Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Cancellation of bridge to Singapore

Cancellation of bridge to Singapore PDF Print
Tuesday, 10 June 2008 09:43

I have been asked to please expose all that I know about the misuse of the Rakyat’s money. In response to the above request I would like to identify initially four of the instances where the Government of Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has misused public money.

What I write here would not be based on speculation or suppositions or possibilities. They are the things which are public knowledge and can be verified. I need to explain in detail. So I will deal with one subject at a time. However, I list below the four specific instances;

1. The cancellation of the bridge to replace the Malaysian part of the Johore Causeway

2. The postponement of the double-tracking and electrification of the railway line from Johor Baru to Padang Besar

3. The sale of M.V. Agusta for one Euro

4. Wang Ehsan which has been expended on Terengganu which the new Menteri Besar claims is not Wang Ehsan but Federal Fund.

Cancellation of the Bridge to Singapore

The Singapore Government had not objected to the building of the Malaysian bridge to replace the Malaysian half of the causeway. This bridge would be 25 metres above the water to allow for small ships to pass through after removal of the Malaysian half of the causeway. The Second Link is also 25 meters above the water surface. So the vessels can pass through the Tebrau Straits without obstruction by the causeway.

This bridge is very essential as the traffic in Johor Baru has increased and there is a permanent traffic jam caused by the North-South flow to and from the causeway and the East-West flow between the Eastern and Western parts of Johor Baru. An elevated road is needed to be built above the East-West traffic for access to and from the causeway. Such a road would result in a part of the Johor end of the causeway becoming useless as the elevated road must land some distance from where the causeway joins the mainland.

A full-length bridge to Singapore would enable a gradual rise for lorries to climb and boats to pass underneath after the causeway is removed. Since Singapore refused to jointly construct a straight bridge to replace the causeway, a bridge with 25 meters clearance for boats to pass has got to be long enough for lorries to make a gradual climb.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ONGJJJ, June 10, 2008 09:46:27
Pot calling the kettle black...equally dirty.
written by krising1, June 10, 2008 09:55:47
What's new? You have said all these before. Nothing much happenned. Infact some documents were declassified and they showed that you are the villian of the piece.

You are obviously running out of steam. All your cunning scheming backfired. You and son have been shown that you not gentlemen by refusing to relinquish the posts given to you by the government you hate. You are desperate!

You are the father of all evil that exists in this country. You cannot make any dramatic revelation without cutting you own throat. Why do not talk about the power companies who were given free or subsidised oil? And talk about the above market price that Tenaga had to pay to buy back the power.?

Rightly you should banish yourselve to Mecca and pray and repent there for the rest of your life.
written by little dragon, June 10, 2008 10:21:13
wat mahathir has conveniently "forgotten" to tell all of us is

1. d crooked bridge was going to be built by umno cronies.

2. d shipping channel dat has to be created to allow these "small" ships to pass which will cost millions if not billions to dredge n maintain, will also be undertaken by umno cronies.

3. d toll dat is going to be charged for using d bridge is also going to be collected by umno cronies.

d RAKYAT is not against development, v r just deadset against corruption dat is all.
written by joseph81, June 10, 2008 10:25:13
Crooked bridge has always been top of the agenda, why ah? Got personal interest ah? If not mistaken he's from Kedah, right?
written by Arubin, June 10, 2008 10:28:14
written by New Frontier, June 10, 2008 10:43:29
A suggestion-transfer the new CIQ to Johore Government as their new Administration Centre instead of transferring to NUSAJAYA. This move will save billions of direct and indirect cost.
written by kc respect, June 10, 2008 10:46:08
Has this former PM been hiding "dibawah tempurung"??? He seems to be digging up, while the most important issue affecting the rakyat, FUEL PRICE, he did not utter a word?
written by mikewang, June 10, 2008 11:14:06
The cancellation of the crooked bridge is a sound idea !
Only crooked minded people would insist that we build a crooked bridge.

Use the 2nd link !
written by kc respect, June 10, 2008 11:14:13

thanks, DezMalaysia ...... my fault for not going to chedet...
written by crazygweilo, June 10, 2008 11:38:05
Mahathir is anything but senile, do not underestimate him. Hes still smart, cunning and devious. If anyone thinks they have the old wizard beaten, they had better tread carefully.

Mahathir is not explaining the REAL reasons behind the removal of the Causeway, and if I stated it, you won't be too surprised

(a) It is strategic. If the Causeway is even partially removed with a waterway 45 meters wide for shipping, and 15 meters deep (again for shipping), this will allow commercial shipping to bypass Singapore using Malaysian waters and the Straits of Johor. This applies to ships of less than 70,000 tonnes with these dimensions.

(b) That shipping goes to Tanjong Pelapas instead of Singapore. This saves 24 hours on both fuel and journey times.

(c) It is also of military and strategic significance to both India and China. If they can save 24 hours bypassing Singapore, going to a port with potentially larger throughput, the savings are significant. India and China support Malaysia (indirectly) in Foreign affairs. Singapore is allied to Taiwan and the United States on the same sphere.

Double tracking project:

(a) Was badly needed to reduce dependence on cars and buses from a passenger perspective. Thats what it looks like on the outside. Thats the "public" phrase.

HOWEVER:

(b) The REAL benefits relate to the Freight side of things. With a Double track running from Johor Bahru to Padang Besar and on to Hat Yai, KTMB is able to enormously increase its capacity, its revenue and output. Over a 30 year period, this project yields a 200% rate of return on investment, (on the proviso that it is maintained properly)

(c) My theory behind the cancellation of the project by Abdullah relates not to the Budget deficit, but to who was allocated the original contract for its construction. Abdullah cancelled the contract for a publically stated reason, allowed to clouds to settle, and then reallocated the contract for Rawang to Ipoh to....a different company which was linked to someone we all know...beginning with K. The contruction of the line has been delayed and mishandled. Its completed to Ipoh now, but there are no trains to run on it, and as for KTMB, they have been treated like shit by successive Governments who have yet to grasp and understand the concept that no passenger railway system anywhere operates at a profit.

As for the Bridge/Causeway issue, thats to do with relations with Singapore. Abdullah has been quite accomodating with them, lacking the belligerent attitude of Mahathir, and his predecessors Tun Razak and Hussein Onn. Singapore needs the Causeway for the time being, and it also needs room to expand in Southern Johor. The only way Malaysia and Singapore will do that is by being sweet to each other.
written by fairnessforall, June 10, 2008 12:56:04
This is the first time, I entered Mamakthirs blog as I had too to read this article. However I notice, he only allows positive comments about himself and comments which praise him. I believe be has deleted all the negative comments. What a hypocrite he is. If he wants to blog, he should be daring enough to face the negative comments as well. He is behaving as if he is so innocent. He thinks the rakyat is stupid. The only reason he is pissed off with Bodohwi is because he and his family members and croonies stood to gain from corruption and commission on all the contracts including the Singapore bridge contracts which bodohwi cancelled. Thus bringing an end to his illegal income. Bodohwi on the other hand cancelled all the projects which Mamakthir and family stood to gain and created new projects which benefitted himself, his family and croonies. what a bunch of bloody hypocrites. Pot calling the kettle black.

Mamakthir, you dont fool us, we are not that stupid. You may have fooled the malays for years into believing they are being ruled by a malay when in actual fact it you are an indian, but the rest of the rakyat are just not stupid, we know what is happening.

Its time the malays open their eyes and realise, they are being controlled by mostly indian impersonating malays. Look at all the mamak ministers. You cant cant change your race by speaking a certain language. I speak very fluent malay too, does that make me a malay. Kick all those corrupted bastards out, whether malay, chinese or indian and the country will be a much better place to live in.

Anwar, I hope the first thing on your agenda when you take over is to confiscate all the wealth gathered by those corrupted bastards and return it back to the rakyat. Imagine how much the country would gain and progress with all its wealth returned to her.
written by Concerned_Citizen, June 10, 2008 13:39:35
Yalah tu Tun. Betulke yang Tun tak pernah ambil duit rakyat? Yang anak hang tu dalam list top 20 richest malaysian tu apa???

Betulkah yang jambatan pesong tu tidak dikontrakkan kepada orang-orang TUN??

Kalau betul tun tak pernah ambil duit rakyat, projek-projek raksasa yang tun laksanakan tu tidak pernah bazirkan duit rakyat ke?

Bila proton rugi, kerajaan akan menanggung rugi tu kalya bukan dari duit rakyat, duit siapa????

Malas nak list keluar sebab banyak hal yang tun pernah lakukan dalam membazir duit rakyat. Lain kali, pikir-pikirlar sebelum hentam orang. Pak dollah tu memang wajib dihentam tapi Tun tak berkelayakan sebab dua kepala yang sama tak boleh kutuk-mengkutuk!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 10, 2008 13:59:12

Should have gotten his chum lingam to FIX it.

written by TWOG, June 10, 2008 14:50:38
written by crazygweilo, June 10, 2008 | 11:38:05
(a) It is strategic. If the Causeway is even partially removed with a waterway 45 meters wide for shipping, and 15 meters deep (again for shipping), this will allow commercial shipping to bypass Singapore using Malaysian waters and the Straits of Johor. This applies to ships of less than 70,000 tonnes with these dimensions.

(b) That shipping goes to Tanjong Pelapas instead of Singapore. This saves 24 hours on both fuel and journey times.

crazygweilo, the only thing strategic about the crooked bridge was that somebody and his cronies stood to get alot of money from the construction contracts.

Take a look at ****** earth, and tell me again whether you can save time and fuel by going through the Johor Straits (route north of Singapore) instead of the Singapore Straits (route south of Singapore). Distance wise, they are about the same for both routes. But because of the meandering course in the Johore Straits, the voyage is actually longer.

There is height constraints, width constraints and shallow draft.
written by crazygweilo, June 10, 2008 15:07:45
TWOG

Agree on that - the issue of

Shallow Draft, Size contraints, currents, voyage duration.

The fees charged at the Port of Tanjung Pelapas (PTP) are lower than the fees charged at the Port of Singapore Authority (PSA). For container shipping that plays a factor in itself. Then also consider that once a ship arrives at PTP, the containers are quickly transhipped, or unloaded on a Freight train heading North into Malaysia/Thailand, so from a regional perspective it saves money.

Mind, I recall from memory that the PSA is the most efficient in the world apparently.

Yes, someone and his cronies stood to benefit from a lot of kickbacks. When it was cancelled, there was RM300 Million in "compensation" paid to the consultant or engineering firm involved. A shocking amount of money by anyones standards.

For someone who promised to be so clean back in 2004, he turned out to be worse than Mahathir for graft and corruption. At least Mahathirs mega projects got completed. None of Pak Lahs mega projects are completed (yet), and the waste is a disgrace. So much potential is lost.
written by cruzeiro, June 10, 2008 16:03:35
Now that somebody got whacked and looks stoopid on the Judiciary issue,
he wants to divert attention to all the projects awarded to cronies/ proxies,
that were a good gravy train lost.

But of course the spin doctor/ghost writer (aka Mr. Mutt-hias) says it was all for "the people" ....

written by Chaptokam, June 10, 2008 17:30:12
Repeating the same old story , nothing much good from your Cock and Bull story.
Even repeating the old movies of P. Ramlee are more exciting .TDM you can rest in peace .
written by looish, June 10, 2008 19:14:19
Tun,
Please give us everthing that you should know and not what you want people to know. How about telling us how much you lost and will be still losing because the crooked bridge was not built. How about letting the rakyat know the interest that you have in Tanjung Pelepas, etc, etc. Please lay out all the cards in the pack and not just part of it. Please don't play poker with the rakyat.
written by merchant222, June 11, 2008 00:34:46
Mamak, I have just posted a comment in your blog but I am not waiting for it to be posted coz you are going to block it like what you have done to those during your premiership.

Since going into your blog three thousand five hundred and forty four times, you have blocked my comments. So, I say to you as I posted in your blog just then,
"You are sinful. You have wrecked the country. So take a long rest."
written by stchin, June 11, 2008 01:37:31
Please enlighten me with the following info. : your wife and 3 children are having fd of 'millions&millions us$' in Isreali S'pore Banks ! i dun believe it, DO YOU !?
written by stchin, June 11, 2008 01:42:42
AAB said, " ...the kerajaan FEELS the people's PAIN ..." so deduct 10% =rm1880.00 monthly of his 'entertainment allowance' = a big sacrifice !! could you FEEL & DO it !?
written by stchin, June 11, 2008 01:47:23
Oh ! something else : your brother-in-law & all your CRONIES are also having
fd of 'million&millions us$' in Isreali S'pore Banks too !! I dun think so, DO YOU !?
written by SocratesI, June 11, 2008 10:39:57

Guys, mamaks are people and citizens of Malaysia too, so stop insulting them by associating them with Maha-Shithead all the time ! Tantamount to racism to insult the mamaks by linking their good name to Maha-Shithead !

Maha-Shithead is just that ... a Maha-Shithead who has led us into the quagmire that Malaysia is in today and left us with such a weak leader, but strong fortress which even a weak leader can survive and prosper !!

Bodohwi is bad, but Maha-Shithead was, and is MUCH WORSE !