Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Koh wants a judicial complaints panel to probe judge’s revelation

Koh wants a judicial complaints panel to probe judge’s revelation PDF Print
Friday, 13 June 2008 18:43

(The Edge) - The government should seriously consider establishing a Judiciary Complaints Commission (JCC) to investigate High Court Judge Justice Datuk Ian Chin’s allegation of interference in the judiciary by former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon said instead of setting up another Royal Commission, the JCC should be set up in addition to the Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC) which had already been committed.

In a statement, Koh said the proposed JCC would be able to perform a much needed function of receiving, sieving and investigating complaints against judges in an independent and professional manner and recommendations could then be made to the appropriate authorities.

“On the other hand, while criminal threat to or attempted bribery of judges can be referred to and dealt with by the police and the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) under existing laws, the JCC will also enable judges and magistrates to have an avenue of complaint and redress,” Koh added.

He also welcomed and supported de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim’s assurance that the bill to reinstate Article 121 of the Federal Constitution to restore judicial independence would be tabled in parliament this month.

written by james5501, June 13, 2008 18:51:44
What is this fella trying to do? Gain mileage from AAB? When TDM was PM, he can be seen feeding from TDM's hand.....shameful!!!
written by Citizen Watch, June 13, 2008 18:58:14
Koh has been commenting, very much thiking-out-of-the-idiot box of BN. Other than the above, he was commenting on the ruling government's credibility gap (in Malaysiakini). He's showing some flashes of credibility which can make him a thorn.
written by teohsh, June 13, 2008 19:07:24
What exactly are the powers of a Judicial Complaints Commission? Is this another wayang kulit with no real powers and serves the present political masters?

This is a deep-seated problem that has occured since 1988! Two decades long!

It must never be swept under the carpet by AAB and Zaid!

We want as a Minimum a Royal Commission of Inquiry which would then have the necessary powers!
written by Watcheyes1, June 13, 2008 19:19:57
Dr. Koh,

Just retire and take a vacation (on your own cost). No need for JCC or other commissions. RCI is more than enough because as they say "too mush cook spoil the soup".
written by SocratesI, June 13, 2008 19:22:17

Just expand the terms of reference for the Lingam enquiry to encompass this sordid episode in the life of Maha-Shithead, and have the Royal Commission reconvene to study this revelation of Ian Chin's in depth.

This makes sense as the 2 matters are actually linked to the destruction of the integrity of the Judiciary by the previous despotic PM.

written by oknyua, June 13, 2008 19:31:15
Dr Koh, suddenly found your voice? Where were you all this while?

I think this is not your field lah. In any case, nobody listen to yo nowadays. Sad. smilies/sad.gif
written by Bigdawg, June 13, 2008 19:40:59
KTK is trying to build bridges so he and Gerakan can
cross-over to PR soon.
written by indianputra, June 13, 2008 20:02:59
Aiyyyaahh! KSK.. enough of your mouth lah! Now you are making noise because you are a nobody! If you were still the CM of Penang would you talk like this?

Look, we all can see a wolf in sheep's clothings! Cukup lah!

Why don't you just retire for good?
written by campuras, June 13, 2008 20:14:45
You got to be kidding. The ACA can't even get their investigation in order with Lingam case, you expect these bunch of kokers to get this big case correct, The police, please they are so far behind in knowledge and skills, you may as well as Mickey Mouse to conduct the investigation.

JCC, sound like Jack Yours. what power do they have, That is a real waste of public money.
written by Uncorruptible, June 13, 2008 22:32:57
Do ANYTHING to get that mahatail and put him behind bars and cough up all the billions he robbed from Malaysia. Don't let him go !!!!
written by Caesar, June 13, 2008 23:17:07
Finally, members of component BN parties have found their voice to speak out against the former megalomaniacal Mahathir...just confirms that he was running the country like an autocratic dictator...and also he (Dr M) was definitely privy to EVERY major scandal during his 22 years in power...in spite his recent loss of memory into the Lingam tapes affair.
written by tipletoe, June 13, 2008 23:38:16
Koh, why are you worrying about a Commission to investigate Mahathir? Look at yourself, maybe we Penangites should set up a Commission to investigate how you sold the interest of Penang to the crooked Federal Government. By the way don't bark too loud. All your own crap when you were CM may come out into the open soon. Just keep your trap shut better for you.
written by scwong, June 14, 2008 00:17:03
"Koh wants a judicial complaints panel to probe judge’s revelation"

Ah, now this sound more like human talking, talking to me.
Is ok, this type of statement is fine to me. The same old Deng quote applys:
"I DON CARE THE CAT IS BLACK OR WHITE. AS LONG AS IT CATCHES A MOUSE, THAN IT IS A GOOD CAT"
written by power2u, June 14, 2008 03:27:39
KTK,Penangnites want a Royal Commision to investigate your utter failure when you were CM.Where did all the state fund go to???After all these years,why such bad publis transport system???And the ferry service is in a miserable state!!!
Just shut up n be who you r now---a nobody.