Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Abdullah's fuel-hike move falls short

Abdullah's fuel-hike move falls short PDF Print
Sunday, 15 June 2008 10:13

Many Malaysians say they are ready to pay the market price for fuel, as long as they get a chance to pay market prices for imported cars and are relieved of the burden of toll charges on the private road networks that criss-cross the country, particularly greater Kuala Lumpur.

LESLIE LOPEZ, STRAITS TIMES

KUALA LUMPUR, June 15 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi's scramble to stem the widening fallout from his high-stakes gamble to raise fuel prices is exposing his government's shortcomings in crisis management.

What's more, the policy flip-flops and the raft of poorly-designed counter-measures have only brought into focus the distortions in the Malaysian economy and Datuk Seri Abdullah's reluctance to confront the powerful vested interest groups that profit from it.

The government's missteps have also allowed the Opposition headed by former deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to seize the initiative with public sentiment building against the government.

If Malaysians were beginning to feel a tad sympathetic to the many challenges facing Abdullah's government, last week's fuel hike only served to bring to the fore concerns that dominated the public mood just before the early March national election - anger over the rising cost of living, the perception that the Barisan Nasional coalition government is insensitive to the plight of most Malaysians and widespread corruption in government.

It wasn't supposed to turn out this way.

PM Abdullah's allies had expected that the move to partially remove subsidies would allow the premier to regain the political initiative.

By shocking Malaysians with the roll-back on subsidies, Abdullah had hoped to divert public attention away from the crisis gripping his United Malays National Organisation party which leads the Barisan government.

He also envisioned that his bold initiative would prompt senior Umno leaders, who are key ministers in his Cabinet, to set aside their differences and rally behind him to implement this major policy initiative.

Instead, the move to roll back fuel subsidies has come in for criticism from within the party and outside.

There are several reasons Abdullah's gamble backfired.

For starters, it is seen as a public relations fiasco. The decision last week to raise fuel prices by 41 per cent and diesel by 63 per cent was made without any substantive concessions to Malaysians on how the government, which is raking in record profits from it oil exports, intended to alleviate the economic hardships from the roll-back in subsidies.

When the government did announce the counter measures, it fell short of what the public was hoping for.

The government didn't offer any direct financial assistance to alleviate the pain faced by Malaysians from rising costs.

Instead, the raft of counter-measures, amounting to about RM2 billion in savings, featured cuts in spending on government-sponsored seminars and travel for civil servants.

Opposition leaders have been quick to attack the government's measures, arguing that it underscored the growing disconnect between the country's political elite and the public.

That's because the cost-cutting measures also provided Malaysians with a peek to the lavish perks government ministers enjoy.

Abdullah said that his ministers would take a 10 per cent cut in their monthly entertainment allowances.

But Malaysians didn't even know that the prime minister got a monthly entertainment stipend of RM18,865, his deputy RM15,015 and his Cabinet ministers RM13,320 a month each.

Malaysians also didn't know that their ministers and their families were entitled to one all-expense paid holiday annually to any destination.

As part of the government's new austerity drive, holidays will be limited to Malaysia's Southeast Asian neighbours.

The roll-back on subsidies has also renewed criticisms of subsidies and distortions in the economy and the shortcomings in Abdullah's reform agenda.

Many Malaysians say they are ready to pay the market price for fuel, as long as they get a chance to pay market prices for imported cars and are relieved of the burden of toll charges on the private road networks that criss-cross the country, particularly greater Kuala Lumpur.

Malaysians pay a high tax on imported cars because the government subsidises its national car project.

The government also has a policy which enables a select group of ethnic Malay business to profit from the import of cars manufactured outside Malaysia, an industry which is estimated to be worth close to RM1 billion annually.

With his bid to regain the initiative dashed, Abdullah declared this week that fuel prices wouldn't be raised for the rest of the year.

But many Malaysians believe that he will renege on that pledge should global oil prices spike in coming months.

His approval rating of 91 per cent when he took power in November 2003 has now slipped to just under 50 per cent, according to market research firm Merdeka Centre.

That figure is expected to test new lows when findings of a new survey are released later this month.

Despite being assailed from all sides, he has no intention of handing power anytime soon.

Businessmen and politicians who have met with him in recent weeks say that he is determined to mount a fight-back to restore the popularity of his ruling Umno and the Barisan Nasional government.

But as inflation picks up, economic growth falters and the drudge of having to make ends meet for ordinary Malaysians take its toll, Abdullah will have to wake up to the reality that the Malaysia he inherited more than four years ago has changed radically.

written by Kcc, June 15, 2008 10:20:33
Many Malaysians say they are ready to pay the market price for fuel
- from where did this statistics come? How many is "many"?

Malaysians do not want a hike in petrol as this would increase prices of everything else. We see it happening already. What we want is to reduce the price of petrol, and in the long term, reduce the dependence on fossil fuels altogether. Malaysians also want to know why being an oil-producing country can't cap the price of petrol at a low price.
written by Rohani Hitam, June 15, 2008 10:27:39
AAB wakes up too late. The damage is done. Nobody in his/her own mind would beleive him anymore. He just been sleeping on his job and concentrated on other things not connected with the welfare and economy of the nation. Not just that. He doesn't have the mental faculty needed to run a country like Malaysia.

Let him make more mistakes and we can see state bankruptcy soon.
written by DatoSeri, June 15, 2008 10:28:31
What to expect? This BN/UMNO has never plan properly an for nation's interest. All they did were for their own and croies' benefits.

We are pissed, very pissed. Folks in town are very angry, those working class are furious. This gov think that with some rebate they can calm everyone down?

Some folks here urging the PAS/PKR to plan a rally in front of the nyanyuk PM's house up in Batas.
written by Arubin, June 15, 2008 10:35:37
Until ALL of BN's Ministers decide to emulate Lim Guan Eng by actually walking the talk when it comes to financial prudence, I will not accept ANY explanations or excuses by them along the lines of "oh, we're actually cutting down expenses".

Badawi's monthly entertainment expense still exceeds my salary by far even after the cut. I'm so impressed by his sincerity...not... smilies/angry.gif
written by joejoe, June 15, 2008 10:47:41
... the prime minister got a monthly entertainment stipend of RM18,865, his deputy RM15,015 and his Cabinet ministers RM13,320 a month each. Malaysians also didn't know that their ministers and their families were entitled to one all-expense paid holiday annually to any destination. As part of the government's new austerity drive, holidays will be limited to Malaysia's Southeast Asian neighbours.

Their entertainment allowances are totally exorbitant -- that is 3-4X more than most people's monthly salaries, who have to buy their own food, pay for their electricity and water, support their family and kids, pay mortgages and car loans, pay for petrol, etc etc.

And do they expect us to accept the fact that they are taking a 10% cut while we dish out 40% more for petrol, 18% more for electricity, 20-30% more for food?

What logic is this? Does this gomen care about its people?
written by binarytan, June 15, 2008 10:48:20
never use his brain to implement any decision. A decision is manipulated fully by his level 4 boy. What are they going to do after fuel hike? No clear directions totally.

Ask the Rakyat to jimat while they still spend like nobody business? How about cutting the toll rate by half and chase those goons out of the business, how about de-privatise those non-performing organization especially Syabas etc?
written by ohuat, June 15, 2008 10:55:55
All Oil Subsidy must be abolished. Let fuel price increase according to market price. Otherwise billion of our hard earn $ spend on subsidy being smuggling out to our neighbouring countires. In return, government must abolish all tolls, sale tax, servise tax and reduce income tax, import tax, custome duties & roadtax.
written by Jampi, June 15, 2008 11:01:03
Kcc,

Obviously you did not read numerous blogs about the issue. Even in my yahoogroups discussion, there are many people who want govt to abolish car tax to offset the high fuel cost. and I would said MANY..Even though I did not agree with their perspective on car taxes, I have to acknowledge that many of them do think that way.

I agree with ohuat on smuggling

I also one of those who favor fuel hikes. However, I did not favor current mechanism of rebate payment as it can be misused, and it may favor those with plenty of cars (or plenty of car ownership certificate - but the car does not exists)

I would favor rebate to all Malaysian above 18 or 21, across the board regardless of having a car or not. And to make it less harder to the less fortunate, the rebate could be made annually, every six month, every 3 months, or even every month. This would put a lot more income to the post office heh! I would favor at least RM1200 and not RM650 as announced. This would also make the poor having a monthly allowance of at least RM 100 a month... and RM 200 per month for the household. And by estimating that half of Malaysian ( 14 million ) are above 18, the govt have to fork out 1.4 billion a month , or approximately 17 billion a year. That is not much if we consider Petronas's annual income.

I also favor gradual increase, not sudden increase.
written by Jampi, June 15, 2008 11:06:37
Dear joejoe,

I think their entertainment stipend is justifiable for the position they have. It is not many. Even my boss in a small 20 company have more entertainment allowance.

The most important thing is accountability. You are to be paid on the claim, and the claim must be genuine.

In the other note, I do not favor the paid holiday. I f they want to have holiday. they should pay it themselves.

written by New Frontier, June 15, 2008 11:09:19
We will pay market price for fuel when the government pay back our car import duty (lump sum), no more AP, pay market price for import cars, nationalise highway/toll collection, end GLC/Umno/BN related co. monopoly (IWK,BERNAS,TM,UEM,SAJ,SYABAS, etc).
written by Jampi, June 15, 2008 11:12:58
Dear Rohani Hitam,
I don't thin AAB is already woke up. I think he is still sleeping now. or better yet: he is having a nightmare!!...

written by chanatak, June 15, 2008 11:44:00
Like his predecessor, he is not stepping down until he has siphoned off enough for himself and his family and made sure that everything has been stashed away properly. then he will step down. Unlike his predecessor, he will quietly disappear into the background though.

Got this yesterday and would like to share it with you:

Some good insights....
Today Tenaga stock rose by about MYR1.00. Volume traded in excess of 35
million units.Yesterday Tenaga stock was suspended.

Put these points together.

1. If you know that an announcement would be made on Wednesday that TNB rates will be revised upwards you would surely buy Tenaga shares on Tuesday.
2. If you own an investment bank or have sufficient credit line with an Investment Bank you would have bought as much as you could knowing that the price will surely go up.
3. Since you have to pay within 3 days (T 3 rule), you would have planned to sell on Friday. Â So you could have bought 1Million Tenaga shares on Tuesday and sold it today for a cool MYR1Million profit without paying any money (perhaps some borrowing costs for 2-3 days).
4. Of course none of us are privy to the announcement of the fuel hike, but the family of the PM are privy to it.
5. Of course none of us have a large credit line with an Investment Bank but the family of the PM owns an investment bank.
6. Why the surprise announcement on 05 June when the PM has said that it would be in August ? Well you can only make a big and quick profit if you control the timings and surprise others.
written by Compadre45, June 15, 2008 13:01:34
" Many Malaysians say they are ready to pay the market price for fuel, as long as they get a chance to pay market prices for imported cars and are relieved of the burden of toll charges on the private road networks that criss-cross the country, particularly greater Kuala Lumpur. "

Errr .....Lets keep dreamning for that day to come for our arshole Umno/Bn govn to remove import tax which they were robbing on from the past 2 decades until now. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

written by ultraman kite, June 15, 2008 14:32:39
"Many Malaysians say they are ready to pay the market price for fuel, as long as they get a chance to pay market prices for imported cars"

if you can agree with statement above then what makes you different than the UMNOPutra?

increasing price on fuel will also bring up the price for other important stuff like food, water, electricity and etc. the poor families will become poorer but then you all can accept this as long as you can drive happily on your new cheaper imported car... bloody hypocrites!
written by malgal, June 15, 2008 18:34:22
our ministers get official entertainment expenses on top of numerous other perks. as it is , they are sucked up to by a host of sycophants ever ready to fork out freebies. honestly who do they entertain when they are being entertained. we want accounts and reports of who they entertained and why they are chosen to be entertained. as far i know, visiting ministers from other countries would already enjoy our free limo complete with the whizzing outriders, 5 star accomodation, meals etc on another lot of expense account (not our ministers entertainment allocation). bros we are being fleeced left right centre behind side front top bottom, and they are receiving entertainment expenses.NOW THAT'S CALLED RICH.
written by shangrilapeace, June 15, 2008 19:04:12
ABB,

Your implementations are only one way traffic.
Malaysia is multi tracks.
written by amoker, June 15, 2008 23:24:07
There is a difference between allowance and claim. It means that our ministers are earning those entertainment allowance even if they don't pay. My gut is that they are charging the cost back as expenses while pocketting the allowance. This, is not right. Cut 100% and let any entertainment be receipt based, with a maximum limited per job category.