Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Penang land scams to be made public soon

Penang land scams to be made public soon PDF Print
Saturday, 14 June 2008 10:06

By NIK KHUSAIRI IBRAHIM, The Star

GEORGE TOWN: A report on alleged land scams in the previous state administration will be submitted to the state executive council in the first week of July.

Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said they would make public the findings as former deputy Chief Minister Datuk Seri Abdul Rashid Abdullah had failed to give an explanation before the April 28 deadline.

Deputy Chief Minister I Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin who is leading the investigation will table the findings during the first exco meeting of July,” he told newsmen.

Abdul Rashid had earlier challenged Lim to expose the alleged discrepancies, complete with specific details including lot numbers, locations and names of landowners.

Lim also said the state was mulling over the possibility of re-introducing free shuttle bus services to help ease hardship faced by the people because of the drastic increase in fuel price. He also announced that the state government would go ahead with the Penang Bridge Marathon in October, after the Hari Raya celebration.

On the proposed second bridge project, Lim said the state was of the opinion that the project should continue although the estimated cost increased from RM2.7bil to RM4.3bil.

Lim added that the construction of the second bridge was scheduled to be completed by 2011 and work on the pre cast beams was already 50% completed.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by partiotic, June 14, 2008 10:19:08
Dear Lim Guan Eng, yes you have done a right thing by making public the Land Scam. As for the free shuttle bus services, it is a brilliant idea.As I say with no corruption a lot of benefit will goes to the people of Penang.

Koh sok kon you have no change to capture Penang any more.
written by clting08, June 14, 2008 10:28:01
Make the finding public so Penang people will know " Koo SoKong " Bn Policy
how to scam the Penang Land..
written by cheemengwong, June 14, 2008 10:28:38
If ever LGE needs a writer to expose the intricate ways in which the former BN government servants went round to cheat the Raayat and the country, there are no shortage of talented writers found in MT.

Give information to Pete and he can write a factual and interesting pieces of expose which I sincerely think will win the Pulitzer prize.

At the same time such scams and cheats can be published in books and kept for a long time for our grand children to read and hopefully learn from it.
written by cwy, June 14, 2008 10:32:40
Just drag those corrupt nuts of the previous government to court!
written by ksmaniam, June 14, 2008 11:02:02
YB LGE I have a two cents worth suggestion.
Increase public transport to cross the bridge, when the rakyaat sees that it is cheaper and very frequent, the rakyaat will start to use ways and means to cross the bridge by using the public transport, slowly and surely the cars entering penang will reduce, meanwhile car parks can be initiated by private organisations on the peninsula side....at least the regulars will reduce....
written by ladasiber, June 14, 2008 11:11:52
Penang yang tak banyak tanah, dah difaraidhkan oleh orang2 UMNO (Rashid)/BN (Soo Koon ) YAB LGE, your move to make public about the land scam is very Islamic. It's like cutting off the hands of the thieves
written by chanatak, June 14, 2008 12:29:13

I think I am going to go for a doctorate with a thesis on "Corruption in Malaysia"

written by greenarrow, June 14, 2008 12:37:45
PENANG gave me ...my LIFE

IPOH schooled me

Kinta Valley toughened me

I love you PENANG..always been my HEART till the day I breathe my last

We all who are far away..always remember PENANG

Who dare to Molest & RAPE Penang s Land?
We ll leash out our anger on those 'RAPISTs' & ' Molestors' ! ! !

Let their names be make known publicly....drag them to to the Right Channel of Justice

DAP..please take GOOD CARE PENANG...we wont forget you in next General Election
Well done so far....we appreciate

-GreenArrow
written by Thamipoh, June 14, 2008 12:56:42
Dear Greenarrow, I share your sentiments and I pray that many many years will pass before you breath your last. MY love to you.
written by greenarrow, June 14, 2008 13:04:56
Blogger Thamipoh

My Tears of Thanks... to you
written by cahaya, June 14, 2008 13:17:57
Deputy Chief Minister I Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin who is leading the investigation will table the findings during the first exco meeting of July

LGE, it is so encouraging that PR has a good team of honest and hardworking people serving Penang. Your positive efforts will inspire many overseas Penangites to return home to work. (including GreenArrow?)
written by Leon, June 14, 2008 13:33:07
If there are so much to disclose in a small state such as Penang, imagine how much scams is there to unearth at the Federal level?
written by Jan, June 14, 2008 16:19:10
Land scams to be made public?
I wonder why Koh Tsu Koon very quiet these days. Has he gone hiding?
written by Sabahfan, June 14, 2008 18:59:24
We need more disclosures, all the projects awarded by UMNO to their cronies over the last 50 years should be made public....

In sabah, since UMNO govt took over, NO MORE public tender ever come out in the press
written by teohpg, June 14, 2008 21:04:03
Choose one of the 2 punishment:

1_ Each citizens of Penang give the culprit a slap
2_ Prison
written by charli88, June 14, 2008 21:29:34
If LGE can consult some of the foreign companies in KL that do project optimization, Penang 2nd bridge can save at least 20%. No joke.
written by kclim2, June 14, 2008 21:31:37
Tip of the iceberg. Need to dig furthur to expose the wrong doings of the then ruling BN
written by Commonsenses, June 15, 2008 01:30:51
Everywhere BN leaves, a lot of shit surfaces. Seems like horse trsding is the norm in 50 years of BN government.
written by tipletoe, June 15, 2008 08:57:47
LGR do not delay anymore. No use being polities to thieves. Make public the land scams in my home state. I know KSK personally as we used to work in the same University together before he became a lame duck politician and an arse licking sycophant. His outstanding characteristics are his totally colorless personality and his lack of balls. He and his gang of thieves in the Gerakan has betrayed my home state. Expose him.
written by bunian, June 15, 2008 09:40:41
This Abdole Ratshit is so confident that the alleged discrepancies, complete with specific details including lot numbers, locations and names of landowners will not be revealed. Oi, Abdole Ratshit, you personally worked the shredder overtime ke? At least some good came out of it: for once in you miserable and wretched life you did some work instead of sitting back earning illicit gains!
written by PHUA KL, June 16, 2008 08:10:02
"I think I am going to go for a doctorate with a thesis on "Corruption in Malaysia""

Yours will be the first multi-volume PhD dissertation in the social sciences!