Income tax relief plan PDF Print
Saturday, 14 June 2008 10:03

PASIR MAS: The Government is considering proposals to give income tax relief to help the people cope with the spiralling cost of living following the fuel price increase.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said details of the matter would be announced during the tabling of the 2009 Budget on Aug 29.

There will be several measures to be taken but it's better for me not to reveal them at the moment,” he told reporters after launching the National Rice Production Enhancement Plan at Kampung Bendang Perangkap in Bunut Susu here.

The Barisan Nasional Backbenchers Club (BNBBC) forwarded the suggestion of tax relief at the 2009 Budget consultation session on Thursday.

Abdullah also said the government would announce more incentives, including the road tax rebate for eligible private vehicle owners.

People who are unhappy would be inclined to express their dissatisfaction (through protests) but I wish to explain that the government will continue to find ways to reduce the impact of the oil price rise on the people.

We understand this and know that it will incite anger. However, we are also considering what measures to take.

We are announcing them one at a time to help ease the burden,” he said when commenting on the action by a group of people who had gathered without a permit in front of the Kampung Baru Mosque after Friday prayers.

Asked about statements by several Opposition leaders that they could reduce the fuel prices, Abdullah said the Opposition made many promises.

During the last general election, they made all kinds of promises but until today they have not fulfilled any. If they want to reduce fuel prices, let them provide the subsidy to reduce fuel prices in Selangor and Perak first.”

Meanwhile the Kelantan Umno has pledged its loyalty to Abdullah as party president and prime minister. - The Star

written by cheemengwong, June 14, 2008 10:23:16
Hi Park Lah,

Don't pay income tax can or not?

You have one million over civil servants with an equivalent number of taxpayers. That is where the problem start.

You need to revamp the entire civil service to cut costs. It starts from you! You buy a brand new plane and fly everywhere for meetings. Teleconferencing cannot kah?

Just to see a boat you flew to Turkey? Pulau Ketam has got many boats, why don't you visit Pulau Ketam?

You built Putrajaya and now the Raayat knows it costs the nation 11-12 billion ringgit. With that kind of money, we can built 30 universites and export our service throughout the world to earn money, not spend money. Dopid!

Just because the architets wants to built bridges in Putrajaya, they went to dig up a man make pond. Dopid! Spend raayat's money again.

Then we sent up a loctor to space just to do some dopid experiments suggested by some ministers. Do some teh tarik stunts and play congkat. Dopid. 80 million ringgit just spend like that. How many primary and secondary schools can be build with this money.

Now this guy travel around the country to spend more money to tell about how he felt in space. I feel like puking!

Just to win the by elections in Ijok, Kuala Selangor last year BN machinery spents millions overnight to appease the voters. They tar the road which have never been tarred for upteem years, buying sewing machines, buy dinners. Whose money? Your grandfathers' hard earned money or Raayats?

In the past, Dr. M is no different.

Spend money to bail out his crony companies, Bank Bumiputra, built this built that. DOPID.

Bank Negara wasted BILLIONS of Ringgit by speculating in the Forex market. Whose Money.

The list is actually endless. MIND Bloggling Lah.

It is AMAZING Malaysia can produce such DOPID leaders and the Raayats just continue to swallow hook and sinker. Now suddenly they are awake!

Like they say, it is better late than NEVER loh!
written by shamadz72, June 14, 2008 10:24:55
Bagaimana dengan pakcik dan makcik dekat kampung pendalaman yang tidak membayar cukai kerana pendapatan mereka hanya 4-5 ratus sebulan? Adakah mereka2 ini yang hidup kais pagi makan pagi mengusaha tanah sekangkang kera tidak akan menghadapi kesan kenaikan harga Minyak?

Satu lagi project bodoh BN
written by cwy, June 14, 2008 10:31:04
It is a useless move as our ringgit depreciates as a result of price hike of petrol created by our stupid government
written by ksmaniam, June 14, 2008 10:56:34
use petronas funds and government funds to buy the toll roads, this will reduce the burden of the rakyaat and there will be more usage of petrol thereby increasing petronas profit and may move the economy.
written by Bandit, June 14, 2008 11:06:10
"“During the last general election, they made all kinds of promises but until today they have not fulfilled any. If they want to reduce fuel prices, let them provide the subsidy to reduce fuel prices in Selangor and Perak first.”"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

As usual he talks cock. He knows that the move should be Federal based not from the state. The Federal Bastards control the oil. I feel like slapping this idiot for making stupid remarks.

written by chanatak, June 14, 2008 12:01:20

What a stupid government!

All these offers of relief are only beginning to come after the public ignored BN police's warnings and continue to protest publicly. Had the public chickened out at the warnings, do you think AAB would be announcing these drips and draps reliefs? And to think that AAB is crowing about "giving" these reliefs as if he was planning to do it all the time!

I suggest stop patronizing all petronas stations until petrol price comes down, and until Petronas reveals all its accounts! Stop buying petronas now!

written by Rainbowseahorse, June 14, 2008 12:26:42
Again and again, that doubly stupid and idiotic BODOWI do not understands the meaning of “poor & really poor Malaysians”.
He is completely ignorant of the fact that most poor and really poor Malaysians:
1)Do not own a car. So no road tax & driver’s license to pay.
2)Do not have income tax returns, least of all income tax.
However, all poor & really poor Malaysians do require to:
1)Eat: Reduce food costs.
2)Go to & come back from place of work & school: Reduce transportation costs.
3)Use utilities, like electricity & water: Keep rates low.
4)Basic housing upkeeps.
5)
His comments: “…Asked about statements by several Opposition leaders that they could reduce the fuel prices……If they want to reduce fuel prices, let them provide the subsidy to reduce fuel prices in Selangor and Perak first.”

That would be quite easy if the opposition have access to PETRONAS funds.
written by shiokguy, June 14, 2008 12:43:58
Advise to PM

Price increase is going to be unavoidable, so the best way is for you to help the poor to cope with it. And also allow the public to protest to release they stress and anger. Allow the July 22 or arrange for earlier if you think July 22 is an opposition initiative. By doing so, it helps you more than going against the wish of the Rakyat.

If you have the time read this
http://shiokguy.********.com/2...to-pm.html

http://shiokguy.********.com/

P/S: Visit my blog on current issue and opinion on the following: -
Thug from Syabas. BLR Free Home Loan,Home Based Jobs
Advise to PM,Profit from latest petrol subsidy scheme
Petrol price hike, PSD Scholarship, Result of NS Poll
Thugs at Jln Balai Polis, Cook shit for police to eat
Real Life Malaysian Inflation Rate,Local VS Foreign Graduate
Proportional Representation and More....
written by hiro, June 14, 2008 12:48:38
Badawi can go screw himself. What's the use of lowering fuel prices at Selangor and Perak if that means people from BN controlled states will also drive over to pump petrol? Hardly fair to the folks in the two states.

Besides, states do not have that kind of wealth because taxes are paid to the federal government. So go frack off, Mr PM.
written by Goostee, June 14, 2008 13:07:42
Sigh... the relief is not meant for me, a retiree earning nothing and surving merely on the fast dwindling EPF money I withdrew 8 years ago. Or, may be the honourable Finance Ministers think that the 3% or so hibah that I receive for the deposit balance hugh enough to absorb the 78 sen petrol hike ? Don't forget that I still need to use my car to settle my bills. Walking or going by bus to the banks are definitely stupid alternatives at my age !!!
written by InEffective, June 14, 2008 13:35:10

When you have all that 'windfall' OilProfits, i guess you can throw some bones to the rakyat - to make you look 'caring','for the peoples' etc.

Cheap tricks by talent-deficit politicians.

Why does the rakyat accept being hoodwinked and exploited by these scavenging politicians?
written by mgeo, June 14, 2008 15:47:26
Keep in mind that despite the "rift" with his predecessor, Mr. Nice Man has not used that as an opportunity to scrap draconian laws (Emergency Declarations, ISA, Emergency Ordinance, Sedition Act, PPPA, OSA, CMA) and introduce a Freedom of Info. Act that will immediately reduce corruption.
written by Jan, June 14, 2008 16:16:16
Pak Lah said: "If they want to reduce fuel prices, let them provide the subsidy to reduce fuel prices in Selangor and Perak first.”

Not a very clever statement. Pak Lah, you control Petronas not them, remember? If they did they won't hesitate to reduce fuel prices. But not you.
written by Sabahfan, June 14, 2008 19:00:45
more pretentions... from pretenders...

more bullshit from the government.... all bullshit
written by meilui, June 14, 2008 20:39:02
n wat has BN done 2 fulfil its promises? increase fuel price? make the lives of the people better?

the money is in his pocket n he stil wants to make a "display" that he cares for us.
written by teohpg, June 14, 2008 20:58:23
Bodohwi....you think we are fish izzit???? You keep on giving baits here n there and let us guesss or wait for your sweet? F**k you....

HATE U SO DAM MUCH!
written by sarawakian, June 14, 2008 21:12:21
income tax relief plan?? who does it help? around 1 million Malaysians pay tax. you give relief to them? what about those too poor to pay income tax? how does this help them?

i really wonder how families with incomes less than RM800 per month can now pull through with increased food and fuel prices and eventually everything else as well.

congratulations.. with one stroke you have just raised the poverty rate in Malaysia. now we can qualify as 4TH WORLD COUNTRY.