Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow OPINION: New media spurring the winds of change

OPINION: New media spurring the winds of change PDF Print
Sunday, 08 June 2008 10:44

Perception management is here to stay, politicians from both the Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat tell SANTHA OORJITHAM. The response, they claim, should not be more control but more freedom of speech

By : SANTHA OORJITHAM, NEW STRAITS TIMES

THE photograph of a man allegedly killed during the Nov 25 Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) rally, posted on the Police Watch Malaysia website (a fabrication which was later retracted).

Text messages during the campaign for the March 8 general election claiming that Education Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein had said he did not need non-Malay votes.

Such images and messages carried by the "new media", whether true or false, influenced voters in the run-up to the 12th general election.

And although this kind of "perception management" and manipulation of information did not play a significant role in the 2004 polls, the Barisan Nasional (BN) has paid the price since then for discounting its importance.

"Rumours or accusations that surfaced were not addressed with good counter arguments backed with credible data and sources," says Fui K. Soong, chief executive officer of MCA's Institute of Strategic Analysis and Policy Research.

"They were just brushed aside and left to fester in people's minds, fuelling endless speculation."

During the run-up to the polls, "those in urban constituencies accessed the Internet themselves," reports an Umno member, "while those in rural areas got relatively the same information, printed as pamphlets. Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and Pas machinery handed out flyers to coffee shops and houses and followed up on the content at their ceramah".

The BN campaigners focused on the coalition's manifesto and the "big issues" at ceramah, he says. "People asked our ceramah teams and speakers whether the new media allegations were true. The standard answer was that we would not address them and would not respond to personal attacks."

Yet a significant number of voters had turned to the new media during the campaign. In a post-election survey of 1,024 respondents, Merdeka Center found that 12.9 per cent of them got information on the polls from the Internet, blogs and email. Thirty-nine per cent of them regarded election coverage by newspapers as untrustworthy while 37 per cent felt the same way about TV coverage.

A similar survey of 1,654 by the International Islamic University of Malaysia's Election Studies Unit found that respondents turned to the Internet for "a lot" of their information on current issues (64 per cent of respondents), politics (42 per cent) and the elections (43 per cent).

As for text messages, 76 per cent received SMSes on current affairs during the campaign while 63 per cent sent such messages out. The unit monitored 550 blogsites during the campaign, many of which had sprung up just before the elections.

"Seven out of every 10 of them were negative about the BN," reports unit head Datuk Syed Arabi Idid, who is also a professor in the department of communication.

Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek admits that the BN "did not go into the terrain of the new media" during the campaign. "We thought we had 51 per cent of the audience and that the new media had 15 to 20 per cent, but that 15 to 20 per cent made a lot of difference."

There does not appear to be organised perception management in the country, says Deputy Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar. "What we have seen are all random individual acts."

The police have set up a unit to monitor the Internet "so that the public would not be exposed to disinformation, false and malicious information as well as Internet scams posted for the purpose of cheating the public or to commit fraud and other crimes", he adds, noting that police in other countries had set up similar units.

Why does perception management work? Both BN and Pakatan Rakyat politicians trace the trend back to 1998, when then prime minister Datuk Seri (now Tun) Dr Mahathir Mohamad sacked his deputy, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

"Traditional media lost their credibility then and never fully recovered it," says a BN election strategist. "This created room for the non-traditional media to erode people's confidence and trust in the government and the judiciary."

He estimates that perception management has been in use for the past couple of years: "It's not organised in the traditional sense but there seems to be a meeting of minds that they should exploit the new media fully. It's like the al-Qaeda network -- not centralised but pretty effective."

"Propaganda combines truth with something else," explains the information minister. "That's what the 'cooking' is about, adding in spices." With Hindraf, he points out, "People believed all the Hindraf claims were genuine."

PKR vice-president and Subang MP Sivarasa Rasiah estimates that almost all of the Indians at the first Hindraf rally and during the election campaign "were not interested in the sensational stuff such as the allegation of genocide. But the rest of what the Hindraf leaders said was real for them -- about Indians having difficulty getting scholarships, licences, permits and loans".

And the new media played a role, he recalls, posting an image of a council officer preparing to throw a rock at demonstrators, for example.

In a pre-election survey of 1,024 respondents (Feb 24-27) by Merdeka Center, one per cent of all the respondents and three per cent of the Indians said that Hindraf was "the most important problem in the country today". Many (eight per cent overall but 21 per cent among Indians) also mentioned ethnic inequality and lack of economic/job opportunities for their race (two per cent overall but 10 per cent among Indians).

"The allegations in the new media, if repeated enough, might cause some to believe," says the Umno member. "The public do want to see and hear the other side but if they don't hear a response, they assume it's true, especially if enough people repeat the same story."

"If you are the one who is attacked on such a blogsite, how do you deny it?" asks Syed Arabi. "Do you come out with another blogsite or do you write back to the original site?

"Either way, it would be difficult to reach the same audience and it would be a much smaller audience. The government has set up websites to respond to disinformation, but people who read the original blog are unlikely to visit a government blog."

The BN election strategist notes that Hishammuddin did deny the SMS allegation that he did not need non-Malay votes, "but the damage had been done and the SMSes were more widespread than newspaper reports of his denial".

Government departments are not ready to cope with disinformation, he reckons. "The agencies are not talking to each other and work in individual silos. Nobody is in charge of the Net. They are using old instruments to deal with a new situation. The Printing Presses and Publications Act is not adequate."

But the answer lies in free speech and a free media rather than tightening existing laws, argue the legislators. PKR's Sivarasa, who is also a lawyer and human rights activist, says the Printing Presses and Publications Act and Official Secrets Act (OSA) should be removed and suggests creating an offence of inciting racial or religious violence (rather than hatred) under the Penal Code, instead of having the Sedition Act.

Media could be regulated through a Press Council, he adds. "The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) could be given the power to require immediate right of reply -- perhaps prominently and several times -- for any person or institution about whom accusations have been made in the new media."

If the new media do not provide that right of reply, the website could be shut down. "And if the owner defiantly sets up another website, that could be legislated as a crime -- for breaching a regulatory order -- for which they could be arrested."

People or institutions that are the subject of anonymous attacks should report to the police if it is a criminal act, says the Deputy IGP. The police will investigate and the public prosecutor will charge the perpetrators if there is sufficient evidence.

If the acts involve "improper use of the Internet", he adds, investigations can also be conducted under the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998 -- which provides the power to require the Internet service provider to take action, including blocking access to the site.

"Internet penetration now is 14 million and growing," says the minister of information. "The good and the bad will flow together direct to your house. It is not possible for the government to regulate, but we will educate people and we will come to the stage of reviewing controls on the traditional media."

Both the Printing Presses and Publications Act and the OSA should be reviewed, he agrees. "But any change towards a more progressive society has to be done gradually as everybody adjusts to it."

Until then, he says, "those defamed on the new media have the right to sue and the new media have the right to defend themselves".

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by shamadz72, June 08, 2008 10:49:02
Text messages during the campaign for the March 8 general election claiming that Education Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein had said he did not need non-Malay votes.

-----

It is not Hishamuddin lah... But it is Ali Rustam who has said that. He has said that to insult PPP during PPP convention and doing so in a capacity of a guest of honour. If I am Kayveas, I would have pull out from BN there and then. There can't be any much worst insult than the one uttered by Ali Rustam.

written by BukaJalan, June 08, 2008 14:19:09
NST - Go look yourself in the bloody mirror! Not ashamed of yourself and still don't get it do you even after the tsunami? Everything you wrote in the article is a complete reflection of yourself. You are a true machinery of the BN & is only good for relaying whatever the gomen wants and directs you to do so. You are a true laughing stock of joranlsim the world over. You never think before publication - so pig headed.

You say the BN "pad the price" for the new media. That shows how stupid and naieve you still are. If the BN i truly open, fair, accountable & trustworthy gomen - nothing will ever break their grip on power. New media merely relays what stooges like NST refuse to bring to light.

Furthermore your crazy idea about Internet generating "untruth information". I mean how backward are you. Blog users are so savvy and besides a self check and balance mechanism is constantly at work. Postings contains both pro and con arguments, unlike your stupid NST publications whichs is a mere 1000% reflction of what UMNO want you to say.

I mean I cannot stand to even complete reading your article. Just reading a fraction of it pisses me off. Like a child school report. You are a disgust to read.
written by greenarrow, June 08, 2008 17:12:27
Santha OorJithan are paid by BARISAN NSAIONAL to write to soothe their supporters....

New Strait Times licks UMNO s toes
written by ricky, June 08, 2008 17:41:21
UMNO, you guys are a bunch of jokers really!!! Alternative media - new media - whatever. You still don't know what hit you, do you ???

No need for emergency meetings, no need for brain-storming sessions, no need for retreat at 5 star hotel etc etc ... Just spend some time in Malaysia Today - the real answers are all here.
written by kooiseng, June 08, 2008 18:46:33
Don't use "KETUANAN". Use "KEJAYAAN" instead, if UMNO doesn't want any misintepretation of Ketuanan. If you don't want the meaning, don't use it. Don't be hypocritical or be like the Arab and the camel - slowly,slowly,slowly push out the nonMalays.
written by PAKRAK, June 08, 2008 19:30:13
In the article "OPINION: New media spurring the winds of change", Ali Rustam, the VP of UMNO came down hard with the statement that "UMNO/BN did not need
non-Malay votes for GE12".
However, in the recent article "UMNO push for PM to reshuffle Cabinet......"
Ali Rustam being the culprit changed his tune and told the UMNO Supreme Council "the need to get closer to non-Malay voters".
Another flip-flop, arrogant, brainless, stupid, power hungry and highly corrupt goon.
written by Richfyf, June 08, 2008 23:26:50
Well Ali Rustam got it all wrong and still gets it wrong. Its not that the non malay need UMNO.Its the opposite, And now even the Malays do not need UMNO casue the have PAS, PKR and some even rather be in DAP then UMNO. It other words most MALAYSIAN do not need UMNO anymore, Its people like Ali Rustam that need UMNO so that they can be in power.
We malaysian knows what we need. We surely dont need a 40% hike of price in petrol, And that was made by the none other then The President of UMNO himself. Now tell me who needs that?????
Who NEEDS UMNO?????
written by schizonoid, June 09, 2008 02:41:41
MSM are Bn propaganda. I never believe in what they wrote.
They are all pariah journalist, ass lickers.