Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Ex-gratia payment: Trying to make the PM ‘Flip-Flop’ Abdullah look good….?

Ex-gratia payment: Trying to make the PM ‘Flip-Flop’ Abdullah look good….? PDF Print
Saturday, 07 June 2008 22:12

He has done it again! For all intents and purposes, PM ‘Flip-Flop’ Dato’ Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi flip-flopped when he announced ex-gratia payments to be made to the sacked former Lord President Tun Mohamed Salleh Abas and the five Supreme Court Judges despite there being no Cabinet approval on this.

What is PM ‘Flip-Flop’ Abdullah trying to achieve with this payment?

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad explained and elaborated in great detail in “The Tun Salleh Saga” what transpired 20 years ago and all the events and thoughts leading towards the dismissal of the supremo of the bench and five of his esteemed subordinates.

Can the Prime Minister of Malaysia undo the decision of His Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda Yang DiPertuan Agong, after a Special Tribunal found Tun Salleh guilty of misconduct of duties and acts unbecoming of the Lord President, 20 years ago? By which powers could the Prime Minister of Malaysia undo such action?

It was unprecedented what transpired 20 years ago and the dismissal of Tun Salleh and the five men attracted so much attention, especially the detractors of the then Prime Minister, Dato’ Seri Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. However, the right thing had to be done. It was done in accordance with the provisions made under the Constitution; the ‘Supreme Law’ all these liberalite law practitioners and civil society advocates consistently turn to.

What is the decision of the ex-gratia payment all about then? Show us that he is a compassionate man?

All of these mumbo-jumbo of giving ex-gratia payments to these six men and their families are about making PM ‘Flip-Flop’ Abdullah look good to some people, with the deception of him having a ‘big heart’ and nothing more!

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by michael chick, June 07, 2008 23:00:25
Each time the Government makes a payment, they keep some for themselves. Why else should there be subsidies for Petroleum when they just raised prices for the rest of the Public. Administrative charges can sometimes exceed the actual monies paid out. Go figure...

Truly Asia, Truly Corrupt...
written by JJ Kuyong, June 07, 2008 23:00:30
“All of these mumbo-jumbo of giving ex-gratia payments to these six men and their families are about making PM ‘Flip-Flop’ Abdullah look good to some people, with the deception of him having a ‘big heart’ and nothing more!”

The judges issues are history and it happened during Tun Mahathir Era. It is funny and weird as why Badawi taking all the trouble to make good of the past by paying huge sum of money Ex-gratia payment to these ex-judges while on the other he caused heavy burden to the life of every Malaysian by increasing the Petrol and Diesel? Who he is trying to please – the ex-judges or the poor Malaysian citizen? I just wondered why we have this sort flip-flop PM. He should give the money to the poor.
written by malsia1206, June 07, 2008 23:31:36
Special Tribumal found Tun Salleh guilty of misconduct...? When are you ever going to get the gist of the issue? It's not the guilty verdict that is the subject of contention. It's this "Special Tribuna' and the composition of the panel. One had a direst inherent interest on the outcome. The rest were not the peers of the Lord President. These facts infringe the cardinal rules. How do you feel if a kindergarten kid criticise your write-up? If you wish to present your case in this open forum, do it with style and merit. Do not pull the eyes on the kindergarten kids.
written by Windchime, June 07, 2008 23:41:44
It is amazing how TDM managed to recollect in detail the events that happened some 20 years ago in such amazing detail and yet during the Lingam enquiry, he forgot everything! Amazing....

By the way, what happened to the JJ Molest case, what happened to the Altantuya case, what happened to the Tan Sri who lost his title and who has disappeared in the young Chinese boy's murder case? Seems like we are diliberately distracted so that all can be swept under the carpet!
written by lunas oh lunaih, June 08, 2008 00:10:38
something very fishy...Nobody ever heard about the first letter is not an issue after all....
written by budakindia, June 08, 2008 00:18:55
I just don't get it sometimes with some dim wit Malaysian politicians! I can understand with the rest of the world with politicians trying to be better than their competitiors! But in Malaysia, it's the complete reverse. trying to be more stupidier than his competitors? I don't quite understand this! Ex-gratia payment just to make look better? (sorry guys from now on, I don't have any good name for him anymore!) Better in what? Better in being stupid? "I'm a lot more stupid and ridiculous than Mahathir maybe?"
written by mob1900, June 08, 2008 01:37:56
I'm sure by now, all the price increase had negate whatever 'ex-gratia' payment the Judges gets.

Slaps the Rakyat, take its money to 'right its wrong', what kind of administration is this?
written by howiseveryone, June 08, 2008 01:52:41
hey guys... just realised that our PM has made available a website for posting comments/support/criticism/suggestions/etc..(i am more interested in criticism) which is supposed to reach him. hmmm.... i wander if he's really gona read all the postings or maybe someone else. anyhow, maybe all of us can flood this site with our comments and criticism or even suggestions.... see if he(if it's really him) would respond and listen to the Rakyat. i just hope my criticism will not be seen as seditious.
try it out - www.warkahuntukpm.com.my
written by hermanc, June 08, 2008 04:05:11
written by howiseveryone, June 08, 2008 | 01:52:41
hey guys... just realised that our PM has made available a website for posting comments/support/criticism/suggestions/etc.

It was launched by Najib for AAB during their March 08 Elections campaign on 1st March 08. I've never gotten any response from them, don't waste time on it.

http://www.pmo.gov.my/WebNotesApp/KSNMain.nsf/hv_KSNSemasaView/006EBACE1A1DB6E848257402003A69E5
written by lunas oh lunaih, June 08, 2008 05:30:58
boikot petronas for 2 months....
written by lunas oh lunaih, June 08, 2008 06:17:29
Semua golongan masyarakat disarankan memboikot petronas selama 2 bulan.
Kini giliran rakyat pula mengajar kerajaan dengan tidak membeli minyak petronas.Tindakan ini akan menyebabkan PETRONAS sendiri penderitaan yang dihadapi oleh rakyat.
...jayakan kempen ini segera...sebarkan secara cyber...pasti berjaya.

written by coolandy, June 08, 2008 06:23:23
I maintain that the ex-gratia payments are political in nature and therefore illegal.
written by Littlebird, June 08, 2008 07:46:21
Was Salleh Abbas sacked for the so called first letter or the second one? Sinc nothing was ever mentioned about the first letter stop introducing new grounds. Go ask your VK Lingam.
written by Wendy Low, June 08, 2008 10:07:46
how can the PM approved ex-gratia payments to be made to the sacked former Lord President Tun Mohamed Salleh Abas and the five Supreme Court Judges withoug any approval from Cabinet approval on this matter. Fantastic !!!!!! After a Special Tribunal found Tun Salleh guilty of misconduct of duties and acts unbecoming of the Lord President. we still can give ex-gratia to these people. ha ha ha. joker.

that is why administration cost is so d.. high and the government cant or have to withdrawn the fuel subsidy away and put all the d.. cost to the people here. they enjoy and while looking at the innocent people to suffer here. Fair ?????

written by apa jadi, June 08, 2008 11:22:27
Is this a moaning pleasure from the Bigdog(dot com) of Mahatail?

What AAB is doing is to de-Mahatial-ise. Simple as that.
written by rams609, June 08, 2008 16:16:53
Mr. Flip-flop doesn't undertstand the laws.His de-facto Zaid is sleeping too. Tun did the right thing for not making public his decision re. the sacking of the former Lord President. If flip-flop has any brains at all he would have checked the details and only then decide whether compensation should be given to Salleh Abas. BUT SINCE HE'S SO USED TO USING OUR MONEY AS HIS, HE SIMPLY DECIDED IN GIVING AWAY MORE MONEY TO HIS FRIENDS AND TO MAKE HIMSELF POPULAR AGAINST TDM'S DETRACTORS.
Flip-flip is living true to his name: bodo wi.
01. announce ban of petrol to foreign registered vehicles.
02. defend, theorized excuses for the ban, and next day...
03. retract the ban after raising the petrol prices across the board.
04. tell us to change lifestyle.

STOP FLYING AROUND USING LEASED JETS USING THE PEOPLE'S MONEY FOR A START,CAN YOU AND YOUR MINISTERS, FRIENDS AND THEIR FAMILIES TAKE THAT?

Goblowi!

written by rams609, June 08, 2008 16:20:02
Perdana Menteri yang tak tau adab. Seperti biasa melawan DYMM the Yang Dipertuan Agong yang dikasihi rakyat.

Perdana Menteri dan Menteri-menterinya, kita tak sayang...kita sumpah aje!!!
written by OilMan, June 08, 2008 20:54:35
Hi howiseveryone,
Went to the website www.warkahuntukpm.com.my and wanted to post my comments but decided not to cause I might be put into jail under the ISA, lose my job, my friends and live the life of a pauper. smilies/smiley.gif
written by cllim123, June 09, 2008 01:07:08
A special tibunal convened and made findings. Now a review of that tribunal's findings or even that tribunal's constition is necessary in order to see if all was fair and just. Ex-gratia payment does not tell us anything. The judges' dignity and honour are not restored but their sacking/suspension maintained. If that is so, why is our tax payer money paid out?

The second concern is how much is actually paid? Knowing our gormen, its own accounts who X amount but pay out is X less Y amount, Y being "under table tax". As usual nothing is revealed.