Anwar's return plan PDF Print
Monday, 09 June 2008 10:23

(NST) - Parti Keadilan Rakyat de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim promised a by-election this year to enable him to return to Parliament.

He also said he was continuing talks with potential Barisan Nasional defectors to form the government in which he would become prime minister.

He said he met several BN members of parliament during a visit to the Philippines recently but declined to reveal their names.

At least 30 MPs would need to cross over to allow the Pakatan Rakyat coalition to form the Federal Government.

"People who talk to us have to fly very quietly to neighbouring capitals just to convey their message and positions. We have to protect our friends and the other MPs," Anwar said after meeting PKR supreme council members yesterday at the party's new headquarters in Merchant Square, Tropicana, here.

BN component parties, particularly in Sabah and Sarawak, have consistently denied the former deputy prime minister's frequent claims of impending crossovers.

Rumours of multi-million ringgit offers to buy over BN MPs have, in turn, been denied by the PKR.

Anwar described speculation that defectors would not be welcomed by some in the Pakatan Rakyat as "irrelevant".

"Anyone who subscribes to the policies and agenda of Pakatan Rakyat will be considered part of the team," he said.

Anwar claimed the PKR had more than 300,000 members and had received 50,000 applications, including from the BN.

There was no "moral basis" for Umno and BN MPs to stay with the present government, he said.

"It is a heavy price on the nation to keep harping on the racist agenda and sentiments. I will not create political instability."

He also vowed to resign if he failed to reduce fuel prices should he come to power.
written by miwaki, June 09, 2008 10:28:28
When Pakatan Rakyat takes over the federal government,price of gas will drop to RM1.50/ltr.Pak Lah doesn't know how to count,he let his people to do the calculation.DS Anwar does it himself and he can reduce the price of gas.Why bother about BN when Pakatan Rakyat can do it better !
written by Jan, June 09, 2008 10:29:46
If the govt wants to check which MP went to neighbouring countries to talk to DSAI all they have to do is check immigration records. Of course there's nothing the govt can do about these MPs other than not nominating them again for the next GE.
written by indianputra, June 09, 2008 10:30:50
Anwar, you must make this work. By September 15th, we need a new PR Government. Make sure of this. The Rakyat are in high expectations. Don't fail us. Your words are a nectar in the minds of the Rakyat. So make sure your words follow actions.
written by CHEERFUL Joo, June 09, 2008 10:35:23
Dear Malaysian

Don't be afraid of the changes. To protect our next generation and so on, changes indeed needed. If PKR took over, the BN will makes everyone life miserable, we will suffer for a while but for our next generation just go for the change.

Give DSAI a chance to prove BN wrongs. We have nothing to loose but we gain a hope.
written by SocratesI, June 09, 2008 10:52:30

Quick ! Hurry ! We, the RAKYAT, cannot eat nor sleep any more with Barang Naik and Naik and Naik again ... PLEASE TAKE OVER & KICK OUT this STINKING GOVT NOW ... NOW ... !! This Barisan Najis Govt. is stinking us to DEATH !!

LONG LIVE PAKATAN RAKYAT !! LONG LIVE MAKKAL SAKTHI !! May all Barisan Najis pariahs all rot in Hell !

written by Rashid, June 09, 2008 11:09:56
It is IMMORAL to support Bee-Ann (BN) and AMNO. Simple!
written by prsupporter, June 09, 2008 11:54:26
Hurray!!!! my vote is for you.

Hidup PR!!
written by LTn, June 09, 2008 12:42:13
TOLONG CEPAT SIKIT LARRR, KALAU MINYAK NAIK LAGI MATILAH KAMI. TUKAR LARR KERAJAAN YANG DIPENUHI ANAK2 HARAM INI DAN YANG HANYA TAHU MENCURI DAN MEROMPAK HARTA NEGARA.
written by SUV, June 09, 2008 13:55:25
ya,only the select few who makes gazillions in speculative trading wont suffer..the vast majority kenalah terok..in the end,those who make gazillions oso will kena..there is no escpae for anybody,if this foolishness continues
written by SUV, June 09, 2008 13:57:02
who knows our gomen sengaja increased oil price to make last minute millions b4 they cabut?there r many ways to curi dui waat...