Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Back to basics: 1968-2008

Back to basics: 1968-2008 PDF Print
Friday, 06 June 2008 15:19

Because I was earning only half the money you are earning today, I could only buy a RM9,800 imported Mitsubishi Galant 1600 and a RM18,000 single-storey bungalow overlooking the South China Sea way out in the boondocks.

1968 to 2008, that is a not that long a time. That is merely 40 years and is a flick of an eyelid in terms of civilisations. So let us look at 1968. Then let us fast-forward 40 years to 2008. What I want you to see is how better life is today compared to what we had to go through 40 years ago. Maybe, once you realise this, you can then enjoy your weekend and will not allow the recent petrol price increase and the doubling of the price of rice dampen your spirit.

In 1968, salaries were only half what they are today. So that is an improvement of sorts. Today, policemen are earning double what they earned 40 years ago (which means corruption in the police force has practically been eliminated). So goes the same for labourers and university graduates. Everyone, today, is earning double what we earned 40 years ago.

Okay, maybe 40 years ago petrol was only about RM0.20 per litre compared to almost RM3.00 today -- and maybe more than RM4.00 by August. But life can’t revolve just around the price of petrol. There are many other things we must also take into consideration in coming to the conclusion whether, today, life is better, or worse, compared to 40 years ago.

In 1968, you had to fork out RM3,000 to buy a lower-end car such as a Volkswagen. A ‘sporty’ car would set you back RM5,000. And if you wanted to drive around in style, then be prepared to suffer a damage of RM18,000 for a Mercedes Benz. And if you had no money but still needed a simple means of transportation, then for a few hundred Ringgit you could zip around on a silly Honda Cub.

Though RM18,000 for the Mercedes Benz sounds very cheap, actually it was quite a lot of money to pay for a car considering that, for that same amount of money, you could buy a house -- or two houses if you are prepared to live in a middle-class neighbourhood like Subang Jaya or Petaling Jaya. And if you lived in a ‘third class’ town like Seremban, Ipoh, Kuantan, Muar, etc., then your house could cost as much as your RM3,000 Volkswagen.

So, RM3,000 for a lower-end car or RM5,000 for something better or RM18,000 for a luxury limousine was not cheap back in 1968. That was the price of a house. We used to call them ‘house on wheels’, and for good reason as well. Can you see how unfortunate we were 40 years ago? Plus, 40 years ago, we were earning only half the salaries you are earning today.

It was a few years later before I could afford to buy my first car, an imported Mitsubishi Galant 1600, which cost me RM9,800 (a lot of money to pay for a car in 1972). This was followed, two years later, by my first house, which cost me RM18,000.

Yes, it was a cheap house, a single-storey bungalow overlooking the South China Sea in Kuala Terengganu. But then 40 years ago our salaries were only half what they are today. So we did not really have that much money to spend. Today, you will be earning double what I was earning 40 years ago. So, today, you have twice the amount of money I had 40 years ago.

Because I was earning only half the money you are earning today, I could only buy a RM9,800 imported Mitsubishi Galant 1600 and a RM18,000 single-storey bungalow overlooking the South China Sea way out in the boondocks (tempat jin bertendang, as the Malays would say). I could not afford a house in Kuala Lumpur.

Can you see how poor we were, then, compared to you, today, who are earning double the salary we were earning 40 years ago? Today, you do not need to buy a cheap RM9,800 imported Mitsubishi Galant 1600. Because, today, you are earning double the salary we were earning 40 years ago, you can buy a RM100,000 car, and there are so many makes and models to choose from on top of that. Today, you do not need to buy a cheap single-storey bungalow overlooking the South China Sea in Kuala Terengganu, so far from civilisation. Because, today, you are earning double the salary we were earning 40 years ago, you can afford to buy a RM380,000 terrace house in Selangor, far from the salty sea air that will rust all the metal in your house, plus rust away your car on top of that.

Can you see how fortunate you are today compared to those of us 40 years ago who could earn only half the salary you are earning today?

As follows is an e-mail I received of a forwarded message. I am still trying to find out who wrote this piece and will credit the writer accordingly once I do find out. Nevertheless, this piece by the unknown writer makes good reading and I thought I would share it with you.

p.s. The writer is Aneed Anand

They say curiosity kills the cat. I so hope this particular phrase is not true today because, for the love of God, I am very curios.

The front page of The Star today shows a picture of our PM and a caption saying, “We try our best to help the people. We cannot satisfy everyone”. Below that there is a portion showing the changes. The most interesting change is the rebate of RM625 a year for private vehicles with the capacity of below 2000cc.

Just to let you guys know, I was educated in Malaysia, in fact in Sabah, and am not too proud of my achievements as a student but the education provided to me has not failed to provide me with basic counting and thinking abilities. Let’s look at a simple example of how ridiculous this price hike is.

We all know that foreign cars are taxed to protect Proton’s interest in the market and the taxes are pretty expensive. The issue is, we can’t seem to put sniff out the exact amount taxed because the taxation system is sophisticated that it actually takes into consideration the make of the vehicle, capacity, and many other factors. Instead of confusing ourselves even more lets just take a simple car, which can’t be taxed much due to our trade agreements with Japan , and compare how this fuel price hike actually turns out.

As of last month a Toyota Vios would ‘cause a damage’ of about RM 89,000

In the international market, a Toyota Vios is about USD 19,000.

USD 19,000 = RM 62,700 (using the indicative rates of USD 1 = RM 3.30).

That makes Malaysian Vios owners pay an extra RM 26,300.

This RM 26,300 should be cost of operations, profit and tax because the transportation costs have been factored in to the USD 19,000.

RM 26,300 or RM 625 per year translates to a Vios being used for 42.08 years.

I do understand that the RM 625 is a rebate given by the government, but it also means that one has to use the Vios for 42.08 years just to make back the amount paid in taxes for the usage of a foreign car. Would anyone use any kind of car for that long?

Now, with these numbers in front of us, does the subsidy sound like a subsidy or does it sound like a penalty? This just seems to be a heavy increment in our daily cost of living as we are not only charged with high car taxes but also with a drastic increase in fuel price.

With all the numbers listed out, I urge all Malaysians to join me in analyzing the situation. Car taxation is government profit, fuel sales is Petronas’ (GLC - Government Linked Company) profit, which translates into government profit. The government may ridicule us Malaysians by saying look at the world market and fuel price worldwide. Please, we are Malaysians, we fought of the British, had a international port in the early centuries (Malacca), home to a racially mixed nation and WE ARE NOT STUPID!!!

We know the international rates are above the USD 130/barrel. We understand the fact that the fuel prices are increasing worldwide and we also know that major scientists are still contradicting on why this phenomenon is happening. Some blame Bush and his plunders around the world and some blame climate change and there are others who say petroleum ‘wells’ are getting scarce.

Again we go back to numbers. One barrel or crude oil is 159 litres. And approximately 46-47% of a barrel of crude oil will turn out to be the fuel that we use in our vehicles.

46% of 159 = 73.14 litres.

And at the current rate of RM 2.70/litre, this constitutes to RM 197.48 of fuel per barrel of crude oil. This is only 46% of the barrel, mind you. There is another 54% that are still refined and traded in the markets. These products include bitumen, kerosene, and natural gases and so many more.

Using the indicative value of RM 3.30 = USD 1 (it is actually RM3.26 today), we get that a barrel of crude oil produces USD 59.84 worth of fuel. And this makes a balance of USD 70.16 that has not been accounted for. In actual fact, we still pay for this as they are charged in the forms of fuel surcharge by airlines and road taxes for the building of road (because they use the tar/bitumen) and many more excuse charging us but let us just leave all that out of our calculations.

USD 59.84 compared to a barrel of crude oil, which is approximately USD 130, turns out to be 46% of a barrel as well. So this is where I got curios. Where is the subsidy if we are paying 46% of the price of a barrel of crude oil when the production of petrol/barrel of crude oil is still only 46%?

Now, the government has a very ugly predicament in front of them. The taxation of foreign cars to protect Proton has been deemed unfair by these calculations and the price of fuel is currently at world market price. So I hope our PM retracts his statement in The Star as it seems like a joke after all these calculations. Who is helped by this move? Not the poor. Not even the rich. Everyone is affected. Cost of living rises and everyone will feel the pinch.

As far as I know, only the politicians who live in Putrajaya and come for their Parliament meetings in Kuala Lumpur (approximately 60+ km) are the ones to gain as they claim their fuel and toll charges from the money of the RAKYAT. It is so disappointing to see this happen time and time again to the Malaysian public, where they are deceived by the propaganda held by the politicians and the controls they have over the press.

Comments (141)Add Comment
written by alpha100, June 06, 2008 15:28:51
As I have said that if our present goverment is honest and trustworthy i doubt if rakyat mind the price hike. But as it is, this goverment is perceived as dishonest and untrustworthy. So how to accept the price hike when we wonder where the savings going to go to!
agree 532
written by sjs, June 06, 2008 15:32:53
It is confirmed, instead of the government subsidizing the people; the people has been all this while subsidizing them, maintaining their posh life-styles, while they were keeping out their treacherous life-styles from the people, unless exposed!
agree 418
written by CHEERFUL Joo, June 06, 2008 15:35:39
Honest speaking we the rakyat all the while subsidies the moron of BN and UMNO. With the hike of petrol, the BN will gain more. For those who vote BN due to your own selfishness now everyone suffer.

Again for those stupid idiot who compare our oil price with non oil producing country and doing the conversion rate.... You are the most stupid person on earth.
agree 295
written by teo siew chin, June 06, 2008 15:37:30
"What I want you to see is how better life is today compared to what we had to go through 40 years ago."
----------------------------------------

errrr, if such a comparison has to be invoked (and it always is by the elders smilies/grin.gif) do we have to go as far back as say...when they had to rub sticks for fire?

and what was the political propaganda like those years? has the deception improved too?
written by semut, June 06, 2008 15:47:52
Corpetro wrote:
saya yg paling terkena bila minyak naik ni....ini disebabkan saya berulang alik dari cyberjaya ke melaka. Skrang ni pun belanja minyak tol saya pi keje rm 1000 sebulan....itu minyak harga rm1.92 je....aku rasa klu dengan rate skrang ni rm 2.70 mau kat rm 1500 untuk minyak kereta je!!!! kerajaan bg subsidi rm625 setahun tu cuma belanja minyak saya setengah bulan.

isteri saya pun x sanggup tgk saya sakit poket ujung bulan, malam tadi beliau buat keputusan untuk berenti belajar. dan kami akan pindah balik ke Seri Kembangan ujung bulan ni. Satu keputusan yg amat menyedihkan, tapi kami terpaksa menerimanya. Nak duduk asrama, anak saya nak letak mana pula...tak terjaga. Satu keluarga menangis mlm tadi. isteri nangis sebab dia kena berenti belajar, saya nangis sebab terharu dengan keputusan isteri, anak aku nangis sebab tgk mak ayah dia nangis...terima kasih kerajaan malaysia....

Untuk keluarga yg One Man income mcm saya ni, sure banyak effek...

Tariff elekrik pun akan naik tidak lama lagi, berikutan diesel naik rm 1.....ahhh...malas nak pk apa lagi yg akan naik....

he's my friend..the new generation..all of us are new..fresh basic salary..DAMN!!!
agree 220
written by jchew, June 06, 2008 15:49:43
When a Goverment is corrupted, rakyat malaysia will pay the price.

I guess when the corrupted gov cannot afford, they steal from the rakyat.. I sinscrely hope that PR will take chare and do the right thing, enough is enough.
agree 133
written by malaysian2008, June 06, 2008 15:57:20
We don't mind paying unsusidied petrol, but where are the saving goto is our worried ?

If the BN bon't boast their image and spent on mega white elephant projects and fill their cronies pocket, we don't mind paying the real petrol price. But the wasteful projects are only pocket the cronies and suffer the Rakyat, that is what we don't agrred. In short, we feel the present BN govt. for the past 50 years are not a considerate govt, but a whole bunch of get rich quick schemes project for cronies with the rakyat taxes.

Only the MP and minister are not affected in the rise of cost of living, they can always increase their pay through parliment. But the rakyat and govt. servants will hardly hit. they can't ask for increment and allowance.

Look at what new PR state govt. finding on all previous BN govt. wasteage and you know what we can save to subsidise the rakyat. we can do with unsusidies petrol but the govt, should be able to subsidies on public transportation/other utilities bill.

look what is report on NST. the thais love bodowi. "Although Malaysia has reduced the subsidy, fuel is still cheaper in the country than it is in Thailand.

Suriani Sulaiman, a trader, said she was glad that the Malaysian government had lifted the ban.

"This shows that the Malaysian government, especially the prime minister, is concerned about us Thai people.

"We have no other need from the government except to allow us to buy fuel here," said the 38-year-old woman from Waeng."
written by kl_wong, June 06, 2008 15:58:00
Dear RPK

You are dammed right "We Are Not Stupid".
But current goverment treat us like a Stupid Fool Rakyat.
Or the Goverment want us to be a Stupid Fool like we never go to school before.
I do feel like the goverment telling us, "I want you to be a stupid fool, so what you gonna do about it?"
Our votes is not enough to make PR to be the goverment because the BN really has a stupid fools that vote blindly to make the BN goverment.
I am angry, but I can only wait for next election.
written by ingolstadt, June 06, 2008 16:02:08
Barisan Nasional owns Petronas, every single drop of crude oil harvested in the country belongs to Malaysians, yet it was all Petronas' property, sold to Malaysians, 'subsidized' by the government using Malaysian's money, and Malaysians paid the 'International Market Value' to Petronas for petrol, that's harvested from our backyard. And the profits of Petronas, which will not be revealed, goes back to the shareholders and owners of Petronas, which merely translate to cronies, in the Corridoor of Power = Barisan Nasional

So, they're infact earning more, coupled with TNB, Telekom, JBA, MAS, that are all privatized, and owned by people from or affiliated to Barisan Nasional.

This seems true that the NEP only benefits those in the cronies.

May god punish them.
agree 115
written by K W Waran, June 06, 2008 16:02:50
Dearest YM RPK,

Your latest article would be welcomed by those shallow-minded hyenas, currently treating themselves at a retreat. "Wah, RPK kali ni sokong kita semua", they might say without realising the sarcasm.

Take care and have a nice weekend too, Sir.
written by clarity, June 06, 2008 16:04:16
TDM, I am glad you agree that the fuel subsidies can be sustain. The people are are suffering as everything is going up. Please be remindedthat this is your legacy to the people. Cam you now admit that your thinking can be wrong sometimes? I think you owe the people an apology and I think you should go down on your knees doing that. All you have given us is a "ceremonial" PM good at making bad decisions.
written by malaysianohope, June 06, 2008 16:04:52
Abang Pete,
The Sleeping PM is just using what Accountants called "Creative Accounting".
Taking the example of a new car the moment we buy a new car we get taxed, taxed when we buy petrol, taxed when we renew our road tax, taxed when we use the highway, taxed when we send our car for service and so on.
Then when the car expires after say 15 years, you would have paid as much as the original price of the car, and you wonder what hit you when the Government says it needs to reduce subsidies coz it simple don't have enough money. While the Gomen is at it, Petronas trumpets that it makes billions of Ringgit in profits and brag that it is one of the world best run oil company, but then again the Chairman says Petronas is going bankrupt by 2018. That's the irony!
written by mob1900, June 06, 2008 16:11:16
agree 169
written by Vig, June 06, 2008 16:11:58
It was written by Aneed Anand
written by Democrats, June 06, 2008 16:12:43
Problem with this fuel hike is the timing and the manner of how it is done.

Sharir said it had 3 options, rising of 50c, 78c or RM1 /litre. They chose the middle option so they say it will be a one off rise and not need to have another rise. Yet, contradicting his statement was how the government will discount the market rate at 30c /litre. He (or more rather the PM) could have done with a slow and steady progression in fuel hike as to not create the crisis everyone is now feeling....

True, the save in the subsidies can be plow back into the economy through government spending and project that can create the multiplier effect (that is if they spend it correctly and constructively).

But in our business world, such a hike creates a huge vacuum in the flow that can only be filled with panic and stagflation. By now, everyone is looking at their own budgets and disposable income. People start cutting back and pinch pennies at each corner. But the pennies pinch are another ones income. The waiter or chef at this slightly upper end restaurant now loses his job because of less customers in it. The restaurant owner, who has his sets of expenses will have to raise its prices too, but its useless because the higher it goes the less people come in. He can't rise the salaries of his staff that are demanding more because their rice, flour, chickent, electricity and fuel prices are eating into their salary.

Even if the government through the savings in subsidies spend today, the multiplier effect will take months or years to realise. Which employer will now start giving raises to their staff to maintain their true income because "things will look good in a year or two...."? they will still be lucky to keep their job, because the boss will more or less be thinkng, " If i can't increase prices, but raw materials cost keeps going up, where's the easiest way to save, with immediate effect?" Answer : Staff Overheads, salaries, benefits....

Financial institutions now are peeing in their pants. Non performing loans will balloon up fast, as the population with are already in dissavings, now plunge deeper into debt, as choice between buying rice and chicken for the family to survive or paying my loans on time seems an easy one. Credit crunch will be hard, with tightening of credit facilities. Are the banks willing to give loans now with a "pay me back in a years time when the time is good again? clause to ride the current storm"? Answer : NO, they are usually the first to yank the umbrella from you at the first drizzle.

With Zeti sitting on her pedestal on BNM, seeing CPI inflation at exorbitant 4.2% (actually higher- they manipulate baskets and weighting on groups of products to maintain the acceptable rate), will most likely do what all central banks tackle conventional inflation - increase overnight rates to combat inflation. Now the BLR start going up, and what you currently pay your home loan starts increasing, or if the payment amount is fixed, your duration of repayment now becomes infinity like a permenant rent.

Honestly, the government should have started spending and slowly and gradually rise the price as the multiplier effect kick in.

Now this vacuum we have is a depreciating ringgit, loss of consumer confidence, loss of FDIs, literally money disappering in the BSKL, political instability and mass panic.

Don't be surprise at this rate, soon we all need to carry cart load of cash just to buy a loaf of bread.....

Pak Lah, your 4th floor boys, Cabinet ministers and MTEN (NEAC) should be shipped to Mars in a one way ticket,....that is assuming even the martians there would accpet you guys.
agree 136
written by Braino, June 06, 2008 16:19:03
As we are a net exporter of high grade crude oil...any increase in world crude oil prices would be a source of celebration for the gomen and the rakyat?

Why is it that we seems to be complaining and cursing the increase in world crude oil prices?...really don't understand the logic! Can someone enlighten me?
written by activepro, June 06, 2008 16:30:54
Isn't it sickenig to know the answers to all these cover-ups and lying thru their crooked teeth n yet we can't do anything abt it?Since when is anything good goes back to the the rakyat(non malays or non bumi).For the past 40 yrs,zillions has been collected thru various taxes and now another "Hoodwinker" raised fuel price to satisfy his thirst for "nation building",but the rakyat has no business to know about Petronas account.Can't these see that in the very near future,we wil be reclassified as 3rd world still developing country like indonesia or philippines?These lousy not only hv lousy brains but they lie and cheat ur underwear if u allow them to.
written by clting08, June 06, 2008 16:35:38
I am driving a Ford Ranger using about 20 lit diesel per day. Now government up the diesel by RM1 so uo by RM20 per day but subsidise RM625 per 365 days. Average is about RM2. So in terms of percentage is up by 56%
Will buy a motobike lah
written by Zapper, June 06, 2008 16:37:26
Compared to most other countries, Malaysia is blessed with resources and no major calamities. But we have a MAJOR problem...corrupt government has been running after Tun Hussien and this corruption permeates to the civil service. There is accountablilty because these corrupt politicans will only face the rakyat after 4-5 years later. Meanwhile, it is harvest for them and rob the country like there is no tomorrow. The whole ****ing country is in shambles and the rakyat is in debt.
written by Democrats, June 06, 2008 16:43:15
WanSinga,

You seem to be missing the point. Guess you don't really understands RPK's sarcasm in his posting....

You are suppose to see the point that "real income" and your actual purchasing power" has diminished to almost nothing.
written by delCapo, June 06, 2008 16:45:37
I want to know all the UMNO fellas.... do you pay for your own trips overseas & petrol? or is the Rakyat paying? This govt has no farsight in the effects of their actions & the timing of their actions.

Our Petrol Price should NOT be so high... we are making more money with the exports as the price of oil increase! The consequence of the sudden increase has crippled many....12 July cannot come soon enough!..
written by ksmaniam, June 06, 2008 17:02:51
with due respect.
However those people derive their calculations from, the basic principle is that the money if in excess or in the negative is the rakyaat's money. They should be held accountable for everything, asking them these calculations would only divert the issue. (Because I think they can answer the question...with or without facts).
The issue is the governemt is increasing the price of petrol etc whereas we are an oil producing country. In addition to that (which u rightly put) we are taxing imported cars to protect the local car industry. The country's income is not well spent whereas we the rakyaat are feeling the pinch. The government is unable or does not do enough for us. This is the issue.

So we request, for a higher amount and perhaps provide a calculation for that (which we can show based on amount of petrol we may use).
thanks.
written by frazkok, June 06, 2008 17:03:30
get rid of abdullah, hassan marican, and all those bad rubbish in umno. for an oil producing country, with oil rich states, terengganu, sarawak and sabah. sorry to sabah, for being one of the poorest state, how ironic. in view of the current oil price, i bet you every marrican clans can run the bloddy petronas, take any marrican from the street; johnny marrican, manikan marrican, chong marrican, mojuntin marrican, anyone, beggar marrican, and petronas will still make crazy profit.
written by kota marudian, June 06, 2008 17:10:07
I wish Barisan leaders would change their lifestyles. Sammy saying Malaysians have got is good. What does he know about how hard we have it.
written by grant, June 06, 2008 17:27:43
indianputra,
it is correct... 1 barrel will produce 46% (give and take) of gasoline or petrol...
written by eeyaw, June 06, 2008 17:33:47
Rakyat Malaysia Oandang di Cabar!

Mr PM we dare you to call for a dissolution of Parliament if you got the balls!
written by grant, June 06, 2008 17:34:36
Guys,

If u actually goto Bloomberg and see the floated gasoline (petrol) price, it is US 87 Cents per litre of 333 US Cents per gallon (1 gallon is 3.8litres). Dont take imperial gallon as the benchmark.

With the current price we are paying at RM2.70 per litre (or US 84 cents per litre), the government aint subsidizing anything anymore as claimed by Shitty Samad (pertaining to the 30sen subsidy or discount or however that you would like to call it)

So when Shitty Samad said that the cabinet chose the middle way and that was 78 sen increase plus his justification, etc it was actually a full blown lie. If it was increased by RM1, we are actually overpaying the market value because if it went up by RM1 the petrol price would be RM2.92 which is US91 cents...

written by eeyaw, June 06, 2008 17:34:51
Oandang di Cabar

Pandang di Cabar!
written by alan cheong, June 06, 2008 17:38:04
LOL ... Peter, hate to state the obvious and thanks for trying to cheer us up smilies/grin.gif

Though you earned less back then, the cost of living wasn't as high as it is now. Life was simpler and more laid back then.

fwiw, luxury cars or even 1.6 litre cars onwards are STILL houses/apartments on wheels.

a merc or bmw will be a semi-detached or bungalow on wheels. 'tis still the same.

unless and until the lousy umno/bn does away with excise and import duties, revamp HP terms with financial institutions, double (at least) personal relief and triple child relief - then, they may remove the fuel subsidy totally. no one would bother much. oh, and add on puniive VAT on luxury items and raise tax rates for higher income earners, too.
written by malsia1206, June 06, 2008 18:03:25
1968? Bring back those nostalgic years anytime. Malaysia has been downhill in one irreversible direction since TDM. Compounded with the present PM. The Dictionary had since added words like 'NEP', 'AP' and 'social contract' which had torn this country apart.
written by lab76820, June 06, 2008 18:05:13
Greetings Uncle Pete,

Our PM & his gang sure passed Maths with flying colours! (Unlike me, I flunked it) That's why they came up with such grand "grab while u can! $$$ grabbing plan. I may be dumb & stupid but why do we need to pay subsidy for something we produce? I thought subsidy is only applicable when we have to buy from others. So Petronas is here as the "buying house", buying petrols for all M'sians! Hard job man.
written by confuseus, June 06, 2008 18:10:08
The BASIC solution (no need RCI, ICI, ICU, CCU) is here:

To set up a task-force on the formation of the Ombudsman office, who would receive complaints and investigate allegations of mismanagement, maladministration, corruption, abuse of power and the misuse or misappropriation of public funds.

The Ombudsman will:

1. Act as an agent for systemic change in the public sector by identifying the causes of problems. That person will make recommendations for changes in procedures, practices, policies and/or legislation on issues of governance and financial affairs of the State
2. Establish an effective system for handling and resolving complaints, and
develop feedback system as a means to improve the way in which things are done.
3. Ensure accessibility to the community and provide a platform to air complaints and grievances about the State administration.
4. Initiate investigations into activities of State agencies, statutory authorities and local government. This is done upon acting on a complaint, or of its own accord even if no specific complaint had been received.
5. Use the power of persuasion and reasoned arguments when making substantive recommendations to the State Legislative Assembly.
6. This position should not be a political appointment. It should be carried out through an open and rigorous appointment process that has the confidence of the public.
written by cheemengwong, June 06, 2008 18:14:48
I am still driving the same Nissan after the 1997 financial crisis smilies/smiley.gif

Still recovering lah!!!

My God, I may need to downgrade to a Nissan with a motorcylce engine fitted.
written by Kedahan, June 06, 2008 18:43:00
affordability is diminishing.

the value of everyone's salary is slowly disappearing.

this is what happens when the government set policies that promotes counter productive environment and encourages the people to be non-competitive. we are losing out as a nation.

what is Malaysia good for in the global arena?
what is Malaysia competitive in?
is Malaysia's economic policies sustainable? progressing?

how can we survive?
written by Abajawi, June 06, 2008 18:58:31
For a lesson in oil price determination, goto:
http://www.imf.org/external/np/pp/eng/2005/092105o.htm
written by James Loh, June 06, 2008 19:13:13
I found this fron Tony Pua blog:

I've added here below excerpts from a post by Shin Liang, who is waiting to pursue his PhD overseas in 3 months time, which I thought was interesting food for thought.

I think almost all blogs in Malaysia will be about the increase in petrol price today. But I think my stand on this issue will be different from the rest, because I'm in favor of the price increase!

Yes, all the arguments against the price hike has its merit. And as a consumer myself, I can feel the pain too. But from a country point of view, it was necessary.

For long, our country's economy has relied on exports of raw material. In particular, oil export has proven to be a lucrative business. However, our dwindling oil reserves means that we can continue to enjoy this business for only another 10 years (or so). This means we need to plan ahead and 10 years is pretty short from a country's economy point of view.

For every cent of subsidy in petrol price, we are in fact taking away funds that could be use to prepare our country for the years after our oil reserves are depleted. The profit obtained from the price hike should be invested in building infrastructure, transportation and help building more research centers and improve our university such that we are still competitive when our oil reserves are gone.

The ratio of income per capita and the petrol price is Malaysia is obviously unreasonable and the price hike will definitely have a short term impact. But to improve this ratio, the govt. have to either reduce/maintain the price or to improve the income per capita. As of the current situation, it'd be difficult to improve the income per capita without having to resort to the increase in petrol price. Hence, this price hike is a necessary short term pain for a long term gain.

[...]

This petrol price hike could be a good thing for Malaysians, really. But if and only if the profits from this increase in price is put into good use. And knowing our govt., this should be our grave concern. Out of the 70 cents increase, how much of it will go to corruption and how much will go to developing our nation? Unfortunately, without transparency, we can only hope.

If the funds are used to build another twin towers, then please "kill me". I'd rather if the govt. use the funds to build infrastructures that could promote economic activities, to build things that will be catalyst to economic growth. For example, improving our transportation system, communication system, research centers etc.

Feel free to give or share your 2 sens ;-)
written by cruzeiro, June 06, 2008 19:22:51
That was some fantabulous calculation!!!

I don't think it is strange that people can't make ends meet, despite earning twice as much, especially when our currency isn't worth half of what it used to.
written by ChickenRic, June 06, 2008 19:32:55
YM RPK,

Looks like not a lot of readers may not get your sarcasm article. To make things blunt, our salaries has doubled since 1968, but cost of living has more than quadrupled. Cars have gone up 10 fold and houses over 20 folds.

What this means is, compare to 1968, you can buy jack shit today.
written by sinchew, June 06, 2008 19:40:49

----------------
As of last month a Toyota Vios would ‘cause a damage’ of about RM 89,000
In the international market, a Toyota Vios is about USD 19,000.
USD 19,000 = RM 62,700 (using the indicative rates of USD 1 = RM 3.30).
That makes Malaysian Vios owners pay an extra RM 26,300.

This RM 26,300 should be cost of operations, profit and tax because the transportation costs have been factored in to the USD 19,000.
--------------

I believe the price is wrong using as example is wrong, for USD19,000, you get the highest end of toyota Altis, which is the different is actually more than RM26,300.00 mentioned in the article...

So, there are actualy more money on the tax to be taken away.
written by Eskay Lim, June 06, 2008 19:44:52
It is better not to read any newspaper whenever the gomen announces anything regarding numbers, they make your kepala berpusing-pusing.
At the end of that, you won't get to tally the numbers that are being provided.
Because some numbers get missing... somehow.
written by Lim Lim, June 06, 2008 19:53:38
infact umno is the one that needs to rob "big time" this time on this hike in "petrol doolars" for their upcoming party election!becos for the five states under the Pakatan Rakyat;there wouldn't be much ground the umno goons could easily sought to make plays anymore!!bodowi needs the fund to finance the 'proyak-proyak' in his corridors to stablelise his 'kakis' on his own political life saving system,it is a mere fact that for umno....it is 'U!ain't no Money No talk Organisation' when one is gunning for supports!
written by SamBall, June 06, 2008 20:39:13
Hello kawan2,

Crude oil & gas discovery in many coutries (third world in particular) are a bloody curse and a bane to development.

Worst when you have a corrupt man like kakatir, absolutely no sense of management and leadership; simply raped the resources of Msia at their short expense. Racist politics (UNMO/BN)just makes everything even worst.

The question really should be how Msia would have developed under a "wise" leader. My prognosis is UMNO/BN failed miserably and they will continue to pay the price eons more.

Soon the oil & gas will run out, and future generations will curse the legacy of the foolish decisions by these leaders in the last 50 years.

Look at Singapore and LEARN from them . Look at Indonesia (running out of oil so soon) and LEARN from them. Soon the energy crisis will engulf this and other regions.

Sustainability is the key to survival, and it is a long term thing, something UMNO/BN know little about and do worst at, despite 50 years.
written by Richfyf, June 06, 2008 20:43:52
I remember when Goerge W Bush bombed Iraq the people in Iraq suffered. We are all angry with him in fact the whole world was angry with him. So he decide to build back Iraq to please the world but people don't belive him. They say it will be Iraq oil that will be use to build the country. Now we have Pak Lak dropping a "bomb" on us malaysian, Then he say dont worry I will help the poor to survive by giving them subsidy. Emmm I wonder if we all should belive him. When Bush did that to Iraq we protest But hey he did that to Iraq and not his own citizen, While Pak Lah do IT TO US MALAYSIAN!!!!!!!!!! So UMNO YOUTH KJ, Hissahamuddin when are you going to organise a PROTEST for what happen to US? Where are you now. Or is it you are only interested in protecting Iraq interest but not MALAYSIAN interest>>>>> I challenge any B.N. Ministers to STAND UP now and protect the Raykat's interest or RESIGN from their Ministers POST IMMEDIATELY. As least TDM when challenge to resign did just that!!!
written by Kritz, June 06, 2008 20:46:45
Can you see how fortunate you are today compared to those of us 40 years ago who could earn only half the salary you are earning today?

RPK in "Seluar Yankee" on a Yamaha, in 1968 perhaps?
written by Blitz, June 06, 2008 20:58:46
how stupid does the government take us for?
we are an oil producing country, our petrol prices should be compared with the production cost of it, and not the global market price, which is paid by countries that have to purchase crude oil.
and there they are, telling us that we have one of the best price of petrol in the whole of asia.. we friggin produced it!!of course we should have the best price!
i say the government should be open with their accounts, lets see how much have gone into their pockets, especially after this price hike.
lets not be taken as idiots anymore, lets not be swindled by these pigs anymore..
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 06, 2008 21:04:56
Talking about the government treating us Rakyat as stupid & ignorant, I just finish watching "The Exchange" over TV3. Would you believe it that Sharile (Minister of local trade) mentioned that fuel subsidies are still given to trucks/lorries, taxis, & buses and so their services WILL NOT rise to further burden us Rakyat?? Does that SOB even know that lorries operators have increased their services by 35% earlier today, taxis fares also accordingly, and school buses intending to hike their rates too. What the hell kind of minister of domestic trade & industries is he who doesn't even know what's already common knowledge among the rakyat???
Another typical example of gross inefficiencies in the BN government!
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 06, 2008 21:13:18
As long as the government give important ministerial posts (finance, trade, Bank Negara governor) to nit wit half baked cronies, Malaysia will NEVER be strong economically. Some of their policies really stinks, but they seem sooo veerry proud of what they have "managed to thought up" to "help' curb inflation and the economy with, of couse, the rakyat's welfare at the heart of all their "planning". Then they turn around and give us rakyat the finger!
written by kooiseng, June 06, 2008 21:16:36
During the oil crisis in the early 70s, there was a good analysis by the Guardian Newspaper of UK. In short, for every dollar increase in the barrel of crude oil, the oil company will make a few thousand times that increase in price simply because of the numerous byproducts obtained from the distillation of the one barrel. The benefeciary of that increase in oil? It was the oil giants like BP, Shell Exxon etc. NOT the OPEC countries. The graph showing their profits was going straight up.However because of the control of the mass media by the Western governments, the Arabs were made out to be the worst culprits in the world, when the real crooks were the oil giants. Because of this, the people of UK were blatantly anti Arab and anti foreigner. Now the high price of crude oil today, is due to the speculation by hedge funds, rich billionaires and oil companies. Yet the American Congress has passed a law allowing the American government to sue the OPEC for causing the high price of crude oil. Now isn't that the grossest act of piracy? Are the British, Americans still anti Arab or anti American? The coming months will see the outcome of that law passed by the American Congress.
written by sarawakian, June 06, 2008 21:20:32
and the gist of this article is that while our salaries now are double (2x) what it was like 40 years ago, everything else has gone up twenty times (20x) or more.

while we look down at super 3rd world countries like Bangladesh, we don't realise that at least the police and judiciary there are far less corrupted than what we have. oh yes.. see how the police reacted on TV3 saying they will "not hesitate" to take action against protesters of fuel hikes. i could see the smirk and glee in their eyes and voices at another chance to beat up innocent, helpless rakyat. they would not be so daring if the protesters are armed like their gangster friends.

Ministers do not care that the rakyat now have to crack their heads over our monthly budgets and belt-tightening ideas. less food on the table. or maybe that is what they want us to spend more of our time thinking about and less time to worry about their excesses and corruption.

written by chuckmoore, June 06, 2008 21:47:09
http://parti-sosialis.org

PRESS STATEMENT : 5 JUNE 2008

FUEL HIKE – DECLARATION OF WAR AGAINST THE PEOPLE

The announcement by the Prime Minister of increasing the price of fuel by 78 sen and increasing diesel by RM 1 added with the increase in electricity as well lifting the cap on chicken prices tantamounts to as a declaration of war against the ordinary people of Malaysia.

Last night, thousands of motorists queued for hours to buy fuel at the old price. The scene was chaotic and resembled a nation preparing for emergency. While the Prime Minister very bravely increased the price of fuel, similar commitment was not shown when workers demanded a minimum wage act to be implemented as well as a retrenchment fund to cushion workers who may face retrenchment because of the economic crisis and world food crisis.

The Government’s move to give rebates to consumers is a further insult to our intelligence. The Prime Minister said further that the money saved will be used to offset the world food crisis. This was the same logic given when the Government came out with the 30sen fuel hike. Then, we were taken for a ride and told the money will be used to improve the public transportation system.

The fuel hike is a declaration of war. Only when the people own their oil, can it be put to good use. Venezuela a country which charges only 16 sen per litre and the revenue for oil is used by the Venezuelan state to give free education and health care, besides helping poor neighboring nations. This was only possible when a revolutionary Government under the leadership of Hugo Chavez with people power took over the Petrol Company and nationalized it. Malaysia’s PETRONAS is nationalized but it is not in the control of the people, especially the working people.

PSM supports any move to mobilize people power to remedy this situation. We call upon all political parties and peoples movements to rise up to demand and reclaim what is ours. Waiting in queues is not going to bring about political change.

S.Arutchelvan

Secretary General
written by merchant222, June 06, 2008 22:21:31
The only thing that the rakyat need to know is that any government officials do not pay for anything for their daily work. Everything they do as job requirement or so called responsibilities are borne by the tax payers. In actual scenario, all government officials need not spend a single sen from their salary.

The fact is, they take home their salary, CLEAN as IN GROSS PAY. From the minute they step out of their 'mansions' as government serpents, we as tax payers are subsidizing them, from their breakfast to their supper, and to enjoy their luxurious lifestyle. And the contradicting statement we hear today is that,
"WE, the RAKYAT NEED TO CHANGE OUR LIFESTYLE to ADAPT TO PRICE INCREASES". We have gone back 30 years in progress, for us to achieve the Mamak's dream of developed nation status in 2020, realistically he should look to 2038. MAMAK, you can also go to hell. You KILLED Malaysia, PERIOD!
written by Abajawi, June 06, 2008 22:25:56
The gomen wants to remove subsidies in order to remove the 'distortion' in the market caused by subsidies. But why did they conveniently forget to remove the excessive taxes that have been plaguing our economy, like the excise and import duties imposed on imported cars?

And why not remove or drastically reduce the road tax on motorvehicles and bring them nearer to those prevailing in developed countries? This is the trouble with the govt economists. They look at only one side of the coin. They are so engrossed with subsidies enjoyed by the rakyat--forgeting that the rakyat are also paying all kinds of taxes through their noses. We are not complaining about income taxes because of its 'progressive' nature (low income people do not pay this tax, and as income rises, a greater % of it is taxed).

What I am complaining about are taxes that are associated with driving our cars--the road tax, the tolls, the import duties etc. If you say you want to remove distortions, then go all the way. Stop protecting Proton! Reduce the import duties and see if Proton can survive the onslaught of the foreign cars.

What price do we have to pay just to keep Proton alive? This is what sickens most people--the doublespeak and double standard practised by BN politicians!!! Let's make this their last term to rule Malaysia. Throw them out in the next election--if they still survive to the next election, that is!!!
written by shissun, June 06, 2008 22:29:04
I totally lose my temper with this regime. We gotta destroy this stupid government before they destroy us. We have a moron head the government now. Everybody do your country and your next generation a favor. Destroy and eliminate him and his team of corrupted, idiotic and blood-suckers Cabinet!! It is Makkal-Sakhti time now!

written by cheekhiaw, June 06, 2008 22:34:03
DOUBLING THE SIMPLICITY

Apparently life is 2 times better than 40 years ago because salaries are 2 times more than 40 years ago.

In the same period, the lives of government linked politicians hade more than doubled going by the unaccountable monies that go their way.

So does it mean there is no need for NEP, special rights, social contracts and all?

While salary may have doubled compared to 40 years ago, oil had gone up by about 45 times and gold by 25 times.

So if you get more salary than your parents it does not mean you actually earn more in real value. You may be getting double the amount of paper that had gone down by more than half the value.

If you can afford more luxury items today compared to your parents 40 years ago (like car, TV, fridge, etc.), it has more to do with the ingenuity of the technologist in places like Germany, US and Japan than that of the rulers of this country.

Think about that and be grateful to those people who really made our lives better by way of ingenuity and not by bluffing, stealing or claiming special rights.

written by oceanuz, June 06, 2008 22:36:53
Surely the life is much better today.
Compare the politicians then and politicians now.
written by Abajawi, June 06, 2008 22:38:38
In 1967 I bought an Opel Kadett for RM7000 (1200cc) - and I took a 3 year loan from a Statutory Govt body where I worked. As a young graduate I earned RM1000/month then. So, the car price was equivalent to only 7 months' salary give or take a few months. Now a young graduate earns RM2000 and the cheapest car is say Viva selling for RM30K plus. That works out to out 15 months salary. Certainly, the purchasing power of our rakyat has gone to the dogs--doggone it!
written by chuckmoore, June 06, 2008 22:49:54
Dear YM RPK,

Good one, I enjoyed your wit and sarcasm very much.

I recall my mother buying a 1.6 litre Ford Taunus new for RM7,000 around 1959/60. We were in Malacca at that time and the Barisan Nasional government had not allowed crony capitalist interests and money interests to ruin the beautiful Tranquera sea front.

Both my parents worked, my dad as a police officer, my mum as a doctor and around 1957/58, they during lunchtime, they were able to come home for lunch, take a short siesta and go back to work.

My dad's workplace alternated between High Street (Jalan Bandar) and Bukit Aman, while my mum worked at the KL General Hospital and we lived in a government quarters in one of those two storey townhouses, now a college of sorts, standing between the National Library and the Marinara building, along Circular Road (now Jalan Tun Razak).

However, even in the mid 1960's my parents could still come home to have lunch at home, when we then lived in one of those now derilict government quarters along Jalan Kampong Pandan and even tpwards the end of the 1960's, when my dad was transfered to Ipoh, where we live in a bungalow on Gopeng Lane, just after the Ipoh Swimming Club on Gopeng Road.

My parents couls still come home for lunch from their workplaces in Kuala Lumpur to our home in Petaling Jaya back in the early 1970s but traffic volume made that impossible from the early 1980s.

I'm sure we are better off today, now able to eat out every day, than we were back in those bad old days, when life was so much simpler, when we did not have to run like hampsters on a treadmill after whatever.

Well that's the capitalist system for you folks and it's even worse with the crony capitalist system we have here.

Now what are the Pakatan Rakyat MPs doing about it.

They should move a motion in parliament to legislate reduction of the petrol price to RM1.50 per litre and the prices of diesel, kerosene, gas, motor oil, as well as electricity accordingly.

We shouldn't have to pay more for electricity when much of it is hydro electricity.
written by chuckmoore, June 06, 2008 23:03:36
"In 1967 I bought an Opel Kadett for RM7000 (1200cc) - and I took a 3 year loan from a Statutory Govt body where I worked. As a young graduate I earned RM1000/month then."

Wow! My salara was RM1,000 per month when I got my first job as a process engineer in National Semiconductor in Senawang in 1980 and a 1,300cc Ford Escort costs RM14,000 new -- well about 14 months salary.

Car prices rose pretty slowly back then until tada-a-a-a-a-a! PROTON came along and prices went through the roof, with people making profit by selling their second hand cars -- thanks to the Barisan Nasional -- well actually Tun Mahathir.

Until then, Malaysia gave preferential tax rates to local assemblers and they provided much employment.

At the same time, nothing wrong with a country wanting to make its own cars but remember, Korean cars especially are made by highly diversified conglomorates which can cross subsidise new business lines from established ones but Proton?

Likewise, Malaysians marvel at the high level of broadband penetration in South Korea but many of their broadband operators are just one of many subsidiaries in a huge chaebol (conglomerate).
written by mudtel, June 06, 2008 23:30:29
Yeah ..u have to thank mahaitiu for Proton, indah water, putrajaya and tolls all over KL and spending all petronas $$.

You have to thank yourself for voting him for the last 22 years.

Have anyone read the stars? There is one Merican - said that petronas is a listed company and researched by S&P etc? Is he a mexican or merican?

May i know which exchange is that bloody petronas listed? Is he trying to confuse the people? Was he talking about petronas dagangan? petronas dagangan is not petronas.

How can someone like that be the head of our nation wealth? god bless us!
written by letsbefair, June 06, 2008 23:52:49
$130*RM3.3/73liters= RM 5.80 per liter. True but one barrel of oil does not just produce 73 litres of petrol. It also produce other products as mentioned by other forummers.
Of course we can say that there is cost incurred by cracking the crude oil into different products. So how much is this cost?
Temenggong is a racist when he started bombarding non-Malays by accusing them of voting down his comment. Hiley on the other end hates DAP and is probably a cyber-trooper from BN.
written by letsbefair, June 06, 2008 23:58:31
By the way, how do I vote? So is it possible for forummers to vote?
written by cruzeiro, June 07, 2008 00:05:28
How can I be treated this way - I have Holidays, Tolls & Toys; KFC & Mac D, Levi's, Prada, Gucci & Mont Blanc; malls, handphones, PDAs, X-Box, Nintendo, PSP and many other gizmos to think about. This is my birthright! ............

Show of wealth is essential in a lifestyle encouraged by the NEP & the "social contract". Purchasing a car is a must if you have a job - even if you don't want it, the Govt would subsidize the deposit, and offer to deduct your salary for the next 10 yrs, so that you will be "bonded" to them. Hang the public transport - the worse it is, the better for the auto sales. If you need it, we can always have LRT/monorail with big bucks in it.

NEP and the "social contract" culture of luxury, excess and decadence, amidst mediocrity is our birthright! It glosses over the corruption that was institutionalized as a birthright. It is supposed to blind the people to the skimming that had taken place in the "glory years".

Show of wealth is essential in a lifestyle encouraged by the NEP & the "social contract". Purchasing a car is a must if you have a job - even if you don't want it, the Govt would subsidize the deposit, and offer to deduct your salary for the next 10 yrs, so that you will be "bonded" to them. Hang the public transport - the worse it is, the better for the auto sales. If you need it, we can always have LRT/monorail with big bucks in it.

NEP and the "social contract" culture of luxury, excess and decadence, amidst mediocrity is our birthright! It glosses over the corruption that was institutionalized as a birthright. It is supposed to blind the people to the skimming that had taken place in the "glory years".
==========================
http://cruzinthots.********.co...en-me.html
written by Taiping60, June 07, 2008 00:11:41
no need 40 years ago. Just 30 years ago, a bowl of noodle in Taiping town cost me RM0.40 last year it was RM2.00.

Low cost house purchase by my parent cost my paren RM17 a month for 17 years. So a person who earn RM10 a month could afford that easily. In fact a person who earn RM10 a day could support the entire family with the earning.

written by oct, June 07, 2008 00:17:13
Let's go back 20 years. In the mid 80's our graduate starting salary is around RM1,500 to RM1,800. Today our graduate starting salary is around RM2,000. In the 80s, graduate can live a luxury life. Cars are sold around RM25k and no tolls. Petrol is cheap. Consumer products are still cheap. I still remembered that there was an increase in condensed milk price and we went to stock it up to save a few ringgit. Graduates in the 80's can own a car and buy a house and spend adequately.

Try doing that with today starting pay for the Graduate. Most of them are in debt. If you own a car, you are in debt for at least 7 - 9 years. Will our Proton cars last that long? If you sell your car within 3 years, you end up paying the bank as well, without any balance. Today, everything has gone up. Tolls are everywhere, petrol is now at RM2.70. Rice, sugar and houses are increasing.
Our salary doesn't catch up as fast as inflation. The most is we get RM100 to RM150 increment for fresh graduate after one year of service.

Really we are more worst off than 20 years ago!!!
written by budakindia, June 07, 2008 00:30:44
It was a few years later before I could afford to buy my first car, an imported Mitsubishi Galant 1600, which cost me RM9,800
======================================================= =========================

Isn't that we are still doing? proton cars are from old mitsubishi models rebranded as proton and sold at much higher prices? After more than 20 years, still need the walking stick? Still looking for a technology partner where Kia, Alado, Chery which are around only 10 years could design and produce their own cars. That includes the engines also!

May be we are overly expecting our current leaders to act and give sounded decisions! They can't! So why sticking to the current leaders! Just change!

written by ourtide, June 07, 2008 00:39:22
TDM wrote in his blog, I quote "There is hardly any increase in the production cost..." But Hassan Merican stated in The Star (06-06-0smilies/cool.gif,"The costs to explore and to drill for oil have increased by about 200% over the past three years." Now, who is misleading who? the Adviser or the CEO?
written by panca, June 07, 2008 00:39:27
we all can heartily agree that it takes simple good math than title*(IDIOT position included) to know what these goons have done not just badly but ill-intended management, sucked dry of petrol money otherwise would have been of strong financial standing for the country. Such as the position to cushion this so called world phenomenon that self caused a quick welcome rather a smooth ride for the nation given that we are a oil-producing country. This obviously the reasons of this "able" leader and his pack of goons "doing so much" for the People of Malaysia!

Now we can feel the real threat, faced by all races including the majority malay who we believe made gullible by umno into believing the country falls into the non-malay. You have a top post(s) that are currently held not by non-malays who speak by the whole lot about malay rights, ketuanan melayu, NEP but who is running Petronas that has all the billions? And where is the money of Petonas earned money. Did the Non-malay steal it? Wake up, get sober and ask where is your right of a place in society to be able to know what happened to your(rakyat) money that the govt elected by you?

Shout out loud who cheats who? Sekarang baru tahu wang Petronas hilang?

Pete is putting you all on a pedestal, perhaps that most of us earned double what many others earned 40 years ago and now even becoming luckier to be buying link houses at RM 300,000! The gomen had been so efficient in making so much progress! Wow, that's umno great contribution to the country and the non-malay will be continuously blamed for questioning umno's motive of NEP!
written by maverich, June 07, 2008 00:50:49
who chose this goverment ?? the people right ?? so they have to pay the price...

when Allah is already set the rules for living , we human have no right to come with better rules....

jangan lawan taukey ....

i really hope all the financial experts in Malaysia analyse the Islam economic principles... i really believe we wouldnt be in the dire state now.

capitalism only good for the riches.
written by FFT, June 07, 2008 01:25:49

I think now is an opportune time to demand some transparency on how Petronas profits have been spent over the last 3 decades, especially during the 22-year rule of Mahathir that coincided with multiple white elephant mega projects and mega bailout of cronies.

As you know...a barking dog barks most intensely the closer you get to its territory/property. No surprise then why Mahathir has been barking incessantly in recent times.
written by kclim, June 07, 2008 01:26:49
Well folks how do you rip off a nation of intelligent people who only 2 generations ago ( in the era of 1960's) could read , write and speak the Queen's English quite well. Remember "senior cambridge" or MCE type quality students?

Well here is how you do it in about 40 years. First the government introduced the national language medium school. Then they try to blend it with a touch of Indonesian style Bahasa. Lately we flip flop between back to English for science and mathematics. Still pretty blur as to actual policy right now. Don't forget to remember that people like TDM , Najib and AAB speak very good English much like LKY i.e the old foxy generation. Bring on the Education Minister , son of Hussein Onn and the final nail in the coffin was sealed to DOOM forever our young generation of students and graduates who most likely cannot count ( poor in Maths ) and cannot logically reason things out for themselves due to the standard of education received. So now it is quite easy to milk the nation dry since the younger rakyat are not that clever enough to figure out that they are actually being ripped off because their mental faculties have not been fully developed yet. Remember how DPM says that certain Malaysian brains need more time i.e years to develop. Year 2057 seems perfect as by then all the blooming oil in this whole world would have been depleted anyway through no fault of Petronas, of course since it is a global phenomena. Be prepared to be milked $$$$ dry for the next 49 years. By then who cares a damn if a barrel of crude oil is USD100 , USD1000 or even US 10 cents since our Ringgit would probably be banana notes anyway - meaning you would need a barrel full of ringgit notes just to purchase 1 litre of petrol or roughly a car-load of RM $$$ notes just to top up your tank. That will be the reality of " Malaysia Tommorow " - a new website I intend to set up in year 2057 if I am still around.
written by scorp1on, June 07, 2008 01:40:37
er...i might be wrong...

i somehow dont think the calculation in this article is right...pls correct me if im wrong...

firstly, for argument sake lets leave the fact that malaysia produces oil out of the equation..

1. u cannot use RM2.70 to justify that there is RM197.48 worth of petrol in a barrel of crude oil. Simply for the fact that you cannot fill your car with crude oil. It has to go through a refining process until you get as you have mentioned, petrol, kerosene and so forth. The price will therefore include refining costs as well as a markup therefore bringing the price of a liter of refined petrol to world market prices which from my understanding is around RM4

2. Now malaysia exports its higher quality CRUDE OIL, it then buys REFINED petrol for local consumption at market prices before reducing it with subsidies.

3. therefore - if 76 litres is of a barrel is made into petrol, and if the market prices are RM4 then it can be said that a barrel of crude oil contains RM304 worth of REFINED petrol.

So, Malaysia is paying subsidies on market prices of REFINED petrol, not the actual price of crude oil. But i do 100% with you that the BN has been protecting Proton for far too long at our detriment..

i might be wrong, pls correct if i am, it is a very interesting topic to discuss...
written by johntyc, June 07, 2008 02:22:16
can't wait for this government to be toppled soon. for those been cheated during GE2008, please think and vote properly next time. see what the government you voted for did to all of us smilies/angry.gif
written by cheekhiaw, June 07, 2008 02:25:54
Don't worry. You can be sure someone in our government would have appointed some advisor friends as middleman in any deal to purchase REFINED petrol.

And there will be enough subsidy to make it worth their while...

written by cheekhiaw, June 07, 2008 02:29:20
You can also be sure there are 'advisor middlemen' involved in selling the higher quality oil too but that is not known as subsidy or course...

written by temanmu, June 07, 2008 02:40:29
Market prices for fuel encourages careful use of it.

Market prices for government contracts makes careful use of rakyats' money.

The BN govt should implement that too.

But we can't hope for much in the Barisan (Penipu) Nasional.
written by SotPlug, June 07, 2008 04:42:41
I think most of us will be able to understand that the rising price of petrol in the international market is the main reason behind the recent local petrol price increase.

But the main anger is not about rising the petrol price because of the international trading price. At least not in my case.

For me, I am angry because of the corruptions and over-spendings by the gov. It really felt like we the 'simple rakyats' are forced to pay for all these. What is worse is when the most beloved Prime Minister asks us all to change our lifestyle, while on the other hand our country is sooo rich he's considering the purchase of a spaceship (just to state an example).

Had the gov changed Malaysia's 'lifestyle' and lead by example, most of us would had change our own without that much ruckus.
written by A MI, June 07, 2008 05:50:49
Whatever goes up in terms o taxes or prices hardly ever comes down in Malaysia! They raise taxes in one budget and price catapluts. Even taxes are either reduced or abolished at alater point, it DOES NOT filte down to the consumer in terms of price reduction. The goons of ministers we have never take this into account.

There are more lies in today's June 7th 2008 frontpage: "...there will be no further increases in the near future" just like when it was reported petroeum prices will go up in August one day and the next day lahBastDowi announced a price hike of 42%. Damn you LahBastDowi. Wonder if I can get a Mahsuri's-like curse on you and your kin which will last 7 generaions!

We can all whine about how things have become expensive or how lifestyle has changed. But what is important now is what PEOPLE POWER can do to arrest this. Lok at India..the gomen there is wobbling!

What can we do right now to stop lahBastAdowi and his gang of thieves from ripping off the Malaysians. We wage earners are taxed every step of the way. Pay is taxed at source for many of us and then we pay taxes on every consummbale and service that we buy with the tax deducted income!

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Abajawi, June 07, 2008 11:48:59
What is going to be the impact of this huge oil price increase? For one thing, demand for private car travel should fall, according to economic theory. People should take their cars out of the porch only when it is absolutely necessary, like going to work, if no other transportation alternative exists. No need to go to the grocery shop by car if it is only walking distance.

If you have not bought a car, and there is an LRT station near your house, then don’t contemplate on buying a car. That is, if you are still single (no wife and kids to care for). This will impact on the car industry; sales are expected to go down—with possibilities of reduced unemployment and lay-offs. Even the second-hand car market will be badly affected. Let these old cars rot in the car yards! These cars will eventually be sold as scrap metal. Many used car dealers will have to fold up (gulung tikar) and make to the exit doors.
The government will be learning their lessons the hard way.
Jumps in food prices will follow suit. Raw food has to be transported from the farms/warehouses to the retail outlets. The cost of transportation will increase and this increase will be passed to the consumers like you and me.
While the govt. leaders are asking the people to change their life style, these leaders aren’t showing any sign of wanting to change their own life style. They view their role as the people’s bosses, when they should remember we are their bosses. We can throw them out in the next Gen. Election.
written by Abajawi, June 07, 2008 11:52:31
Errata - increased unemployment (not 'reduced unemployment') - sorry for the slip-up!
written by activepro, June 07, 2008 12:38:18
As a citizen of Malaysia,I call upon all right thinking Malaysians to DEMAND the ruling gomen to open and show this goddamn petronas account.Since our parlimentarians doesnt hv the numbers to demand,we the rakyat must force them to reveal for the sake of our children n our children's children.When they grow up,they will ask why is it that we hv been swindled,tipu(ed),lied,hoodwinked by the gomen abt our own natural resources' income and yet we do not demand to know the truth from it.It's TIME FOR ACTION!!!!
written by kennyeu, June 07, 2008 14:09:01
temenggong, you wrote

There is an error in the calculations. $130 is for a barrel of crude oil. It has to be refined at about $20 per barrel, plus there is govt taxes, distribution and retail costs. We don't know the details.

This would be more like it:

$130*RM3.3/73liters= RM 5.80 per liter BEFORE govt taxes, distribution and retail costs.

Can the subsidy be seen now?

Your calculation is wrong. As mentioned by the writer, about 46% of one barrel of crude eventually gets converted to petrol. If this is the case how can you take the entire US$130 for 1 complete barrel (i.e. 100%) of crude oil and divided it by the 73 liters of petrol which the writer has already specified was only 46% of the barrel's content.

You forgot that the remaining 54% of the barrel is also converted to other petroleum products that are sold for a price. This is the reason your comment was voted down. It was inaccurate.
written by tryme, June 07, 2008 17:41:11
i think we should not talk too much over here, we need to do something that really can change the situation. We cant't effort to allow any decision made can caused damage to the country.

are we all gather enough to oppose this petro hike? we have to show the Power Of Rakyat, we can't just let them do whatever they want. Please show the world that we are ANGRY! Let's move on 12th of July
written by Abajawi, June 07, 2008 19:17:26
The BN govt is merely punishing the rakyat for the loss of five states to the Pakatan Rakyat, never mind that they managed to keep the Federal Govt. Because hey still wield power at the Fed. level, they feel they must use this power to inflict pain where it hurts most on the people--their pockets! The way the oil price hike was done was symptomatic of a 'revenge'--lack of prior warning, the quantum of the hike, the lies that went with it. The rakyat were fooled by the Minister's (Shahrir) show of concern about the rakyat's plight prior to the announcement. We all thought that he, being so vocal of the govt before he was recycled back into the cabinet, was on the rakyat's side. But no, he is just like all of them in the cabinet. What a gigantic let-down! I agree with those who think that the way to make things better for the rakyat is to let the Pakatan Rakyat take over the govt. The time is now, or never. What is Sdr DSAI doing about the grand plan? DO we have to wait until Sept before we see anything positive??
written by chuckmoore, June 07, 2008 20:02:28
Abajawi wrote:-

> "What is going to be the impact of this huge oil price increase? For one thing, demand for private car travel should fall, according to economic theory. People should take their cars out of the porch only when it is absolutely necessary, like going to work, if no other transportation alternative exists. No need to go to the grocery shop by car if it is only walking distance."

Traffic on roads after 12 midnight was visibly much less than at the same time on previous nights. There was no traffic jam along the road connecting the roundabout at the end of Jalan Gasing in Petaling Jaya to Jalan Kelang Lama at 8.00pm on Thursday, when it used to be rather congested before.

There was no traffic jam along the Federal Highway at key choke points such as the exit to the LDP and the exit after the first toll gate after Subang Jaya.

For once, I was able to get from Section 14, Petaling Jaya to Cyberjaya in just over 30 minutes, when it would have taken 45 minutes or more before.

So yes. There are less cars on the road and people are being more prudent with their use, though how long this will last is left to be seen.

While conservation and more prudent use is to be encouraged, still it should not have been forced upon us in this way.

> "If you have not bought a car, and there is an LRT station near your house, then don’t contemplate on buying a car. That is, if you are still single (no wife and kids to care for)."

Ideally that would be great but not all of us have the privilege to live along an LRT or monorail route and to work in jobs where we commute daily between point A and B.

I recall an old pharamacist friend with a dispensary in Medan Pasar, Kuala Lumpur who commuted daily with the KTM train to the station near his workplace way back in the 1980s and he was blessed with the privilege to work fixed hours.

On the other hand, most of my working life has been in field jobs, first as a computer service engineer, then as an IT writer, both of which require I travel a lot to different places in my line of work. I fortunately live near an LRT station and if the event is along the LRT line, then I take the LRT but if it's not, as is usually the case, I have no option but to drive, so such privileges are not for me, well in Malaysia at least where the public transport system is inadequate, unreliable and inefficient.

On the other hand, I never had to own a car while studying in the UK, while working in Singapore or in Canada, as the public transport there was excellent.

> "This will impact on the car industry; sales are expected to go down—with possibilities of reduced unemployment and lay-offs."

You mean "reduced employment." This cannot be good as it will hurt a lot of workers and contribute to increased crime and social problems.

While I would agree with us reducing the extravagant aspects in our lifestyles, cut down those unneccesary purchases just for vanity, still when it comes to changing our mode or transport, the government needs to provide convenient and reliable alternatives, such as a extensive and adequate public tranport system before it can start telling us to drive less.

While the government may well have conflict of interest in not providing adequate public transport to force people to buy more cars, in particular national cars in which the government has a stake, this was not the case in Britain under a Labour government in the 1970s, when British Leyland, which made Morris & Austin cars, including the popular Mini, was a state-owned industry, while the state-owned British Rail, the city bus and out station coach system was all state owned and affordable. For example, it only cost 13 pounds by train from Manchester to London and and 5 pounds by coach but all that went up after the Conservatives under Margaret Thatcher came in and privatised much of the transport system after which it bot only was much more expensive but also much less efficient.

Soon after, Tun Mahathir imposed privatisation on Malaysia and it was even worse, since it was not just done for neo-liberal aims - which I totally oppose anyway - but for the gain of a few crony capitalists.

The answer to this problem is to get rid of the Barisan Nasional government totally. They are a disease and cancer upon Malaysia, even as the Alliance Party from indepencence. They are responsible for dividing and ruling the people of this country along racial and religious lines.

Malaysians deserve far better than these Barisan Nasional criminals.
written by tamansegar, June 07, 2008 20:06:38
It is time to kick out BN and UMNO and get PR to do something before Malaysia become Zimbabee where a loaf of roti will cost RM1Million!
written by benjamin, June 07, 2008 20:29:37
CONGRATULATION TO THOSE WHO VOTE FOR BARISAN!YOU DESERVED IT, ENJOY THE PRICE INCREASE AND PLEASE GO AND CELEBRATE WITH YOUR FAMILY FOR A GOOD DINNER AT 5 STAR HOTEL. STUPIT AS HOLE,HEY THEY ARE LAUGHING AT YOU...WHY SO STUPIT TO VOTE FOR BARISAN.....KET,KET,KET.KET. YOU ARE BEING CON FOR 50YEARS SOMEMORE STLL SLEEPING LIKE PAK LA...........SWEET DREAMS AND WET DREAMS.
written by MalaysianIAm, June 07, 2008 22:59:17
question. if we sell oil and oil price increase, doesn't that mean we are making more money and should be given even more subsidy?

someone please answer me, as long as you're not bodohwi.
written by LACOBRA, June 07, 2008 23:06:57
Salute to you RPK,

Malaysians don't listen hard enough to simple straight forward talk. A FACT that keeps Malaysians voting the same Government for the past 50 years. Sarcasm works the best of getting the very BN voters attention.

So wake up you guys but I doubt now there is any hope left as we are doomed until the next elections. We have accelerated by signing our own death warrant in just 3 months!

By the next elections, BN would continue to bulldoze its way and would have siphoned all our money leaving the opposition with its 2/3 BN majority denial only on paper.

Stop & Stare by One Republic
written by scorp1on, June 08, 2008 00:04:58
dear Panca Indera,

I feel sad that in Malaysia, people with your kind of mentality still exist., well i suppose i could liken you to an American redneck supremacist wannabe. None of us Malaysians were born to suffer.

Secondly, if there are that many Non Malays driving big expensive cars and having big fat bank accounts and scamming on their annual tax, you can be assured that there are that many Malays whom are doing all that too. And im sure there are lot of Malaysians whom are poor and struggling to make ends meet. This is something that happens across all races. TOlonGLAH BUKA Mata SIkit!!

Thirdly the people will suffer the most out of the recent rise in petrol, are the people whom dont actually own a vehicle. They will be affected by the spillover effect of rising production costs. They end up having to buy more expe nsive goods. They will be burdened the most.
written by Homeyasu, June 08, 2008 00:40:15
blood sucker;
money sucker,
the ultimate sucker.
written by Homeyasu, June 08, 2008 00:45:38
he and his sidekick are trying to prove themselves as the superheroidiots again.
written by kinistau, June 08, 2008 02:58:21
Najis Mongolia said kalau harga minyak turun Kerajaan akan bankrupt....
Nasi Malaysia says kalau harga minyak naik kedai-kedai rakyat akan bankrupt...

But Najis has stronger smell, he won.

Brace yourself fellow Malaysian for definite inflation and possible recession.
written by hermanc, June 08, 2008 05:23:29
Petrol prices will rise eventually. So will other commodities as the become scarce. But the crux of the matter is why are we Malaysians finding it hard to afford to pay for our petrol when we are a nett exporter?

Is there any shortage of supply within Malaysia? Is our demand exceeding our supply?

Has the cost of exploring and producing crude oil increased as much as our petrol(from RM1.37 to RM 2.70 = 97%) and diesel(from RM0.78 to RM2.58 = 231%) prices over the last few years since ABDULLAH TOOK OVER AS PM?

The price of crude oil has risen sharply especially in 2007, but doesn't that mean more profits for an oil producing country like us?

And what may I ask is this so called subsidy that the government is reducing in order to save cost?

Where did that money come from?

And to WHOM is it being paid to?

Can the Honorable PM please answer?

Angry Citizen. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by lunas oh lunaih, June 08, 2008 06:08:08
Our stupid PM need a lesson...STOP GOING TO PETRONAS for 2 months smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Can someone initiate "KEMPEN BOIKOT PETRONAS "...
written by lunas oh lunaih, June 08, 2008 06:19:59
KEMPEN BOIKOT PETRONAS BERMULA HARI INI
Semua golongan masyarakat disarankan memboikot petronas selama 2 bulan.
Kini giliran rakyat pula mengajar kerajaan dengan tidak membeli minyak petronas.Tindakan ini akan menyebabkan PETRONAS(KERAJAAN) MERASAI sendiri penderitaan yang dihadapi oleh rakyat.
AYUH ...jayakan kempen ini segera...sebarkan secara cyber...pasti berjaya.
MEREKA BOLEH MEMAKSA KITA BELI MINYAK MAHAL tapi mereka TIDAK BOLEH PAKSA DIMANA KITA HENDAK MEMBELI....SAY NO TO PETRONAS
written by timberguy, June 08, 2008 12:37:31
Some of the comments up there are really irritating! Simple - PLEASE DO NOT CALCULATE THE PRICE OF OIL IN INTERNATIONAL MARKETS, AS IT IS NOT RELEVANT TO US! What is relevant is the cost of production and refining. The cost of production has gone up and (in our offshore fields) is around USD20 per barrel (approx RM 0.40 per litre). True, not all crude can be refined into petrol, but almost 95% of it is used for other products, so the price is more or less relevant. Say, RM 0.50. Cost of refining? Say, another 0.50. Hence, our cost is around RM1 per litre. There are no bloody subsidies, there is a hefty profit for Petronas. Furthermore, we export our oil to places like Japan and Korea and import cheaper oil from Saudi, Iran, etc. So, we make more than profit on 250,000 barrels per day. With price difference, our petrol can be given to Malaysians for RM 1 per litre and Petronas can make some RM120 million PER DAY! Or, 43.8 BILLION per year. Then, we do not calculate MASSIVE profits that Petronas makes in Sudan (whose on-shore production is far cheaper), Iran, Yemen, Vietnam, the Gulf, etc. Plus Petronas' retail chains in South Africa, Indonesia, etc. How stupid, stupid calculation has to be to say that we have to increase the price of oil?! You think Turkmenistan is bloody rich country so they can subsidize their Petrol? They sell it at USD0.10 per litre! I think it is time Petronas becomes FULLY transparent and its accounts thoroughly scrutinized a few big, independent, forensic auditors. Let us know where is OUR money!
written by krishnanrc, June 08, 2008 13:55:31
salute to you dear RPK every article of yours brings awakening to its readers. after visiting other countries within south east asia region.I can see how potencial we are to be one of the most devoleped country. but becoz of bad management of BN we are becoming a nation going bacward from where we are.very sad.as long as we are ruled in diversity the people will not be patirotic...as you re provoking to be ONE NATION is the solution.
written by bebas2lawat, June 08, 2008 14:33:37
just to echo the sentiments of others. it's about time we stop believing the propaganda and compare ourselves to an oil producing nation instead of looking at prices for countries where they buy oil. If you compare prices to oil producing countries you will see that we have the highest oil prices among oil producing nations. PETRONAS come clean where has all your oil money gone ? As a multinational i think it behooves Petronas to do what is right and open its accounts to public scrutiny.
my two cents worth
written by shiokguy, June 08, 2008 17:31:48
I just need extra income

Nice writing, sorry straight to the point and no matter what I still need to find extra job to help my sons out. Any suggestion please leave it at my blog..thank

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...d-job.html

Blog = http://shiokguy.********.com/

written by penangite, June 08, 2008 17:32:47
Dear raja petra, remember this?

It is mind-boggling that this ex-Menteri Besar with two Muhamads in his name would accuse me of insulting the Agong who is also the Sultan of Terengganu when the Agong is my buddy. When the Agong, who is also the Sultan of Terengganu, was merely the Raja Muda of Terengganu, I used to ride horses with him along the beach in Kuala Terengganu. I also made trips to London to meet the Agong who is also the Sultan of Terengganu when he was still just the Raja Muda of Terengganu and a student in London.

The then Raja Muda of Terengganu who is now the Agong and I would drive around London in his Ferrari and together with my sisters and wife would visit the famous London night-spots such as Longfellows where all the action is. When he was back in Kuala Lumpur I would take him to the then famous Tin Mine where we would just sit and talk as he was not a disco-dancer but preferred to just enjoy the music and talk.

Would I insult my long-time friend who is now the Agong when I sembah and kiss his hand and he would withdraw it and refuse to allow me to kiss his hand as he considered me a buddy rather than a subject? This, the ex-Menteri Besar with two Muhamads in his name did not realise when he made that police report against Malaysia Today and me.

Still, you're very lucky to have sat in a Ferrari. Not many can. Not many will. Unless....

Patrick Lim, Kamaluddin Abdullah, Michelle Yeoh, John Todt etc etc and all those attending the Seri Perdana Soiree with Al Jareau and George Benson. So much for changing lifestyle. Better change the goverment LAH!!!
written by southallman, June 08, 2008 20:44:51
I agree with talk2stop, US$200 per barrel BRING IT ON NOW !!!, It maybe the catalyst that broke the camel's back . If the motor car industry had made advances in the manner the I.T. /PC industry did, then we would have an engine the size of a peanut running on Duracell batteries, what the motor car industry did was better the designs and added all sort of 'frills' to the modern motor car instead of re-inventing the heart and soul of the motor car.

This US$200 per barrel may now FORCE innovations and when oil is no longer a neccesity to run an engine ..it will be nice to see all these oil producers who have been fleecing and holding us the user's at ransom 'drinking' thier own now not wanted oil.

The masses would be prepared to use vehicles on mass which do not require oil consumption only if there were such vehicles, now yse there are electric cars, cars running on gas, but how easy it it to use this source of power all over the world.
written by leigh71, June 08, 2008 21:18:59
CONSERVE AND PROMOTE RENEWABLE ENERGY

That is I think what the govt should do as a long-term strategy to overcome the current energy crisis. That is why I fully support the govt move to reduce the fuel subsidies. This will ensure that our nation financial stability will not be dictated by the fluctuation in global commodities prices. We have to stay competitive in order to survive and maintain our dignity in today's challenging world. Malaysian had been pampered for too long and wasting and overspending their surplus income with ignorance to the fast changing world outside them. It is time for them to think about their children future and not to think of only their selfish luxurious interest. To them it is their birthright to be shielded from the difficulties face by everybody in this world.
written by The Ritz, June 08, 2008 21:29:47
What pisses me off the most is how the government keeping telling how much the government will be losing if they continue subsidizing us on the fuel. They forget that we have been subsidizing them all this while via
1)Paying toll for contracts awarded to “preferred” parties (we subsidies government in not having to allocate huge budget for the development)
2)Paying car sales tax (we subsidies government in not having to pump money in proton to ensure its survival)
3)Paying Income tax (we subsidies government in being able run the country or it is run-over the country)
4)Paying government tax every time we eat out (we subsidies the government for additional income)
Another thing that government’s official standard statement is that our oil price is still lower compared to neighboring countries. The hell with other countries. Does the government official compare the neighboring counties’ salary scales against with Malaysian salary scale in term of cost of living? Does this neighboring country impose sale tax on cars? For once I really hope that our government doesn’t treat us like idiot, because we are not like them. We are not idiots.
written by chuckmoore, June 08, 2008 21:36:24
Bring it down now, certainly but is the car industry that different from the IT industry, the PC industry especially?

The entry level price of PCs has been gradually falling over the years but the profit motive results in PC manufacturers removing old model sfrom the market as their selling price falls and introcing, new, more powerful PCs with incrementally more memory and bigger hard disks at the high end to keep to prices up.

Since PC hardware tends to last very long, new operating systems and software are introduced requiring more powerful platforms with more capacity to run them on, forcing users to keep on buying new PCs to keep up with "technological advancement."

Car manufacturers design their cars to work fine for about five years, then to start breaking down, requiring more frequent repairs to force people to buy new cars, hopefully from them. That's called built-in obsolescence.

People often say how old cars were so solid and durable, well when a market is expanding, manufacturers can build their cars to last longer but when the market is saturated and highly competitive, they have to resort to these underhand means.

All that is part and parcel of a capitalist economy but in an economy based on production for social need, rather than private profit, such things won't happen. Goods will be built to last and consumers won't be artificially kept runing like a hampster on a treadmill after the newest thing with minor incremental increases in processing power, camera resolution, memory and hard disk capacity.

In such a society, you'd most probaly still be able to buy an 80486PC for say RM200 or RM100 to do common tasks such as Internet access & office applications or you could go for the top of line PC for powerful tasks such as graphics design and animation, if required.

Also please note, PC processor power nor processors have not got smaller and less powerful. Just compare the size or a Pentium 4 versus and 8088 found on the first model of PC. The Pentium 4 is much bigger, though miniaturisation has enabled much more processing power to be packed into that space.

However, unlike semiconductor construction, the human body is not getting any smaller, nay in fact succesive generations are getting taller and bigger, so you cannot miniaturise a car until you can miniaturise people.

Then, you still require the same energy to move a mass and if the mass does not get less, the energy required to move it remains the same. All you can do is to increase the efficiency of energy used to move the mass, meaning you cut down on the non-productive energy expended to overcome friction, wind resistance, rolling resistance, optimal gearing ratios, use of lighter materials in the construction of the car, more efficient engine designs and so on.

THe world price of oil is high for variety of reasons, some due to higher demand but also artificially created shortages due to imperialist war, manipulation of the market and so on.

In short, it's all due to capitalism.

An oil producing country can keep its oil for its own people first and supply it to them at below world market prices. That at least is within the power of sovereign states to do if they say boo to the neo-liberal globalists.
written by southallman, June 08, 2008 22:48:21
Many years ago in UK, a boycott for Shell's oil was launched due to some misdeeds they were involved in when securing oil in a poor country ( I cannot remember the full details). At the time, I made a consious decision not to buy my fuel from Shell, it became a permanent thing and I have never driven into a Shell petrol station since, I buy my fuel from BP, Esso, Caltex, Texaco, Tesco and so on but not Shell. Whether my buying or not buying Shell's fuel made any difference to Shell's income or profits, I do not care but on a matter of principle, I never will buy thier petrol or consumables from thier mini mart.

Here someone has suggested a Petronas boycot, I agree we all should support this boycot and maybe if there are enough people behind this boycot, it may send a message to the gomen that we the consumer can react and must not be bullied or push arround.. People Shakti ..bring it on..
written by Richfyf, June 09, 2008 00:40:08
Our problem is to find out the cause of it and get rid of the cause. If we don't work together to get rid of it and not find fault.Fault finding and finger pointing is already being taken care by UMNO and the current govt.We dont need to do their job of be like them.
I think I can safely say we all already know what is the problem and those that casue it.
Just finding fault and someone to blame. Cursing them, calling them funny names, accusing TDM,all this is fun reading but wont solve our PROBLEM.

Our Problem = The increase of Petrol by 40%

The Cause = UMNO President Pak Lah

The solution = Get rid of Umno. hence we also get rid of Pak lah and the bonus is we also get rid of BN

Now comes the next problem.........
How to do it before the next election i.e in 4 or 5 years. Most of us cant last another 4 or 5 months.

So will all those out there who have a realistic suggestion please stand up. Lets Focus on the solution. We all already know the problem. We dont need a few hundred different presention of the same problem,

I am hope someone out that can let me know so that I can do what is necessary to solve our problem.

Anyone there please???
written by goman2k3, June 09, 2008 02:10:18
Simple calculation Mr. Prime Minister:

2 basic needs of working people; a car and a house, a fresh graduate in USA earns $3000-5000 per month. A reasonable car cost $ 15,000(5-3 months of pay) and a house for less than $150,000 in smaller town.

In malaysia fresh graduate earns RM1500-2000, SMALLEST car cost RM40,000(20-27 months of pay!!), HOUSE RM200,000.
I am sure fresh graduate can do the maths!

As for comparison of old days and now by RPK, another simple maths for 36 years and just 3% increase each year in salary one should have quadruple ( 4 times ) the salary, not double just to cover the inflation!
written by goman2k3, June 09, 2008 02:17:48
Dear richfyf,

Step one; Get UMNO into minority in the government. SABAH/SARAWAK
Step two; get experience expertise and sincere people to run the country, a pool of volunteers who cares for the country.
written by Richfyf, June 09, 2008 02:19:02
Temengong, You might be right but sorry you are right at the wrong time and the wrong place, I remember a friend once tell me be right but dont be DEAD Right, If you on the right side of the road and a lorry comes you way just move and give way even if you are right.
Now if tomorrow in Venezuala if their govt increase the price of petrol to RM2.70 from Rm 0.26Cts and you go telling them hey its Ok because the real price is Rm5.20 from your calculation what do you think will happen?
GET THE POINT MY FRIEND.
I call you my "Friend" cause I am not here to make enemies but hopefuly we are all united to solve our common problem. i.e Facing the increase cost of LIVING
written by businessman, June 09, 2008 10:13:27
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IS IT BETTER TO LIVE DURING 1968 THAN 2008?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lets say Ahmad earns RM 800 in 1968(most likely a manager pay) and Badawi earns RM 1600 today(most likely a senior clerk pay), who do you think has a better life.

If you can choose, you want to live during 1968 or 2008?
written by grant, June 09, 2008 10:53:49
Guys and Gurlz,
Why la some of you wanna argue and speculate on the refining costs la, process costs la, cost per barrel la and what not...

The fact is just bloody simple...

1. 1 barrel is 159 litres and 1 barrel of crude oil produces 46% of petrol or gasoline (like what they call it in US)..

2. 1 barrel of crude oil is USD 129 (as of last Thursday) and the floated gasoline per litre is US 87 cents or 333 US cents per gallon (1 gallon = 3.8 litres)... This info you can get it realtime from bloomberg....

So why still argue abt hidden costs and what not when bloomberg is already readily exists to tell u how much is the pterol or gasoline price floated in the market today...

Hope this explains to further readers..

written by dkkl, June 09, 2008 11:37:19
As a civil servant to serve rakyat, they sould not earn big lump sum of salary. In fact, they should earn less than the policeman. Why? Policeman risk his/her life to protect the nation(Well, of course not all. After all they only follow order from the TOP). So police should earn more thaqn this civil servant. What most of this civil servant do? Only TALK COCK NUMBER ONE! So, again as a civil servant, they should contribute portion of their salary to the country to sunsidies certain things.
written by TWOG, June 09, 2008 12:26:27
Yes, let's get back to basics. Let's get back to the period 1968-2008 and give credit where credit is due. One man was in total charge (and brooked no dissent)during more than half of the period under review.

One man started Proton and make it so affordable by taxing all foreign cars punitively. To make it even more sexy to own cars, he subsizied petrol heavily. Yes, we should all be thankful to this one man who made it all possible. Even those who should not be driving and owning a car are encourage to buy car so that Proton can be a success. Now (apologies to Tony Fernandez and Air Asia), everybody can drive.

So, we should all go down on our knees and kiss the feet of this dear great ex-leader who made it possible for many Malaysians to own a National car, not just any al cheaper Japanese car.

smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by malaysianohope, June 09, 2008 17:25:06
"Hassan Merican was quoted as saying that Petronas is expected to go bankrupt by 2018!"

I have a lingering suspicion that despite the spiralling oil price Petronas may have forward contract its oil deliveries at much lower prices say around USD80 per barrel. Can anyone especially ex staff confirm my fear? This could be the reason why the Sleeping PM is mitigating the paper loss as a result of speculations by Petronas. This can only be confirmed by looking at the accounts.
Abang Pete please help us!
written by jalapeno, June 10, 2008 11:01:11
Many developed countries have soaring fuel price as well but they have absolutely good and efficient public transport system. In many parts of rural Malaysia, it is very difficult or almost impossible to get cheap public transport. So the poor becomes poorer. I think demonstration is the only way to show Gomen our frustration...but first must get rid of ISA first.
written by Fairminded, June 10, 2008 15:55:30
The right way to compare whether it is better then than now is to compare how many months (monthly salary) that you have to work to buy a car, house etc as compared to now. I was born in 1947 and grew up in Kuala Lumpur from the 1950s through the 1960's before I left KL after the 1969 May 13th. I feel that life was better than. I started working after form 5 as a laboratory assistant in University of Malaya while doing my form 6 in the FEC classes in the evening. My monthly salary in 1965 was 240 ringgits a month. Rental for a room is about 30 to 40 ringgit a month in Brickfields, which worked out to be about one sixth the monthly salary, and a bowl of laksa is about 50cents, that is about one five hundreth of the monthly pay. Right now, the monthly salary of a fresh graduate is about 1000 to 2000 ringgit per month and a single room rents for at least 300ringgits and a bowl of laksa is at least 2.5 ringgit. If you work it out, it is alot more expensive. That goes for cars and houses too. Also the environment then was better, less traffic jams etc and the racial climate was great-we mixed well with all racial groups- until May 13th. I do pined for the good old days under Tunku Abdul Rahman, before the UMNO warlords took over in the guise of Malay rights but essentially enriching themselves.
written by DontPlayGod, June 10, 2008 16:48:33
Of course, the figures don't add up. Else, how do you account for cronies becoming billionaires overnight? Where did UMNO get the money to build all their Hq. buildings in the main cities/towns costing hundreds of millions of ringgit.

We still somehow get back to the question, how were those hundreds of billions of ringgit spent? Can the Audit Department make a check? I suppose all checks and balances have gone out the window with the advent of the Tun.
written by daniel, June 10, 2008 21:54:00
Maybe if everyone focus hard those jerks will DROP DEAD!
written by stchin, June 11, 2008 02:47:58
'fuel price & money not enough !' makes life MISERABLE !! BUT i read about ' tdm's wife, children, bro-in-law & cronies and also ministers, ex & present are all having $$$$$$$$$$$ in S'pore's Banks' WHY , HOW eh !?

At late 20s (196smilies/cool.gif, very BROKE ! i consulted ( $5/=) a fortune-teller who smiled at my forehead," dun worry, after 30 you are ok !" " Ha ! i strike 1st prize welfare lottery !!??" i was excited! " NO ! you will get used to that !!"
....@#$%^&*&^%$#@#$%^&*.....
written by The One, June 11, 2008 17:19:37
woi temenggung, aku Melayu, dan aku vote down ko! sbb calculation ko kelakar!
written by Malay Ultraman, June 11, 2008 21:44:03
ayoyoo... y busy about oil math if our stupig PM failed economy paper??

Pak Lah... what a stupig leader in a century... u r worse than hitler!!!
written by hksp, June 12, 2008 01:32:53
pak la, mahadi both are same crook !
written by TeohSC, June 15, 2008 23:18:00
Are we better off today? When I started work in 1971, my pay was RM1000. A plate of mixed rice with a glass of chinese tea as a freebie, was 60 sen. Today, my pay is RM5000 and a plate of mixed rice RM3.50, and a glass of chinese tea 50sen. While my pay has gone up by 400%, the plate rice and tea, has gone up by 600%. At that time, my Toyota Corolla was RM8000 while today Vios is RM70000, a whooping 775% increased. At that time, I had myself to take care off; today I have 3 mouths to feed.
written by The One, June 16, 2008 17:32:00
Natural gas from the petrol barrel??? what r u talking about. Eventhough both originate from the fossils, gas natural and petrol are two different thing. you can only find petrol gas in a petrol barrel, NOT natural gas.
written by adamhalim, June 20, 2008 16:21:24
ask yourself... Are you getting richer or poorer in Malaysia ?.... if porer vote up...
written by bknight, June 22, 2008 21:54:18
Hi All,

i say, do away with the stupid high taxation on cars in the name of protecting PROTON. do we need to pay so much extra to protect proton ?? if they cant compete locally in a fair manner, they certainly dont deserve to sell their cars overseas, for so many years, look at the quality of proton saga.. not even near to a honda city.

in the States, you can get a chevy malibu for USD 19,900, in malaysia, can we get a myvvi at that price? hell no...and a chevy malibu is even bigger in comparison to a proton perdana.

STOP TAKING MALAYSIAN AS A FOOL ANYMORE!!!!!