Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow We Need A Trustworthy Govt

We Need A Trustworthy Govt PDF Print
Thursday, 12 June 2008 18:16

The paradise still has petroleum fields that brought a pre-tax profit of as high as RM86.8 billion to Petronas last year and the surge of international oil prices will definitely help its profits to substantially grow. However, as the international oil prices index keeps surging, the index of the people's happiness keeps falling.

By LIM MUN FAH, SIN CHEW DAILY

What could the government do as the people are suffering from prices hikes?

It was reported that other than the federal government, state governments would also cut down expenditure. The whole country is now in the mood of saving money.

The practice of official extravagance has not been a secret for a long time. And now, it would be good if all government officers could follow the recent instruction to reduce expenditures. However, time has changed and the good old days are gone. As the country is now caught in the economic depression and that makes the people suffer, how could it help much only by reducing expenditures?

Don’t our leaders always say Malaysia is a paradise?

This paradise used to be the world's largest producer of rubber, tin, palm oil and pineapple. And our leaders used to be proud of the industrialization success. But such glorious days are gone.

"Could we still achieve the 2020 Vision?"

Today, there is a dark cloud over the paradise. However, the paradise still has petroleum fields that brought a pre-tax profit of as high as RM86.8 billion to Petronas last year and the surge of international oil prices will definitely help its profits to substantially grow. However, as the international oil prices index keeps surging, the index of the people's happiness keeps falling.

By today's predicament, could we still catch up with the United States and other Europe countries? Could we still achieve the 2020 Vision?

It has nothing wrong to reduce expenditure as a response to the current economic crisis, but the problem is, how much money could we save? How could this contribute to the people's livelihood and the national treasury?

In fact, the people do not care about how many cups of tea the government officers drink, whether they are sitting in the economy or business class when they are flying abroad and whether they are riding in old or new cars. The people are more concerned about whether the government is working hard, whether it is efficient, whether it has the capacity to rule the country and whether it is serving the people and implementing policies to develop and enrich the country.

A trustworthy and good government should know how to reduce expenditure and at the same time, it should find new ways to raise revenue and create wealth for the people! (Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE)

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by grant, June 12, 2008 18:23:28
We need a government who can do Maths cleverly and run the country from the laws of Economics. That is utmost important! If this two are not comprehended, how the govt wants to manage the Finance of the country?

You cant put failures to lead a bunch of intellects! That is a fact and we have to live by it...
written by malsia1206, June 12, 2008 18:27:49
A Trustworthy Government? Do we even have any Government at all in Malaysia?
written by joejoe, June 12, 2008 18:34:57
grant wrote: We need a government who can do Maths cleverly and run the country from the laws of Economics. That is utmost important!

Sorry -- ain't got that here. Remember, we don't practice meritocracy ? So, where to find these people? Oh, sorry -- they have left for Singapore, Hongkong, Australia, China, USA, Canada, etc.
written by Lim Lim, June 12, 2008 18:38:59
'vision 2020',u make the call whether this is the dream ;or nightmare would be more appropriate??the matter of fact is we are now playing in the last quarter of the game n we are 10-0 down!with umno/Barisan Natang still on helm running the govt.,we would not be able to harbour any slightest hope of even chasing the game;it is game over now!!like it or not,this is the reality.
written by Sribayu, June 12, 2008 18:40:38
M'sia is one of the world's oil producing country..., so why we are suffering so much from this crisis?

The hardest thing in M’sia to understand is Petronas
written by Rolling Stone, June 12, 2008 18:48:17
We can either step into year 2020 with our chin raised high up proud of our status or walking around in our sarongs while digging our noses or scratching our backsides, the scenerio will depend on wheather we have a government with brain...!!!
written by Sribayu, June 12, 2008 18:55:15
To all BN leaders

You can have power over people as long as you don't take everything away from them. But when you've ROBBED rakyat of everything, you are no longer in your power.

Now rakyat no longer trust BN gomen.

Lawan tetap Lawan.........

written by Ali Cordoba, June 12, 2008 18:55:23
when US meddles in politics
http://www.worldfutures.info/Analysis/911/US-adopts-pre-emptive-political-meddling-in-other-countries.html
written by Sribayu, June 12, 2008 18:56:06
sorry..rakyat no longer in your power
written by Stupid me, June 12, 2008 19:14:52
Correction
Don't tell me those blokes in Petronas has been selling our oil cheap and buying back at current prices. If that is the case the Petronas blokes have to be removed. Otherwise being a net exporter why should we be sad that the price has been going up.
written by Lim Lim, June 12, 2008 19:29:47
the main engine is down,the turbines are screwed up,the propeller is badly cavitated hooked on a bent shaft,the rudder is missing n as a matter of fact,the "malayasian ship" is having a no-brainer captain onboard who couldn't even understand what is port or starboard,but insisting to on helm n steering the vessel..however,the worse part is he is running with a crew of 'hungry ghosts','murderer','pirates'n 'thieves' tearing down,damaging,stealing n sneakingly smuggling out,selling away every parts in every compartment they could get their hands on!malaysia is currently drifting along losing its course ,jus awaiting to sink deep into abbys ,wrecked!so,is our govt.trustworthy??
written by fletcher, June 12, 2008 19:33:08
The country as a whole is mismanage by the racist parties for their own interest. That why we are suffering now. The country is blessed to have so many natural resources and human capital but yet the country prefer to use dummy to manage our finances and dont even know how to strengten our currency. Tak tahu jaga wang. Sad to say at one time our ringgit is the best in asia and now dont dare even to float our currency.
written by InEffective, June 12, 2008 19:43:07
Con Game lah!

WindFall vs Subsidy ?

You want to believe our politicians ?
If yes, you deserve to be conned, so keep on sacrificing some more.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 12, 2008 19:47:33
Talking about dialogue, I think before we Malaysians go all "gang-ho" and hand power to PKR Anwar on a silver platter, is there a way that we can have a dialogue with him to secure some guarantees that he & his power house WILL NOT follow the same road as UMNO?? I am not that worry about DAP cause PKR will most probably over ride them in most policies plus DAP has shown to be in able hands under uncle Lim & son.
I do have some deep reservations with how the PKR gang is going to behave when they are in power. After all, quite a number of them are re-cycled politicians and we all know that seasoned politicians are no band of angels!
written by mgeo, June 12, 2008 19:48:29
- Why is our fuel price far higher than in other petroleum-producing countries?
- How is the implied Malaysian market price including subsidy of RM3.00 for petrol arrived at?
- Why is our import/purchase of petrol/diesel not more than offset by these sources of income? (a) Rising income from exported/sold crude, at
above-average price (b) Petronas income from overseas ops (c) Tax on foreign petroleum co's operating here (d) Tax on fuel retail (e) Motor vehicle purchase tax - protecting Proton (f) Road tax (g) Tax on toll operators.
- How much of Petronas total payment to govt. of RM 359 billion is reflected as income in the various annual govt. budgets?
- How much of the RM 170 billion "re-invested" by Petronas went to these, and are they allowed in the corporate charter? : (1) leasing business (planes to MAS, oil tankers to MISC, office space in Twin Towers) (2) symphony orchestra and its theatre (3) stake in failed banks (4) motor racing (5) university (6) electricity generation.
- Some oil-producing nations, especially Norway, Kuwait, Alberta (Canada) have invested their wealth prudently. What do we have to show?
- A whole tanker ship of subsidised diesel was nearly smuggled out by "pirates", but for the courage of one sailor. Has any syndicate able to afford such an enterprise been punished?
- Why is the bus transport industry (the cheapest) in such shambles and no incentives given for efficiency, while the road and car industries are encouraged?
written by sarawakian, June 12, 2008 19:59:11
not only do we need a trustworthy government, we also need good, smart people in there. manage the country's finances as any hardworking Sdn. Bhd. manages theirs.

make gov't servants perform like private companies. ensure there is always a profit or fire unproductive staff. forget the "pension" mentality which serves only to benefit those who cannot get employment in private companies because they're just can't perform. there is an old saying that if you can't pass your exams, just join the civil service.

get capable people to take charge of important government posts. we should have seen all these economic problems coming long before it hits us. gov't should have planned for this economic situation and saved expenditure long ago instead of taking action only when it has hit us.

we should have phased out the subsidy mentality a long time ago. malaysians should have been weaned off subsidies long ago. we should all be having minimal taxes on imported goods like cars etc long ago. we should all be getting a minimum wage of RM3,000 per month so we are able to compete internationally.

all these should have been done a long time ago.

to another post who said we are oil-producing country and should be rich.. look at the Arabs. their economy is bustling. heavy development everywhere and their people are all rich and happy. but how long can it last? and does all that money make the Arabs any better as people?? people who deal with them don't think they're any different from camel traders 200 years ago. think about it.

written by PAKRAK, June 12, 2008 20:04:34
The mindset of our ruling government is to "strike while the iron is hot". This is a norm because the perception is if my colleagues are doing it why can't I? In any mine or vault if the digging is continous what's there left. In any project which is created by the present government, the budget keeps on inflating (by the way this is the manipulation of SIL-KJ). And they have the audacity to do it indiscreetly and are not ashamed of it. Their attitude is who are you to question us. The ruling politicians generally clamour for positions under the pretext of serving the Rakyat but ultimately rip off large sums of money where they can possibly lay their hands on.
So in our case there is no doubt we need a completely new and trustworthy government, not a facelife or a revamp.
written by asguard, June 12, 2008 20:30:58
Barang naik is no trustworthy government of the day... here they low the taxes and somewhere along the lines they increase some thing else... they are full of lies after lies... too many broken promises ......
written by Al Ambia, June 12, 2008 20:37:06
What is a good and trustworthy government?A good and trustworthy government is whereby the rakyat put their trust hoping that the government will do their best to manage the country.Malaysia is a very rich nation,blessed with natural resources like petroleum,rubber,oil palm tin etc.and no natural disaster.Billion and billion of ringgit were being generate by these natural resources.The rakyat put their trust on the government to manage this billions so that they will make wise decision like making assets to generate more income to lessen the burden of the rakyat.But,alas ,the government fail to do what they are expect todo.They billions are being use to buy more liability thereby making the rakyat suffer.
written by binkah1, June 12, 2008 20:45:41
Let's stop bitching and do something on the situation fellow Malaysian. Those currently walking the corridor are still at their game of robbing the rakyat and unless we work to open their eyes and kick thier ass they will never learn. Dont even believe AAB when he said 'we have heard you' Let's start by boycotting anything that is connected to these bunch of national thives: be it supermart, eateries, functions etc.
written by Msian 2, June 12, 2008 21:31:49
Thats exactly what the UMNO/BN have been championing. Look at Amanah, Cekap & bla blah Talk but doing it differently. I just can't get it that wastages into billions, robbed by the billions, bent the law to their favour & yet these goons are still in power & talking the same shit. I hope Pakatan will set a fine example so when GE13 comes its history for BN.
written by lynn, June 12, 2008 21:49:13
What exactly is Vision 2020? What does it really means for bolehland? Can someone pls tell us what he/she thinks it is?
I think Wawasan 2020 is meaningless, another feel good stunt. Like a con job.
written by IbnAbdHalim, June 12, 2008 22:04:33
We don't need the current government who deduct only ten percent of the entertainment allowances accorded to the ministers. The government should have removed the entire allowances as their salary alone is suffice to feed them and their family members for the next generation. No wonder the fought tooth and nails to become ministers because the perks can last them till the end of the world.
written by zanie, June 12, 2008 22:15:46
We need an intelligent government that works as stated in the constitution. What we have here is a PM that works alone, probably having ideas to run the country in his sleep.He raised the price of oil, without seeking any opinion from the parliament, he decided to give a double pay period in a month to government servants without seeking the opinion of CUEPAC..he is a man with no vision.He is stupid while trying to look smart! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by SamYap, June 12, 2008 22:36:14
Ask any economics professor, he will tell you the same thing as written in the above article - its creation of wealth. What was not mentioned by the writer explicitly is that one of the foremost duties of a government is to provide the proper conditions (or environment, if you like this word) for the country to create wealth. This a basic tenet of economics - read by economics students in any university.

I would add to Lim Mun Fah's article, that in the current socio-economic order wealth creation is not enough to secure prosperity, its also productivity. The modern government must provide the basis for improved productivity. This of necessitates an corollary improvement in efficiency.

When the government anounced the 41% in fuel hike, I was extremely surprised. The government has more capable economic advisors than there are probably here in Malaysia Today.net. So its very strange that they could have missed out on such a simple approach.

I reiterate in brief what I had mentioned in my commentary yesterday. Malaysia is in fact almost unique amongst the Oil producing nations. We have fairly good infrastructure, a relatively high literacy rate, a good sized SME sector, AND most of all, we are a net petroleum exporter. This simply translates into lower costs of production due to low petroleum (since we are net exporter of oil). Lower costs of production means we have the edge in global competition. It also measn we should attract more MNC's to invest in setting up their Hi-tech plants here to take advantage of lower costs and other socio factors (literacy rate etc).

If we work on that model, we should end up with a favourable balance of payment. And a high GNP. Thats wealth creation and productivity!!!

So, why did the government rasie the fuel price? Because the subsidy is costing too much? Rubbish! Its paper loss, its opportunity costs. Now that the rakyat has to pay an additional 41% hike, does that improve the GDP? The domestic productivity remains the same and so there is no generation of real wealth at all. Just more money in the treasury which did not come about due to increased economic activity, just merely the rakyat's extra cost of petrol!

So there must be some other reason for the fuel hike! And the government is mum about it.

Bugger them!
written by binarytan, June 12, 2008 22:53:54
Ei, I could not get use to it lah if it comes true!!!

Gomen corrupt, PDRM beat citizen, ISA, OSA, KJ, Hindraf, Keris, C4, Balkis, Grand Saga, Syabas, most corrupted ACA, Petrol, RPK detention............ = wonderful Malaysia under sleephead PM

FCUK OFF our present gomen smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Little Sparrow, June 12, 2008 23:14:44
Most corrupt and racist gomen.
written by Little Sparrow, June 12, 2008 23:25:22
I cannot understand and I believe most people also cannot comprehend why Msia govt. is complaining about the high oil price. Msia being a net oil exporting country isn't it simple accounting principle that the higher the price of oil generates more revenue (assuming costs does not increase proportionately) and hence more profits? What the hell is going on? Can someone pls explain in layman terms. You mean if the oil price drops to say USD 10 per barrel, Petronas and the Badawi govt. wlll be jumping for joy and then the price of petrol at the pump will drop drastically? Seems like Msia is the only net oil exporting country that is suffering from the high oil price whereas all other net exporting countries are laughing to the banks. Damn it.
written by Dominic, June 12, 2008 23:40:14
Talking about trustworthy govt . For 50 long years, those hundreds of thousand who had gone to their grave must had left very disappointed that till today their beloved ones are still waiting for that to happen ! Am sure, they must be shaking their heads and talking about it everyday whether in heaven or in hell! Looking at the trend, if at all Malaysia is to maju, well, the sun will rise from the west and set in the east. This nation of ours, Malaysia, is a sore eye to the rest of the world. Leaders along cant change things overnite,the mentality of the people must change too. Which one of you still believe in Malaysia attaining vision 2020 as a fully developed nation. I will lick that person`s toe!!!
written by merchant222, June 12, 2008 23:46:11
Don't think I ever consider this country a paradise. In fact it has been only a dream short of saying it has been a nightmare. How would one feel when we have been discriminated upon and marginalized when one was born here.

My only regret was my father did not go to Singapore. Why? Because his friend and MCA big-shot was there and needed my father's support and money. This is what politicians are all about. Their minds are alike, and they change their underwear twice a day. Ini MALAYSIA BOLEH!

written by DatoJohn, June 12, 2008 23:59:57
Pak Lah Kata Tak Kawin, Tang2 Esok dia Kawin!
Pak Lah Kata Parlimen Tak Bubar, Tang2 Esok Bubar!
Pak Lah Kata Tarikh Ngundi Lambat Lagi, Tang2 Esok Ngundi!
Pah Lah Kata
Pak Lah Kata
Tang Tang Esok Jadik
Pak Lah Salah Telah Kalah Celah Balah
Pak Lah Kata Minyak Tak Naik, Tang2 Malam nie Naik!

Pah Lah Kata Tahun Nie Minyak Tak Naik dah, Tang2 .....
Pak Lah Kata Elaun Keraian turn 10%, Tang2 ......

Saya Cadangkan ABB masuk Malaysia Book of Records as the Minister with the Most Lie in 1 year! Syabas Pak Lah, Wa Tak Caya Sama Lu!
written by Lim Lim, June 13, 2008 00:02:29
pathetically,the talks of the umno/B.Natang own town is looking at the prospect....the next in line to suceed the current 'no brainer'(bodowi,new word found in kamus dewan) skipper to be the 'party man';who was the first umnogoon that pulled out the keris during their 'party' n requested to party n soak in chinese' blood!the party man who likes to play with explosive..not fire cracker but C4!the party man who likes to 'commision' n party with submarines,jet fighters!the party man who likes to party with mongolians !hopefully not..one day u would wake up n realise that the party man n his gang of thieves hav been partying the whole nation away!!so..u tell me,can this govt. be trustworthy??
written by freedom to speak, June 13, 2008 00:08:24
What trustworthy?
What nonsense?
We got screwed!
Now the BN/UMNO government is screwing the country of every cent.
Who can stop them?
Where are you SUPERMAN, SPIDERMAN, IRONMAN, KLUANG-MAN?
Anybody! Help us out of this @#$%!!
written by Jan, June 13, 2008 00:14:10
If Singapore didn't leave the Federation and if Lee Kuan Yew was the prime minister I am sure Malaysia would be a first world country by now.
There will be no squabblings among races and definitely no corruption and no heartache over the rise in oil prices. Unfortunately it's not to be because there's UMNO and there's this Mahathir.
written by Sagaladoola, June 13, 2008 00:41:42
VISION 2020 .. could we reach it?

To answer this question, yes.. if you are talking about the dark version... Very very dark ... Dark Vision 2020 ...

written by tommycol, June 13, 2008 01:38:08
VISION 2020 !!!!MY FOOT smilies/angry.gif
We,RAKYAT've been taken 4 a ride by d MAMAK ; without d so called VISION ,how 2 explain 4 all d mega projects to line their pockets. Well, he got his VISION n we're left 2 suffer,with all the $$$from Petronas gone to all the white elephants ;biggest this !!biggest that!! MY FOOT 2 you MAMAK 4 bringing the RAKYAT this predicament smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by KIAT BLUES, June 13, 2008 01:52:37
talk about a trust worthty gov.Can we trust the BN gov. like the Mka guy ali ketam coming out with all the million million project with a cut for himself and his company know as KMA. but just to look at the existing road like in Malim jaya, Taman Merdeka when you drive at night they have enlarge the road but the lighting is not upgraded. and do all of us get frustrated with our PM with only 10% cut on the minister allowance. the deputy higher education minister dont even know what his is talking in parliment, DPM a person who cant be trusted he invest so much in the arm forces just to get his cut. its a pity we malaysian have to suffer with this kind of leaders leave by our TDM
written by lampard, June 13, 2008 02:10:49
AFTER LASIK LASER, CAN LA, VISION 20/20...!

MALAYSIAN VISION 2020, LONG SIGHTED LA BRO!
written by InEffective, June 13, 2008 03:18:56
Can never flourish into a developed nation under a governance-by-coercion structure.
Its a fundamental structural flaw. (at best you can hope it does not become a zimbabwe).

To become developed (and to enjoy your only 1 chance at a happy lifetime), a culture of merit is a pre-requisite by definition.

written by jokerman, June 13, 2008 03:37:16
I do not understand...Malaysia is an exporter of high quality low sulfur oil, which fetches high prices in the global market...and yet its people are paying more for the cheaper lower quality oil being imported??

I do not understand...why cant the government think of ways to reduce the people's financial burdens by introducing measures that will actually help ALL its citizens generate more wealth instead of just a group of people??

I do not understand...a government is supposed to help its people since it is the people who casts their votes for a government...

I do not understand...why is the government bitting the master that gives him life in the first place???
written by MasterBlaster, June 13, 2008 03:45:00
It's all a cycle of good vs evil. Now you see the oppositions playing the good guys.

It's good thing when they come into power to rule one day & clean-up this mess. But if they don't stress the transparencies of good & honest politics to their successors, the rakyat then will be back to square one like what we are facing today.

In support Dato John's comments.
"Pak Lah bo'ong" - if Dr.M were to say it in Injon slang.
written by oct, June 13, 2008 07:54:54
Fuel price increases and we are exporting. Rakyat should benefit.
Palm oil price increases and we are exporting. Rakyat should benefit.
Timber price increases and we are exporting. Rakyat should benefit.
Human resources increases and we are 'exporting'. Rakyat should benefit.
Alas. None actually benefit us. We have a bunch of nincompoops managing our country resources. We have a leader who doesn't even understand economy as Finance Minister. When we don't have an expert running our kitty, how does he know whether he has a good budget plan or not?

At this time the country is facing serious economy crisis and yet BN esp UMNO is fighting internally. There is no consorted effort to find a good plan to resolve it. Giving out subsidies and cost cutting is only temporary. Do you mean that come next year, when there is another round of fuel price increase, will the Govt give out more subsidies and cut entertainment allowance by 50% for the ministers and no more paid vacations for all the ministers? How many times can the Govt do it? Will all the Ministers work for free when petrol price is RM200? Even if they have a good plan, this will take 4-5 years to complete and by that time, we will all be dead. This plan should have been set in motion 4-5 years back as the Govt economic adviser should have anticipated the fuel price increase. Our PM told us he was warming up for the last 4-5 years. Maybe he has been sleeping for those 4-5 years!!!

Look at Singapore MRT and Bangkok Skytrain. They are extending their lines and become very popular. We have our LRT for over 10 years and we don't see any new stations added so far. We won't see any good transport system in KL because if we do, Proton will close shop. Who will buy Proton when we can take bus or LRT? The Govt will protect Proton at all cost and the Rakyat will suffer.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 13, 2008 09:03:56
At least you have the LRT ther for *display*to the world!For the poor Sabahans it is an impossible dream!Sabah made the greatest mistake in forming Malaysia on 16 September 1963!44 years of suffering and transition from richest to poorest state! smilies/cry.gif
written by harryo, June 13, 2008 09:13:12
Frankly trust worthiness is not the only issue here. I think accountability, transparency, equity for all, cost effectiveness and frank delibration of society's issues and problems. Next eradicate ISA, OSA and review obsolete laws and regulation. Finally, educate the swell headed little nepolians not to interpret anything by themselves but to refer to the central body for interpretation. In Australia for eg. there are central independent professional bodies specialised in specific matters for ready reference. Why not create here? So whole host of things to do for Mind Change? BN cannnot deliver this.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 13, 2008 09:13:15
If the BN leaders have a conscience,then they should give more moral support to the PTI*s who voted them into office in the first place!During the USNO regime in early 1970*s they were given daily allowance of US2.00 for daily expenses!Now they have to rob and steal!This is why we have so many robbers and thieves nowadays!perhaps they should line up for their daily rations from today!Otherwise the future is bleak for the poor genuine Sabahans! smilies/sad.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 13, 2008 09:26:57
*Give a man a fish and he eats for one day:teach a man to fish and he eats for a lifetime*This is the scenario today inSabah!It is indeed pitiful because the USNo regime spoonfed them!Now that Mustapha is rotting away underground his cronies are suffering trying to eke out a living! smilies/cry.gif
written by salmon, June 13, 2008 09:28:44
The 10% reduction in entertainment allowance is pathetic! This suckers don't even deserve a dime for what they did. SS (Sabah Sarawak), is time to make the shift, Malaysia now depends on you guys, we drying out by these suckers.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 13, 2008 09:33:18
Green tip for the week from *The Daily Enlightenment*Eat lower on the food web to cut waste!May you all be well & happy!Sadhu3! smilies/cool.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 13, 2008 09:38:21
Vegetarianism is a sustainable diet which can reduce starvation and answers world hunger!Food for thought for the conscientious people! smilies/smiley.gif
written by ImranJ78, June 13, 2008 23:19:21
It's time we wake up and realise that the we are now in a highly globalized world. It does not make good economic sense to `artificially' insulate ourselves with wasteful subsidies. Yes high fuel prices will hurt us in the short term. Look long term, with the higher fuel prices: we will be more efficient, our environment will benefit, our children will be in a country who is not `stuck' in a `subsidy' mindset that sucks them of the competitive edge that we need in our globalised world.

We are not at all in the same league as Saudi Arabia, Venezuela etc in terms of oil production. We are almost insignificant compared to them in terms of oil production and as such we should not be compared to them. And the fact that they are dishing out huge oil subsidies does not make them correct. Let Venezuela, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain subsidize their petrol if they wish.. but are these countries recognized as highly competitive countries in the world today because of their `artificially' low fuel cost? The answer is NO! Once their oil runs out.. they will see the folly of their wasteful stratagies. With the fuel subsidies now lower and the benefits it will bring, Malaysia is better poised to rise up the economy value chain.

Think logically and long term.. not emotionally and short term.
written by BORN FREE, June 14, 2008 11:34:33
Totally agreed with the writer. Let us be rule by a clean, transparency
and educated Govem. We got to fight for our next generations !
Just take a look at our neighbor down there, they have got no natural resources and yet they make a name for themselves in the world !
Yet, we got all the natural resources but we got a "DUMBO & DUNGU" head to rule us ! Wake Up, Malaysia !!! TIME FOR CHANGE !!!