Turkey: High Court Reverses Parliament, Bans Head Scarves At Schools PDF Print
Saturday, 07 June 2008 11:16

(Radio Free Europe) - At the urging of the government of Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Turkey's parliament voted four months ago to overwhelmingly approve two constitutional amendments that overturned laws forbidding women to wear Islamic head scarves in schools.

The move reversed nearly 90 years of Turkish secularism, and led to protests by tens of thousands of secular Turks. But on June 5, Turkey's top court reversed that move in what's becoming a broader struggle between Erdogan's Islamic-oriented government and the country's secularists.

The Constitutional Court said the amendments that would have allowed head scarves at Turkish universities were contrary to the country's modern principles of secularism.

On February 6, the Turkish parliament -- which is dominated by Erdogan's Justice and Development (AK) Party -- approved the amendments, which would have allowed women to wear Islamic head scarves at universities but not in lower schools or in offices.

The opposition Republican People's Party (CHP) immediately filed an appeal, which is what the Constitutional Court ruled on. The secular opposition forces represent Turkey's educational, legal, and military establishments.

The ruling is bad news for Prime Minister Erdogan and his party. A separate lawsuit filed by the country's chief prosecutor will, if successful, shut down the party for antisecular behavior and forbid 71 of its members -- including Erdogan and President Abdullah Gul -- to be members of any political party for five years.

Ankara University professor Baskin Oran tells Reuters the ruling "means that the court has already decided on the shutdown of the AK party, which the court should ban because of the head-scarf issue."

Erdogan and his supporters say wearing head scarves should be recognized as a personal choice of women who wish to express religious freedom. Because of the ban, they argue, many young women are denied an education.

"I think this is not fair," says Sevan Ertugrul, a female student in Ankara who wears a head scarf. "I expect some respect for my head scarf as I show respect to people dressed in short clothing or for their freedom of thought. This happening at a university is totally unfair because freedom cannot be banned at universities. It is totally unfair not to let the head scarf enter a university where even police cannot go in."

Erdogan's AK party is viewed with suspicion by the opposition, which accuses it of "antisecular activities." They argue that allowing some women to wear head scarves would put pressure on others to wear Muslim garb.

Turkey, a country of 70 million people, is overwhelmingly Muslim. In the 1920s, the founder of modern Turkey, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, established a secular republic that he sought to mold in the European style. As part of his reforms, he banned religious garments from daily life.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by LKO, June 07, 2008 11:27:49
Malaysia should have a law against stupid, spineless and flip-flopping politicians.
written by cheekhiaw, June 07, 2008 11:44:24
Hah, that's because going nude actaully involves greater freedom and independence than covering the head with certain kind of scarves.

Just that some people cannot appreciate that...
disagree 22
written by sonofman0, June 07, 2008 11:51:21
This is a matter for the people of Turkey to decide.

However, I tend to agree with the comments of Sevan Ertugrul.

Peace be to the people of Turkey.
disagree 17
written by InEffective, June 07, 2008 11:56:41
Let muslim women make their own choices...
written by angkasawan bocor, June 07, 2008 12:07:59
The minorities' rights are protected in Turkey. Hope this will happen in Bolehland.
written by Milo, June 07, 2008 13:01:14
The ruling is bad news for Prime Minister Erdogan and his party. A separate lawsuit filed by the country's chief prosecutor will, if successful, shut down the party for antisecular behavior and forbid 71 of its members -- including Erdogan and President Abdullah Gul -- to be members of any political party for five years.
--------------------------------------------

Wow! What a surprise to find uch a decision in a Muslim majority country they can shut down a ruling party for being anti-secularism! Can we shut down UMNO for going against the constitutional rights of others?
written by speedberg, June 07, 2008 13:30:31
Great Turkey and UAE are fine examples for all muslim countries to see! They know for real to look beyond and NOT backward to Dark-Ages!!! There are alot of greater things to come from Dubai, now and in future!!! The definition of greater heights could only be achieved when one keeps away from the "Evil of Darkages"!!!
disagree 31
written by wishuponastar, June 07, 2008 14:33:11
Recep Tayyip Erdogan should have consulted Bolehland's medicine man on how to undermine the independence of the judiciary.
Since of late the good doctor says a lot of contradicting stuff.BusinessWeek 1995 carried this "On Jan. 19, Mahathir himself, now retired, said it might be time to let go of the peg.'"
This is from Malaysiakini June 5-Mahathir also said that the government’s decision to float the ringgit was a bad one as the subsequent rise of fuel price by the government has placed the people in a more disadvantage position.

Perhaps DSAI is right in saying "Mahathir is tired and confused"
The media should not run after TDM for news.Let him rest well so others can enjoy some peace especially our supercool Pak Lah.
written by 98PercentPrimate, June 07, 2008 14:37:05
They argue that allowing some women to wear head scarves would put pressure on others to wear Muslim garb.

I agree with the above.
Once there is a significant number who wear head scarves, those who originally do not have any preference to wear it will be unconsciously pressured to conform and wear the head scarves.
In this case, the minority will lose their freedom eventually by social pressure.

Once you have enough people wearing head scarves, those not wearing headscarves will be indirectly sneered as low-class, indecent, immodest, going-to-hell, etc. Only the very psychological strong can resist such pressures. This is what is happening in Malaysia where many wear headscarves merely due to social pressure. They are indirectly to conform and has to bear with the heat, humidity, sweat, smell, in our hot weather, etc.

Most would not dare to complain as being told that complaining and non-compliance mean losing one's passport to heaven can be very frightening.

Note this psychological experiment where participants would yield (conform) to majority social influence and give incorrect answers in a situation where the correct answers were always obvious.
http://aqabpsychology.co.uk/?q=node/12

This show that lies can even be turned to truth once the majority imposes.

Religious guides and practices should be personal and not imposed on everyone, especially via social or peer pressurea. After all, the source of such rules are based on faith (beliefs without proof) and as such should no be enforced directly or indirectly on others who do not share the same views.
disagree 31
written by Hope4all, June 07, 2008 14:46:14
This is a good check and balance between the govt and the judiciary. This proves that in Turkey, they are independent of each other.

In Malaysia, the AG, police and the Judiciary are in one team, under the BN/UMNO allegiance!
written by Rock, June 07, 2008 14:50:48
They were talking about democracy and freedom of speech and action yet they are curving the freedom of muslim women to wear scarves, it's their (muslimat)rights. I can see many preachers of human rites here supporting the undemocratic decission of the turkey's jugdes. How hipocrates they are! May Allah guide us all.
disagree 19
written by grandmarquis, June 07, 2008 15:34:12
Once there is a significant number who wear head scarves, those who originally do not have any preference to wear it will be unconsciously pressured to conform and wear the head scarves.
In this case, the minority will lose their freedom eventually by social pressure.

Now this is really funny. A woman who dress sexy will not result in "pressurizing" other to commit rape. But a women who dress decently with head scarf will result in "pressurizing" other to wear head scarf.

Now can someone confirm such a logic?
disagree 31
written by rainmanpj, June 07, 2008 17:21:08
98PercentPrimate
Tends to agree with you.
Do a simple arithmatic.Count the ratio of women who wears the scarves to those that do not wear the scarves in the public and private sector and you will get it.

If you look at the lady enforcers for MBPJ,etc , they to wear the scarves in our weather ,does that make sense ?
written by LACOBRA, June 07, 2008 18:02:38
Should also ban who wear while driving cars. Had too many close encounters to a potential accident!
written by Rolling Stone, June 07, 2008 18:28:05
I believe that every individual should have the right to decide on his or her own whether to wear or not any religious outfits, there should be no special laws to decide for them on what they should do or not,thats democracy, don't the parliment have better thing to do...I dont have any problem if a girl wears a tudung or not as long she is a not a hypocrite..
written by negativeinifinty, June 07, 2008 20:01:36
Isnt this a violation of human rights to freely practice religion? I dont think the hijab is necessary but I dont mind people wearing it or not. That is their decision. I'm surprised some of you support the Turkish High Court decision.
What? Human Rights religious freedom doesnt apply to Muslims or a Muslim's right to wear their religious garb?
Conformity? Asma Gull Hassan is Muslim feminist, she goes to Islamic Conventions and Conferences without wearing a hijab, faces criticism but goes on anyway. Why can she go on despite the massive pressure against her? Because she is not weak of resolve. People who conform are weak. Its not like they're imposing laws for you to conform like certain Muslim countries like Iran. Being forced to conform because of laws suck, but conformity from pressure, well your problem.
written by khan3, June 07, 2008 20:38:37
Banning of head scarves is a violation of human rights. I dont think we malaysians like it when our rights as human is violated, so why is it okay if people in Turkey? Now, where are the human rights activists? Usually they are so vocal...
written by LACOBRA, June 07, 2008 20:46:25
There is really nothing wrong for any women for the matter to wear Head Scarves for whatever purposes. However, when it endangers the public for the safety and hygiene.

Public Swimming pools, taking a dip with all personal clothes and undergarments is like washing dirty laundry in the pool. For hygiene purposes the proper swimming attire has to be used. Exception given due to religious sensitivity as not to be too revealing. Aren't there full bodied swimming attire? Then there are those who instead reveal more than they then thought as these clothes are now drenched wet with see through effects.

Apologies for my comments to ban drivers with head scarves, the law should make it compulsory that the scarves are tied back so as to not obstruct the side vision of the driver. Imagine a racing horse with the side pads worn probably to deter distraction and maintain straight race concentration.
written by Rashid, June 07, 2008 21:06:15
It seems that certain people don't know Turkey and think that its judiciary is "independent" and that its secular identity protects "non-Muslims."

Well, listen here: Turkey's judiciary is at the lowest ranking in independence globally. Secondly, what's going on is politics and not religious fanaticism. You have to know Turkey to understand it. Turkey is numbber one ideological country on earth and there is what we call "the elite" made of the judiciary, Army (that has carried 5 coups and killed a number of leaders) and University Vice-Chancellors. This elite is vs against the elected elites who are mainly conservatives in nature and people oriented. This battle has been raging for 80 years for now.

Coming to Turkish Constitution and its purported secular indentity, well, what will happen in Malaysia if we take 100% the same constitution and apply it here in Malaysia?

Well, this is what will happen to non-Muslims

1. All Chinese/Tamil schools(vernacular) must be closed because that will be considered a seperatist idea. In Turkey, non Turks like the Kurds ( who are 20%)can't speak their language, can't teach in their language and can neither a Turkish University even have a faculty teaching Kurdish or Greek, a small minority as well.

2. All Mission Schools must be closed just like all Mission Schools were closed in Turkey by the rigidly secular elite. So 200 and more schools in Malaysia will be shut today.

3.Building churches will be a story of the past. You may ask how can a secular country behave that, but you will dream only. Not only that,all big churches will be taken over by the state just like what happened in Turkey under Bulent Achivet. This man threw a Muslim female MPout of Parliament bcoz of her scarf,but that didn't prevent him from taking over all Turkish main churches and giving them to the state which retains them till today.

4. Budhist monks can't have titles that help them servng in another country just like Christians in Turkey are not allowed. For example, Budhist monk in Malaysia also heads Singapore, that will be a thing of the past.

5. No single Budhist,or Christian Higher Teaching institution will be allowed like in Turkey.

Continues...

written by Rashid, June 07, 2008 21:20:59
6. All Chinese and Tamil newspapers,TVs must be closed and they should only operate for weekly (newspapers) and only 1 hour a day for TVs. All non-Turks in Turkey have to face this treatment.

7. No Christian, Budhist,Hindu etc, will be allowed in the CID, Secret Agents, National Banks and the Military. This is exactly what's happens in Turkey, yet the govt is so secular that the PM's daughters were denied entry into the Universities bcoz of their scarves and he sent them to the US. Also, Turkish President's wife and daughter who veil can't go even to a public hospital, University or even Parliament building. So they stay out.For example,when the President was being sworn in last August, his daughter and wife were denied entry into the Parliament building because of scarf and they stayed outside. This is madness. If they fell sick today, they will have to go to private hospitals or outside. No public! Last month, Turkish PM's wife was denied entry into a public hospital because her friend fell sick, she tried to visit her, but she was denied and she went back. Why? She was wearing a scarf. You call that progress? Huh!

8. No non-Muslim will be allowed to head any sensitive department, ministry or otherwise as the tradition is in Turkey.

9. Non-Muslims in Malaysia like in Turkey will not be allowed to have their names but must put on Turkish names. The current govt changed that so they can have their names today.This was done 4 years ago, imagine, yet this govt is pro-Islam unlike all the past govts.

10. Non Muslims in Malaysia will not be allowed to operate churches, temples freely and they must pay every year a certain amount of money to the state to operate. They can't publish their works and they can't use any TV or radio to appeal to the people.

NB: Turkey is not secular but a fascist country for those of you who don't know it. Both Muslims and non-Muslims are living in hell in Turkey
written by negativeinifinty, June 07, 2008 21:34:50
bravo Rashid for pointing out how unjust the Turkish government is
written by 98PercentPrimate, June 07, 2008 22:35:37
Regarding the headscarves in this particular religious context, i mentioned that one could be exchanging one type of freedom to promote another sort of suppression in a subtle manner.

Here is one Turkish's view why he did not favour the headscarves.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/mcb_je...vesfascist
written by mistreated, June 08, 2008 03:31:40
rashid tried to extrapolate turkey's actions to our home-that-we're-allegedly-lucky-to-be-allowed-to-live-in:

1. All Chinese/Tamil schools(vernacular) must be closed because that will be considered a seperatist idea.
>>tamil schools getting screwed, chinese schools having to raise their own funding because they cannot expect help from gov't, actually now 30% have no water or power, so.......

2. All Mission Schools must be closed just like all Mission Schools were closed in Turkey by the rigidly secular elite.
>>Moral Education replaced Christian religious education in these schools; The majority of Moral Education teachers were Muslim. Crucifixes in mission schools were removed. School history textbooks glorified Islam and Islamic civilisation over other religions.

3.Building churches will be a story of the past.
>>what about sikh temples cannot have domes because domes are only for mosques? demolition of hindu temples? church approval took 28 years?

7. No Christian, Budhist,Hindu etc, will be allowed in the CID, Secret Agents, National Banks and the Military.
>>what about non malays being denied entry to public universities? you call THAT progress???

8. No non-Muslim will be allowed to head any sensitive department, ministry or otherwise as the tradition is in Turkey.
>>it's not as if we hire ministers based on merit, mostly they are of a certain ethnic persuasion, or allied to a certain party.

10. Non Muslims in Malaysia will not be allowed to operate churches, temples freely and they must pay every year a certain amount of money to the state to operate.
>>Bahasa Versions of the Bible confiscated, Feb2008, 49 "islamic words" banned from use

rashid, sorry, but your "shock" treatment/wake up felt rather impotent: we live with this daily.

doesn't paklah frequent turkey where his "kabhi mine kabhi ananda's" yacht is moored?

ref: http://malaysianindiantoday.**...amisation/
written by Rashid, June 08, 2008 04:26:08
Dear Mistreated, (Malaysian Indian blog)

Pliz note that I'm an opposition member/suporter (Pakatan-PKR comrade). So I'm against any unjust AMENO policy. However, if you try to compare Turkey to Malaysia in terms of minorities, then you will definately FAIL because they can't be compared. What I have mentioned were simple issues and not even the big things. Remember that Turkey doesn't have a SINGLE non-Muslim judge or a SINGLE non-Muslim Ambassador, or a SINGLE non-Muslim working in any National Bank.

The difference btween what you have mentioned and Turkey is like the day and the night. In Turkey, it is official, in Malaysia, it is AMENO based constitution that has nothing to do with the Federal Constitution. So that's the difference. A PKR member like me has no problem with accomdating my Chinese and Indian brothers.

The other thing you didn't get was the idea of "secularism per se" which has failed in Turkey because both Muslims and non-Muslims have problems in the country. That's why I said it is a fascist and not a secular country. Just imagine the PMs' wife denied to visit her friend in hospital bcoz of her headscarf and turned away! The President's wife who is turned away from the Parliament building because of her scarf. By the way, she did't study at the University as well because she was denied entry for the same reasons as well. So what I'm saying is that this (the banning of the scarf as in Turkey) is not a matter of secularism as shown in the media but a power struggle. I know Turkey because I have been there many times. So if they (Turkish un-elected elite) can do that to fellow Turkish Muslims, what would they do to non-Muslims? That was the gist of my address. In fact, Turkey imposes a single school of thought on all Muslims in that country. For example, they have 15 million Shia Muslims and 20 million Sunni-Shafi' School, but they are denied to practice that, so they have to follow the Hanbali School of Thought which is a must. So the question is: if the country is secular, why is it forcing religion and a type of it on all and also denying Muslims and non-Muslims their rights. Otherwise to compare Malaysia despite the chronic AMNO body snatching is to fail the test because one (in Turkey) it is based on the consitution while another (in Malaysia) it is based on AMENO constitution. Hope you get it.

written by mawi, June 08, 2008 04:34:05
Mistreated

either your are really mistreated or plainly misinformed or just pure ignorant.

Tamil schools getting screwed and Chinese schools being self funded? Huh!.Firsyly, the issue here is about the existence of this types of schhols here in Malaysia where it is banned in Turkey. Don't be stupid mistreated.

Secondly, Why do you only talk about dilapidated tamil schools (which Semivalue did not even bother to rectify) and not all dilapidated schools throughout Malaysia. And talk about dilapidated schools, Come to Klang and just physically La Salle and the Chinese school next door and you judge which needs severe funding. Funding Cienese schools is like throwing salt into the sea.

Moral education replaces christian religious education. Sheesh, what do you take us for, A dodo like you?. Firstly ME did not replace anything, it was another subject introduced, just like Computer classes. Secondly, catechism classes, just like Fardhu Ain classes, are not banned, they are just privately conducted. Our schools still has catechisn classes conducted bt the Churh of assumption few years back, but due to dwindling attendance, it died a natural death, just like Chinese and Tamil language classes in schools today.

And history text books glorifying Islam. Which history text book did you read moron! Crucifixes in mission schhols removed?Tghis is strange, because, In the very first places, All Missionary schools were nationalised, a long long time ago because they were funded by foreign organisations and even until today, some ex missionary schools still maintained church within its vicinity and even has the missionary quarters still in tact, within the school premises.And you were talking about removing crucifixes.

written by mawi, June 08, 2008 04:52:12
Mistreated.
Continuing....
Demolition of Hindu temples. But why just Hindu temples? Why not mention the Berembang Mosque and the demolished Suraus which has also existed for so many years. Why not dwell or why PAS had not built a sigle mosque while in power in Kelantan?

And non Malay denied entry in local universties and the next bullshit from you would be that UTAR, Sedaya, Metrpolitan , just to name a few, ia also a figment of our imaginations. And by the way, my neighbours who are Chinese and has children in UM and UKM must have cheated their way by disguising as ac Malay when they were enrolled!. Come on la! Give us a truer picture la bodoh before you show your stupidity or are you really stu... Oh my god!. Is that what you are?

Ihave wasted my time here, regrets regrets

And by the way, If you are not a muslim, , Let me hear you say, from today onwards, that Allah (instead of god) is the Almighty and ) is great. Say AllahuAkbar amognst you non muslim friends since you are so into wanting to use these terminologies with freedom. Your friends will take you as a nutcase.

written by hischildanba, June 08, 2008 07:32:54
Turks has ill treated the Kurds and denied them use of their language, practice of their culture and music all in the name of secularism. And all these is done to people who profess the same religion. Turkey is trying to project an image of secularism in the hope getting into the European union.
written by Rashid, June 08, 2008 08:24:31
hischildanba,

To add more, Main Kurdish City: Diyarbakir Mayor Osman Baydemir is waiting for a case of 200 years in jail for "trying to seperate the republic."

Now, do you know what he did? He sent a greetings card written in both Turk and Kurdish language. Now he is waiting for the case to be heard because he was asked as to how he could even try to use a card that has the letter "W" knowing that the Turkish language doesn't have it. Instead it uses the letter "V" for the place of V. So that's how terrible life is in Turkey. Kurdish also can't use their names. If it were Malaysia, no Chinese or Indian would be allowed to use his/her name. God forbid!

But the question is: who is doing that and who has formulated that barbaric consitution? Most of the people who did this are known athiests and die hard secularists who even banned Muslims from going to the Hajj or paying Zakat. It is quite a long story that baffles human beings. I can argue that North Korea has more consideration to people than The Turkish secularism that drinks the blood of its people.
written by Rashid, June 08, 2008 08:25:47
correction: V instead of W. (V was repeated)
written by wishuponastar, June 08, 2008 09:02:27
Dear readers please forgive me for my mistake.
I wrote -Since of late the good doctor says a lot of contradicting stuff.BusinessWeek 1995 carried this "On Jan. 19, Mahathir himself, now retired, said it might be time to let go of the peg.'"

It is not BusinessWeek 1995 rather BusinessWeek 14th February 2005.Thank God TDM
didn't notice it.Sorry MT.
written by mistreated, June 08, 2008 11:01:34
i concede i may have erred, but:

1) ACTUALLY, i did: refer to my sentence "actually 30% of schools have no water or power".

2) look, insofar as the history aspect goes, all i can say is that this was mentioned in the article and i referenced it. not my blog, not my words, and i've quoted my research. if you happen to read it and there is something wrong with it, indulge me, i'm more than happy to have the record set straight. no need to get personal.

3) could it be, quite possibly, that PAS didn't see a need for additional expenditure in building mosques when mosques they already have might suffice? possible or not? enough mosques, no need to waste money to build extra.

(isn't it a VERY natural question to ASK, since i don't know life in kelantan). will you call me stupid for postulating that?. riddle me this.

4) perhaps "not being allowed entry" is erroneous, but your very personal attack blindsides the issues that surround race and public universities, scholarships, etc. is everything we read in the papers true or not? you can quote one or two non malays, and i can quote one or two non malays. i put it to you: can your one or two non-malays or my one or two non-malays in public unis speak for the entire population and unequivocally say that there is no problem?

will you call me stupid for saying that one swallow doesn't make a summer?

5) no, i am not a muslim. but my religion quotes Allah in our holy book, Allah created the world. our scriptures use different names interchangeably, because there is only one creator, and Allah is one of those names; so please, will you not insist on me switching to Allah and use no other name for the rest of time ("from today ONWARDS")? my religion says can. nah.

rashid, i appreciate your point. yes, in turkey all that in the constitution, and the pseudo-secularism is more akin to fascism. and your goodself said that the U*NO policies are unjust. i was looking at it more from an end-result perspective of local "policies", which seems similar in some parts...and yes, turkey has issues. bags of issues. and they shouldn't be glorified. so thank you for educating us.

and mawi, you know, in between your rantings, ravings and vehement defense via full on personal salvos, i did learn a thing or two about crucifixes and catholic religious classes and other ethnic classes dying natural deaths. if you could have spent more time being rational (like rashid was) and less time calling me an idiot, then you wouldn't really have wasted your time, would you? isn't that the point of a messageboard?

so if i'm an idiot, now what, you win? puas? still regret?

fin.
written by apa jadi, June 08, 2008 11:10:54

Turkey, another fine example of an Islamic nation from another extreme . The country practices secularism by their own definition.

written by 98PercentPrimate,
Once you have enough people wearing head scarves, those not wearing headscarves will be indirectly sneered as low-class, indecent, immodest, going-to-hell, etc.

Your are partially right. I remember vividly my next door Malay neighbour in my hometown in the 1980s. She was a very very pretty women in her twenties. She insisted on not wearing tudung. She was called all sorts names, bombarded with letters cursing her to be burnt in hell, boycotted by collegues in the school she taught. She finally succumbed to the duress on her after 5~6 years. Same thing here in KL, some of my customers malay staffs are also facing some kind of indirect pressure from their bosses. They finally have to put on tudung.

So, the question is not the group pressure, but external pressure from other zealots. You can smell something burning from some fire dragons here too.
written by grandmarquis, June 08, 2008 21:57:36
Well I am more interested in the issue of local university entry. In reality, non-bumi are mainly denied entry at the level of SPM, i.e. via matriculation and ITM. But it is free flow upon STPM. I believe,half the population of USM and UM are chinese or at least non-bumi. When I studied in USM, half of my coursemates were non-bumi (mostly chinese). So reality speaks itself.

By the way, we can do a raise hand. How many of the non-bumi in MT studied or have their son/daughter studied in local U?
written by kgsadu, June 08, 2008 23:00:59
People tends to forget/ignore any undemocratic moves falled on others but They becomes so vocal when their rights as human are violated. It's okey if happened to muslim but can't to non muslim. It's okey to demolish muslim mosque but can't to other temple / church. It's okey for bumi to alibaba their contract to chinese but Chinese will never give a single cent subcontract to Bumi. It's okey when Malay go shopping to chinese outlets but Chinese can't go to Malay shop.

We were talking about democracy and freedom of speech and action yet we can support Turkey for rectricting muslim women to wear scarves, which is their rights. Obviously many preachers of human rites here supporting the undemocratic decission of the turkey's jugdes...It just shows how hipocrates we are! smilies/cry.gif
written by mawi, June 08, 2008 23:46:01
its not about being satisfied or being victorious but when you are in public domain, what you say do have its implications and in your case its more vindicting that constructive. Surely you must have heard about MUST and have you checked its enrolment. UPM is more closer to heart than any and did you even bother to check its faculties racial demography. When I read your piece, it sounded more like race and religion bashing generally and Malay race and Islam to be more specific.

anywhere you go, bigotry exist. If you care to observe, most traditional Chinese companies, even the ones that can be classified as conglomerate practices bigotry. Go see for yourself if you don't believe me. You can practically see all the senior post are dominated by Chinese and even if if you see one or two Indian or Malay executive, that's more for like"See we are multi racial" window dressing purposes. And the same goes for Malay and Indian SMEs and they don't even care to window dress.

Basically, you do not know, you are ignorant but yet you put it as if it was chiselled in stones.

Its not about why PAS did not built mosques. Only God ( in this case Allah) knows. But it was your line of argument. A non Muslim reader would be psyche into belittling a religion because of you or was that your main objective.