Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Testing times for Malaysia

Testing times for Malaysia PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 June 2008 12:23

In 2005, Anwar told Singapore's TODAY paper of a 5-year time frame to becoming Malaysia's next prime minister. And true to form and design, he has assiduously been seeking defections from elected backbenchers to trigger an eventual collapse of the newly-elected government.

By J. PRAKASH, Special to The Japan Times 

The man who once gave lectures to the West and its leaders is back, again, regaling his captive Malaysian audience with his trademark rhetoric. Those who have crossed swords with former Malaysian Premier Mahathir Mohammad and are familiar with his unconventional combative style can attest that those confrontations, as unpleasant as they may have been, also had the unintended consequence of canonizing the man within his nation.

No better understanding of Mahathir and his methods is better enunciated than the insights he gives in a critique he wrote for TIME magazine in 1999 where he extolled the virtues of unorthodoxy. As interesting and refreshing as the article was, its defense of his globally unpopular decision to impose capital controls to staunch the flow of funds out of Malaysia at the height of the Asian financial crisis in 1998 revealed within its subtext a man unafraid to defy conventions and willing to chart independent courses, even at the expense of being sneered at.

If truth has to first endure ridicule before it is opposed just so that it can become self-evident, Mahathir has clearly passed all of those three hurdles. Just like in 1970 when he wrote "The Malay Dilemma," which documented the backwardness of the Malays over their habit of diluting their gene pool by intra-kinship marriages, a persona of unorthodoxy has always characterized the one-time Malay nationalist turned politician who exhibits an unusual display of courage in the face of adversity.

For someone who thrives doing the very kind of things politicians seldom commit for fear of being labelled politically incorrect, his recent resignation from the United Malays National Organization (UMNO) — the political party he headed for 22 years as president — is turning out to be a tipping point in Malaysian politics.

In urging the rest of the party faithful to break ranks and resign en masse, the move is calculated not only to force the ouster of the government but also to block the return from the political wilderness of another political foe, former Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim. Anwar, who was jailed in 1999 for corruption, is now perceived to be gunning for justice over his imprisonment, which he called a conspiracy at the highest levels of government.

Or, it could also be, as some have alleged, yet another "Mahathir way" of trying to deflect attention from a Royal Commission convoked to probe his involvement in a judge-fixing scandal during his stewardship of the country more than 20 years ago.

With most of Malaysia and Singapore, and to a lesser degree Indonesia, transfixed on what is rapidly turning into a political soap opera, there is no musing that all love is conceivably lost between the former premier, his anointed successor and the former deputy premier. At the heart of Mahathir's grievance is a suspicion of Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi's plans to erase Mahathir's reputation by scrapping many of his economic projects. Should such an episode come to pass, Mahathir would almost certainly be left without a legacy.

The triumvirate and Caesarean-like court intrigues have no doubt seized imaginations. Though it has not happened yet, the breakdown in party hierarchy spawned by the elder statesman's resignation and his success at getting some party hacks to heed his call have nevertheless reverberated with eerie echoes of the 1969 Sino-Malay race riots that were triggered a similar election debacle and left scores of people dead in the streets.

"You know the UMNO is in trouble when its party members start abandoning ship," a political scientist who chose to remain anonymous told Asia Times Online. Acknowledging that he did not keep his promises in an election postmortem has also made Abdullah politically weaker. And those broken promises have included a failure to combat corruption, crime, rising racial tension and cronyism; a failure that the country's unified political opposition capitalized on to such tantalizing effect in the March 8 general elections.

The ruling Barisan Nasional, an omnibus grouping that lumps together the nation's ethnic Chinese and Indians under their respective political banners, not only lost 5 out of 13 states but was returned to office with the slenderest of parliamentary majorities at only 51 percent. For Abdullah such an outcome was a sobering moment because he and his team secured an unprecedented 90 percent of the popular vote in the previous election held in 2004.

Yet nothing could have been worse than in the non-consultative manner in which Abdullah raised fuel prices last week. A 40-percent hike in oil-producing Malaysia was perceived as "too high" and "too soon." The widespread street protests that gathered storm in the wake of the increases have every possibility of playing into the hands of the regime's political opponents. They will almost certainly weaken Abdullah's position.

Between the political brinkmanship of Mahathir, the chicanery of Anwar and the naivete of Abdullah, all eyes will likely turn to the UMNO party caucus in December when party hacks decide the political fate of Abdullah as their party president and leader. As developments unfold with breakneck speed, the self-effacing emergence of Anwar and the Pakatan Rakyat Party's sterling success in securing 82 seats in the 140 seat Assembly in the March elections has no doubt left the country's chattering classes abuzz.

In 2005, Anwar told Singapore's TODAY paper of a 5-year time frame to becoming Malaysia's next prime minister. And true to form and design, he has assiduously been seeking defections from elected backbenchers to trigger an eventual collapse of the newly-elected government. A collapse that results in calls for fresh elections would be just what Anwar needs. Because he is immensely popular, and he knows it, he can handily translate the disaffection in his country into votes and assume the premiership he is seeking much sooner than the 5-year time frame.

With no one who can match him in charisma, oratory and perhaps in chicanery, there appears to be nothing that can stop Anwar, at least for now.

These are indeed testing times for Malaysia. As the country heads for headier days; political sclerosis of a kind never before seen before will feature prominently as Malaysia turns another page in its history.

written by sampalee, June 11, 2008 12:43:40
The writer and DrM are genetically Indian.Only their religions differ.
disagree 19
written by slash n burn, June 11, 2008 13:07:45
Tun Mahathir is ashamed of being Indian. You evil, disgrace to humanity!
written by delCapo, June 11, 2008 13:20:47
RPK & MT must have a good reason for this article to be under Corridor of Power instead of just another article...

nevertheless, it shows an external view in an foreign paper.
It shows even from the outside,
- TDM's moves are still viewed as politically influencial...
- All of DSAI's actions & talks have to materialise soon, with success or failure..
- the eventuality of AAB's downfall..

hmm... funny how it doesn't at all look at a reformed UMNO being successful under a new leadership... smilies/wink.gif
written by Arubin, June 11, 2008 14:22:15
Do you even know the man, Dr. Mahathir, Anwar and Pak Lah? What makes you think you could even qualify to comment on those man?

I know he launched Proton despite advice to the contrary that this country just doesn't have the economy of scale to sustain its own automative industry. Look at the sorry state of that company now, and this is with him still on the advisory panel even.

I know he disregarded agriculture development in favor of industry, with the result that Malaysia is no longer self-sufficient despite having enough fertile land.

I know he spent millions (billions?) attempting to start up a steel and cement manufacturing in this country. The result was PERWAJA - 'nuff said.

I know he wasted 11 billion of our money building a new capital city in the middle of nowhere despite the fact that there is ample office space in KL.

I know he wasted even billions building Sepang airport in an effort to become the new regional hub. No dice, we still cannot compete with Changi and the amount of traffic going through Sepang now can easily be handled by a renovated Subang.

The whole PKFZ fiasco...it might have been revealed now during Pak Lah reign, but WHO started it?

Explain how the Twin Towers and the F1 circuit have had a beneficial net effect for the rakyat. Go on...I would like to see you try.

Why is our judiciary in a crisis? Who's fault was it?

Why is he trying to stoke racial tensions even now?

Still think we have no right to criticize the man? I say we have every right. For that matter, I would like to see his butt parked in jail if I can. He's a crook in my eyes. A very brave and brazen crook, but still a crook.

written by omega2, June 11, 2008 14:40:30
Tun Mahathir despite of the overwhelming mistakes he has made (just read all the comments), does show an intense level of leadership. Imagine if PakLah-Khairi combo has been in power during those 22 years, most of us would be working in Bangladesh and Myanmar rather than the other way around.

Skills? Maybe no. Justice? No. Corrupted? Very likely but leadership, bravery and inteligence? Yes. Don't whack the poor Prakash, after all, freedon of writing, right?
written by Batista, June 11, 2008 15:28:27
You guys really make me sick.
While you are shouting for a freedom in voicing your thought, you slam Prakash just when he said what you don't like.
Anyway, u all always say what people like?!!
Plus, u all shouting like hell 'race equality', then u raise the word that show a very mega difference between an Indian and Malay!!
The race of Prakash & Mahathir is Malaysia - as u always said that Mr. Lim & Mr. Karpal's race is Malaysian.
Please stop talking nonsense here, people....
written by Cinakelate, June 11, 2008 15:39:32
Pak Lah and Khairy rule Malaysia for 22 yrs? Can they last that long?
written by Anti Relon, June 11, 2008 16:07:17
The report below should be read by all Malaysian Cabinet Ministers and also opposition leaders. The whole South Korean Cabinet has offered to resign because of mistakes made by the government. Will Malaysian Ministers do the same. Will they even acknowledge that they have made mistakes? According to sources it appears there is no tradition in Malaysia of Malaysian Ministers or leaders resigning if they have blundered. Tey should learn a thing or two from South Korea.

South Korean cabinet offers to quit
By Anna Fifield and Song Jung-a in Seoul

Published: June 10 2008 03:45 | Last updated: June 10 2008 16:13

South Korea’s 100-day-old cabinet offered to resign en masse on Tuesday, taking responsibility for a string of political miscalculations that have sent support for President Lee Myung-bak’s government tumbling......
written by MasterYoda, June 11, 2008 17:20:25
RACE?

We all come from Adam and Noah....not monkeys and baboons.

ha! monkey's and baboons are a different race!

Some UMNU politicians belong to that race!
written by ctchoo, June 11, 2008 17:46:01
The noun "chicanery" is used to describe Anwar. It means "lack of straightforwardness and honesty in action: craft, craftiness, deviousness, dishonesty, indirection, shadiness, shiftiness, slyness, sneakiness, trickery, trickiness, underhandedness". Wait a minute! "Chicanery" actually describes Dr M!
written by mgeo, June 11, 2008 19:20:07
There has been a total news blackout on Maha Thief's mother.
written by legaleagle, June 11, 2008 21:07:19
Yes, does anyone know whether Mahathir's mother was Indian or was she Malay?
written by Hakim Joe, June 12, 2008 00:35:00
For all the mistakes that DrM has made during his long tenure as the PM, he has also done a lot for the country. Don't forget that. As for the current administration, what have they accomplished except making life difficult for everybody (Malays included)? If u have a choice between these two snakes, whom will you choose?
written by Godfather, June 12, 2008 00:45:43
WHY ARE WE BEING SUCH RACIST?

WHAT IS WRONG IF YOU ARE OF MIXED PARENTAGE?

NOBODY ASKED TO BE BORN MIXED. ARE WE FALLING INTO THE SAME BARISAN QUEUE OF CATEGORY AS CERTAIN RACE IS INFERIOR>

I AM A RACIST; COZ
I HATE ALL RACES...
written by shiokguy, June 12, 2008 11:03:19
We are all racist

I think we when we are under peer pressure. I have befriend with a Malay gentleman for a long time, our family spend a lot time together. But when I am with him together with other Malay friend of his, he become distance and act as if he just know me a minute ago.

I did ask him why and his reply was "In his circle, it is not cool to become too close to Non Malay and Non Muslim"

I was sad!

http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by cheemengwong, June 12, 2008 12:15:55
Don't and never go around blaming Father and Mother OK?

It is the son we should blame. Mother and Father don't contribute to the Raayat's Misery.

Pain is necessary but Misery is an Option.

Malaysians now very painful but this need not last forever! If we continue to blame Dr. M, we all would be bitter and misery.

Do something. Did we vote wisely last election? If not what should we do now?
Should we continue to support the present government? If not How?

Do we want to sent the government a message? If yes, How?

There are many things the Raayat can do, but it must be done in a concerted effort.

All talk and no walk, better go and sing a karaoke song.
written by skc, June 12, 2008 12:21:26
Yes we are all racist, we are also all selfish, greedy, emotional and also lazy. So the point is how do we control it ?
written by reason, June 12, 2008 17:19:20
The writer used the word "chicanery" twice to describe Anwar Ibrahim. However, even after re-reading the article, I found nothing to substantiate the use of this word. I'm rather surprised that Japan Times let it pass because without facts to back it up, to suggest that someone is unscrupulous by describing his actions as "chicanery" is libel.
written by wag the dog, June 12, 2008 18:10:08
Peak Oil

“ All the easy oil and gas in the world has pretty much been found. Now comes the harder work in finding and producing oil from more challenging environments and work areas. ”
— William J. Cummings, major oil-company spokesman, December 2005

“ World reserves are confused and in fact inflated. Many of the so called reserves are in fact resources. They’re not delineated, they’re not accessible, they’re not available for production ”
— Sadad I. Al Husseini, former VP of Aramco, October 2007.

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by Eskay Lim, June 12, 2008 21:05:40
With so much disaffection of the Malaysian rakyat for the Barisan Nasional leadership, coupled with the recent events like the price increase of basic foods, the fuel-price hike, the rape of the judiciary by Umno politicians and the so many other misdemeanour activities all committed by the ruling party leaders, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and his PR team doesn't need to wait for 5 years to occupy the PM's office and walk in the corridors of power.
It could be as soon as this year, 2008, whether by party-hopping or by a snap-election.
Good luck to you, DSAI. We are all still behind you.
written by shamadz72, June 13, 2008 11:16:28
For Abdullah such an outcome was a sobering moment because he and his team secured an unprecedented 90 percent of the popular vote in the previous election held in 2004.

------

Prakash, please do you homework properly lah.... Abdullah has never won 90% popular votes. It was a 90% parliamentary seats victory. The popular votes should be around 60% if I am not mistaken.

written by redzuank, June 13, 2008 14:53:27
The man that only able to lead New Malaysia is Anwar Ibrahim.
He has his intelligent team who can think professionally to manage nation economy.

http://redssays.********.com/
written by TeohSC, June 18, 2008 17:06:38
The capital controls that he introduced during the financial crisis just delayed the suffering of the people. They just enabled him and his cronies to plunder the country's wealth. He should have taken the logical and courageous step to let all his cronies fold up, and reform the country's economy. THE CURRENT SUFFERING OF THE PEOPLE IS THE RESULT OF HIS UNCONVENTIONAL STUPIDITY.