Shocking state of schools in Malaysia PDF Print
Saturday, 07 June 2008 10:22

One-third of Malaysia's schools do not have water and electricity, a minister said, pledging to fix the problem by 2010.

Deputy Education Minister Razali Ismail told Bernama news agency that all 9,806 schools in the country will have access to basic utilities by the end of a four-year education development plan.

Mr Razali said 70 per cent of schools in the country already have access to water and electricity.

"The other 30 per cent were mostly located in rural areas, but we are confident the problem will be solved by 2010."

Malaysia has implemented a series of five-year development plans with the aim of reaching developed-nation status by 2020.

In the last national blueprint, announced in 2006, the government said RM1.15 billion ($482 million) would be spent to upgrade schools. — AFP

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by krepot, June 07, 2008 10:25:29
Where are all the Smart Schools? Where is the billions spent on it? How smart is a school, without water and electricity?

After 50 years, if we can't even get that basic necessity right, what is there left to say? I am embarrassed to be a Malaysian!
written by Concerned_Citizen, June 07, 2008 10:27:11
If the money is channled to the right purposes, all schools would not face any dumb problems long ago!

1.15 billion for upgrading schools?? R u nuts?? Didn't you take the commission involved???

The figure should be much lower far from this figure!!!
written by Raja Chulan, June 07, 2008 10:36:11
Where have all the money gone?
Into the pockets of Umnoleechers
Where have all the royalties gone?
Into the pockets of Umnoleechers
Get them
written by temenggong, June 07, 2008 10:38:30
This is a small matter. Just send a man to space and buy Brickendonbery Estate for our athletes. Now thats more important!
written by kupas, June 07, 2008 10:51:11
Mr minister,

no need to go to the schools in rural areas - even the ones in KL and selangor are bad conditions- toilets not working and in dire needs for repairs, run down school furniture etc.

If you ask the principal as to whether there is govt allocation for repairs and maintainence - the standard replies - PTA should organize fund raising and take care of the repairs- meaning public pays for the maintainence.

Wonder where is the budget for education goes ? Hopefully not 50% goes to educate the children of the people walking the corridors of power overseas as the local education had failed miserably to make Malaysian children world class professionals.

written by InEffective, June 07, 2008 11:04:45
great accomplishments in education - our children really have outstanding administrators ensuring their learning futures.

Keep it up - lets give them some tan sri's and tun awards as well.
(our children will bless you)
written by Rohani Hitam, June 07, 2008 11:07:36
In the year 2008 some schools do not have basic utilities. Shocking and despicable. Reflection of a poorly managed ministry and government. The longer these idiots run the country the more money go to their pockets for useless purposes. Arguably a third world government with ancient mentality. Wondering what Singapore think of us calling ourselves developing nation.
written by bodohland_citizen, June 07, 2008 11:25:40
And the same are championing the superiority of our education system. They still don't see the reality, the reality that these tyrants are raping the sovereignity of the country in the name of Ketuanan Melayu. This country is screwed already. period.
written by cheekhiaw, June 07, 2008 11:32:36
It is easy to see if a school has enough facilities like water. Any fool can do that. But not as easy to see if a school has decent teachers and management.

If you have an education minister that can see the former but not the latter, he is not much better than a fool...
written by future, June 07, 2008 11:34:47
When they change teaching maths and science to english they can afford to spend billion of ringgit.After spending so much the end result is below expectation. Today school in rural areas does not even have the basic needs. To the Minister stop the arrogant chest thumping statement and please carried out your job arcordingly.
written by Oldmantalks, June 07, 2008 11:45:50
About 30% of schools in Malaysia has no water and electricity and these problems can be solved by 2010. Since these poor schools had been identified and these needs are very basic why should it take so many years to solve. Why can't these needs be solved before the end of 2008? If the authorities are really serious wanting to fix these problems, they can be solved within 3 months.
written by cheekhiaw, June 07, 2008 11:49:40
That's because it takes fools much longer to figure that out...

written by nothing less, June 07, 2008 12:17:46
Send more people to space. See whether you can a free one way ticket.
written by densemy, June 07, 2008 12:37:41
The education system has become the propaganda arm of Islam and as such will fail the needs of a nation which is in desperate need of educated minds

The system is bogged down in a barbaric and archaic philosophy of the 1960's. There is no place for religion and morals in a state run education system... those roles should be dealt with in the home.

But there is a place in the education system for for creative and analytical thinking, freedom of expression and lifestyle education, something that is totally lacking. Consumer rights, road traffic education, learn to swim campaigns are just a few of the things that would be infinitely more useful to this country than morals and religious education
written by Saint, June 07, 2008 12:41:51
95% of the schools will be in Sabah, Sarawak and of course Tamil schools, in the peninsular. UMNO does not care about these people.
written by sarawakian, June 07, 2008 13:15:38
the whole system in Malaysia is so screwed up. from education to finance to economics. i am afraid even Anwar cannot fix the rot if he takes over.

how many people has he got to replace all the heads of so many departments in the country? practically none of them are able or willing to do the right thing on the job as they've been doing practically NOTHING for the last 20-30 years in the government service. can they be expected to become brilliant or hard-working overnight?
written by Lim Lim, June 07, 2008 13:16:53
where did all the budget of billions for all these past years go to??well the answer is rm 30000.00 became rm3000.00!!but the keriskissing uneducated educational minister sought to make play with 'protocol' to sweep every dirty scum under the carpet,mana tak mampus???
written by indianputra, June 07, 2008 14:13:48
The Minister of Education must be sacked and lynched for treating our children this way! What a shame this is happening to Malaysia. The cost of the private jet of Pak Lah could bring water and electricity to hundreds of schools. This is what the BN government has done to Malaysia. Do we need them anymore? Kick them out immediately.
written by justice6, June 07, 2008 14:48:24
still need years to fix this problem??? after all these years ??? this is becos all the minister's children are sent to overseas... using the RAKYAT's money... to all the ministers... hope you all get stroke ..don't die... so that we can throw you all into hole and rot...
written by amjoem, June 07, 2008 15:05:14
The above 19 comments have stated all thay has to be said!
Therefore it is only fair the BN MPs should resign enblock and join and support the PR. Before doing that please wash yourselves of all the sins of the past with soda and bleach.
written by mgeo, June 07, 2008 15:32:34
Many teachers are illiterate. Many others are focused on side money from tuition. Thanks to automatic promottion, the system produces tens of thousands of illiterate "graduates" yearly. Maybe the solution is to open more universities and "smart" schools.
written by nasilemak, June 07, 2008 15:35:09
No wonder our Ministers (esp the one in charge of Education) do not let their children go to our schools.

NO water in toilets!
No electricity to run computer!!
Broken down furniture!!
3rd rate teachers!

I swear I will never again criticize our Ministers on their decision to have their kids educated abroad.

Heck! IF I had a carload of free cash I wouldn't want my kids sent to our schools either!
written by juanglagi, June 07, 2008 16:09:47
Ini "jasa" BN dan DR M dlm 50 tahun and 22 tahun.

Klo air dan letrik utk sekolah pun tidak boleh, apa yg boleh? Twin-tower yg paling tinggi? Taxi ke angkasa yg paling mahal? Minyak yg paling mahal di kalangan negara export minyak?

written by sampalee, June 07, 2008 16:37:44
How to go after umno devil,if our police are controlled by them.The rakyat are so stupid to give them majority in the just completed GE.We F ourselves bigtime.Even for those who voted against umno,it is not enough.you have to make sure your entire family and neighbourhood do the same.Make it foolproof.
written by lynn, June 07, 2008 16:50:02
All these stunts of boleh-ism - tallest towers, first "angkasawan tourist", first teh-tarik in space, crystal mosque, sports complex in UK, sepang circuit, all these "feel good" nonsense reflected how shallow the ex-PM & present PM are. Or maybe they think Malaysians are docile, rural-mentality, fleeting memories. We will tiu tiu for a while, and then, everything forgotten.

None can beat this: no water or power in one third of our schools. WTF? Hishammuddin, why don't you stab yourself repeatedly with your keris? It's not too late, go & do it now.
written by Diz, June 07, 2008 18:13:53
Most of these comments are pretty spot on - if a little harsh in some places. Of course, there is little incentive for our politicians to improve things given that they are unaffected and send their own kids to private/international/foreign schools and unis. This much is pretty clear.

My own feeling is that there is something even more insidious than blatant hypocrisy at work here. The overt islamisation of the SKs (as denesemy points out above) where the ustaz wields more power than the heads seems designed to keep the races apart and to deliberately keep the Malays dumb - in the sense of not questioning anything. At my local school the kids that come top in Agama come bottom in everything else, and vice versa. We could instantly improve the system by abolishing Agama and Moral. This would improve the academic standards of the Malays at a stroke and result in more non-Malays re-entering the system -if that is indeed what the authorities want.

I could cite dozens of outrageously stupid things I hear from my own kids. Just recently the science teacher insisted to the class that evolution was a big lie!! I brought this up with a well-known professor of Physics (he heads the hadhari centre at one of our IPTAs) who confirmed, to my shock and amazement, that the teacher was correct cos it says so in the Qu'ran. How are we ever going to get anywhere close to world-class standards of education when the entire system is controlled by close-minded idealogues? Very, very sad.
written by amoker, June 07, 2008 18:29:01
If the ministry can't decide on B. Melayu or B. Malaysia, how better do you think they would on real issues?
written by budakindia, June 07, 2008 19:09:10
What Hisham is doing all this while? Waving keris and shouting racial remarks? smilies/angry.gif
written by jchew, June 07, 2008 20:19:56
Cuma 3 - 4 minggu dulu ABD berkata Krismuddin had done a very good job! Ha! pui! padan muka! Anank2 krismuddin berlajar di luar negeri. Anak2 semua cabinet semua di luar negeri sebab semua boleh and mampu, sekolah kita, tak boleh! Inilah kesedihan yang berlaku di negara kita.
Kalau nak tenggok muka sebernar menteri2 kita, boleh, di luar negara! Apa yang tak boleh di negara kita akan jadi semua pun boleh di negara lain. Saya sudah ternampak banyak. Bukan bohong.

written by Tom n Jerry, June 07, 2008 21:13:36
Judging from the overall situation,it is imperative that homeschooling becomes the latest and most popular form of education in malaysia in future!We have to learn from the developed nations!Its high time to change everything from food to education to travel and perhaps culture!Just compare with our neighbour Singapore and you can see for yourself the world of difference that is today!We were one nation before!Now we are moving backwards whereas Singapore is fast moving ahead!
written by Tom n Jerry, June 07, 2008 21:37:05
Something is really wrong in our education system!We need complete overhaul if not the leaders of tomorrow wil be worse than those at present!Perhaps we will move backwards to Stone Age or Iron age instead of IT!Smart schools are gimmicks of the leaders to camouflage their weaknesses!Local universities churning out graduates who cant even speak or write in English!how they are to survive in this age of globalisation is beyond my comprehension!
written by InEffective, June 07, 2008 23:57:32
There appears to be a concerted action-plan in our schools and universities to starve our nation's children of the ability for critical thinking and judgment, suppression of opportunities, to ensure compliance and submission to the politicians.

If children are our future, we need to standup for them to ensure they don't fall victims to politicians self-centered-ness and selfishness.

Its the duty and obligation of every malaysian adult and parent to help every child (even if its not your own) to achieve all that they can, all they can be.

Don't let our wonderful diversity of our peoples hurt the children (that only helps our racist-propogating politicians divide us, and hijack the nation's assets and resources)

Tan Sri InEffective...
written by shiokguy, June 08, 2008 05:14:04
What can I said?

If we keep mismanage our education system, it is down down the drain!
My opinion here
1. PSD = http://shiokguy.********.com/2...rship.html
2. University = http://shiokguy.********.com/2...duate.html

Not to late to take some action, let us be proud of our uni again

written by Navigator, June 08, 2008 09:57:48
This is what they reward the bumis for voting them in power all these years? Then they tell us the Malays are still handicapped? When will the Malays open their eyes?
written by lynn, June 08, 2008 10:39:45
Good governance would not fear an educated learned society. M'sia's education system was deliberately implemented to keep people dumb, ignorant & subdued, esp. those who are weak in English are the biggest losers in all round education/knowledge/wisdom. Most research books are in English, information on the net is also in English. The Malays are the biggest losers in this education system in Malaysia. With their inability to think logically, they would not be able to ask the government pertinent questions.

Here is an article I kept which hopefully readers would cut & paste & circulate far & wide Malaysians to stimulate their brains & ponder the situation in Msia:-

HOW TO CONTROL PEOPLE by Charley Reese
http://disc.server.com/Indices/149495.html

The difference between true education and vocational training has been
cleverly blurred. Here are a few tips on how smart people can control
other people. If any of this rings a bell - Well, then wake up!

The first principle of people control is not to let them know you are
controlling them. If people knew, this knowledge will breed resentment
and possibly rebellion, which would then require brute force and terror,
and old fashioned, expensive and not 100 % certain method of control.

It is easier than you think to control people indirectly, to manipulate
them into thinking what you want them to think and doing what you want
them to do.

One basic technique is to keep them ignorant. Educated people are not as
easy to manipulate. Abolishing public education or restricting access to
education would be the direct approach. That would spill the beans. The
indirect approach is to control the education they receive.

It's possible to be a Ph.D., doctor, lawyer, businessman, journalist, or
an accountant, just to name a few examples, and at the same time be an
uneducated person. The difference between true education and vocational
training has been cleverly blurred in our time so that we have people
successfully practicing their vocations while at the same time being
totally ignorant of the larger issues of the world in which they live.

The most obvious symptom is their absence of original thought. Ask them
a question and they will end up reciting what someone else thinks or
thought the answer was. What do they think : well, they never thought about
it. Their education consisted of learning how to use the library and cite
sources.

That greatly simplifies things for the controller because with lots of
money, university endowments, foundations, grants, and ownership of
media, it is relatively easy to control who they will think of as authorities to cite in lieu of doing their own thinking.

Another technique is to keep them entertained. (britney spears, american idol..... ) Roman emperors did not stage circuses and gladiator contests because they didn't have television. We have television because we don't have circuses and gladiator events.

Either way, the purpose is to keep the people's minds focused on entertainment, sports, and peripheral political issues. This way you won't have to worry that they will ever figure out the real issues that allow you to control them.

Just as a truly educated person is difficult to control, so too is an economically independent person.

Therefore, you want to create conditions that will produce people who work for wages, since wage earners have little control over their economic destiny.

You'll also want to control the monetary, credit, and banking systems. This will allow you to inflate the currency and make it next to impossible for wage earners to accumulate capital.

You can also cause periodic deflation to collapse the family businesses, family farms, and entrepreneurs, including independent community banks.

To keep trade unions under control, you just promote a scheme that allows you to shift production jobs out of the country and bring back the products as imports (it is called free trade). This way you will end up with no unions or docile unions.

Another technique is to buy both political parties so that after a while people will feel that no matter whether they vote for Candidate A or Candidate B, they will get the same policies. This will create great apathy and a belief that the political process is useless for effecting real change.

Pretty soon you will have a population that feels completely helpless, and thinks the bad things happening to them are nobody in particular's fault, just a result of global forces or evolution or some other disembodied abstract concept. If necessary, you can offer scapegoats.

Then you can bleed them dry without having to worry overly much that one of them will sneak into your house one night and cut your throat. If you do it right, they won't even know whose throat they are cutting.

Charley Reese
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by lynn, June 08, 2008 10:42:39
The last paragraph, "bleed them dry ..." is now happening in Malaysia in the form of rising prices. But fortunately we know who the culprits are.