India wobbles on fuel hikes after anger, Malaysia firm PDF Print
Friday, 06 June 2008 22:34
KOLKATA, India, June 6 (Reuters) - Protests and strikes over fuel price rises spread across India on Friday despite moves to take the sting out of the hikes, while anger fizzled out in Malaysia as the government stood firm after larger increases.

The governments of the fast-growing Asian nations were the latest to raise subsidised fuel prices this week, following similar moves in Indonesia, Taiwan and Sri Lanka.

Spiralling crude oil prices, which were trading near $130 a barrel on Friday, have driven up the cost of fuel subsidies for many governments to near crippling levels.

Both governments had delayed the decision until now after electoral setbacks, and amid concerns about rising inflation, but in India the strikes, called by communists and opposition parties, seemed as unpopular as the price rises.

"I am totally against the strikes since it is all about politics and faking concerns for people," said young entrepreneur Ishan Ahmed, adding any party in power would have been forced to raise prices.

"I am totally against the strikes since it is all about politics and faking concerns for people," said entrepreneur Ishan Ahmed, adding any government would have had to raise prices.

India increased petrol and diesel prices by around 10 percent, passing on just a fraction of the higher costs its oil companies are paying, and then, with elections looming, tried to cushion the blow by challenging state governments to cut their excise duties and sales taxes.

Several states have announced duty cuts of between around two and five percentage points. Others are expected to follow suit.

Nevertheless, strikes and protests at the fuel price hike -- called by opposition parties and the government's own communist allies -- spread around the country.

Transport was paralysed in the large states of Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal, as well as parts of Orissa, as mobs of opposition supporters besieged bus stations, sat on rail tracks and pulled people out of taxis.

Many businesses, including software firms, were closed in Kolkata and Hyderabad, a city competing with Bangalore to be India's Silicon Valley.

The problems facing the government less than a year before elections were underlined on Friday with news inflation rose to a fresh 3-½ year high of 8.24 percent.

Rising fuel prices could push the figure above 9 percent, analysts say, to a 13-year high.

But the protests have not gone down well with large swathes of the electorate, who say they are only making a difficult situation worse. 

"I am totally against the strikes since it is all about politics and faking concerns for people," said entrepreneur Ishan Ahmed, adding any government would have had to raise prices.

India increased petrol and diesel prices by around 10 percent, passing on just a fraction of the higher costs its oil companies are paying, and then, with elections looming, tried to cushion the blow by challenging state governments to cut their excise duties and sales taxes.

Several states have announced duty cuts of between around two and five percentage points. Others are expected to follow suit.

Nevertheless, strikes and protests at the fuel price hike -- called by opposition parties and the government's own communist allies -- spread around the country.

Transport was paralysed in the large states of Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal, as well as parts of Orissa, as mobs of opposition supporters besieged bus stations, sat on rail tracks and pulled people out of taxis.

Many businesses, including software firms, were closed in Kolkata and Hyderabad, a city competing with Bangalore to be India's Silicon Valley.

The problems facing the government less than a year before elections were underlined on Friday with news inflation rose to a fresh 3-½ year high of 8.24 percent.

Rising fuel prices could push the figure above 9 percent, analysts say, to a 13-year high.

But the protests have not gone down well with large swathes of the electorate, who say they are only making a difficult situation worse. 

He will detail steps for state bodies to save costs, widen the social safety net for the poor, increase the number of price-controlled items and improve public transport, state news agency Bernama quoted the premier as telling senior editors.

Earlier in the day, two demonstrations planned in Kuala Lumpur immediately after Friday prayers fizzled out with more police, reporters and onlookers showing up than protesters.

Opposition leaders said there will be more protests culminating in the biggest demonstration yet when they plan to bring 100,000 people into the city centre on July 12.

"There's real anger out there," Lim Guan Eng, a leader of the opposition Democratic Action party, told Reuters.

Abdullah has been trying to fend off a challenge to his leadership from within the ruling party and to prevent defections to the opposition that could topple his government.

"The 40 percent increase is suicidal for the government, I think their days are numbered," said political analyst Yahya Ismail. (Reporting by Soo Ai Peng and Liau Y-Sing in Kuala Lumpur, Bappa Majumdar in New Delhi and Jonathan Allen in Mumbai; Writing by Simon Denyer; Editing by David Fogarty and Jerry Norton)

http://uk.reuters.com

written by HamChak, June 06, 2008 23:03:39
Oh, I love you BN.
Keep on increasing the Petrol.
The Raayat will keep on voting you clowns in.
They love to be punish by you for their own
Stupidity for voting the BN.
written by chuckmoore, June 06, 2008 23:17:53
Look at how that pro-capitalist Reuters article one sidedly quotes entrepreneurs who's business was temporarily affected by the strike.
written by ez24get, June 06, 2008 23:23:50
Getting rid of the subsidy system is a wise thing to do. In fact, it should be done decades ago. The subsidy system is one of the many things that have been mismanaged by the incompetent BN government for the past 3-4 decades.

Malaysia is blessed with many natural resources. For the past 50 years and with the current high prices of petroleum, natural resources such as palm oil, rubber, tin, aquaculture, forestry products, etc, Malaysia’s coffer should be brimming with money.

The money could have been used to build highways, schools for every race, reduce tariffs on cars including national cars, reduce prices of utilities, road taxes, personal income taxes, food, school fees, etc.

In a well managed economy like this, there is no need for subsidy.

But instead of using the nation’s coffer to build and provide roads, highways, schools, reduce car tariffs, cheap electricity, cheap food, school fees, etc, the BN government splurged on wastages and non-prioritised projects. Lopsided contracts were given to cronies to squeeze the citizens even more.

That’s why the subsidy system came into being – to relieve the financial burden of the citizens. The subsidy system in Malaysia exists only because of the deeply entrenched crony system – it goes hand in hand!

If the BN government want to get rid of the subsidy system of oil it must also get rid of the crony system. It cannot just get rid of the subsidy system but retain the blood sucking crony system with escalating prices on toll (toll concessionaires), electricity (TNB), water (Syabas), telephone (Telekom), rice & flour (Bernas), Astro, excise duties on cars (Proton).

It is not only wrong but it is a double whammy on the citizens! The citizens have to pay high prices for oil and for daily basic necessities for tolls, electricity, communication, entertainment and foodstuffs.

It's like throwing the citizens to the wolves!

Look at the obscene amount of profits made year after year by these toll concessionaires, TNB, Water Authorities, Telekom, Astro, Bernas, Proton, etc, by milking the citizens who have no choice but to use the services of these monopolistic or oligopolistic companies!

The subsidy was there in the first place to protect the poor citizens because of the secretive, lopsided agreements signed by the corrupt BN government with their cronies.

Now, the subsidy which is the only protection left for the citizens is removed without dismantling the blood sucking crony system by reducing the prices of tolls, electricity, water, foodstuffs, cars, etc, is it not the BN government is abandoning the citizens to be eaten by wolves?

The 40 percent increase in petrol price is not only suicidal for the government but also for the citizens!
written by harryo, June 06, 2008 23:30:15
The difference: India is open and democratic to voice opinion. Malaysia, OSA, ISA, Water Guns etc. etc. etc. You call this democracy. Another reason, can't get anything from the govt and therefore go on with the tough live.
written by alberttan, June 06, 2008 23:36:45
I never believed that stupidity can be absorbed thru osmosis, but Sharir has proven me wrong. Freaking bunch of UMNOputras in the Cabinet celebrating and protecting their immoral new found wealth, forcing economically borderline Malaysians with children to find ways to survive in whatever way they can, especially the larger extended Malay families.

I sincerely wish that the 50% Malays, Sabahans and Sarawakians that voted for UMNO, especially the Rembau folks that voted in an idiotic Oxford good for nothing "graduate" who has proven himself a Khinzir Jahanam countless times, are out celebrating the untold miseries forced upon millions and millions of Malaysian parents and their children at the stroke of a pen. I fear the impact of "TYPHOON BN-Najis" (BN=Buat Naik) on Malaysia is gonna be worse than "Typhoon Nargis" on Myanmar; terrible as TYPHOON BN-NAJIS is an UMNO idiots-made self inflicted typhoon perpepuated on a helpless population by a handful of self serving "Ketuanan Melayu" greedy UMNOputras in Cabinet and the chief perpetrator in Petronas, Hassan Merican (aka Penternak Khinzir2 Jahanam, where do you think the profits went?).

The Cabinet is much worse than the Myanmar generals, at least the generals did not create typhoon Nargis. TDM is like his best buddy Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe, Tun need not offer Mugabe asylum in Malaysia lah, Tun have put in place a clueless equivalent to lead Malaysia and is responsible for unleashing the immoral and sinful Typhoon BN-Najis on Malaysia. Tun ought to be ashamed of yourself thinking you are god's gift to the Malays by selling them your "Ketuanan Melayu" bs knowing full well that your real agenda was "Ketuanan UMNO". Tun ought to be proud of the UMNOputras Tun have spawned to carry out genocide on the Malays themselves. The only self made calamity EVER to have 40% increase in cost of living is Robert Mugabe's Zimbabwe, Zimbabwean dollars is worth less than toilet paper these days, a million Zimbabwean dollars cannot even buy a loaf of bread. Looks like our Malaysian ringgit will be heading that direction but why should Tun care, your sinful wealth is tucked away in Singapore USD accounts. Tun better have a great story to spin when Tun meet your maker soon, maybe KETUANAN IBLIS? They will sure roll out the red carpet treatment for you, after all it was your practices, policies and choices that have "introduced" so many new Malay members to hell.

As for Abdullah Ahmad Mugabe, stop talking and preaching nonsense, step aside for Allah's sake before you join Tun in hell, along with your Deputy Rosmah and her standin Najib. It is EVIL for you and your whole freaking bunch of UMNOputras to lie with straight faces on TV after robbing millions of the poorer Malays blind, you are just adding insult to injury. For you to be caught lying so many times (not to mention sleeping), I really marvel at your shamelessness in trying to preach Islam Hadhari to Muslims.

May the Almighty provide for all who need it, I sincerely do not know how my friends, the kampong folks and 1.15 million civil servants are going to cope with typhoon BN-NAJIS, especially parents with children. I wish Malaysia will be forever peaceful, but I fear the worst in July and August when parents run out of money. With a stroke of the pen, AAB and his UMNOputras will do what TDM in 22 years only did for a few thousands in UMNO, show millions HELL and hope they will follow.

May all UMNOputras burn in hell, forced to eat only the haram ringgits they have and then pass out the money undigested, for eternity. I pray to our Almighty to bless all Malaysians and to blame all haram acts carried out by desperate Malaysians on the Cabinet and TDM who created the desperate Malaysians.

Haram acts done to survive are halal in my books so long as you do not harm others. Beg or borrow from friends/family if you have to as Malaysians are generous and willing to help, our Almighty and fellow Malaysians will make sure you and your children will never go hungry. I urge all Malaysians to give generously (limit to RM1 a beggar so we can help more). DO NOT BE JUDGEMENTAL during this typhoon BN-NAJIS atrocity, teach our desperate Malaysians to beg, and not to steal or rob. Begging is NOT shameful nor sinful in desperate times, in fact, it can help save your life and save our desperate fellow Malaysians from eternal hell.
written by budakindia, June 06, 2008 23:52:30
Keep increasing everything and one fine day he'll be like Mussolini! smilies/angry.gif
written by clarity, June 07, 2008 02:36:57
Yesterday at ahotel in Shah Alam seems UMNO had a meeting to find out how to win back the people's confidence. Turned out that they were all preesing foe the PM to go. As usual Najib gave his full support to the PM. Now under the present circumstance is at his weakest and yet Najib stil don't make his move. it just guarantees thatPM has a hold on him. That being the case, KuLi and partner may come in very soon and if that happens might be too late for Anwar.
written by PAKRAK, June 07, 2008 02:37:02
Badawi, Samy Vellu, Ong Kah Teng & Karpal Singh ada meeting semalam.

Badawi cakap: "Lembu punya harga sudah naik kita orang Melayu banyak susah".
Samy Vellu cakap: "Kambing punya harga sudah naik, kita orang India banyak susah".
Ong Kah Teng cakap: "Babi punya harga sulah naik, kita olang China manyak susah".
Karpal Singh cakap: "Kalau saya punya naik, lu tiga orang lagi susah".
written by SamBall, June 07, 2008 04:34:00
Nice one PAKRAK

The BN obituary has been written. Good riddance.

Pak Lah, you are the man!
written by Fernz, June 07, 2008 05:18:57
What worries me now is that nobody seems to be mentioning the Fuel Price Formula. Badawi clearly mentioned it on TV. Pls refer to the Malaysiakini video on YouTube.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=ArmfidsIzVk

If so, why is the Domestic Trade Minister, Shahrir, pledging that the fuel price at the pump will not go up for some time to come. Perhaps, he also means it will not go down either. That seems to be against the formula announced by Badawi. Watch the video above.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com

written by A MI, June 07, 2008 06:16:45
Keep increasing everything and one fine day he'll be like Mussolini!

Just what we need. Napoleonism already in place at all leves of the gome and even public universities thanks to TDM! and now this.
written by dassky2000, June 07, 2008 19:15:59
BN is digging it's own grave