Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow OPINION: Pas will not 'sleep with the enemy' again

OPINION: Pas will not 'sleep with the enemy' again PDF Print
Friday, 13 June 2008 10:09

Secret meetings and overtures are purportedly taking place between Pas and Umno for the common ground of Malay unity. But some old wounds are still festering, writes ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR.

New Straits Times 

JUST 100 days ago, the most respected ulama in Parti Islam SeMalaysia (Pas) said the Islamist party would not rejoin Barisan Nasional.

The assurance by Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat, the party's 77-year-old spiritual adviser, was made during a press conference at Pas' headquarters in Kota Baru on March 8, soon after it was confirmed that Pas had been returned to power in the state it had held for 18 years.

Nik Aziz, who is Kelantan menteri besar, said Umno had "played out" Pas during the party's BN era, and Pas would not fall into the same trap again. To Nik Aziz and many other Pas leaders, it is a simple case of once bitten, twice shy. Pas learned a bitter lesson when it collaborated with Barisan Nasional and Umno from 1970 to 1978.

It was painful for Pas to see its members split into groups after it left BN; while the faithful stayed on to rebuild the party, some joined Umno and splinter parties like Berjasa and Hamim. A small fraction chose to become inactive in Pas.
The problems began when the then prime minister Tun Abdul Razak Hussein picked Datuk Mohamed Nasir over another Pas candidate to be Kelantan menteri besar after the 1974 general election. This led to a vote of no-confidence in the state assembly against Nasir, triggering protests in his defence and leading to the imposition of emergency rule in Kelantan.

Pas' recalcitrance led to its expulsion from BN, ending its brief collaboration with Umno. The party lost the state election in 1978 and was only able to wrest it back 12 years later. It has remained in power since.

But there is now fresh talk that Pas might seek to renew old ties with Umno and rejoin BN. Is this possible?

Collaboration, perhaps; rejoining BN, no, say leaders of Pas' central committee. Party president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and several senior leaders had given this assurance to its Pakatan Rakyat allies during their regular meetings.

Pas' political bureau, which Hadi heads, decided there will be no official meeting with Umno. Those supporting the idea were also criticised when the issue was hotly debated at the past three central committee meetings.

It is no secret that Pas and Umno leaders are in discussion, but this is said to be purely in the context of Malay unity and the much talked-about "Ketuanan Melayu".

But the latest rumour, purportedly that of an unofficial meeting allegedly taking place overseas between Pas deputy president Nasharuddin Mat Isa and Datuk Seri Najib Razak, his Umno counterpart, is raising eyebrows.

Nasharuddin, said to be among the senior Pas leaders keen on a collaboration, denied in an SMS about knowing anything about the meeting, saying he preferred to steer clear of rumours. He is currently attending a Commonwealth Parliamentary Association seminar in Brussels, while Najib was in London for the Commonwealth conference on reform of international financial institutions.

Pas information chief Mahfuz Omar has been directed to clear the matter, saying the central committee was concerned over such rumours as they could send the wrong message to party members and supporters, especially the party's Pakatan Rakyat allies.

"No official negotiations have taken place," he says. "Reports in weblogs and SMSes are a political 'psy-war' to split Pakatan."

But Parti Keadilan Rakyat strategic head Saifuddin Nasution Ismail has this to say: "We are aware of the goings-on between the two parties and are keeping tabs."

"Discussions" and "negotiations" convey two different meanings, observes Pas central committee member Dr Syed Azman Syed Ahmad Nawawi.

"Pas is open to discussions with Umno and other political parties and NGOs," he says, reiterating a stand taken by the Majlis Syura Ulama or consultative council, Pas' highest decision-making body, at a meeting in late April.

The council, headed by Nik Aziz, discussed the issue of collaborating with Umno after intermediaries of Umno approached Pas leaders for possible "talks on the position of the Malays" following the 2008 general election.

But its political bureau, headed by Hadi, decided there should not be any formal meetings with Umno.

"Negotiating to come back into BN's fold is another matter altogether, and not on the agenda," says Syed Azman, Batu Burok assemblyman. "Our future is with Pakatan."

Events since the general election have caused leaders on both sides of the divide to show interest in issues raised by Malay non-governmental organisations over Malay unity and "Ketuanan Melayu", a term referring to Malay "sovereignty" and not "dominance" or "supremacy", as popularly defined.

Perceptions that non-Malays have grown more demanding since the general election have caused uneasiness among the Malays, especially grassroots members of Umno and Pas. Hence, the calls for the two parties to unite and protect the Malays and Islam.

Universiti Malaya Associate Professor Dr Mohamed Agus Yusoff says discussions between Pas and Umno should be encouraged so that they can be effective as political parties representing Malays.

"It is unlikely that Pas is going to rejoin BN at this point," Agus says, "but there should not be hindrance for the two to collaborate on common issues."

For instance, Pas and Umno shared a common stage in 2002 to address the issue of Palestine at a forum organised by the Malaysian Muslim Youth Movement, where the leaders then -- the late Datuk Fadzil Mohd Noor and Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad -- spoke of their aspirations for Malays and Muslims.

Pas, at present, is unlikely to be part of one big Umno. On the contrary, Pas leaders, including Nik Aziz and Hadi, have repeatedly invited Umno to join Pas. While Pas veterans seem open to some form of collaboration with Umno, younger leaders are hesitant. Vice-president Husam Musa has warned against falling into Umno's trap, contending that Umno would talk about Malay unity only when its political power was threatened.

An equally significant question now is how PKR and DAP would respond to Pas deciding to collaborate with Umno. Pas is seen as the power-broker in this current political scenario.

In politics, all things are possible.

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by Mark C, June 13, 2008 10:37:30
sigh~!. smilies/cry.gif
written by almurady, June 13, 2008 10:39:11
PAS should uphold its promises to champion the cause of rakyat, not by joining BN but strenghten its commitment in PR. Then PAS will be respected and looked upon highly by the masses. Joining UMNO will only strip PAS of the respect from the non-malays and even its own member (ot even face condemnaton from us the ordinary members!!).

It is not for PAS to rejoin BN/UMNO, instead, it should the other way round. Come on UMNO members, leave the sinking ship now and join PAS!!!

Sambal Tumis
http://barukabordal.********.com/
written by Dominic, June 13, 2008 10:40:00
Pas, time to wake up and stay alert and be warned too ! Any attempt to rekindle any relationship with UMNO would surely spelt the end of PAS in general and PR in particular ! Rakyat that supported PAS expect the leader to stick to their principal and promise. Dont talk and engage with UMNO for what ever is the agenda. What Malay unity is UMNO trying to project ? Its for their own survial which am sure PR together with the coaliation know how to take care and make a better Malay unity hence Malaysian unity. DAP and PKR, do keep an eye on your partner, for you never know how gud is the seduction from UMNO backside !!!
written by almurady, June 13, 2008 10:41:35
In PAS we Trust!!!

Sambal Tumis
http://barukabordal.********.com/ smilies/grin.gif
written by slash n burn, June 13, 2008 10:42:07
You sleep with UMNO you get SODOMY. Watch out for JJ The Ass Gropper, Thambi Chik The Child Molester, Najib The C4..
written by alberttan, June 13, 2008 10:42:51
Again the "Ketuanan Melayu" bullshit sold by TDM to enslave the Malays to their Tuan UMNO. It is a very enticing notion but a morally corrupt one, Nasharuddin is behaving very much like Ezam and have been seduced already. PAS would do better to get rid of Nasharuddin to prevent him corrupting PAS, the history of "Ketuanan Melayu" shouting has led to one and only one result, "Kehambaan Melayu" to unscrupulous leaders like the "Tuan" UMNOputras in our midst today and great racial division in Malaysia.

Look at the Malays today objectively, what have they gained from "Ketuanan Melayu" bullshit over the past 30 years? Corrupt Tuan UMNOs and Mat Rempits.

What have the Malays and Malaysia lost? The wealth pillaged by UMNO/BN leaders, education standards, their dignity and their identity.

Raised in a true multiracial kampung, I preferred keeping the company of my Malay mates where even 10sen worth of ais kosong will be shared. When I went back 20 years ago, the racial division sown by the "Ketuanan Melayu" belief was clearly in evidence but it was the Malays that lost, they were the ones with their eyes downcast avoiding the eyes of their Indian and Chinese neighbors. The rowdiness of Malay boys and girls were not to be seen; I could see the total loss of vibrancy in the Malay section. It is so sad really that PAS is even considering the notion of joining the corrupt "Tuan UMNOs", gentleman and ustazs, you know that there is really only 1 TUAN, ALLAH!
written by ctchoolaw, June 13, 2008 10:53:39
Guys, it's just mindgames. Let's not get ahead of things, especially when the news source is the MSM. Just chill! PAS is in a coalition that has won an incredible victory in 5 states during GE2008. It is within striking distance of forming the next federal government. PAS may be many things, but I don't think it will be so foolish as to embrace UMNO. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by cwy, June 13, 2008 11:00:38
UMNO is equivalent to Satan in the eyes of PAS!
written by sampalee, June 13, 2008 11:07:46
Oil and water do not mix.Pas found out the hard way and never again.
written by The dragonheart, June 13, 2008 11:20:09
PAS has its own ideology i.e. ISLAMISATION...

UMNO's ideology is NATIONALISM same to MCA and MIC.

Nik Aziz have said many times before that if UMNO practices PAS's ideology and change the goverment policies to PAS's visions, PAS has no reason to exist.

I don't see any possiblity where PAS is willing to submit under UMNO... but working together just to aid the Malay race maybe... political merger a big NO NO unles UMNO becomes total Islamic...
written by Syarif Hidayatullah, June 13, 2008 11:28:59
The article came from NST. Enough said!
written by alberttan, June 13, 2008 11:29:01
Dear Dragonheart;

UMNOputras are willing to do anything to remain "Tuans", my concern is if a merger occurs, what is more likely, Bullshit Malays/Muslims corrupting the Genuine Malays/Muslims or vice versa? It will be easier for Satan to be angelic than for the "Tuans" in UMNO to be Genuine Malays/Muslims, imho. The older PAS members may be immune but you can bet that to the younger PAS members, being a "Tuan Melayu" may not be so bad after all. Corruption is insidious and begin with a superiority complex from an inferior being.
written by Rainforest, June 13, 2008 11:47:38
Well, if PAS ever join BN again, I will never ever vote for them. This will mean that they are snake and cannot be trusted. I am confident that PAS being Islamic will not compromise their principle, to them, Islam comes first and they are not power crazy thinking of Minister Post! They want to help the poor irrespective of race. PAS member, please correct me if I am wrong, thanks.
written by Rashid, June 13, 2008 11:47:54
You people don't ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR? Gosh! She is a shemeful AMENO fatty that's so disgusting that you will need 10 litres to wash your mouth if your learn about her. Quit her nonsense and be assured that PAS is with PR. PAS has no future in AMENO. Everyone knows that.

written by Raizzen, June 13, 2008 12:07:55
PAS has cut down their DUN members allowance by 18% for since I cant remember when, AMNO/BN govt. has just cut down 10% of the Ministers' entertainment allowance - AND BOAST ABOUT IT to no end.

Well insignificant comparison we can say, but that just shows the difference between PAS and AMNO. Those 2 can never get together, well at least for 10-20 years to come, in which AMNO may has ceased to exist.

And the hell with NST reports - I thought you dudes in PR are immune of this ? The whole purpose of their reports are to stir riff between us, and by reacting as such, you guys are falling right into their trap, and making them VERY SUCCESSFUL indeed. This newly formed affiliation, with the pure intention of releasing the Rakyat of this tyranny, MUST be based on trust. And if that simple, yet basic 'trust' pun tak boleh bagi, how do we coexist ?

Afterall, PAS hasnt made any fuss about this. (Its all what you heard and read from the main-piss-streams)

Cmon guys, wheres the trust ?
written by uneminent, June 13, 2008 12:08:03
please be reminded that this article is from the NST. smilies/wink.gif
written by Batista, June 13, 2008 12:37:37
Hi PR loyals here,
U all 'kuat melatah'. U easily blame PAS while this news is not correct at all.
Umno gang will spread so many news to make PR turn shaky. And look like the way u are people respond to this news; they just make it.
Why all of you here don't trust PAS? Or u never trust PAS?
written by angkasawan bocor, June 13, 2008 13:17:10
PAS Please don't be a traitor to the Pakatan Rakyat cause!

Save the Rakyat not the UMMOputras!
written by Birdbrain, June 13, 2008 13:32:08
PAS popularity is gaining ground, so why should they join UMNO?

I believe many from UMNO will either join PAS or PKR!

If PAS ever make that move, then Malaysia is going to be a country for devils only. I have confidence they will not move.

written by maisur, June 13, 2008 13:39:21
whoa...so many warning PAS here after reading an article publised by NST... bijak! bijak!

as lim kit siang is very cautious with PAS, i think PAS must be very very cautious with DAP as well
written by SL Chan, June 13, 2008 13:51:38
Think should be UMNO invited to join PAS...Pas must always remember that they have been voted by the RAKYAT irregardless of religion or race...It is the Makkal Sakthi that put them in power now...Always remember RAKYAT is the Boss...Appreciate the mandate they have given you and dont betray them...Thats all need to be said...N mind you it is not maay,chinese,indian,dayak,iban,kadazan,dusun,jakun,negr ito,portugis,sikh...etc,it is about Bangsa MALAYSIA....RAKYAT MALAYSIA...PAKATAN RAKYAT FOR RAKYAT..
written by zarms97, June 13, 2008 14:45:42
smilies/smiley.gifHaiya....Nik Aziz,Gobalkrishnan & Iskandar A.Samad will be on ceramah at Dataran MPAJ,Ampang on 14th June 2008 at 2130hrs.Go and listen to get the clearer pictureLAH.
Cheers!
written by aryn, June 13, 2008 14:55:44
Ah, PAS. You should learn your lesson well.

The whole betrayal scheme is repeating itself. First under Tun Razak who led Umno then and now his son Najib is using his father's tactic of 'ketuanan Melayu' to keep Umno alive and most especially to become PM.

Lest PAS forget, March 8, 2008 showed that rakyat Malaysia want a Bangsa Malaysia government not Umno's brand of government and politics.
written by Milo, June 13, 2008 15:38:19
All UMNO need to to destroy PAS permanently in the minds of the oppressed rakyat is to make PAS betrays their trust JUST ONCE!

BEWARE PAS! The rise of rumours of you flirting with the UMNO camp and the lack of commitment refutal from your leaders is building consternation against your party. You can let the level continue to rise against you until it it TOO LATE or do something now to steam the rising tide!
written by Milo, June 13, 2008 15:39:15
...halt the tide
written by Syarif Hidayatullah, June 13, 2008 16:07:05
Haiyaa why some of you people react as if PAS has joined UMNO?!

Go talk to real PAS people and you'll immediately sense their upmost hatred of UMNO and BN.
written by Birdbrain, June 13, 2008 16:12:56
UMNO will soon make PAS looks great!

A great party for all who believes in uniting good Malays and leave the rotten ones to rot in UMNO.

Cuckoo!
written by graha, June 13, 2008 16:13:21
Rainforest, you are very right. AS FOR PAS, there is no joining UMNO. The Islamic principle is that loyalty to the leaders are only as long as they follow the dictates of Islam, once it is abandoned, like joining up with UMNO which is vice(mungkar)the pledge of loyalty (baiyah) is withdrawn.
written by graha, June 13, 2008 16:18:40
These are commentaries issuing from the enemy of Pakatan. The aim is to disrupt the unity in our ranks. Going by the reactions from the MT readers, the enemy is doing a good job of it, are'nt they?
written by Rajen Bumiputra, June 13, 2008 18:08:43
Wow UMNO can talk with PAS regarding Malay/ Islam but MIC cannot cooperate with Hindus in DAP, Keadilan about Indian / Hindu .

Hypocrite

Rajen Bumiputra
Rakyat Sultan Azlan Shah
Hidup Raja, Hidup rakyat
written by cruzeiro, June 13, 2008 18:49:40
Come on lah - as though PAS is so stupid to believe Umnoputras ...
As though they donno Umno putras would sell out anything and everything, (including the pakcik in sarong shouting Ketuanan Melayu) - just to get their grubby hands on power & the wealth of the nation.

Anyone in PAS who might suggest that they play second fiddle to Umno should be expelled as traitors!
Same goes for PKR members .....
I goes we don't have to worry about DAP on that matter at least .... smilies/wink.gif
written by OilMan, June 13, 2008 19:04:35
Is it possible that PAS can be that easily conned by these freaks from BN? Has PAS forgotten the treatment by BN when BN won with >2/3 majority? BN is now manipulating PAS with the Melayu Ketuanan thingy because they know that the BN survival is now like a "telur di hujung tanduk".
written by shangrilapeace, June 13, 2008 20:10:14
Dear NST writer Zubaidah,

Would like rewind and highlight the comments by
No.1 - Nik Aziz, a respected spiritual adviser and MB of Kelantan and
No.1 - Abdul Hadi as PAS party President and political bureau head.

"JUST 100 days ago, the most respected ulama in Parti Islam SeMalaysia (Pas) said the Islamist party would not rejoin Barisan Nasional" - Nik and

"Pas' political bureau, which Hadi heads, decided there will be no official meeting with Umno. Those supporting the idea were also criticised when the issue was hotly debated at the past three central committee meetings. - Hadi

Their stands together on this issue are firm, final and in harmony.

In this kind of politic, anything else is impossible.
Thank you for your article
written by scwong, June 13, 2008 23:12:31
Disappointing. Hai, looks like our Malaysian politicians, cakap satu buat lain.

What is there to collaborate, what is there to discuss. I really dont understand some of those in PAS, sometimes how they think. My advice, think of all those rakyat who supported you all, b4 you consider of collaborating with them. Really disappointing, gave up.

Rakyat dont be surprise next would be Keadilan or even DAP might be using the term Collaborating. WE KNOW THE MEANING AS GOOD AS PAS DO. NO NEED FOR THEM TO DEFEND -collaborate and working together- sama ertinya. GOODNITE, OK
written by scwong, June 13, 2008 23:21:36
Kalau Pas still dont understand the meaning of collaborating, nanti saya post the meaning in OXFORD Dictionary for your benefit of doubts.

Lain kali use the NO WAY WE WILL. Easier for us nonpolitical Rakyat to understand you all better.
written by alberttan, June 13, 2008 23:23:49
I have heard Tok Guru say "Islam Hadhari" karut, yet to hear Tok Guru or Tuan Guru say "Ketuanan Melayu" karut, ie Tok Guru's and PAS supporters are still thinking along racial lines. I have every faith in Islam as a religion, but Muslims are humans just like everyone of us.

I just do not have any faith in anyone who goes about believing "Ketuanan Melayu", "Ketuanan Cina" or "Ketuanan India", that immediately make one a racist and a non religious person. If u entrust leadership to anyone who goes about shouting "Ketuanan", you are already a hamba to that leader. Guess how UMNO has fooled and enslaved the Malays past 30 years?

PAS, PKR and DAP have just achieved some success, do not let PAS or PKR or DAP let the success go to their head. They owe it to us RAKYAT, and NOT WE to them; do not be fooled into letting anyone be OUR TUANS EVER AGAIN, blind faith is forbidden in every religion. Learn the TRUTH from the UMNO/BN experience, how they got corrupted since our dear Tunku and measure the ACTIONS of Pakatan Rakyat, not their words!!!

It does not matter whether I trust Pakatan Rakyat or anyone, what matters is whether WE, THE RAKYAT, are being served and NOT BEING ENSLAVED, by our leaders. No point arguing along racial lines among ourselves, if we do not change our mindset, YM RPK is right, just be angry with ourselves for letting UMNO/BN, and Pakatan Rakyat, ruin Malaysia. Peace all.
written by madtrix, June 14, 2008 10:57:48
Pas, please don't an ezam on us, ok? Nanti pas jadi fail pulak!
written by nana tanjung, June 14, 2008 13:10:11
A a PAS member, I strongly opine that we have to keep our option open. A collaboration with UMNO, nevertheless will only be possible if they are done at PAS' terms and conditions. These terms and conditions must deliberated in a special muktamar and every hazards to Islam, to Pas political future, to all Malaysians and to the country in general must be carefully assesed before any decision is made. A 2/3 majority among the muktamar members will be required.

We need to keep the option open because as musc as we distrust UMNO, we have to be wary about the true color of DAP.
written by Mustapha Kamal, June 14, 2008 13:54:30
Let me reassure everyone, that if PAS were to co-operate with UMNO in ANY WAY WHATSOEVER, it would relegate the Party to being a rural powerhouse in a very few areas of the country. IF whatever is stated by this discredited "Journalist" is taken as being the truth, then I feel sorry for those who believe her. Just check out her previous writings ! Crap in the guise of journalism. Actually, these articles were nothing but propaganda for her paymasters ! UMNO.
written by Syarif Hidayatullah, June 14, 2008 15:02:40
As I said previously, go toalk to real PAS memebrs and supporters, including those holding official position inside PAS, and you could immediately sense their upmost hatred and dislike towards UMNO/BN.

This is an article from NST. How come you MSM-haters allowed yourself to be for a ride by this ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR a.k.a. UMNO spinwriter.
written by MalaysiaBaru, June 15, 2008 01:27:34
My fellow Malaysians,

Do not allow yourself to be fooled by the lies spun by UMNO's chosen prostitute. This unscrupulous whore will resort to underhand tactics to create ill feelings between the malays and non-malays so that her BOSS can devide and rule.

Pls trust only what is coming from the official mouthpiece of PAS!
written by Rozlan, June 15, 2008 07:46:52
nO reason at all for PAS to join UMNO..The had been double crossed by UMNO once while they joined BN in post May 13.Many of their leaders were ISAed.Even a few of their members had been murdered by UMNO supporters.Some had been bashe dby their gangsters.PAS ruled state had been discriminated heavily..

The malays futures do not lies in UMNO hand.It lies on wise,pious,uncurropt leaders..
written by Milo, June 15, 2008 11:50:58
Many here are missing the point! The issue is not whether PAS will be joining UMNO-led BN but whether they are "discussing" with them or co-operating with them! If PAS is discussing with UMNO, there is cause for concern as it would automatically pose the question: "What are they dicussing behind close wall?" If these are just rumours, it is up to the PAS leaders to clear the air.
written by kclim2, June 15, 2008 21:55:09
In PAS we trust! not UMNO monkeys