Bus companies warned not to increase fares PDF Print
Saturday, 07 June 2008 10:25

M'sian minister warns public transport and school bus operators not to raise prices

TODAYonline 

Public transport and school bus operators using "fleet cards" entitling them to fuel rebates have been warned not to increase fares, following the steep rise in fuel prices in Malaysia.

Entrepreneur Development Minister Noh Omar said on Friday: "I would like to stress that public transport and school bus operators are not affected by the fuel hike because they are entitled to diesel at RM1.43 (60 cents) per litre and they are given fleet cards.

"There is no reason they should increase their fares as announced by the bus operators association today."

He was commenting on reports that some bus companies in Puduraya, whose vehicles travel between towns and states in Malaysia, have raised fares by RM10.

Mr Noh said that the Commercial Vehicle Licensing Board (CVLB) would suspend or revoke the licences of public transport or bus companies that increased fares without the board's approval.

The pump price of petrol rose on Thursday by a whopping 41 per cent to RM2.70 a litre.

Diesel prices shot up 63 per cent to RM2.58 per litre.

Separately, Pan Malaysian Bus Operators Association president Ashfar Ali told The Star that, although the fleet card system entitled them to diesel at RM1.43 a litre, "the amount we get is enough for about 70 per cent of our operations. Unless we get at least 30 per cent more, we are in trouble."

Meanwhile, another minister on Friday defended the government's fuel price hike, in the face of public anger and street protests.

"I think it is wise. This is the first time we have come to grips with the subsidy system," Domestic Trade Minister Shahrir Samad said of this week's unpopular decision to cut extensive fuel subsidies.

Mr Shahrir dismissed protests over the decision, including a rally held in Penang on Friday.

He said: "Situations like this are always available as opportunities for our political enemies."

written by DatoSeri, June 07, 2008 10:33:54
Well, in a sense I pity the bus operators.

This stupid BN/UMNO government can decide on its own to increase fuel price without consent from the overall public to increase the burden on public, yet those who are impacted cannot increase their service charges reasonably.

This is the ripple effect that the damn government must expect with such a huge increase.

Rescue Malaysia.
written by Raja Chulan, June 07, 2008 10:38:18
Buses run on water?

You umno morons must be kidding
written by InEffective, June 07, 2008 11:00:59
Its the minister who should be warned.
(perhaps a rotan is also called for)
written by bodohland_citizen, June 07, 2008 11:27:56
when you increase the price of gasoline, you must also expect the chain reactions. By the way, which school you insane policy makers attended to ?
written by malsia1206, June 07, 2008 11:33:59
This Minister is a joke in the Federal Cabinet. If these bus operators follow your warning, they'd all go broke and there will be no buses left on the streets. This type of Minister with this mentality talks cock without offering a solution. It's their bread and butter. It does not take a kindergarten kid to know this warning does not work. He thinks he's warning his own kids.
written by future, June 07, 2008 11:41:50
Even a Third World Countries Ministers does not issue such a
stupid public statement and here in Malaysia is a norm.
written by joeawk, June 07, 2008 11:44:11
It just can't be. Busmen are not into charity and without increasing fare, I doubt they can make money, even if they have to wait for full load before they depart for their destination. For lorry, goods will be left un transported if rates are not allowed to go up.

With this round of fuel proice hike, everythings else will follow. Private sector salary will have to be adjusted. Those earning less than 1,000, add 500, those less than 2000, add 300. Less than 3, 000, add 200 and the rest add 100. Inflation will affect those earning less than 3000 seriously, at least 10-15%. The rich will be affected less.
written by JJ Kuyong, June 07, 2008 11:55:43
Are you out of your mind?...flinstone minister! you increased the petrol and diesel surely the bus fare has to increased.....don't you know even a bit about economics theories, if yes then i would not mind to sent to you my children to give you an intensive tuition. The bus or taxi or any moving vehicles on the road are run by either petrol or diesel, thus with the higher prices of both products how you expect them to maintain their fares as before.....bODOH BETUL Lah Kamu ni. Macam ni mana boleh jadi pentadbir negara! Bagus awak semua resign lah!
written by nothing less, June 07, 2008 12:15:13
What do you expect, the bus run on UMNO fatwa or politicians gas ( fart) and urine. its basic economics, you raise the fuel prices, i'm sure it will sure to have the compounding effect on all things. What can you expect from UMNO ministers trying to dictate major economic policies. Even the goreng pisang makcik can tell.
written by densemy, June 07, 2008 12:27:50
"I think it is wise. This is the first time we have come to grips with the subsidy system," Domestic Trade Minister Shahrir Samad said of this week's unpopular decision to cut extensive fuel subsidies."

I'll agree with him, with the alteration of the statement to read. "This is the first time we have come to grips with ANYTHING"
written by Braino, June 07, 2008 12:34:03
One of the good side of Malaysia is you can enjoy a joke every other day...sometimes if you are lucky 3 or 4 jokes come out in a day...Malaysia "mesti" boleh!

Bunch of jokers!
written by panca, June 07, 2008 12:52:38
M'sian minister warns public transport and school bus operators not to raise prices

Public transport and school bus operators warn M'sian Prime Minister and ministers not to raise prices of fuel

These operators are not with the iron bowl and are not being chauffeuered to and from Putrajaya!
written by Braino, June 07, 2008 13:02:03
The frightening part is these are the same people who are managing our country's resources!....God help Malaysia!
written by sampalee, June 07, 2008 16:51:59
WE MUST BE SINCERE WHEN WE PLEAD WITH GOD TO INTERVENE.For those who trusted politicians,Tuhan reveal they are the worst kind.When in desperation,one turn to God and when solution finally come,we can no longer DENY the existence and ultimate power of Tuhan.Allah's will be done,whether we submit to it or not.Understanding this is ALL.
written by gundohing, June 07, 2008 16:57:09
Minister talking cock for cheap publicity. Well, we don't buy it! Common sense tells you when you increase the price of petrol, the cost of transport will surely increase - get that in your thick head! Bodoh!!!
written by Sabahfan, June 07, 2008 17:10:18
JUST WHO were the moronic idiotic voters who voted this stupid minister into power? apart from the phantom voters of course !!

To these stupid malaysian voters, congratulate yourselves now please...

ha ha ha ha haa ha ha ah aha ha ha ha ha ha ha smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by budakindia, June 07, 2008 19:14:59
"I think it is wise. This is the first time we have come to grips with the subsidy system."
======================================================= ===================

Wise? How can a moron measure how wise he is? Care to enligten me ? Wise in what? Being the stupid moron who announced the death penalty on our economy and on our lives?
written by hiro, June 07, 2008 20:20:58
Right. So the Entrepreneur Minister expects that just because cost of buying diesel remains the same (which by the way he is wrong anyway) the fairs should not go up. Will the Minister subsidise the increase in cost when the operators need spare parts or send their fleet for service? These parts are going to come from somewhere else. Guess what - those transportation costs have increased.

Sharir has just gone from being somewhat of a marverick ala John McCain to public enemy. Coming in grips with inflation? What the frack does that mean? More like BN filthy rich politicians gripping the public by the balls.
written by Catharsis, June 07, 2008 20:55:49
"Bus companies warned not to increase fares........." HOW CAN YOU EXPECT THE BUS COMPANIES TO REFRAIN FROM INCREASING THEIR FARES WHEN FUEL INCREASES ARE BEYONG THEIR CONTROL.

BUT WHAT IS WITHIN YOUR CONTROL IS TO REDUCE YOUR PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION, SPECIFIC AND OTHER GENERAL GOVERNMENTAL EXPENSES - WHY AREN'T YOU IN THE GOVT SHOW US THE GOOD EXAMPLE BY CUTTING COST AND ADOPTING AN AUSTERITY DRIVE - TALK IS CHEAP MR PM IF YOU ARE STILL MAINTAINING YOUR JET WHICH IS HARDLY USED

written by Daryl, June 07, 2008 22:30:37
Before the Federal Gevernment forget something... Oil and gas provide everything that move or need energy in today's world. You cannot cover everything when you try to subsidize this and that and your implementation is still being performed by the same corrupt officials.

Do you trust your child with a child molester or wine with an alcoholics or a corrupt officials with money and potential to be corrupted? The answer is no to all...
written by denkoh, June 08, 2008 00:06:55
written by Compadre45, June 08, 2008 00:09:29
Unmo Pirates are definately enjoying these fuel price hikes when there is no check and balance, no transparency , no public financial statement reports , raped judiciary , incapable ACA , anything is possible for these morons to rob and rape the rakyat and nation before 2012 election. This is the only big chance they have !!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by denkoh, June 08, 2008 00:14:16

MALAYSIANS OH MALAYSIANS, YOU HAVE BEEN FCUKED BY
written by jting, June 08, 2008 01:01:43
How to compare prices with Spore where their public transportation were damn good, here in Msia, every tom dick & harry also got their own car... not becos we have plenty of money, becos our transportation sucks...

i still wonder why we have minister who's stupid enough to make such comparison. i would rather they not say anything then talk rubbish... minister, pls come talk to my ass... i could spare you some nice gas..
written by shiokguy, June 08, 2008 05:05:35
Without Prejudice
Do you have a Economic Degree?

Entrepreneur Development Minister Noh Omar said on Friday: "I would like to stress that public transport and school bus operators are not affected by the fuel hike because they are entitled to diesel at RM1.43 (60 cents) per litre and they are given fleet cards.

As an Entrepreneur Development Minister, and this is your comment? I wonder how can you make a decision of development if you cannot even understand a basis common sense impact of fuel hike. Hello, my 12 years old nephew can explain it so well..

The operator does not need to eat food? Does not need to use electricity? huh?
I see, they just drive the bus around and around whole day! Doing nothing else?

The bus does not need spare part? Does not need mechanic? Does not need driver?

You F******* brain is so shallow, and I wonder how can you be a minister?
Politic =

Blog = http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by shiokguy, June 08, 2008 05:09:32
Politic = http://shiokguy.********.com/search/label/Politic

Sorry the missing link

Blog = http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by joejoe, June 08, 2008 08:24:50
TOTALLY USELESS .... DOES THE STOOPID MINISTER EVEN KNOW WHETHER THE FLEET CARDS ARE REALLY USED BY ALL BUS OPERATORS OR ARE THEY ALSO GIVEN ONLY TO CRONIES?

DOWN WITH THIS STOOPID BARANG NAIK GOMEN. EVEN THE LEVEL OF STOOPIDITY HAS GONE UP.

BN = BODOH NAIK