Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Justice Ian Chin: Guilty of Misconduct

Justice Ian Chin: Guilty of Misconduct PDF Print
Thursday, 12 June 2008 14:08

I refer to the allegations by Ian Chin, High Court Judge, Sibu, Sarawak reported by New Straits Times (11th June 2008) with the headline ‘’Dr M threatened judges…’’ and ‘’Judges Boot Camp’’ The Star (11th June 2008). 

2.    Ian Chin is reported to be sitting on the bench last Monday to hear an election petition filed by Wong Hus She the defeated DAP candidate for Sarikei parliamentary seat and the Barisan Nasional candidate Ding Kuong Hing who won the said seat by 51 votes.

3.    It is quoted that before the start of the proceedings whilst sitting on the bench, Ian Chin ‘’anticipated a motion for his recusal, Chin took the step to disclose what the parties and counsel may not be aware of but which they may later complain that I should have disclosed’’. Both sides did not object to Ian Chin to recuse as the presiding judge.

4.    Instead of proceeding to hear the petition, Ian Chin used his position sitting as a High Court Judge on the bench, to make malicious, disparaging and outrageous allegations against the former prime minister that ‘’ Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad threatened to punish the judiciary in 1997 for decisions he disliked. He referred to two cases he had presided over in February 1997- a libel suit and an election petition – the decision with which the then Prime Minister was apparently displeased’’.

5.    Ian Chin is also quoted to have said that Dr. Mahathir at the judges conference about a month later ‘’had to issue a thinly veiled threat to member judges by referring to the tribunal that was set up before’’.

6.    Is this the functions and duties of a judge to make malicious, disparaging and outrageous remarks against the former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad or anybody else for that matter and hide behind the cloak of judicial immunity instead of commencing to hear the election petition proper fixed for the day.

7.    I have been taught, trained and made to believe as a practising lawyer that judges have to exercise prudence, patience, decorum and not to be seen to make malicious, derogatory and disparaging remarks when sitting on the bench. This constitutes a blatant act of misconduct by Ian Chin. Sitting as a judge on the bench, Ian Chin is clearly seen not to be impartial and displayed his biasness and prejudice by making such remarks from the bench.

8.    Since Ian Chin ‘’anticipated’’ a motion for his recuse it is apparent that he knew from the start that there was a great feeling on his part of biasness, prejudice and partiality within himself in hearing the election petition and therefore should have automatically recused himself from hearing the petition.

9.    Instead, he chose to abrasively and boldly make the malicious, derogatory and disparaging allegations from the bench when there was no indication of the counsel for both the parties to make objections. It is very obvious that the remarks made, were made deliberately and with malice aforethought, laced with cowardice when he said of the former PM- ‘’now, though no longer the prime minister and so no longer able to carry out his threat to remove judges which should therefore, dispel any fear which any judge may have of him……’’.

10.    Ian Chin has not only shown bias, prejudice and partiality as a judge sitting on the bench but has also thrown himself into the political arena or has a political agenda when he declared that ‘he had twice stood unsuccessfully for election as a BN candidate in the 1980s in one of which he lost to the DAP’’ and ‘’the petitioner in this case may also have similar view with regard to my defeat by a candidate standing on the ticket of the party to which he belongs’’.

11.    Ian Chin’s malicious, disparaging remarks against Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad clearly stems from his frustration and disappointment in not being promoted. This is clearly spelt out when he said ‘’ and it may cross someone’s mind that I may have an axe to grind against the party concerned or any member thereof’’ and as a blatant excuse to use and distinguish two cases-  M.G.G. Pillai (1995) and  Raveychandran v Lai Su Chon anors (1997) as well as setting aside the ‘’victory of BN’s Mong Dagang in the 1996 state polls in the Bukit Begunan seat’’. Ian Chin is also quoted to have said that ‘’Dr Mahathir had expressed unhappiness over the decision. After he was done with issuing that threat, he then proceeded to express his view that people should pay heavily for libel. He managed to get a single response from a Court of Appeal judge who asked whether he would be happy with a sum of RM1 million as damages for libel.’’-this was supposed to have been said at a judge’s conference. Furthermore Ian Chin is reported to have said that ‘’ He approved of it and he later made known his satisfaction by promoting this judge (since deceased) to the Federal Court over many others who were senior to him when a vacancy arose.’’ Thus, due to his frustration for not being promoted, Ian Chin has completely exaggerated, debase and thrown aspersions of incredibility not only against himself but other fellow judges and the whole of the judiciary in particular in the eyes of the public.

12.    A sitting judge is quoted to have said that ‘’ There were about 70 judges at the meeting but I think the majority of us, including Chin, were not influenced by what Dr Mahathir said. I feel Chin took the opportunity to speak from the Bench because he thought Dr. Mahathir was responsible for blocking his promotion.’’ It is apparent that Ian Chin is under delusion and facing a mirage in making such disparaging, derogatory and outrageous allegations against Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. Even Tun Dzaiddin has said that he ‘’ does not recall what was said at the 1997 judges conference and this was echoed by Tan Sri Lamin Yunus and in particular Datuk Shaik Daud Mohd Ismail who said that ‘’It is a real shock. I do remember the (then) prime minister conveying the message about damages in defamation suits but not of any threats of removing judges via a tribunal.’’ A serving judge was also reported to have said that ‘’but I think the majority of senior judges felt that Chin’s ruling on the case was legally flawed.’’

13.    Also, the previous presidents and the new president, Ambiga Sreenevasan along with certain members of the Bar Council since the removal of Tun Salleh Abbas for misconduct in 1988 has never agreed with or seen eye to eye with the former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad and therefore their senses are clouded and the statement made is provocative to create turbulence within the judiciary which ultimately will lead to more serious judicial crisis.

14.    The Prime Minister, Abdullah Badawi cannot for all intents and purposes remain silent or close an eye but must take the necessary steps to initiate and set up a judicial tribunal to try Ian Chin for the act of misconduct and not encourage such serious incidences by judges sitting on the bench in the future.

Mohd Yacob Karim
Non-partisan lawyer

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by joeawk, June 12, 2008 14:18:49
"malicious, disparaging and outrageous remarks"

I, a lay person' sees it as Ian Chin telling the truth. I believe what he said but should he face a tribunal, let the legal minds decide. Besides, how many malaysians trusted mahatir on judicial matters in malaysia, except for the few who still find his ass smells fragrant.
agree 136
written by Fernz, June 12, 2008 14:20:32
So be it. Charge him for misconduct. Also, charge the deceased judge for asking the one million RM question and subsequently accepting the promotion.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com
written by menowok, June 12, 2008 14:22:11
I do remember the (then) prime minister conveying the message about damages in defamation suits

Why Mahathir need to convey the message about damages in defamation suits? I thought there's separation between executive and judiciary power?

Mohd Yacob Karim, may I know what is your intention to write this?
agree 116
written by Counterpointer, June 12, 2008 14:23:48
Between a judge who dares to speak the truth about the above the law old fart and some you-don't-know-who-the-hell-he-is lawyer speaking on behalf of the old fart, I am more inclined to believe the judge anytime.
written by FOLI, June 12, 2008 14:25:32
Mohd Yacob Karim, you can search his name on ****** and judge for yourself by reading his articles regarding that mm... so this essay of his should be thrown into the trash can where it belongs.
agree 119
written by temenggong, June 12, 2008 14:29:21
What silly and defensive arguments from a lawyer!

A judge has to provide reasons or valid grounds for his recusal, or offer of recusal, to make full disclosure to both parties. That is what is called ethics and justice.
written by babakl, June 12, 2008 14:30:01
Ayah, tis is nothing new. Last time, ordinary people and lawyers mention it . Now a serving Judge comfirm it. So, i trust what was said last time and now it is double sealed that this happens. So why and what Judge Ian did must be investigate. Anyway, mahatir is no angle, even the devil is scared of him. He is bigger then the devil.
written by future, June 12, 2008 14:34:09
Why can't you gave the judge the benefit of doubts before a tribunal?
Mr Yacob you claim to be a non- partisan lawyer but i doubt it.
written by humanist, June 12, 2008 14:36:30
Dear Mohd Yacob Karim,

you mis-signed your title, I corrected it for you.

Mohd Yacob Karim
Non-partisan lawyer Mahathir Loyalist
agree 130
written by Knight, June 12, 2008 14:39:00
"7. I have been taught, trained and made to believe as a practising lawyer that ...."

Hi Bro - where did you get your LL.B degree from? Maybe you come from some crap university, that is why you were "taught, trained and made to believe" wrongly. Anyway, our universities and other external law degrees have been producing rubbish lawyers anyway. I hope you are not one of them.
written by 1st2stay, June 12, 2008 14:40:57
Why do you feel the need to use "Non-partisan lawyer"?
Since what you have to say is loaded with a very partisan opinion and a grain of aggression?

I have lost the count of your "malicious, disparaging and outrageous" attributes. It may be that the statements of Ian Chin were of such qualities; but you as a "taught, trained and made to believe as a practising lawyer that judges have to exercise prudence, patience, decorum and not to be seen to make malicious, derogatory and disparaging remarks when sitting on the bench" ought to pursue the same cautious attitudes.
I would more than welcome your professional efforts to initiate a proper inquiry if the allegations of a boot-camp to streamline judges were indeed true, if the previous government had tried to interfere into the course of justice, promoted judges not on merit but on toeing the governmental line. If those statements made by Ian Chin were proved to be incorrect, I do agree with your proposed course of action; though not necessarily initiated by the PM, contrary to what you suggested.

Your text implies that Ian Chin was incorrect, the previous PM did never do anything close to what Ian Chin alleges. As a non-partisan lawyer, you either are not non-partisan; or you are in the possession of evidence that such efforts had not been undertaken. If this is the case, please step forward to present those.
written by aryn, June 12, 2008 14:41:24
Here comes another lawyer advocating the 'punish the whistle blower' practice.

If Justice Chin must be punish, then drag all those crooked judges and Tun M i court too to answer for their misdeeds.
written by Democrats, June 12, 2008 14:46:57
Who is this non-partisan loyar buruk called Mohd Yacob Karim? What's his firm or which firm does he works for? so i can take note which firm not to engage seeing the stupidity of his argument.

Justice Ian Chin at his position could have just called a press conference to spill the beans if he wanted to. His statement is purely to clarify and disclose to both parties which if it was later found out, one would be protesting against his decision, and waste more of the courts time.

True, more information that neccessary could have been disclosed at the time, but better get it all out, or they will start digging and asking for further clarification anyway.

Dautk Mohd Yacob Karim, (I call you datuk cause i'm sure your hoping to get recommendation for datukship on the next royalty's birthday for your article) Maybe you too are just stemmed with frustration and disappointment of not being called to become a judge?
written by ez24get, June 12, 2008 14:51:16
These are the comments picked up from the news media on the judiciary in Malaysia:-

Last Chief Justice - Fairuz
I have written to the Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Deputy Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak and Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Mohd Nazri Aziz…. I’m innocent, the video was a fabrication and a slander !

Lingam was bragging…

Prominent Lawyer - Lingam
It looks like me and it sounds like me… but it wasn’t Fairuz on the other side of the line.

My brother is of unsound mind…

AG – Abdul Gani Patail
There were no criminal elements in the video clip and that Lingam’s conversation was a ‘monologue’ in nature.

ACA
Lingam forgot his phone numbers and therefore I couldn’t obtain his mobile phone number….

I asked Fairuz whether Lingam had telephoned him and Fairuz replied he had not. Therefore I did not check further…. (by Chuah Lay Choo)

Instead of checking on Lingam and Fairuz, ACA harassed and threatened Anwar by “name source or face jail” and whistleblower Loh Mui Fah.

The ACA gave me $3,000…(Lingam Ex-secretary, Jeyanthi)

Previous Chief Justice - Eusoff
I accidentally bumped into Lingam in New Zealand and coincidentally on the same flight, van and visit itinerary with Lingam… (on the infamous NewZealand holiday)

Ex-Prime Minister - Dr M
I couldn’t remember…. I don’t have to explain why…

Ex-Tourism Minister - Adnan
Lingam is either mad or drunk…

Ex-Law Minister - Nazri
My press officer gave me the wrong information on Witness Protection Bill … (on his ignorance that the bill had not been passed in Parliament)

They are all crazy lawyers….(on the Bar Council 2,000 lawyers march)

What crises? I don’t see any.…

Because I’m his minister …. (on why he replied on behalf of Fairuz and his ignorance of the separation of the legislative and judiciary)…

Sarawak High Court Judge - Ian Chin
Former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad issued a thinly-veiled threat threatening judges with removal should they decide unfavourably towards his administration

Former chief justice Eusoff Chin asked another judge, Kamil to dismiss the election petition that he was going to hear in Kota Kinabalu.
We were sent to boot camps for indoctrination….

Just look at this amazing, jaw-dropping elaborate web of deceit and conspiracies made by people of high places from Prime Ministers, Ministers, Chief Justices, Judges, Attorney General, ACA, PDRM, lawyers to prominent businessmen! Foreigners who are not used to Malaysia would be totally amazed and frightened of the corrupt state of judiciary system in Malaysia!

To add to this, the present Prime Minister, Badawi, had recently clearly usurped the powers of the judiciary and executive by giving orders to the police and the AG to take actions on political dissents.

Judging from the extensive inter-link of people of power from the Prime Minister to the many powerful institutions such as PDRM, ACA, AG, Judges, etc do you think that Zaid could be successful in reforming the judiciary or that the common public could have a fair trial in court! How many from the boot camps are still sitting as judges running errands for the BN Government today? It is like a BN factory churning out pro-government judges and stamped them with SIRIM (Standard Industrial Robots Indoctrinated by Mahathir) labels!

May god protect the common, non-politically connected citizens of Malaysia!
written by krising1, June 12, 2008 14:56:29
Suppose I agree with you that you are good trained lawyer who has all the qualities of a GOOD law. Suppose I agree that your non-biased and that you are non-partisan. Now explain to me who told you that the judge thinks that Mahathir blocked his promotion. If no one told you, give me a legal explanation how you came to that conclusion.

I am a little puzzled why you want the judge to face a tribunal and not have an inquiry to find out if what the judge says is true. After isnt that what justice is all about? - To find the truth.!
written by Rashid, June 12, 2008 15:17:50
Ha ha ha! Non-partisan? Ke ke ke ke! Do you think Malaysia-Today readers suffer from SARS (Selective Amnesia Recollection Syndrome) like Mahathir, your small god whom you defend whenever his dirt is shown? And by the way, who requested you to tell us that you are a non-partisan? Feeble minded, crony cultured Manglish speaking UMNO-Putra like you doesn't get it.

NB: If Ian Chin committed a crime, challenge Mahathir to move a court and seek libel, right? That's good! If the Judge committed misconduct and disparaged Mahathir, why can't Mahathir proceed to the courts? Poor boy. Or you are yearning for some commissions? Did the Badawi gang sideline your firm? Oh, you can join Sanusi. I' sure you have stolen enough in the 1st place.
written by chanatak, June 12, 2008 15:23:37

"Mohd Yacob Karim" clearly a product of UMNO's scholarship for non-scholars program. Despite having legal training, he has failed to understand the meaning of justice. He also failed to see the despair of people who lack an impartial platform to seek justice ..... even a judge.

Dear Yacob .... please take your law degree to the loo, wipe your bottom and flush it away ......

written by Dominic, June 12, 2008 15:23:54
Mohd,
Ian wouldnt be that stupid to disclose what the rakyat need to know if he isnt sure what he ought to say ! But you on the other hand had accused him of outrageous accusation. How do you come to that conclusion may I know ? You seem to defend TDM left and right as if you are 100% sure he is perfect . We all know thats not the case. Judiciary reform is only good for the present and the future. In this case setting up of a RC is most fitting to clear the air if I were you !
written by Wisdom above, June 12, 2008 15:36:54
My respect to Ian Chin, High Court Judge, Sibu, Sarawak .

10% truth is enough for me.

You need not proof beyond reasonable doubt.

Syabas.
written by malsia1206, June 12, 2008 15:38:25
Dear Mohd Yacob Karim , no need to be so detailed and analytical. Matthias Chang would do it for his master sooner or later. Too much icing on the cake spoils the taste.
written by harmanamri, June 12, 2008 16:17:22
Bravo Yacob Karim, non-partisan lawyer! By calling for a tribunal to try Judge Chin for "misconduct", of course Mahathir will have to appear as a "witness" to deny Chin's allegations. Mahathir can then be cross-examined by Chin's lawyers. This time there is no excuse for him to "not remember". Try Chin or try Mahathir, the truth will come out after all, whichever way you choose to deal with the matter!!
written by cruzeiro, June 12, 2008 16:36:39
Yacob,
I've long wanted to say this to you, mate:-
Probably being a lawyer "kangkung" by training, it's imperative that you have such a puny brain-
You obviously don't see the stupidity in judging yourself to be non-partisan, while writing biased opinions time & again!
That in itself has me to avoiding all your crap.

Have some sense of humilty & shame, please .....
written by Catharsis, June 12, 2008 16:37:55
Mohd Yacob Karim
Non-partisan lawyer......is this a reasonable personç conclusion. I wonder where did you read your law from
written by cruzeiro, June 12, 2008 16:55:51
gromy,
I'd rather have credible people like Ian at the helm, (despite their misgivings about the grimy nature of the job under the grimy politicians) than real grimy judges being appointed to take their place - at least there'll be some semblance of justice ....
written by conradagosy, June 12, 2008 16:59:52
guys,
if my memory serves me right, this mohd yaakob karim might have been the same ****ing bastard who suddenly appeared as 'defence' counsel for sukma during those days not to defend him but to ensure that sukma sticks on with his 'confession' so that the entire mahathir controlled media could go to town writing about it. It may have been some other name but similar but it doesn't change anything. This yaakob fellow must have been doing his law next in a shit house.

I thought I was already over this, but the recollection of all that shit that was thrown on us during those days by the mother ****ing mahathir has got me all worked up again.

Anwar can forgive but we can't. Mahathir must pay for this, for screwing the entire nation!
written by rockli, June 12, 2008 17:03:06
Mohd Yacob Karim, you sure know how to kiss ass. What did Tun M. give to you that u came out blazingly to his defence.
What if it is all true?
As a judge, he is conveying his sense of duty to be recuse by either party, so he gave the explanation.
What are you Karim, an ex judge to judged Ian.
Do not be an idiot and protect a corrupt and dirty ex politician!
written by Hanif07, June 12, 2008 17:03:11
For all MT readers info. Mr Yacob Karim is anorther mamak and has his firm in Klang " Yacob & Rakan-Rakan " smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by fireduck, June 12, 2008 17:08:17
Non-partisan? Every word you wrote is lopsided. So, at the very least, don't spoil the whole thing by signing yourself off as 'Non-partisan lawyer'!

And to suggest that a tribunal be form to try Ian Chinis absurd if you do not recommend, in the same breath, the need to investigate his 'allegations' which are far far more serious than Ian's 'misconduct'.
written by oknyua, June 12, 2008 17:09:42
And beside, Yacob Karim is an old man, I think around 70?
written by harmanamri, June 12, 2008 17:11:07
He's a "non-partisan" lawyer because he quit UMNO like his boss!! Anyway, in September 1998, he was "appointed" as a lawyer for Dr Munawar Anees.

[Extract from Dr Anees Statutory Declaration, can be viewed in full at http://anwarite.tripod.com/munawar_sd.htm

176. ASP Mazlan then asked me whether I had a lawyer. I said
I did not. He said to me that I was not to worry and that he
had one for me. ASP Mazlan never at this point of time, or
before or after that, tell me that my wife had already
engaged a lawyer for me and that that lawyer had already been
in contact with Police Headquarters right from the first day
of my arrest.

177. He then made a telephone call and spoke to someone. I
did not know who he was talking to. He mentioned a name to me
- Yacob Karim - and after telling me that he was to be my
lawyer handed the phone to me. This Yacob Karim reminded me
that we had met at a conference in Sarawak. This was once
some six years ago. I had never met this Yacob Karim after
that and did not know where his office was or his telephone
numbers. I was nevertheless relieved that here at last was
someone I had met, even if once six years ago, and that
perhaps I would get some assistance from him. Yacob Karim
said that he would see me soon. I thought I was speaking to
Yacob Karim while he was in his office.

178. About 5 to 10 minutes later ASP Mazlan said to me that
he was taking me to this lawyer, Yacob Karim. We left his
office and ASP Mazlan took along a copy of the statement
recorded by the Magistrate.

written by harmanamri, June 12, 2008 17:14:47
More on the so-called "non-partisan lawyer (from Dr Munawar Anees' SD)

183. Yacob Karim then proceeded to tell me that arrangements
were being made and that I would be taken to a Sessions Court
the next day and that I would have to plead guilty to a
charge and to admit to the offense. I asked him why I was
being asked to plead guilty and he replied that otherwise
they could not proceed with the case against Anwar. He said
arrangements had been made to get me a light sentence. To
every question that I asked him after that he gave me a stock
answer - "Don't ask me. Ask the Police."
184. He then proceeded to ask some brief questions about my
background, made some handwritten notes and added that he had
got my background from the police. He kept assuring me
throughout that the sentence would be lenient and that it
would be a few months. I tried telling him that I had done no
wrong but he in reply told me that I should not worry and
that I was doing a great service to the nation, that the
nation of Malaysia would remember me for these services.

185. Yacob Karim left after that.

186. Yacob Karim never at any time spoke about fees or being
retained by me or about informing my wife about my situation.

I am now not surprised at the way he attended to me that
afternoon since his conduct then and subsequently clearly
showed that he was working together with the police in
denying me my rights.
written by zonefinder, June 12, 2008 17:33:19
En Karim, give me a piece of that stuff you're smoking, mate. Ian Chin merely added further credence to what is public knowledge. The Public is not stupid and we don't need a law degree to understand lah.

I'm not surprised some of the "senior" judges do not support Ian Chin's allegations as I wouldn't trust half the crowd in the judiciary anyway..not after Lingam's revelation.

By the way, I will reckon the " guilty" chaps in the judiciary will probably append a " Totally Upright Judge" to their names...just like your " Non partisan " lawyer. Its the insecurity, you see..
written by cheekhiaw, June 12, 2008 17:46:49
harmanamri,

Thanks for the scoop.

Non-partisan lawyer huh?

That's the way to tackle such devils...

written by humanist, June 12, 2008 17:57:00
harmanamri~

Gee, you have just unleashed the wrongdoings of Non-partisan lawyer

Someone should lodge a complain about this Karim Guy, citing a miscarriage of justice on Dr Munawar Anees

Al
written by SocratesI, June 12, 2008 18:00:21

Now you all see why the Old Fart, Maha-Shithead wants to reply "in due course" ?? He is busy getting all his pariahs to bark back like this Karim, to constantly howl against Ian Chin, so that it is done consistently to discredit Ian Chin !!

The Cunning Old Fart is not stupid, and he knows it is much more effective to have many of his cronies and paid mongrels to voice out against Ian Chin than if he were to do it himself !!

Karim, you better go back to Law school. What parliamentarians speak in Parliament, and what Judges say when on the Bench cannot be taken to court. And how can it be misconduct to be honest and truthful ??

Perhaps Maha-Shithead's Gang of Thieves to which you belong has a different definition of "misconduct", like for e.g. "He doesn't agree with us, so its misconduct".or "He is divulging and exposing all our filth, so he is misbehaving" !!

Go back to the Slum you come from, Karim, and wallow in your own filth !! Stop polluting our environment !!

written by ksmaniam, June 12, 2008 18:02:15
and who are you to question a Judge.
He has a right to question the executive, they are the keepers of the Country's Conscience.
Beware anyone who questions Ian, Beware.
written by Baronshah, June 12, 2008 18:09:14
If I am an accused, I rather stand trial in the court of The Honourable Learned Justice Datuk H C Ian Chin as I know I will get a fair trial conducted by a fair Judge.

My hats off to you Sir.

regards
god bless all
written by jjireh99, June 12, 2008 18:20:31
As I said b4, no point blahbling all the legalities and technicalities. The truth of the matter is, can someone please speak the truth, for once!! Please, human beings have conscience. Doesn't that count?? This is not a matter of protecting your friends and expose your foes, but this is about accountability and clear conscience so that whatever sin all of us are carrying will eventually have to come out before/or after we go to the other side.
written by mgeo, June 12, 2008 19:11:41
A sitting judge is quoted to have said that ‘’ There were about 70 judges at the meeting but I think the majority of us, including Chin, were not influenced by what Dr Mahathir said.

O non-partisan lawyer, it is not about whether he influenced, but whether he tried to influence. It is abuse of power! Comprande?
written by InEffective, June 12, 2008 20:29:34
Is this the caliber of malaysian lawyers ?
(feeble no-credibility assertions and arguments to make a point ?)

Its imperative that our Malaysian Bar review its standards-of-competence in the legal community for such 'lawyers'.

Or has the bar exam been lowered to such levels (just like our public universities who are fixated on numbers and race without quality)
written by myke, June 12, 2008 21:01:53
Yacob Icecream,
Your non-partisan sounds very partisan.
written by ganbing, June 12, 2008 21:03:00
Mohd Yakob Karim, have you made a deal with the devil to give you a lighter sentence in hell? Because that's where you're heading after your miserable existence here. Perhaps you can argue that Mahathir made you do it?
written by Msian 2, June 12, 2008 21:22:39
Lawyer buullrook MYK. Do you know that your used to be little god MM has now been demoted to the ranks of the devil ?? If you can't see that what kind a loyar are you, except being a loyar bbbbbuuuurrook. By the way, when have ever spoken up about all the injustice in the country ?? You certainly have traits of Lingam, can't hear, can't see, can't fanthom BUT can bodek & kiss AR**. You are a disgrace to the profession & another crook that has robbed the people & country of dignity.
written by Ahjamal, June 12, 2008 21:25:15
Non partisan lawyer moving on to non practicing lawyer
written by lamakawan, June 12, 2008 21:25:44
Mohd. Yacob Karim, how many lawyers or judges in malaysia dare to say anything
against the BN leadership? They have been drilled to the familiar tune of " saya sokong", and nothing else. They are so afraid of the former premier to the extent you can say they are like tikus in the cabinet. Judge Ian Chin is one of the few people in Malaysia who dare to speak up for righteousness and justice. karpal Singh is another one who upholds justice for the people and maybe only a couple more in the whole country. we need people to be courageous and speak up what is right and what is wrong. we cannot continue to be mutes of the ruling party.
written by Uncorruptible, June 12, 2008 21:47:31
Justice Chin may "chose to abrasively and boldly make the malicious, derogatory and disparaging allegations", but his allegations are the truth although he may have to stand alone, every justice else would be too scared to come forward. But the people salute you, Justice Ian Chin. By your action, we hope more secrets come out. Even if it is because of promotion, Justice Chin is still justified to reveal the matter. A brave man in these times of need of brave people !
written by temenggong, June 12, 2008 21:54:42
Yes, Hanif07, thank you.

I think I know this mamak lawyer in his 60s from Klang. Pathetic bugger.

He pretends to know everyone in the tax dept and can kautim with them!
written by Sabahfan, June 12, 2008 22:09:39
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Mohd Yacob Karim
Non-partisan lawyer

kah kah kah kah kah...non partisan tahi babi...

Yacob Merican is the lawyers for the JUNTA family of Malazutland.....

kah kha kha
written by IbnAbdHalim, June 12, 2008 22:16:18
Mohd Yacob Karim a non-partisan lawyer? I doubt it. Must be Mahathir's arse-licker.
written by TWOG, June 12, 2008 22:26:10
Mohd Yacob Karim
Non-partisan lawyer

Thank you for the best joke for this coming weekend - you make my day.

The fact that you have to describe yourself thus says a lot about you, doesn't it?

Reminds me of the Chinese saying: "There are no 300 taels of gold buried here."

written by HL5, June 12, 2008 22:33:00
Yes, the ACA should widen its scope of investigation. It should be interesting to see what comes out of it. If the ACA and AG are truly reformed, let's go get all the ex-PM's men in office and charge them with gross misrule, high treasons, and subversion of the nation's interest to their own. I am sure there will be many more interesting disclosures if the ACA just follow the leads. Let the example be made that no one in high office is allowed to hijack the country for their own interest.
written by Spear Bing, June 12, 2008 23:06:59
Mohd Yacob Karim
Non-partisan lawyer a.k.a. Mahathir Sycophant

You have come to the wrong website.......MT bloggers are no fools...they did their research well of where you are coming from, and your partisan motives.

You deserve to be verbally lashed for disguising yourself as non-partisan.

written by tenang, June 12, 2008 23:42:25
Dear Mohd Yacod Karim,

The discloure of Ian Chin is not something to be regulated by the laws. Although someone might be feeling the heat of those statements, there are no suspision of crimes committed under the eyes of the laws. There is no such thing as "Guilty of Misconduct" when there are no one right is violated and truely harmed. As to so-call reputation of TDM is challenged, it is fair challenge for a politician, and there is nothing new about it.

I think people would like to see an open civilized tussle between executive and judicial branches. Then we the people will be the arbitrator and decide who won the tussle. Please stop accusing someone guilty (as shown in the title) as if it is in accordance with some laws. Whoever loss in this tussle will only be "punished" through demoratic political process where the people are the judges, not through the laws.

Yes, don't even try to use "Guilty of Misconduct" as a way to sack a judge, like what we have done in Tun Salleh case. I think this time around the people are smart enough (I hope) not allowing such judicial branch to succumb to executive branch to the detriment of the people -- the lesson of 1988 should be clear to everyone now. Judicial and executive branches can fight, but don't you dare to cross the line by sacking or demoting high court judges.

For those who reserve you right to love and to hate TDM, I would like to urge to shift the discourse focus from "TDM versus Ian Chin" to "Government versus the people". It is the people right and well-being that are paramount here.

written by miwaki, June 12, 2008 23:43:36
Mohd,are you sure you are writing to your target group ? Ever heard of market segmentation ? You fail badly if you are sitting for Marketing exams !
written by humanist, June 12, 2008 23:51:20
Dear Mohd Yacob Karim,

You passed judgment on Justice Chin with guilty verdict using public court of opinion ? You must be dreaming wet with on your keyboard.

Justice Chin is way above the bench and you are no where even near the carpet level. That is why he is up there and your are down on the floor with dirt.

Al
written by Namolos, June 13, 2008 00:24:55
Mohd Yacob[Takut] Karim....you are one coward lawyer[Hidding yourself] who comes out accusing a High Court Judge who dares to state his mind in an open court.

I dare you to post a photo of yourself next to your statement as what Justice Chin dare to do....so come on TAKUT KARIM....bring it on..COWARD.
written by Limang, June 13, 2008 02:55:11
The day a Judge is investigated or jailed for speaking the truth, that nation has collpased. Such is our Malaysia - we are on the edge of a failed state as long as BN is in power and you have lawyers like Mohd Yakub.

DSAI has to step in quickly and rectify this sad tradegy.

That Mamakthir, the old forked tongue crook who is worse than the devil, had destroyed Malaysia's integrity, progress, morals, harmony, standing, etc. is without question.

I only wish someone brave enough to investigate his misdeeds, as he challenged, and find him guilty and be jailed even for a day - that would make my day andf redeem my faith that there is still hope for this country.

My hats off to Judge Chin for dare to tell! Where are all the other coward judges?

written by roadbarra, June 13, 2008 08:59:40
My respects to Justice Ian Chin for speaking up the truth! hail justice.
written by myke, June 13, 2008 10:37:32
harmanamri,

Good research. ONE TO YOU.!!!.Keep it up.

Fellas read what HARMANAMRI wrote to see the whole picture of this lawyer buruk.
written by zandi, June 13, 2008 14:07:05
Mohd Yacob Karim,

Aiyaa...go back to law school again lah you! Doesn’t look like you've learn much besides these few English words "make malicious, disparaging and outrageous remarks". I am glad I am not a lawyer, else I’d be very ashamed to have you as a member of my profession!

On the issue of Ian Chin's "frustration of not being promoted", go read the Straits Times, which reported that "...a former chief registrar told The Straits Times that the judge was offered a promotion to the Court of Appeal, but turned it down as he did not want to move to Kuala Lumpur.”

As a layperson, how is it that I can understand better why Ian Chin had to disclose that "he had twice stood unsuccessfully for election as a BN candidate in the 1980s in one of which he lost to the DAP”. It befuddles me how you, a lawyer, cannot understand the need for this disclosure from the sitting judge? Ian Chin is about to hear an “election petition filed by Wong Hus She the defeated DAP candidate for Sarikei parliamentary seat and the Barisan Nasional candidate Ding Kuong Hing who won the said seat by 51 votes.” The relevance of this disclosure to the petition is so crystal clear that it could only take a nincompoop to accuse Ian Chin of having “a political agenda”. I am lost for words at the level of stupidity that you are at. So, can we even blame the slightly smart politicians for manipulating the likes of you? It is because of people like you that the judiciary in this country is so corrupted and messed up.

If Ian Chin is guilty of misconduct because of his “malicious, disparaging and outrageous remarks”, then you are even more guilty of misconduct because of your unfounded accusations and “malicious, disparaging and outrageous remarks” against a high court judge of Sabah and Sawarak and should be tried before a judicial tribunal!
written by Milo, June 13, 2008 14:41:50
Is this the functions and duties of a judge to make malicious, disparaging and outrageous remarks against the former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad
-----------------------------

Mohd Yacob Karim,

It is not the duties and function of a judge to make such remarks. But, how did you conclude that the remarks by Ian Chin are malicious, disparaging and outrageous and not based on facts? And, is it your duties and function as a lawyer to make such malicious, disparaging and outrageous remarks on judge Ian Chin if you have no evidence that what were said were not true?
written by TWOG, June 13, 2008 15:50:27
...which brings me to that little bit of gumption in action that we’ve seen just this week.

I refer to Justice Ian HC Chin’s revelation a few days ago about Dr M’s unholy attempts to interfere with the judiciary about 10 years ago.

To this, Rocky asked and remarked :

“What took the Judge so long?…A really long time to live in fear, Yang Arif.”

Bro Rocky, no fair! As we ask ‘why so long?’, bear in mind that the same question might be asked of you, I and many, if not all of us.

Justice Ian Chin spoke of events in 1997. In 1996, he would have witnessed first-hand how a nation stood by and did nothing as another brave judge, Justice Syed Ahmad Idid, was forced to resign whilst the list of judicial improprieties he had sought to expose were ‘NFA’ed as being baseless and unfounded.

What moral foundation do we now have to ask this man with gumption, ‘Why so long?’.

http://harismibrahim.*********.com/2008/06/12/gumption-a-minister-one-judge-and-a-great-many-mediamen/
written by Blackgiring, June 14, 2008 19:52:34
.....very good!!!!!!!!
written by Motherchell, June 15, 2008 23:34:53
Mohd Yacob Karim
Non-partisan lawyer! Since when did you get interested in justice is seen to be done ,when the ruling upstarts have been having a wild party for the last 25 years . party ?

I fully agree with ZANDI----------- if a layman like zandi and me can see the facts on the table --- i can see the standard of our so called abridged learned lawyers . They know how to quench momentary bliss by saying with so called demented erudition.

Where were you when the Rakyat were being torn to bits daily by the powers that be . Wake up Yacob!!!!! use your skills where you'll be recognized and rewarded for your guts to stand against the powers that be . I can also see the standard of our Bar Council ---- all carry dumbells more than they carry the BAR!!!!