'Muslims must embody openness of their religion' PDF Print
Thursday, 12 June 2008 11:32

KUALA LUMPUR: Ignorance and narrow-mindedness about Islam are the two key factors that can undo what Malaysia has achieved.

Political scientist Dr Chandra Muzaffar said many non-Malays here failed to understand Islam and its history in Malaysia, adding that the mentality would, in a sense, retard the progress of national integration.

Speaking at the forum, "Islam and the Future of Inter-Ethnic Relations in Malaysia", he said what many failed to understand was that Islam was best suited in multi-ethnic and religious conditions because of the resources it had.

"Because of the universalism embodied in the Quran, it is the only scripture that forbids a person to compel another to adopt Islam as a religion, or any other religion for that matter.

"Islam's principals of openness and accommodation were among the factors why British historian Arnold J. Toynbee once argued that of all religions, Islam was the one most capable in overcoming racism," he said.

The three-hour forum was organised by the Institute of Strategic and International Studies (Isis) together with the International Institute of Advanced Islamic Studies (IIAIS).

The moderators of the three-hour session were Isis chairman and chief executive officer Tan Sri Mohamed Jawhar Hassan and IIAIS chairman and chief executive officer Professor Dr Mohammad Hashim Kamali.

Chandra said he did not think that Islam, although being the official religion of the country, could deny the rights of other religions.

He, however, pointed out that there was communal damage among the Muslims who subscribed to narrow and superficial views of Islam.

"There are some Muslims who express their faith as someone who is honest, accountable, caring and compassionate. And then there are others whose expressions of faith are just the attire and how they treat their non-Muslim neighbours," he said.

He added that sometimes Muslims did not set good enough examples to earn the respect of others.

"By not setting a good example, how can you expect the non-Muslims to respect the Muslims?" he asked.

To address such issues, Chandra called for efforts to develop and transform the thinking of individuals.

"Instead of talking about a state and having a structure, let's start looking at the transformation of individuals.

"If more Muslims in Malaysia embodied the psychology towards openness and universalism, I think our country will be a much better place," he said.

On political parties' actions of using Islam to promote inter-ethnic relations, Chandra said Parti Islam SeMalaysia, Umno or any political players could not have a state that distinguished people based on faith, ethnicity and culture.

The country's politics, he said must lead one to recognise and respect equality among all citizens despite their religions and ethnicity.

Later, Jawhar said Islam was universal, accommodative and an open belief. He agreed Islam provided the best approach for any multi-religious society.

- nst

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by LKO, June 12, 2008 11:45:48
".. it is the only scripture that forbids a person to compel another to adopt Islam as a religion, .."

I beg to differ. I am not an expert, but I don't know of any major religion that compels someone to follow their religion.

Any generalised statement from a failed politician, now claiming to be a world religions expert.
written by slash n burn, June 12, 2008 11:50:46
Rightly so mamak and translate that into action. What happen in Malaysia now is no less than evil.
written by little dragon, June 12, 2008 11:58:42
Chandra Muzaffar said many non-Malays here failed to understand Islam and its history in Malaysia

non-malays understand by equating it to d circumstances they r being put thru.
written by La Cha Mau, June 12, 2008 12:04:07
I am a Muslim and the only thing I understand Dr.Chandra is that MUSLIMS brutally murdered nearly 3,000 innocent people on 911. And you will continue to sit in that chair of yours paying for those sins now and in the life hereafter...in HELL.
written by humanist, June 12, 2008 12:10:17
Hai-yah Mr Chandra, no need to say so much. Let me give you a simple layman's view.

Religion is like supermarket. Take only WHAT you need, to be a good person. Discard whatever outdated or used-by-expiry date. If you attempt to take everything, it will be chaos.

You ever see in TV, only during riot when looting occurs, looters will attempt to take everything above their own. Check out a few country that forced feed what religion said to their people.. you can see how successful they are.
written by ladasiber, June 12, 2008 12:15:32
Apart from misleading, Muslim in Malaysia are associated with Malays. If you were a Malay, than you are a Muslim, regardless of your everyday life practice. That is what the UMNO goons preach (Regretfully this is what stipulated in the Constitution). It is wrong and a sin, and nothing to be proud of. Real Muslim practitioners would like to be known as Muslim rather than Malays.
written by The dragonheart, June 12, 2008 12:23:56

Human are human... the believers will be the believers... those who do not believe, whatever you say or do they will never agree... so let it be...

Human must be sent a "nicely written will which benefit them attached to string to their heart " and "knocked three times on their head and twice on their guts" .... if they don understand or refuse to understand... they will always say..."Its their Human Rights and not God's Right" ... [ from the song "Knock Three Times]

Let it be... let it be... in the words of wisdoms... [ john Lennon- The Beatles]

written by Admiral Tojo, June 12, 2008 12:45:34
Please reread 'Bullshit Muslims and Bullshit Islam' posted by RPK recently for reference on what ISLAM in Malaysia actually is. Chandra is a pseudo intellectual whose views are best laughed at.

Shalom/Salaam
written by joeawk, June 12, 2008 12:52:02
Less talk about politics and less talk about religion and get down to do real work so that malaysiqans can move forward.

Malaysians have for far too long allowed politicians and so called religious people to hijack opur agenda for success so much so that we are still stuck in the continue debate on race and religion rather than moving forward as a united nation.

Those are the most unproductive malaysians, who talk and talk or shall I say bullshit and bulshit their way to the bank. Cut them out and let them go hungry. They are the most corrupt, financially, morally, mentally, emotionally yet they want to play saints.
written by macaufan, June 12, 2008 12:52:22
watever mamak chandra muzzafa d frog/running dog commented is not worth a single second to read/comment ! poooraaah....! smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ONGJJJ, June 12, 2008 13:15:00
Do not cloud the root cause that will destroy Malaysia...the ketuanan melayu lie or propaganda. Political scientist konon. Podah.
written by T Rex, June 12, 2008 13:23:52
In Sabah, those who convert to Muslim will become Ahli Keluarga Sabah (Members Of Sabah Families). I got a former brother-in-law who secretly converted to muslim by signing a false statutory declaration. Among the matter he declared was that he was bujang (single) when infact he had a wife and 2 young children. We only found out that he had converted to muslim when he died and some body reported to Majlis Ugama Islam Sabah (MUIS) that he had converted. We then found out that the reason why he converted to Islam was that he wanted to marry a muslim woman secretly. He was then issued a certificate of conversion which stated that “since he had converted to islam he had now became ahli keluarga Sabah”. Unfortunately for him he fall sick and died before he could marry that woman. That woman did not even bothered to see him off at the mortuary or before he was buried but she did called one of my sister-in-law and enquired wither he was buried according to the muslim rite. Yes he was handed over to MUIS because among the things stated in the Statutory declaration he signed was that he must be buried according to muslim rites and non muslims must never interfere. Since we could not interfere he was put in a grave dug by illegal immigrants paid by MUIS.

The question is why does MUIS say that only muslims are consider as ahli keluarga Sabah? Malaysian citizens residing in Sabah including those whose ancestors were the first to inhibit Sabah are not ahli keluarga Sabah but those illegal immigrants who peddle drugs, steal, rob, rape, murder, are ahli keluarga Sabah because the are muslims. No wonder their numbers are increasing every day non stop and the UMNO led government is not doing anything to stop them. Infact they promote, encourage, and increase them through "Project I/C".
written by Proarte, June 12, 2008 13:25:05
The fact is the Koran tells Muslims not to befriend Jews and Christians as they are allies of one another and that God does not like the unjust. So much for the promotion of peace, brotherhood and goodwill to all men!

The fact is the Koran gives accounts violence against Kafirs and condones the taking of war booty, including women and children. The murderous al-Anfal campaign by Saddam against the Kurds in Iraq drew its inspiration and name from the Koran.

The Islamic courts in Malaysia have said that Revathi who claims to be a Hindu and who eats pork and who 'benci Islam' is a Muslim and can never change her faith! If this is not compulsion then what is?

Look at the rape , murder and displacement of millions of Black Muslims in Dafur perpetrated by the Islamic government of Sudan is nothing other than racism and genocide. The Arab Muslims in Sudan regard the Dafurese as 'Black Africans' and hold them in contempt.

Chandra can fantasise and lie about the Koran, but the reality is as clear as day for all of us to see.

ABIM supported the 'stop work order' against the Bhuddist Mazu statue in Kudat saying it would desecrate a Mosque which was situated about half a kilometer away. So much for religious tolerance and 'universalism' which Chandra talks about.

It is about time Muslims recognise the deficiencies, racism, immorality and violence in some aspects of the Koran. They really need to address the contradictions in the Koran and Islamic practice. Adopting the 'Ostrich in the sand' and 'Emperor's New Clothes' attitude towards their religion only serves to bring Islam ( submission to God ) into ridicule. Political and moral prostitutes like Chandra display the worst aspects of Muslim behaviour.
written by sararaj, June 12, 2008 13:26:42
i wonder if anyone who's poster comments here has actually read and understood the quran in its entirety... i haven't.. i'm hindu... i own a copy of the quran... it's a facisnating book... as with all other religious texts... but i believe religious text are written in such away that they are to be intrepreted by the person reading it... not by what ppl tell you or teach you... that's why religious scholars always tell you to read the religious texts on your own... it's apersonal thing, religion... so stop slandering other religions and practise your own... no religion tells you to do bad... that's not a religion... we have to realise that all religions preach the same thing... be good to your fellow man...
written by temenggong, June 12, 2008 13:29:08
Chandra is a bullshit muslim and a bullshit scholar. He thinks nobody else knows about these things.

Again and again pleading for respect for islam when all we see are hypocrisy, double talk and brainless drones.
written by Garend, June 12, 2008 13:55:23
"Because of the universalism embodied in the Quran, it is the only scripture that forbids a person to compel another to adopt Islam as a religion, or any other religion for that matter.

Hm.. this seems a bit interesting... well... can you Dr Chandra please kindly explain... "WHY MALAY is automatically a muslim.. even when they are KID.. and they have no choice but to be Muslim.. and are not allow to embrace any other faith?"

Those kids are so young.. and they are not even given the choice to choose.. and yet they have become a muslim.. I am TRULY baffled.
written by Thian, June 12, 2008 14:05:44
I believe in the Universal Wisdom (God); religion by its very nature is very divisive. Everyone wants to claim their religion is the ultimate truth. At a mundane reality that we lived in, naturally they see only the mundane aspect of the religion such ritualistic and superficial aspect of their religion.

The universal truth in all are internalise, such as Love, Compassion, Wisdom and Courage.

Those who have cultivated those values, do not need brokers to God. Inevitably all brokers will add in their agenda ahead of God.

The relationship to God is more important than labels.

written by Bornean, June 12, 2008 14:13:57
"Islam was best suited in multi-ethnic and religious conditions because of the resources it had. Because of the universalism embodied in the Quran, it is the only scripture that forbids a person to compel another to adopt Islam as a religion, or any other religion for that matter. "

So says Chandra Muzaffar! Just because you say it, doesn't make it the truth! I have never seen or heard any major religion compelling people to convert to their religion! They do have their missionary activities, but the final decision lies with the person.

However in Sabah, during CM Mustapha's time, villagers were forced to convert to Islam. Incentives (monetary rewards)were given to heads of departments to become Muslim.
Now, how about that? Answer this Chandra Muzaffar!

A religion is only as good as the people who profess it! Otherwise the religion is worthless! Don't answer this by saying that there is nothing wrong with the religion, it is the people who are at fault!
written by cahaya, June 12, 2008 14:18:46
Tan Sri Musa Hitam, a former deputy PM, also explained Islam in Malaysia to another international audience in 2001:
… the Malaysian scenario is somewhat different from the normal sort of development in other Islamic countries. This is because in Malaysia, Malays are defined as being of the Muslim faith. It is taken for granted that this is the case and it has always been that way. Constitutionally (or legally), a Malay would not be a Malay unless he is a Muslim.

Towards the end of his speech, Musa Hitam said:
I really have strong faith in the fact that Malaysia is a multi-racial society. Even if an Islamic party comes to power, it cannot afford but be Malaysian first, and Islamic second. Even for Malay leaders who rise up the ranks of UMNO, multiculturalism is crucial. ….. all parties must accept the realities of the composition of Malaysian society.

You can read more of this interesting speech at
www.iseas.edu.sg/92001.pdf
Islam and State in Malaysia, Tan Sri Musa Hitam, a paper presented at the Forum on Regional Strategic and Political Developments organized by the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies in Singapore on 25 July 2001.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 12, 2008 14:40:20
Each and every rational human being has got a set of *religious doctrine*embedded into their consciousness!It basically boils down to what is true or false!We cant have several *god* to start of with!So virtually there is only one God!we call it different names!The chinese have one hundred and eight bodhisattas in the mahayanist buddhist tradition!They pray to *Amitaba*also in the kiblat direction for few thousand years!Also known as Buddha of Western Bliss or heaven!The so called *God* in Taoist tradition is the Thnee Kong which is the diety in the Heaven of the Thirty -three!There are so many heavens & hells!ther is also the hell of fire,hell of dung & urine! smilies/tongue.gif
written by cruzeiro, June 12, 2008 14:57:53
".. it is the only scripture that forbids a person to compel another to adopt Islam as a religion, .."

======================================

Podah Thamby!

Tell me which religion doesn't advocate the "golden Rule" of RECIPROCITY in conduct!
As far as I know every good man has to acknowledge it - Muslim, Hindu, Christian Buddhist or Jew.
Without that, you don't deserve to speak of God or religion!

Stop playing politics and jumping the populist Islamic bandwagon, you great pretender!
written by Bandit, June 12, 2008 15:02:47
"Because of the universalism embodied in the Quran, it is the only scripture that forbids a person to compel another to adopt Islam as a religion, or any other religion for that matter. "
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Explain this to me Mamak:

"As the Qur'an is the final revelation and Muhammad is the final
prophet, humanity is obligated to accept it: "If anyone desires a
religion other than Islam, never will it be accepted of him; and in the
Hereafter he will be in the ranks of those who have lost all spiritual
good" (3:86)."

Is God a Muslim and Islam HIS religion?????
written by chanatak, June 12, 2008 15:29:45
"Political scientist Dr Chandra Muzaffar said many non-Malays here failed to understand Islam and its history in Malaysia, adding that the mentality would, in a sense, retard the progress of national integration."

Hello, you washed out political scientist! Stop parroting that tired old stereo-type line as if only Malays can understand islam, and only muslims can understand islam. For a fact, malays are least able to understand islam simply because they fear to face the truth. And non Malays who take the trouble to read the koran and compare it to the hadiths can tell a malay more about islam than the Malay - and then the Malay will get embarassed and react in a hostile manner just to intimidate the other from embarassing him further.

So just shut up. There are enough English language translations around to do comparisons as to whether the verses are translated correctly ..... barring the Yusuf Ali version.

written by Catharsis, June 12, 2008 16:47:01
Political scientist Dr Chandra Muzaffar said many non-Malays here failed to understand Islam and its history in Malaysia, adding that the mentality would, in a sense, retard the progress of national integration."

This is ONE BIG JOKE..........."MR POLITICAL SCIENTIST"
written by Ahjamal, June 12, 2008 16:58:33
block head keep Islam at your heart. Please leave Islam from
politic. Your are a Indian Muslim I am a chinese Muslim You claim to be a Malay I remain as chinese We are muslim. Why are you bring up Non Malay issue This is Malaysia my dear Indian Muslim. I am not a Bumiputra but condidered as Bumibuta still mix around with all Malaysian in respective of race Please be a good Malaysian.
written by Lostsoul12, June 12, 2008 17:33:05
"Ignorance and narrow-mindedness about Islam are the two key factors that can undo what Malaysia has achieved. "

Hi DR. Chandra, the above statement was meant for muslim or non-muslim?
How can we (Malaysia non-muslim) to understand umno/pas islam when even the muslim friend from other country don't understand umno/pas islam???
umno/pas had created their own new islam that caused all the problems in malaysia today!!!!!
written by wshamsudin, June 12, 2008 18:06:32
If our LEADER's major in Islamic Studies, dont understand well about Islam, then what can Chandra Muzaffar expected from the others..Does he Mr Chandra understood well about Islam? Pls advise the LEADERS first....Dont robbed what belongs to the RAKYAT...
written by apa jadi, June 12, 2008 23:35:24
Ignorance and narrow-mindedness about Islam are the two key factors that can undo what Malaysia has achieved.

Political scientist Dr Chandra Muzaffar said many non-Malays here failed to understand Islam and its history in Malaysia, adding that the mentality would, in a sense, retard the progress of national integration.

Alamak! I used to like his talks and articles. Now I realised I have been conned all these while.

Championing a JUST world. This report reveals that Chandra is just a spin doctor. The whole talk seem smacks of KETuANAN ISLAM undertone. How does this fit into the JUST world he advocates?

How about the narrow minded and ignorance of other world religions that are practised here too? Have you taken the effort to accommodate them if not understand them?
In a JUST world, respect is mutual, so is bigotory. So, Chandu, stop spinning. We are giddy already.
written by Bigdawg, June 13, 2008 01:13:33
I wish I could marry a Malay girl without having to cut away part of my body.

Then, I also don't like the racial profiling as in having to adopt a new name
viz. Ah Peng bin Abdullah.

Why can't people let religions take a back seat in life? So much more unity
could be achieved if people would stop building communal walls to isolate/segregate themselves from other communities.
written by amoker, June 13, 2008 08:02:25
"many non-Malays here failed to understand Islam and its history in Malaysia, adding that the mentality would, in a sense, retard the progress of national integration."

At least i read more about Islam, sometimes for sources that is not state controlled; where the debate and evidence did not match the idealism promoted by Chandra or other speakers. The usage of the " Islam is a religion of peace" tagline is probably a tagline, a struggle among some Muslims when contrasted with some nas in Quran that demanded otherwise. It is a shame that these speakers choose to speak on idealism and promotion basis instead of basing it on their "God's word". You can convert a gwailo with such talk but not us. To top it off, he accused the "Non Malays" as the blockers. If indeed Islam is the least racist, why are we racially termed as "Non Malays"? Or , would you prefer a more Islamic word of "Kafir" so that it not racism but religionism? From the statement, national unity can only be achieved when every single person is a Muslim.

Would Institute of Strategic and International Studies (Isis) spend their goverment subsidy better by engaging a better debate? The topic of "Islam and the Future of Inter-Ethnic Relations in Malaysia" would naturally be skewed towards the conclusion "He agreed Islam provided the best approach for any multi-religious society." At this level, a topic such as "Religions and the Future of Inter-Ethnic Relations in Malaysia" would really provide insights. Bah, so called intellectuals and a testament to the brain drain effect.
written by Bandit, June 13, 2008 08:17:55
"written by kgsadu, June 13, 2008 | 07:49:44

Wowwww—berapi-rapi. But, Alhamdulillah..so far I haven’t seen any comment from my brothers muslim to condemn other religions. This is a beautiful of Islam… Islam teaches us not to provoke or insulting other religious as might ‘allowed’ by others. "

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The fact is all the above are facts which you have no answer to it. You are just one of the hypocrites hiding behind the ...."This is a beautiful of Islam… Islam teaches us not to provoke or insulting other religious as might ‘allowed’ by others. ". Your comment is an insult to yourself and your belief. I have not come across any other religious text which invoke hatred and condemn the beliefs of other neither compel others to follow it promising hell fire if the so called believer becomes a non believer and so on. Who tolerates who? Can you answer this intelligently? Even the so called leader of JUst World failed.
written by miwaki, June 13, 2008 08:23:21
No religion in this world can compel anyone to accept certain religious believe.Also there is no one religion which is better than the other.You can be better but not your religion !
written by SUV, June 13, 2008 12:10:42
I am a Muslim and the only thing I understand Dr.Chandra is that MUSLIMS brutally murdered nearly 3,000 innocent people on 911. And you will continue to sit in that chair of yours paying for those sins now and in the life hereafter...in HELL.
report abusevote downvote upVotes: 34
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

hi,me name is d suv n is d hindu,and i just wanna tel ya, neo cons bushy dicky has murdered more then 1 million iraqis..and oh what happend to ol yugoslavia,ur kepala batu otak can recall aah?
written by SUV, June 13, 2008 12:11:41
wat did tamil tigers do to minories in batticola,sri lanka,u all know aah?ethnic cleansing there oso..go digg out
written by apa jadi, June 13, 2008 12:15:11
written by kgsadu,
Wowwww—berapi-rapi. But, Alhamdulillah..so far I haven’t seen any comment from my brothers muslim to condemn other religions.

kgsadu,
Action speaks louder than words. We have seen many actions that are worth a billion good words.

As I said before, respect is mutual, so is bigotry.

I certainly hope you practise what you profess. Then you are a good man.

As a muslim we believed no one (muslim) is better than our religion....If we are better than our religion, then who we are???

You comparing ourselves with an big universe...If we are than a universe, then who we are???? Hilang akal.
written by SUV, June 13, 2008 12:17:03
As the Qur'an is the final revelation and Muhammad is the final
prophet, humanity is obligated to accept it: "If anyone desires a
religion other than Islam, never will it be accepted of him; and in the
Hereafter he will be in the ranks of those who have lost all spiritual
good" (3:86)."

Is God a Muslim and Islam HIS religion?????
----------------------------------------------------------------------

smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif wat a f*kin m0ron....god and religion muslim aah..dey pulti kacang..god can have religion aah?..sheesh...2 much "jom bikin lui".f*king poonanis have dilluted malarsial brains!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by SUV, June 13, 2008 12:20:53
malaysians only undertand 1 thing...LUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUI!

written by SUV, June 13, 2008 12:25:47

u f*kin cunt..how much did AIPAC pay u ..mmm..arssehole?..u f*kin m0ron,ur twstin n turnin of history aint gonna help ya..undertand y f*kin chootiah..it's 2 late baby...2 late
written by SUV, June 13, 2008 12:28:13
u f*kin cunt..how much did AIPAC pay u ..mmm..arssehole?..u f*kin m0ron,ur twstin n turnin of history aint gonna help ya..undertand y f*kin chootiah..it's 2 late baby...2 late
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
ini ditujukan kpd proarte,