KL govt spending cuts 'are good but not enough' PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 June 2008 09:51

By Reme Ahmad, The Straits Times

MEASURES taken by the Malaysian government to save RM2 billion a year are seen as a good start, but are not enough, say consumers, workers, politicians and bloggers.

'More needs to be done by the government in order to get back the people's confidence,' Umno leader Datuk Sazmi Miah said.

On Monday, Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi announced cuts in the allowances of Cabinet ministers, a freeze on civil service recruitment and a scaling down of official events. He also postponed major projects and purchases.

The belt-tightening followed last week's price increases of 41 per cent for petrol and 63 per cent for diesel.

Electricity tariffs will also go up by as much as 26 per cent for some consumers from next month.

Despite all that, Datuk Sazmi was reported by AFP as saying: 'Basically, all government servants (including ministers) should take a 10 per cent pay cut to help the people. Even the private sector can take a cut, put it in a basket and give it back to the people.'

Consumers Association of Penang president S.M. Mohamed Idris said the money saved by the government should be used to help lower income groups.

The government has said it would save RM13.7 billion in fuel subsidies by raising fuel prices. But the increases are sure to stoke inflation, with the central bank saying it will hit a 10-year high of 4.2 per cent this year.

Many Malaysians were shocked by the news that Datuk Seri Abdullah cut back entertainment allowances for ministers by 10 per cent and limited their overseas holidays to Asia - and for no more than a week - because they were unaware that ministers even had such lavish benefits.

Few knew that ministers and deputy ministers receive RM12,320 and RM6,000 a month, respectively, in entertainment allowances. The Prime Minister himself gets a monthly entertainment allowance of RM18,865, while his deputy receives RM15,015.

Even fewer Malaysians knew that they, as taxpayers, paid for ministers to vacation annually anywhere in the world.

An influential blogger, aisehman.org, wrote: 'Since the allowance is given to the individual, does this mean that entertaining people on a personal basis is part of official ministerial duties? Why should it be so?'

Training consultant Veronica Akiew said in online newspaper Malaysiakini: 'Are these expenditures necessary? Like entertainment and all?

'Do government agencies need to hold lavish events in hotels at public expense?'

The opposition has lost no time capitalising on the news.

Parti Islam SeMalaysia plans a mass protest in Kuala Lumpur on Friday.

All three main opposition parties also plan to draw 100,000 protesters to downtown Kuala Lumpur on July 12.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by binarytan, June 11, 2008 09:58:54
We should not even pay any salary to those ministers and particularly the sleephead PM. Their undisclosed pocket money is 1000 times more than their salary and possibly unlimited.

Also, why should we Rakyat pay them should they don't work for the people???

Typical useless cabinet members we have over the years, quality is the worst ever.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Arubin, June 11, 2008 10:04:16
I wonder what they are really tightening, really...their belts, or a noose around our necks?
written by oknyua, June 11, 2008 10:05:34
Few knew that ministers and deputy ministers receive RM12,320 and RM6,000 a month, respectively, in entertainment allowances. The Prime Minister himself gets a monthly entertainment allowance of RM18,865, while his deputy receives RM15,015.

Minister: RM12,320-10%=11,088
Deputy: RM6,000-10%=5,400
Prime Minister: 18,865-10%=16,979
DPM 15,015-10% = 13,513

Are all the above cuts "sacrifices"?

PM, do you need the RM16,979 when you receives a few hundred thousand a month? Free petrol, free flights, free cars, free housing (renovated RM15 million)? What do you need the entertainment for when even your tea is paid for?

I am one who believes PM should be paid well, but only if that PM does his work.

written by mymastermind79, June 11, 2008 10:06:53
Mother fxxkers need entertainment for what? RM 10000 to RM 20000 just for entertainment? Entertain who? Ths governtment *******s has they own budget for monthly RASUAH which they call Entertainment. Entertainment from the rakyats money? This bastards need to learn how to entertain the rakyat first. They always forget that they are th servant for the rakyat. Pay tax for entertainment for this bastards!
written by BORN FREE, June 11, 2008 10:10:03
Please laaaaaaa what is 10% cut from the expenses to those Ministers !
No problem laaaaaa sap sap the water !
The amount they received from corruptions are much much more mannnnnn
What more the expenses that they received are 'OUR HARD EARNED MONEY"
So we taxpayers demand that they should be slashed by 50% instead of 10%
written by Al Ambia, June 11, 2008 10:11:26
The 10% cut are chicken feed.All these while they are the one being entertained.Who in the world would ask the minister to belanja when seeing them also a problem.Furthermore,with this allowances and salary,even after deduction,everyday also can eat abalone,lobster,birdnest.etc
written by sararaj, June 11, 2008 10:14:50
how did a civil servant manage to buy a hse in australia??
written by cheguevara, June 11, 2008 10:15:25
I dont want to start my morning with all these nonsense but if there's a word i can describe with the small details our sleepyhead PM has disclosedon the goodwill gesture of cutting costs is "dumbass". stupid s.o.b, not enough of robbing us left,right n centre it only came to light now of all the minute details these *******s appointed as ministers are receiving in the form of so called entertainment allowance. what the f*** the have done to the people n country so far except extending their hands under the table (in some case,under the skirt) to do their duty ??!! get rid all these idiots for once and all. pak lah,u didnt realise by making ur statement which u thought will make ur action deemed wise,you have opened a can of whoop ass. god is great and i still believe in peoples power..ur umno bastards days are numbered.we are coming down n coming hard to stop all BN's nonsense and atrocities.

hasta la victoria siempre...
written by Don Corleone, June 11, 2008 10:36:56
An Opposition cabinet can run the federal government for RM 2 billion a year. That represents a 90 pct savings on what the current idiotic cabinet is plundering from the federal treasury. Out with this bunch of thieves.
written by Ann Meng Sim, June 11, 2008 10:55:37
Bodowi, you thought we would be grateful to you for cutting the 10% entertainment allowance and limiting the free holidays for you and your goons? Gosh, you really deserve the name.

People have to entertain you and your goons , not the other way around. Billions and Billions of OUR money for you and your goons to spend and spend ... WHILE WE SUFFER.

The hole you are digging just keeps getting deeper and deeper... do dig some more. So that we will be able to put you and all your bastards into it and make sure all of you will never be able to crawl out ever! smilies/angry.gif
written by raj kiran, June 11, 2008 11:16:59
Gov saving RM 2 bil...by cost down 10%
And Gov Still spend another 90% which is equal to RM 18 bil.
So rakyat is fooled by BN lead gov.
written by Oldmantalks, June 11, 2008 11:17:37
It is not the 10% cut in entertainment expenses of the government in charge that is small,(i.e. Rm2 Billion), but the amount of Rm 20 Billion required for Government entertainment that is mind boggling. Looks like the Government is entertaining every night for the whole year, that is the government spends Rm54.8Million per day on entertainment.
written by adamhalim, June 11, 2008 11:54:59
How can the Rakyat hard earn money go to Tax and the Cabinet Minster and Deputy spend on entertainment and enjoy overseas.. The Tax income must be spend to Rakyat not go to the Ministers enjoyment...
Why must go to Asia or Asean Countries... Spend within Malaysia-lah...
written by Thamipoh, June 11, 2008 12:11:24
Bobohwi, just take 10% off your cabinet members corrupted ill gotten money, you solve all the problems.
written by onnetline, June 11, 2008 12:29:09
Come on lah, brudder. Your announcement on the 10% cut in allowances means what ???? That you and your cronies in government will also be going through hardship like the rest of us ?

We believe you 110%. Long live BODOHWI !
written by LACOBRA, June 11, 2008 12:50:17
Declare your assets as pledged then we will be the judge to see if 2 Billion saved is worth the talk. Incidentally, living in luxury all these years would have saved Malaysia much more instead of fire fighting with sudden remedial proposes.
written by sukinong, June 11, 2008 15:28:31
Even my HQ's best CEO don't even entertain at RM18k a month without bringing in at least RM1mil business.

All BN ministers spend it on chasing skirts and later caught with pants down. The rakyat gets the free class C entertainment after that.
written by rams609, June 11, 2008 16:18:19
WE, THE ORDINARY RAKYAT TURN TO THE IDIOT BOX FOR ENTERTAINMENT.

DOLLAH GETS ENTERTAINED BY JUST LOOKING AT THE RINGGIT MALAYSIA 18, 865.00 MINUS THE 10 PERCENT!

GET IT?

SIBODOH YANG SEDANG MEMBODOHKAN RAKYAT MALAYSIA!

written by mob1900, June 11, 2008 17:02:54
written by KKchan, June 11, 2008 17:12:40
Dear PR MPs,
Can you please ask the following questions for me at the next session of Parliament.
1. Who sets the renumeration package for ministers, deputy ministers and political secretaries and whether the package is subject to review.
2. How much was spent by ministers and deputy ministers for the last 5 years on fully paid holidays, giving details on how much was spent by each individual minister.
3. What are the perks and fringe benefits of the ministers and deputy ministers and whether these are taxable, and if so whether all ministers and deputy ministers paid tax on them.
written by sttb08, June 11, 2008 17:17:04

2 words for paklah & co. : F**king B*****DS