Horrible Jam and Fuel Price Hike : Questions and Opinions PDF Print
Sunday, 08 June 2008 21:08

Necessary Questions to Ask
Returning to the original context of the article, there are a few necessary questions, that I and my friends thought of, pertaining to this hike. Without answering these, it would be very hard for us, the citizens of Malaysia to accept the justification to the Fuel hike: 78 sen more to RM2.70 per litre

1) If it is said that the increase is due to world market price, would the local oil price drop when the world market price drops? What is the working basis? If Malaysia is only following the 'increase' method, how could the 'world market price justification' be plausible?

2) Will the
Petronas accounts for the past 30 years (audited) made public so that the rakyat knows where the income derived from selling petrol have gone to?

3)
Where will the removed government's fuel subsidy go to? Funding of Space programmes? Funding of Monsoon Cup? Funding of Brickendonbury-like Sports Center?

4) If it is said that the people should reduce their spending and change their lifestyle, the most direct solution to this problem would be using the public transportation system. However, the government forgot one thing : Why did citizens buy cars? Minus off the reason that some actually purchase cars because they are rich, the other common answer is simple : because the public transportation system is deplorable. I believe most lower-middle income people will provide this as an answer.

The question is :
What is Pak Lah and government's plan to improve the public transportation system so that Malaysians can rely less on expensive fuel via personal cars?

In the past various promises had been made on 'improving public transportation' but still the condition of the system is bad.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by michael chick, June 08, 2008 21:13:23
The Malaysian Government will never and has never done anything in favour of the public. It has only concentrated on its' own pocket. Highest Under-Table Gets the Project. Regardless of whether it is good for the people or not.

What were you expecting?
agree 184
written by binkah1, June 08, 2008 21:18:51
Talking about public transport, you guys should come over to Kuching to have a taste of what it is all about. There is literally no public transportation available at all! Wonder what have the federal govt done for Sarawak all these years of our joining Malaysia? When it come to oil they pump like nobody business, but when it come to real development for the people, all are ignored.
agree 131
written by rajaphillips, June 08, 2008 21:21:15
Malaysia is a net EXPORTER and just see what NONSENSE IS GOIN ON? All because of 1) Mahathir a/l Mohamed Iskandar Kutty 2)Golongan Umnoputera created by him
written by InEffective, June 08, 2008 21:32:01
Malaysia - blessed with talented politicians who can transform 'windfall' into 'subsidy'.
(david copperfield would be impressed - may even ask our politicians for training).
Even Exxon (from a net importer country) is being hit with windfall taxes.

Seriously remarkable - they have the entire nation's population of 30Mill accepting this con-job of the century.

I guess the chief custodian of our nation's wealth is also talented in obfuscating production, export, cost and price metrics.
written by SEADALEGUY, June 08, 2008 21:39:34
For all the Kuching people, we are really sorry because opposition won there but the rest of Sabah & Sarawak seems to love the BN government. So basically, people of East Malaysia should be happy with the fuel price increase. Soon they will charge a tol at Rejang River as well. Why Not..? smilies/grin.gif
written by clarity, June 08, 2008 21:46:06
Two reasons. One is to buy votes for Dec. election as they do not have enough money to beat the team finance by Daim Zainuddin. The balance to share among the Umnopytra if they lose to the other team or PKR. Ship is goona sink and the reast must scuttle. Watch the amount of money taken ut of the country now and until end of year.
written by cheemengwong, June 08, 2008 21:48:39
Funny isn't it when the government decided to increase the fuel price because global price of crude has increase! What about when Singapore's per capita income was increasing yearly and Malaysian got left behind? When we realized it, we are too late! Today per capital income of Singaporeans is USD 25,000 whereas the per capita income of Malaysians is just over USD 6,000.

What is the government doing all this years? Shaking legs?

I used to see my neighbourhood friends buying new cars every 3 years and I can't do the same. Why? Their income increases. Thy got better jobs because they went and do a MBA, go for Continuing Professional Education, job hope to a better firm and so on. What did I do? I got to work for a Chinaman who was more interested in increasing his own wealth rather than taking care of my welfare.

Who is to blame? Me!

I did not bother to find another job.
I did not bother to do CPE
I did not bother to do a MBA

So, Government of Malaysia. Do something. Maybe we as Raayat should do something!
written by sdcsrcc, June 08, 2008 21:50:19
Labisman,

Good point!

What about all the money loss out of the "economical cycle" through corrupt practices within the governement, police and even ACA, crazy funding and spending of government projects, undisclosure of the earnings of MPs and their private shareholdings into companies, of course all of these do have economical bearing in the situation.

Throughout the time of BN ruling, all the monies that were lost out of the cycle must and should be accounted for. If all these amount were to be brought to future value, it would be trillions and why do we the people of today pay for the results of the BAD PRACTICES AND FINANCIAL MISMANAGEMENT OF the governement in the past and even today!

ACCOUNTABILITY and RESPONSIBILITY!!!!!
Start with all parties esp MIC that cheated the Indian people.

written by ipunkedude, June 08, 2008 22:10:43
Raising the fuel price and reducing the subsidy is something that is inevitable. No market driven economy can sustain a subsidized regime forever. It was just a matter of when. But the timing of the fuel hike now, when the current government is politically unpopular amongst the masses, raises two possibilities. One, that the current government feels that it is something that the rakyat has no choice but to accept. Which means, they see no threat of BN MPs crossing over i.e. no need for a snap election. Two, the national coffers i.e. Petronas has been cleaned out and is bone dry. No one will ever know what really happened to all the money. If the latter is true, Malaysia is due for a crisis worse than 1997.

Only one thing that the everyone can push for is for full disclosure from the PM and Petronas.

written by benny loh, June 08, 2008 22:16:15
won't work at this difficult times...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-fuel.html
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 08, 2008 22:24:02
Singapore continue to grow like a champion, while Malaysia under BN/UMNO is like a sinking ship.
written by Eskay Lim, June 08, 2008 22:34:25
Our Malaysian PM and his bakal PM can compare with the world-reknown magician & illusionist, David Copperfield, but there is only a slight difference in their capabilities.
David Copperfield can make big & small objects disappear and after that make the same objects appear again.
Our PM and his bakal PM can also make objects disappear. But they specialise in money, big amount of the rakyat's money to disappear. The only difference is that the amount of money will remain disappeared, lost, hilang, resap forever. Maybe they haven't mastered that part to make it appear again.
Remember, our petrol price had been raised a few times before. The last hike of 30 sen was supposed to save RM 14 billion, to be used to improve transportation problems. With their magician-wand, that amount disppeared and could not be accounted for. And the recent hike of 78 sen, I wonder another big amount of rakyat's money could also end up the same way.
written by oct, June 08, 2008 22:41:06
It looks like out Govt has been sleeping during the fuel price hike. Fuel price increase in not an overnight affair like what the Govt did to the Rakyat. Since the last increase, they should be aware that the fuel price can go higher and take active steps to mitigate the fuel price. No the Govt just go into sleep mode. When the fuel price has risen too high, they still don't have anything to show the Rakyat that they have done anything to soften it. The Govt took the easy way out by just increase the pump price to the Rakyat. The Govt knows that our LRT has limited stops and after 10 years, there is no new lines/stops being added. Our bus has been revamped but each time, the service improves for a short while and then it goes back to square one. No maintenance culture being developed and that is why you see trains and buses breakdown and no extra stock to put into service. Recently, the Malay Mail reported that the Ipoh to KL commuter line is ready since last year and no train to run it. Our commuter trains service is very bad due to trains are mostly under repair and new stock has not arrived. The original supplier of the train has gone bankrupt. How we select this vendor is anybody guess? Our Govt is interest to send people to outer space, maintain a highly expensive taste of classic musicians for MPO, white elephant projects, etc. instead of building better infrastructure and transport for the rakyat. Sad to say if this goes on, another increase is imminent.
written by middlepath, June 08, 2008 22:43:24
if the petrol price is to reflect the world price, then the government must also do away with the AP, duty on the CAR, the price of the car in USA is very cheap, even in China, their car price is much cheaper than Malaysia. Please Umno and BN government, please do not use AP to impose duty on the car price, hence the price of the car will be so much cheaper, then the petrol price will be justify, still can not be justify, as our petrol price is so much higher compared to other net exporter of petrol country.
vote out the BN and UMno gov. go for Pakatan rakyat
written by islandjoe, June 08, 2008 23:03:46
They knew this was coming a long time ago. ONLY now they start looking at the plan to help the public deal with the fuel hike??? Meanwhile the public pay dearly for the time these fat cats to slowly take their time to get things right. They can't even sort out the pathetic taxi service here, and that has been going on for years, so what hope do we have!!

Don't even get me started on these pricks giving us sermons on how we should change our habits while they steal from us AND when they don't they waste our money.
written by INSTINCT, June 08, 2008 23:22:02
What subsidy are they talking about. We are net exporter of petrol. We do not need subsidy at all. We just need PETRONAS to sell us fuel for domestic consumption that is just a little above its cost of production. They should not make money from the citizen...not too substantial. They can make money from the export. The rising fuel price is speculative. It is not due to increase in production cost, maybe a bit. The production of the oil should be balance and well allocated. Apportionment of the production should take into account the citizen interest.
written by SamBall, June 08, 2008 23:26:28
Sagaladoola, good summary of easy to answer questions for Pak Lah.

Tapi jangan lah harap jawapan; sleepy PM masih tidok! Yang cakap kurang convincing itu Najis, di memang kurang paham.

Crude price increase is due to many reasons; weak dollar, perked demand, shortage, speculation; constraints and well, Politicians!

Me thinks Pak Lah is trying to outdo kakatir la; to shown one upmanship; who can screw the rakyat more, ha? See I can screw them more than you, you recalcitrant old man. Don't play, play. Also undo/show-up kakatir's subsidy "popularity" all this while.

But seriously, if Msia is a net exporter, then if price increase world-wide, then the rakyat should benefit, right?. OK so take out the subsidy, begs the question, why now? Sudah lah barang2 makan naik, energy price increase will give rise to inflation; sure one.

Habis, what you gonna do with the subsidy and bonus money, huh Pak Lah? Eh, jangan2 buka akaun kat bank Swiss tak? Jaga2 SIL, now become "richest unemployed man" in the world pulak! KJ (Korek Jamban) watch out boy! Keeping an eye on you.
written by INSTINCT, June 08, 2008 23:30:54
Apportionment of the production for domestic consumption (less commercial) and export (commercial)should be well balance according to the local and other market other market requirement.
written by Richfyf, June 08, 2008 23:31:52
Well Ali Rustam got it all wrong and still gets it wrong. Its not that the non-malay need UMNO.Its the opposite. And now even the Malays do not need UMNO becasue they have PAS, PKR and some even rather be in DAP then UMNO.

It other words most MALAYSIAN do not need UMNO anymore,
It's people like Ali Rustam that need UMNO so that they can be in power.
We Malaysian knows what we need and what we DON'T NEED.
We surely don't need a 40% hike of price in petrol, And that was made by the none other then The President of UMNO himself.

Now tell me who needs that?????
Who NEEDS UMNO?????
written by malaysian2008, June 08, 2008 23:47:48
To HELP THE BN GOVT. ANSWER SOME OF YOUR QUESTION.

The reduce of subsidies is use on the following projecs :
1. To cover the allocation money for the YBs that had been spend in 2 months
before election 308.
2. To form the shadow govts. in all opposition held states. never mind there
are two govt in each state, these are rakyat paid for.
3. To buy more new RAPID KL buses and dump the current one to rawang to sell scatch iron.
4. To give SABAH/SARAWAK govt. more $$$$ to stop MPs from change sides.
5. To give the new elected minister more pockets allocation to bribe the rakyat to change their mind toward opposition.
6. To give more $$$ to penisular MPs in order to sweetern them not to shift side.
wow I can write many more reasons for the redusing of subsidies, but I am tired, tire of typing, tire of BN govt.'s promises, tire bcos I am now not enough of vit. M, and I just eat too much of instant mee.......
written by Malaysia Digest, June 08, 2008 23:47:56
That's the result of voting the orang utans to be in the Cabinet.

Malaysia Digest
written by InEffective, June 08, 2008 23:48:00
Lets just 'follow-the-money'.

If the politicians can somehow convince/influence the rakyat to accept higher prices for fuel, a couple of things will play out in your runway:

1)Domestic-Demand-Suppresion:
demand for domestic fuel will decrease (consumers adjusting self-consumption behavior - strategy to artificially suppress domestic-demand by introducing some pain)

2)Stratospheric Increase of Retainable-Profit:
suppressed volume of fuel earlier earmarked and budgeted for domestic-consumption is now available for export market (volume of fuel earmarked for export further increases to capture stratospheric international oil prices -> more humongous profit for Petronas -> more cash available for politicians to self-appropriation, to finance any project creating perceptions of benefit for rakyat, or to finance vote-buying and politician-buying to regain political dominance to maintain umno politicians in power)
3) Malaysian Rakyat aiding the political objectives of UMNO:
As the majority of suppliers, traders, tranporters etc will first move increase prices to account for fuel inflation, compoundingly demand and consumption-behavior will get suppressed. In summary, the Rakyat will effectively end-up underwriting (absorbing the pain) the ascendancy and political competitive position of UMNO politicians.

Who said UMNO politicians are not smart and intelligent - they certainly are clever enough to introduce sufficient pain, and create advantages for themselves at the same time.

They will get away with this only if the rakyat accepts the false-reasonings of 'subsidy' over 'windfall', and accepts the newly-injected pain-levels without causing riots and disturbances. Naturally ISA is available to control rakyat if its get out of hand - and it seems they are not shy of leveraging this control-fear-instrument.

Politicians are very smart at manipulating perceptions.
And they certainly are comfortable with a little bit of pain - as long as its not them paying for it.

Its made even more easier when the chief custodian (petronas chief) is adept at obfuscation and opaque skills (naturally supported by our ever-helpful official-secrets-act) to effectively deny the Rakyat a clear transparent picture of Oil domestic consumption patterns, export volumes, real cost-of-production, volumes produced, pricing achieved in domestic and international markets, allocations for government and project budgets.

Rakyat would be well-advised to remember one thing - unscrupulous politicians don't measure their performance based on people's metrics. Don't mindlessly belief for a sec that their primary interests and objectives is the rakyat's benefit. The politicians self-interest and self-survival is always the primary agenda on their minds, and their priority - not you.

Only when politicians are elected based on performance to the rakyat, will you be assured that politicians will serve your interests - that is clearly not the case today. (jiggered elections, compliant judges, perception-manipulating media, subservient component party politicians, racial messaging strategies etc)

Good luck Rakyat - only you can bring effective change...(you may want to try some self exercises in critical-thinking - something our politicians hate)

Congratulation - Mr UMNO politicians - a very intelligent move.
written by mgeo, June 09, 2008 00:08:11
a. With the drastic increase in fuel prices, we need a nation-wide efficient system of public transport serving every town, suburb and highway now, but have only a skeleton system. The solution (proven in Germany, Belgium, Brazil) could be enforced reduction of private traffic (including VVIPs), high-tech, low-pollution buses. With the savings, we may be able to run this service free, as in Belgium. Jaime Lerner, visionary 40-year mayor of Curutiba in Brazil says a system of 3-segmented buses costs 100 to 200 times less than an equivalent subway. 99% of the inhabitants of Curutiba are happy with their city of 3 million people, which is built around people, not cars, and where most of the core streets are pedestrian malls.
b. However, our govt. is showing deliberate neglect for bus transport: multiple regulatory agencies, sudden changes of rules, insufficient incentives
(including adequate subsidised fuel, permission to raise prices), insufficient enforcement. The head of TransNasional has highlighted these injustices.
c. LRT problems: Mismatched, intrinsically inflexible, limited reach, inaccessible to the disabled, very expensive when the govt. buys back after
they fail.
d. Road problems: (1) Huge and rising expenditure and resources for highways, flyovers, bridges, lights, electricity, highway concessions, bitumen
(from petroleum), cement (including flyovers and hospitals). Sidewalks extended to non-street locations, resurfaced unnecessarily. (2) Maintenance
for non-toll roads alone was RM 800 million / year 10 years ago. Wear out after 6 months to a year, especially after heavy rains (Some countries use
concrete - no maintenance required for about 10 years). Lights often left on in the daytime (3) Smaller towns and rural areas ignored. (4) Loss of water resources (through loss of greenery including highways deliberately routed through forests), loss of land producing food. (5) Scope for corruption due to size of projects: secret agreements, guaranteed profits/toll increments, cheap loans, tolls raised even for busy highways. Amenable consultants produce fake projections (Read Confessions of an Economic Hitman). "Construction development" serves the god of GDP Growth, perpetuates the cycle of debt, destruction and further "development". (6) A British maths professor proved that more road junctions = more traffic jams. So this is a never-ending source of profits.
e. Car problems: (1) Economic losses (expenses for citizens who are not rich, accidents, delays, imports, subsidy of fuel) (2) Global warming from engines, aircon, tires, CO2, NO2 (296 times as bad as CO2) (2) Health hazards: diesel nanoparticles (asthma), powerful poison from diesel engines under strain, smoke/noise/stress (heart disease), NO2, petrol volatiles (cancer), CO (fast poison), accidents.
f. Road & car problems: Turns towns from centres of culture, recreation and culture into poisonous noisy ghettos and heat islands where the car is king and pedestrians scurry out of their way.
written by Thesinner, June 09, 2008 00:27:15
"Who said UMNO politicians are not smart and intelligent - they certainly are clever enough to introduce sufficient pain, and create advantages for themselves at the same time."

InEffective,

Let's see how smart and intelligent they are.Some people say everything has it's own time and space,even the day has to give way to the night and I beleive it's true. Patiently I'm waiting the day when UMNO/BN starts sinking. My forecast date would be before 16 Sept 2008. smilies/grin.gif Cheers!
written by malaysian2008, June 09, 2008 00:27:25
Actually I would like to ask the BN govt. why using the world oil price increase as a reason , when running a business just like running a country, if you can't generate/income to cover your cost, go downsizing reducing cost to make profit.

But our CURRENT AM'NO GOVT. ( why am'no govt. becos they control all the CEO,COO,CFO post) just know how to spend on lavish and wasteful white elephant projects. If they are good on financial control we may be still able to subsidies the rakyat.

regarding the statement that we are still the cheapest amongst the regions, then why don't we increase the oil price further to make sure we do not susidies the non-rakyqat ??? and give higher cash rebate to the rakyat. instead of subsidies the non malaysian. isn't it LPPL. and we are still draining out our susidies fuel. another point to show how poor we implement policy and financial calculation. ( the prop0ganda of showing rakayt we are still enjoy cheap susidies fuel, infact we are also susidies non-malaysian.)
written by yellow7, June 09, 2008 00:41:44
Comment deleted. Contains too much profanities. User banned.

MT Admin
written by panca, June 09, 2008 01:40:47
There is one simple solution to this problem.

Problem : When the Price of Fuel Go Up

Solution : The Gomen of Bad Governance Must Come Down
written by zul4kulim, June 09, 2008 01:58:27
As per now, nothing much can be done....protest and demonstrate....the BN gomen is still there tomorrow morning!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...risis.html
written by ez24get, June 09, 2008 02:22:36
Last year Najib asked us to change our lifestyles and we did. We tightened a few holes in our belt.

This year Badawi asked us to change our lifestyle some more and we did. We tightened to the last hole in our belt.

Malaysia under the BN government seems to moving backwards rather than progressing. All the other countries, including our neighbour Singapore, are moving forward except for Malaysia. Here in Malaysia, the citizens having been tightening hole and more hole in our belts while the citizens of our neighbour, inspite of having no oil and natural resources and afford to buy more cars.

What is wrong with the UMNO led government?

The pakatan rakyat led states seems to have some measure of success in gaining FDIs, transparency, providing free water and eradication of corruption in their 100 days in office.

But all the BN government has to show in its 100 days of rule are the hefty 40% increase in petrol prices and prices of daily necessities as a reward for the citizens who have voted for them. In the 100 days, the BN government has nothing to show except for more opacity on Petronas accounts, inflation statistics, continuation of more police oppression, OSA, ISA, etc.

What a useless BN government! God, what did we do wrong to deserve the BN government!
written by mob1900, June 09, 2008 04:29:39
written by bexe, June 09, 2008 07:00:42
As they say "you get what you vote"
If you voted for this sickening Government, you know what you need to do next!
written by crazygweilo, June 09, 2008 07:55:43
I despair at seeing Malaysia in the hands of these people. There is a sense that Malaysia has lost its sense of purpose and direction under this administration.

Lets look at the transportation system. I'll give one example of what happens under that RM7 travel pass, and contrast it with what happens in Singapore or Hong Kong.

06.10.06 Travelling from SS2 to Ampang Jaya

Use bicycle (Its a Friday, so cars and taxis are nuts), leaving at 10.00am, arrive at LRT station at 10.15. Lock bicycle. Machine only takes ONE note, and the remainder in coins for an RM2.10 fare. I decide to get a day pass for RM7.00, regarding it as more cost effective.
LRT leaves Asia Jaya, 10.20, change at Masjid Jamek at 10.45. Get SECOND ticket.
Masjid Jamek to Cahaya. and get there at 11.05. Cahaya to Ampang Jaya takes 15 minutes by taxi, costs RM5.00

Total cost RM12.00. Journey time 1 hour 40 minutes.

On the return trip, the fun starts.

1. Leaving my friends house at Ampang Park at 15.00, I then have to make sense of Rapid KL's network map. First, use a T type bus (Think it means Tempatan), which goes first to Maluri, and it seems to go "all around the garden" en route. This takes 40 minutes. Get to Maluri at 15.40.

Maluri to Masjid Jamek on the former Star Line is a piece of cake, since the line is still under capacity. But its Friday. At 16.20, I arrive at Masjid Jamek and all hell has broken loose.

The station is jam packed. There are queues. The wait is 4 trains away, and each one of the two car units leaves packed to the rafters. I finally get a train at 16.45....after waiting 25 minutes. This runs at a restricted speed and it stammers along a bit...and gets to Asia Jaya at 17.05.

I leave Asia Jaya....and cycle home. Fortunately its dry. I get home at 17.25.

And then my mates call "Fancy a few beers"
And my reply cannot be printed. I've tried doing this and subjecting myself to using Rapid KL for one day. God help those who need to do this every day. I thank heaven that I live close to work, for I cannot imagine commuting 2-3 hours on a daily basis to go to work, study, survive. I cannot imagine it, nor do I want to.

Conclusions:

1. Rapid KL Buses, particularly "Utama" routes work fine for "direct" trips, but connecting serviced (Tempatan) are spotty.
2. In relation to salaries, Rapid KL fares are quite high.
3. Subsidising public transport in Malaysia has never been an option. It is left to the free market. In such an environment, it becomes a vehicle for political patronage and corruption.
4. Malaysia is quite good at building nice shiny things, but hopeless at maintaining them. KTMB Antarabandar is a serious example of this, and speeds on the Kuala Lumpur to Singapore mainline have increased by 1 hour since 2001/2002. Rawang to Ipoh electrification has been a fiasco. KTM Kommuter is rapidly deteriorating. The two LRT systems are quite reliable, but exhibit capacity problems. Monorel - forget it, I predict within 15 years that it will be falling apart since it uses bus technology and is built on the cheap. The infrastructure is good, its the trains that are the problem.
5. Malaysia is not a high income country. There has been no effort to take care of those in the lower earning bracket. They don't really matter until election time, and in any case, elections can always be RIGGED. This means they will never matter.
written by crazygweilo, June 09, 2008 08:09:50
Does UMNO expect confidence when they see Najib Tun Razaks face on a poster saying "Security, Peace, Prosperity". Whatever about the man personally, he does not inspire confidence the same way Mahathir did.

Because that was a hopeless election slogan. Security - Malaysians should take that for granted. Peace - This is also granted, its a peaceful place. Prosperity - its not prosperous for the majority who earn less than RM2,500 per month and have to use Rapid KL. So there it is. Malaysian Public Transport. Its an advertisement for Proton and Perodua.

And even then, they have you by the balls. You are paying the Sammy Vellu retirement fund, or UEM Renong, or Scomi, or some crony linked company by using the toll roads. All these are a drain on your income. But at least the toll roads are fast and efficient. Using the toll roads, my trip on Rapid KL, instead of taking 1 hour 45 minutes one way, it would take 35 minutes. On the return trip, the contrast is greater....that 2 hours 30 minutes becomes 45 minutes at most, even with traffic jams.

Changing this will not happen overnight. The problem is, Malaysians are voting with their feet if they have the brains, knowledge, and education, and are going to London, Melbourne, Sydney, Hong Kong and Singapore. All cities with functioning transport systems, but....aiyoo....expensive lah.

There is a cultural mindset here of wanting it all on the cheap. But quality public transport does not come cheaply. It means higher property taxes, paying higher petrol prices, and having a transparent competitive tendering system. All the ingredients for the improvements are there, but the wrong people get in the way. Thats the crux of the problem. Its like a shambolic Latin American country, or Italy. But in Italy its the unions who **** things up. In Malaysia, its the cronies. Oh, and before Malaysians go all enthusiastic about Singapore and the West, they had their problems as well.

The problem with Malaysia is that its got very patchy development. Kuala Lumpur got all the glory, and the rest of it was left to rot. This was evident if one took the Ekspres Rakyat from Tanjong Pagar to KL Sentral. You'd pass Johor Bahru, and never was there a more depressing dump of a city. It looked awful, but its improving now.

Pudu bus station. The black hole of Calcutta. A place that most Malaysians dread and despise. I use it once or twice a month. These people have the audacity to suggest "Use public transport". I suppose when you have a private jet thats fine. Its even easier if you want a token train ride on Keretapi Tanah Melayu, you can always have the Sultan of Kelantans private coach (its parked in the sidings at Brickfields BTW, and it costs RM4,000 per day to hire).

So how about trains that work, or even having trains ready for a completed railway (Rawang to Ipoh is a now fiasco project because of Pak Lah cancelling, recancelling and interfering)....Ummm....no. Why did he interfere?

(a) To protect the budget from overspending
(b) To scrutinize the contract and cancel it, and then reallocate it to the right people, after the Anak Mertua advised it?

How about bus lanes, that get passengers past the traffic jams....Ummm....no
How about maintaining assets so that they last 10-15 years so that they do not need replacement in 3-5 years. Because you need to replace them so soon, there is more opportunity for some kick backs and contracts......Ummm...no

Do I need to go on....Ummm....no. Because I'm getting pissed off. Its not even my country. I'm only passing through.

written by alanec, June 09, 2008 08:16:24
porrah this type of gomen.....i am now in liverpool and everything's here is much much better than any city of Malaysia....liverpool only lost one thing to Malaysia i.e. high rise building...Malaysia only know how to waste money on white elephant mega project....waste billion of ringgit just for space programme? can u use ur coconut to think?i doubt whether the MPs study management? uncle lah,in case u forgot of what u studied before....let me help u refresh back what's the maslow's hierarchy of needs....the most basic need that needed to be satisfied for human being is PHYSIOLOGICAL Needs....we need breathing,food,water,sex(for u and ur new wife),sleep etc....Why waste billion of money on other aspect without considering this? 2 cents of advice....no offence.......
written by budakindia, June 09, 2008 09:16:35
We certainly should follow the PM's advice of changing our lifestyles. So starting today, let's take bollock carts, live on trees and eat grasses! smilies/cheesy.gif I'm sure him doing it first to set the example! smilies/cheesy.gif Please sell off the new A319 jet! Then Putrajaya! Dismantle the whole office and shift it up to the trees! Use bollock carts! Abdullah we are waiting for you to do that! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by New Frontier, June 09, 2008 11:24:03
Improve public transport-means that SCOMI will get the contract to supply new buses. Other cronies will get road/road improvement projects. The solution-End the UMNO/BN corrupt regime.
written by arankaru19, June 09, 2008 17:41:22
written by Malay Ultraman, June 10, 2008 18:35:25
Fart Lah.. ohhh Fart Lah... awat hang jadi lagu tu? Benak betoi laaa.. Hang ingat perintah negara macam main guli kaa?? ikut suka tukar laaa... cakap August.. tetiba esok jengoi jadi RM2.70... hang ni bodoh ke cacat pemikiran?/ Bini hang buat apa kat hang?? Takkan buat kerja "hembus angin" kottt??