Bar Council: Get to the bottom of shocking disclosures PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 June 2008 08:10

By LOH FOON FONG, The Star

PETALING JAYA: A Royal Commission of Inquiry should be set up to investigate into revelations by Sibu High Court Judge Datuk H. C. Ian Chin on “threats from the then prime minister”, Bar Council president Ambiga Sreenevasan said.

The allegation and other disclosures he made must be comprehensively looked into not only by the Chief Justice but also by all relevant parties,” she said.

Present and former judges should come forward with information of similar interference, she said.

Ambiga was reacting to Justice Chin who alleged the prime minister threatened him over two judgements he made in 1997.

He also said he was packed off to a boot camp from May 26 to May 30 that year together with selected judges and judicial officers. Ambiga said allegations about the “boot camp” was shocking and should be investigated.

Referring to Justice Chin's statement that he was informed by former High Court Judge Muhammad Kamil Awang that he had received a telephone call from the then Chief Justice asking him to dismiss an election petition in 2001 for the Likas by-elections, Ambiga said:

This corroborates a similar disclosure made by Muhammad Kamil himself in his judgment on that election petition, namely in the case of Harris Mohd Salleh vs The Returning Officer, Ismail Majin & Ors [2001] 3 CLJ 161.”

In the case, the judge had said: “The only guide to a man is his conscience, the only shield to his memory is the rectitude and the sincerity of his action.

In my view, it is an insult to one’s intelligence to be given a directive over the phone that these petitions should be struck off without a hearing, and above all, it is with prescience conscience that I heard these petitions.’’

written by billykbk, June 11, 2008 08:22:26
There's only one simple word to describe the former PM - TRASH!
written by Dominic, June 11, 2008 08:31:55
If TDM is found guilty after the finding of the Royal Commission, all his honourable title should be completely removed down to his bare name ! Otherwise its a mockering to all the other title holders. Looks like he overtakes Pol Pot as the number one enemy of the people . Sure Malaysia Boleh ! Is that what UMNOPUTRAS want ?????
written by Rajen Bumiputra, June 11, 2008 08:34:51
Mahathir son of Iskandar Kutty has done a lot of damage to the Judicial system & Judiciary in Malaysia. Many Malaysians suffer. But he is talking that America is bad, Israel is bad and so on.... smilies/angry.gif

Instruction to strike out election petition ? Where is Election Commission Chairman ? That idiot is talking big.

Injustices must be corrected and also compensated. Dont follow Zainuddin mydin approach, that is to sweep the issue/problem under the carpet because everything is Malaysia's reputation. smilies/tongue.gif Rajen Bumiputra

SUHAKAM, what are you doing ? Justice ? Human Rights?
written by kingelvis, June 11, 2008 08:52:35
I say Lynch that mamak now. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Mr Smith, June 11, 2008 08:58:36
Mahathir did not destroy the judiciary on his own. Judges like Hamid, Eusoff, Lamin, Mohtar, Augustine, Ajaib, Ariffin, Fairus and other scums also played their roles. The AG chambers too assisted in this destruction. They are more guilty than Mahathir.
Some of them should be in jail today.
This a country that rewards scums with Tunship!!!
written by astina, June 11, 2008 09:01:56
Well Tun Mamak ..what have u got to say now ?
Perviously u had insinuated that the RC and lingam gate were set up by "them" to get u and destroy your legacy .
U had claimed that u have inpeccable record on personal integrity and had done everything above board...
Now the revelations by a senior judge seems to throw a "broom" on ur earlier statements.

So Tun Mamak , isnt it time for u to come clean before u meet up with ur maker ??
written by cwy, June 11, 2008 09:04:53
All the SHITS in the brain and heart of Madhathir have
to be exposed!
written by krising1, June 11, 2008 09:17:41
Something is really wrong with a system where such acts are not made public for years. And we let a mad man be a PM for years and ruin this country. He should have been kicked off years before he retired. Now he is still around stirring shit. Let us now hear what the Mad Mamak has to say.
written by orangmsia, June 11, 2008 09:23:30
Mahathir son of mamak, you have destroyed the judiciary system. People dont trust you anymore. You have screwed UMNO as well as BN.
written by goman2k3, June 11, 2008 09:30:45
Mr. Smith

"Judges like Hamid, Eusoff, Lamin, Mohtar, Augustine, Ajaib, Ariffin, Fairus and other scums also played their roles. The AG chambers too assisted in this destruction."

Let up keep adding to the "SHAME LIST OF JUDGES" in MT with photos for all Malaysians to know and see.

"MT-SHAME LIST OF JUDGES"
1.Hamid,
2.Eusoff,
3.Lamin,
4.Mohtar,
5.Augustine,
6.Ajaib,
7.Ariffin,
8.Fairus

written by InEffective, June 11, 2008 09:44:33
The malleable judges should be rotaned in public.
(they have sold the rights of malaysians to the politicians for self-gain)

Why does judges have to wait for decades before this behavior comes to light ?
(have they been threatened by the ISA?)

If they have been threatened, (and our police ACA and judges are dysfunctional), the constitution and law is effectively broken, and dysfunctional.

And we the rakyat are accountable for enabling this to happen.(unscrupulous politicians exist in every nation)
written by Lostsoul12, June 11, 2008 09:58:14
Oh! My god! Most (if not all) of the listed above are muslim. I wonder how they going face allah after akhirat!
written by chanatak, June 11, 2008 10:00:48

Will the rest of the judges who attended that function have the gumption and honesty to come forward now with your public statements and testimonies? However, those of them who were working with the "then PM" can step back; we will know who they are.

START BEING ACCOUNTABLE. UPHOLD YOUR OWN INTEGRITY IN A OTHERWISE HONORABLE PROFESSION. Right now, it has been made less than an honorable position in Malaysia. And surely any judge has served even for a since that era who refuses to speak up will forever be perceived as a dirty judge. And for Ian Chin, at least we now know he is clean.

written by chanatak, June 11, 2008 10:02:07
Sorry typo error "And surely any judge has served even for a since ...."
written by ksmaniam, June 11, 2008 10:08:55
This clearly suggest that the judiciary, an organ of goverment entrusted to protect the rakyaat from the executive is tainted, please clean it up, everyone join hands and start it off. Enough of wait and see attitude. It is clear that the judiciary needs an overhaul. The judges and the BAr council should immediately work out a white paper. Justice tainted is not justice. its......(I am not going to say the word in my mind..) please do something. please.
written by InEffective, June 11, 2008 10:18:38
Is it possible for the BAR council to NOT know these ongoings?
(or are they also saving their skins at the rakyat's expense or have been compromised?)

The rakyat should know - is our bar council still valid,legitimate and functional?
(yes - i remember they marched).
written by HamChak, June 11, 2008 11:13:43
Please lah, Don't wait, wait lah
ALL these crooks may escape punishment
due to their age (so near to their graves, ma).
Please judge them fairly, If GUILTY, send them
by EXPRESS to our Famous JAIL, lor
written by mgeo, June 11, 2008 20:46:31
Well said, "InEffective"!
They are "shocked" about many things including "Sedition", but when are they going to take up a case in the public interest instead of making obligatory noises?