Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Malaysians Feeling the Effect of Corruption, Not Oil Hike

Malaysians Feeling the Effect of Corruption, Not Oil Hike PDF Print
Monday, 09 June 2008 11:01

Now, after suffering for 4 years, Malaysians are subjected to more hike in prices of oil and subsequently goods.  We now question, how will Malaysians respond? Will there be an uprising and a movement to demand for their rights. Or at least they should move to protect the future of their children?

Average Malaysian should consider that the recent hike in oil prices is a sign of corruption having a direct impact on Malaysian’s daily life. Will Malaysians allow the rich to become richer or will they put a stop to this trend once and for all?

Many Malaysians actually do not know the extent of corruption effecting their lives. Most Malaysians just simply accept the government line that the hike is only due to international pressures and the BN government is only doing what they’re suppose to do, in the interest of the people.

The challenge now is to get the average, run-of-the-mill Malaysians to realize this fact. The fact that their children’s future is at stake is not so much on their minds, largely because of their ignorance.

The way I see it, the oil problem is a good opportunity for Pakatan Rakyat and the rest to spread the sensitivity against corruption to every Malaysian regardless of their walk of life. We have languished so much under a corrupt system and we are now made to pay for the corruption of a few.

If we take our Indonesian neighbor post Suharto, it seems everyone is of one opinion that their state of poverty is largely attributed to corruption. Such a realization in the minds of every single Indonesian regardless of their social status. We must emulate the Indonesians in spreading this realization.

The key to curbing corruption lies in the people, not the government. How does one expect a body of the government to check on corrupt practices by the government itself.  It’s like asking a thief to serve as judge and jury and convict himself. It just doesn’t work.

Comments (56)Add Comment
written by DatoSeri, June 09, 2008 11:09:23
Come on!

After 50 years of UMNO with the BN doggies around, if it is not clear enough that they are corrupt
agree 143
written by tehewe, June 09, 2008 11:10:58
Ok! Tukar Gomen!
written by middlepath, June 09, 2008 11:15:36
Yes, right on, we malaysia, must wake up.
Government said the petrol price increase is to reflect on the world market price.
Shit if that is the case, the world market price of the CAR is very cheap in USA, Europe, China, so we must also bring down the price of the CAR, cut the excise duty, and AP, so that we have cheaper car. This Umno,BN government is cheating the people, through so much Corruption, Arrogant, Greedy policy.
we the rakyat must change the gov to the pakatan rakyat, so that we have a choice,
today, we do not have any choice, we are stuck with all kind of stupid policy,
we must have the courage of change, for better future, if we fear of change, we will always suffer at the hand of Umno and BN that suppress us with stupid policy, and greedy policy.
We must wake up to change for better, if the alternative Pakatan perform we have all to gain, look at Penang, Perak, Kedah, Selangor, all of us got something to gain, free water, lower land tax (cukai tanah), lower tax, rice for the hard core poor,
what do we get from our federal Umno,BN government ?
higher toll, like Grand Saga in Mahkota Cheras,
higher petrol price
higher pice in verything, 50 years of sufferig not enough ?
another 5 years ?
Please wake up. get our MPs to cross over to Pakatan rakyat now !
must change for better or stuck in suffering, that is hell
agree 155
written by cwy, June 09, 2008 11:17:38
As long as the government is not transparent in spending its collection from the Petronas profit and sudsidy deduction, Malaysians are more concerned with corruption rather than the oil hike.
agree 114
written by budakindia, June 09, 2008 11:18:37
let's change the government! no more BN! smilies/angry.gif
written by Jan, June 09, 2008 11:19:13
Raising fuel price by this much and this sudden is certainly the most stupid act Abdullah has done in his 4 years as PM. He has committed political suicide and don't seem to know it.
And I can never say enough of it.
written by gctham, June 09, 2008 11:22:34
This was nicely put into record.
For all ordinary citizen just could not understand why a country like Malaysia which was net exporter of Petroleum yet the petrol and diesel price was not justifiable with their gross annual earning.

Corruption and mismanagement of our resources were the key factor that make it todays. The government has spent unnecessary and has use most of the money in an unproductive manners. A lot of excessiveness and wastage. Now the people has to pay a huge price on the folly of the government.
written by SocratesI, June 09, 2008 11:22:53

BULLSEYE ! The price hike is the result of rampant and massive corruption that has wasted away all the RAKYAT's money and the country's resources (Petronas oil money). You don't see other net exporters of oil doing what the Barisan Najis has done, raising prices through the roof !!

We need to THROW OUT THE Barisan Najis Govt. !! Reject the BN and its CORRUPTION !! Reject Barang Naik !! Long Live Pakatan RAKYAT !!

written by charli88, June 09, 2008 11:22:59
The truth finally shine. Corruption is the cause and fuel hike is the effect. Anyone who has done deal with any gomen related projects etc will know the truth. The only solution as I can think of is either let PR takes over the gomen or get 1 mil Rakyat Jelata to shout
written by Msian 2, June 09, 2008 11:24:07
Not just corruption -- but wanton abuse of power, taking the rakyat for granted, lack of transparencies, lack of meritocracies, over-use of racial politics, lack of freedom of press, protecting the UMNOPUTRA's etc. The GE12 is the beginning & now with the price of gasoline affecting the general population livelihood, the rakyat's cannot afford to maintain the same quality of living and 100% of the blame lies with the govt. We need new govt NOW. Economics cuts across all racial lines & we must unite to give this govt HELL.
written by turf1, June 09, 2008 11:28:58
Fire already ignited on 0803 already.We have RPK.We have broadminded non sectarian braders of melayu,cina,indians,sabahans and sarawakians.We got the slap on our face.We got DSAI.We got all natural resources on our soil the build the nation back from its ruins.NOW,all melayus,chinese,indians and others has to do only one thing.ie, we all belong to THE ONE GOD and to this tolerant mother earth,which we all call MALAYSIA.
written by Milo, June 09, 2008 11:36:12
The reality is the rakyat already know and has lost hope in the country - until March 8 came along. Hence, there is no need to spend too much time TELLING them about the impact of corruption. I know of many who 'voted' for the BN parties not because they support or believe in them, but because they have given up resisting and decided to 'just flow along with the trend' since nothing is going to change. Only one focus now - Pakatan to take over! That's the only realistic hope for any significant change. Com'on those conscienable BN MPs, for once have the courage to do someting right - walk over! The future generations of Malaysians depend on you!
written by doggieread, June 09, 2008 11:38:12
There are better ways to combat rising fuel price.

Hybrid Cars:- Give incentives for these fuel savings cars e.g. Import tax excemption, reduce road tax etc.

Solar power:- Malaysia is bless with sun all year round. Initial investment to solar power system is expensive (>100k). Even with the rebate government is giving, it will take massive usage of electricity to recover your investment or take years, years, years. Should make solar power more affordable.

But then if these happen then who is the biggest loser???????

written by cubi76, June 09, 2008 11:45:46
No worries in the Bolehland in Asia.

Economic growth is at 7%. Export is booming thanks to palm oil. Inflation is at 2%. Unemployment is below 4%. Plenty of credit facility with low interest rate.

WOW. This sounds like the best country in Asia. Do we need foreign investment? Nay... dont bother to pull in Singapore investment for the Arab brothers will flush us with all the cash. Unity among Malaysian? Nay... Those who dont like it here can always get the hell out of this Bolehland. Liberalisation and progress? Nay... Hadhari will guide us and feed us.

Remove the lid, the ugly truth shows itself - stagnant economic activity, realistically high inflation, engineered booming house prices, increasing number of unemployable graduates, social problem and all time high crime rate, illegal immigrant problems, soaring cost of doing business thanks to rampant corruption practice, poor education, etc etc etc.

Still dreaming in its own Bolehland. "Malaysia Boleh!" X3 "Ketuanan Boleh" X3
written by tino_chan1988, June 09, 2008 11:48:04
Agree.

Although the fuel price hike is Malaysia is probably inevitable in the long run but I strongly believed that the impact and implication of it should have been more cushioned with better governance and proper management by our government.

The very root of our Malaysia's weaknesses of poor governance, mismanagement of funds and corruption stems not just in recent times but from the years of misused of political powers by the ruling coalition - tracing back to Dr M's tenure. To rid of this desease, the cancerous entity must be removed and eradicated.

Malaysia have indeed gone a long way since independence, but unfortunately the problem of corruption and nepotism among the political leaders has also spiralled out of hand and has caused a lot more harm than good.

We have given 50 years of mandate for the UMNO-led coalition to run (or ruin) our country, perhaps it's time to elect a new government to see what they can do for our nation now.

written by PasarRoad, June 09, 2008 11:50:38
Not sure what the writer meant by Malaysians suffering for 4 years. In reality, Malaysians have been suffering for almost 30 years, since 1982. Prior to that there was corruption, but it was manageable. Prior to 1982, the media was relatively free until OPS Lallang.

The stark reality of the effects of corruption and dictatorial government is more apparent now than ever before.
written by Malaysia Digest, June 09, 2008 11:52:38
The government intention to abolish the fuel subsidies is to gain fund for their projects. Projects for their cronies. The loser are the rakyat as they will have to bear the cost and the winners are the businesses that have direct or indirect connection with the government leaders.

Malaysia Digest
written by Foong, June 09, 2008 11:57:39
The price hike of petrol is actually used to fulfill the promise of giving back oil royalty to Sabah and Trengganu. That is a ploy.
written by asianguy, June 09, 2008 12:00:26
Couldn't agree more with the writer.
written by onnetline, June 09, 2008 12:30:28
Agreed. This build-up is generated from an indirect effect of corruption !
written by cahaya, June 09, 2008 12:38:40
Agree with key points by author of this article!

Many Malaysians actually do not know the extent of corruption effecting their lives.
written by ganbing, June 09, 2008 13:13:28
Agreed. BN is corrupt to the core. And they are not stealing 1-2 millions now, they are stealing hundreds of millions at one go. The submarine deal netted some well-connected middlemen RM530 million. The Sukhoi jets deal netted them RM280 million. These middlemen do not provide any real value are just a front for the thieves.

Look at the NS training program. It costs RM500 million a year for 110,000 trainees. That's RM4500 per trainee for 3 months of lousy food. Some people are making millions!

Coming are the undersea cable from Bakun to Peninsula (RM15 billion) and the rail double tracking project (RM17 billion). Both are economically senseless and unnecessary. That's where the taxpayers' money will go - into worthless projects which are nothing more than vehicles for siphoning money.

Petronas money is being used to finance extravaganzas like Monsoon Cup, F1 and the ludicrous Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra. And they moan that they may go bankrupt!

A large part of the oil & gas subsidy is to subsidize gas for IPP who sell electricity to TNB at premium rates whether TNB needs the power or not.

The oil subsidy is justified and benefits a lot of poor people due to the knock down effect. A few rich people benefiting is no excuse for removing it. Why not remove the gas subsidy to IPPs completely? If ever there is a subsidy which benefits the rich, this is it! TNB has an excess of electricity and they are not required; they are bloodsuckers put there by Mahathir.
written by binkah1, June 09, 2008 13:15:34
Bingo! you are spot on.
written by shiokguy, June 09, 2008 13:27:46
It affects us all, might not be directly but surely for generations to come.
written by Thamipoh, June 09, 2008 13:40:44
Let us make it a must do project to punish all corrupt BN leaders and cronies severly when PR takes over the goment. All exist out of the country must be block immediately to prevent excape. Yes corruptors must be punished to remind future leaders that they too will face the same music if they founder. Let us put fears into all elected representatives as they take charge of goment funds. They have to face a mad mad rakyat.
written by Bigjoe99, June 09, 2008 13:47:26
I could not agree more. The PM is naive to think the public don't understand this. Even in Terengganu kampung, they say that oil money belong to you and me. You think they don't get it that corruption is the root of their problem with this price increase?

Sharir is being too smug about this whole thing if you ask me and this is why

http://standingupsittingdown.********.com
written by ImranJ78, June 09, 2008 14:05:43
Yes! Corruption and improper use of our oil money has gone on for far too long. The government should be more mindful of what it uses its money for. No more unnecessary spending and `white elephant' projects!

Nevertheless, I disagree with one thing in the article. In my view, if we continue with oil subsidies, it is our children who will suffer. By removing subsidies now, we might be hurt in the short term but in the long term Malaysia's competitiveness will improve. Subsidies articifially keeps cost down. What happens when our oil runs out? Our whole economy will fall in one big thud and our childrens are the ones who will suffer most. Without subsidies and with `real' market-priced fuel, our children will be living in a more competitive environment and they might even enjoy some of our remaining oil as our generation will use it more wisely due to the higher cost.
written by juanglagi, June 09, 2008 14:17:14
Every one pls convey to those ignorant people that gov grab anything they could within their last 4-5 years, pressure MP/ADUN switch camp now!
written by SamSan, June 09, 2008 14:21:33
I think we can all collectively try to solve the problem of rampant corruption if we come together with our compatriotes in PAS,DAP and PKR and perform a series of massive but simultaneous sembahyang hajat asking God to come down hard and punish those corrupt leaders who ravage and pillage our country's wealth with impunity.
written by ganbing, June 09, 2008 14:23:03
Imran. your argument is correct if the national funds are spent wisely. But with BN's mega corruption and useless white elephant projects as vehicles for corruption, our children's future are being frittered away already. Saving the oil subsidy just gives them more money to lunder. Another 15-20 years of BN corrupt rule and we'll end up like Zimbabwe. Our only hope is Pakatan Rakyat taking over.
written by tbsbidayuh, June 09, 2008 14:25:53
Hehe..thisBudak Nakal Club has nothing to say but blame the Saddam's death. Funny people governing in such a funny way.

more at : http://tbsbidayuh.********.com...ws-vi.html
written by Taikohtai, June 09, 2008 14:39:39
If DSAI and PR pledge similar schemes to what is happening in Australia, I am sure your recalcitrant PM and predecessors will more than wet their pants:

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23833582-953,00.html

Pass a law to seize all assets of corrupt politicians and re-distribute their proceeds back to the rakyat.
DSAI will not only be able to roll back the oil hike but even compete with Columbia for cheapest petrol pricing in the world.......now shouldn't that be the type of Guiness Book of World Records that Malaysia like to chase?
written by ekt tan, June 09, 2008 14:42:54
Rising oil prices may be a major issue for Malaysia and likewise for the rest of the world, but corruption within the government further compounds the problem as it is equally a major issue. The rakyat has been hit once with oil and twice with gross corruption. Prices across all sectors will continue to rise and it is now more difficult to see the positive light at the end of the tunnel.
written by malgal, June 09, 2008 15:00:20
now we see the woods for the trees ! the rising prices merely expose the faultline already there. the cracks are now being shown.
written by merlin2001, June 09, 2008 15:07:14
May I make a small correction. It is not only a few that are corrupted.
It is the entire system that is corrupted to the core.
That is the reason why the revenues that is collected just cannot meet the expenditure of the government.
written by ladasiber, June 09, 2008 15:17:13
"
The key to curbing corruption lies in the people, not the government."

It took the rakyat 50 years to learn that the BN doesn't work for the Rakyat after all. Their interest is only to fill up their bellies. Too bad that we miss the bus to change the government past election. And no point to cry over spilled milk.

Now we can only hope the act of God for miracle to happen. We pray that DSAI can make realize what people had dreamed of.
written by mgeo, June 09, 2008 15:21:15
a. Approx. portion that produces petrol/diesel out of 1 barrel of crude = 46% of (USD130 x RM3.3) / 159litres = RM 1.24/litre. How is the implied Malaysian market price including subsidy of RM3.00 for petrol arrived at?
b. Since only about half of crude by volume yields petrol/diesel and our exported/sold petroleum fetches above-average price, why is our rising income from exports/sales of whole petroleum not enough to cover our import/purchase of just petrol/diesel? What are the volumes and sums involved?
c. Petronas profit from 1974 to 3/08 was RM 570 billion profit. RM 359 billion paid to "government", RM 170 billion "re-invested", RM 41 billion to "minority shareholders" and foreign tax. How much of the RM 359 billion is reflected as income in the various annual govt. budgets?
d. How much of the RM 170 billion re-investment by Petronas went to these, and are they allowed in the corporate charter? : (1) leasing (planes to MAS, oil tankers to MISC, office space in Twin Towers) (2) orchestra and theatre (3) stake in failed banks (4) motor racing (5) electricity generation.
e. Petronas chairman stated on 6/6/08 that Petronas "deposited detailed accounts yearly in the Pariament library. Why has the Opposition not been able to sight this?
f. Some oil-producing nations, especially Norway and Kuwait, have carefully investe their wealth locally and abroad for their future. What do we have to show?
g. A whole tanker ship of subsidised diesel was nearly smuggled out of Malaysia by "pirates", but for the courage of one sailor. Has any syndicate able to afford such a huge crime been punished?
h. Govt. subsidies besides that for consumer fuel:
- Govt. subsidies for big business: cheap gas for Japan and IPPs (32% of market market price for IPPs).
- Govt. income: petroleum exports, Petronas income from overseas mining, tax on fuel sales, tax on foreign petroleum companies mining here, car purchase tax, road tax.
- Other energy-related benefits to big business paid for by public: Usage of power from IPPs for highway lights, above-market IPP selling price to Tenaga, tolls, road contracts, cheap loans to toll operators, Proton, AP kings etc.
- Other indirect benefits to big business paid for by public: (1) "Privatised" monopolies: electricity, land phones, vehicle inspection, etc. (2) "Privatised" previously free services: Severage, rubbish collection, highways, public civil works (PWD). How did the govt. provide these free before we found petrol? (3) Public resources privatised: Water processing (apart from distribution). (4) "Inefficiencies" in govt. due to inaction on Aiditor-General's reports, intolerance to critcism even from elected rep's and draconian laws enforcing secrecy.
i. There is a deafening silence on national policy to (a) build a proper system of public transport (b) improve efficiency through incentives.
written by jasonsel, June 09, 2008 15:33:57
Undilah ...Barisan Nasional.....kerajaan stabil yang merompak negara dan rakyat....

hahahahahahah....padan muka !!!!!
written by amoker, June 09, 2008 15:49:00
Read yesterday from NST that Petronas is described as 'ircurruptible'. I was shocked. Ask any vendor to Petronas and you will know the truth. The 100% bumi requirement to be a vendor enables a % hike in pricing so that the 'bumi' share is included. Just talked to a vendor that his charge is RM60K for petronas and RM40K for us due to that.. and Petronas still pays. Well, at least it is legalized corruption..
written by CLWong, June 09, 2008 16:19:48
Someone out there must be able to add up the following:
1) Road tax
2) Sale tax on cars
3) Petronas tax
These 3 shd add up to more than the 13B, enough to "subsidise" the rakyat. But these 3 are actually our money. Use it to "subsidise"!! If not, at least improve the public transport to an acceptable level, no need to be "world" class!Lots of rotting buses in Serendah for sale!
written by UniversalQ, June 09, 2008 16:25:14
Lets say you get Rg.3b from excess profit tax on Oil Palm industry and blow it on a rail project going south. When was the last time you were on a KTM train? For me 45 years ago when I can get from Ipoh to Penang for less than Rm.10/=
written by Leon, June 09, 2008 16:44:30
In Indonesia, they say "Miskin dilarang sakit", in Malaysia, we say "Miskin dilarang berkenderaan"
written by zanie, June 09, 2008 16:55:11
Pembaziran yang begitu berleluasa harus dihentikan sama sekali! Philharmonic orchestra menghabiskan RM500 juta duit kita! Formula 1, ekpedisi menumpang Russia ke bulan, menjelajah kutub, mendaki everest,semua ini memakan billions, hentikan semua rompakan ini!!
written by Richfyf, June 09, 2008 17:15:34
ANOTHER WAYANG to cover something much worst??/

Could it be that while we are all angry something else is being hidden from Us?

In just 4 hours of meeting the government or is it One person made a decision to increase the fuel price by 40% to 61%. Well the only reason people make such drastic decision is to counter drastic situation. To say that we are to reduce subsidy is not a valid reason. Subsidy reduction must be announced and given time frame for people to adjust. Especially when million of live are effected. I did recall Pak Lah made a statement recently that Crude Oil future trading should be stop. Emmmm Did I recall another prime minister saying that Currency trading should be illegal after Bank Negara lost Billion in currency trading. NOW I am not surprise if someone in the country did a future trading of our crude oil and actually over traded and now we dont have enough crude oil to supply at the Subsidised price, So what to do just to cover up the fiasco the only way is to take away the public subsidy and cover the loses. I bet you the person who made the mistake is very VERY close to the person who make this drastic decision. I cant think of any valid reason why someone who recently win the election( barely 100days by a simple majority) would take such a political risk. Not to mention when he hear every corner within and without his party asking him to step down would be making a such a risky political decision.
There is surely something much much BIGGER that is more SHOCKING that is being covered up. RPK with your investigative power that you have shown us would you do some probing and see what other bigger C4 dirt is being hidden from us. With this maybe we can bring the whole bunch of them o court.
written by TaiLow, June 09, 2008 18:10:00
Let's put it this way my brothers and sisters, our father who is manning the family businesses which is making tons of money telling us we are poor, therefore he has to sell off some of our brothers and sisters limps, heart, livers or kidneys to support the family, untill some of us grow up and found out that actually our father was and is a billionaire and father comes telling us since we have so many retarded brothers and sisters, he needed the money safeguard our future...BUY IT? TAKE it !!! i think thats very well addressed to this present scenario.
written by brunostatia, June 09, 2008 19:46:01
Corruption will suck out all of our resources, imagine.. Sabah used to be the richest state in Sabah..but now is the poorest state in Malaysia..guest what is the reasons?....

so..I Hope all of us who know the truth about our economy..and not blinded by all the fake result, analysis announced by government via their TV,Radio, newspaper..start spreading the news to other peoples who still have yet to realise the real stories..start campaigning now..so that if the time suddenly come..we can be sure to vote out our current government..BARISAN NASIONAL WILL NEVER CHANGED ITSELF...ONLY US THE PEOPLE CAN CHANGED THEM..AND AFTER WE HAD SUCCESFULLY CHANGED THEM..THEN WE CAN NOW PROUDLY SAY "MALAYSIA BOLEH!!"

written by partiotic, June 09, 2008 21:12:00
We should ask all x minister, present minister and all the top government servent to declear all the cash they have in the oversea bank, and it should be given back to the government.
written by cahaya, June 09, 2008 21:30:45
Agree with key points by author of this article!
Many Malaysians actually do not know the extent of corruption effecting their lives. …. largely because of their ignorance.
…. The way I see it, the oil problem is a good opportunity for Pakatan Rakyat and the rest to spread the sensitivity against corruption to every Malaysian regardless of their walk of life. We have languished so much under a corrupt system and we are now made to pay for the corruption of a few.
…. most Parliament and State seats are comprised of rural areas. ….. Therefore, it is our challenge to spread the realization down to the kampong people so that all Malaysians will speak in one voice in defiance of corruption, nepotism and abuse. The kampong folks must be made to realize that corruption will destroy their future and their children future. This is our challenge indeed.
Tulang Besi, www.malaysiawaves.com

written by Diz, June 09, 2008 22:41:17
Does anyone know the actual (or estimated) levels of corruption in Malaysia? What categories are included, how is it assessed? Interestingly, I was chatting with a mat salleh Prof who specialises in such things a few months ago and he said his research puts the figure at around RM45 billion (not sure if he meant annually or in toto). This included moneys siphoned off for election bribes and of course the amounts that disappear into the pockets of proxies under the over-priced, no-bid procurement systems. That sum, coincidentally, is roughly the amount that was going on fuel subsidies...
written by kupas, June 09, 2008 22:53:32
this article says it all - what we think of the fuel price hike.

The fuel hike has been on BN’s card even prior to the election. Despite Najib’s assurance that the govt is not going to increase price of petrol – everyone knew that he was bluffing through his teeth. We knew it was coming.

Agreed with the writer that it is the folks in the rural areas voting for BN. BN would not be able to garner the simple majority if the electorates are the urban people.

BN had release the boom without thinking of the measures to cut cost. It is only when there is public outcry – then the govt announced some cost cutting. But there is a lot more to be desired. As far as we are concerned we had enough of all these bullshitting and the corrupt practices.
BN is not going to stop at what it does best unless it is stopped.

Price of petrol still going up. It is the only sure thing in the near future and BN is going to another round of increase in fuel cost before the year end.

written by Umno Slayer, June 10, 2008 05:33:05
yes yes malaysia is in the worst state now is the time we must change the goverment every department is in **** up state appaling,...name it healthcare, a to z ......bikin malu saja this bunch of unsincere and corrupted BN leaders or representative.
written by cahaya, June 10, 2008 08:22:27
Does anyone know the actual (or estimated) levels of corruption in
Malaysia? What categories are included, how is it assessed?
Questions written by Diz, June 09, 2008 | 22:41:17

Transparency International Malaysia (TI-M) is an independent, non-governmental and non-partisan organisation committed to the fight against corruption. TI-M is registered with the Registrar of Societies Malaysia and is the accredited National Chapter of the Berlin-based Transparency International. http://www.transparency.org.my/

TI-M newsletter for Oct.-Dec.2007 (8 pages)
http://www.transparency.org.my...c-2007.pdf
On page 4 was a table Global Corruption Barometer 2007. The table reports Corruption’s impact on different sectors and institutions (political parties, parliament/legislature, business/ private sector, education system, legal system/judiciary, police, registry & permit services, tax revenue authorities).
written by merlin2001, June 10, 2008 17:13:25
If all car owners boycott all Petronas stations and their other products will it make any impact at all?
I would like to hear comments on this from my fellow Malaysians please.
written by ImranJ78, June 10, 2008 21:59:04
mgeo,
may i kindly comment on one of your statements:
`a. Approx. portion that produces petrol/diesel out of 1 barrel of crude = 46% of (USD130 x RM3.3) / 159litres = RM 1.24/litre. How is the implied Malaysian market price including subsidy of RM3.00 for petrol arrived at?'

unfortunately your calculation above is too simplistic. There are lots of other cost involved. You have not factored in the crude oil exploration cost, production cost, transportation cost, processing cost etc etc. These all add up to quite a large sum of money. Petrol and diesel prices, like crude oil price, are all determined by the world market, taking into consideration these additional costs incurred by the producers.

merlin2001,
i don't think boycotting petronas would help in reducing the petrol price. actually, petronas does not earn a single cent more with the higher petrol and diesel price. actually, petronas and other oil companies will lose some income as sales of petrol and diesel will now go down with the higher price.

as a matter of fact, boycotting petronas and buying petrol/diesel from companies like shell, esso etc etc means you will be sending part of our money overseas as these are all international oil companies with mainly foreign shareholding.
written by shiokguy, June 11, 2008 12:12:05
BLR is set to go up!
Home Loan Increase soon?

Read my advise to help soften the impact of BLR increases, visit my blog at

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...-loan.html

written by rams609, June 11, 2008 16:40:04
Labisman bro,

Soeharto's rule was well accepted at the beginning. He worked for the country, his people and grew it bit by bit to leaps and bounds since their 1945 Independence.

Then came a few close friends who needed help.

Then came the biggest sin. The children.
Each with their own families, and business empires to grow.
That was when he became soft and gave in almost all to the inner circles.

SOUNDS FAMILIAR?

And now our Indonesian brothers and sisters are painfully paying what the former have 'taken' over the years. Even higher electricity, even higher food, even higher petrol, even more expensive education, even tougher jobs to say but a few.

AND OUR GUYS HAVE TAKEN IN A LOT MORE IN SUCH A SHORT OF RECORD TIME!

Pity our children and grand children. They are going to pay dearly. All for that lousy former Prime minister Dollah and his cronies!