Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Petrol Prices Plan By Government: Protecting the Corruptors – Pt. 2

Petrol Prices Plan By Government: Protecting the Corruptors – Pt. 2 PDF Print
Thursday, 05 June 2008 16:35

by Abdul Rahman Abdul Talib

The government has a lot of options other than removing the oil subsidy. But, these options are very painful for the cronies, for the “rent-seekers” in UMNO, for the “4th Floor boys and for the entire UMNO party that rely on sucking the government dry for their own benefit.

Here are a few options that I would like to propose which can be adopted immediately for immediate savings. Note the figures I listed below are all estimations.

1. Repeal all laws related to infringement of freedom of media i.e. Printing and Presses Act, Police Act etc. With a free and vibrant media, the level of corruption will be seriously reduced in a very short period of time. This will effectively reduce government spending. NET SAVINGS in one YEAR: RM 5 billion minimum.

1. Cancel all IPP’s that supply energy to TNB for an inflated rate. Let TNB run all their power plants. After all, the amount of electricity generated by TNB is already exceeding the need of the country. ESTIMATED NET SAVINGS: RM 10 billion.

1. Make Petronas report its earnings and losses to Parliament. By doing so, Pertonas’ funds would be more transparent and less prone to abuses by UMNO’s “rent-seekers”, not to mention the multiplying effects to our country’s economy when Petronas funds are properly spent. ESTIMATED NET SAVINGS: RM 10 billion minimum (estimated GDP contribution: RM 10 billion). TOTAL: RM 20 billion.

1. Government should encourage a “Work From Home” program for all corporations since this will reduce travelling of employees getting to work. This will reduce usage of petroleum significantly. I estimate at least 20% of normal consumption thus reducing burden of subsidy. ESTIMATED NET SAVINGS: RM 10 billion.

1. Make all government projects “open tenders” which will result in further savings to the government for all the projects spent. ESTIMATED NET SAVINGS: RM 15 billion.

1. For major corporations (the real major users of oil), the government can charge an “affluent tax” on them for the amount of oil they use. If their usage is more than what they require, the government can tax them, or reduce the subsidy. This is to prevent wastage in use of oil and energy. NET EARNINGS ESTIMATED: RM 5 billion.

Should there be any spending, then it should be spent on:

1. Spend on alternative energy proposals. Petronas already has an NGV engine. TNB can start exploring wind energy initiatives. Telecom and TM Net can start spending on a better and more reliable broadband infrastructure which will make travelling less of a requirement. ESTIMATED SPENDING: RM 10 billion.

1. Improve public transport drastically. All the people I know would opt for a reliable public transport rather than driving. ESTIMATED SPENDING IN A YEAR : RM 10 billion.

Therefore, let’s all do the mathematics:

No Source Estimated Savings / RM Billions 
 1Reduction in Corruption  5
 2 Cancelling of IPP 10
 3 Petronas being more transparent 20
 4 Encourage work from home and car pooling program 10
 5 Open tender for government 15
 6 Affluent Tax 5
 7 Alternative Energy Initiative -10
 8 Public transport spending -10
  TOTAL 45

Please bear in mind that RM 11 billion is nothing compared to the revenue Petronas is generating due to the rise in oil prices. 

It seems that if the government reduces corruption; introduce more transparency; and implement serious programs to reduce oil consumption; and are serious in combating cronyism, nepotism and corruption; tax the real wastrels and polluters, we would not have to reduce the burden of the oil subsidy.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by sjs, June 05, 2008 16:44:12
"It's important to realize that whenever you give power to politicians or bureaucrats, it will be used for what they want, not for what you want."-- Harry Browne
"cost of living is going up and the chance of living is going down.”
written by aryn, June 05, 2008 16:50:52
Compare to other oil producing countries, Malaysians are taxed highest.

Yet we ordinary people are made to pay for Umno/BN policy of protecting the rich. IPPs oil subsidies amounted to RM26.7 billion out of RM56 billion! Other industrial subsidies amounting to several billions ringgit.

Th rakyat oil subsidies should be less than RM15 billions. Now, we poor rakyat are subsidising these big corporate!

Get Badawi and his Umno/BN out of the government. Make Petronas transparent.

written by semut, June 05, 2008 16:55:41
parlimen tu mcm x wujud je..semua keputusan buat mengejut..
apa sialnya semua ni??? malu aku nak ngaku duk malaysia..selagi
BN(bodoh nak mampus) memerintah!!
so plz PKR..do something!!!!
written by MsLim, June 05, 2008 16:56:10
And don't build white elephants and initiate stupid projects - eg. miniature mosque park in Trengganu, Sports complex in England (lucky for us did not materialised). Stupid projects 1 example - sending doctor to space. There are in fact lots of other non beneficial projects which MT highlighted and those who read MT would know.
written by kl_wong, June 05, 2008 17:03:06
The worriness will be endless.

Petrol price up, next TENAGA, next would be TOL, next scrap our old car and BN will make it a must 15 years old car to be eliminated due to car sales slump to all time low. And many next next next to come.

BN always said it is right thing to do and without listening to rakyat.
BN always said to use it for developement, but till now HABUK pun tarak.
What BN always said is the correct way and nothing but the truth.

I only want to say this. Barisan National - Yes I am angry because I am concerned the aftermath of petrol price going up.
written by True Tales, June 05, 2008 17:03:06
What better and faster way to extort money from the rakyat!?
It's Better than the annual income tax!!!
written by jocelyn frank, June 05, 2008 17:03:47
What subsidy ? Its the citizen oil & property !
What subsidy ? use such technical words to fool the ppl, making like gov is losing monies,use their pig heads to think ....think.
What subsidy ? look at other oil producing countries in the middle east......they are true islam pratice where oil was giving by god,profit by their citizen !
What subsidy these idiots are talking abt.? God given oil - ppl - gov run - Petronas - BN/ umno - ppl =sucking blood !
written by sydput, June 05, 2008 17:03:58
Abdullah cannot care less. he is still on his honeymoon. Come december, it will be on a permanent honeymoon and all these probems will fall on a successor.
written by cahaya, June 05, 2008 17:07:57
In his latest No Holds Barred article “Let us be angry”, RPK wrote:
Petronas is too important to the nation. Petronas is the backbone of the Malaysian economy. Without Petronas this country would be dead. Should something that important be under the control of just one man where even Parliament has no say over it? That is what we should be angry about.

Abdul Rahman Abdul Talib in this article writes:
Make Petronas report its earnings and losses to Parliament. By doing so, Petronas’ funds would be more transparent and less prone to abuses by UMNO’s “rent-seekers”, not to mention the multiplying effects to our country’s economy when Petronas funds are properly spent. ESTIMATED NET SAVINGS: RM 10 billion minimum (estimated GDP contribution: RM 10 billion). TOTAL: RM 20 billion.

Yes, get Petronas to disclose at least the last 5 years.
Of course, we like to know the last 34 years since 1974, but tell us the latest accounts for a start.
written by Lim Lim, June 05, 2008 17:08:29
simple,the rakyat hav been n still being screwed left n right,in n out all these while for the past donkey years!but it seems that we are the ones sought to be screwed!u may disagree n get angry, but the fact remains that umno/B.Natang is still in power......

written by websoul, June 05, 2008 17:12:20
Maybe the current administration is not so stupid after all.
Steps to retain Govt and make enough money to last 10 lifetimes (richer than Kings)
1) Rob rakyat RM$56B by removing subsidy.
2) Give RM$500M each to Sabah and Sarawak MPs each to ensure they do not cross.
3) Still have multi-billion left to go shopping in London, Paris, Italy, New York and Zurich, just before the Euro Cup 2008.
4) And one day retire in another country, "my 2nd home elsewhere program, and maybe 3rd, 4th and so forth"
5) Wow, can I join the club. Then maybe I can retire early and give my family a good life at the expense of others, but why care anyway....(sarcastic hint)

The sad truths is that this culture has also seeped into the Corporate sector as well. But that's a different story altogether.
written by DAL Wong, June 05, 2008 17:16:06
The subsidy exists only on paper.
It's the money the Gov't would earn if it sells OUR petroleum to the world at real world current prices. However, because it sells lower to the rakyat, the difference is then deemed as a subsidy.
It is this difference that the corrupt BN amno govt now wants to line their crony's pocket because they have lost income from the 4 pakatan led states.
It's the straw that will break the rakyat's back, mine included.
written by harmanamri, June 05, 2008 17:18:15
Kerajaan BN HAPRAK.
written by expat70, June 05, 2008 17:29:19
In addition to para 5 - " Make all government projects open tender ", I would also suggest that we should adopt the similar systems of land sales as practised in places like Hong Kong and Singapore.

State land parcels are always tendered to property developers be it for commercial, residential or industrial use. The process is done in very transparent and efficient manner. This is one of the ways to increase revenue for the government.
written by CitizenBodohland, June 05, 2008 17:29:44
A very eye opening exposure in layman's term to prove how inefficient the Barisan Neraka government is.

Rakyat will rise to the occasion. Pakatan Rakyat.. please lead the Rakyat to topple the Barisan Neraka and its cronies.

Marilah kita rakyat yang teraniaya berdoa bersama-sama dalam konteks agama masing-masing agar pemimpin-pemimpin zalim dan kuncu-kuncu mereka akan menerima balasan yang setimpal dengan kezaliman mereka di dunia dan akhirat.
written by capcomangel, June 05, 2008 18:34:10
pakatan rakyat have to fully investigate petronas history outgoing fund! sometihng not right with petrol issue in malaysia!
written by greenarrow, June 05, 2008 20:40:24
Now telling the Rakyat...not enough to subsidy the petrol
What kind of Regime Management ? Do they ve qualify to manage the Country? Do they fit to lead the nation?
written by Lim Lim, June 05, 2008 21:04:18
bodowi gorvment is urging the people to change their life style in order to ride the economic storm,but would they lead by example??basic,jus take a look at the way how each of these thieves when they take onto the streets...the size of the convoy n motorcade like they are travelling in the war zone....that would consume a lot of fuel n expenses for sure!!
written by mikewang, June 05, 2008 22:48:17
Good suggestions !
However, do you think UMNO politicians will agree since your suggestion cut their life line to corrupt wealth for them and their supporters ??
written by mikewang, June 05, 2008 22:49:46
Maybe the government should allow electric bikes to this country since those bicycles aided by battery power will not use petrol.

Great for the environment too !
written by 1eyecls, June 05, 2008 22:50:44
it's very easy for petronas not to spend money like hell!
1st,stop the F1 sponsorship,
2nd,stop the stupid tv ads,everytime during raya or CNY,they come out with 'racial-harmony' ads,but you rilly cant find these tolerance cultures in petronas corporation!
so,how much could we save?i guess easilly 5 billion!
written by 1eyecls, June 05, 2008 22:58:05
btw,do you know of any chinese owning a petronas station?100% malay and bumi!and they talk about colour-blind in the media!fuc*ing a**holes!!!
written by cahaya, June 05, 2008 22:59:06
PETRONAS financial information can be found on the internet!

It took some searching, but finally discovered them.
PETRONAS annual reports for the last six years from 2002 to 2007

And the financial figures reported for half year and full year from year 2000 to 2007. They are available on the investor relations section of the Petronas corporate website. They can be downloaded from:
http://www.petronas.com.my/int...nDocument
Yes, that long URL is all in one line.

Summary of Petronas Group Results for the last three years is available at:
http://www.petronas.com.my/int...Y2007.pdf
Yes, that long URL is also in one line.
written by Kopi37, June 05, 2008 23:47:33
UMNO continue to nominate BN, it will remain corrupted forever! The petrol price hike is one way to save Petronas' hefty revenue for the benefits of the cronies, nepotists of the No.1 hypocrite family! What shit developments?! Mega projects launched and now it's time to pay for up fronts through the subsidies saved for this purpose?!

As long as BN continues to rule this Country, our future remains utterly bleak! As long as AAB continues to lead, our livelihood will continue to deteriorate, deeper and deeper into the mire of tortures!.......................
written by NRR, June 05, 2008 23:51:44
With the money that Petronas is making, they should buy up all the tolled highways and let the rakyat use them toll free. Road tax should be abolished and tax on cars to be as agreed by AFTA without any local duties currently charged to keep our local car industry competitive.
written by schizonoid, June 06, 2008 02:45:16
Pengundi BN kena tipu oleh Barisan Niamah
Tak payah protes di jalanan.
Semua rakyat jangan pergi kerja.Jangan
jadi hamba pada pemerintah yang zalim.
All the rakyat just stay at home for 3 months and AAB will call for snap election and we'll finish them this time.Better to suffer 3 months than another 5 years or forever.We must sacrifice for the sake of our future generations.This country are runs by
idiots cum robbers.
written by smalluncle, June 06, 2008 07:36:55
“Work From Home” program ?????

Assuming 30% workforce work from home, this will mean more electricity consumption as they will have to turn on their air conditioning, hook up to he internet. Besides, working at home need lots of self discipine on time mamnagement.

The Plus point is one can save on having to engage house maid or babysitter.

On Transport, in big city, if government put up an efficient LRT system, it will certainly reduce numbers of cars going into th city. BUT problem is difficulty of public getting to the LRT station? You need to have large parking space (free of charges) at all LRT station? Government can gives license to locals to operate mini vans ferying people to and from the LRT stations. These not only provide job opportunities but also help serve the less populated, remote area where big bus company refuse to serve.
written by joric, June 06, 2008 09:57:41
We can talk until the cows come home and it still won't change anything. Let's do something constructive that would hurt their pockets eg. boycott Petronas gas stations; and all the cronies businesses. Can anyone come up with a list of the businesses that we can target? PR should also have a shadow cabinet to monitor and expose the frivilous and lavish spendings & travelling expenses of the government so that the people get a clearer picture of how they are wasting our tax payers money and whether it justifies them taking away the fuel subsidies.
written by joeyhuang, June 06, 2008 10:49:07
ITS time to LOOK DEEP and WIDE how Petronas's MANAGMENT SQUANDERED the national organization. Just look at the way their managers and senior staff were paid and the cars they drove. Look into where the have their meals, the branded items they carried!!!

It will make you sick and that NOTHING had been done until now. Time to SQUEEZ the Senior Staff of PETRONAS!!!
written by joeyhuang, June 06, 2008 10:52:19
CORRUPTION will only be made worse now that we had Not put in place an effective check and reporting system.
So I would be getting more calls for DUIT KOPI from my so called Government CLIENTS!!!
The reason is help them make their ends meet.
Result : MORE corruptions on the lower levels
written by joeyhuang, June 06, 2008 11:00:25
CORRUTIONS will get worse with the regulars "duit kopi collectors" government servants. This time again they will ask for almost anything they can lay their hands on.
The reason is Cost of Living gone up, so You can charge more and pay more bribes, if NOT no orders for you!!!
A country get from bad to worse without any effective anti corruption system in place but just mere lip service.
GONE MALAYSIA from Cekap, Bersih, Amanah
written by joeyhuang, June 06, 2008 11:02:39
ITS time to LOOK DEEP and WIDE how Petronas' MANAGMENT SQUANDERED the national organization. Just look at the way their managers and senior staff were paid and the cars they drove. Look into where the have their meals, the branded items they carried!!!

It will make you sick and that NOTHING had been done until now. Time to SQUEEZ the Senior Staff of PETRONAS!!!
Last time the PROTON Failure, MAS Failure and NOW PETRONAS FAILURES. This country keep FAILING with the MALAYSIA BOLIH mentality. A BIG JOKE
written by joeyhuang, June 06, 2008 11:09:36
Last time the PROTON Failure, MAS Failure and NOW PETRONAS FAILURES. This country keep FAILING with the MALAYSIA BOLIH mentality. A BIG REAL JOKE
written by Tornado, June 06, 2008 12:05:22
Don't forget..

1. Kurangkan elaun PM, TPM & Menteri2.
2. Kurangkan kekerapan keluar negara. Jika keluar negara atas urusan penting, hadkan jumlah deligasi. Pastikan jumlah perbelanjaan hanya sekitar 1% dari jumlah faedah/untung hasil dari perjalanan tersebut.
3. Cairkan aset2 kerajaan yang tidak digunakan/kurang digunakan. Maksimumkan pengguna aset kerajaan seperti tapak pejabat dsbnya.
4. Gubal undang2 supaya semua syarikat GLC mesti kemukakan laporan kewangan kepada parlimen & rakyat. Sebarang transaksi & keputusan melebihi jumlah tertentu perlu dapat undian 2/3 ahli parlimen.
written by alberttan, June 07, 2008 00:11:03
I never believed that stupidity can be absorbed thru osmosis, but Shahrir has proven me wrong. Freaking bunch of UMNOputras in the Cabinet celebrating and protecting their immoral new found wealth, forcing economically borderline Malaysians with children to find ways to survive in whatever way they can, especially the larger extended Malay families.

I sincerely wish that the 50% Malays, Sabahans and Sarawakians that voted for UMNO, especially the Rembau folks that voted in an idiotic Oxford good for nothing "graduate" who has proven himself a Khinzir Jahanam countless times, are out celebrating the untold miseries forced upon millions and millions of Malaysian parents and their children at the stroke of a pen. I fear the impact of "TYPHOON BN-Najis" (BN=Buat Naik) on Malaysia is gonna be worse than "Typhoon Nargis" on Myanmar; terrible as TYPHOON BN-NAJIS is an UMNO idiots-made self inflicted typhoon perpepuated on a helpless population by a handful of self serving "Ketuanan Melayu" greedy UMNOputras in Cabinet and the chief perpetrator in Petronas, Hassan Merican (aka Penternak Khinzir2 Jahanam, where do you think the profits went?).

The Cabinet is much worse than the Myanmar generals, at least the generals did not create typhoon Nargis. TDM is like his best buddy Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe, Tun need not offer Mugabe asylum in Malaysia lah, Tun have put in place a clueless equivalent to lead Malaysia and is responsible for unleashing the immoral and sinful Typhoon BN-Najis on Malaysia. Tun ought to be ashamed of yourself thinking you are god's gift to the Malays by selling them your "Ketuanan Melayu" bs knowing full well that your real agenda was "Ketuanan UMNO". Tun ought to be proud of the UMNOputras Tun have spawned to carry out genocide on the Malays themselves. The only self made calamity EVER to have 40% increase in cost of living is Robert Mugabe's Zimbabwe, Zimbabwean dollars is worth less than toilet paper these days, a million Zimbabwean dollars cannot even buy a loaf of bread. Looks like our Malaysian ringgit will be heading that direction but why should Tun care, your sinful wealth is tucked away in Singapore USD accounts. Tun better have a great story to spin when Tun meet your maker soon, maybe KETUANAN IBLIS? They will sure roll out the red carpet treatment for you, after all it was your practices, policies and choices that have "introduced" so many new Malay members to hell.

As for Abdullah Ahmad Mugabe, stop talking and preaching nonsense, step aside for Allah's sake before you join Tun in hell, along with your Deputy Rosmah and her standin Najib. It is EVIL for you and your whole freaking bunch of UMNOputras to lie with straight faces on TV after robbing millions of the poorer Malays blind, you are just adding insult to injury. For you to be caught lying so many times (not to mention sleeping), I really marvel at your shamelessness in trying to preach Islam Hadhari to Muslims.

May the Almighty provide for all who need it, I sincerely do not know how my friends, the kampong folks and 1.15 million civil servants are going to cope with typhoon BN-NAJIS, especially parents with children. I wish Malaysia will be forever peaceful, but I fear the worst in July and August when parents run out of money. With a stroke of the pen, AAB and his UMNOputras will do what TDM in 22 years only did for a few thousands in UMNO, show millions HELL and hope they will follow.

May all UMNOputras burn in hell, forced to eat only the haram ringgits they have and then pass out the money undigested, for eternity. I pray to our Almighty to bless all Malaysians and to blame all haram acts carried out by desperate Malaysians on the Cabinet and TDM who created the desperate Malaysians.

Haram acts done to survive are halal in my books so long as you do not harm others. Beg or borrow from friends/family if you have to as Malaysians are generous and willing to help, our Almighty and fellow Malaysians will make sure you and your children will never go hungry. I urge all Malaysians to give generously (limit to RM1 a beggar so we can help more). DO NOT BE JUDGEMENTAL during this typhoon BN-NAJIS atrocity, teach our desperate Malaysians to beg, and not to steal or rob. Begging is NOT shameful nor sinful in desperate times, in fact, it can help save your life and save our desperate fellow Malaysians from eternal hell.
written by inoi, June 08, 2008 18:54:14
Barisan Nasional atau panggilan sebenar Barua Nasional mengamalkan sistem double standard dalam pemerintahannya,seorang rakan saya pemandu teksi,bila kena saman JPJ dia kena saman RM150.00 kawan dia melayu cuma RM80.00 sahaja kesalahan yang serupa. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Nick Chong, June 10, 2008 14:15:03
Bila Pak lah tidur - Rakyat bayar petrol Rm 1.92
Bila Pak Lah bangun - Rakyat bayar petrol Rm 2.70

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Malay Ultraman, June 10, 2008 18:15:05
the truth is malaysian economic is controlled by 5% f...ing capitalist who care more about making millions out of people suffering.... These include sucker BN politicians especially from UMNO... FArt laaa
written by marsyal, June 11, 2008 22:43:18
are we still subsidizing the rich nation singopre by supplying 1sen per m3? Why no initiative is taken to increase this prize to offset this "oil subsidy" as claim by Badawi?
written by marsyal, June 11, 2008 22:43:55
by supplying water at RM0.001 per m3