What's dear to the Malaysian heart PDF Print
Tuesday, 08 January 2008 09:44

It would appear that sexual indiscretion is a concept that repulses us on a basic level whereas financial misdeeds are too distant, too impersonal, for the same kind of righteousness to flare.

Azmi Sharom

I’ve really got to thank Chua Soi Lek. The number of jokes that have been zipping around for the past week or so has been amazing. My personal favourite is about the new Ministry of Health warning on packets of contraceptives. Brilliant stuff (e-mail me if you haven’t heard it).

Personally, I could not care less that he has resigned. After all Barisan Nasional politicians are not exactly an endangered species. There are loads of them lurking about and to replace one is not a problem. Furthermore, they look and behave very much like each other in my opinion. Rather like zebras.

It’s funny though that it takes a lurid video to make this resignation happen (incidentally, I haven’t seen said video, primarily because the sight of middle aged men getting it on is likely to give me nightmares). It appears that sex scandals are the thing to get politicians into serious trouble.

I mean outrageous mismanagement of public funds like the Port Klang Free Zone fiasco, where land worth 95 million ringgit in 1999 was bought in 2002 by the Port Klang Authority, a government agency, for 1.08 billion, seems to have been forgotten. Sure there was a cursory investigation by the Public Accounts Committee, but as yet there is no answer to the basic question of how land can jump ten times in price over three years, and how the PKA can be so imprudent as to pay that price. The PKA has been chaired by MCA politicians for almost twenty years. But since they all have kept their pants on or at least have not been video taped with their pants off, no heads rolled.

It is the same overseas too. Bill Clinton was impeached because he had a thing for girls with big hair (which reminds me of my Canadian African pal who said Clinton had such bad taste in women that if he were to put on a big wig, Bill would hit on him too). And yet when George W Bush lied to the nation about Iraq’s supposed weapons of mass destruction, sending the nation to war causing the deaths of thousands of Americans and Iraqis, nothing happened to him. Semen stains on an intern’s dress obviously carry more weight than blood on a president’s hands.

What is it about people that something as petty as sex gets them all hot and bothered? Sorry, let me rephrase that. Why does sordid sex get people all angry and righteous when other types of scandals don’t? At least not to the point that politicians lose their job. Our Puritanism seems to be reserved for the squalid as opposed to the kinds off issues which affect us all, like the less titillating matter of the PKFZ.

Perhaps we are only able to feel upset over an issue when it is something we can understand on a gut level as opposed to a more intellectual level. If this is the case, it would appear that sexual indiscretion is a concept that repulses us on a basic level whereas financial misdeeds are too distant, too impersonal, for the same kind of righteousness to flare.

Shouldn’t public matters be more of a concern than private matters? I appreciate the argument that Chua is setting a bad example to our youth and all that, although because I am not his wife, I frankly can’t be bothered about what he does in his spare time. I am however bothered about our eroding fundamental liberties, detention without trial, misuse of public funds, corruption, an ailing judiciary, the loss of our secular democracy, abuse of power and leadership driven by political expediency. Call me crazy, but I think these things are more vital then a copulating codger.

Chua is definitely no saint. He is definitely no hero either, as some might want us to believe. He is just some old guy who could not keep his John Thomas in check. That’s all, nothing more, nothing less, and if we want to crucify him for being ham sap, there are many others, the corrupt, the incompetent and the wicked, who deserve the same.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by billykbk, January 08, 2008 10:02:50
Dear Azmi, well-written article. Syabas!!
written by cmoon, January 08, 2008 10:12:12

Simple Sex sells!!

When people get into public office, mind it "Public Office " not private office !
and you end up in this kind of issue it is a big business for media etc.
thus receives greater coverage that missuses of power or money by leaders!

The main stream media, can hog on this issue(foe weeks) saying good or bad, unfortunately through out this time it get publicity and feedback etc. It sells !
The main stream media cannot do the same on issues pertaining to missuses of power or money mismanagements due to repercussions from political leader, intimidation revoke of license ( especially in Malaysia). Dose not sell for those who are involved in it !

Change our attitude, make missuses of power and money!highlight more !
Unfortunately i don't think it is possible in Malaysia main stream media !

smilies/sad.gif
written by teo siew chin, January 08, 2008 10:25:50
Azmi - surely you would know by now the standards set in this country? One can rob, kill, rape ... heck, even the poh-leez are tardy in getting these deviants but once (1) caught (2) in illicit set - my my my how fast actions fly and punishment executed quickie-ly. In fact, if police go around summoning those who langgar s.377A of the Penal Code, they'll have more 'income' than traffic summonses. smilies/grin.gif BTW, is the offence compoundable? smilies/grin.gif (no it's not!)
written by kksam, January 08, 2008 10:29:59
As usual, Azmi the lone star in The Star.
written by kksam, January 08, 2008 10:32:48
But i tend to believe that the news manage to get to the MSM even though it was own by BN or MCA was because they already get the permission from their boss. Imagine if it was ong ka ting or pak lah, sure it will be cover up, but Chua was set up by those MCA warlords, that's why it get to the front news.
written by kksam, January 08, 2008 10:34:08
and yes he is certainly NO HERO!!! and the arrest of the three people i believe is just SANDIWARA!!! hey go and arrest those in MCA la, they are the real boss behind it
written by hiro, January 08, 2008 11:44:04
It's funny how MCA is only intent on focusing on their political fortunes, saying they regret Chua is out, but he is still a supporter etc..., totally forgetting in the first place that they are a political party in BN which is supposed to promote relatively good values instead of encouraging men to get lots of girl friends. And I suppose the women cabinet ministers agree to the implied message through these few days of hot press over Chua's affair- in particular, the minister for national unity, and for women's affairs?
written by Jay Krish, January 08, 2008 12:08:16
Nice post mr.Azmi... smilies/grin.gif
written by RichPoon, January 08, 2008 15:47:23
there are so much corruption going on in the country that malaysians young and old are immune to such practices...in fact they accept it as part of life...it could also be already part of our culture...
written by panca, January 09, 2008 19:18:42
prof. this piece of mind, how great it would be to be able to reach many more readers. I dread to think when we will have media that can carry such good comments.

smilies/cool.gif
written by CatV5, January 16, 2008 13:38:49
Well written. Eases ones mind when thinking there people who concerns of what happening around us.