Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Maseu Suggests Doing Away With Restaurant Taxes

Maseu Suggests Doing Away With Restaurant Taxes PDF Print
Monday, 09 June 2008 16:15
KUALA LUMPUR, June 9 (Bernama) -- The government should abolish the service tax and government tax of five percent respectively, charged by restaurants and eateries, including fast-food outlets, to lighten the burden of the lower income group. In making the suggestion, Malaysia Airlines System Employees Union (Maseu) executive secretary Mustafar Maarof said the move would enable the group to enjoy a better life.

"As consumers, we ask the authorities to make surprise visits on food outlets all over the country to see if they are really paying the taxes," he said in a statement Monday.

Mustafar said food businesses now raised prices at will, and by displaying a copy of the government's approval to charge the two taxes amounting to 10 percent, the situation would only worsen.

"For example, lunch that costs RM9 goes up by 10 percent to become RM9.90.

"Imagine a family with two children eating at a fast-food outlet, a RM45 bill will go up by RM4.50 to become RM49.50," he said.

-- BERNAMA

written by power2u, June 09, 2008 16:43:49
Ya -lah n if they can they will also impose the GSTT (Goods n Servis Tax) soon so that rakyat can ubah gaya hidup mereka!!!!!!
written by binarytan, June 09, 2008 16:46:24
Suggest here and there but nothing positive being done to help the Malaysian under current weak PM management.

We rakyat also suggest you to step down as soon as possible and let another guy take over, highly prefer to be someone from PR. UMNO is just nightmare for the rakyat.

written by MsLim, June 09, 2008 16:47:46
Government taxed restaurants on annual profits. We pay 5% govt tax on top of our bills. Hey, it's unfair we are double taxed. Think about it. I've long ago stopped eating in fast-food outlets.
written by Arubin, June 09, 2008 16:53:42
This is a suggestion that makes a lot of sense actually.

People will be less inclined to eat out now in order to save money. Rising costs combined with decreased patronage is going to put a lot of restaurants out of business, and we can't have that.

Its one thing to say 'Ubah gaya hidup', but the government just doesn't think of the consequences sometimes. We can all eat less steaks, but what about the people who own the steakhouses? Well, if you don't care about them, what about their staff? The waiters, cooks, etc. who are everyday people like you and me. Don't forget their suppliers too.

Removing both taxes might hopefully help put customer butts back in restaurants seats. This is a good thing. People need to spend on goods and services for an economy to grow. If everyone cuts down too much on their spending because of rising prices, we'll be hit by a recession as well.
written by Milo, June 09, 2008 16:57:09
You need to overhaul the whole government and provide a comprehensive plan to right all the ills in the country. The best way to do it is to start with a clean slate by changing the government to a more committed one. Let PR rule for a change.
written by Mr Smith, June 09, 2008 16:58:05
There is widespread abuse in the collection of taxes. Many restaurants don't give receipts or have two set of receipts with identical numbers. I have personally been asked if I wanted a receipt with 5% tax or none.
Without enforcement there will be abuse. They pocket the 5%.

written by libau, June 09, 2008 17:03:58
This suggestion can be accepted. How many time we need to pay taxes?
Goverment ask for tax from our income, now when we buying food using our taxed money we need to pay another tax?

We need Change...
written by pokokmangga, June 09, 2008 17:13:10
If times are hard, belt tightening is one way to save money. I do not understnad how you can still afford to eat at the restaurant. Won't it be cheaper to have home cooked meals? And for those at work, how about pack lunches?
written by Arubin, June 09, 2008 17:33:40
If times are hard, belt tightening is one way to save money. I do not understnad how you can still afford to eat at the restaurant. Won't it be cheaper to have home cooked meals? And for those at work, how about pack lunches?

I don't disagree with you on these points, but the reason why I won't do this while I can still afford to is because food sellers need to earn a living too.

Not just restaurants. Think of the makcik who sells you nasi lemak for breakfast. Think of all the nasi campur stalls where we can get a tasty and economical lunch. What will become of them if we all packed our own meals from home?
written by SamYap, June 09, 2008 17:38:09
Wah! Eat at a fast food restaurant ah?

at the rate things are going, eating at McDonalds, Pizza Hut and KFC is like luxury lah! This MASEU fellow must be having a good time. Maybe, its time that MAS management revisit the Collective Agreement with MASEU, and see if we could save some costs in running MAS.

MASEU, try asking any clerk working in any of the SME companies whether they could afford to take their families to McDonalds? Try asking the fellow working in the warehouse section of TESCO and see if he or she could afford to take his family to KFC?

How about Ahmad or Chandran, the despatch riders, whether they can afford to take their family to Pizza Hut?

Ask Ah Chong, the van driver for Syarikat Ah Fatt, whether he could take his family for a meal at Nandos Chicken?
written by miracle, June 09, 2008 17:42:56
why other countries goverment do all they could to help their rakyat??? no ours??? Is S Korea an exporter of oil??

SEOUL, June 9 (Reuters) - South Korean Finance Minister Kang Man-soo said on Monday the country needs to manage interest rate and foreign exchange policy while considering a recent jump in consumer inflation.

"We need to manage interest rate and foreign exchange polices considering the recent inflation situation," Kang said during a programme on the local SBS radio.

South Korea's consumer prices rose 4.9 percent in May from a year earlier, hitting a 7-year high and keeping the annual rate of inflation above the central bank's target for the sixth month in a row. (Reporting by Cheon Jong-woo and Yoo Choonsik)

S.Korea to unveil economy stimulus package Sunday

SEOUL, June 6 (Reuters) - South Korea plans to announce measures on Sunday to help low-income earners cope with high oil and food prices, the finance ministry said on Friday.

A media officer at the ministry said Prime Minister Han Seung-soo and Finance Minister Kang Man-soo plan to hold separate briefings to explain the measures, but the officer declined to elaborate. (Reporting by Cheon Jong-woo; Editing by Yoo Choonsik)
written by budakindia, June 09, 2008 17:44:20
Yeah right! Abolish that tax and impose a higher tax! Yeah that solved the problem! You think we are that stupid to support you? smilies/angry.gif
written by Angela Ooi, June 09, 2008 17:59:49
Eating in fast food joints is expensive and generally poor in food value. Visits should be limited to the occasional treat for kids
written by fairnessforall, June 09, 2008 18:16:35
All you people have got it wrong, restaurants do not charge 5% service charge, they charge 10% service charge and 5% tax which comes up to 15% added on to the bill.

Its not only fast food restaurant, but every up market restaurant and pubs charge 15% extra. Even restaurants like lotus which is just an indian restaurant charges the additional charges.

Its rediculous for us to pay 10% for service, should not the service come together with the price of the food. Its time the goverment do away with both taxes.
written by SocratesI, June 09, 2008 18:31:05

UBAH KERAJAAN !!

Why ubah gaya hidup when we can UBAH KERAJAAN ?!! Down with this Corrupt Useless Imbecilic Govt.!!
written by penangite, June 09, 2008 18:36:46
UMNO = United Minyak Naik Organization
written by Bornean, June 09, 2008 18:56:58
Hi Fairnessforall, 'What do you mean? Even restaurants like lotus which is just an indian restaurant charges the additional charges." Just an Indian restaurant? They can't charge 15%? Is their food so low class? Get real man! Don't you see the crowds and the customers there?
written by Watcheyes1, June 09, 2008 20:15:34
Till today i still do not understand why are we paying gonvernment and service tax when dinning in restaurants and other outlets? Why are this taxes there in the first place??? We pay servie tax....what service? Government tax.....for what?

Hey i do not pay any taxes when dinning in some Indian restaurants or food stall or kedai mamak. So why some places have tax charges and some not?

Apa punya sistem ini??
written by uncleleow, June 09, 2008 21:36:42
Dear Mustafar Maarof,

Please dont try to hog the limelight. Recently most of us are trying to figure out how to survive and you want the gomen to abolish the tax so that your group can "enjoy a better life". Go to hell lar. Better ask your airline girls and guys to prostitute them self to the foreigner which the whole world know they are fond of.
written by AntiBN, June 10, 2008 00:57:01
What? Can still afford to eat at fast food restaurants at this time? I would be happy if I can still afford to eat economy rice or the hawker's food.