Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Spiralling Prices

Spiralling Prices PDF Print
Friday, 06 June 2008 08:49

By LIM MUN FAH, SIN CHEW DAILY

The people have never felt the pain like this. Prices of other goods would also increase even as petrol prices soared. Imported Thai rice and Vietnamese white rice have surged 120%; cement prices would go up today (5 June); pork prices keep increasing and electricity rates are going up too.

Everything is going up and consumers are worried about it. They are complaining about the high prices in the market while hawkers are complaining about the high costs. They know nothing about economy and do not even have a clue about the causes of inflation. But they are standing on the front-line of everyday life, they feel the pressure of rising prices the most.

In fact, even those of us who know a little bit about economy also are confused by today's economic situation. And the official announcement of the low inflation rate is quite unbelievable.

There are many reasons for the rise of prices, but no matter what they are, the people are the one who bear the pressure. The question is, how long could the people withstand spiralling prices?

Does the government and employers have any measure to help the helpless people?

In fact, there are ways to cope with the issue but the key is to profoundly think and to effectively implement the policies. Of course, the most immediate way is to increase salary or give out “temporary living subsidies”, but at the same time, productivity must be increased as well.

The government may also consider tax reduction, including the increase in the income tax threshhold, reduce industrial tax, assessment tax and road tax to alleviate the people's pressure.

Actually, in such a situation, the people and the government will have to spend wisely but it is not the best solution to keep cutting expenditure.

It is better to find revenue than keep cutting expenditure. Oh please, those people in power, please find another way to raise revenue! (Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE)

written by DJH, June 06, 2008 08:53:08
Bodohwi and goons got brains to think of another way to raise avenue??? smilies/cheesy.gif More of brains to think how to fill up their pockets to be exact.
written by PAKRAK, June 06, 2008 09:12:11
NO POINT VENTING OUR ANGER. PAKATAN RAKYAT MUST MOVE IN FAST. CAN'T STAND ANYMORE.
written by franklyspeaking, June 06, 2008 09:33:28
i dont get it untie zeti said inflation rate is 4.2% on thesun today. i guess thesun newspaper made a typo error.........it actually 42%. com'on untie, ah pek with primary 6 education will tell you that the inflation rate is more than 4.2%!! guess it another spin by central bank
written by alarcarte, June 06, 2008 09:33:51
To give scholarship to the best irrespective of skin color or religion
To retain the best brains instead of forcing them to migrate (to Singapore?)
To attract best brains irrespective of their religion and skin color from around the region to work in Malaysia, not just un-skilled workers.
To get rid of million of illegals who also consume our energy and also strain our health care and education system.

Shame on you TDM for creating project I/C and bring in Millions who now have become liability instead of asset to Malaysia.

To

written by Tlau, June 06, 2008 09:35:52
Bad times now like this, will the ministers take a cut out of their big fat salaries? This was what Singapore did during their recent recessions. It was well contained and managed and today it is still a tiger in Asia.

Our ministers are all but big foul mouth who can only talk with no action taken. They asking us to change our lifestyle, but do they have in mind, what kind of lifestyle a family with 3 school going children has with an income of less than RM 2000.00?

Can the govt show us the example of changing lifestyle but not driving big luxury cars, their wives going lesser shopping overseas instead shop locally at the Giant or Mydin, no more grand functions in big posh hotels, etc and a big long list.
written by oster, June 06, 2008 09:36:49
While I agree new revenue streams should be sought, but there still is a need for short term solutions, and reducing oil subsidies is one of them.

Remember guys, oil subsidies is an economically untenable policy. It is counter-productive, discourages prudent spending, artificially lowers living costs and inflates spending beyond reasonable levels and is an uneven subsidy, benefitting the rich too much. It is also a market distortion.

Subsidies can go down quickly, slowly, at different rates for everything, but it must go down. Malaysians have been living in artificial prosperity for far too long, and we've only been borrowing from our future, effectively spending in credit.

It's the previous governments' fault in trying to make us feel richer than we really were, but the past can't be changed, and we must face this hardship now, and hope from it will be forged an economically-hardened society.

written by Edward C, June 06, 2008 09:38:49
Every one talks about changing life style to cope with the latest increase. Our politicians ask us to help fight price increase. Can some one clever perhaps even come up with some workable solution?? Price of fuel is part and parcel of the equation of COST. COST to manufacturing, COST to transportation, even the hawkers needs fuel to transport their goods to their stalls.

How can we increase cost and yet not increase the prices of our produce? Maybe I am not in the know of some secret and highly inteliigent and magical formula to keep prices stable while cost can go up.

Tan Sri Merican Hassan said the cost of oil exploration has gone up. He is smart and clever, he acknowledges and equates COST as an item of the overall picture.

So please Mr. Minister, tell us how to fight price increase when we cannot keep COST stable.

written by LTn, June 06, 2008 09:46:14
Oiiii!!! SABAH APA TUNGGUH LAGI??? WE CAN BECOME HERO IF WE JOIN PAKATAN. THE GOV WILL CHANGE AND THE FUEL WILL DROP TO NORMAL AND WE SAVE ALL MALAYSIAN!!

SO? WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR???
written by Commonsenses, June 06, 2008 10:02:12
yeah, now the reality kicks in, decades of wastage of resources have finally gone full circle. NEP and ketuanan Melayu have put us into a situation where the entire nation are unable to escape the full impact of agriinflation. The corrupted will survive while the innocent suffers, it time for us to make sure that PR takes over.
written by tattooing, June 06, 2008 10:03:15
when i first started to work i need to change my life style! (social life)

when i got married i got to change my life style! (start saving)

when i got kids i need to change my life style too! (saving for them)

but since the bloody price hike on oil!!! the bloody government asking me to change my life style!!!...to what?

i got to use my every month saving too cope with the price hike of oil!!!

so what if they (bn) paying me back every year 625!!

nowadays...rm 625 not even enough to support a growing kid!!! A MONTH!!! SO PAK KUKU YOU AND YOUR DREAM TEAM TO THE MATH LOR!!!
written by Tsunami08, June 06, 2008 10:07:02
Bodowi is maliciously advised by his experts that I strongly think this particular wrong move would put the last nail in his PMship coffin. smilies/angry.gif
written by chanatak, June 06, 2008 10:09:58
Mark my words ..... the time is near when Malaysians will be sending out their wives and daughters overseas to work as pengasuh ..... in Thailand and Cambodia.

Thailand and Cambodia for all the infamy of their civil unrest and violence is still much better managed than Malaysia. Hun Sen can manage Cambodia better than UMNO with its 50 years of experience. Let's not even try to compare with Singapore.

UMNO sold out the country. MCA sold out country. MIC sold out the country. Gerakan sold out the country.

written by CHEERFUL Joo, June 06, 2008 10:24:54
Just hope the Sabah and Sarawak MP's have the heart for the rakyat. Cross over to PR.
written by little dragon, June 06, 2008 10:27:35
in malaysia, government decisions r almost always linked to politics. even something as basic as education is not spared. as such, d decision for d super price hike shud b no different n is somehow linked to d present turmoil within umno.

there is speculation dat aab may b paving d way for a handover to najib pretty soon. however, given d existing split within d party it wud b inconceivable dat d matter wud b as simple as team A giving way to team B. so, wat r d strings attached?

remember mahathir proposing d so-called presidential council. i think aab has latched on to d idea. i believe he will push najib to suggest d formation of a very powerful council in december where he will still sit on top of d food chain. dat way, he can still call d shots even though najib is d pm.

poor mahathir. lembu punya susu sapi punya nama. hahahaha
written by andrew777, June 06, 2008 10:30:12
I live overseas. The oil price increase is felt across the world. We are all feeling the pain. It is not only in Malaysia.
written by Eskay Lim, June 06, 2008 13:02:13
SPIRALLING PRICES of basic foods, goods & services will definitely affect the living standards of every hardworking Malaysian with the exception of those Unmnoputras who have those millions of dirty-money stashed-away somewhere.
Everyone will have to pay; the workers to pay more for petrol & transport, the school children to pay more for the bus-sekolah, even the old & retired who stay at ome will need to pay extra for electricity bill. All this besides food for the 3 meals a day.
But the worst affected will be the unemployed. We can therefore expect more snatch-thieves by mat-rempits, more robberies and more corruption.
written by Taufique, June 07, 2008 23:41:00
Change lifestyle.. thats the tune the stupid govt. keep getting at.
Do these idiots know what lifestyle common ppl are leading?

Wake up to work early, come back home real late. With the limited amount of money, have to budget like mad for food, schooling, transport, basic essentials. Heck, even my insurance is considered "luxury".

I dont go for holidays, Im driving a 20yr old car. As it is, my expenditure cannot be streamlined any furthur. I turn off lights I dont need to save electricity, I dont have airconditioning in my house, barely go out on drives for fun, I pay my bills online (thus reducing unnecessary transportation costs and time). I could just go on listing more and more things. Im stretched thin with my money, and you stupid govt. want me to change my lifstyle? To what?

Eat one meal less? have less savings issit? throw out my insurance? Already think several times before I even go out to watch a movie these days.
These monkey ministers must be joking la. Keep drumming into ppl's heads about changing lifestyle. Have they ever looked at common people and notice that our lifestyles are already at their most basic (at least for a great number of us)?

written by SUV, June 08, 2008 15:18:21
air powered keletas...
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/air-car1.htm
written by SUV, June 08, 2008 15:18:52
Two Cylinder Air-Compression Engine

Photo courtesy Zero Pollution Motors
The e.Volution will be able to travel about 124 miles (200 km) before being refueled with compressed air.
Within the next two years, you could see the first air-powered vehicle motoring through your town. Most likely, it will be the e.Volution car that is being built by Zero Pollution Motors, in Brignoles, France. The cars have generated a lot of interest in recent years, and the Mexican government has already signed a deal to buy 40,000 e.Volutions to replace gasoline- and diesel-powered taxis in the heavily polluted Mexico City.
Makers of the e.Volution are marketing the vehicle as a low pollution or zero pollution car. However, there is still some debate as to what the environmental impact of these air-powered cars will be. Manufacturers suggest that because the cars run on air they are environmentally friendly. Critics of the air-powered car idea say that the cars only move the air pollution from the car's exhaust to somewhere else, like an electrical power plant. These cars do require electricity in order for the air to be compressed inside the tanks, and fossil fuel power is needed to supply electricity.

The e.Volution is powered by a two-cylinder, compressed-air engine. The basic concept behind the engine is unique (see this page for details) -- it can run either on compressed air alone or act as an internal combustion engine. Compressed air is stored in carbon or glass fiber tanks at a pressure of 4,351 pounds per square inch (psi). This air is fed through an air injector to the engine and flows into a small chamber, which expands the air. The air pushing down on the pistons moves the crankshaft, which gives the vehicle power.

Photo courtesy Zero Pollution Motors
Exhaust from the e.Volution vehicle's engine, seen here, will contain no pollutants.

Zero Pollution Motors is also working on a hybrid version of their engine that can run on traditional fuel in combination with air. The change of energy source is controlled electronically. When the car is moving at speeds below 60 kph, it runs on air. At higher speeds, it runs on a fuel, such as gasoline, diesel or natural gas.

Air tanks fixed to the underside of the vehicle can hold about 79 gallons (300 liters) of air. This compressed air can fuel the e.Volution for up to 124 miles (200 km) at a top speed of 60 miles per hour (96.5 kph). When your tank nears empty, you can just pull over and fill the e.Volution up at the nearest air pump. Using a household electrical source, it takes about four hours to refill the compressed air tanks. However, a rapid three-minute recharge is possible, using a high-pressure air pump.

The car's motor does require a small amount of oil, about .8 liters worth that the driver will have to change just every 31,000 miles (50,000 km). The vehicle will be equipped with an automatic transmission, rear wheel drive, rack and pinion steering and a 9.5 foot (2.89 m) wheel base. It will weigh about 1,543 pounds (700 kg) and will be about 12.5 feet (3.81 m) long, 5.7 feet (1.74 m) tall, and 5.6 feet (1.71 m) wide.

In October, the e.Volution made its public debut in Johannesburg, South Africa, at the Auto Africa Expo 2000. Zero Pollution said that the car will go on sale in South Africa in 2002, but didn't say when the car would be available in other parts of the world.