Why Is the World Full With the Forbidden? PDF Print
Monday, 09 June 2008 09:47

I am not sure what will happen to our generation in the next decades. The world is becoming more and more polluted. Probably, they will not be able to set their eyes on the various species of beautiful animal and plants exist today.

Clouds bearing acidic compounds, seas contaminated with toxic, forest devastation and polluted air. That is the kind of life looming over them.

They probably will not be able to make out the meaning of the beauty of nature, the clear cold water of a river, the beautiful greenness of trees, clean sea and fresh cool air. To them, the world is all about pollution. They will probably not be able to understand the beautiful poetry illustrating nature’s beauty inherited from the previous generation.

Even more, they will probably regard it as a mere imagination of the writer or a history that will never repeat itself. It is even highly unlikely for them to create art reflecting the natural beauty of the world. That is only possible if they are capable to use their imagination just as the painters these days are imagining a world that is vibrant with colors like the land of Fairytopia. That is the consequence when pollution conquers the world. The future generation will say that the world is naturally dirty. They will not know that the world is not created dirty, that it has actually been polluted by humankind.

It is similar with the issue of halal (permissible) and haram (forbidden). The world is originally full with things that are halal and not haram. Everything in this world was created for humankind except for a few things that are forbidden as a way to test our devotion to Allah as well as for our own benefit. Because of that, if we were to pick up a piece of paper and list down all the types of food and drinks that are forbidden by Allah, the list will be very short. Probably, it will not even fill up the whole page. However, if we were to list down all the things that are halal, surely we will not cover everything even after using up tens pieces of paper.

Therefore, the principle in Islam is that “The fundamental ruling of all matters or things is harus (permissible)” rather than haram. Thus, based on this principle, all kinds of food, drinks and action are permissible as long as there is no evidence forbidding it. It is not the principle of Islam to deem everything haram until it is proven halal. Only in matters of ibadah (acts of worship) does Islam forbid its followers from performing until proven that it is allowed by the authoritative texts of al-Quran and al-Sunnah. This is to prevent fabrications in religion and the misuse of the name of Allah to justify one’s fabrication.

As for matters concerning the daily affair, one can eat and drink or do anything as long as there is no evidence indicating that it is forbidden in Islam. I always use this example to illustrate this line of reasoning. If we find an animal that we do not have any knowledge of its name, are confident that it will not harm us if we eat it, thus – although its name is unknown to us – the ruling is that it is halal to eat. This religion is easy and full with blessing.

Allah says (translated as): “Do ye not see that Allah has subjected to your (use) all things in the heavens and on earth, and has made His bounties flow to you In exceeding measure, (Both) seen and unseen?…” (Surah Luqman: 20). He also says (translated as): “It is He who hath created for you all things that are on earth…” (Surah al-Baqarah: 29)

Allah also says (translated as): “And He has subjected to you, as from him, all that is in the heavens and on earth: Behold, in that are Signs indeed for those who reflect.” (Surah al-Jathiah: 13)

Thus, the sphere of halal in Islam is too wide while the sphere of haram is too small and too little. Even if Allah decrees things as haram such as gambling and alcoholic drinks, that is based on His Wisdom for the wellbeing of humankind. In addition to that, it is also a test to humankind to symbolize our devotion to Him. Every matter and action is permissible unless there are authoritative texts that prohibit it.

The Prophet s.a.w said, “Whatever that Allah permits in His Book is halal. Whatever that Allah forbids, it is haram. Whatever that Allah gives His silence to then it is excused. Accept His pardon for Allah does not forget anything.” He then recited the saying of Allah (translated as): “… and Thy Lord never doth forget.” (This hadith was reported by al-Hakim and al-Darqutni and ranked as sahih (sound) by al-Albani)

Anyone who studies the authoritative texts of al-Quran and al-Sunnah will find how few are those decreed as haram by Allah and how many are those given silence by Allah without any ruling. Those are all considered as halal matters as His Pardon to this ummah.

Therefore, I am perplexed by those who say that in Islam, most things are forbidden to be eaten, drunk and done. I say that is a false claim. In Islam, most things are allowed to be done, eaten and drunk. The halal is abundant while the haram is little.

As for those decreed as haram, there are abundant of its substitute. Alcoholic drinks are haram but there are so many other non-intoxicating drinks decreed as halal. Gambling is haram but giving out gifts, rewards and the likes of it is allowed. Zina (extramarital sex) is haram but marriage is advocated in Islam. Fortunetelling is haram but Muslims are taught to perform the istikharah prayer (the prayer for seeking guidance). Pigs and dogs are haram but so many other animals are halal. And the list goes on. Why do people assume that Islam is stiff? Whereas only a few are decreed as haram and it is only for the wellbeing of humankind. Furthermore, it even comes with so many substitutes.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by cwy, June 09, 2008 10:11:13
The worst is that the mind of those who claims themseves to be holy are just polluted!
written by cheemengwong, June 09, 2008 10:25:04
But...but... manusia/people like haram things!

examples...

a. my salesmen even though married like to go massage and have a screw.. banyak haram!

b. takes commission from company as well as customers....mesti haram

c. enter into no entry roads- di haramkan

d. do 3 hours of work in a 8 hour work day and take full pay!.. haram

How a Government doing HARAM things....?

a. Take Raayat's money and spend without any accountability?

b. Treating Raayat differently according to race?

c. Don't care about the poor and the widows....

d. Working in concert to blow up a poor Mongolian tourist.

e. PM lied about elections and no petrol increase!!!

f. PM going on holiday while the Raayat suffered under Floods.

g. Putting people under ISA at their whims and fancy!

h. Police walloping peaceful demonstrators!

How? Haram Tak?
written by Arubin, June 09, 2008 10:39:46
It may not be stiff, but it still is quite restrictive.

Something that I've never quite understood is why the religion does not specifically forbid smoking but bans alcohol and gambling. I've posed this question to some Mulsims before and never quite got a satisfactory answer.

One told me that Islam actually forbids you from doing anything that might cause harm to yourself. Therefore, smoking should also considered to be haram. This makes sense, but is unfortunately open to subjective interpretation.

Another claimed that smoking does not actually harm your health at all. After all, he reasoned that even doctors smoke and they should know best. Personally, I think he is one screw loose, but this kind of wacky reasoning is a loophole through the former.

So who actually got it right? Can anyone shed more light on this?
written by densemy, June 09, 2008 12:22:46
... and while you always rely on your holy book for all the answers you will NEVER learn to think for yourselves and will forever remain slaves to the 6th century.

Religion should be a guide not your master
written by Angela Ooi, June 09, 2008 12:39:03
The very worst Muslims are those who do not AVERT their eyes if they come accross someone whom they feel are dressed inappropriately. They put the onus on others to 'calm and still' their filthy, bird-brain minds!
written by gwillgi, June 09, 2008 12:47:08
Somehow I don't see why understanding the religion or the culture of others should be a problem for one's self. In any case, I believe it enriches one's mind and understanding and paves the way for a smoother interaction with others.
written by shiokguy, June 09, 2008 13:23:42
The air is better today

Today first day at school after the 2 weeks holiday, I realized this morning that less traffic on the road, and skyline of KL is so clear and the air smell a bit better than usual.

This is the benefit of petrol price hike I suppose!
http://shiokguy.********.com/2...-hike.html

http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by tcng, June 09, 2008 14:47:05
Several hundred years back, the western/christian world too relied on Holy Scripture for answer in almost everything. When scientists argued that the earth is round and rotate around the sun, when Charles Darwin published evolution theory, the Church Authority condemmed these scientists and thinkers.
Fortunately, there were many people in Europe with the wisdom and courage to challenge the status quo.

Unfortunately there were/are not many such scientists/thinkers/philosophers in the Muslim world. It is sad that most Muslim around the world, including many with high modern education, always refer to the Holy scriptures to determine what is Haram and what is Halal.

Muslim readers may want to read this book... 2000 years of disbelief...

http://www.holysmoke.org/haught/sherrill.html.

If one eat pork or meat not 'halally slaughtered' or consume pork, he/she would not go to Islam heaven despite of whatever good deeds he/she done?

The Chinese had been consuming pork at least for 2500 years, many hundred years before the Holy scripture was written. Why did not Allah inform the Chinese in ancient China not to consume pork earlier?

I once read a Quote (not sure if it is true) by Indera Ghandi : She said : It takes a lot of courage for a leader to tell the masses that there is nothing wrong to eat beef.

I think it would take even more courage for a Muslim leader to tell the masses that
i) pork was stated as Haram in Quran because it contains diseases (unhygenic)and can cause illness if consumed as food.
ii) other animal meats, as long as it is unhygenic, can be consumed. It is not necessary to have prayer to make it halal.

In other words, the clauses in Quran was to prevent masses from consuming foods that may cause illness..