Anwar: I will roll back fuel hike PDF Print
Monday, 09 June 2008 10:53

(The Malaysian Insider) - Adding fuel to public resentment over the latest round of petrol price hike, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim today promised to bring down prices once the Pakatan Rakyat assume control of the central government.

How strong is this commitment? Well, the man dubbed Malaysia's prime minister-in-waiting said "I will resign immediately" if a Pakatan government is unable to roll back the subsidy cuts which have produced a steep 78 sen rise for unleaded petrol to RM2.78 a litre and diesel by RM1 to RM2.58 a litre.

Anwar, also regarded as the de facto Opposition leader, has capitalised on a Malaysian ground swell of displeasure, speaking out against the fuel hike in regional and international media. He returned today from Manila where he was lionised by Philippine TV broadcasters and newspapers.

In a press conference at Parti Keadilan Rakyat head office in Petaling Jaya, he announced new members – former Abim president Dr Mohd Noor Manuti and Felicia Lim, who had served in the MCA exco – for the party supreme council. PKR has also been strengthened by 50,000 new members.

Anwar stuck to his guns that there will be the required number of at least 30 MPs who will cross over giving Pakatan Rakyat a simple majority in Parliament to topple the ruling Barisan Nasional government soon. He also confidently re-stated that the defections will take place by Sept 16 or Malaysia Day.

For the moment, he explained that secrecy was necessary because the system is still "quite repressive" in the country and hence, divulging details of the MPs ready to switch camps might compromise their security. He said he has been meeting some of them outside the country.

The former deputy prime minister also said he can now openly participate in Malaysian politics – the registrar of society has given him a letter to that effect. This means Anwar's ban from politics expired on April 14 this year and he added that he doesn't require the attorney-general's approval to stand in a by-election.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by tehewe, June 09, 2008 10:57:31
Looking forward to your new government. DSAI
written by DatoSeri, June 09, 2008 10:57:47
DSAI may be able to roll back the fuel price, but much damage has been done such as the hiking in many other services and items. Those other items could be difficult to roll back.

Also, do you think the roll back of gas price can be back to 1.92?

Whatever it is, we need to change this bloody corrupt government badly !

-
written by Rashid, June 09, 2008 11:08:29
No, it will be rolled back to its original price before it was increased few days ago.
written by Angela Ooi, June 09, 2008 11:09:50
Now that you are officially okeyed for politics, please get cracking pronto to right the many wrongs of BN. The rakyat has had enough of corrupt, greedy, lying BN Govt!!
written by Jan, June 09, 2008 11:14:00
Roll back fuel prices will only make you popular for a while.
If you start arresting our corrupt politicians and put them away for good you will be popular and be a legacy, forever etched in history as the greatest leader Malaysia ever had.
Start with that mamak.
written by malaysianohope, June 09, 2008 11:19:08
Think the days of deep subsidy is over. What we should do as an oil producing nation is to take the middle path, say subsidise 80 sen off the market price, which is reviewed say every 3 months. Also remove all APs immediately.
written by fromamovingtrain, June 09, 2008 11:19:11
A roll- back is a roll- back. I personally think DSAI will not insult our intelligence by cutting the price back by 5 sen or thereabouts. Even if it does not go back to 1.92, we know and trust that he and his people will be sincere in wanting to ease our burden as much as they possibly can, without sacrificing the country's future. So forrestcat, you can stop being cynical and just either hsve faith or reveal yourself for what you really are.
written by middlepath, June 09, 2008 11:21:49
we must wake up and get the pakatan rakyat to change our faith, our future, at present BN and Umno way, we are sure path to hell....everything is going up, all the price of goods will go up, to support the UMNO putra policy.
look at the Bandar Mahkota Cheras case,
they make us go extra 7km, extra petrol burn, extra traffic jam with toll, shit,
toll going up,
petrol price going up,
rice price going up,
only salary not going up,
suffering going up,
the only way going forward is to bring down the Umno government , so that we have hope, make sure we get our MPs to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat,
that way we have a chance,
Please wake up. already 50 years of suffering, still another 5 years ?
higher toll,
higher petrol price,
rice price going up,
cooking oil going up,
bring down BN,Umno government is the only way we have hope.

written by InEffective, June 09, 2008 11:23:25
Lets just 'follow-the-money'.

If the politicians can somehow convince/influence the rakyat to accept higher prices for fuel, a couple of things will play out in your runway:

1)Domestic-Demand-Suppresion:
demand for domestic fuel will decrease (consumers adjusting self-consumption behavior - strategy to artificially suppress domestic-demand by introducing some pain)

2)Stratospheric Increase of Retainable-Profit:
suppressed volume of fuel earlier earmarked and budgeted for domestic-consumption is now available for export market (volume of fuel earmarked for export further increases to capture stratospheric international oil prices -> more humongous profit for Petronas -> more cash available for politicians to self-appropriation, to finance any project creating perceptions of benefit for rakyat, or to finance vote-buying and politician-buying to regain political dominance to maintain umno politicians in power)

3) Malaysian Rakyat aiding the political objectives of UMNO:
As the majority of suppliers, traders, tranporters etc will first move increase prices to account for fuel inflation, compoundingly demand and consumption-behavior will get suppressed. In summary, the Rakyat will effectively end-up underwriting (absorbing the pain) the ascendancy and political competitive position of UMNO politicians.

Who said UMNO politicians are not smart and intelligent - they certainly are clever enough to introduce sufficient pain, and create advantages for themselves at the same time.

They will get away with this only if the rakyat accepts the false-reasonings of 'subsidy' over 'windfall', and accepts the newly-injected pain-levels without causing riots and disturbances. Naturally ISA is available to control rakyat if its get out of hand - and it seems they are not shy of leveraging this control-fear-instrument.

Politicians are very smart at manipulating perceptions.
And they certainly are comfortable with a little bit of pain - as long as its not them paying for it.

Its made even more easier when the chief custodian (petronas chief) is adept at obfuscation and opaque skills (naturally supported by our ever-helpful official-secrets-act) to effectively deny the Rakyat a clear transparent picture of Oil domestic consumption patterns, export volumes, real cost-of-production, volumes produced, pricing achieved in domestic and international markets, allocations for government and project budgets.

Rakyat would be well-advised to remember one thing - unscrupulous politicians don't measure their performance based on people's metrics. Don't mindlessly belief for a sec that their primary interests and objectives is the rakyat's benefit. The politicians self-interest and self-survival is always the primary agenda on their minds, and their priority - not you.

Only when politicians are elected based on performance to the rakyat, will you be assured that politicians will serve your interests - that is clearly not the case today. (jiggered elections, compliant judges, perception-manipulating media, subservient component party politicians, racial messaging strategies etc)

Good luck Rakyat - only you can bring effective change...(you may want to try some self exercises in critical-thinking - something our politicians hate)

Congratulation - Mr UMNO politicians - a very intelligent move (but still deceitful)

If any politician (DSAI or not) can serve up genuine stewardship, transparency and accountability in the allocation, distribution, and usage, of the rakyat's assets and resources, it will go a long way to 'Restoring Malaysia to Greatness'.
written by budakindia, June 09, 2008 11:24:07
yes we'll totally support all the way! bring down that BN & UMNO! MIC is already dead!
written by MMhunter, June 09, 2008 11:31:51
Yes yes.....it about time BN is kicked out once and for all.Just for the sake of us rakyat and for our generations to come.This BN govt is corrupt to the core.We must get rid of corruption and introduce healthy competiveness for the country to march forward and control the economy.The rakyat have no choice but to kick them out.We need fresh ideas and fresh ppl to take on this heavey task and responsiblity.I hope Anwar prepare His daughter for that high post in case the BN ppl decide to do away with Anwar.We must be prepared for all eventualities when we deal with BN and its cronies who will go to any extend just to protect their own interest and their cronies....
written by clarity, June 09, 2008 11:47:24
Yes Anwar, I think even if you cannot maintain old prices without increases you wouldn't jack it up by 41% at one go and make it worse by increasing elcttricity as well. There is no two ways about it. Are we or are we mot an oil producing country? If we are, then the higher the price, the better it is for the country isn't it? Otherwise are we better off if oil is US$30/barrel? I hope we don't have to wait too long to take over.
written by mountainking, June 09, 2008 11:51:20
i don't agree with roll back but cut in income taxes, abolish car import taxes, free education, free med healthcare, implement min wage and overall, is to boost up revenue. one thing need to cut is that, electric tariff, i don't see the reason why they need to increase. increase public transport. abolish toll rates. issue bonds and buy out the concession agreement. it doesn't take a genius to figure out all these lah. the govt is plainly stupid and corrupted. they have no dignity and don't know how to feel shameful.

bcos cost cutting measure for wage earner (large population) is not the solution but to increase revenue/wages are more sustainable to move in tandem with inflation.
written by Mr Smith, June 09, 2008 11:56:01
I believe him. They will be roll back in oil price but will there be a corresponding roll back in the price of food, transport, bus fares and the like.
Our greedy Malaysian business community may not want to reduce their prices.
written by ksmaniam, June 09, 2008 12:04:23
ok i know i will be the most unpopular guy today. I THINK THAT THE OIL PRICE SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO STAY. LET THE FREE MARKET RULE. BUT...dsai should ensure..the gov goes on an austerity drive (NOT THE RAKYAAT, WE ARE ALREADY ON FOR THE PAST 25 YEARS OR SO)....Dsai can ensure the gov does not spend unnecessarily...reduce the civil service, no more abattoirs in kedah (nb sanusi), no more places of worship (for sometime until we have enough cash...nb merican sayaing petronas will die), no more crooked bridges (don't even plan it..that will cost i think 500 million isn't it), no more tar roads use concrete roads, use the money to buy back all the tolled roads ( it would make it cheaper for rakyaat to travel (this may bring the prices down..to compensate for price of oil hike,,,,use petronas money if necessary),no more monopoly's
. open up. remember oil price may go to usd200. it is better to invest the subsidy to other things as we cannot control world oil prices. no more gov funded developments. period.
written by anas zubedy, June 09, 2008 12:04:27
Why I support the petrol price increase!

For the past two years during my classes, talks and seminars, I have on numerous occasions stressed that it is wrong for the government to have a blanket subsidy for petrol and diesel.

My logic is very simple. I do not agree with any blanket subsidy per se. The rich should not be subsidized for anything, period.

Let me put it in simple terms. For example, anyone who can enjoy luxuries like

RM 40.00 per hour foot or body massage,
RM 6 coffee at Starbucks,
Eat at fancy restaurants,
Air-conditioning in the home,
Branded clothes,
Fancy hairs cut or do,
Expensive hand phones and PDAs,
Smoking cigarettes and enjoying ‘happy hours’ at a waterhole,
Owns a car that is other than a small engine locally made or cheap second hand ones, etc

does not deserve a fuel subsidy. Anyone who thinks otherwise is naïve, irresponsible or plain selfish. Why should we be subsidized to indulge?

Subsidies should only be for the real needy: lower income groups, small business operators and start up companies. Accordingly 27% of Malaysians earn less than RM1000.00 per month. These people should be given direct subsidy not just to help them bear the additional fuel cost but also the probable increase in cost of living affecting from the new price of fuel.

It was a mistake that the subsidy was allowed in the first place. It is still wrong for the government to continue the current practice of subsidizing RM 0.30 per litre. The non-gradual manner of lifting the subsidy is also not very smart. But smart or not smart, the blanket subsidy is still wrong.

Ironically, while many Malaysians who are economically comfortable and passionate about the call to stop rich bumiputra students and businesses from getting government sponsorships and handouts; fail to see the subsidy for fuel that they themselves enjoy is pointing back to them. This is the classic example of the inability to be ‘honest on both sides’. We must not agree with any form of blanket subsidy, handouts and aid!

"Let each man direct himself first to what is proper, then let him teach others; thus a wise man will not suffer" The Buddha – Dhammapada 158

To be true, the next time we go and fill up petrol, feel guilty that we are still taking 30 sens per liter away from the real neediest!!!

written by brucelee, June 09, 2008 12:21:29
Also make sure what we pay for tolls is tax exempted too. BN government can not afford to build roads in the first place. Why the money 'sponsoring' this development is not tax free? Folks in KL easily spend RM 300 - 600 a month on fuel and tolls. Plus money on car loans with a big chunk goes to 'AP'or some other duties, with 3K income a month, half is gone to transportation. How to survive? Can not tahan already. DSAI please take over asap.
written by riau, June 09, 2008 12:22:29
DSAI may be courting financial harakiri? If you maintain the subsidies for the current generation, then our grandchildren will have to pay higher taxes (since there are no more black gold around). Some subsidies maybe in order and I support that. But it has tobe targetted. Why subsidize when the average citizen can afford to pay global prices. More importantly, the administration of the government and public projects must be operated efficiently, transparently and effectively. This is the challenge for any BN or PR government. There is still no guarantee that DSAI new government can be efficient and effective. Sure he will try. But the politicians can be thwarted by the lethargic civil service.
written by indianputra, June 09, 2008 12:45:40
I don't think it is the intention of PKR to bring down the price of fuel when the world crude oil prices are rising on a daily basis.

What they intend to do is to reduce corruption, trim down Government expenses, trim down major useless projects, bring in more foreign investments, reduce wastage and tax the rich. Accumulation of all these items will swell the coffers of the Government and this extra cash will be the basis for subsidy for fuel and other essenial items.
written by tino_chan1988, June 09, 2008 12:56:53
I think any man-on-the-street would welcome a change in the government at the current moment, that of course, barring those who has direct gains with the present government.

Things in Malaysia has gotten so bad that whatever changes in the development of administrators in Malaysia would be better off than the current.

DSAI seems to likened himself as the saviour of the rakyat at the moment, the right man for the job, and I say why not give him a try to improve the livelihood of the people of the country. If the Penang and Selangor oppositions government has done their job diligently and according to their pre-election promises in their short reign in power, again, why not give them, the opposition coalition a chance to run the country.

Afterall, things can't get anything worst than it is now.
written by benny loh, June 09, 2008 12:58:28
Reduce the price of fuel...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-fuel.html
written by SamYap, June 09, 2008 13:08:10
Bradder Anwar,

When (if) you get to be the PM, just remember this: That's the time to walk the talk.

And do not forget that you got this shot at the PM's post because of the Rakyat.

If you fail to deliver on Pakatan Rakyat's platform of :
Malaysia for ALL Malaysians
Better management of the economy
Bring down the corruption index to almost NIL (the rakyat are realistic people)
Improve the education system
Introduce good governance at all levels of government

That will be a good start. If the above is seen to happen, Malaysia and Pakatan Rakyat would have a bright future.
written by SamYap, June 09, 2008 13:09:22
Cont'd,

IF you fail to deliver, the rakyat will wrap you up and throw you in the deepest ocean.
written by SocratesI, June 09, 2008 13:48:06

Densemy - You have been brainwashed by the Barisan Najis Govt. for too long ... Is there any other oil producing net exporting country in the world that is raising the petrol price for its citizens ?? Anywhere in the world ?? NONE !! Only Malaysia ...'cos the bloody MASSIVELY CORRUPT NAJIS GOVT. cannot afford to pay for the RAKYAT's subsidy AND still continue to PLUNDER the country !!!

The Barisan Najis Govt. wants to CONTINUE PLUNDERING THE COUNTRY WHILE MAKING THE RAKYAT PAY ... AND PAY ... AND PAY SOME MORE, WE SHALL BE SELLING BLOOD TO THE BLOOD BANKS TO PAY FOR MORE OF THEIR F*CKING CORRUPTION !!

I am with you, DSAI !! More power to your elbow !!

written by Baronshah, June 09, 2008 13:55:49
Welcome Home DSAI

God bless
written by SamYap, June 09, 2008 14:02:13
written by anas zubedy, June 09, 2008 | 12:04:27

Why I support the petrol price increase!

_______________________________________________________ _________________________

Hi anas,

Point taken and agreed...BUT how do you propose that the 'extra' profits now earned by Petronas, can be channeled properly to help the lower income groups?

For example, the government enforced a policy where housing developers must offer a discount to bumiputra house owners. However, the rich bumiputras also get a discount on his million dollar house!

Furthermore, there are also poor Malaysian Indians and Chinese but they pay full price for a low cost house?

So, anas, how??? smilies/angry.gif
written by Kcc, June 09, 2008 14:40:05
Saving on fuel alone is NOT ENOUGH. The government mustfind ALTERNATIVES to fuel vehicles and power plants so that the rakyat will not have to bear the cost of rise in fossil fuel later especially when fuel is depleting as time goes on.

Do more intensive research on bio-fuel, make use of the water we get from floods and heavy downpour, harness the wind & energy from the sun. We need scientists capable of doing all these instead of wasting time thinking of HOW to save fuel when we know that some day, there won't be any more fuel for us. Then what? Are we gonna wait till that happens?

Come on, stupid BN govt. Please think ahead of time. Other countries are at least 10 years ahead of us - and we want to be World Class? Forget about sending rockets to the moon or creating another astronaut or buying a space capsule. Forget about ketuanan Melayu. Forget about making your cronies and yourself rich. Forget about fighting over who should possess islands in the seas.

FOCUS on what our country and the rakyat needs urgently.
written by defendermalaysia, June 09, 2008 14:47:51
Hello DSAI,
Please be more careful as what you promise. Maybe by the time PR take over the gov and after you audit Petronas account, you may be get a rude shock of your life as maybe almost petronas profit has already been tranfer to another country secrect account. This has already happen to the new Selangor PR Gov.AAB wil continue to slash and burn policy before you take over. Please be more careful and we all rakyat also expect all those corrupt bastard be haul to the anti corruption agency.
written by crazygweilo, June 09, 2008 14:56:25
Anwar has made a mistake by making such a promise. He may as well have promised to outlaw gravity. Smart Malaysians would respect him more if he said:

"I promise to heal this land, and give equal opportunity to all Malaysians irrespective of race, creed and background, but it will take honesty, thrift and hard work to do that"

Malaysians in the Kampungs would respect him for telling it as it is. THERE IS NO EASY WAY OUT LAH!!!!! Lead by example, drive a Proton, no chauffeur, no Mercedes. Its the National car.

Subsidising oil is an insane policy. Oil should be taxed. Malaysians have been lured into a false sense of entitlement, a curse of oil based economies the world over, from Venezuela to Nigeria. They begin to indulge in voodoo style economics. Your Anwar Ibrahim, respected worldwide, and you do not need to say such things. You did not get beaten up by the chief of police so you could prostitute yourself later on promises that cannot be kept. You did not have the most heinous and disgraceful lies made about you so you can make false promises. Liberation, freedom and democracy all have a price. The Rakyat has to know that, and reformasi truly means saying "enough".

When reality bites, the adjustment is far more painful. Take the medicine now, and get the surgery over with. Tax consumption, reward thrift. Thats the essence of good economics.

The longer the cancer of subsidies continue, the less confidence investors have in Malaysia. Malaysia has never recovered from the 1998 crisis, despite the spin that the Government likes to engage in. In real terms, Malaysian living standards have stayed static since 1998, and it is those on the lower income levels who have suffered the most. Why else are less educated Malaysians working in Hotels, Bars, restaurants around the world? Its because this country does not give them hope for the future, and they are discarded on the scrapheap because they cannot succeed at home.

Everyone likes a bargain, but in the chase for a bargain, its a race to the bottom. Its a chase for quantity over quality, style over substance. When those at the bottom of this ladder have less to spend all are worse off, except those who have money in overseas bank accounts. Everyone likes to compare the prices of cars elsewhere, but again thats unrealistic. Transportation costs are still relatively low here, but its inadequately funded.

1. We KNOW that Proton is protected by high taxes. Reduce the taxes on the purchase of cars and balance that out with an increase on the taxes of consumption of petrol.

2. Petronas money belongs to Petronas. Cut this nonsense, this insidious doctrine of giving Petronas money to the Rakyat. The profits and dividends of Petronas are not a slush fund to be thrown around like confetti at a wedding. 40% of state revenues depends on Petronas, it is transient.

3. Public transport is a joke here. Go to Pudu bus station and see the chaos. Go to Sentul, and see perfectly good rolling stock rotting in the sidings. These are trains that are only 15 years old, and in some cases 2 years old, which should be capable of lasting 30 to 40 years. The same goes for RapidKL's relatively new fleet of buses. Maintainance is the problem, fancy new toys are not needed. Repair the old toys, and get some more second hand from other countries which have compatible meter gauge stock on their systems. Make do with less, and sweat the assets. Make sure its funded adequately and staff are paid decent salaries. If they are worried about their personal finances, they won't be motivated to work effectively. Thats the essence of quality over quantity. But we can't expect much when Bus drivers, taxi drivers, and the people at the frontline of these services are working their nuts off just to put rice in their bowls, and seeing their incomes eroded by inflation to work hard.

4. Education is deteriorating, thats where the improvements are needed to save Malaysia. Solve that, prosperity and confidence will return. Oh....expect people to disagree, being in charge of the new regime will be no walk in the park. Populist decisions will turn the Malaysian economy into a train wreck.

4. Corruption is now so ingrained in the culture here that it is rotting the country from the inside out. On the outside, we see the veneer of beautiful modern buildings, of an efficient motorway network (it beats some European countries I could mention). On the inside, its KKN (Korrupsi, Kronisme, Nepotisme). Malaysia faces a crossroads. It faces going down to Indonesia/Phillipines/Nigerias level, or it can face where it aspired to before, South Korea/Taiwan/Singapore. Easy money is false money, hopes, doctrines and dreams. Thats UMNO's game. NOT Pakatan Rakyat. Good money is built on brains, and hard work. Thats why people voted for Pakatan Rakyat.

written by myke, June 09, 2008 15:20:15
Yes, we are waiting for that to happen.!!!
written by Cikgu Bedah, June 09, 2008 15:38:47
I filled up the tank of a myvi yesterday and almost passed out when I saw that 31 litres (full tank) cost RM83 !smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
Dont care how PR does it. Just reduce our burden, please!
My colleague said "Baru nak kaya sikit, dah miskin balik!"
written by panca, June 09, 2008 16:04:58
Not only this possible of the price hike rolled back, all monies from earnings of Petronas which 'owned' by 'umno' belongs to the country of her People must be re-audited. Discrepancies and misappropriation of monies must be paid back. Perpetrators of CBT be thrown in jail.

Petronas belongs to who?

umno or the country of its People?
written by hischildanba, June 09, 2008 16:38:43
Good news if PR can reduce the burden on the rakyat, however we need to be realistic the price of crude oil is going up and oil producing countries are not willing to do much to ease the burden. In Cambodia the price of petrol is around RM 5.50 we are still half way there. What a new government could do is reduce the following road tax, toll, import tax on cars ,remove APs and improve public transportation.
written by biker979, June 09, 2008 18:16:55
Anwar will promise to bring down or reduce everything once he become PM. That he will promise to everybody. Once he become the PM..well let the rakyat decides then. Since school days he used his friends and acquantances in making a lot of promises. Once he achieved his target, all the promises went down the drain. I used to say many times over..Anwar should be selling Minyak Kelamin at Jalan Masjid India. For sure he can become rich. No need to use the poor rakyats to achieve his ambitions. His speeches can melts those who listen. Those who works talks Little..Those who cheats and bluff talks a Lot !!!
written by alpha1, June 09, 2008 18:59:24
I'm sure the whole nation welcomes DSAI's policy of reducing the petroleum prices, but only if its done as promised. What is the point of resigning if its not fulfilled and when damage is already done? AAB resign now and so? I guess nothing changes. Remember what the Sleeping Master of Malaysia promised us 4 years back when he first took over? Promises of politicians! I'm keeping my fingers crossed! God bless Malaysia!
written by observer2, June 09, 2008 19:04:57
Whether DSAI will keep his promises when he becomes PM, we'll see when the day comes. The BN government has been abusing their powers without caring for the people's welfare for their own benefits. They only care for their families and cronies for the past 50 yrs.

If PR takes over, at least we rakyat has a new chance of life but if the BN government continues to rule, then we confirmed dead...

smilies/cool.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/kiss.gif
written by expat70, June 09, 2008 20:07:25
DSAI claims that PR can take over and form the central government by 16 September.

I hope that he will not forget the famous quotation by Abraham Lincoln " Govern by the People for the People". I hope that DSAI will lead Malaysia for all Malaysians with honesty, intregrety and sincerity.
written by ma azman, June 09, 2008 20:44:02
uh ... guys. Sorry, but i just want to know. Is DSAI a PKR member?
written by Bosan, June 09, 2008 20:45:30
At least we vote for Pakatan Rakyat, we get free water(coming soon) in Selangor, but what do we get voting for BN? Here's the list...minyak naik, api naik, bas sekolah naik, beras naik, tepung naik, ayam naik, daging naik, sayur naik, ikan naik, udang naik,telur naik, minyak masak naik, nasi ayam naik, mi laksa naik, char kue tiow naik, mi goreng naik, nasi lemak naik, nasi campur naik, rojak naik, pau naik, roti naik, milo naik, kopi naik, teh naik,....
Tetapi apa yang turun? Saya tidak boleh memikir dengan jelas apa yang akan turun, tapi yang paling saya harap sekarang ialah BN turun, BN turun, BN turun.......
written by partiotic, June 09, 2008 21:16:08
Yes DSAI the rakyat has confident in you, please save malaysia. Take over the government. Malaysia will be disinfected with crocodile.
written by Raymond, June 09, 2008 22:21:15
Rolling back petrol prices to 1.92 just does not make any sense. If DSAI does this, then I have very little faith in his capabilities to administer.
Malaysia needs to remove petrol subsidies, as it's reflective of world prices. But what needs to be done a corresponding reduction/removal of;
- duties on vehicles
- city limits tolls (but keep the interstate tolls)
- reduce tax (ours is amongst the highest in SEA)
- spend oil savings on better road, and public transports & city planning
- reduce and eventually eliminate corruption

So, remarks by DSAI on reversing petrol prices is pretty baseless. And for the country is totally NOT sustainable. So DSAI you score badly here.
written by cheekhiaw, June 09, 2008 22:40:34
May be Anwar has some tricks (from his finance minster days) to raise the value of the Ringgit by 40% to offset the need to raise petrol price by 40%.

If you can bring the Ringgit value down (during MM days), you surely can bring it up....

written by Joe, June 09, 2008 22:50:35
DSAI, when u do get elected. the petrol prices better go down and i dont mean a little, or u're fired!
written by rainmanpj, June 09, 2008 22:56:56
Welcome Home DSAI
written by rainmanpj, June 09, 2008 23:21:11
Raymond

I think you somehow got it wrong.The cost of producing oil do not increase 200%
suddenly.

Just as an eg.( I just simply put figure )

1 . When oil cost $50 on the market , cost to produce is $20

2 . Now oil cost $130 on the market , cost to produce is $25 ???

Q1 . Where do we lose money if we consume it ourselves.

3 . The house you are staying cost you $100,000 in 1988.
4 . Now the house is worth $250,000 , but does it affect you since you are not going to sell it.

5 . Now you sell it for $250,000. Suddenly you find that the cheapest house is 350,000. So do not complain that houses are expensive since you are greedy and sold it for 150,00 profit.
6 . Or you buy a 150,000 medium cost condo and pocket the 100,000. But make sure you put the 100,000 to good use. And don't complain that the condo used to sell at only 90,000 and I am paying extra for the condo.

When the govn said they subsidy this and that , have any brilliant economists
confirm that whatever amount of money the govn gets is pour back into the country ?

written by AntiBN, June 10, 2008 01:20:08
Time for a change of government.

We the rakyat is counting on you, DSAI. Do not disappoint us!
written by PAKRAK, June 10, 2008 02:04:59
It's nice to hear such pleasant words from DSAI. It's also good to know once again DSAI is confident PR is coming in by Sept.16 or Malaysia Day. It's music to the ears. However, a word of caution and don't let this happen again. Make sure there are enough sentry points set up at all govt. buildings to prevent looting of documents.