Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The curse of oil

The curse of oil PDF Print
Thursday, 12 June 2008 14:34

... in many of these “less developed nations,” oil is actually a curse rather than a blessing. It actually promotes indulgence of every sorts, misallocation of resources, complacency, poor governance, abuse of executive powers, corruptions and all sorts of other social and political ills.

By Toh May Fook

Thomas Freidman deliberated on the impact of the wealth that comes with the endowment of oil, on various oil-rich nations around the world and concluded that in many of these “less developed nations,” oil is actually a curse rather than a blessing. It actually promotes indulgence of every sorts, misallocation of resources, complacency, poor governance, abuse of executive powers, corruptions and all sorts of other social and political ills.

Back in our country, revenue from Petronas has contributed to 33% of the government’s annual budget, so we were told, but the accounts of Petronas is not made public and that leads to all sorts of negative speculations from concerned citizen. It defies logic that a national institution as important as Petronas which has contributed so much to the nation does not want to be transparent and gain even more respect from all fellow Malaysians. Unless as they say, benar benar ada udang disebalik batu.

The price of pump price of fuel has risen to a point that threatens the livelihood of most ordinary Rakyat, right thinking citizen can not accept the logic offered by the government and this can easily lead to political instability. As the issue has reached crisis proportion, it is ridiculous that the government still does not deem it necessary to open up the accounts of Petronas together with a comprehensive public review on the state of affairs in Petronas.

As Petronas is headed by a respectable and very qualified accountant, Tan Sri Hassan Merican, we are hopeful that if given the mandate, he can explain how when the price of crude oil increases, a NET exporting country can justify in complaining about the burden of heavier subsidy for the amount consumed domestically. We are not talking about the justification of subsidy, we are merely asking what does subsidy mean in this context.

Further, when budget was deliberated the year before, what was the reference price of fuel which enabled the government to obtain 33% of its budgetary needs from Petronas through various forms of taxes? Now that the current oil price is deemed UNEXPECTEDLY high, wouldn’t our government derive even more from Petronas from such various taxes?

If a NET oil exporting nation is suffering so badly when oil price increases, does it mean that all Malaysians, politicians included, should be jumping up and down in uncontrollable joy if the oil price slumps to USD10 per barrel tomorrow?

Putting all the above asides, what about the 2,500 km Peninsular Gas Pipeline Project linking our rich gas reserve from Tok Arun in Kerteh to every part of Peninsular Malaysia that commenced since 1984 and completed in 1993? Hundreds of millions were invested and for 15 years very little were done to benefit the Rakyat.

For a long while the only NGV station in Klang Valley was near the surau at KLCC which caused massive congestion; some years ago, another one was available in Sri Hartamas and that also caused congestion but also brought much delight to the station owner over his monopolistic rights.

Obviously, within those 15 years, especially during the last ten years when the oil price began to escalate aggressively, many NGV pumps should have been installed and in fact, Proton and Perodua vehicles should be fitted with NGV tanks instead of petrol tanks. That alone will make those two the hottest selling brands in Malaysia and there is no need for APs and other silly protections to our auto industry, such as hefty import duty for imported vehicle.

Yesterday, a certain minister expressed relief that car owners are rushing to install NGV tanks in their vehicle, the minister went on to explain that the government planned to have 200 NGV stations by year end but due to technical problems, there will only be an addition of 24 more on top of the current available 76 NGV stations.

Today, Tan Sri Hassan Merican said we have 96 NGV stations at the moment and due to problems on land acquisitions and problems with local authorities we may have 200 NGV stations only by 2010.

Our government is about to collapse and for 15 years, Petronas could not solve land acquisition problems and could not deal with our local councils to bring much cheaper and cleaner fuel to the Rakyat!

15 years since the Peninsular Gas Pipeline was completed, with proven strong demand for the NGV, our nation will only have 100 NGV stations and mostly in the Klang Valley. Brazil and even Pakistan have more NGV stations though they had much less natural gas reserve than Malaysia. Proton and Perodua are not marketing their products according to our God given national competitive advantage and our Rakyat are compelled to pay RM2.70 for petrol instead of 68 sen for NGV for the same function and even cleaner environment.

We need someone to answer all the above strange phenomena, or is this simply what Mr Freidman described as The Curse Of Oil?

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by rockli, June 12, 2008 14:48:31
Petronas must be transparent and give a full account of their profits as with other cos here.
How come they are exempted.
What they do with the profits only they and the Umno leaders know.
This should end now.
written by KM Wong, June 12, 2008 14:53:31
Bollocks to you Hassan Merican. What land acquisition problems? Why do you need land for NGV? Can't you just add NGV supply to the current petrol stations? And in your case just the Petronas stations so that they can continue to enjoy the monopoly. Am sure Shell, Esso, Caltex and BHP Petrol are most willing to supply NGV is they are allowed to. Hassan Merican, just shut the hell up if you have nothing intelligent to say.
written by Sean E, June 12, 2008 14:55:27
Petronas & UMNOPutra try to corner the market for LPG and that is the result. Why not allow other companies like Shell and Esso to have LPG pumps as well???
written by Democrats, June 12, 2008 15:00:27
I think our crude oil prices have been hedge and force to sell at futures contract at a lower price, maybe USD70 - USD80 per barrel when it was still at USD 60/barrel last year. That why our country is not jumping for joy like those of Saudi, UAE, Qatar, Iran and Iraq as the oil price escalates.

Remember, most of our fuel for our cars are of lower grade which is brought in from Middle East. Our high quality oils is mostly exported out of our country.
written by temenggong, June 12, 2008 15:05:40
This is called the resource curse. Every third world nation that is blessed with a resource eventually squanders it and corrupts itself and Malaysia is a classic textbook case that students all over the world will read about for decades to come.

Other fine examples are the entire oil rich arab world who splashed themselves with wastage, opulence and wars, and today have no industry to speak of. In the early 80s Saudi Arabia had a percapita income of $30,000, higher than the USA, but today its only about $7,500, lower than Malaysia. Not to mention the too many children they have; an avarage of ten kids per family!

Nigeria and Indonesia are further examples.
written by slash n burn, June 12, 2008 15:12:04
There no difference how the government run Petronas and how Ah Long run their businesses. Everything is in complete dark that bring nothing good to the rakyat but to UMNO's pocket.
written by Malay Ultraman, June 12, 2008 15:25:32
Comment deleted - profanity

MT admin
written by gtl, June 12, 2008 15:38:35
not only to open up petronas books, pls incl PNB, Khazanah and other govt link investment vehicles. there shd be a lot of interesting investment.
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 12, 2008 15:46:08

written by omarkhayyam, June 12, 2008 17:05:15
no BN politicians had been complaining .... coz they are milking the petro dollars happily .... its the ordinary man on the street that is paying and will continue to pay ..

unless we are prepared for "change"

written by tmf, June 12, 2008 17:25:22
Dear Democrats,
Hedging? yes may be, but was it wise? what about the Sime Darby CFO who forward sold CPO for quantity more than the Golden Hope could deliver? They did not simply made less profit as prices went further up, they actually needed to buy from others at higher price to cover their position and therefore causing the Company to suffer loses of RM120 million!

What about Jaffar Hussein who had to step down from Bank Negara after the hefty forex lose and later passed away a very desolute man?

But then again, did all these accountants made those decisions themselves or were they merely the scapegoats?

Remember Kamarul Arrifin Yusoff? After the BMF scandal in Honk Kong, he was removed as Bank Bumuputra head not because of taking responsibility but rather because he tried to explain that the whole BMF affairs were not his decision alone. " Surely you can not believe that I have the authority to decide on something of such magnitude." I think he said something like this or words to this effect.
written by onnetline, June 12, 2008 17:37:47
What is this Merican fella mumbling about ? What land acquisitions problems that he can't resolve in the interest and welfare of the public ? Or he's just simply talking cock or just another of our sleepy head PM lapdog sworn to secrecy.
written by wag the dog, June 12, 2008 18:00:44
Peak Oil

“ All the easy oil and gas in the world has pretty much been found. Now comes the harder work in finding and producing oil from more challenging environments and work areas. ”
— William J. Cummings, major oil-company spokesman, December 2005

“ World reserves are confused and in fact inflated. Many of the so called reserves are in fact resources. They’re not delineated, they’re not accessible, they’re not available for production ”
— Sadad I. Al Husseini, former VP of Aramco, October 2007.

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by cruzeiro, June 12, 2008 20:10:11
I think our crude oil prices have been hedge and force to sell at futures contract at a lower price, maybe USD70 - USD80 per barrel when it was still at USD 60/barrel last year.

======================================

Think no further ..... it's getting warmer ....
Think back now, what the terms of the deal for "soft loans" from Japan/ Korea were under the Look East policy, when crude sold for pittance (relatively speaking).

Yes - then it gets hotter!
written by cruzeiro, June 12, 2008 20:13:04
Think also what brought up the "water controversy" with Singapore (Post 1997), after ratifying the deal in 1996.
Also, ask why Singapore offered astronomical interest for RM FDs - do you smell rat yet?
written by asguard, June 12, 2008 20:27:45
The right to do... ask barang naik ...(BN) where did all of petrol dollars went for past 10 years or so....? as people has the right to know about it?
written by datukbendahara69, June 12, 2008 21:30:34

As Petronas is headed by a respectable and very qualified accountant, Tan Sri Hassan Merican, we are hopeful that if given the mandate, he can explain how when the price of crude oil increases, a NET exporting country can justify in complaining about the burden of heavier subsidy for the amount consumed domestically. We are not talking about the justification of subsidy, we are merely asking what does subsidy mean in this context.

When I attended a Petronas managers forum few years ago, a participant had raised such question to a panel of Petronas senior management. It was if I may recall, answered by Datuk Anuar Ahmad (SVP Oil Business) and it is roughly like this...

"Petronas do not subsidize the price of petroleum products locally. It is the government. Government obtained income from Petronas in a form of tax, royalty and their share. The government in turn pay the subsidy to oil companies selling their petroleum products in Malaysia. These companies are Shell, Esso, Caltex, BHP and also including Petronas. This subsidy is said to be a loss that these oil companies incur as a result of government imposing a ceiling prices for all locally sold petroleum products. It does not make sense for Petronas to compensate its market competitor."

Today, Tan Sri Hassan Merican said we have 96 NGV stations at the moment and due to problems on land acquisitions and problems with local authorities we may have 200 NGV stations only by 2010.

There is no problem with land acquisition with local authorities. The problem is getting the right piece of land without being pestered by interested politician or VIPs for their land so that they can be compensated handsomely. I believe.

written by SUV, June 12, 2008 21:32:50
it should be the curse of greed...
written by datukbendahara69, June 12, 2008 21:55:56

written by KM Wong, June 12, 2008 | 14:53:31

Am sure Shell, Esso, Caltex and BHP Petrol are most willing to supply NGV is they are allowed to. Hassan Merican, just shut the hell up if you have nothing intelligent to say.

I'm not saying this just to defend Petronas but actually other oil companies can supply NGV. Petronas is not a legislative entity that approves other oil companies to put whatever they want. It is the government and local authority. I believe there was no demand at that time but this is best answered by those oil companies. However, I don't think it is a wise idea because it will just adding more excuses for government to talk about additional subsidy.

The way I see it if we look from oil exporting countries point of view is that Petronas should take over all petrol stations and sell it under a single brand with lower price. Meanwhile, international oil companies can still run their refineries such as Shell and ExxonMobil in PD. Any shortfall of petroleum products refined by Petronas refineries can be purchased at prevailing price from these foreign oil company refineries. In other words, Petronas sells petrol products locally at a loss instead of being called subsidized price. In reality, Petronas still make profit from selling its excess crude oil and other refined petroleum products in international market. This is being practiced in Middle-East oil producing acountries.

written by cheekhiaw, June 12, 2008 22:18:52
THE INDULGENT CALLING OTHERS INDULGENT

Thomas Friedman is from the US whose people make up 5% of world population but consumes 25% of its oil and other resources.

To ensure it gets to indulge itself at that rate, it does what it can to put in place or sustain many governments with the kind of behaviour he attributes to oil - misallocation of resources, complacency, poor governance, abuse of executive powers, corruptions and all sorts of other social and political ills.

For the world is best for them when everyone else is in a mess...

written by cheekhiaw, June 12, 2008 22:21:12
It is not the curse of oil but the curse of having to oil the many hands in the oil wells...

written by cheekhiaw, June 12, 2008 23:41:51
TAKING THE GAS OUT OF NGV

Petronas and other oil and gas companies do not supply NGVs. They supply CNG and LPG.

Mercedes and Toyota may supply NGVs...

written by RYANXM, June 13, 2008 03:35:39
written by zaman maklumat, June 12, 2008 | 22:53:29

Do you think the president of Petrons (or shell or Exxon) for that matter have any power over those local authorities and government departments and state governments. Its not that easy to deal with those people as we all know.

Hello Brother,I'm very sure it's not easy to deal with them if it is you and me.But for a GLC which contribute 1/3 of our Gomen Budget I don't think so.
Stop spinning for them...
Petronas was able to settle at toughest places if Africa and elsewhere.
Stop the pussy crab that they can't even get land back home.
written by tmf, June 13, 2008 07:00:51
Dear Datubendahara,

Thank you for your kind explanation, we need more like you, sir, who are or were from Petrronas to enlighten us on this crisis.

However the mechanism of channeling profits and subsidies and rebates, the question remains, how can we be suffering when we are still a NET exporter when price increases?

The government or Petronas should come up with detail illustration and explanation for all of us to understand the whole issue if there is nothing to hide. Therefore we are calling for transparency.

On NGV stations, many of us thought that the slow progress in installing NGV pumps may be due to too many interested parties, likely some political warlords, trying to gain exclusive rights over the supply to NGV pumps, otherwise it is already not too bad even if only Petronas stations are installed with NGV pumps. If indeed there are powerful warlords who try to gain exclusive rights over NGV pumps or the supply to NGV pumps, hence hampering Petronas plans to popularize NGV pumps in even Petronas stations itself, such warlords must be very high up in our political battlefield.

Nevertheless, we are appealing to all, in the interest of everyone, let us resolve all obstacles/self interest/conflicts and allow the Rakyat to fill their vehicle with 68 sen through NGV pumps instead of RM 2.70 through petrol pump.
written by tmf, June 13, 2008 07:06:49
Further, if NGV pumps are only available in Petronas stations, wouldn't it make Petronas the most popular in Malaysia? Just like if Proton and Perodua are producing NGVs, vehicles fitted with NGV tanks, wouln't it made the two the hot selling brands in Malaysia?
written by joeawk, June 13, 2008 10:58:43
Complain and complain, the price won't come down. Use less petrol, drive properly and do not drive unnecessarily.

Don't even think about electric cars because gereating eklectricity causes immense pollution.

Add water to you rpetrol, it gives u more power, reduce emission thus pollution and save you up to 15% fuel consumption. RM10.00 or less, DIY.

Oh, you don't believe that oil and water can mix. No, you won't be mixing water and oil but vapours from water and fuel. Now,maybe you believe, haha, I having been using the VAPOuRISOR for the last 6 months. My sister, the last 4 months, another friend of mine just started and is very happy. This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by mgeo, June 13, 2008 23:01:04
What about the unused gas pipelines laid in housing esates? Wo do you think paid for that?
written by wargasetia, June 14, 2008 19:27:59
buy this product to save fuel...

written by wargasetia, June 14, 2008 19:28:36
buy this products to save fuel.
http://excelgas.water4gas.hop.*****bank.net

written by wargasetia, June 14, 2008 19:29:43
buy this product. u can save 50% fuel.

written by wargasetia, June 14, 2008 19:30:27
written by wargasetia, June 14, 2008 19:31:27
buy this product to save ur money and fuel.
via this url

written by zaman maklumat, June 15, 2008 14:32:54
written by RYANXM, June 13, 2008 | 03:35:39

written by zaman maklumat, June 12, 2008 | 22:53:29

Do you think the president of Petrons (or shell or Exxon) for that matter have any power over those local authorities and government departments and state governments. Its not that easy to deal with those people as we all know.

Hello Brother,I'm very sure it's not easy to deal with them if it is you and me.But for a GLC which contribute 1/3 of our Gomen Budget I don't think so.
Stop spinning for them...
Petronas was able to settle at toughest places if Africa and elsewhere.
Stop the pussy crab that they can't even get land back home.

Hallo RYANXM, of course its easier to deal with people in Africa and elsewhere. Dealing with oxymorons back home in malaysia takes a lot of juggling because of their foul mouth and dumb behaviour. You for example have a rotten pussy mouth. Better to spin that to talk like the one coming out of your rotten pussy mouth