Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Despite knowing, BN did nothing except reduce oil subsidy

Despite knowing, BN did nothing except reduce oil subsidy PDF Print
Thursday, 12 June 2008 10:32

by Tulang Besi at www.malaysiawaves.com

The information about the hike in oil prices have been around for the last 6 – 8 years. In fact, as far as 6 years ago, Goldman Sachs had predicted oil prices would touch USD$100 per barrel. I fail to see any significant steps taken by Barisan Nasional in the last 4 years despite knowing that the price of oil would hit Malaysia like a bus.

Of course, Goldman Sachs has now revised their predictions to USD$200 per barrel by next year.

UMNO and BN started to reduce subsidies bit by bit right after the 2004 landslide. And they did this knowing that oil prices would touch USD$100 per barrel or more. The government also promised several initiatives in place of the reduction of subsidies.

To me, their initiatives are next to nothing. In the last 4 years, how many new LRT stations have been built? How many new buses have been introduced into the bus system? Was any system of subsidy distribution for the poor put in place by BN?

Instead, what we see is that Pak Lah had used the last 4 years to make Khairy and his people richer. During this time, UMNO, being the backbone of BN, became more and more arrogant and corrupted. There was no sign of any of the reforms promised by Pak Lah before 2004 being implemented.

All we saw was a group of people close to Pak Lah consolidating their control over UMNO and the government. As far as the impending rise in oil prices was concerned, nothing was done.

I am sure BN could have accomplished these initiatives in 4 years:

1. At least another 5 – 8 LRT stations or tracks could have been built;
  2. The number of commuter trains could have been doubled;
  3. More commuter stations could have been built;
  4. Proper connections between the three LRT companies could have been made;
  5. The prices of cars could have been significantly reduced;
  6. Increased the number of cars running on NGV;
  7. Provided 50% of petrol stations in Klang Valley with NGV;
  8. Implemented a discount coupon system for poor and middle class families so that they can buy gasoline at a very cheap rate.

But have we or do we see any of the above being implemented? No. Instead Pak Lah and his 4th Floor cabal went on a rampage and in the process made themselves filthy rich with various dubious deals.

UMNO, on the other hand, still maintained their hold on the country resources where the Ketua Bahagian has the final say on who or where government contracts are to be awarded, for a fee of course. This is where the country’s wealth is actually drained; it goes to a bunch of Ketua Bahagian UMNOs whose jobs are only to ensure UMNO’s hold on the Malays is never compromised.

Instead of developing a Malay entrepreneur generation, UMNO has created a group of leeches that sucks the country’s wealth into their individual pockets while serving scraps to the rest of the people.

AVERAGE PEOPLE SUPPORTING THE CORRUPTED FEW

As a result, the majority of the public, Malay or not, have to spend through their noses to maintain the elites’ way of life. In short, the UMNOPUTRAS are feeding on the majority’s suffering.

Latest figures state that oil subsidy is at 7% GDP. Without the current price rise in oil at the pumps, our country’s budget deficit will be at 6%. What is never analyzed or declared is that if the country’s finances are handled properly, the deficit does not have to be at 6% despite the subsidy being at 7% GDP or more.

The laws of supply and demand apply. Right now, demand in Malaysia is high because our public transport system is bad and our dependence on gasoline and diesel too heavy. Any effort to reduce subsidies must be along the line of reducing demand.

Another major step that the government can take is to impose a windfall tax on petroleum companies. As our petroleum is regulated, these corporations will not have the option to transfer losses due to the taxes to consumers.

In fact, the windfall tax can be applied to all commodities companies in Malaysia who are enjoying a bumper crop due to increasing international demands. This windfall tax will reduce the deficit significantly and easily swallow the subsidy spent on oil.

But, Pak Lah and UMNO cannot make such a move because these companies (Petronas, Guthrie, etc.) are UMNO’s cash cow. They provide easy cash to UMNO leaders.

As a result of UMNO’s refusal to effectively tax the “Cash Cows”, the majority of the people are not enjoying the bumper crop of the country. Instead, Petronas’ money goes to the pockets of a few and these few are living life like heaven on earth.

The picture above is just the tip of the iceberg as there are so many other sectors of our economy that the government can extract significant amounts of revenue to reduce the deficit. However, since UMNO wants to ensure that these Cash Cows are protected, they are therefore not taxed properly.

Lastly, UMNO is beyond help and must be replaced. They are no longer serving the interests of Malays or Malaysians. UMNO is a mere instrument to serve a few individuals popularly known as UMNOPUTRAS.

The rest of us Malaysians are expected to toil, suffer and strive to ensure that these UMNOPUTRAS can continue to live their lives like heaven on earth.

Tulang Besi

www.malaysiwaves.com

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Birdbrain, June 12, 2008 10:38:47
Lastly, UMNO is beyond help and must be replaced. They are no longer serving the interests of Malays or Malaysians. UMNO is a mere instrument to serve a few individuals popularly known as UMNOPUTRAS.

Need we say more?!
written by Mark C, June 12, 2008 10:58:26
superb article, sad thing that articles like this will never be disseminated into the commonfolks that has voted for BN.
written by krising1, June 12, 2008 10:58:52
This HP6 government will be voted out of office in the next election. I am dismayed that they never even pursued, let alone aggressively, alternative power available to the rakyat. I am referring to Natural gas for vehicles. It would have advised the rakyat months ago that the prices will go up and they should go for the cheaper alternative. It could have helped the people by way of loans and susbsidies to fix their vehicles with the tanks.

Today the price of tanks fo gone up by about 30-40% because to the rush to fix tanks. You have to wait in the queque for two weeks or longer. Stocks are pretty low and hope that new stocks arrive in time. Not many workshops in the to install the tanks. All these could have been addressed with proper planning. Does it look like there is any semblance that this government will do anything its power to alleviate the sufferring of the rakyat?

The government is giving vehicle owners (below 2000 cc) money. You spend it in a week and the "suffering" will re-commence. Would it not better idea to use the money to install NGV tanks so that there is real savings. It will havea long term effect. Same old story of not knowing the benefit of teaching a man to fish and giving him a fish!

Please install all government vehicles with NGV and calculate the immense savings of tax payers' money. Do it now or be out of office in the next election.
written by cwy, June 12, 2008 11:09:32
All parties related to BN have been busy digging money out of our national coffer! Now the coffer is empty! So, they have to reduce the subsidy to gather the money from the rakyat so that they can 'korek,korek,korek!'
written by cheemengwong, June 12, 2008 11:13:17
How about introducing eletric vehicles and must be tax free to help the raayat?

How about encouraging motorcylces and building top grade lanes rather than potholes to trap motorcyclist?

There are so many things Government can do but did not do!
written by MarchOn, June 12, 2008 11:21:21
While the rakyat are reducing the amount of rice we EAT, the Government is reducing the entertainment allowance 10%. Can you see how out of touch they are to the rakyat. They have no idea or simply ignore the difficulty facing the rakyat. Please if you cannot manage the country well, please let someone who could manage the country well run the government. We the rakyat are eating less and less, just ensuring our kids get's enough, while you(menteri) out there dining and eating high end restuarant and the best nasi kandar.

Remember all of us are answerable to the Almighty and one day we will preish.
written by grant, June 12, 2008 11:22:08
Better get a bicycle now since it is cheap.. make sure u have N 2 bicycles at home... buy now... i am already looking much ahead if one day when petrol is at RM10/litre or when the well dries out.. It will be back to 1900 when everybody has to start cycling again... By then, we will be comparing who has the better bicycle just like how we compare cars...
written by grant, June 12, 2008 11:22:42
sorry...N plus 2
written by cheemengwong, June 12, 2008 11:25:02
What are we talking?

2000, 3000, 5000 UMNO leaders against 27 million Raayats? And they are still around after 50 years.

What are the Raayats' doing man?

UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan and the BN component parties should be gone yesterday. They are still around today and tomorrow!

How Can?
written by michael chick, June 12, 2008 11:28:49
If the Racist Government of Malaysia is left to stay on. Malaysians are doomed. This Corrupt Government is only concerned about lining its pockets. Never ever having thought about its repercussions, or its ill-effects on the Rakyat.
Truly Asia, Truly GO TO HELL.....
written by angkasawan bocor, June 12, 2008 11:51:53
Till now, the BN Gomen is still unable to make public Petronas accounts or where they spend the money saved from the reduction of fuel subsidy on. What a shame! smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by SocratesI, June 12, 2008 11:54:12

RAKYAT ?? What RAKYAT ?? To the UMNOPUTRAS, we are just tax fodder to perpetuate their lavish lifestyles, and once we have outlived our use, cast us aside like a piece of trash !!

We are the OPPRESSED under the DICTATORSHIP of Barisan Najis disguised as a democracy !!

Time to Rise Up and be COUNTED !!! DSAI, Time to dethrone the Barisan Najis !!

written by Stupid me, June 12, 2008 12:13:27
Actually is the country really hit by the high oil prices, being a net exporter ? I thought we should consider ourselves blessed that the price of oil has skyrocketed. That would depend who owns Petronas. Does it not belong to the country or does it only belong to certain previleged people from time to time ?
written by simply_say, June 12, 2008 12:25:25
"Modern man drives a mortgaged car over a bond-financed highway on credit-card gas." - Earl Wilson 1907-, American newspaper columnist

PBB, Maybank, RHB here i come to apply for your credit card.

Easily insert quotes and jokes into your writing at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by donplay, June 12, 2008 12:46:21
Dear Tulangbesi

Your view that Goldman Sachs predicted $105 oil price is no sound basis for an arguement that the world should have followed its advice. GS did not have a crystal ball and did not predict anty of the major financial disasters like 1929, 1987, 1993, 1997 etc.

In fact GS, Merril Lynch, Morgan Stanley, Calpers, hedge funds and various US financial giants with trillion $ capital are the ROGUES who have deliberately distorted oil prices. The same thing happened with currency trading in 1997.

The Saudis have openly said there is no shortage of oil. It is therefore clear that the rocketing oil price is due to SPECULATION by these US crooks & gangster pension, hedge and merchant bankers who should be put out of business because they represent PURE GREED. They are capable of bankrupting whole Nations without a flicker of conscience.

Our problem is that Petronas oil money has been spent on grandiose & white elephant projects without DR.M & AAB being held accountable for its misuse.Look at how Dubai, Singapore, Bahrain are spending billions of infrastructure to attract FDO's, while encouraging meritocracy in their government and private sectors.

When will our leaders learn to abandon race-based politics and Ketuanan Melayu? Only then will we truly advance and prosper.

donplaypuks
written by netaddict1, June 12, 2008 13:02:08
its rumoured that they lost BIG TIME trading in the oil futures. maybe petronas is still selling their crude at the 2005 price. that's why the Rakyat is suffering now.
written by TanBH, June 12, 2008 13:15:04
WE STOP OUR NEIGHBOUR FROM PURCHASING SUDSIDIES FUEL FORM US FOR 4 DAYS, BUT WHY DO WE STOP THE BANNED AFTER THAT, I REALLY DON'T SEE ANY LOGIC FOR US TO SELL THEM ANY SUDSIDIES FUEL, STUPID SHARRIR BASTARD, IF YOUR FATHER OR MOTHER A THAI OR SINGAPOREAN???????? FOR US TO SUDSIDIES THEM?
written by joeawk, June 12, 2008 13:19:45
Politics of patronage and utter lack political integrity is behind all the ills afflicting the nation. Right from mahatir to Pak Lah, it has been like this and it does not look like changing and so long as it remian like this, the nation will continue to suffer lost opportunities.

A nation given so much but have wasted just as much, fulfiling just only a minor fraction of our potential yet we still cannot look beyond race and religions but continue to be dictated as such, what hope is there going forward.

Malaysians must get out of this psychological and political trap of race and religion. Let us not be held back by champions and race and religions. They do us no favours but they are a curse to the nation's progress.
written by fairnessforall, June 12, 2008 13:24:42
Looking at the way things are going, I dont think Malaysia can afford to wait until next election to vote this useless BN out. By that time, they would have bankrupted the whole country and Malaysia will not have any more money for the new goverment to take over. As such Anwar has to move fast and dont procratinate, we we do not have time. If Anwar moves fast, he may still be able to salvage whatever is left. Also if he moves now, he can confiscate all those assets gathered by those corrupted bastards and return it back to the country. If we give them more time until the next election, that is like giving them time to move everything out of the country so the new government will not be able to get anything back.
written by temenggong, June 12, 2008 13:58:21
Good article and points wel made.

But we should have started the economic reform way back in 1994. as we were flush with funds, the NEP was achieved, we were beginning to rely on Petronas money for development, and everyone knew that sooner of later a financial crisis like the 1997 one would occur.

Even in 1994 Petronas money was masking malaysia's growing financial problem, without which money we would have zero for development expenditure!
written by Rainforest, June 12, 2008 13:58:35
How about starting a petition to make the BN government allow the foreign car makers to import their HYBRID CARS, where a 4.7 litres of petrol can travel 100 km. If the Government is genuinely interested in helping the people overcome this petrol price increase, then such hybrid cars should be allowed to be imported into the country DUTY FREE. NO AP SHOULD BE REQUIRED and no politician or cronies should benefit from it. BRING IT IN!!!
written by ez24get, June 12, 2008 14:10:05
Looking at the list below, it looks like the BN government are more determined to help themselves rather than the citizens.

And this list below is not even barely exhaustive as these are the ones uncovered – the tip of the ice-berg, if you might want to put it! What lies beneath could be much larger:-

1. The Bank Bumiputra twin scandals in the early 1980s saw US$1 billion (RM3.2 billion in 2008 ringgit)

2. The Maminco attempt to corner the world tin market in the 1980s is believed to have cost some US$500 million. (RM1.6 billion)

3. Betting in foreign exchange futures cost Bank Negara Malaysia RM30 billion in the 1990s.

4. Perwaja Steel resulted in losses of US$800 million (RM2.56 billion). Eric Chia, was charged with corruption for allegedly steering US$20 million (RM64 million) to a Hong Kong-based company

5. Use of RM10 billion public funds in the Valuecap Sdn. Bhd. operation to shore up the stock market

6. Banking scandal of RM700 million losses in Bank Islam

7. The sale of M.V. Agusta by Proton for one Euro making a loss of €75.99 million (RM 348 million)

8. Wang Ehsan from oil royalty on Terengganu RM7.4 billion from 2004 – 2007

9. For the past 10 years since Philharmonic Orchestra was established, this orchestra has swallowed a total of RM500 million

10. In Advisors Fees, Mahathir was paid RM180,000, Shahrizat Abdul Jalil (women and social development affairs) RM404,726 and Abdul Hamid Othman (religious) RM549,675 per annum

11. The government has spent a total of RM3.2 billion in teaching Maths and Science in English over the past five years. Out of the amount, the government paid a whopping RM2.21 billion for the purchase of information and computer technology (ICT) equipments which it is unable to give a breakdown.

12. The commission paid for purchase of jets and submarines to two private companies Perimeker Sdn Bhd and IMT Defence Sdn Bhd amounted to RM910 million.

13. RM300 million to compensate Gerbang Perdana for the RM1.1 billion “Crooked Scenic Half-Bridge”

14. RM1.3 billion have been wasted building the white elephant Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) facilities on cancellation of the Malaysia-Singapore scenic bridge

15. RM 100 million on renovation of Parliament building and leaks

16. National Astronaut Programme - RM 40 million

17. National Service Training Programme - yearly an estimate of RM 500 million

18. Eye on Malaysia - RM 30 million and another RM5.7 million of free ticket

19. RM 4.63 billion, ’soft-loan’ to PKFZ

20. RM 2.4 million on indelible ink

21. Samy announced in September 2006 that the government paid compensation amounting to RM 38.5 billion to 20 highway companies. RM 380 million windfalls for 9 toll concessionaires earned solely from the toll hike in 2008 alone.

22. RM32 million timber export kickbacks involving companies connected to Sarawak Chief Minister and his family

written by ez24get, June 12, 2008 14:10:41
continue...

Bailouts -
23. Two bailouts of Malaysia Airline System RM7.9 billion. At a time when MAS incurring losses every year, RM1.55 million used to buy three paintings to decorate its chairman's (Munir) office.
24. Putra transport system bailout which cost RM4.486 billion
25. STAR-LRT bailout costing RM3.256 billion
26. National Sewerage System bailout costing RM192.54 million
27. Seremban-Port Dickson Highway bailout costing RM142 million
28. Kuching Prison bailout costing RM135 million
29. Kajian Makanan dan Gunaan Orang Islam bailout costing RM8.3 million
30. Le Tour de Langkawi bailout costing RM 3.5 Million

31. Wholesale distribution of tens of millions of shares in Bursa Malaysia under guise of NEP to cronies, children and relatives of BN leaders and Ministers worth billions of ringgits.

32. APs scandal had been going on year-after-year going back for more than three decades, involving a total mind-boggling sum of tens of billions of ringgits

33. Alienation of tens of thousands of hectares of commercial lands and forestry concessions to children and relatives of BN leaders and Ministers worth tens of billions of ringgits

34. Travel around Malaysia and see for yourself how many white elephants like majestic arches, roads paved with fanciful bricks, designer lamp posts, clock towers, Municipal Council buildings that looks more like Istanas, extravagant places of worship, refurbishment of residences of VIPs, abandoned or under-utilised government sports complexes and buildings, etc! Combined they could easily amount to the hundreds of billions of ringgits!

35. Since 1997, Petronas has handed out a staggering 30 billion ringgit in
natural gas subsidies to IPPs who were making huge profits. In addition, there were much wastages and forward trading of Petronas oil in the 1990s based on the low price of oil then. Since the accounts of Petronas are for the eyes of Prime Minister only, we have absolutely no idea of the amount. Whatever amount, you bet it is COLLOSSAL!

In Time Asia magazine issue on March 15 2004, South East Asian economist at Morgan Stanley in Singapore Daniel Lian, figures “that the country may have lost as much as U$$100 billion (RM320 billion) since the early 1980s to corruption.” Mind you, this is only corruption and it does not include wastages and mismanagements which could be higher!

If the above list (which represent moneys saved) is added to the nation’s coffer and together with Petronas profits, palm oil profits and profits from rubber, tin, agriculture produce, aquaculture produce, electronic and hardware exports, etc, for the past 5 decades, we can all agree on one thing - our country could be wealthier than Venezuela who has little resources except for oil.

The petrol in Venezuela is RM0.16 per litre!
written by TanBH, June 12, 2008 14:54:11
WONDER WHAT IS THE STANDARD OF LIVING IN VENZUELA, SHOULD BE LOW, OTHERWISE OUR GOVERMENT WILL BE COMPARING OURS WITH THEIRS. THEIR GOVERMENT IS SUDSIDING MORE THAN RM3.00 AT THE PRESENT FUEL PRICE, WHAT A STUPID GOVERMENT, THEY SHOULD FOLLOW OUR MINISTERS AND WALLOP THE MONEY AND LETS THEIR CITIZENS DYING LIKE WHAT HAPPEN IN MALAYSIA.
written by Malay Ultraman, June 12, 2008 15:34:44
Guys.. Malaysia doesnt need hybrid car... or electric car... BN leaders can never understand.

What we need is an "Electric Chair" for our stupid BN leaders... ha ha ha!!
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 12, 2008 16:44:07
All gomen officials, silly servants are invited to take this test:

With idiots like them, who needs the DUMMIES BOOK?

written by asguard, June 12, 2008 20:23:48
WELL folks... if there to held another around of election... this time it would looks very bad for Barang Naik (Barisan Nasional) ...they fare even worse than first around... may even lost the control of federal government...don't have to wait for the next five time....
written by lynn, June 12, 2008 22:23:06
The gov't's cash payout of RM625 per car owner below 2000cc is an insult to us. How about other price increases that we have to face like higher electricity, higher food bills, not to mention paying 41% more for petrol?

How about asking those morons in the cabinet for suggestions on "How To Change Your Lifestyle" - come on, I need a few good ideas from those shit-for-brains selfish, greedy, corrupt, arrogant, useless so-called VVIPs or ministers.

BTW, why do some stupid Malaysians call these people with titles such as Datuks, Tan Sris, Tuns VVIPs? Are some of them so important people despite their years of corrupt activities? What a unique Malaysian experience indeed.
written by lynn, June 12, 2008 22:31:53
Imagine, ez24get, the govt committed so many wrongdoings and they still remain in power to this day. Well, if minus the 1 million phantom voters, postal votes or Project IC voters, the BN gov't was toppled during GE12.Truly Malaysia Boleh.
written by alarcarte, June 13, 2008 00:10:35
I would suggest the next new federal Gomen to ditch the LRT/MonoRail/KTM in K.L. and go back to the drawing board to re-plan and build a new sub-way system.

The whole public transport system is a big shame! Almost 90% of the Klang Valley residents have to spend at least one to two hours to get to their work place if they opt for Publc transport. Please, please, please do not be ashame to learn from the Kia Su people down south, I was living in Sigapore in the seventies and it was in the seventies when they revamped the bus system, after the revamp, all Singaporeans have a direct bus route from one place to another and at most need to change the bus ride only once to get to their intended location, shame on you, UMNO gomen and the Mahathir cronies, you can't even compete with the Singapore of the seventies.
written by tommycol, June 13, 2008 23:52:35
well said -tulang besi & ez24get (BULL'S EYE)
got only these to say- When are the ppl that kept these F**King SOB in office for >2decades ever going to WAKE UP n show your BALLS in VOTING them out!!!!Enough is ENOUGH!! Don't be BODOH-WI & NAJISd'BALLESS' forever!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
WAKE UP ;it's NOW or NEVER , think of your FUTURE if not your CHILDREN'S future,don't be blinded FOREVER.Our MOTHERLAND needs a CHANGE!!!!!!!!
written by Tom n Jerry, June 14, 2008 03:40:12
well said tommy!we are all in the same boat!Lets hope for the best but be prepared for the worst!Its now or never!With a little bit of divine intervention,it shouldnt be any problem!Heaven is watching over us! smilies/smiley.gif
written by tommycol, June 14, 2008 03:52:30
Hai TomNjerry, i think there's nothing WORST than what we're having now!!!with all the CANS of WORMS coming out from the CLOSET of the previous PG n SEL state govt, so i'm just praying n hoping that we'll hv a change of the FED GOVT so we can see ALL the WORMS that hv been STORED for 2decades n JUSTICE DONE for the RAKYAT !!! WE WANT JUSTICE !!!