Malaysia leader agrees on power handover PDF Print
Friday, 13 June 2008 20:10

By SEAN YOONG

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (AP) — Malaysia's leader announced Friday he has struck a deal on when to hand power to his deputy, as pressure for him to resign intensified from public anger over rising fuel prices.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi refused to reveal exactly when he will let his deputy, Najib Razak, succeed him, though he has repeatedly insisted he would remain in office beyond the end of 2008.

"Najib and I have decided on the right time for me to hand over the premiership to him," the national news agency Bernama quoted Abdullah as saying in a speech to government supporters in eastern Malaysia. An aide confirmed the report.

Abdullah's governing coalition was plunged into disarray after it retained power with only a simple majority in March elections. For only the second time since 1957, it lost its two-thirds parliamentary majority. It also surrendered control of five states for the first time.

Abdullah's critics have since demanded his resignation, accusing him of making numerous policy blunders and allowing problems such as corruption and racial disputes to fester.

Abdullah has suffered further public criticism after raising retail gasoline prices by 41 percent last week. More than 1,000 people marched in Malaysia's main city Friday in the biggest protest so far against the price hike, calling for Abdullah to step down.

Najib has stood by Abdullah and pledged not to challenge him for power. Nevertheless, political observers speculate that Abdullah risks losing power if other rivals challenge his presidency of the ruling party in December.

Abdullah, who took office in 2003, also faces a threat from the opposition, which claims it has the secret support of enough ruling coalition lawmakers to bring down the government.

Abdullah insisted Friday the government "can recover and return to our original strength."

"There are times we lose some seats, and currently many people are angry, but this will not be forever," Abdullah said. "If you have already surrendered, there's no point in fighting on. Just wait to die."

written by jchew, June 13, 2008 20:14:56
Malaysia under Najib? It will be the marked as the darkest and unfortunate day for all Malaysian.
written by zul4kulim, June 13, 2008 20:19:13
Both of them can agree on the transition but majority of rakyat may have different idea on whom they want to succeed Paklah....
http://1426.********.com/2008/...crowd.html
written by denkoh, June 13, 2008 20:34:27
will najib be the next datuk harun???
written by Dominic, June 13, 2008 20:41:09
Oh, if that were to happen then DPM will earn himself as the shortest serving PM of Malaysia. And that is provided he assumed his premiership before mid Sep08. Poor fellow, better grab it as soon as possible then !
written by Rashid, June 13, 2008 20:42:06
Najib will make us another Mynamar (Burma). Make no mistake about it. I can see RAHMAAN coming and by the way it is RAHMAAN if Arabically spoken and not RAHMAN.

RAHMAAN: (Tunku) Rahman
Abdul Razak
Hussein Onn
Mahathir
Abdullah
AN-war and that's RAHMAAN for you.

http://klpos.com/v2/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1592&Itemid=75
written by SamYap, June 13, 2008 21:01:11
Alamak! Oi! PM Adullah Badawi! Salah lah! You should be handing over power to Pakatan Rakyat.
written by IbnAbdHalim, June 13, 2008 21:59:26
UMNO never learn. The hike in prices of consumer goods is going to sweep the people off their feet as a result of the fuel hike recently. And yet Pak Lah said the people won't be angry forever. Partially correct but don't test our patience. If the depression is severe enough the result might be fatal to BN.
written by shangrilapeace, June 13, 2008 21:59:33
Abdullah insisted Friday the government "can recover and return to our original strength."
"There are times we lose some seats, and currently many people are angry, but this will not be forever," Abdullah said. "If you have already surrendered, there's no point in fighting on. Just wait to die."

You are right, ... "Returning to original strength.

You are right, ... "People are angry, but this will not be forever.

You are wrong, ... "If you have already surrendered, there's no point in
fighting on. Just wait to die."

You don't have to die, surrendered-yes, & fight on -No.

Friends told me you have a very good heart, am very friendly BUT not a good leader.
Everything is actally very simple if you are willing to pass the baton soonest possible (be very careful) to one who's is a Hero.
written by lamakawan, June 13, 2008 22:02:34
If najib takes over then it will be dark days for malaysia. He will be haunted by the foreign ghost that he had befriended and exploded with C4.
written by PAKRAK, June 13, 2008 22:11:05
AAB (Sleepy head), can you do the Rakyat just one last favour if you are contemplating on relinquishing your post. Would appreciate if you could hold your horses for another two months or so until Pakatan Rakyat comes in. If Mr.C4 stands in for you anytime now then "God save the Rakyat and Malaysia". It will be DOOM's Day for Malaysia. It will be a damn shame for Malaysia to have the most corrupted, unscrupulous, defying and disrespectful to Royals, spiteful criminals with Shorty Baboon aka 12% who will actually act as PM and Mr.C4 will be a puppet under her Kedah rice spell. AAB... Don't ...Not yet ... You will REGRET like Mamakutty.
Mampos...Pui...Pui...Mampui.
written by limengseng, June 13, 2008 22:11:08
Dunno who say wanted to bathe the Kris in Chinese blood in 1987 ?? smilies/angry.gif

written by Spear Bing, June 13, 2008 22:25:38
The future PM of Malaysia - the cigar thromping Minister with a C4 at his backyard and a 'Sultan-scolding' wife by his side.
written by L7Awesome, June 13, 2008 22:58:50
Oh my... dead end both ways! I am not sure who will do a better job in bringing Malaysia backwards. Really the dark age for Malaysians.
written by Al Ambia, June 13, 2008 23:49:02
OMG!A murderer as a prime minister?Oh no.I rather have a stupid pm than a murderer.If he can do it to the mongolian,he can do it to us.
written by wood, June 14, 2008 00:19:20
POWER LIKE RESPECT HAS TO BE EARNED. YOU MAY GIVE THE POWER TO YOUR DEPUTY BUT CAN YOU GIVE THE RAKYAT'S RESPECT?

Having the fuel price hike and later frantically giving back to the rakyat in some other forms of subsidies, is like LPPL. A PURE WASTE OF TIME, GOMEN'S RESOURCES AND NOT ECONOMICALLY PRODUCTIVE !FIRST MAKE RAKYAT SUFFER & UPSET AND NOW TRY TO APPEASE THE RAKYAT ! WHATLAH ?
written by Angela Ooi, June 14, 2008 00:24:17
Obviously Bodohwi still sleeping!
written by lucky irish, June 14, 2008 00:56:54
Abdullah is very lucky to have Najib as his 2nd man(more like 'Yes'man I'd say) compared to Che Det who got him! Abdullah knows that BN's gonna lose big time in the next G.E. so he's just buying time, making more unpopular moves like removing subsidies from people to free up more money for him & family to plunder. He surely can depend on Najib to protect his interest when he step down(compared to Mahathir depending on him!) being the coward guy he is. Then when BN loses, it is not he who'll take the blame-definitely the UMNO President then, Najib! Superb move from somebody you think is sleeping on his job whereas his family laughs off to the offshore bank, having money to spend for generations to come...we all go tanam & makan ubi kayu daa
written by Fernz, June 14, 2008 01:10:32
Don't be superstitious! Mohd Sopiee himself has admitted that the Rahman theory was cooked up by him as a joke.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com

written by KIAT BLUES, June 14, 2008 02:33:17
pak lah it not handing over the leadership to C4 or ku li or new AP king and even ketam cause no one in umno is able to lead this country for now, you guys are power crazy and corrupted. just hand it over to pakatan rakyat with anwar we will be save.
written by doggone, June 14, 2008 03:06:41

Abdullah said. "If you have already surrendered, there's no point in fighting on. Just wait to die."

Does that say something about his refusal to reveal the time to hand over power?

He might be incompetent and lazy. Even stupid to a certain extend, but he will not relinquish the throne when the tainted cojones of his deputy are imprison behind the clutches of his fingers. You see, by not revealing the time, he has the option to stay in power long as he wants. With time on his hands, he hopes to garner enough support from branch leaders and grassroots members until such a time when an announcement will be made to declare unanimous support for the revival of the party under his leadership. His deputy knows he will never take the premiership in this lifetime, but second place is not too bad is it?

Never trust a compulsive liar that does flip-flop at your doorstep wearing a loose pair of jeans singing 'Leaving on a jet plane'. Quote: Pelvis the Elvis.

written by Tom n Jerry, June 14, 2008 06:47:55
Malaysians(in& outside the nation)are in for big big surprises!Baaaadawi wants najib to take over!Yes maybe literally!But there are 3.79 million voters who obviously dont agree!So lets wait and see!The drama is about to begin!Come September & we will have good news lah!Meanwhile I suggest PR supporters listen to the song*Call me up when September ends*Sounds inspirational to us!May you all be well & happy! smilies/cool.gif
written by Stupid me, June 14, 2008 08:56:10
What makes both of them so cocksure that they will be returned as President and Deputy President in the next party elections? Have they not heard that they will be challenged in the next UMNO party elections? Or are they still sleeping ? Or is AAB hinting that he would pass over the baton before the party elections ? They think they are "main masak".
written by krepot, June 14, 2008 09:07:20
ABB talk more cock!
Again using 'politicians words' - which basically means jack-shit!

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi refused to reveal exactly when he will let his deputy, Najib Razak, succeed him

In other words, it cold be 2009, perhaps 2010 or 2015? Like I said, it means NOTHING! All these open ended statements he makes means jack-shit!

Furthermore, he is a well known liar! We have classic cases of 'not getting married/married; parliament will not be dissolved/dissolved; fuel price will not rise till August/suddenly rised! With a reputation of being a well known liar, Najib must be STUPID (actually, he is a moron with no balls!) to accept and praise ABB, for his statement.

In any case, I wish they all go to hell and pay for all their sins.

On the lighter side;
If Najib takes over, you can be assured, if you oppose the government or his friends, Rosmah (the one with the balls) will get her special force to blow you up in some forest with C4! All your immigration records will be erased and some jokers will end up in a kangaroo court making a mockery of the judiciary system yet again.