Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Ezam – Hero Or Villain?

Ezam – Hero Or Villain? PDF Print
Monday, 09 June 2008 10:49

The question is will the minister forgive Ezam for “tarnishing” him? What about the others? Will they let gone be bygones?

MOHSIN ABDULLAH/ MySinchew

It would have been a big impact had he rejoined UMNO before the March 8 general election. Bigger still if he had crossed straight from PKR without waiting in transit in GERAK. I’m talking about Ezam Mohd Nor. But whatever it is, Ezam is big news.

And he will be accepted back into UMNO. This despite the statement by UMNO information chief Muhamad Mohamad Taib that the final decision will made by the supreme council within two and three weeks. Many are calling that a “formality”.

After all the fanfare, it’s hard to imagine UMNO rejecting Ezam although objections against him are aplenty within UMNO. But the party cannot be seen as alienating “people who want to join us”. So said Deputy President Najib Razak. .

By taking in Ezam , it can be concluded that UMNO have got the answers to the three posers thrown by Youth chief Hishamuddin Hussein i.e. the party is “confident it will benefit from Ezam’s entry, convinced that he will be loyal and have charted the role he is to play”.

"The biggest question must be this –is Ezam saying he was wrong when he made his allegations against them?"

So just what is Ezam’s role for UMNO? Many believe he’s there to check the offensive of Anwar Ibrahim. And he is also seen as the best person to “ counter attack’ Dr Mahathir Mohamad, considering his many claims of having “boxes of evidence”( but now he’s saying there was a misunderstanding and the boxes had actually been in the possession of Anwar).Already UMNO members aligned to Mahathir and, of course, son Mukhriz have made noise on Ezam coming back to UMNO and what they see as “red carpet treatment” accorded to the former PKR firebrand.

Still, Ezam himself must have anticipated all this. Surely he didn’t expect to be embraced with open arms from all in UMNO. Not after what he had done and said about the party and its leaders especially during the Reformasi era. One of his favourite subject was “corruption among UMNO leaders”. He made reports after reports to the ACA.

But the very same people he reported against after still in UMNO, some in the government even. So by rejoining UMNO can we conclude that Ezam is satisfied the ACA have cleared these people of his accusations? That there is no case against them? The biggest question must be this –is Ezam saying he was wrong when he made his allegations against them?

A few days before 8 March, Ezam accompanied by the media went to the ACA headquarters in Putrajaya. He wanted to know what ever happened to a report he made against an UMNO minister. He was unhappy that nothing was done, at least that was how he saw it. Well, the minister won the election and he is still a minister It’s interesting to know how he view the minister now.

The question is will the minister forgive Ezam for “tarnishing” him? What about the others? Will they let gone be bygones?

Ezam has gone through a lot. Arrested under the ISA even. And he survived. He has proven his resilience .Having been in UMNO previously, he knows the game in the party. He must have seen the keris, lembing and tombak being drawn now. Will he survive this time?

Mohsin Abdullah is Editor- in- Chief, News and Current Affairs ntv7 & 8TV.

written by DatoSeri, June 09, 2008 10:52:27
No, he is a F***er.

-
written by JJ Kuyong, June 09, 2008 10:55:43
Dahulu saya sangat menghormati Ezam kerana berjuang untuk reformasi dan kesejahteraan rakyat. Tapi sekarang saya melihatnya terlalu hina kerana bersekongkol dengan penjahat-penjahat UMNO dan BN menyeksa rakyat!
written by loosecannon, June 09, 2008 10:57:25
As the saying goes, "If you cannot beat them, join them". Looks like Ezam chose the later. Well, good luck to him and his new found brudder Umno. I'm sure they would love him to his untimely death.
written by Rashid, June 09, 2008 11:04:35
Well, Ezam simply forced himself into prostitution. Once he contacts HIV AIDS, there will be no prayers for him. I hope he will undergo a face transplant bcoz his "ugly" face today can't be stomached. He is a disgrace to himself more than to others.
written by krising1, June 09, 2008 11:11:40
The Malay gentlemen, namely, Onn Jaffar,Tunku & Hussien Onn, never came back to UMNO after they left. The kataks, there are many - Tun Mamak and Tengku R- to name a few. Kataks cannot be gentlemen by any standard. More like prositute available to the highest bidder.
written by New Frontier, June 09, 2008 11:11:50
Ezam reform- UMNO sure- 1st thing get the fuel price up. 2nd- where is my share?
written by sampalee, June 09, 2008 11:18:45
He failed to see through what many simple Rakyat saw.Umno is the mother of all evil and the roots cause of almost every single ptoblems of this nation.He is neither a hero nor a villian.He is simply Ignorent.What a shame.
written by fromamovingtrain, June 09, 2008 11:27:21
Some say he is a trojan horse. Some say he's plain broke with his back against the wall. Some say he's just greedy. Whatever it is, we should just letr him be. Just watch him and be mindful of him from afar. If he really is a trojan horse, then when he completes his mission, I will hail him a hero. If he is desperate because he cannot make ends meet, then his supposedly strong will would have been broken for a very important cause that a lot of us may not understand. If he is plain greedy, we'l be able to tell in a couple of years, after which we'll give him a war. For me, i'm just raising my eyebrows now, nothing more.
written by MMhunter, June 09, 2008 11:37:47
He has dug himself into a shit hole...He is history and should just be ignored.This is political sucide esp when the support for pakatan rakyat is rising and UMNO dropping.
written by Badaksumbu, June 09, 2008 11:42:02
Another typical unreformed Melayu who considered himself reformed. There is a bigger motive, looking for quick fix and absolute opportunist may be as sinful as corrupt practice he portrayed he is clean all this while.
written by arazak, June 09, 2008 11:53:43
Serves him right if they stabbed him with keris, tombak or lembing... how about they blew him up with C4? That is the price for threatening UMNO and their goons. smilies/angry.gif
written by Milo, June 09, 2008 12:23:23
It is probably a combination of factors, a mixture of 'giving up the difficult struggle with seemingly no light visible at the end of the tunnel' (which it is at that time), family pressure and financial considerations, just to name a few.

I do see some good in this guy and it is a pity he left for the 'dark side'. Time will tell if he is a Trojan Horse. Let's hope he understand the bigger struggle of the rakyat and stay out of the way of Pakatan Rakyat while he helps to reform UMNO from within. If he starts attacking PR, he ask for it!
written by indianputra, June 09, 2008 12:50:19
Aiyoooh! people, why are you still wasting your energy talking about this looser; . By now if his brains are in the right place and not in his butts, he will be regretting his decision to join UMNO where he is clearly an unwanted member. Ezam is finished in Malaysian politics. A day will come when he will be on his kneees begging Anwar to forgive him.
written by Toyolbuster, June 09, 2008 13:23:22
No matter how you describe a piece of SHIT, it still stink like hell.
written by cllim123, June 09, 2008 13:46:55
snakes...
written by Lim Lim, June 09, 2008 15:30:38
"The biggest question must be this –is Ezam saying he was wrong when he made his allegations against them? ""
well,what about ezam shall be demanded to a public apologies on those accusations he had launched over the years from those he had accused before he is allowed back into umno??one can see the real reflection from his deepest soul!
written by Milo, June 09, 2008 17:24:38
Guys, if you want to paint Ezam as a demon (even if he is in fact one), please don't use language that shows you are worst. No one is either Black or white - including the leaders we are supporting. Not everyone in the "enemy camp" is evil. You can still attack him (Ezam) when if he start attacking the PR or our leaders. Personally, I am satisfy if he does his role quietly without openly attacking PR or DSAI. Until then, be a little patient and look before you attack blindly.
written by Mustapha Kamal, June 09, 2008 17:27:07
True penghianat !
written by Jan, June 09, 2008 17:56:58
If you join UMNO because of RM2 million you are in it for the money. You can't possibly be a hero and take the money.
written by alpha1, June 09, 2008 19:12:01
He's worse than a prostitute! I wonder if he gets rotten eggs thrown at him whenever he walks the street.
written by PAKRAK, June 09, 2008 20:45:01
I HAVE SAID IT MANY TIMES AND I AM SAYING AGAIN LOUD AND CLEAR:
EZAM MOHD NOR IS A DOUBLE-HEADED SNAKE; TRAITOR; LIAR AND A CHEAT.
written by SamBall, June 10, 2008 02:28:57
A Malay prostitute; available to the highest bidder, no morals. A slave to corruption and the dark side of racist UMNO politics
written by kclim2, June 10, 2008 20:28:56
A grasshopper at large. a villian. liar, cheat, you name it he's got it