00:18:37
YAB AAB, please do the right thing. Resign! Then no more inflation. Simple, and no disaster. You have done us nothing for teh past 5 years, please do only one thing, Resign.
written by Motherchell, June 17, 2008 00:21:26
I hope the rural folks wake up to the real evil of UMNO, then nodding to all their rhetorics of denials and race cards. If they keep on doing this ---- they might as well stop producing babies in the name of UMNO taking care of their future generations. Pl wake up folks before youre destroyed by your own powers -- whom you think are taking care of you !!!!!!!!!!
written by JohnQ, June 17, 2008 00:34:28
GO TO HELL ! That is your easier path into oblivion with all the Tuns and tan Sri and deputies and the corrupted pariahs.
Occasionally turn back your head while you all there to see how DSAI tackle the problems lah.........

May be the Hell administrator wont want to accept you too as HE afraid of this pariah senses new comer may spread the greedy and corrupted evils in the HELL ZONES.... Pay to jump queue the ladder up to higher levels????????????????
written by qitaro, June 17, 2008 00:39:08
BODOH PUNYA BODOWI!!!

Can't even manage your country well some more wanna tokok and tunjuk lagak in regional forum. Tepuk dada sendiri and ask yourself if you are qualified to talk???

Cakap pun tengah tidoq!

Malaysia is blessed with abundance in natural resources, no natural calamity but also cursed with IDIOTS & CORRUPTED bureaucrats!!
written by raven1958, June 17, 2008 01:14:06
Helloo....disaster is already here....Mr. Badawi....why is Malaysia not growing enough food on its rich fertile soil for Malaysians first....tak malu ke kena beli beras dari India and Thailand.......
written by MalaysianIAm, June 17, 2008 01:37:57
uncontrolled inflation will cause problems - abdullah amat bodohwi

wah, very insightful!

i can also say
'dadah will cost social problems if use is uncontrolled'

or even better

'smoking causes bad smell'

or or or

'if you drive at 200 km/hr u increase the chance of accident'

or or or

'if your unemployment rate is high u will have social problems'

im not finished

'if you're earning less than you're spending then your bank account will have less money by the month'

or or or

ok you all get it.

badawi is trying to put himself at the same level as other world leaders by saying something global.

my advice to you is: SHUT UP LA...
written by bexe, June 17, 2008 02:12:54
He read a prepared speech. I am sure he doesn't understand what he is reading because as he said "we have yet to awaken to the enormity of the problem". How true of himself.
If he understood the problem he would NOT have increased petrol prices in the scale that he has done. He should have examined other options available to him. He should have instituted a well-thought out program of alternatives, such as improving public transport system, relief from import duties of vehicles, enlarging and updating our refining capabilities and capacities, he should look at the impact of this increase on food prices and offered ways to mitigate this. He did none of the above.
Good leaders welcome diasters or crisis from which they can rise like a pheonix if they manage it well. This pheonix has all its feathers singhed. He looks like a plucked chicken.
written by kevinD, June 17, 2008 02:40:33
U REALLY LEMBAP KES LAH AAB !! THE DISASTER ALREADY HAPPEN. THATS WHY MALAYSIA IS ON ITS KNEES NOW. THE DISASTER IS BN AND UMNO. U REALLY SO SO SO SO SO STUPID AAA!!! THIS ONE ALSO CANNOT SEE MAAAA!!! HEYYYYAAAAA !!!!! STUPID FELLAS!!!!!
written by Msian 2, June 17, 2008 05:31:58
Obviously PM M'sia have no clue as to where the country stand in good governance. Don't yep about other countries when in our own backyard we have a load of stinky mess from corruption, crime and illegal immigration etc. A country like ours is blessed with oil, so many renewable resources and we should be better than S'pore. Sadly, its the other way around. Total mismanagement of resources, especially human resources. When it comes to question of economics, it cuts across all racial lines & for long term good government we must have good racial intergration, freedom of the press & speech. Honestly I don't see why our govt don't even have a policy of "NO RACIAL DISCRIMINATION". Treat all as M'sians & the country will be blessed richly. In short we have a racist govt and we are going to be damned by govt racist policies.
written by johanssm, June 17, 2008 06:00:07
Will somebody tells that old horny fool that he is the disaster ?
Getting fed up to comment on that old geezer .
He dont even read anything.
written by AsamLaksa, June 17, 2008 06:15:01
Betul tu Pak Lah! Orang kat warung pun dah lama tau. Bukan tu saja, dia orang hari-hari takde kerja minum kopi kat warung pun banyak ide nak selamatkan negeri. Pak Lah macam mana, kopi tak cukup kuat asyik mengantuk? Cepatlah Pak Lah selamatkan negeri nanti harga kopi melambung naik dia orang semua naik mangamuk tak bestlah tu!
written by krepot, June 17, 2008 08:09:53
Farking Village Idiot!
written by InEffective, June 17, 2008 08:49:50
Oh dear - apparently he is not aware of our other 'disasters' :

- like bankrupt education system,
- concession-based economy,
- dysfunctional judiciary,
- crime-boss-managed police force
- double standards of laws policies and rules,
- divisive racism and abuse of human rights.

our intelligence-deficit politicians - oh my poor Malaysia....
written by Godflesh, June 17, 2008 12:35:07
Agee with activepro. Don't degrade dogs. They are, after all, man's best friends. Shame the same can't be said of our worthless haprak BN politicians.!
written by Sarawak Headhunter, June 18, 2008 04:36:50
PRESS STATEMENT BY ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI
SPM (Sleeping PM)

I admit I have been a real disaster for Malaysia but unless bold steps are taken to remove me and tackle the Malaysian political crisis, I will sleep on as PM.

I know that Malaysia faces the prospect of recession because of me, but then I have an excuse for it, as I told the World Economic Forum on East Asia that the prospect of a global recession loomed as the prices of food and fuel spiral upwards.

So really it is the global recession which will also be the cause of the Malaysian recession. Don't say I didn't warn you all. PETRONAS and Malaysia will of course make windfall profits out of the spiralling oil prices, but I and I alone (together with Khairy and Kamal and Kalim of course) will decide how these profits will be spent and I assure you it will not be for the benefit of the people. Would I lie to you?

As I told the WEFEA, "About 100 million or more people have descended into poverty worldwide while low and middle-income groups everywhere are feeling the strain of increased food prices on their budget." I am not one of those people of course, I am eating quite well, thank you.

There is no need for mass protests over food or oil as I will have no hesitation in crushing any protests which threaten to destabilize my misrule. I am aware that more instability awaits those societies which fail to alleviate their problems, but in Malaysia there are no such problems.

As I also said at the WEFEA, "It seems that we have yet to awaken to the enormity of the problem and its potential for creating a real disaster." That was one of the few times I was awake and the rest sleeping.

To an ungrateful nation I say do not ask what I can do for you but what you can do for me and the KKK.

To my stupid and gullible deputy who thinks he will take my place I say good luck and keep on waiting. They will be coming for you soon.

As for the rest of you suckers, keep the support coming. You will be pleased to know that with the windfall profits and withdrawal of petrol subsidies, you will be subsidizing even more of the same mismanagement, misgovernance and corruption.

Since Malaysians like it so much, I'm definitely going to give all Malaysians more of the same shit.

For those subversive elements who are a minority, don't complain or protest. I have the FRU, you know.

OK, that's all for now. I'm going back to sleep. Wake me up when Anwar manages to gather his frogs.