Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nothing to shout about, says Ghapur

Nothing to shout about, says Ghapur PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 June 2008 08:19

KOTA KINABALU: It’s eyewash, says Kalabakan MP Datuk Abdul Ghapur Salleh of the move to cut allowances and paid holidays for ministers and their deputies.

He said it did not make sense to limit paid holidays for ministers and their families to local and Asean countries as such destinations could still be as expensive.

“I believe that they should set a figure for paid holiday expenses and let the ministers, their deputies and families go anywhere they want but they should not be able to claim more than their fixed entitlement,” he said, explaining that the free passage should be a fixed holiday passage.

He stressed that limiting paid holidays to Asean countries would not meet the government objective of cutting spending as announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Monday.

In a statement, Ghapur said the 10% entertainment allowance cut for ministers and deputies was small.

“It is not necessary to cut that allowance as it only translates to a few hundred ringgit,” he added.

He said the Government’s cost-cutting measures following the increase in fuel prices were not enough as the people were going through difficult times following steep price increases in goods and services.

“As an elected MP, I am finding it difficult to explain the fuel increases to the rakyat. They are not convinced by the Government’s argument when we are an oil-producing country,” he said.

“They are pulling wool over the eyes of the people to make it look like they are also cutting back and we do not see how this is going to bring down prices for the lower-income people.”

- The Star

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by billykbk, June 11, 2008 08:25:33
All the govt's moves can be summed up in one phrase - cheap stunts!
written by libau, June 11, 2008 08:34:45
Sounds Good Ghapur, but still not enough. If you really concern about your people, please, again please bring all the sabahan MP to leave this culprit BN/UMNO...Dont sakap sakap saja bah...
written by grant, June 11, 2008 08:38:30
that is the thing...10% cut here and there, and Badawi claims that the total savings is 2Billion. WTF? He thinks we are donkeys living in the jungle is it? Dont know what 1 plus 1 is, is it? Come on la... Badawi.. Do something drastic and not do something stupid and yet just to lepas batuk kat tangga la... if u are lazy like a bloody pig, just step down and let somebody else run the country..

You just dont get it... You are a FAILURE to this nation! FAILURE.. Just like GAGAL BERHENTI in Uni!!!
written by kangkbkeat, June 11, 2008 08:40:11
if 10% can save 2billion why not cut up to 70percent......it would be much more meaningful..... smilies/grin.gif
written by Christ, June 11, 2008 08:41:49
Simple maths ...... 10% saving = 2b

100% = 20b

20b for allowances and entertainment per year? WOW WOW WOW
written by hardworking_taxpayer, June 11, 2008 08:43:11
Cut in entertainment allowance = increase in travelling claims.
I don't believe a word that comes out of UMNO's asses!
They are making us pay to enable them to stay in power. The rakyat is paying for those perks given to East M'sia. Do you think we are so stupid?! Why increase prices now and not before or later?!
written by joseph81, June 11, 2008 08:46:13
In times like this still got mood to go holiday? Instead, Miniters should work superhard to solve the rakyat woes. Adding to that stop burning more fuel by going holiday, we must instill a fuel saving concept as the fuel will run dry on day in Malaysia. Go ride bicycle in rural area somewhere
written by Bornean, June 11, 2008 09:07:23
Hi hardworking_taxpayer,

'The rakyat is paying for those perks given to East M'sia'
What perks are youu talking about? For decades, we have been left behind, and now when Badawi just announced some 'so-called goodies', you call them perks? They are just that - fictitious, elusive and yet-to be seen promises! You know Badawi - promising this and that everywhere, but nothing materialises, and our Sabah politicians believe him! Unbelievable! So, don't blame us for the price increases. If at all, we feel it more thatn you - due to the unbalanced prices in West & East Malaysia.
written by oknyua, June 11, 2008 09:10:50
Simple maths ...... 10% saving = 2b
100% = 20b
20b for allowances and entertainment per year? WOW WOW WOW

By Christ.

Abdullah Ahmad Badawi caught with his pants down again!! But did he pass his statistic exam?
written by oknyua, June 11, 2008 09:12:59
By the way instead of cutting allowance as stated, he had increased Sarawak MP's allowance to RM15,000 per month - legalised robbery.
written by Toyolbuster, June 11, 2008 09:16:49
At a time like this when the government keep telling the rakyat (their bosses)to change our lifestyle, they should at least cancel off all their paid holidays. We are facing a calamity, and they can still talk about holidays. Ask Rosmah how much of rakyat's money she spend for each of her many holidays.
written by Raizzen, June 11, 2008 09:17:31
Yay to Ghapur ! Ghapur for the win. Take the candy but lompat still !
written by Jeffrey, June 11, 2008 09:20:15
the ministers are doing nothing to ease our burden and problems and we still pay for their holiday!!!!!!THis only happens in Malaysia.....the to add salt to the wound..saving of 2B just from 10% cut? what a joke!!! What a shame!!!!! Just imagine if we can put those mony to better use...Malaysia is doom, really doom.
written by kampungboy2, June 11, 2008 09:31:17
No wonder we are in so deep shit. By cutting 10% of allowance and entertainment the government can save RM2billion!! So that is where all our tax money has been going to. Ooi!! Bodowi, nevermind Statistics man, you passed your kira-kira or not?? Or were you also sleeping during your school days? Think before you open your mouth, lah!! And think with your head located on your shoulders not your head below your belt!!! Sheezz!!
written by skywolf76, June 11, 2008 09:38:52
The idiotic Bodohwi is trying another circus stunt to fool the Rakyat again. 10% cut on ENTERTAINMENT allowance?? The Ministers, the so-called fat arses who go around thinking they are high and mighty, are nothing more but SERVANTS of the Rakyat who elected them. I used to support the government wholeheatedly during Tun's time, but this imbecile and his arse-licking ministers are really pissing me off. Talking about the Rakyat having to change their lifestyle, but they are still enjoying paid holidays, overseas trips paid by the Rakyat, chauffeur (sp?) driven cars and thus have no need to pay for petrol, having police outriders pushing the Rakyat to the side so that these ****hole ministers do not have to go through jams ... bunch of %@&!%%&!!!! The ones filling the pain, suffering through price increases left right and centre are the RAKYAT! The imbecile and his moronic ministers are still enjoying the Rakyats's money! Time to change the government. Nothing short will do for us Rakyat!
written by Ahjamal, June 11, 2008 09:38:53
break one leg then pay the medical bill. Increased the fuel first then look and see reaction. Now it is to hot to handle then remedy, save cost, reduction on entertainment and more and more to cool the temperature. It should be the other way round but BN/UMNO thinks every one is stupid. This is pure bull shit. Time for my Sabah/Sarawak MPs to take note what must they do for the people or for the currupted UMNOPUTRA.
written by hardworking_taxpayer, June 11, 2008 09:45:17
Dear Bornean

I am sorry if you are offended by my comments. I don't mean to sound that way. What I am trying to get across is that the UMNOputras are cheating the rakyat including East M'sia. Yes, you are right that Sabah & Sarawak has been shortchanged for a long time coming. All the more reason that East M'sians should not support these crooks any longer. What they have promised will never materialised. I am a Penangite. Badawi has been promising a lot and yet nothing happened.
written by cwy, June 11, 2008 09:47:57
All holiday trips should be cancelled!
While all rakyat are called to have austerity drive, why should the wakil rakyat enjoy their lives at rakyat's expense?
written by BORN FREE, June 11, 2008 10:05:46
How true Ghapur ie NOTHING TO SHOUT ABOUT !!
Now the Government are ball carriers of the people in E.Malaysia cos without them, they will be dead in Malaysia history !
written by Jester, June 11, 2008 10:09:33
it makes me so reluctant to pay taxes because it goes to their pocket and personal benefit. I don't mind if they deserve it, but they are not! They quality and contribution of the ministers are horrible. They don't deserve and not even qualified to be a minister. Just look at the way they handle issues and their explanation and answer to questions raised by the rakyat. Its pathetic. I wonder what qualification they have to become a minister. No ownder our country cannot prosper becasue we are being lead by incompentent leaders.
written by Maggie, June 11, 2008 11:41:47
Hi datuk Ghapur,

Then do the necessary and bring down this Govt.
The pittance cut is not even equate to the cost of one AP and all these are issued to Umno guys, mana ada rasa
If you got the guts, just do it and join AI to form a new and better Govt. No point talking only like the perut buncit PM.
written by mamanur, June 11, 2008 12:13:11
paid holiday for families??? what the hell..... so all of us wil also be paying for theis spouses, children, SILs, DILs, uncles, auntys, cousins to the 10th degrees?

and JUSA got 12.5% increment this year (April) in a backdated circular... increase in entertainment allowances, in housing allowances... they (the JUSAs)are laughing up there while the rest of us balachis work our arses off for them..

blardy hell...
written by SamYap, June 11, 2008 12:45:20
Fellow Rakyat MT bloggers/commentators,

If I choose to be optimistic, then this latest statement by Datuk Abdul Ghapur is the start of a manouvre to crossover.

In order for crossovers to take place, a politician must find the right moment and the right reason. One cannot move just because it suits them. At the very least, the move must be seen as benefitting their electorate. Even if the move is simply on the basis of protest i.e. the Sabahans feel BN is not sincere in their aim to empathise with the rakyat, that itself is also a good political reason. In fact thats the very reason why all of us, here, are calling for the crossovers.

But it would not happen so soon. The politicians must play this current game to the end, in other words, to be able to say, they have done their best to persuade, cajole, coax or whatever; and yet the BN-UMNO politicians are unyielding thus leaving them no choice but to join Pakatan Rakyat as PR offers the best choice to serving the rakyat.

Of course, what I have written is just a guess, but lets hope that all of us guess right. smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jeffrey, June 11, 2008 15:18:59
all MPs in Sabah are the same!!! No guts to do the right things!!! They do not have the votes in their mind after geeting their votes to become a MP!!!THey only have thier own interest in their mind and planning. So, to those who voted for them, sad to say, you are only putting money into these people's pocket and you will suffer yourself. Some of the parties have webpage but i can assure you if you wrote anything, you will not receive any responce coz to them, "who the heck are you? I dont need you all anymore, i go tmy meal ticket and you guys in the street can shut up!!" That's the mentality of our MPs here in Sabah.
written by mgeo, June 11, 2008 20:33:00
written by Jester, June 11, 2008 | 10:09:33
it makes me so reluctant to pay taxes...

Just 1.1 million of us suckers and the petroleum money support everything.