Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow You eliminate the plague by killing the rats

You eliminate the plague by killing the rats PDF Print
Saturday, 14 June 2008 13:13

No, don’t end subsidies. End wastages, high administrative costs and corruption. Then we will be able to afford subsidies, just like the other countries that also have subsidies can. And this is what we want Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar to talk about.

The country will go bankrupt if the government continues giving out subsidies, says Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah. I suppose this is a statement of support for the recent increase in the price of petrol and a vote of no confidence on Anwar Ibrahim’s pledge that Pakatan Rakyat will reduce the price of petrol if or when it comes to power.

I do not quite agree with Tengku Razaleigh’s statement or with what Anwar Ibrahim has pledged. First of all, for Anwar to say that the petrol price should not have been increased is easy. We don’t want to know about what should not have been. We want to know what should be.

Can Anwar please table his economic blueprint so that we can see what he has up his sleeve? Malaysians no longer want to buy this ‘vote me in first and then I will show you how I can do it’ -- or what the Americans would label as ‘read my lips’ rhetoric.

Read my lips: there will be no petrol price increase after the 8 March 2008 general election. Read my lips: I am not going to call for a general election soon and Parliament is not going to be dissolved tomorrow. Read my lips: I did not use the rakyat’s money to buy a RM200 million Airbus. Read my lips: my son’s company, Scomi, did not get RM1.5 billion worth of contracts from Petronas. Read my lips: I am not getting married to Jeanne Danker. Read my lips: I do not have a house in Perth. Read my lips: I am not involved in the Iraq Oil-for-Food scandal. Read my lips: Najib Tun Razak is my successor. Read my lips: Anwar Ibrahim is my successor and I am not going to sack him in three days’ time and do you need me to kiss him in public to prove it? Read my lips: only three people are involved in the Altantuya murder. Read my lips: the Royal Commission of Inquiry will wrap up the Lingam Tape scandal before you can finish screaming mala fide. Read my lips: I will not be challenging Ghafar Baba for the Umno Deputy Presidency. Read my lips: I am not rejoining Umno even if I die and am reborn and I will remain in Semangat 46 until the day I die like Tunku Abdul Rahman and Tun Hussein Onn. Read my lips: Malaysia did not physically lose RM30 billion in the currency speculation fiasco and it is only a paper loss. Read my lips: Raja Petra was not detained under the Internal Security Act, as I did not sign any detention order. Read my lips: Raja Petra was detained under the Internal Security Act for planning to bring in M16s, Molotov Cocktails and grenade launchers to start an armed revolution.

Nope, no more read my lips rhetoric please. We have had enough of all this over the last 50 years. What we want now is for you to put your money where your mouth is. ‘Show me the money’, the Americans would say. Yes, money talks, bullshit walks -- and bullshit is what has been dished out these last 50 years. It is time everyone come clean and put their cards on the table, face up. We want to see what hand they are playing with. Do they have a full hand or is this mere poker playing?

There is nothing wrong with subsidies. America subsidises its agriculture until sometimes you make more money not planting anything, which helps control the price of farm produce. Japan subsidises exports until it is cheaper to buy a Japanese camera in Kuala Lumpur than in Tokyo. Britain subsidises education for its citizens by charging the foreign students high fees.

How do these countries do it without going bankrupt, if subsidies are supposed to make a country go bankrupt? Britain, for example, has the best education system in the world -- and that is why foreign students do not mind paying high fees to receive a British education, thereby making it possible to subsidise local students. But then Britain’s universities are not headed by BTN operatives whose main function is to brainwash Malay students into believing that Malays own this country under the Ketuanan Melayu concept while the ‘immigrant’ Indians and Chinese should be reminded that they are ‘guests’ of this country and if they don’t like it they can go back to India or China.

That is why students flock to Britain in spite of the cost. And that is why Britain can subsidise its citizens. You can’t get these foreigners to come to Malaysia even if it is free. Hell, you can’t get them to come here even if you paid them, don’t talk about free. It is the quality and not the cost or subsidies that count. If you are able to offer quality education like Britain, the cost does not matter and locals can be subsidised from the fees the foreign students pay. So we have to look at the system. We solve the system and the rest automatically solves itself.

Malaysia’s problem is corruption. We spend double what we should because of corruption. Corruption, not subsidies, is what is killing this country’s economy. Corruption, not subsidies, is what is bankrupting Malaysia. Hundreds of billions has been wasted over the last 51 years since Merdeka. These hundreds of billions, if it had been put to good use, could have done a lot for this country. Today, we talk about ending the subsidies because we no longer have any money. But we no longer have any money not because of the subsidies but because of the corruption.

Just add it up. The amount is astronomical.

In the early days, we used to spend RM1 on administration and RM4 on development. And this was when we did not have any money. Yet we could still allocate 80% of the country’s expenditure to development, as modest as it may have been. Today, after 50 years of ‘progress’, we spend an estimated RM8 on administration and only RM1 on development. The Malays call this ‘mahal tali dari lembu’ (the rope is more expensive than the cow).

Out of a workforce of 10 million or so, 1.1 million-1.2 million work for the government. This means about 5% of Malaysians work for the government. And why is that? Just go into any government department and see for yourself why. No one is working. Everyone is just sitting around doing nothing. And if you disturb their peace by going to a government office to ask for something just see the fuck face they give you. They forget that we are paying their salaries and that they work for us. We are not disturbing them by going to a government office. It is their job to serve us.

Indonesia, which has ten times Malaysia’s population, has only twice the number of civil servants. Granted things are a bit slow in Indonesia. But considering their very underpaid civil servants and understaffed civil service that would be unavoidable. America, which has about the same size population as Indonesia, has only twice the civil service. Going by Malaysia’s ratio, America should have a civil service of 15 million instead of just four million.

We spend RM10 billion to develop Malaysia and another RM90 billion on administrative costs and ‘leakages’. That is how we spend our RM100 billion. And that is why we have no money. So herein lies the problem. Solve this problem and we will have more money for other things, subsidies included.

No, don’t end subsidies. End wastages, high administrative costs and corruption. Then we will be able to afford subsidies, just like the other countries that also have subsidies can. And this is what we want Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar to talk about. Don’t say ‘read my lips, no more subsidies’. Instead, say ‘read my lips, no more wastages, high administrative costs and corruption’. That is what we want to hear Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar say. And if Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar don’t understand what I am talking about, then step aside and let me show you what I mean. But be prepared for a ‘blood bath’ because only a ‘butcher’s knife’ can achieve the results.

Sigh….I just love the way Iran solved its serious corruption problem in 1979. They lined up 10,000 corrupted civil servants and shot them all. No more corrupted government officers, no more corruption. How I wish I had been born in Iran instead of England. I would have had a great time in 1979. Sigh…..

Comments (153)Add Comment
written by ben932, June 14, 2008 13:18:08
Yes, I agree.

Anwar, please table his economic blueprint so that we can decide our future.
disagree 24
agree 438
written by kent chong, June 14, 2008 13:18:09
Dear Abang Pete,
Good article... Malaysian it's time to join Pakatan Rakyat to topple BN!
agree 258
written by clting08, June 14, 2008 13:20:13
YM RPK, It is very Simple. If Petronas don't want to sudsidies than show the public your account. We want to see where the money go. It is public money.
Please show us to convince us that Petronas will go bankrap in 2014.
agree 383
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 14, 2008 13:21:07
Well, the one thing that comes to mind is that Mr. Anwar is no angel when he was in power and I have very strong reservations about his integrity and trustworthiness in making good his promises.

With that type of idiotic talks and attitude, does that ex-finance minister Ku-Li seriously expect us Rakyat to accept him as our alternative leader and PM? It is a stark indication of his leadership caliber which amounts to, maybe, a micro millimeter higher than Pak Lah intelligence.
disagree 37
written by alibaba tan, June 14, 2008 13:25:46
The only way to resolve corruption issue is to shot these corrupted bastards. I fully agreed with RPK. Do it once, for all the malaysian.
agree 258
written by DanDan, June 14, 2008 13:25:54
RPK, you make more sense here than those who just know how to talk, talk and talk only. You are more befitting a PM. I salute you. God Bless You. smilies/kiss.gif
agree 232
written by zul4kulim, June 14, 2008 13:29:09
If we really spend RM10 billion to develop Malaysia and another RM90 billion on administrative costs and ‘leakages’, our leaders of UMNO/BN thugs are really enriching their own pockets. This is absurd!
I agree with RPK, that is how they spend our RM100 billion, of course we have no money to spend for other things. The problem lies with the leadership. Solve this problem by replacing these robbers and we will have more money for other things that beneficial to rakyat, subsidies included.
Anwar says the same in Dubai read here http://1426.********.com/2008/...crowd.html
agree 119
written by Sagaladoola, June 14, 2008 13:30:47
Can Anwar please table his economic blueprint so that we can see what he has up his sleeve?

Yes, exactly
written by DezMalaysia, June 14, 2008 13:32:42
Malaysia's BN Government is weak & corrupt. Comparing our so-called Democratic country with Communist China, China actually has less Corruptions in the government. They'll face the firing squad if civil servants corrupt. In addition, their Civil servants are very patriotic & hardworking comparing to our BN fed lazy civil servants. I wonder why our civil servants' pay are higher than those in China ?
agree 115
written by krepot, June 14, 2008 13:35:21
You hit the nail on the head and you crack me up dude!

And if you disturb their peace by going to a government office to ask for something just see the **** face they give you.

HOW TRUE!!!
Heck! We pay them. Most of them don't pay income tax, damn it!
agree 218
written by Mustapha Kamal, June 14, 2008 13:37:27
I don't agree that Anwar should disclose his secrets. Why ? Because we Malaysians are great copycats, having lost our creativity during the 22 years of the Malaysian Dark Ages under the Kutty. If he were to divulge his plan, then you can be sure the BN gomen would jump on it. Just look at how they have (attempted to) copied the Kelantan State Govt in some of their rakyat-friendly initiatives. Secondly, the "read-my-lips" theory works only with the rural Malays. That is why they keep on voting these goons back into power. The UMNO strategists were excellent in their gerrymanderig efforts, to ensure that a miniscule proportion of (Malay) rural voters, gave UMNO a great number of seats. What the Malaysian voter will buy today, is credibility and delivery. We need a charismatic leader who can not only articulate the vision, but also has the managerial ability to deliver on that vision. Lastly, we need an independent press, who will not prostitute themselves the way the NST, Star, etc., etc., have been doing. Please don't think that we Malaysians are stupid. BN thought that we aere, and that is why they were caught with their pants (and knickers, in the case of Balkis) down at the last election. All that remains is for the Malaysians across the water to stop accepting the nonsense spouted by the "Bung-Me-A-Million and I'll keep quiet" type of leaders they seem to grow over there.
agree 133
written by Jan, June 14, 2008 13:37:38
Corruption discourages businesses.
In yesterday's Star newspaper one civil servant was caught for corruption. He was getting greedy, not only he wanted RM6000 for a bus permit he also wanted a directorship in that company for his father! I wonder if this is just a tip of the iceberg. These additional costs no doubt are past on to consumers.
But because business conditions are becoming less favorable due also to high oil prices people are not setting up businesses or expanding. The country will only get poorer and there will be less jobs to pass around all because of corruption.
agree 140
written by bananachinese, June 14, 2008 13:38:03
Precisely, oh RPK.

I think I will write to this expert here so that they can go and teach our 'leaders' how to think, talk and do like leaders.

There is a dearth of ideas and worse, little inspiration on part of our politicians to want to do anything to catch up with rakyat's current and future aspirations. Our pembesar-pembesar are stil lost in Parameswara era: I decide, rakyat follow. I handover position to whoever's face I like - no need refer to rakyat's constitutional right to choose PM, etc.

Quickly, you must act oh political strategist to make politicians upgrade their skillsets before Malaysia 'gostan' to 1500s:

http://mylivingwall.com/v3/ind...d-websites
written by jchew, June 14, 2008 13:38:33
If corrupted UMNO and BN continues to rule, the next exports for Malaysia will be maids and hard labours for other countries.
written by seek justice, June 14, 2008 13:42:31
And our not so smart PM actually thinks he's doing us a favor by imposing a 10% cutback on their allowances. Hogwash to the max! Why are we paying for the Ministers' and Deputy Ministers' entertainments? THEY WORK FOR US, WE CAN REVIEW THEIR SALARIES AND ALLOWANCES, can't we?

Who's money are they using to lead the life of luxury that they are so afraid to let go? Can the Ministers and Deputy Ministers, ADUNs, MPs please go to an Econsave or any supermarkets in the low-rent districts in Malaysia and see for themselves how the masses are suffering.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 14, 2008 13:45:01
Syabas RPK,I have been earnestly waiting for this piece of article from you!It seems my intense consciousness has rubbed off on your awareness!I love that sentence wher e you say*They line up the civil servants who were corrupted and shot them all*This is the only way to punish them fortheir erratic behaviour!I hope the new government will take note of this!LOL!May you always be well & happy! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Rolling Stone, June 14, 2008 13:45:24
I wouldnt mind even RM 4.00/ litre for petrol as long as the ruling government can ensure that :
- we have world class education
- we have transparent business culture
- we have a police force who are willing to serve the rakyat and protect them
- there is no ketuanan melayu bullshit
- we are all recognise as malaysian
- there is a health care system that really cares
- and etc
agree 210
written by Engineer, June 14, 2008 13:49:01
Yes, Pak Lah mentioned that 10% cut in ministries expenditure saves 2 billion.

This means that ministries expenditure is 20 billion annually, which equates to roughly 400 million per ministry per year or 33 million per month or 1 million per day.

What are they spending on ?
agree 118
written by malsia1206, June 14, 2008 13:50:22
RPK forgot one more prominent 'read my lips'. I cannot speak Inglish. Not in Australia anyway. And still 1 more. I did not marry the Sultan's daughter. Not in Malaysia anyway. We have been hoodwinked to read the politicians lips for 50 years. And these politicians have been reading my and your pockets for 50 years. You want to address the corruption in this country? How could we do that when it is in fact THE MAIN RELIGION in Malaysia? TDM.TDM.
written by Zapper, June 14, 2008 13:53:56
Pete...a well written piece with simple wisdom. It's a wonder that our politicians do not have such simple wisdom. To them, everything must be complicated in order to confuse the rakyat.
written by Flex65, June 14, 2008 13:55:03
And if Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar don’t understand what I am talking about, then step aside and let me show you what I mean. But be prepared for a ‘blood bath’ because only a ‘butcher’s knife’ can achieve the results.

Again I like to say how I wish RPK is the PM of Malaysia
written by binkah1, June 14, 2008 14:06:34
Yes, look no further than that of our politicians & families fat overseas accounts to confirm your doubt if you still harbour any.
written by cahaya, June 14, 2008 14:25:07
RPK, another great article. “You eliminate the plague by killing the rats”, a title that caught my eye. So I began reading. Wait a minute, RPK is not writing about rats, those rodents which some regard as pets and others consider as pests. Neither is he writing about plague (that highly contagious disease spread by rats). Ah ha . . . we get it:
“Rats” = those rodent-like leaders who say “read my lips” then don’t walk their talk. “Plague” = highly contagious addiction of the greedy, aka “corruption” that leads to wastages, high administrative costs, and causes much suffering to the rakyat.

Perhaps killing “the rats” could be too severe. Better rehabilitating them, and making them pay for their misdeeds through hard labour.

More seriously, I agree with you that we want to hear their plans to cut out corruption, stimulate the economy, increase productivity in the civil service, etc.
written by chaiksyn, June 14, 2008 14:25:19
Sigh….I just love the way Iran solved its serious corruption problem in 1979. They lined up 10,000 corrupted civil servants and shot them all. No more corrupted government officers, no more corruption. How I wish I had been born in Iran instead of England. I would have had a great time in 1979. Sigh…..

Pete.....

Can we do that here, in Malaysia! Wow, I would to see that happen!Bang Bang Bang! half million corrupted civil servants dead!
written by cahaya, June 14, 2008 14:27:35
Malaysia’s problem is corruption. We spend double what we should because of corruption. Corruption, not subsidies, is what is killing this country’s economy. Corruption, not subsidies, is what is bankrupting Malaysia. Hundreds of billions has been wasted over the last 51 years since Merdeka.

In “The Sociology Of Corruption”, Dr Syed Hussein Alatas quotes several great reformers: Abdul Rahman Ibn Khaldun (Islamic scholar, 1332-1406) considered the root cause of corruption to be the passion for luxurious living within the ruling group. Thus they resort to corrupt dealings brought about economic difficulties, which in turn induced further corruption (Don’t we hate those “rats”!). Wang An Shih (great reformer, 1021-1086) identified two absolute prerequisites against corruption = power-holders of high moral calibre, and rational and efficient laws (= good leaders and good judiciary).

Corruption is due to bad laws plus bad leaders.

That is why we need a good (reformed) judiciary. = good laws
That is why Malaysians are looking forward to a new government: a team of leaders who show Competency, Accountability and Transparency! = good leaders
written by khan3, June 14, 2008 14:31:05
"...and the true size of government in 1996 expands to nearly 17 million, or more than eight times larger than the standard headcount of 1.9 million used by Congress and the President to declare the era of big government over."

The True Size of Government: http://www.govexec.com/features/0199/0199s1.htm
written by cwy, June 14, 2008 14:46:08
Nearly all Malaysian politicians are good at giving lip services! They just talk by moving their thick lips, some having bad breath, some with saliva flying all over, some with denture protruding. Just talk to take home fat allowance and plus, plus...
We need to have real leaders for our country, who are not cracy for power and money, who don't lie and bullshit, who cheat and plunder......
We need real leaders who love and care, who can give and sacrifice.....
OMG,where to look for these real leaders to lead our nation?
written by Super Admin, June 14, 2008 14:46:14
RPK's blood bath is in inverted commas (‘blood bath’) like when he wrote '**** face' (figure of speech, not literally).
written by Kyle, June 14, 2008 14:53:41
no need to line them up and execute them.
just don't cross them in the next ballot papers.
then send them to gulag.
let them rot.
shooting them is just too cheap for them.
let them suffer first.
the way ordinary RAKYAT suffer.
written by JUST, June 14, 2008 14:55:43
http://www.thestar.com.my/news...sec=nation
written by Khan, June 14, 2008 15:03:31
Nowadays, I am more inclined to support RPK to lead Pakatan Rakyat than anyone else.

I certainly think that majority of us here would readily agree with my view.
written by lynn, June 14, 2008 15:05:39
RPK, thank you very much for a great piece! Starting tomorrow this pathetic govt will stop using the word 'bankrupt'.

A good government never had to explain itself the way umno-led bn govt does because its actions & decisions have been well-thought through & are justified. With good governance, it means never having to resort to drastic measures the way this govt reacted (jerking action) every now and then. This is the only country in the civilised world where the govt is perpetually on the defensive.

A firing squad is a fantastic way to get rid of all rotten corrupt politicians aka scumbags of the earth who are unfortunately called VVIPs, and whom stupid citizens had scraped & bowed, waited on them! T*iu Niamah. VIP my ass.

P/S: Jan, that case of accused civil servant RM6k is just a monkey show for dumb-down citizens to watch & nod their heads that the gov't is tackling corruption. We want civil servants with millions/billions in unexplained wealth, hung by their balls besides seizing all the ill-gotten wealth..
written by mgeo, June 14, 2008 15:10:50
Civil servants who have ethics are a rarity, despite claims to the contrary. They follow the lead of our political servants. The govt. shows alarming enthusiasm for huge projects and even more for huge purchases, while usually claiming "no budget" for basic and dependable amenities. The amounts involved have now reached RM 10s of millions at the local council level, 100s of millions at the state level and billions at the national level. Even more shocking is the ease with which increases in costs are allowed, instead of demanding compensation for breach of contract. Tackling the base of this pyramid of evil - low-ranking staff - is insignificant. Secret overseas bank accounts must be opened up. International financial and other bodies that keep advising us know this, of course.
written by nasilemak, June 14, 2008 15:12:33
POISON THE RATS LAH!!!

Everytime I return home from overseas, I feel as if I have stepped into a parallel universe; Us in here, the rest out there.

We are constantly told by our Govt we are doing billion RM "world class projects" as if no msians has ever left the country & knows what world class is really all about!

In Msia, We ARE WORLD CLASS for

- The most insane, illogical statements coming from Leaders, MPs, govt officials (one cringes everytime they open their mouths)

- Ministers with neither the relevant management experience, skills nor education to run the country..ok sorry. kissing a**ses are their unique quality!

- Huge Wastage (or is that Coruption?)

- Weak & Ineficient govt

- Most blatant racism (up there with South Africa pre-Mandela's release)

- Most expensive fuel for its ppl for an oil producing country

- Dancing the Joget (1 step forward, 2 steps back)

RPK - I disagree with Iran. Shooting is not the answer.

Corrupt officers should be stripped of ALLL assets traced outside the country.

The recovery of our stolen assets alone will bump up our Per capita Income to the same level of Singaporeans ie US14,000 (Msia) vs US33,000 (Singapore)!
written by Mr Smith, June 14, 2008 15:19:11
I read this article is one breath!!!
Because I am worried the title will prompt the AG to institute murder threat or intimidation charges against you!
You see, if you line them up and shoot them like how they did in Iran, then we won't have a PM, no more UMNO Supreme Council, no more PDRM, no more Cabinet Ministers, no more local councils, no Barisan Nasional, no more AG chambers and just a handful of judges!
Because all of them will be shot dead.

Every word you have written here is the whole truth and nothing but the truth.
Anwar should appoint you Anti-corruption Minister or Stolen-Money-Recovery Minister when he become PM and you better accept the offer.
Let these buggers shit bricks!!

written by Al Ambia, June 14, 2008 15:20:33
"They lined up 10,000 corrupted civil servants and shot them all."This is the best solution."Kill a chicken in front of the monkey" then only they realise crime doesnt pay.Start with the mamak,samy,Ling.........

written by cahaya, June 14, 2008 15:20:45
RPK, a few more thoughts. Don't kill the rats!

Get rid of the rats with CATs!
where CAT = Competency, Accountability and Transparency

What a great alternative to corruption, addiction to greed, "tidak apa" attitude!
written by penangite, June 14, 2008 15:22:52
I agree with Raja Petra 3000%

You must eliminate any infectious disease by destroying the agent or vector.

Cheerio~
written by cwy, June 14, 2008 15:23:50
Lon2 ago, people said we don't need a butcher's knife to kill a chicken!
In recent Malaysian crime, theey shouldn't need to use C4 to kill a weak Mongolian woman!
BTW, Malaysia is a civilised and 'perihatin' country.
If RPK takes over the government, just send those stupid leaders to Kamunting Camp. And make sure all the present retainees to be released, becaused these stupid leaders are infected with fatal diseases without cure!
written by K W Waran, June 14, 2008 15:28:50

YM RPK,

Could not agree with you more on the aspects of the big "F" Faces one face from SOME civil servants in the government departments. That was Spot-on.

Allow me to share my experience gained only yesterday. I had to contact a department in the Treasury in Putrajaya by telephone yesterday afternoon at around 3.15pm. After trying and waiting for ten minutes, at long last, somebody answered

From 3.25pm till almost 3.45pm, I was transferred from one section to another with each section not knowing what the hell I was talking about. Hence, I was entertained by that sickening music while I was kept on hold. But during the intermittent period when somebody actually talked and asked what I wanted, I could not help hearing the sound in the background.

It sounded as though a Carnivel was going on. There were a lot of yakking too on high decibels and when a person responded, I, YM RPK, was indeed made to feel as though I had trespassed into some Karnival Sure Tak Heboh. I am absolutely sure that many of our folks would have faced similar or worser circumstances in this respect.

That adventured/misadventure stopped when a kind hearted lady resolved the matter within 3 minutes. So, there are some really good ones too amongst them parasites.

Have a nice weekend, YM RPK, Bro Labisman et al/Super Admin.

written by Surind Raj, June 14, 2008 15:39:48
Kill Em' All!!! Who cares about sorting them out...hehe smilies/tongue.gif

Anywayz, it's time to have a complete overhaul of our government admin. Leaner, meaner & more efficient & effective. We'll said bro & have a good weekend.
written by kupas, June 14, 2008 15:40:48
agreed with RPK - the subsidies for fuel and basic necessities should remain. Civil service and politicians should contain cost. What is being offered today by PM - is just an eye wash.

Getting sharir to use ERL to his office in Putrajaya is not good enough. Makes many of us puke. Shahrir is nobody's mentor. He is not going to be a good example for the rakyat to follow. What a waste of time. Pl get him and the bunch of monkeys in BN and GLCs (blue Blood) to use LRT and STAR at peak hours on daily basis and they have to be on time - 8.00 or 8.45 a.m as the case may be.

Looks like if Ku Li becomes PM - the corruption and corrupt practices will not end.

Malaysians must demand that both corruption and corrupt practices to end immediately.

Those engage in such activities must be asked to resign.

Power vested with everyone of us. say "TAK NAK RASUAH "
written by aryn, June 14, 2008 15:45:12
Shoot all corrupted leaders and civil servants?

If this were to be done in Malaysia, 99% of the Umno/BN leaders and 50%of the top civil servants and 25% of the lower echelons would face the firing squad. Not forgetting 100% of the cronies and relatives of the corrupted Umno/BN leaders!

DSAI, weed out corruption and show us your blueprint inded.
written by ttwangsa, June 14, 2008 15:51:35
Dear RPK, if we follow Iran solution in controlling corruption by shooting all corrupted civil servants and ministers, we will end up having with no ministers from the current government.

We have no problem with this situation and in fact we will better off without them.
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, June 14, 2008 15:52:07
"The country will go bankrupt if the government continues giving out subsidies, says Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah".

KULI,
U R NOT QUALIFIED TO TALK ABOUT SUBSIDIES!!!
REMEMBER THE "BMF SCANDAL" OUR COUNTRY MALAYSIA ALMOST WENT BANKRUPT "MUFLIS" WHEN U WERE THE FINANCE MINISTER.
written by Commonsenses, June 14, 2008 15:56:51
very well said RPK!
written by apa jadi, June 14, 2008 16:00:10
That's a good one RPK. The title aptly says that we have rats scuttling.

We can one day be lip readers if we come out sober. For those who fails reading lips, they will be mummuring their lips like one from the cucoo's nest.

I is sad to hear from a former Finance Minister that the country will go bankrupt with susidies. I would appreciate if he looks into the finacial reports and see for himself where the chunk of the money goes, before he try brainwashing those lip readers.

What about study loans, bank loans written off? What about big white elephants all over Malaysia? What about those failed projects albiet pilferages? Are they not a form subsidy?

In simple word, just read RPK word:
Today, we talk about ending the subsidies because we no longer have any money. But we no longer have any money not because of the subsidies but because of the corruption.

Just add it up. The amount is astronomical.
and not pro-business.

It summurises the whole issue.

Out of a workforce of 10 million or so, 1.1 million-1.2 million work for the government. This means about 5% of Malaysians work for the government.

We do not only have white elephants, we have dinosaurs too.
written by ctchoolaw, June 14, 2008 16:07:24
Correct, RPK! Plug leakages like corruption,waste and crony negotiated tenders and there will be s surplus for subsidies. I'm glad you've come back with another power posting. http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by sampalee, June 14, 2008 16:07:38
Make it short,get RPK to be PM.He already knows all the ill and being a street-wise guy,he probably have most of the solution.Do not waste time with politicians.
written by cruzeiro, June 14, 2008 16:08:55
You don't understand ............. - this Monkey King and King Rat needs monkeys who understand their concept of "financial prudence".
We need Patriotism with a Rat's Kris & the Compassion for the Monkey's Crutch.
That is what we have BTN for - to make the Monyets who understand these sophisticated concepts.
Everybody knows that consumer spending drives the economy ......

To get people spending, what you need to do is give them money for nothing - that is called "subsidy" lah .... ala NEP style.
That's why we need a 1.2 million strong civil service, who are all ISO certified "to deliver" what the King Rat wants - Spend, Spend & Spend.
(If you don't finish your budget this year, your allocation will drop in the next - so make sure we have plenty of "conferences", "lawatan sambil belajar", jamuan, hari this & that towards the end of the year ....)

It doesn't really matter if the value of the money slides down the slippery slope - after all they aren't doing much, except thumping their chest in the "Ketuanan Monyet" spirit.
And buying Proton on loans for life, bonded with non-performing "study" loans and thus have become slaves in their own land without realizing it!
Never mind if they are just souped-up monkeys, in souped-up Proton tin cans .... That's called a Vote Bank!
==============================

What about the Monkeys?
http://cruzinthots.********.co...nkeys.html
written by Kritz, June 14, 2008 16:18:46
written by ultraman, June 14, 2008 16:23:00
I sincerelly believe you are much intelligent than Anwar Ibrahim, Ku Li, Khairy and all the cabinet ministers. Pak Lah and Najib if compared to you is like comparing charcoal and diamond. These two are void of ideas and courage. They are at a loss at their skill of country management.
Now that the judiciary is tanted as evidenced by Lingam's tape and Ian Chin revelation, they still buat tak tahu.
As you aptly put it, kill the rats to eliminate the plage.
Similarly, bring those corrupted figures implicated in the tape to trial in order that the judiciary be cleanse
written by power2u, June 14, 2008 16:23:12
RPK, you never cease to amaze me with your intelligent analysis of our countries maladies n problems.You hav my vote for PM of this country.
I totally agree that Corruption is the main problem in this country n this sickness is bcos of MahaZalim( He started n endorsed the whole culture where it is right to be corrupted as long as you r in his party n that it is a sin/crime to expose corruption.
Maybe that's why God still gives him long life to that he can face firing squad (good way to solve corruption problem in Msia as there will not be enough jails for all his gang).
written by jchew, June 14, 2008 16:31:06
No, you cannot reveal all your cards sometimes, this is the true reality.
For example - If you tell the goal keeper that you are going to kick to his left, he will know where to block and you will never win the game!
"MT" will not be that popular if RPK reveals all from the beginning and how it operates!
If Anwar was to cheat his voters, he knows that he will not last long.
What I can say is as long as Anwar Ibrahim can truly bring reform to the country, he will be the true champion of all rakyat Malaysia. That is what we care about.
We have already lived under the corrupted system for more than 50 years now, PR should be given a chance to prove that they can do it. New, fresh and transparent!
written by SocratesI, June 14, 2008 16:44:47

A bloated civil service is a sure sign the Govt. of the day is trying to provide "employment" and then have these civil servants brainwashed by Biro Tata Negara, so that they will keep voting the Govt. into power, and even commit crimes (police brutality, hiding and shredding of evidence of corruption and abuse of power, keeping mum like that idiot of a Razak Baginda etc. etc.)against the RAKYAT and the Nation, to keep these RATS in power.

First, we have totake over the reins of power, and DSAI with Pakatan RAKYAT is the party of choice and best poised to do the job NOW.

Then, we throw out and repeal all the draconian Laws that have been enacted to keep the Judiciary subservient to the Executive and that keeps the people muzzled, ISA, OSA, PPPA, Seditions Act, Illegal Assemblies Act, etc. while freeing ALL detainees under ISA, or charge them, if the case merits it.

Then we go after the RATS and while we may not shoot them as in Iran, which is most tempting (!!!), we can hit them where it hurts the most, their pockets - we extradite the lot of them back to Malaysia to stand trial and annex ALL their ill-gotten gains whether it is held by their families or whoever, and then we indict them for TREASON, which carries the death penalty ... to quicken the return of monies to Malaysia, we can offer an amnesty period after which these people will be charged with TREASON.

Then, we re-instate all the subsidies and more besides ... and scrap Proton and get rid of excise and import duties for cars as with APs.

Let us give DSAI the benefit of the doubt first, and work with him to cut off this tumour Malaysia is suffering from called Barisan Najis.

Down with Barisan Najis Plague !! Kill the RATS !!
Support Pakatan RAKYAT !!

written by densemy, June 14, 2008 16:49:31
I couldnt agree more... I have the feeling that in the PR states common sense and honesty is starting to make its mark but there is a long way to go yet.. and many heads will roll in the process. But I also have the feeling that Anwar is simply a PR facade on an UMNO brain. He needs to work harder at convincing the people that he really does stand for honesty and fairness in governance. One way to do that is to display his long term plans for all to see

Those BN ministers who say PR should get on with the process of governing and forget about the witch hunting obviously have a lot to hide. In Malaysia today witch hunting is the only way to cleanse the country of a very messy past

As well as corruption I think we also need to take a long hard look at extravagance. There is no doubt that Malaysians love ornamentation but the role of government is primarily functionality... good quality designed to last

The extravagance of Putrajaya is already falling apart because the goal was ornamentation rather than quality

written by Kritz, June 14, 2008 16:59:20
written by wongnoball, June 14, 2008 17:07:34
Read my lips: if the Malaysian government doesn't 'employ' these sub-standard graduates, who else ............. ??????????
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by shiokguy, June 14, 2008 17:08:33
Corruption is The Cored

How do these countries do it without going bankrupt, if subsidies are supposed to make a country go bankrupt? Britain, for example, has the best education system in the world -- and that is why foreign students do not mind paying high fees to receive a British education, thereby making it possible to subsidise local students. But then Britain’s universities are not headed by BTN operatives whose main function is to brainwash Malay students into believing that Malays own this country under the Ketuanan Melayu concept while the ‘immigrant’ Indians and Chinese should be reminded that they are ‘guests’ of this country and if they don’t like it they can go back to India or China.

This is why we lose out so much in last 20 years, due to corruption, NEP and stupid education policy.

Corruption? I have nothing to add and we all know it is the cored of all the evil in Malaysia.

NEP? Suppose for the poor, but now it is for the connected only.

Education? Why change the medium of education to BM? The stupidest move ever and more... Not the best are offer the places in UNI. The setup of Matriculation as smoke screen, what a Joke...

Read here about: NEP, Foreign Graduate is Better, Singapore beat us, PSD Scholarship and more

Link>>>> http://shiokguy.********.com/search/label/Politic

written by educationist, June 14, 2008 17:17:00
The challenge has been issued.
And it is a very pertinent one.
If Anwar considers himself to the head of the government in waiting, then he ought to let us know how petrol prices will be rolled back.
As RPK shown here, we have enough of reading lips only!!
written by raven1958, June 14, 2008 17:20:44
Wastage is what killed Malaysia.....wastage by corrupted politicians and a rotten civil service.....politicians you can vote out.....civil service????? Malaysians should take bolder steps going after civil servants.....JUST GIVE THEM HELL!!!!!!
written by tzarina, June 14, 2008 17:37:25
This is my experience recently dealing with our gomen "servants".

I wanted to ask information to the Customs Dept in Msia on export duties for some items I want to ship to the UK. I called...waited 5 full minutes before the call was picked up...then asked the lady regarding my question...she was blur..she said "tunggu sekejap"...waited...another lady picked up with this greeting "Ya!"...no "hello"..no "good morning"..no MANNERS. I asked my question again...she got blur...she said "tunggu"...then finally, I got transfered to a Chinese guy (I somehow knew I was going to get my answer this time)...he gave me my answer, but made me feel like why the hell I am calling and offering myself to make payment for exporting goods...no one does that...all curi-curi and bring in..he did not say that exactly, but that was the feeling I had when I was passed around until this guy who gave me my answer.

Then I called the UK Border Control...Immediately it was answered, an electronic voice gave me my options, and the call was picked up. A Pakistani Brit answered all my questions, gave me further information and other numbers to call. I was transfered for my other questions, and the lady who answered started her explanations with "This is how it's done, honey.." Wow.

I dread my coming back to Msia and facing our "**** faced" civil servants...
written by tmithomas, June 14, 2008 18:07:51
i remember watching a tamil movie long time ago. i don't understand much of it but with the aid of subtitles, i get the gist.

the thing that i remember most about that movie was that the judge stripped the corrupted government officials (an ex-minister, i think) of all his assets, his children's assets and all his other immediate family's assets. the ex-minister not only is left penniless, his next of kin, even if innocents will be stripped of all their assets, irregardless of the means they earned it. this is something like in ancient china, if you defy the government, your whole family will be beheaded. this is huge disincentive to would be corruptor because not only they pay for it, their loved ones will pay for it too. it is very draconian i think but i think it will be very effective as many tends to use their next of kins names to hide all the ill gotten money, right?
written by tamansegar, June 14, 2008 18:11:16
We should kick out all the BN RAT once and for all before Malaysia become Zimbabee the second. Also we should privatise all our government depts fully owned by the rakyat not the BN bullshit. Look at Telekom and Tenaga control by BN is giving shit services. The custom officers in Malaysia is among the worst when it come to service as they act like they are the Raja or Sultan and behaving like moroons. We truly someone who can truly ran Malaysia before we alal go bust kapoot.
written by shangrilapeace, June 14, 2008 18:22:57
"You eliminate the plague by killing the rats"

Dear Petra,

Human beings are not rats.
Your articles are always a nice read BUT I fear the 'FIRE' in you in the followings:

You said:

"And if Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar don’t understand what I am talking about,
then step aside and let me show you what I mean. But be prepared for a ‘blood
bath’ because only a ‘butcher’s knife’ can achieve the results".

"Sigh….I just love the way Iran solved its serious corruption problem in 1979.
They lined up 10,000 corrupted civil servants and shot them all".

But, you are also my of my hero.
written by merlin2001, June 14, 2008 18:29:35
Darn good piece. What you have avoided saying is that the civil service is run by
one race. Alright at least 90 % of them. Malaysia belongs to them as per the Ketuanan Melayu. So, who is destroying Malaysia?
Can you have a blood bath when the majority in service cares not for the good of the Nation and THEY are the ONES with the majority.
Astalavista Malaysia.
written by Sabahfan, June 14, 2008 18:55:40
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Dear everyone,

do you agree with me if i say...

" I dont mind paying world price per litre for my fuel, but government to return to me all the taxes paid on purchase of the car.

for every car i buy, the tax is more than 100 percent. Just return me 20 K for the tax on a kancil and i can buy more than enough petrol for the kancil until the natural life goes for the kancil....

RIGHT OR NOT??????

So I ask the UMNO govt, what have you been doing with these taxes, make yourselves rich thru the APs ????
written by maverich, June 14, 2008 19:10:10

we also talk more than get things done here....

everyone can talk.... but not many people can walk the talk...

a journey of thousand miles start with a single step.... who gonna make that single step first ??? PKR ?? i dont think so.... we have to change our destiny , not hoping and praying others will do for us..

written by jchew, June 14, 2008 20:07:00
I am true believer of free speech and also admire RPK's courage however, we must not agree blindly.

I do not believe what is being said by RPK is 100% right as to lay all your cards and play the game. RPK knows that if he lays all his cards, "MT" will be nothing.

Do not care how Anwar wants to play his political games as long as he is in for the good cause, he is a good leader.

As the saying goes, you can fool some people all the time, but you can not fool all the people all the time.

written by tanahairku2, June 14, 2008 20:39:47
"There is no such thing as subsidy for the oil that is produced in Malaysia. The term ‘subsidy’ has been royally used left, right and centre but no one is really sitting down and thinking hard and asking themselves, what is there to subsidise? Who is paying whom?"
The above is an extract taken from a Malaysiakini article by Ganesh and a good read for everyone.
Having read that, we should now ask our MPs to demand what the govt. is subsidizing. Its the rakyat's oil, so what subsidy are we talking about? And while we are at it, we should also ask our MPs. to demand that the Petronas account be made public. Its shocking that not a single word has been uttered by the govt. as a response to the criticism about the Petronas account. If there is nothing to hide, then let the public know how the money is spent. As long as this is not done, the rakyat will remain angry over the fuel hike.
written by tippingpoint, June 14, 2008 20:48:24
RPK as the next prime minister-in waiting might be written in the stars!!!

PR is awaiting for Petra Raja to take leadership and PR will be arranged as RPK.

Go for it RPK. Do you have a DPM in mind?
written by confuseus, June 14, 2008 20:57:42
“Instead, say ‘read my lips, no more wastages, high administrative costs and corruption’. That is what we want to hear Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar say. And if Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar don’t understand what I am talking about, then step aside and let me show you what I mean.”

AWESOME, RPK…and that is the reason why they are called POLITIKUS !!
Seriously folks, like Confuseus said before, we do not need all these IDIOTS' POLITICIANS to run (around and around like tikus) this country. Even if the parliament is dissolved PERMANENTLY, we can still progress efficiently since we still have the Government servants i.e. C.Judge (alas, Fairuz gone), C.Military, IGP (not Musa), AG (not Gani), KSN, (SPR Chairman-obsolete) etc, a Khalifah as a Chief Whip and RPK as the Chief Psychiatrist (to console and rehabilitate all these out of work politicians).

Malaysia will be blissful EVER AFTER !!!
written by confuseus, June 14, 2008 21:00:03
SIGH, and HEAVY SIGH !!!!!!!
written by Catharsis, June 14, 2008 21:43:27
..................China actually has less Corruptions in the government. They'll face the firing squad if civil servants corrupt........................

YOU GOT TO BE CAREFUL WITH THAT- WE WOULD END UP WITH NO MORE GOVERNMENT AS YOU KNOW IT IS A GOVERNMENT OF THE SELF, BY THE SELF AND FOR THE SELF-

**** SO WHAT EVERYBODY KNOWS ABOUT IT AND THEY ARE STILL THE GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY- THIS IS THE MOTHER OF ALL IRONIES
written by cahaya, June 14, 2008 21:53:17
RPK, your thoughts on rats caused me to dream about cats! Lots of them.
Earlier I wrote: “Don’t kill the rats. Get rid of rats with CATs.”

Imagine CATs everywhere!
In every corner of Malaysia, from the corridors of Parliament to kampungs, from civil service offices to the highways, from plantations to markets, and so on.
Those rats would have no place to hide, and may become an endangered species!

CATs = A new team of leaders with a new culture for doing things:
Cekap (efficient),
Alim (educated, pious, high moral values),
Tekun berusaha (diligent at work)

Wow, imagine cats everywhere, and no rats!
written by James Loh, June 14, 2008 22:10:26
Pete is totally right. It's time to stop the BS from Pakatan Rakyat. I'm tired of the protest here and there. I want a constructive solution from Anwar on solving Malaysia problem.

This DAP proposed 2008 budged which is created by Tony Pua:
Link: http://www.scribd.com/doc/2344...sed-Budget

written by Rohani Hitam, June 14, 2008 22:23:13
Those leakages have caused 1/2 trillion of our wealth and the lethargic civil service caused us 480 billions for the past 51 years. This left a trickle 120 billions for "true" development.

Malaysian politicians and their cronies stashed away 120 billions in overseas deposits and assests that they are so comfortable if we go into bankruptcy.
written by glock17, June 14, 2008 23:21:05
Dear RPK...

Another fantastically comment. We luv it when you mentioned the '**** face' in the goverment servants face whenever we aske for help or guidance. This is reality and all of us has been there. Imagine, once this '**** face' start doing side business or temporary job..hehe.

Wastage and corruption oils the Omnoputra racist regime. Without this under the guised of NEP or Ketuanan rhetoric, Omnoputra have been long gone and live like beggars or pariahs in the gutters.

Our wealth leak to their cronies and families...This hypocrites under the guise of ultra racist ethno nationalist is actually after the $$$$ for their selfish greed. Imagine those hundred of billions that have been squandered past 50 years..and yet this bastards are still not satisfy till they bled the country dry and see us fall like flies and carcasses.

God Have Mercy On Us All.

Glock17
written by ISA MANTEQI, June 14, 2008 23:30:24
A good article RPK, as usual but sorry to have to inform you that your knowledge of corruption in Iran is NOT correct. A lot of people may have been lined up and shot but did it end corruption? Well..... read my lips
written by glock17, June 14, 2008 23:33:10
By the way...in China, those corrupted officials are executed by one shot to the back of their head...and guess what??? The communist party charged the bullet cost to their immediate families after the execution. Nothing goes to waste. We should learn this.

Glock17
written by Toyolbuster, June 14, 2008 23:46:21
Yes, I did "disturb" a **** face immigration officer once when I went to renew my passport. He seemed annoyed when I went to make some enquiry as he was busy reading the morning papers at the counter, and he just came back from his 10am coffee break to attend to his counter duty.
I wouldn't want them to be shot like it was in Iran, such a waste of human labor, just make them clean public places for 10 years. I would love to see those umno buggers cleaning the pudu wet market.
written by chaimah, June 15, 2008 00:04:17
You are absolutely right in that it is not subsidies per say that is the root of our problems. The root of our problems as you pointed out is wastage, high admin cost, leakage or corruption. In this sense I would disagree with you that we should not stop subsidies.

Until the government can ensure that subsidies will not lead to abuse, then it would be just a total waste of money as the benefits are not realised by the people it was intended to assists in the first place.

Classic example is the Diesel subsidy, a total disaster. I am now also convinced that the price hike in petrol to RM2.70 is just a disaster waiting to happen. The government claims that on the one hand it will save about $14 bn from the price hike. On the other hand it also says that it will use about $7.5bn to subsidise petrol and the balance to subsidise food security ( what is this?), flour subsidy, bread subsidy etc.

Going by our government’s track record of Diesel subsidies, you can bet that all these subsidies will end up costing more than the savings in the petrol price hike. So why bother to increase the price of petrol on one hand and then giving it all back in some form of subsidies which is very likely going to cost more than the savings. Why put the Rakyat and the business community through all this hell ? The numbers just do not make sense.

To make it worse:

1)They are going to incur more cost by giving $625 rebate to all cars below 2000cc.
Can anyone calculate how much this will cost the government.

2)Now they are talking about reducing income tax, toll charges - how much is this going to cost the government.

Wow, our big think tank brains worked very hard to solve our problems and this is the best they can come up with. How do you expect people who implement a policy and within two days makes a reversal. These are people we have empowered to make decisions ,plan our future, and look after our current interest and the future interest of our children. They cannot even plan one week ahead and yet we allow them to plan our future – we must be crazy.

I am willing to give anybody else a chance who can make simple logical decisions based on simple numbers that add up. We don’t need a grand blue print for now, what we need is someone who can just spell out the numbers logically and honestly and the rakyat will understand and accept the reality of it all. When we can accept the reality we can move mountains together to solve our problems.

When truth is practised always, there will never be a need to lie or mislead and problems can be solved more efficiently and quickly. Instead today, our government is spending much effort and time in putting out fires and everytime there is a fire put out another starts.- Why?

written by MobyDick, June 15, 2008 00:10:28
Can feel the UMNO type of attitude creeping back into Anwar these past few weeks with the policy-talk; coming from 2 former finance minister, MAY GOD HELP MALAYSIAN RAKYAT. smilies/angry.gif
written by DontPlayGod, June 15, 2008 00:13:31
As I have been writing for umpteen times in M-T, the whole public(government, including privatised Government entities) is one big welfare department, specifically maintained for the master race, in particular supporters of UMNO. They get good pay(UMNO makes sure the pay is now good), good fringe benefits, good bonuses, etc. all for doing practically nothing. Go into any Government department, and most probably you will see half the staff is not around, maybe even up to 60% of the staff is missing.

Some could be in the washrooms, smoking, or even taking a nap, some are in the pantry enjoying a long drink, some are in the canteen having a yak with fellow colleagues over a cup of tea, and some could even be out in the streets doing their own private things or shopping. But the government staff are untouchable. They are specificlly looked after by UMNO, and this could be where all those billions of Petronas money could have gone to. The UMNO Government reckoned that the Government staff are underpaid, and promptly gave them a hefty increase some years back. From one month bonus, its now gone up to maybe 2 months bonus. Next, don't be surprised, AAB will approve a 3-months bonus, possibly before calling for the next General Election.

Yes, all the rakyat's money is being poured to support the Government staff, and as RPK wrote, maybe in next to no time, 80% of the rakyat's money will go into paying the public staff salary/allowances/bonuses, not to mention the Government ministers, etc.

Yes, the Government in pouring the rakyat's hard-earned money into supporting the much over-staffed manpower in Government service, and most of the time, the staff are doing nothing, or maybe, I am wrong, just yakking and doing nothing.

Don't be surprised, though, the Government is obliged to employ all the graduates from Mara universities and training institutes. And thousands of graduates are "passing" out from these institutiions. You can hardly find these mass produced graduates in private companies.

Imagine, with the tens of billions earned by Petronas, and with the billions collected from taxes yearly, Malaysia still needs to borrow from China to build the second bridge, which cost 2.4 billion ringgit initially, but has now ballooned to over 4 billion ringgit. Why can't the Government just spend a few billions on the bridge? Why couldn't the Government have spent a few billions of ringgit constructing the North-South(PLUS) expressway, instead of privatising it(using Government money of all things!!!), thereby exerting a heavy toll on the motorists and rakyat by collecting a high toll.
written by trublumalaysian, June 15, 2008 00:32:03
99.9% of BN politicians should be put to pasture. wiped out from the political landscape. Shot dead to oblivion. Then, Give meritocracy a chance.

Our Civil service might, just might gain back past credibility rather than to submit to the current landscape of mongrels.

good weekend to all and god bless
written by Milo, June 15, 2008 00:33:54
I don't know if DSAI has a workable economic blueprint, but I do know the present leadership do not have one (based on current evidence). Assuming DSAI has one, I just wonder if it is the right strategy to reveal it too soon as the BN can just 'cut & paste' with modifications and claim they have a better one. Furthermore, I am not sure it is fair to demand for a full economic blueprint from PR now as it requires resources to produce a really good one. Does the PR have the resources to draft one even if they have the right conceptual model?

If it boils down to trust, the BN leadership, being infested with 'rats', already proved that they can't be trusted. I would for those reasons above still bet on the PR under DSAI to institude workable reforms. It can't be anymore risky than what we are having now where the whole system is plagued with ills with no cure in sight.
written by Malaysian Abroad, June 15, 2008 01:08:45
Dear Raja,

A very good article indeed. Like they say in the UK, you must not only be "Tough on Corruption bit also Tough on Root of Corruption".

By the way, MT has a strong following in the UK. MT has been linked to the Bent Society site. See http://bentsocietyblog.********.com/

written by freespeecher, June 15, 2008 01:34:02
Petronas account is private ? err...then why lar did Kuli setup Petronas this way lar ?
written by joeawk, June 15, 2008 01:42:41
Buang duit dalam longkang. 10 TNB personnel came to work but only 2 works. The rest just loiter around. Tariff rate going up. This happened at night, it meant overtime rate.
written by SamYap, June 15, 2008 01:54:11
A close Malay friend who emigrated to USA many many years ago, gave me this answer when I asked him why as a privileged bumiputra he was leaving our country:

"Saudara, I am leaving because I want a better future for my children, and they will not get it here. We, Malays have been duped into believing that we own the earth and we will always be tops. Umno is not really helping us Malays, thats just an excuse they use to keep power within their own circle in perpetuity. The saddest and sorriest part of the whole thing is that many Malays believe in Umno and will continue to support it till doomsday".

I remembered that my Malay friend paused to see if I had anything to say. I was too dumbfounded and he continued.

"If ever our country were to progress, the Malays must change their mindset and be more progressive. I did not take up the course offered by UM because I knew that my Chinese classmates had better qualifications and they were denied their applications. That will not help my race nor will it help our country. Thats why I preferred to study accountancy part time just to prove to myself that the qualification I got is not tainted by racist policies. And one last thing, if ever our country will be saved, only a Malay can do it. Lets face facts, the non-Malays have been so cowed, a majority of them will simply give up on change. If they try to vote any other way, a majority of Malays will still vote
for UMNO, so the fact remains that a Malay will have to rise to the occassion. That day may never come because if anything goes wrong with country, UMNO will conveniently lay the blame on the non-Malays, and the Malays will swallow it hook, sinker and all. Furthermore, its no secret that my race is the most corrupted amongst all three main races. Its becoming a way of life for them. Even as I was terminating the electricity service when I sold my house, the real estate agent told me that if I want my deposit rebate fast, I may have to tip the TNB officer to get it done quick. Now, you know why I am leaving."

The above aren't the exact words my friend spoke. But the main facts are there.

My friend kept in touch with me till the late 1990s. I believe he is doing very well. He was no longer in the USA but living in Canada. He was a CFO in a Mat Salleh company and his children were doing very well. I am not sure where he is now, we lost touch since 2001.

In a way I think my friend's words are prophetic. Studying the published percentages of votes for Pakatan Rakyat's parties in the March 2008 election, a majority of Malays are still voting for the same bullshit from UMNO.

RPK told off the non-Malays for voting BN in the 1999 election. Yes, maybe they deserved the scolding. This time, the non-Malays delivered the votes but we are now let down by the majority of Malays who voted for BN.

And why are the UMNO politicians hanging back, unwilling to crossover or at least to resign and remain independent?

We don't need 30 BN MPs to crossover. We need just 50 BN MPs to resign fom their respective party and remain as Independents. Pakatan Rakyat would then have majority. But would anyone do it?
written by junjun40, June 15, 2008 02:18:05
Hi Tzarina,

Dont be too happy with the back office Customs Department staff as in your posting below....

...then finally, I got transfered to a Chinese guy (I somehow knew I was going to get my answer this time)...he gave me my answer, but made me feel like why the hell I am calling and offering myself to make payment for exporting goods...no one does that...all curi-curi and bring in..he did not say that exactly, but that was the feeling I had when I was passed around until this guy who gave me my answer.

Then I called the UK Border Control...Immediately it was answered, an electronic voice gave me my options, and the call was picked up. A Pakistani Brit answered all my questions, gave me further information and other numbers to call. I was transfered for my other questions, and the lady who answered started her explanations with "This is how it's done, honey.." Wow.

I dread my coming back to Msia and facing our "**** faced" civil servants...

Many years back, I do know of a young Malay graduate who was working in the Bank but have been applying to get a job with the Malaysian Customs. When he finally got the job and quit the Bank he did proudly boast eventhough the Customs job pay less than what he was getting in the Bank, the side income was tempting... he even spoke of how many of his peers was living beyond their means....

Also dont be taken in by what the back office Customs staff told you, I hear of many complaints of overseas returnees taxed big time for some stupid gifts or souvenirs at the airport. These items were brought home for their loved ones .... Many told me that at times, the tax demanded by the airport customs actually cost more than the purchase price they paid before bringing them into the country... This is actually a joke and does not augur well for ordinary folks back home and the stories that are told over the cyberspace of untold stories and sufferings of ordinary folks being victimised by the acute corruption happening in the country for almost a generation now.

Good luck to you, Tzarina
written by junjun40, June 15, 2008 02:39:18
Dear Tmitimoti and Rokiah hitam,

If ever PR or any force take over the country, the first immediate step is to sign a law to freeze all banking accounts and get the real owners or beneficiaries to come forward to claim them...else the money wil be treated under AML and confiscated like those laws relating to drug money...

This was done by one past President of South Korea, which I can't recall now for lapse of memory. Could anybody tell me if it was Chun Doo Hwan or Roh Tae Woo. Since that day, S. Korea begin a path of economy recovery and a economic giant it deserves today.

Really there is no other way to recover those money that is plundered for the past 40 years or so...at least we could recover some ashes....to rebuild this country
written by flyer168, June 15, 2008 03:35:28

Very well said.

With all your other comments, PM, other wannabes, BN & their UMNOputras together with all their corrupted GOONS are so thick & still in denial.....

This one is a "Beauty". Quote: "I just love the way Iran solved its serious corruption problem in 1979. They lined up 10,000 corrupted civil servants and shot them all. No more corrupted government officers, no more corruption."

Time is running out & when the rayaat cannot take it anymore....yes they will revolt & line them "Bastards" up the wall & eliminate all those BN & UMNOputras together with all their corrupted GOONS !
written by Michael Sun, June 15, 2008 03:55:38
Pete - this article is real vintage stuff.

Here in UK, government servants operate from old historical buildings and tables/chairs can be even older than the persons using them. But in Bolehland, government servants have to have brand new Putrajaya. With so much office space even elephants can do ballroom dancing and waltz around.

The London Heathrow (LHR) airport was built just after the WW2 and is still operating. In LHR with 60 year old equipment, luggage bags can be still be delivered immediately after arriving passengers cross the immigration check points. We have to change the whole luggage carriage system in KLIA just after 3 years of opening. Oh blimey!

M Bakri Musa has said that the government has become employer of last resort for thousands of un-employable Malay graduates. With the continued avowed policy of "Ketuanan Melayu" where there are more government employees than tax payers,it is time for us to review the situation.

After privatising the unitilities like telecoms, LLN etc and with computerisation, by right we should have a leaner government service. Lo and behold, how the hell we need to have an XXXXL-size government force.

Doing away with petrol subsidies appears economically sound, but then do poor tax payers have any choice in Malaysia? More than 50% of people in Tokyo, London, Singapore and Hongkong use public transport to commute to work. In KL, only 10% of people do that becos of chronic transportation system. Instead of a mass rapid trains we have LRT - light rail transport. Instead of a common LRT systems we have 2 different systems plus a monorail. That's why they went bankrupt and taxpayers money were used to bail them out again.

A Honda Jazz in UK cost GBP13,000 which is equivalent to 6 months' pay of a fresh trainee lawyer here in UK. In Malaysia, the same car cost RM 105,000 and it is equivalent to 58 months' gaji of a fresh trainee lawyer. You don't need to be a rocket scientist to figure that out.

To protect the Proton and make it look affordable, we raise taxes and introduce APs. Taxpayers suffer and BN cronies are laughing to the bank.

PM Badawi asked Malaysians to change lifestyle. He first have to stopped using a private Airbus jet for his travels and start using AirAsia like Penang CM Lim Guan Eng. A token 10% cut of entertainment allowance will not appease the poor hungry raayat who are smart enough see through such hypocricy.

If we reduce wastage, eliminate corruption, become more efficient and productive, adopt a maintenance culture instead of a replacement mentality, then there is hope again. There is no other option. Otherwise, Malaysia will be doomed forever.
written by Kaber, June 15, 2008 05:14:34
" step aside and let me show you what I mean." No doubt anwar is corrupt himself as proven during his days in UMNO yet so many are blinded by his articulate oratory skills including you RPK.

Very impressive. But how are you going to show your credible thought when you are just an ordinary blogger. You did not dare even to stand as a candidate so how to proof your case ?

RPK, truthfully speaking base on your own words spilled over MT and your tv appearance at RTM, I do not deny that you are a genuine fighter but something lacking in you. See, even unknown like the one who film the Linggam Video won an election and now proudly sit in parliment. You are 100 times better than this man.

RPK, don't waste your talent. Go for parliment and show all those corrupt bastards what it really like being a true leader.

written by kennyeu, June 15, 2008 05:22:40
Dear Sam Yap,

I would like to be friends with your friend too.
written by Angela Ooi, June 15, 2008 06:26:02
We DO have brains in the country but we have brainless, corrupted, self-!serving leaders to lead us to Zimbabwe! RPK for Msia's PM please!
written by Negarakuku, June 15, 2008 07:35:47
I am commenter number 100 smilies/grin.gif

BRAVO YM RPK, UNPLUGGED !!!!!!!!!!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by belljar, June 15, 2008 08:46:32
You nailed it again. You should really, really become our PM, not even Anwar!
written by lynn, June 15, 2008 09:34:08
"""Just go into any government department and see for yourself why. No one is working. Everyone is just sitting around doing nothing. And if you disturb their peace by going to a government office to ask for something just see the **** face they give you."""

Gosh, RPK, thanks for stating a true fact that remains to this day. For years, we hv been tolerating **** faces' civil servants from Immigration to LHDN, EPF, etc. They acted as if the world owes them a living. The worst are Immigration bastards, their extremely hostile, cold attitude leaves you ventilating for fresh air. You want to tell that **** face who worked with reluctance, hey you ****ing govt servant, change your ****ing attitude or get another job, but you can't cos you are at "his mercy". niaseng

Not only they show you **** face, but most are painstakingly slow, inefficient, so not only they are useless, they are over-staffed. What a situation we have here in bolehland.

Usually when we want to check for info or get something done, the govt servant in charge is always "gone for course", pergi training, pergi outstation, on leave, tea break, meeting, tak ada, sudah keluar".

RPK, consider going for Parliament. Malaysia will rock if you are our PM! We need men like you with enormous brains & integrity, a combination that is non-existent in the present govt. You can always hire a team to man M2T, hah? What say you, The Honourable Prime Minister of Malaysia, Raja Petra Kamaruddin.

written by malaysianohope, June 15, 2008 10:19:54
Greetings Abang,
As long as Malaysia is a net exporter of oil, it is quite prudent to subsidise petrol & diesel and the key to this is Petronas which must disclose its accounts in total so that there are no surprises like getting caught short by forward contract its oil deliveries at much lower prices while the oil prices keep ascending, meaning that its revenue would be far less than on paper. I still don't get it that its CEO Hassan Merican is so quiet on this bearing in mind he is an Accountant by profession unless he has something to hide. He did say that Petronas will go kaput by year 2018 but where are all the super profits gone.
With regards to Anwar since Pakatan Rakyat is on the ascendency I think that it's fair for the party to take power with Anwar at the helm. If Pakatan Rakyat does not perform then we shall show them the door like what we did to Barisan.
Cheers!
written by tmf, June 15, 2008 11:45:39
Dear Sam Yap,
There are capable Malays everywhere around the world and indeed, if they had remained in Malaysia, they would most likely not excel at all because of the sinister NEP which does not help the Malays.

On our civil service with excessive unproductive staff, again, like the year before, I recently went to our Gombak Land Office to pay my Cukai Tanah, I still had to park my car in an open clearing turned muddy due to the recent heavy rain and walk for quite a distance to the Land Office. Like the year before, there are still many covered car parks reserved for the staff only; like the year before, the VIP parking lot right in front of the Office with stainless steel railing reserved for the "top civil servant" there still remains. Have you ever seen Yeoh Tiong Lay reserving a permanent car park in front of Starhill or was there a permanent VIP parking lot for Lim Goh Tong in front of his hotel in Genting?

Though they are still known as civil SERVANTS and despite all sorts of ISO certifications displayed all over the walls these jokers still do not understand the concept of respect for customers, customers’ rights and customer service.

And in my case this time, the staff asked for my original titles as their computer system has not updated certain technical information which I believed can be easily traced there and then with information given by me.

I told the staff that it was silly for him to make it difficult for me to PAY! He just smiled and I was tempted to ask if he still voted for BN in the last election.

Many of the redundant staff should be retrenched and there are many jobs around currently taken up by millions of foreign workers, many of them learning valuable technical, construction and plantation skills and earning more than these civil servants, which they sent home.

NEP and a silly government took care of the Malays by putting so many of them in airconed offices with nothing to do or to create difficulty for their “customers” probably due to boredom.

I am not looking down on these civil servants, I simply pity them and wish that they are smarter to move out of the airconed office and be productive for their own good.
written by Rozlan, June 15, 2008 12:11:30
The plagues are corruption,nepotism,croniysm.The rats are UMNO and all BN cimponent parties...Lets get rid of them once and for all
written by Guastone, June 15, 2008 12:16:25

A Germany-based company, GTZ International ("GTZ"), has done a survey in year 2007 on behalf of the World Bank in reviewing the fuel prices throughout the world. A common price denominator was fixed at US$0.38 per litre (Nov 2006 pricing), which was also the benchmark price for the world crude oil market. A good way to gauge when comparing different countries' way of measurement.

In GTZ's latest survey (***** to download the 2 pages full survey), Malaysia has been listed at number 20. It shows that Malaysia's fuel price was the twentieth cheapest in the world. Not bad........... not true when the Malaysian government said that Malaysia's fuel price was the cheapest in the South East Asia region as Brunei's fuel price was even cheaper.

The Top Twenty list:-
1) Turkmenistan - US$0.02 per litre (ultra cheap, are you sure this is top grade oil?)
2) Venezuela - US$0.03 / litre
3) Iran - US$0.09 / litre
4) Libya US$0.13 / litre
5) Saudi Arabia - US$0.16 / litre
6) Qatar - US$0.19 / litre
7) Bahrain - US$0.21 / litre
smilies/cool.gif Kuwait - US$0.22 / litre
9) Egypt - US$0.30 / litre
10) Yemen - US$0.30 / litre
11) Oman - US$0.31 / litre
12) Algeria - US$0.32 / litre
13) Brunei - US$0.34 / litre (Brunei is in the same region with Malaysia)
14) United Arab Emirates - US$0.37 / litre
15) Trinidad and Tobago - US$0.43 / litre
16) Azerbaijan - US$0.46 / litre
17) Ecuador - US$0.47 / litre
1smilies/cool.gif Angola - US$0.50 / litre
19) Nigeria - US$0.51 / litre
20) Malaysia - US$0.53 / litre (approx. RM1.71)

You have to know that the top twenty countries are oil producing countries and also net oil exporters. The US$0.38 per litre benchmark price was based on the crude oil price of US$60.20 per barrel. At that point of time, the Malaysian government has already mentioned that they have subsidised the fuel / petrol price heavily to the tune of tens of billions (Ringgit Malaysia currency).

As can be seen in the GTZ 2007 survey, during the crude oil price of US$60.20 or US$0.38 per litre, Malaysian fuel price was already being retailed at petrol station at the price of US$0.53 or RM1.71 (using the current currency exchange rate of US$1.00 = RM3.23).

The Malaysian government has been maintaining the fuel price at US$0.59 or RM1.92 and it would have started subsidising the fuel price if it hits above US$93.46 per barrel or US$0.59 per litre (approximately). The crude oil price hit US$94.00 per barrel on 20 Oct 2007.

Unless the Malaysian government can proof that this GTZ 2007 survey done for World Bank is wrong, otherwise please tell us what kind of oil subsidies were our Malaysian government talking about all these years?

Reading: World Crude Oil Prices - Energy Information Administration

http://johnny-ong.********.com/2008/05/is-malaysias-fuel-price-cheaper.html
written by Jeejah, June 15, 2008 12:58:28
Malaysia’s problem is corruption!!!
MARK OUR WORDS...Malaysia’s problem is corruption!!!
GET THAT RIGHT...Malaysia’s problem is corruption!!!
written by Homeyasu, June 15, 2008 13:18:18
He, anwar, may lead to another chapter on corruptions.
written by teo siew chin, June 15, 2008 13:25:13
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

Thank you for stating the obvious so simply.
And for exhibiting such civility cos i would not have used the word '****-face' but rather an orifice.

The rakyat are angry now. real angry.

Time to line up some people?
written by anallu, June 15, 2008 14:30:28

What I am going to say may seem as "preaching to the converted" I have served the government for 38 years and have retired in 1977. Our troubles appear to have begun the moment our Malay masters decided to award government contracts on negotiated basis. Government funds have been given away to cronies and as corrupt income to key government servants. I remember that during the time of the much maligned colonialists, even the purchase of paints, brushes,nuts&bolts and brooms were subjected to open competitive tenders! Our immediate past Prime Minister developed this "negotiated tender" to a fine art and we have allowed government funds to be fritted away feeding the cronies and corrupt public servants.

The personal control by the PM of the Petronas and the ACA has helped to carry on this nefarious practice easily. We can even now notice the reluctance of the political masters to unshackle these institutions so that they can function independenty, only subject to the control by the Parliament.
The petroleum royalty to Terenggannu government is a good example of the corruption power play. The UMNO seems to have assumed that it is only their members who are entitled to siphon off the public funds! So royalty was renamed 'wang eihsan' to enable that money to be handed to UMNO cronies to administer. It now appears to be imminent that the 'wang eishan' will resume its name as 'royalty' and be given to the BN government of Terengganu!

Does the BN government think that the rakyat are idiots and are not capable of seeing through these dirty and foul tricks played by the leaders of the BN government with government funds?

Even the thrashing received by the BN in the 12th GE does not appear to have taught them a lesson. Also the recent statement by the PM about his succssion by the Dy.PM seems to assume that succession to the post of PM in this country is a private matter between the two of them!

written by chuckmoore, June 15, 2008 14:36:42
YM Raja Petra,

"Sigh….I just love the way Iran solved its serious corruption problem in 1979. They lined up 10,000 corrupted civil servants and shot them all. No more corrupted government officers, no more corruption. How I wish I had been born in Iran instead of England. I would have had a great time in 1979. Sigh….."

My Iraqu friend related an incident to me where SAddam Hussein was inspecting a newly built road and suspecting shoddy workmanship perhaps due to the siphoning off of money from yhe project, Saddam called the head engineer over, tied him behind his four wheel drive and draged the engineer four kilometres down the road behind him.

Not sure whether the engineer survived or died but I felt that if we implemented that punishment of corrupted government servants here, we probaly have 75% of the government servants smeared across the highways and byways of Malaysia but our country will definitely be a better place to live in after that.

Or maybe we should use something more humane -- like a bullet fired through the back of the head -- like they did in the KGB's Lubyanka prison and China used to do in the open, until they succumbed to westernisation and adopted lethal injection, which albeit is much less messy but from what I've read and heard is much less humane compared to the bullet throgh the back of the head, which I believe knocks the person unconscious immediately so they don't suffer.

This is not a "bloodbath" but social cleansing -- yes social cleansing -- and after over 50 years of Barisan Nasional rule, much filth has accumulated in Malaysian society, so there needs to be much social cleansing to restore tghe country to health.

Also yes, the Pakatan Rakyat should come up with its own economic programme and especially now, the economic plans and policies for the five states which the Pakatan won.

I see little improvement:

Roads as pot holed as ever, traffic congestion, still have to park outside the Selangor land office in SUbang Jaya to pay my land tax, when they were mooting a drive through payment system some years but have shelved it since.
written by peter, June 15, 2008 14:45:41
This is a simple and brilliant article. I love the way you put things into perspective . Our country's malaise is nothing but corruption and nothing more. We're heading towards Zimbabwe's route.

I truly hate going to government offices and see their fcuk faces. There are so many civil workers who sit in the office doing nothing and at the end of the month get paid for doing NOTHING.

written by chuckmoore, June 15, 2008 14:48:25
Oh! BTW. Fully agree that there's nothing wrong with subsidies. It's only the filthy neo-liberal, globalists who tout the idology that subsidies are wrong, since it protects the people of nation states to an extent agaonst the predatory exploitation of the imperialists.

I get sick when I see the letters in Malaysiakini by writers all falling over themselves, trying to say that the oil prices due to widthrawl of subsidies is wrong, while defending the arguments against subsidies advanced by the Barisan Nasional government to justify removal of subsidies.

Well these neo-liberals are now trapped by their own ideology in supporting removal of subsidies, while claiming to oppose the fuel price hike du eto their removal.

Your article here puts it all in the correct perspective - ie. eliminate corruption -- not subsidies.

BTW. Malaysiakini rarely carries my letters these days -- so much for free speech on this liberal or anarcho-liberal website.
written by chuckmoore, June 15, 2008 15:12:14
"Here in UK, government servants operate from old historical buildings and tables/chairs can be even older than the persons using them. But in Bolehland, government servants have to have brand new Putrajaya. With so much office space even elephants can do ballroom dancing and waltz around."

Well said. Whenever I step into Putrajaya I get the impression of being in t third or fourt rate theme park with very cheap, plastic-loking buildings.

But then, we must look post-modern to fit with our IT image, e-government, knowledge-society, k-economy and so on.

written by Taiping60, June 15, 2008 17:18:26
RPT,
I hope you are joking about you like the Iranian way. On one hand, we preach about reform to judiciary so that justice will be served for all. Then we said shoot all those who we think are corrupted like the Iranian.

Common, I know you are frustrated and so are most Malaysians with the lousy administration and the level of corruption but let not allow our emotion to take over us. If we start to write like what you have just done i.e. you like the Iranian way of shooting all the 10,000 corrupted government officers. You may just give the opportunity to those who hate you the oppotunity to twist and turn what you have said and at the end it will come out like "RPT support Islamic Extremist way". It does not matter whether you are joking or serious, it does send a chill on every malaysian esp the non-muslims' spine to be like Iran.

So RPT becareful with what you write. Dont get me wrong, we are behind you all the way and we want you to be safe too. You are more effective helping the country when you are free. We want you to be successful. Dont give those in power the excuse to do harmful things to you.

Having said the above, I fully agree with you there is nothing wrong with subsidy. You are absolutely right that the real cost is CORRUPTION. Apart from that there are also other reasons such as APs system, helping UmnoPUTRA in the name of NEP etc etc.

We MUST advocate for Judiciary REFORM. After the annoucement, what happen? We want more than just media annoucement.

We MUST advocate reform to our ACA. We have to screen every one of the ACA officers regardless of the seniority to make sure we have "clean" officers running the show. We have to retain or hire ACA officers who love the country, non racist and we give them the power to prosecute even the PM or the AG or the Chief Judge if there are evident to show that they are corrupted. In that case, these agency cannot be report to the PM or any vested interest party. We make them accountable to the parliament as we do not want these ACA to do what their like and this could turn into disaster for the country. Their work will come under scrutiny by the non partisan parlimentary committee.

Let me tell you what I am afraid off,

1) Abdullah just hand over power to Najib without election
2) Anwar become PM follow the cross over of the MPs
3) Some of those corrupted people are still appointed to ministers, deputy and parlimentary,top party postions or top government positions.
4) Mahathir has his way
5) UMNO still fight for Malay, MCA still fight for chinese and MIC fight for Indian
6) We still protect Proton and Perdua as if they are like some kind of jewel. Free them to hire the best people to run the company if they can't sell the company
7) Companies are not hiring base on merit
smilies/cool.gif our education system remain status quo
9) state MPs fight more for their respective states than Malaysia. Malaysia should come first then state second.

It may be far fetch for many but it is my dream. I dream Malaysia will one way be a country admire by most. Where;

1) Malaysia will truly multi racial country where everyone from the King, government, oppositions to the subjects are colour blind on race.
2) Malaysia will be one of safest place to live in'
3) Malaysia will allow every citizen equal right to pick who they want to be their PM, who they want to be chief ministers or MB, who they want to be hte major of the cities.
4) Malaysia will have zero poverty. where we as Malaysian from the government to individual citizen will reach out to all the poor Malaysia and help them regardless of their race in the most sincerely way.
5) Malaysians will love to love the country more than them
6) Malaysians will all together stand up against anyone who try to belittle Malaysia or do any bad for Malaysia. We want Malaysian to standup like RPT with fear or favour.
7) Malaysians will make friends with all our friends from other countries.
smilies/cool.gif Malaysia will never ever pay middle men money for doing nothing or their service are not needed.
9) Malaysia will spend less money on weapons and use these money to promote peace and harmony in the country
10) Malaysia will scrap the national service. This is a joke and waste of country resources. If you want to promote integration it has to be done young and it takes a longer time.
11) Government to make Petronas financial transparent to the public.
12) every citizen in Malaysia are free to believe what they wish to believe.

I hope my dream come true.
written by emirateswenger, June 15, 2008 18:18:21
I don't agree that Anwar should disclose his secrets. Why ? Because we Malaysians are great copycats,

If DSAI have a good plan, unlikely BN can just copy with cutting off all the excesses. You can have the pie and eat it as well.
written by budakindia, June 15, 2008 19:13:52
yes we should eliminate the plague by killing all the rats! and I don't care how! whatever method is faster! smilies/angry.gif
written by KotaDamansara73, June 15, 2008 19:46:09
Mahathir says:

"Corruption is Malay's right. So please don't you dare question them."
written by shangrilapeace, June 15, 2008 20:56:24
Dear "kaber" and "taiping60"

I am glad that 2 of you shared my point of view about Petra. By all means, he do deserved a following from his articles & recent arrest, but I really can't pinpoint a serious "something" lacking in him.
But he is still one of my hero.
written by lynn, June 15, 2008 21:14:30
Dear taiping60 & co., I don't think RPK means it in the literal sense on shooting the corrupted politicians. It's just like using the word '****', it is not literal, ie. going into the act. It is a "fun" way of expressing our anger & frustration. It gives more emphasis of a passionately held point or principle. No one is going to actually perform the act whether it is "shooting" or "****", kapish?
written by Eskay Lim, June 15, 2008 21:43:25
Since the last 20 years, the most popular profession/occupation in Malaysia has been to become a politician in the ruling party i.e Umno.
That's why everybody from clerks, teachers & even doctors were fighting to be in politics, not actually to serve the rakyat as claimed but to gain unlimited wealth, for themselves, the children & family members. It has been proved so often that many used bribery & money politics just to get into the mainstream political circle. Zakaria Md Deros had shown us the possibilities. Many children of politicians, driving expensve SUVs could be seen in pubs & discos flaunting their illgained wealth.
I fully agree with RPK, just get rid of corruption, wastage & mismaagement of public funds, and many of the problems we are facing would solve themselves.
written by khmkkm, June 15, 2008 22:05:15
Like in melaka here, even if ur datuk bandar is a corrupt he will be dismissed. Even so there will always be the same. It's one of UMNO tradition. The bad news is we are not in Iran, but the good news is Pakatan perhaps can be the new Iran for malaysia for a start. smilies/grin.gif
written by khmkkm, June 15, 2008 22:34:44
"Read my lips: Raja Petra was detained under the Internal Security Act for planning to bring in M16s, Molotov Cocktails and grenade launchers to start an armed revolution."
The short context "armed revolution" I think its a great idea. It's what i had in mind before this. We can be like example CUBA. Form the people's army front dispose nepotism and wannabe dictator by force. Life for the people and the oppressed.
Like the great Che Guevara convinced Castro with competence, diplomacy and patience. When grenades were needed, Che set up a factory to make them. When bread was wanted, Che set up ovens to bake it. When new recruits needed to learn tactics and discipline, Che taught them. When a school was needed to teach peasants to read and write, Che organized it. smilies/wink.gif

Also i want to add this nice quot, before Guevara was executed he was asked if he was thinking about his own immortality. "No," he replied, "I'm thinking about the immortality of the revolution." Che Guevara also allegedly said to his executioner, "I know you've come to kill me. Shoot, coward, you are only going to kill a man." smilies/cool.gif
And his legacy lived till today.
written by RKKK007, June 15, 2008 23:19:46
My hero, Raja Petra Kamarudin,

The moment you lead a new party, I will be joining. Hope it will be soon. If not a new party, what about heading Pakatan Rakyat. Or better still, become our PM. Definitely majority will vote for you. I really love your outspoken and thought-provoking "No holds barred" articles. "**** face" is exactly the right description of the government servant if you "disturb" them. Too many of them until so free and have this shit attitude where you are not allowed to disrupt their normal routine like their "master" whose head is usually too heavy and keep "nodding" side way, right, left or backward for the whole world to see. Time to line them up and "shoot" them to change their attitude (everyone out there, you think any chance of them changing their attitude??) My opinion is NO, NO, NO
written by scwong, June 15, 2008 23:48:25
"Show me the money’, the Americans would say. Yes, money talks, bullshit walks"

RPK, you are damn RIGHT, RIGHT, RIGHT. Both side of the divide, have been just talking only. It has been very disappointing to most of the rakyat by now, after 100 days. What we rakyat is hearing almost everyday, each side of the divide, at best, are only trying to find fault on each other. NO BODY SEEMS BOTHER TO THINK OF A PROPER SOLUTION TO HELP THE COUNTRY TO GET BACK IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION.
written by Christopher, June 16, 2008 00:51:44
Some things to think about:

1.Government announced that they are going to save 2 billion ringgit a year by curbing Ministers and Deputy Ministers from going on government paid foreign holidays. Government announced that they will be making a new rail link extending Kelana Jaya rail track to Subang, Puchong, Kinrara and to Ampang rail link that will benefit 1 million Klang valley residents. It will cost the government 4 billion ringgit. Don’t let our Ministers from going on government paid holidays for 2 years and the cost of building tracks is covered. No finance cost to rail operators. No finance repayment. One million Klang Valley residents can travel on rail at less then 1 ringgit per trip as cost will only be for rail operators staff salary, maintenance of tracks and trains.
Save on other unnecessary wastages like commissions etc, and the money could be used to benefit the people who are suffering. Ministers will not suffer as they have enough money to go on self paid holidays. They were made Ministers to take care of the people, not themselves and their families.

2.Bank sales staff tell me that effective 1st July, credit card holders who have unpaid balances in their account will no longer enjoy 20 days interest free for new purchases. Housing loans will also go up as banks will raise their base lending rates. This is to curb inflation.
Inflation happens when there is excess purchasing power trying to get limited supplies. To curb inflation, Bank Negara will raise BLR. In Malaysia, prices of goods are going up due to drastic increase in fuel prices which has triggered increased cost of production, thus the increase in product prices. It is not due to excess purchasing power due to excess cash with the people. Purchasing power of the people has reduced drastically. To increase BLR which will increase finance costs for credit cards, personal; loans and housing loan is tantamount to killing the people who are already not able to cope with increased costs and diminished earnings.

3.I hear government servants have got a circular telling them not to hold meetings and seminars at hotels in order to save money. Now look at it: when you invite staff from outstation for a meeting, you house them in hotels. If you have 50 staff, you rent 50 rooms in a hotel. For this the hotels offers free conference room facilities, subsidized meals etc. How do you save money by hiring other conference rooms outside the hotels, when you still give lodging to participants at hotels which in the first place can give free conference room facilities. What about added transport costs for bringing participants to attend meetings away from the hotels.

4.I hear that government will restrict new purchase of computers, furniture etc. How will companies who have been dependant on this earnings survive? Who will pay their staff salary? Looks like more VSS’s , termination and ultimately increase in unemployed people. Probably higher crime rate in bid to survive.

Can we see where our country is heading towards??? Yes, you eliminate the plague by killing the rats in power.
written by Panca Indera, June 16, 2008 00:56:02
Dear lynn
[5.38] And (as for) the man who steals and the woman who steals, cut off their hands as a punishment for what they have earned, an exemplary punishment from Allah; and Allah is Mighty, Wise.

If the punishment for stealing ((habitual or compulsive *) is to cut off the hands, I think it is justified to shoot(execute ) criminals and traitors who corrupt and rob from the Nation to feed their own personal greed.
Note: * Individual who steals due to poverty, family pressure, circumstances, but not due to choice or wanting because it’s an easy way to get what you want must not be punished but help.

After all we kill people for far less i.e. possession of more than a few grams of drugs, illegal possession of firearm or bullets.

We put people behind bars for robbing a supermarket or a few ringgit worth of goods.Yet people who robbed this nation of hundreds of million and billions gets to keep them.(diam Diam) So the present law favors the rich and famous not the ordinary citizen, is it not right.

If we want this nation to be great, we have to punish the real culprits(big fishes) in the government, politics, and businesses like judges, ministers, etc, etc. to set examples and I don’t see why not we cannot laterally line them up against the wall and be shot.

Thank you RPK for your continuing work on MT. Your assessments and comments and analysis are simply par excellence. I wish the oppositions would reply point for point to your argument.
We all had bad personal experiences with government departments. Generally, however there have been tremendous improvement over the years and they are very good , helpful and efficient. But at state level, it could do better, with those extra manpower idling around.

smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by jaysim888, June 16, 2008 07:28:37
Now that the rats had been identified as the source of all problems. Let's work hard in sync to pressure the gov't to establish an independent Rats Control Systeml. No more wasteful left over for the rats, terminate all the rats!.
written by MikeLabu, June 16, 2008 08:51:47
Pete, a very good observation and yes, DSAI must present his case before he takes over the government. But it has to be right in timing if you don't want you plans to be hijacked or you are charged of violating any ACTS...

I believe if the Police, ACA and judiciary is up to the mark.... the whole lot of corruption and misuse of public money will be prevented. So clean up this one first.. Place a professional auditor in every government dept and empower him with approving authority for any projects worth $$$ amount of money... Limit Minister/politician power in government projects... AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, STOP THE "RECOMMENDATION LETTER" CULTURE...

written by billyong, June 16, 2008 09:11:28
If UMNO is really sincere about ending subsidies, then they should bring to the end the mother of all subsidies, the NEP. Otherewise, its all nothing but talk and more talk and quite frankly, I have stopped believing in these fellows long long long time ago. smilies/angry.gif
written by DontPlayGod, June 16, 2008 09:53:57
anallu wrote:

"What I am going to say may seem as "preaching to the converted" I have served the government for 38 years and have retired in 1977. Our troubles appear to have begun the moment our Malay masters decided to award government contracts on negotiated basis. Government funds have been given away to cronies and as corrupt income to key government servants. I remember that during the time of the much maligned colonialists, even the purchase of paints, brushes,nuts&bolts and brooms were subjected to open competitive tenders! Our immediate past Prime Minister developed this "negotiated tender" to a fine art and we have allowed government funds to be fritted away feeding the cronies and corrupt public servants."

I wholeheartedly agree with anallu, being an ex-government servant myself, in those days, when everything purchased, be it a 20-ringgit item to a 20,000-ringgit item has to be tendered out, or quotations obtained for vetting and consideration. Purchases will be decided mainly based on price, if the specifications were met. This is in accordance with the "general orders" for Governemnt service. But, our Tun M, in one stroke, did away that rule in the "general orders", thereby starting the era of rampant corruption for civil servants. Cronies could make billions overnight by being awarded tenders(negotiated). And despite all complaints and faults levelled at the past PM, the present UMNO leaders are having a grand time enjoying all those rules and procedures set down by the previous PM.

If what the present PM did was wrong, then the present administration, if they are sincere, could reverse all that the previous PM did. But the present administration is enjoying the "fruits" planted the TDM, and laughing all the way to the bank. The present PM is also enjoying and relishing the immense power, and wealth at his beck and call, thanks to the Tun. Not to mention that the Tun's 30% rule for UMNO's party elections for the post of President is certainly proving to be very useful to AAB. Hahahahaha

In effect, AAB is having the last laugh on the Tun. Possibly, AAB is saying, "thank you very much", to the Tun.
written by hwy, June 16, 2008 12:13:28
I agree with everything you have said. However, I do have a bone to pick with you.

This is just nit-picking but I have to correct your generalisation of government staff not working their butts off. Teachers are government staff who are accountable to the parents, the students, the school heads and a host of other people and titles. Most of the time we hardly have any time to spare, what with our teaching duties (our core business, of course), clerical duties, menial duties (including gardening and cleaning the school), supervisory duties, disciplinary duties, etc. The majority of us hardly have time to sit. On some days, we hardly have time for breakfast and lunch.

Please don't include teachers in your definition of government staff when talking about time wasted. I deny not that there is a small handful who do waste time, but the majority of us hardly have any spare time to waste.

I love your wry sense of humour.
written by Taufique, June 16, 2008 12:54:02
Dear Sir RPK,

The only thing I will say is that this article cannot be more spot on than it already is.

Those in power should have your mindset and vision.

salams.
written by panca, June 16, 2008 20:03:42

Out of a workforce of 10 million or so, 1.1 million-1.2 million work for the government. This means about 5% of Malaysians work for the government. And why is that? Just go into any government department and see for yourself why. No one is working. Everyone is just sitting around doing nothing. And if you disturb their peace by going to a government office to ask for something just see the **** face they give you. They forget that we are paying their salaries and that they work for us. We are not disturbing them by going to a government office. It is their job to serve us.

They(civil servants) absolutely disregard their responsibilities to serve that Rakyat, has no respect let alone be afraid of their boss(the Rakyat)!

I can assume the civil services are more on the upbeat in East Malaysia, i.e. Sabah and esp. Sarawak and they can improve further and definitely not worsen like West Malaysia!!!
written by talk2stop, June 16, 2008 21:51:17

How true? I suppose the person that order the execution is just as corrupted as the people he shot.
Killing will solve nothing but retribution.
written by madtrix, June 16, 2008 22:24:29
"And if Tengku Razaleigh and Anwar don’t understand what I am talking about, then step aside and let me show you what I mean."

RPK, are you thinking of throwing yourself into the mix? If you are, I'm sure you'll have more than enough support. I don't see why the rakyat should limit ourselves to those 2 candidates only. The country needs someone like you in a time like this. I would urge you to seriously consider it ... putting aside your personal comfort and answer to the higher call of duty ... for the sake of your beloved country.

Don't you all agree, RPK supporters?
written by tamanani, June 16, 2008 23:25:33
guys! whatever you do, dont shoot the government doctors.
written by john weinthal, June 17, 2008 07:01:27
Forward planning to this government mean knowing what they meant to do yesterday - then making sure it can wait a while longer ...
written by alan cheong, June 17, 2008 08:54:55
You eliminate the plague by killing the rats

Yeah ! When shall we begin EXTERMINATING these vermin?
huh? huh? huh?

They lined up 10,000 corrupted civil servants and shot them all. No more corrupted government officers, no more corruption.

And that how WE do it in China and Vietnam, too.
When shall WE start? smilies/cool.gif
written by Kelana, June 17, 2008 16:26:10
Guys, Please understand what RPK try to explained

"No, don’t end subsidies. End wastages, high administrative costs and corruption."

that's main idea, Pls don't mixed with waste Rats and shooting idea.

written by HJ Angus, June 17, 2008 18:17:02
bananachinese referred to a site called living wall:
On their site they write
"As cyber political strategists, Cleat & Clew Communication has been advocating a 360 degrees approach in voters communication and messaging."

I guess the BN has been using the wrong comm. team who don't understand simple maths - 360degrees?
written by HJ Angus, June 17, 2008 18:37:37
My opinion is that subsidies should be kept to a bare minimum as governments always incur lots of wastage and inefficiencies when they try to control prices.

Do we know how many thousands of civil servants are being employed just to control prices? Let the free market prevail and we have programs to teach people how to empower themselves.

This small group should not be more than 5% of the population and will include the elderly, the very sick and those who really cannot cope with modern living. The rest should be taught "There is no such thing as a free lunch."

Unfortunately the BN government has always taught "Join us and we will feed you for life".
written by riau, June 17, 2008 21:56:29
When the country ends wastages, stops corruption and and throw-out inefficiencies and the government can still provide subsidies, then that government is compassionate!
written by jshing2158, June 18, 2008 14:10:13
First, line up the whole bunch of the ACA and have them all C4 to pieces. The reason we have corruption is because they are not working to get the big shots. Secong,line up the AG and his gang and do the same. Why?. Because they are always looking for reasons NOT to take action. Finally,vote out the BN and nationalise all the gangs assets. REASON Crime against Humanity (Malaysian Citizen) Acquisitions of wealth through dubious and corruptive means. You can bet we will have billions and billions. Malaysia will be rich again.
written by lskong, June 19, 2008 19:35:48

thank you rpk. finally someone has pointed out the obvious. i too can reduce petrol prices if i'm elected as pm. that part is easy. then what? that part is much harder.

the problem is how many percent of voters are gov servants and how many seats depends on gov servants' support to win? who dares to touch the gov servants? mahathir has grown the monster to be out of control already.

the nep has managed to put >30% of wealth in umno's hand but this money did not generate employment, so the gov have to keep employing to keep up the illusion of nep. who dares to dismantle that illusion now?

how to get to power without lying? because good intentions alone don't win election. rpk, perhaps you can help enlighten us on that...
written by ChiaCY, June 20, 2008 03:37:35
I do not think subsidies of any form should be withdrawn, and I totally agree with RPK that the government should:

1. Cut down the current public service workforce, thus reducing administrative expenses;
2. If corruption and leakage is still rampant, withdrawing subsidies of any form will just allowing more goes to the corrupt than helping the country.

And I am VERY ANGRY with statement made by another OXFORD grads, Tony Phuah, DAP MP of PJ Utara. He said that he agreed with withdrawal of petrol subsidy, but he goes against the way BN government implemented, with a sharp raise. He prefers a gradual increase.

To me, those who agreed with withdrawal of petrol subsidies failed to see a point:
The Rakyat has been tightening their belt for the past years despite government painted strong national economy. Costs of living is shooting up like rocket, and income is relatively stagnant. withdrawing petrol subsidies will get all these into immediate trouble. Most of us need to either rent or pay installment for the place we stay, most of us need to commute to work. Withdrawal petrol subsidies means everything will go up.

Have Tony ever goes to the market to do the following survey:

1. Eggs: Although eggs prices are largely determined by supply and demand, and occasion price control during the festive season. I recalled 30 pcs grade C eggs selling in Tesco Damansara before the Hari Raya was RM5.40,

price goes up to RM6.90 after Raya, and before Chinese new year, the price fluctuates at RM6 to RM7.

Now the price of the same good is at RM8.45.

2. Roti Cannal: I use to eat Roti at my place near Rawang, kosong costs me RM0.50 before Raya, and it is now RM1

3. Chinese noodle stall near my place is selling a bowl for RM3.00 before Raya, and now RM3.80 to RM4.00, an increase of 33% in less than a year.

there's a long list to go on....

What Tony was suggesting is to subsidise the poor with RM6,000 per annum, based on the DAP's version of Budget 2008, which believed to be from him. But we have now Pennag CM Lim announcing RM100 per capita for the poor, and there's no mechanism to identify who qualify. To me, how can I trust someone who wanted to help the poor by giving out RM6000 per annum, and even for RM100 now they are not able to come out with mechanics.

if this RM6000 scheme implemented, I would foresee many of the disqualified (again, how to determine who is qualified?) will enjoy the RM6K and those who really need it will be left out. Worse, it may be another version of BN giving "balik kampong" money before the GE12, where substantial sum goes not to the intended, but those who supposed to give out.

For me, stop corruption, stop leakage, then we talk about withdrawing.

Last word for Tony: I am very disappointed with what you have said. Your words showed that you are someone who are not down to earth, you did not, and never realise how the other suffers if subsidies are all withdrawn, gradual or at once.

Please do not tell us that it is good for the future, if no subsidies, no today, who cares about the future? Only those who are not affected will talk about the future, for most of us on this beloved land, there's no future but we are fighting for survival NOW, TODAY, and only if we succeeded, we will have tomorrow.
written by ChiaCY, June 20, 2008 03:38:52
BTW, aren't PM announced that there should be no holiday abroad other than ASEAN countries, why is Najib holidays overseas then?
written by cheekhiaw, June 20, 2008 12:55:51
NO RAT PLAGUE IN RAT COUNTRY

In a country where the constitution and its administration give special rights to rats, and where rats claim they are above all others, one needs to adopt the rats' perspective.

In rats country, there is no rats plague.

written by SUV, June 20, 2008 15:37:01
eh wats dis?

http://bigdogdotcom.*********.com/

written by SUV, June 20, 2008 21:37:27
che det molek ah hai che det molek...

http://sactyr.********.com/2008/05/fixed-deposit-accounts-of-mahathir-his_31.html
written by raybeam, June 22, 2008 10:16:33
as usual, a well written article. i agree wholehearterly with your views. rpk, you are truly remarkable. i wish there were more malaysians like yourself who would call a spade a spade.
written by johnT, June 25, 2008 01:29:42

The story about "subsidy".
A man called Maha owns a farm which can produce 10 apples every day.
He has 5 workers to operate the farm.
Each of them eats 1 apple daily and it is enough to keep them operating the farm normally.
The remaining 4 apples, the landlord sells them at RM10 each and he earns RM40.
He uses the RM25 to improve the farm operation and facilities.
He gives RM2.00 to each of his workers and he keeps the remaining RM5.00 as profit.
Day by day, the farm is well developed and all of the 5 workers are happy with the money they can save.
When Maha passed away and there is a new landlord, Abdul comes to continue the farm operation.
He says to the workers:" We need to improve the farm quality and redefine our way of thinking.
From now on all of you only need to pay RM1.00 for each apple you eat. It is very cheap as the price is RM10 each outside the farm."
The workers have no choice but to pay RM1.00 for the apple they eat daily. Their earning decrease from RM2.00 to M1.00 per person.
As usual, Abdul sells the 4 apples and he gets RM40. He uses RM25 for farm improvement and pays RM10 to his 5 workers. He gets RM5.00 as profit. On top of that, he gets another RM5.00 from the apples that he sells to his workers.
In total, he gets RM10 as profit every day.
Soon, the apple price increases to RM20 each. The new landlord gets a higher profit as he gets RM80 for the 4 apples he sells daily.
Then, he decides to give the farming improvement contract to one of his close friend, Samy. Samy says:"Apple cost naik, improvement cost also misti naik."
So, the farm improvement cost increases from RM25 to RM50. In actual fact, the improvement only cost RM30. The remaining RM20, Abdul and Samy share evenly among themselves.
Let's calculate how much Abdul gets daily:
RM10 (from farm improvement cost)
RM20 (Net profit by selling 4 apples: [Gross profit, RM80] - [Improvement
cost, RM50] - [Wages RM10] = RM20)
RM5 (from selling apples to his workers)
In total, Abdul gets RM35 daily compare to RM10 initially when he takes over
the farm from Maha.
His profit increases RM25 and the workers are still getting RM1.00 daily per
person.
The greedy Abdul does not want to stop there.
One day, he says to his fellow workers:" You see ah, the current market price for one apple is RM20 and you are only paying RM1.
See how lucky you are! I have to SUBSIDY RM19.00 for each of the apple you buy and total I need to SUBSIDY RM95.00.
This will greatly burden the farm and we might get bankrupt if we continue like this.
In order to avoid bankruptcy, I need to increase the apple price that you buy from RM1.00 to RM1.50 and I will bear the remaining RM18.50 per apple as my subsidy to you all. "
So, greedy Abdul adds RM2.50 to his current profit and the number becomes RM37.50.
After you have read the story, I am sure you have already understood the meaning of "SUBSIDY" given by the government.
The RM95 subsidy never existed in the first place and so was the RM52 billion fuel subsidy generously "given" by the government
Cutting fuel subsidy is actually just a reason to steal money from your pocket

written by navascope, June 26, 2008 16:31:35
i agree with u totally RPK. and check out the subsidy story that was written by john t and circulating in emails. it just hits the mark. CNN even called it political suicide. I rather call a decision just not giving a bit if damn to the people of Malaysia (or rather if they know that there are milions and millions and that could mean 85 per cent of Malaysian working society do not earn more than RM3,600 per month. If there is a god and he then would know how to deal with the man who pushed this button without even thinking of the consequence. But that consequence is after life. Now we need a leader and man who has the guts to be true and tell the truth all the way and also by sticking to his guns when he does mentions and announces something in public. So Anwar or even Tengku Razaleigh, we want to hear the truth and the way forward now. If not lets find a man who can lead us the way. Can u blame those who feel cheated by the government. Can u also blame who feel betrayed. I am glad for my many friends and family friends who left this country for greener pastures. I never did becoz i still love this country. We need a leader who can assure us we must always love and work hard for this country. But currently we just FEEL CHEATED AND BETRAYED.........and IT IS SUCH A SICK FEELING......Wonder how many those in power KNOW THIS????????????????????????????????????????????