Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Petrol Prices Plan By Government: Protecting the Corruptors

Petrol Prices Plan By Government: Protecting the Corruptors PDF Print
Thursday, 05 June 2008 16:13

by Abdul Rahman Abdul Talib 

It is so typical of the Barisan Nasional government that whenever there is a problem with the country, it’s the people that has to pay for it. In the case of the oil subsidy,  since it’s getting too expensive for the government to maintain, they will now transfer the cost to the people.

Malaysiakini reports that the government is planning to raise the petrol prices of the country to market level (RM4 per liter). It seems that the government is planning to introduce a completely different system of subsidy distribution. Even though the details of the plan is still unclear, we Malaysians should be very worried.

I also do not understand why there is so much noise about oil subsidy being a wastage. Our government wastes much more on corruption, cronycism, nepotism and inefficiency. Instead of making so much noise on subsidies, the government should instead make efforts to reduce corruption to zero. If the government can control corruption and abuse effectively, I am more than sure that the RM56 billion spent on subsidies can easily be recouped.

In fact, I feel that the government will only waste all the so-called savings down the path of corruption and abuse while the people have their lives made difficult by further bureaucracy just to save on fuel spending.

It is so typical of the Barisan Nasional government that whenever there is a problem with the country, it’s the people that has to pay for it. In the case of the oil subsidy,  since it’s getting too expensive for the government to maintain, they will now transfer the cost to the people.

Bear in mind that the phrase “expensive to the government” means “less money for cronies and ‘rent seekers’” in UMNO. There’ll be less money for the 4th floor boys and the family of Pak Lah to squander, there’ll be less money for expensive but useless projects to make Barisan Nasional cronies rich, there’ll be no more money for useless and wasteful joint venture projects like the one recently exposed by MB of Selangor and many,  many more examples.

Barisan Nasional, being corrupted as they are, will not want this to happen and as usual the cost will be transferred to the people. Their way of life must never be compromised.

Also, why complain about subsidy now? When the price of oil was low, there was no subsidy. And the price of oil will decrease sometime in the future, as supply adjusts itself to the demand. Then, when the price of oil decreases, the amount we pay now will be recouped.

Datuk Shahrir’s proposal is a disaster waiting to happen. It will only introduce further unnecessary and ineffective bureaucracy. If he is worried about foreign cars filling their tanks in our gasoline stations, then we should just charge these foreign cars different prices. After all, what’s so difficult about identifying foreign cars. Their number plates are very much different from ours and their road tax is also different.

Why do we go to so much lengths for a problem that is so simple to overcome?

I am aware of the argument that subsidies are a waste of resources. My belief is that these arguments are made by economists bent on making the rich richer. How can subsidies be considered a waste when they make the lives of the people better, they help to improve the quality of life, they put money into the pockets of ordinary people? Please tell me how this is a waste. Isn’t the role of a government to make the lives of its subjects better?

While it is true that the world’s oil prices are rising due to ever increasing international demands, Malaysia should realize we are an oil net-exporter country. Malaysia should be shielded by the increase in oil prices. I never did understand why the rising oil prices would be a big problem to us Malaysians.

Even if our oil price is cheaper then our neighbors (except Brunei), it seems that we are more expensive in other departments – automobile wise. For instance, automobiles are much cheaper in Indonesia then Malaysia. For example, a Toyota Avanza in Indonesia is at least RM20k cheaper than ours. A Honda City, is at least RM10-15k cheaper than in Malaysia.

As for Singapore, they have the best public transportation system in South East Asia. They, therefore, do not need to subsidize their petroleum for their citizens.

Remember, our public transport system is still atrocious and unreliable. People have to drive just to go to the nearest LRT station when the right approach should be to have an LRT station at every housing area. So, how can the people travel with a clear mind when the Barisan Nasional government has no regard to the problems of the people?

Until we have a public transport system comparable to Singapore, I say the subsidy will have to stay.

Lastly, this is nothing more than an attempt by Barisan Nasional to further protect their hegemony and economic monopoly via their corrupt and decadent practices. Since the government is facing a shortage of cash, the people will therefore have to subsidize Barisan Nasional’s network of corruptors.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by kanokporn, June 05, 2008 16:19:45
next election is 5 years away. everything is being taken away from us now within 3 months of the election. everything will be taken away from us in 5 years. how can we force another election the soonest? in fact by umno's next election we the citizens will be ripped off everything and whoever forms the next govt assuming it is the opposition, will not be able to do anything.

i pray to the powers of the universe to help us now as it is already too late and beyond repair for anyone who takes over. yesterday the police were out in droves to block people from even going to petrol stations, really efficient.

how on earth can petrol stations by 12 midnight last night have the pumps adjusted for the new rates without any approval or calibration by the right authorities when the announcement was made on tv at 8pm.

what is the use of parliament when a decision such as this was made by ahmad abdullah badawi the prime minister in a matter of seconds that is to affect every single person in the country except those who are already rich and connected and corrupted and get petrol for free.parliament is a disgrace and clearly shows that it is just a paper tiger.
written by tipuism, June 05, 2008 16:19:49
Sigh, the math is so simple

Lots of money is needed to keep the BN MPs from hopping over to the Opposition.

Govt coffers already dry after elections

How to get money to give to these MPs?

increase petrol price la!
written by forrestcat, June 05, 2008 16:24:16
OMG. This BN is so despicable. just as PR is about to take over in a few years, the worse happens to Malaysia...food price is up..fuel up. By the time PR take over, Malaysia would have been a few billion RM poorer due to UMNO corruption and BN incompetence.

written by budakindia, June 05, 2008 16:28:15
It's time we punish the government! Hit it where it hurts the most for them! smilies/angry.gif
written by Mark C, June 05, 2008 16:28:16
what a wonderfully written piece. Concise and straight to the point. Kudos.
written by tattooing, June 05, 2008 16:30:35
The oil price increase will result in more crime and more broken families!people will start to steal from others peoples will rob if stealing is not enough just imagine!! MR.A got 4 kids to support and he's the sole breeder of the house! and average malaysian earning nowadays will be RM2k minus this and that will be RM1800k....average middle class families will need to fork out extra 30% for.........me and my wife salary add up monthly can consider upper-middle class ppl lah!! but after yesterday! i think i need to ask social welfare from our BN govt!
written by semut, June 05, 2008 16:31:05
apa kata kita collect duit ramai2 upah pembunuh professional utk bunuh PAK LAH??
aku dah hilang sabar ni!! serius nih!!
written by grant, June 05, 2008 16:32:56
bloody BN donkeys dont even know how to count let alone say do simple maths like 1 plus 1 and yet we expect them to work on corruption and what not to bring the cost down... bla bla bla...
written by grant, June 05, 2008 16:34:50
and the other pissing me off matter is the car price in msia.. the car price in msia is so expensive? protect proton la... if proton cant compete then screw it...
written by avaaz, June 05, 2008 16:38:30
Really if the public transportation was well managed then this price hike would not hurt the common man - Joe & Jane Public.
Now we are left with absolutely no choice and man! this hike - thats where its going to hit the most of us - the belt tightening on our daily needs.
Ofcourse the higer-ups will continue to get their subsidies. Their overseas trip and branded items they cannot forgo, cause its our money that pays for their luxuries.
Any of the ministers giving up anything??? Tell us...
written by LACOBRA, June 05, 2008 16:39:58
Non oil producers, big continent India just increased their fuel price to 10 percent only! We at 41 percent! So what is the market value? AP queen also happy as no disparity for the proposal to impose higher price for higher grade Octane Rating for the sale of her guzzler luxury cars.

Now Sabah join forces back to sheer arrogance. Should have increased before that and see if Sabah would have been fooled?
written by MsLim, June 05, 2008 16:40:46
In 5 years if PR took over the Fed. Govt., I guess PR will be in a difficult situation.
written by Anak_Asia, June 05, 2008 16:40:51
"Imagine ur dad is a fisherman, he caught 1kg of fish and cook for u, then he ask u to pay him RM2.70, the son complained why ? The dad told the son, look ... the fish will cost u RM4.00 if u buy outside. It is already cheap as I subsidized u RM1.30"

sonofpenang
written by websoul, June 05, 2008 16:42:41
Maybe the current administration is not so stupid after all.
Steps to retain Govt and make enough money to last 10 lifetimes (richer than Kings)
1) Rob rakyat RM$56B by removing subsidy.
2) Give RM$500M each to Sabah and Sarawak MPs each to ensure they do not cross.
3) Still have multi-billion left to go shopping in London, Paris, Italy, New York and Zurich, just before the Euro Cup 2008.
4) And one day retire in another country, "my 2nd home elsewhere program, and maybe 3rd, 4th and so forth"
5) Wow, can I join the club. Then maybe I can retire early and give my family a good life at the expense of others, but why care anyway....(sarcastic hint)

The sad truths is that this culture has also seeped into the Corporate sector as well. But that's a different story altogether.
written by ToeJam, June 05, 2008 16:44:11
Bear in mind that the phrase “expensive to the government” means “less money for cronies and ‘rent seekers’” in UMNO.

If my memory serves me well, I recall some years ago, when the Singapore authorities imposed a law where the Singapore cars leaving Singapore must have ¾ (I think but not sure) at the check-pt. Then our dear TDM threw a tantrum and manipulated all of us so we became angry with the folks across the causeway. Then, there was not a whimper abt expensive it was for the the govt to subsidise the petrol that Singapore cars buys. Now after so many year later we know the true pix. Alas, too late.

Probably the old man TDM was protecting the UMNO cronies and ‘rent seekers’” in Johore who owns the shops and petrol station there.

This is what happens when we accept our govt's manipulation without question...sign... are we stupid, or what????

written by Sean E, June 05, 2008 17:01:54
In fact the Singapore government is doing us a big favour by insisting that their cars must have 3/4 tank full of fuel before leaving Singapore. Otherwise, more of our subsidised fuel will leak to Singaporean.

Not so in the north at Southern Thailand. May be because they are also of Malay stock and Muslim. Don't say I am a racist, just an observation.
written by wisdomguy, June 05, 2008 17:19:00
Sean E, June,what the connection with the rise in petrol price and our neighboring?we are oil producer country of course our fuel price is cheaper than their.i believe you too shopped in Thailand and Singapore for stuff those are cheap.it was our government that are corrupt.
written by expat70, June 05, 2008 18:29:28
A sudden change of policy is unfortunate and unnecessary as it will cause hardship and chaos to the ordinary people. I was driving from Ipoh to Singapore en-route PJ last night. I would like to share my observations and thoughts.

At 7.30pm when I was dining with my friend in PJ, I was told that petrol price had gone up. I was surprised at the sudden change. I noticed there were long traffic queues at every filling station. Normal traffic flow was affected. There were also minor accidents caused by the chaos. The heavy rain storm earlier had not made things easier. There were long queues ever at 9.30pm at bus stops.

Fortunately for me as I had filled up my tank I left Ipoh earlier. With almost ¾ tank I estimated that I should be able to make it back to Singapore without refilling. I noticed that even the filling stations along the NS Highway were refusing to sell petrol. What happened to those unfortunate drivers or those commercial vehicles??

When I arrived back in Singapore, I noticed that my fuel gauge indicated that I had only 40km left to travel with the remaining fuel.

I think the price hike should have been done at the week end and not a weekday let alone peak hour. This have caused of unnecessary hardships and chaos for the ordinary folks. It would be interesting if one were to study the consequential impact in detail caused by this sudden change.

Sudden changes is most unfortunate and unnecessary.

written by amjoem, June 05, 2008 18:44:23
Dear Abdul Rahman Abdul Talib,
Arn't the UMNO leaders ashamed of themselves. The people are aware of all the hanky panky of the UMNO corrupted leaders. How more thick skined can these UMNO leaders be. I wonder if they have blood really running in their veins? Are they worth the salt of the land? According to today's No Holds Barred, "Yes, let us get angry, but about the right things" the BN/UMNO Government since 1974 has been totally corrupted. Between 1974 and 2008, it is indeed visible that 22 years of those 34 years, TDM was responsible for bankrupting the country. Come on all ye UMNO MPs, if you have brains, think a wee bit prudently. It is not the race but the very land on which you stand has been bankrupted. Start talking to Pakatan Rakyat today, and we can togather start building a united, corruptionless & a prosperous Malaysia. Get rid of the UMNO which is indulged in race and religion that has blinded the eyes of the Malays.
written by sunshine, June 05, 2008 19:48:56
politics mean Economi
written by aiyomanaboleh, June 05, 2008 20:24:29
The best so far written on the price hike. Good points. Keep it up Incik Abdul Rahman.
written by whlau, June 05, 2008 20:49:09
I just don't get it. Why isn't the government encouraging the use of NGV when they can afford to subsidize the IPPs to produce power which by the way is already in access of what TNB needs. Such waste!

Isn't this a blatant waste of funds which can be used to pay for installing the necessary equipment in every vehicle on our roads for NGV use? By doing so, the petrol subsidies can be done away with as the price of NGV is still cheap
written by alarcarte, June 05, 2008 20:49:56
People have to drive just to go to the nearest LRT station
======================================================= ===

Not only that, how do you connect the Putra line to mono rail?
Answer:Walking under the sun for 10 minutes.
How do you connect Putra line to the Star line.
Answer: Again walking..
What is the frequency of our beloved Kommuter train?
No need to answer-lah.

Look, BN Gomen, you spent billion to create 3 stupid train lines in downtown K.L. but disjointed! What about the residents in Klang and Shah Alam, Kajang?
written by Lim Lim, June 05, 2008 21:02:29
bodowi gorvment is urging the people to change their life style in order to ride the economic storm,but would they lead by example??basic,jus take a look at the way how each of these thieves when they take onto the streets...the size of the convoy n motorcade like they are travelling in the war zone....that would consume a lot of fuel n expenses for sure!!
written by cheekhiaw, June 05, 2008 22:20:55
FOOLS WITH SPECIAL RIGHTS ARE STILL FOOLS

Price inflation is just one aspect of the whole mess the country is in.

The country is in a mess because fools are given special rights to rule for too long by too many fools that think that special rights is a great idea.

written by Motherchell, June 06, 2008 00:42:36
CAN WE EVER FIND A MALAYSIAN Company in the "Global 200: The World's Best Corporate Reputations" list, compiled by US-based Reputation Institute.

NEVER !!!!!!!!!!! as LONG AND THE SPOON FEEDING IS PERENNIAL!!!!! AND RULED BY UMNO !!!
written by teohpg, June 06, 2008 00:45:17
Ketuanan Melayu!!! Nah...ambik hang...RM2.70/liter minyak. PADAN MUKA sama-sama.
written by schizonoid, June 06, 2008 01:54:22
Pengundi BN kena tipu oleh Barisan Niamah
written by schizonoid, June 06, 2008 02:12:38
Pengundi BN kena tipu oleh Barisan Niamah
Tak payah protes di jalanan.
Semua rakyat jangan pergi kerja.Jangan
jadi hamba pada pemerintah yang zalim.
written by MasterBlaster, June 07, 2008 03:39:04
What say the other ministers?

http://scott.club365.net/uploa...718289.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 07, 2008 21:25:07
If the government dont care about its citizens then the citizens should boycot the government!REfuse to pay taxes where possible!Avoid outlets that charge service charge & government tax!In this way you can save some money for your petrol bill!
written by ultra, June 08, 2008 06:51:26
Pak Lah and his honchos are all stupid and so disconnected from the situation on the street. This guy has just hanged himself. Who is going to say anything good about him when the time comes for him to leave? I think when Anwar kicks his A$S, the rakyat will give it a good cheer. Pak Lah is so ST**ID he doesn't even know that the rakyat now hates him!
written by wshamsudin, June 08, 2008 17:50:02
We are the ones that have been subsidizing the 'luxury livings'of the leaders and families in UMNO and BN. The rakyat are the tax payers.U mean, these rascals going to think of the rakyat? They eat using ' Noritake ' or imported china ware, the rakyat in cheap or plastic plates.No wonder, they do not want to vacate the ' seat'.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 09, 2008 15:43:10
Having to look for RM113 (USD35) for every barrel of crude oil, to make up/pay for the shortfall that some ******* who sold Malaysian oil futures at less than USD100 per barrel sometime back with delivery for June 2008, was more than enough to panicked that Bodohwi into hastily raising Malaysian fuel by up to 63.3 percent. For every million barrels of crude oil, there is a shortage of RM113 million.

So, we Malaysians have to suffer for that despicable greedy action of that someone who THOUGH he could make some quick money as he “so cleverly thought” that crude oil WILL NOT go beyond the USD100 per barrel mark. Hmmmmm….I wonder whether that someone was educated at Oxford????
written by jshing2158, June 09, 2008 22:07:17
Instead of selling the oil why not use it ourself to make malaysia a low cost production center. By providing a lower energy cost factor, we could attract more direct foreign investment to Malaysia which means more job and economic activities. This way all the rakyat will benefit
written by Nick Chong, June 10, 2008 14:14:00
Bila Pak lah tidur - Rakyat bayar petrol Rm 1.92
Bila Pak Lah bangun - Rakyat bayar petrol Rm 2.70

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Nick Chong, June 10, 2008 14:21:57
When Pak Lah sleeping we only need to paid petrol Rm 1.92
When Pak Lah woke up, we need to paid Rm 2.70

Bila Pak lah tidur - Rakyat bayar petrol Rm 1.92
Bila Pak Lah bangun - Rakyat bayar petrol Rm 2.70