Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Oil prices threaten to end Malaysian party's 50-year rule

Oil prices threaten to end Malaysian party's 50-year rule PDF Print
Saturday, 14 June 2008 12:02

Lorry drivers and motorists across Europe and Asia are in uproar, with the price of oil at unprecedented highs of about $138 a barrel.

BY THOMAS BELL, TELEGRAPH.CO.UK

In the past few days there have been protests in France, Spain, Holland, India, South Korea and Nepal. Lorry drivers are threatening to blockade the Thai capital, Bangkok, on Tuesday.

In Malaysia, where the government allowed the price of petrol to rise by 40 per cent last week, worshippers poured out of Friday prayers yesterday to stage a rare demonstration in the capital. They called for an end to the government that has ruled for 51 years since independence from Britain.

Gatherings of more than four people are illegal without a police permit, and plain clothes officers filmed the mosque as the faithful arrived. But a last-minute change of route wrong-footed the riot squad.

Mohamad Sabu, a vice-president of the Islamic opposition party, told a cheering crowd: "Rice is 25 pence a plate! With fish and vegetables it costs £1.10! And they choose now to raise the price of petrol? The ministers go shopping in London! It is corruption and breach of trust."

Johari Awang, 21, a quantity surveyor, said: "The prices of goods are going up beyond control. We have to do something. This is the first step towards the fall of the government."

Many observers believe he could be right. Angered by rising inflation and corruption, voters in March delivered what was – by Malaysian standards – a stunning defeat to the ruling National Front government, reducing its parliamentary majority below two thirds for the first time in decades.

The resurgent opposition coalition is led by Anwar Ibrahim, once the rising star of the government who fell out with the then prime minister in 1999 and was jailed for corruption – charges that were widely seen as politically motivated. Now Mr Anwar claims he has the support of the 30 government MPs he needs to topple the ruling party. He says he is looking for more support before calling a vote of no confidence.

Steven Wong, a government economics adviser, said that at current world prices the old fuel subsidy would have cost the government three per cent of GDP. But even he was surprised when the price rose by 40 per cent – as an oil exporter Malaysia should have some room for manoeuvre.

In an attempt to assuage public anger the government announced this week that ministers' overseas trips would be curtailed and their entertainment allowances cut by 10 per cent.

Abdullah Badawi, the prime minister, responded yesterday to calls to step aside, announcing a private agreement to hand power to his deputy – although no indication was given of when it would be.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by zul4kulim, June 14, 2008 12:17:57
The series of unfortunate events continue to haunt paklah and with the escalating prices for basic essentials, paklah has limited options to stay on. Rakyat have no more faith in the government and with the undated transition pledge, the situation will be worse....PR must take over
http://1426.********.com/2008/...crowd.html
written by DezMalaysia, June 14, 2008 12:18:59
BOYCOTT PETRONAS !!!
agree 121
written by Sribayu, June 14, 2008 12:25:33
In the last GE anuar already warned the rakyat. Dont give vote to BN.(BN - Barang Naik).

Now it seems true...semua barang baik
written by Sribayu, June 14, 2008 12:26:08
sorry barang naik
written by sampalee, June 14, 2008 12:28:51
Pak-dah biggest sin is to use Islam for umno political agenda.The recent events are backlashes and more will follow until Islam Had-hari and its innovator make its exit.
written by YSL, June 14, 2008 12:32:46
What have those bastard in power been doing over the past 22 years? Busy counting monies? Busy with women giving service?

If they claimed that they are good in running the country with GNP/GDP of averaging 5% per annum over the last 22 years, why the **** we stil have problems here and there and every now and then????????????????

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Sribayu, June 14, 2008 12:33:20
Apa lah malang nasib UMNO. Belum habis lagi isu2 yg lama kini isu minyak pulak yg timbul. UMNO akan pupus tidak lama lagi? Dibawah adalah bukti nyata UMNO/BN akan tinggal dlm lipatan sejarah M’sia.

- Hilang 5 1 negeri (termasuk WP)
- Krisis kepimpinan di Perlis & Trengganu
- Krisis Sabah & Sarawak (skrg sedang hangat)
- Krisis Pepimpinan MIC/MCA/Gerakan (skrg belum reda)
- Krisis Badan Kehakiman
- Krisis Komponen2 BN. (Tak lagi sepakat & secara terbuka menyalahkan UMNO)
- Krisis Tun M dgn UMNO
- Isu Raja2
- Isu Keris Puaka UMNO
- Isu Altantuya
- Isu Kapal Selam
- Isu Lingam
- Isu ISA (Hindraf)
- Isu kuota MT UMNO
- Isu Penyerahan kuasa AAB
- Isu BPR dibawah kuasa parliment (masih tiada kata putus lg)
- Isu Beras(rakyat tambah marah)
- Isu Royalti Minyak Trengganu

Oh Kesiannya UMNO. Balasan TUHAN....Amin
written by bananachinese, June 14, 2008 12:34:53
Tis strange government seems to be so distant from our normal people's source of concern. People are not just angry with global price rise - its normal for prices to rise - we can never go back to the days when prices were low.

Problem is government not respond to our questions where the country's money went that made us suffer hefty price rise. We don't want to know it's global price rise bla, bla, bla. We are not stupid. We just want to know why our country's income unable to make our lives comfortable.

Read this to understand the concerns more:

http://mylivingwall.com/v3/ind...he-economy
written by ctchoolaw, June 14, 2008 12:39:27
Whatever the price of oil does not excuse the poor record of economic management of BN. They have to answer for the years of wastage and excess. Some platitudes here and there soothing balms being applied to a serious wound. That's not good enough! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by EVVP, June 14, 2008 12:41:20
A 10% cut on entertainment and overseas trips for ministers, what's the amount of pain can they suffer compare to the majority of ordinary citizens earning an honest living ???? a mosquito bite compare to losing an arm to me.

But can you blame them ? no, who asked us to put those corrupt, racist, good-for-nothing, cold blooded, conscienceless thieves in office in the 1st place.
We must learn from mistakes
written by Commonsenses, June 14, 2008 13:00:30
If ever the BN government were to collapse, they were not due to oil price increase but because of lying to the public. No transparency and honesty in dealing with the public and off course that leads to corruption.
written by Jan, June 14, 2008 13:02:56
This raising of the fuel prices is too high and too sudden and at a very inopportune time. I think the govt is very poorly advised. If the prices have risen gradually the people wouldn't have been so angry. It makes one feel the govt is punishing the people for voting more opposition people.
Another thing is the BN govt seems to be on Auto-pilot the last 4 years, with lack of leadership and direction. There's no firm policies to create more wealth which in turn create jobs and prosperity. Instead the govt is still trying to justify race based policies which discourages foreign investments. Worse still those already here now wants to leave and take along with them more jobs.
It takes an oil crisis to expose the weaknesses of this govt. Competition from other 3rd world countries are heating up and our govt is still mired in mediocrity. It's time they make a tetonic shift to change all policies which are friendlier to business and make a sincere effort to stamp out corruption. Corruption really is crippling this country. Civil servant who do not toe the line ought to be removed until they get the message.
Education should be truly on merit not race based quota and differing university entrance exams. The country needs brains and as much as possible, not half past six unemployable graduates just to satisfy a narrow-visioned political agenda.
The ball is on the govt's feet, if it's unwilling just move over and let someone more capable take over.
written by Mustapha Kamal, June 14, 2008 13:03:01
The gomen will fall not because of the hike in fuel prices and the prices of essential goods, but because of the idiots who call themselves our leaders. They couldn't even provide us with food security, a basic necessity of a civilised peoples, so what good are they as leaders ? Sack the lot of them, then they will have time to fill eight limos with goods bought at THEIR own expense instead pof ours!
written by 80srocker, June 14, 2008 13:04:25
I still remembered when C4-Man (Najib) made fun of Sgor MB when the latter announced no tax reduction as promised while campaigning before the GE. Now I want C4-Man to swallow his balls 'cos his partner in crime (literally) has just made us poorer.

Yes, I agree that world's oil prices are astronomical. It's just around US$25/barrel when I worked in oil & gas in '93-'96. But there have been too many corrupt practices that has us in this shape now. Even the promises to make public transport better since 2006 is a smokescreen to benefit a bunch of cronies. Then when the cost of living rises, BN (Bankrap Negara) has the cheek to tell us to "ubah gaya hidup." Never have I seen people so removed from what the Rakyat is going through... I'm sure most will agree that if we need to ubah gaya hidup, we'd have to stop paying for essentials like housing, child maintenance and education, utility bills, what? Even zakat! So what does the government want us to do? Start living in the gutters? Stupid bastards. I'm still bitter at those who voted BN to make our lives so miserable!
written by Eskay Lim, June 14, 2008 13:04:35
Only the Umno leaders had failed to realise that the GE-12, political tsunami would create a series of aftershocks that can cause serious damage to the ruling plitical party.
Despite dire warning, the Umno gomen had found it necessary to show the rakyat who is still the boss and to continue to rule the country the way they liked even after a reduced majority in parliament.
Recent raise of fuel prices by 40% is consdered too drastic & harsh even by those party faithfuls who had supported the BN. From the number of people who took part in the fuel-protest after noon prayers yesterday, this is very serious matter. The rakyat are very unhappy because the fuel-hike has caused the rise of basic foods & services and thus affects just about everybody. But the worst hit are the poor, working people. Who knows, they may bring their protest to the next GE.
written by DezMalaysia, June 14, 2008 13:07:47
brokentoe, I regret that I do not know much about the petroleum company... but I only know what 'sufferings' that we are tasting now as a normal Malaysian out of the mismanagement of our nation's petro-funds.

PETRONAS is only a milk cow to UMNOputeras. I only know, PM BodohWi used 200millions to buy private jet from that "ROYALTY". DPM Najis got RM400million commissions from spending the ROYALTY monies for 2nd. hand Sukhois & Old "Senget-sebelah" Submarine !

Proud with PETRONAS ? Don't bullshit... I don't think fellow Malaysians will be proud with a Corrupt Company supporting extremist racist party.

BoyCott PETRONAS is my opinion, my rights to speak. My words do not hurt others except for Cronies from Bangsat Nasionals.
written by Rohani Hitam, June 14, 2008 13:09:29
Ministers stole billions and none of the curtailment measures on their expenses can measure up to the corrupted nature of their dirty habits. Don't be swayed by this cheap thrill. Our eyes must not be blurred by such gimmicks. AAB is just too stupid not to tackle the problem to the core or he just acted ignorant of the dirty practices wehere he is a part of it?
written by alibaba tan, June 14, 2008 13:10:22
Bastard UMNO!! Where is your propaganda of "Malay Supremacy"? I beg you, please raise your keris against the non-bumiputra. You squander the country wealth, and you claim that you are fighting for the bumiputra. Bring down!! Mr.Najis and Mr.Kerismuddin. These silver spoon-feed bangsawan Malay. They are all related to Mamak..........
written by james5501, June 14, 2008 13:32:36
Don't ever blame it on the oil price. It never has been about the oil price. It is the corrupt ways of BN that made the Rakyat reject them.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 14, 2008 14:13:31
Singapore import oil, but there is no problem there. Malaysia has a lot to learn from Singapore. Perhaps we should offer Mr. LKY to be the PM.
written by DatoJohn, June 14, 2008 15:01:04
Oil prices threaten to end Malaysian party's 50-year rule !!!
ALHAMDULLILLAH !!! Syukur ya amat!
AMINNNN!!!

RPK, why dont you run for minister?
You are one of my IDOL!
RPK, Truly A Malaysian Idol
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by activepro, June 14, 2008 15:22:36
Yeah!Even a barber or sinseh can do a better job running this country than these bunch of SUPER STUPID grad of Islamic Studies or bomoh doctor with COLLOSSAL apetite for money.If they are so sincere,why dont each of them cough out as much money as possible to help the Rakyat in this difficult time?Or was it these bimbos haven't achieved their 30% NEP quota therefore they couldn't help our poor Rakyat?When times are good,their dirty hands kept dipping in for more,and when the bad times came,they squeezed the Rakyat for more money.I can't comprehend this logic,what I do know is that people who voted for them are downright disappointed coz they hv lied to them.UMNO is not a trustworthy name anymore.GONE WITH THE WIND.
written by tommycol, June 14, 2008 15:39:53
fuel price UP 41% ; MINISTER's OVERSEAS HOLIDAYS & ENTERTAINMENT(what entertainment?Do they mean PARTYING?)ALLOWANCE down by only 10% ;where's the logic?may the RAKYAT knows how much is all the allowance n overseas trip amounting to?Here AAB &goons are telling the RAKYAT to tighten up the buckle BUT our BELOVED MINISTERS are still AFFORDED free trips (ON the expense of the RAKYAT)for MISMANAGING the MOTHERLAND!!!!!PLS AAB , tell the POOR rakyat where's the logic and equation????????? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by raven1958, June 14, 2008 17:05:17
written by YSL, June 14, 2008 | 12:32:46

What have those bastard in power been doing over the past 22 years? Busy counting monies? Busy with women giving service?

You see.....you maybe right....starting with Badawi....hardly has the soil on his wife's grave settled .....wedding bells were ringing at Sri Perdana....what sought of ******* do we have for a Prime Minister.....where is the focus, dedication and commitment to save and see through the country during such a difficult period......Badawi is no Florence Nightingale or Mother Teresa.....this is a kaki jolly that made it to PM by default and devious means through his far more crooked predecesor Mahathir Mohamed.....Malaysia now is in serious trouble.......and the people must do what it takes to put back this country on the right footing....
written by exzxr, June 14, 2008 17:56:11
The day BN falls .....I will have a big celebration!Its high time for Malaysia to recover and change from this disastrous ruling party.
written by OilMan, June 14, 2008 18:37:01
Price of goods must go up due to the increase in world crude oil price but the question is by how much? The percentage of increase in Malaysia is just not reasonable.
Badawi handing over power? Nahhhh.... if things start to settle down he will not do it but maybe he will send Najib to prison for sodomy chargers.
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 14, 2008 21:52:27
OIL PRICE HIKE will not bring down a government, we aren't the only nation experiencing fuel hike, rather it is the corruption and blatant misuse of God's gift to the Malaysians by a single dictatorial "private" party.
written by Richfyf, June 15, 2008 00:48:40
well Raven, Get married for all I care But when you are a leader of a country and you marry your OWN SISTER INLAW...... as close as incest as can be, Such a person will never have my respect I guess those who worship him have no moral values as well. Its proven the way the commented in Parliament and the way the abuse women.. using explosive ( C4) when they are done. what else can we.. so much for Haddari....... I wont even mention the word Islam with it out of respect to true muslim and to the relegion even though I am a non muslim.
written by beyonce, June 15, 2008 13:53:16
dear kclim2,how ling have been in malaysia? your comment doesn't fit with us afterall..just leave and don't say anything..are you from umnoputras? btw if you don't read about current issues in malaysia and m'sia is producing oil and not imported such thing..whatever the prices is petronas still gain multi-billions profit...way to go..DSAI and PR smilies/smiley.gif
written by HHKim, June 15, 2008 15:20:05
The recent arrest of the threee PR MPs are a disgrace to our nation and the BN's rule of police state. This is ridiculous and smacks of dictatorship and it definitely lead to the downfall of BN soon.The lawyers and children were only on a peaceful march and there is no iota of intention to create trouble.

The price protest is a fantastic march by the people to defend their rights against the government of the day. Too much corruption and incompetency is dismantling our national economy by the ruling BN. My hat off for the organizer and those who marched along in the protest march.

If these incompetencies are not halted in due time, the whole nation is damned and doomed in many generations to come.
written by roadbarra, June 15, 2008 15:22:36
deii kvlim2...lu sapa? lu umnoputera punye orang ka?
written by HHKim, June 15, 2008 15:32:06
I wish to reiterate here again that IF the government can manage the nation better by minimizing corruption and mismanagement of government offices, the total saving could have been better ploughed back to the raayat. Rememeber that most of the raayat are poor and have a lot of burden to raise their families given today's situation.
Of course those big shots of BN ministers and councillors can afford luxuries, they must consider the majority of the poor raayat who have to earn their honest living to support their daily needs.
What we the raayat are crying foul is because the way the nation is being plundered, mismanaged and highly corruptible BN officers are making the nation poorer and poorer.
Tha raayat are right in protesting against the price hike which is too high comparatively. If those who say Ok, you must be either filthy rich or you are one of UMNOputra or BN dogs.
written by Abajawi, June 15, 2008 22:32:31
Abdullah Badawi, the prime minister, responded yesterday to calls to step aside, announcing a private agreement to hand power to his deputy – although no indication was given of when it would be.

================
What!!! The PM's post is not the private property of PakLah to be given on a silver platter to najib razak. This guy has to contest for the post in the amno assembly. He has to pass this simple test if he wants to be PM of Malaysians, not just amno members. THis practice of handing over the pm's post in a so-called succession plan has no precedent in a true democracy--except in Msia. In any case, it is presumptious on the part of paklah to think that he will be up there long enough to hand over the pm's post to his annointed successor. For all you know pakatan would have toppled the BN govt by then. JOM PAKAT TOLAK BN!
written by ingolstadt, June 15, 2008 23:15:06
Entertainment huh? Who are they, as Government Officials supposed to entertain? Investors who are eyeing on government projects are the ones entertaining the offcials right? So, perhaps the officials who are eyeing on investor's shares of profits are entertaining the investors? Malaysia = Duh
written by ingolstadt, June 15, 2008 23:17:20
PM represents our country, PM should be elected by the people, not by the reigning party's leader or by simply a mark of god's hand, and Abdullah is no god. Which system does it goes by "I hereby, name my successor." What the ****? Only the Sultan of Brunei, or any country that still runs by monarchy can name a successor. And Abdullah is no KING OF MALAYSIA.
written by countryman, June 16, 2008 01:51:59
Yes, we should all change our lifestyle because of the tsunami in oil prices. More importantly, we should also change the present government.
written by talkstraightener, June 16, 2008 03:04:04
Some of you are amazingly ignorant. Have you ever thought of who is actually behind the corruption and misuse of power? Big players; who are the big players?..check out the 10 richest people in Malaysia and trace the links. The government is an easy target because they are in the public eyes. Do you know what kind of malpractices in the private sector? You don't; coz you don't see them.
I still think Malaysian are a bunch of third world people with third class mentality...semua mau free. Have you seen Malaysians like you in a "eat all you can eat" buffet restaurant...precisely...third world..
I dare anyone who has the guts; go and find your worth outside of Malaysia..and you will see how manja this Malaysians..like kids...complain complain complain..semua mau free, semua mau kawtim, be like singaporeans lor....
written by Godfather, June 16, 2008 15:01:37
The person or thing called talkstraightener, June 16, 2008 | 03:04:04 should just SHUT-UP for Simply categorizing all Malaysians as Third Class. If you have Parents or God permits a Family please label your own Father or Mother, wife or husband etc as in your own words "Malaysian are a bunch of third world people with third class".

Do not pretend to be an Oxford Grad or super smart. This forum is for caring Malaysians who cared not only for them selves but the Poor General Public like what our beloved RPK is doing. Worse still if you are a Cyber Trooper please GET LOST!

If prices of fuel goes up there is a serious chain reaction to all prices of goods & services. Even a kampung folk like me understand this simple logic.

Remember Suharto, Marcos & Imelda Marcos ( magical thousands of shoes); Burma Juntas; all of them are testaments of the word CORRUPTION.
Eg.
If you keep withdrawing money from your bank account then
the coffers will be empty very soon.

Good Governance is What we really needs!

And Malaysia for ALL...
written by DagoRed94, June 16, 2008 18:30:41
Street demos on the recent fuel hike is not going to work. BN couldn't care less even if we had demos everyday.
Calling for a boycott of Petronas is not going to work because they have got us by the balls.

What can work is, perhaps on a given day at a given time, cars breaking down at all Petronas stations all over our beloved country blocking the entrance to the petrol pumps. This could possibly hurt them where it matters most. IN THE POCKETS!
written by DagoRed94, June 16, 2008 18:37:10
Alternatively, on a given day at a given time (better during peak traffic) we all experience an unexpected mechanical fault with our cars and they all stall in the middle of roads. No need to worry about FRU, water canons or permits for gathering. Imagine if this happens on every weekday. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by bukitkuda, June 16, 2008 23:15:24
WTF...MALAYSIAN HAVE 27million people...and don't we realised that our PM is being choose by 1 million plus people only...where is our right?....now worst the PM post seem to be decided by 2 person...one is worst PM we ever have and one .....haiyo...........no words...
written by talkstraightener, June 17, 2008 00:00:24
now..now..don't get nasty..get real..don't pretend that you are writing on behalf of the poor who are earning rm 2000 or below per month. you guys probably own 2 cars, tinted , with expensive stereos. all you want is to have a cozy life, no sweat, drink ur teh tarik, eat ur roti canai and talk crap all day.
why don't u let anwar ibrahim or lim kit siang fart and ooze out petrol and gas. have u ever heard of no free lunch before? boycott petronas?..ur really dumb. do you know shell and exxon and murphy are drilling in your waters and getting profit from your arse? if petronas falls and profit is used to satisfy your dream that god promised you a nice life with cheap petrol, good roads, good service, good govt, good this , good that, you will see the results...off to work on your mopeds dudes. mark my words by 2012, your nation will go bust, no need to boycott petronas..tapis crude is depleting, save ur troubles, petronas will fall. with silly people wanting to get cheap petrol at the expense of retailed earnings for future investments, the fall will come sooner.
HELLO! oil is usd 140/barrel today...go figure.

why not third world mentality if this is what you do:
1)sell and by fake cds. want everything but donn't want to pay..who is this?..malaysians
2)litter every where. nice cars, nice perfumes and makeups but filthy attitude..throwing litter out of ur car windows
3)drive like cave men..never drive a car before?..want to get early to ur destination?..to do what? teh tarik and roti canai?
4)kiasu..no excuse me, cutting lines, no thank you
5)talk loudly ..u think only u have handphone?
6)dump household garbage in empty land..use shoping bags as garbage bag.let the dogs eat them and scatter everywhere
7)i heard u guys don't even want to pay ur bills to indah water, syite yes, pay no?
smilies/cool.gif hungry faces in buffet, like never seen food before?
9)cannot keep toilet clean?..donno how to syite? and clean?
10) and the best hahaha..whenever u see an angmo/orang putih, you immediately act nice, courteous..coz u are angmo/orangputih wannabes..haha that is why you were colonized for centuries back to back..by the europeans and the japs..

be like singaporeans lor..
written by Godfather, June 17, 2008 10:42:55
Dear frustrated talkstraightener,

I wonder whether you have done any studies on the whole of Malaysian population or my beloved bloggers /commentators in our beloved domain.

If NOT just cut your Crap & start your own blog. Am sure your so called 3rd World Mentality Malaysians will read except your own Mxxxx.....

Do NOT TARNISHED our Space by calling our leaders & people name.

Go Dig a Hole & Bury yourself & reflect on the POOR. But Again I won't be surprised you will Not be able to cause your TINY BRAIN is behaving like an Amno or worse still MCA & MIC combined brilliant Stale Brain.

Good Riddance to Bad Rubbish! Someone please call Alam Flora coz we have a THING that is 3rd World Mentality Malaysian dude we need to dump. I hope he is NOT Malaysian coz we don't want Mat Salleh or Fake Skin Bananas wannabes too.

GOD BLESS MALAYSIA & MALAYSIANS TOO. AMEN
written by talkstraightener, June 18, 2008 00:11:59
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

godfather, am i un-nerving you now..i know you were going to react this way. coz you know what i m saying is true.

have found anyone that can fart petrol already mate?

have u smiled ear to year after shaking hands with a mat salleh lately?

do you feel smarter today after you critize the amno, mic, mca lately?

you are proud to be malaysian? why? petrol is expensive lor..no good country lor..you said yourself your country is this and that and this and that and bla bla and bla..get a life mate.
written by SUV, June 18, 2008 13:56:54
http://aminiskandar.*********....n-5-julai/